Recent Reviews in Yorktown, Virginia

A WARM and WELCOMING STAY at Hornsby House Inn (Yorktown, Virginia)

5 reviewed on January 19, 2017

We came across the Hornsby House Inn while touring Yorktown during our son's orientation at William and Mary. We decided to stay here, instead of Williamsburg, on our next visit. This B&B is a delightful alternative to the chain hotels and is competitively priced. We had a pleasant two day stay and met some wonderful fellow guests. Dave and Phil are the perfect hosts, along with Jeanette (a budding opera star). From the afternoon wine and cheese by the fireplace to the hearty homemade breakfast, we were made to feel right at home. The Magnolia Room was just right with a beautiful view of the Yorktown Victory Monument. We can't wait to come back!

View more reviews for this inn


Great B&B, we highly recommend this place at Hornsby House Inn (Yorktown, Virginia)

5 reviewed on January 01, 2017

The Hornsby Inn is a great B&B. The house has a lot of charm. The breakfast was delicious! The owners sat down and told some if the history of the house and area. We recommend highly recommend the Hornsby Inn.

View more reviews for this inn


Yorktown B&B at Marl Inn Bed and Breakfast (Yorktown, Virginia)

3.6 reviewed on December 29, 2016

Outstanding location for Yorktown. Owners are very accommodating. Nice to have your own kitchen, but there are plenty of good restaurants within walking distance. Ignore the rating on dining. Did not do breakfast so cannot speak to that.

View more reviews for this inn


THE B&B in Yorktown! at Hornsby House Inn (Yorktown, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on December 14, 2016

My wife and I have stayed at the Hornsby House Inn three times over the past four years. This is a beautiful home in historic Yorktown. David and Phil Hornsby go far beyond what is typical in a bed and breakfast setting to make their guests feel welcomed, special, and comfortable. We always end up feeling more like residents of this community instead of guests in a strange town.

View more reviews for this inn


Liberty Rose - Wonderful B&B at Liberty Rose (Williamsburg, Virginia)

5 reviewed on December 09, 2016

Quaint and charming. Best breakfast of any B&B we have ever visited.

View more reviews for this inn


Best B&B Ever at Hornsby House Inn (Yorktown, Virginia)

5 reviewed on December 06, 2016

This is the review I just submitted on TripAdvisor for the Inn ¿¿ : I don't know how to start off and put into words how amazing and great our experience was at the Hornsby House Inn. From the moment I spoke to David to book the room, I knew it was going to be a great experience. He was very kind, friendly and helpful over the phone. We were due to arrive after 9:30p on Thursday and it was no trouble at all. When we pulled up to the house our jaws dropped. It's a beautiful home! We came inside and texted Jeanette to come let us in and give us our key to our room. She was extremely pleasant and courteous when we met her. She made us feel at home there. The room was spacious and beautiful and clean. We had the best sleep in years in the bed! We stayed in the Hornsby Room on the 3rd floor with great views of Yorktown and the monument near the water. We woke up to the smell of an amazing aroma of bacon, eggs and coffee. It also tasted as great as it smelled. Jeanette made "to die for" eggs Benedict with hollandaise sauce that was Perfection! She's amazing. David also had muffins, sausage and bacon, homemade cereal and local ground coffee... which is the best coffee I've ever had. David joined us for breakfast each morning, promptly at 8:45am. He always gave us history on the house and the Yorktown battle which was great. The best had to be stories of him and his brothers growing up in the house and the headaches they gave his mother. Everyday at 5pm they offer you wine and cheese, they made sure my glass was never empty. David will give you tips and passes if you need them for the surrounding tourist attractions. David and his brother Philip were a joy to talk to. Jeanette was a pleasure to get to know and was great. I highly recommend choosing this B&B to stay in, you won't be disapointed! We'll be back again, I wish sooner than later.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful Inn, Conveniently Located at Marl Inn Bed and Breakfast (Yorktown, Virginia)

3.4 reviewed on November 21, 2016

The Marl Inn offers a convenient location in Yorktown, easy to find. Our host, Amy, was very hospitable and gracious and we felt very much at home. We stayed in the very spacious and beautifully decorated, Garden View room. Caution though, beware of the first step, down, into the room. While carrying luggage into the room and not aware of the step down, my husband took a nasty fall and is still sore. Myself, stumbled a couple of times. While only staying for two nights, disappointed that there is an extra charge for breakfast, which was only average considering a $25 surcharge. The Marl Inn is conveniently located near Williamsburg and Jamestown but in a quieter location in a beautiful setting.

View more reviews for this inn


OUTSTANDING, AMAZING PLACE TO STAY! at Hornsby House Inn (Yorktown, Virginia)

5 reviewed on November 06, 2016

Our daughter reserved the Hornsby House for her wedding, so we rented the whole house for the entire weekend. It was so much fun! Breakfast each morning and wine and cheese in the evenings. The weekend we had the wedding happen to fall on the weekend of Hurricane Matthew. Saturday night the electric went out In the area, but we still had electric!! Hornsby House has a Generator!! So we were still able to enjoy the rest of the wedding and still had a nice hot breakfast in the morning. After we checked out and returned home I notice I forgot one of my belonging at the Inn., I called the Inn and talked to David and Jeanette. They found it and sent it to my address. Now where else could you find such gracious people? Thank you David and Jeanette!! I can't wait to go back to Hornsby House Inn. But next time, it won't be because of a wedding, it will be to relax and enjoy the whole atmosphere and history of this beautiful Historic House!! If you are coming to Yorktown, Hornsby House Inn is the place to stay!!

View more reviews for this inn


Best spot in towm at Marl Inn Bed and Breakfast (Yorktown, Virginia)

3.6 reviewed on November 06, 2016

Great location. Quiet, clean, comfortable, huge bedroom, excellent cooking facilities (no bakeware for use in the oven but I'm sure that, if we"d asked, it would have been provided. Enjoyed seeing deer stroll by at dusk. Should have liked to have stayed for more than 3 nights.

View more reviews for this inn


Historical Yorktown at Marl Inn Bed and Breakfast (Yorktown, Virginia)

5 reviewed on November 06, 2016

We had a winderful stay. The accommodation were as we expected. We arrived very late. The owners met us at the door, we were given great suggestions about things to do in the area. The breakfast was perfect. We would definitely stay there again.

View more reviews for this inn


2 lovely days of contentment at Hornsby House Inn (Yorktown, Virginia)

5 reviewed on November 02, 2016

My husband an l returned to this dear B&B 2 years after our first perfect visit. We wished for another"get away",and had heard that new Historical Museum Was open in Yorktown so we did tour (wonderful,wonderful) and then ,all worn Out we went back to wine and cheese time,sat in the front porch rockers and Was delighted to hear our host Dave,with his amazing historical knowledge,talk of battle of Yorktown! How's that for relaxed moments,for whichwe came!And a word or two about breakfast at the charming family D.R.For our 2 days there we loved every mouthful,and I Returned home with a copy of the most amazing cook book authored by our hosts' Mother,Mrs.Bowdich.Now l have the best receipe ever for cheese grits. We love this b&b and all there in. Xoxoxoxo from O.H.and Dorthy

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Time at Marl Inn Bed and Breakfast (Yorktown, Virginia)

5 reviewed on October 25, 2016

What a wonderful place! Great location within walking distance of everything going on in Yorktown and just a short drive along the Colonial Parkway to Jamestown and Williamsburg. The owners were fantastic and helped us organize our stay with information about all of the area attractions. They were so accommodating and helpful! We were even surprised with homemade cookies on day two of our stay! I would recommend the Marl Inn to anyone wanting a nice, quiet weekend away in Yorktown! We will definitely be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Simply the Best! at Liberty Rose (Williamsburg, Virginia)

5 reviewed on October 18, 2016

Liberty Rose Sept. 10, 2016 Simply the Best! My wife and I stop off in Williamsburg once a year on our way to the beach. The past two years has allowed us to stay at the Liberty Rose and it's a fantastic place to stay. Sandy is as generous,kind and informative as it gets and this past year was no different except for the fact of having her son Michael there. A chef to say the least with a long history of cooking from different parts of the world along with a great personality only led to another memorable stay. Upon entering the B&B you'll see antiques everywhere and a very clean "home" as we call it. The bedding is fresh along with robes and towels in the bath just the same. It's a quite relaxing place with absolutely beautiful gardens to admire from your room or to stroll along at your leisure. Now for the food :)We had a breakfast that was to die for. Michael used herbs for his breakfast that were hand cut that morning from their garden along with figs off one of the trees on the property. The raisin bread was out of this world as we're the pears being warmed in a sauce. The eggs were better than I have ever had and the morning coffee this year was French pressed and killer. We are sure to frequent this place yearly and if we ever go through Williamsburg at any other time it will be the only place we'll stay. We love it, love the owners and only wish we could stay more often. Give it a try and believe me you will not be disappointed. Helpful

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect place for a weekend getaway at Marl Inn Bed and Breakfast (Yorktown, Virginia)

5 reviewed on October 16, 2016

Owners are super nice. Room was clean and cozy. We had fresh chocolate chips waiting for us in our room. Overall, a woman detail experience.

View more reviews for this inn


A Wonderful B&B ! at Marl Inn Bed and Breakfast (Yorktown, Virginia)

5 reviewed on October 15, 2016

Amy and Paul take great pride in providing beautiful, comfortable, and clean rooms. The family style breakfast is filled with great food and conversation. Their Inn is conveniently located so you can walk to the charming waterfront shops and restaurants in Yorktown, or drive to other nearby historical sites. This was our family's 4th stay, and it's like coming back to see old friends. You truly feel like you are a guest in their home.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Birthday Weekend at Liberty Rose (Williamsburg, Virginia)

5 reviewed on October 11, 2016

I took my wife to the Liberty Rose for her birthday weekend. Hand a great time. The accommodations couldn't have been better.

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay, beautiful B&B, great host at Liberty Rose (Williamsburg, Virginia)

5 reviewed on October 10, 2016

Had a perfect relaxing stay at the Liberty Rose. Beautiful B&B, quiet room, great breakfast.

View more reviews for this inn


Hospitality at its best! at Hornsby House Inn (Yorktown, Virginia)

5 reviewed on October 08, 2016

David and Jeanette were the BEST! Not only did I enjoy hearing about the history of the house, but the food- yum! My room was very comfortable and spacious. It is right in Yorktown, everything just minutes away. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND The Hornsby House Inn. Look for the matriarch's rules for her sons. Andy Atkinson

View more reviews for this inn


Prefect Weekend at Liberty Rose (Williamsburg, Virginia)

5 reviewed on October 02, 2016

We had an outstanding weekend for my wife's birthday. Mike was a great host and prepared a 7 course dinner serving several courses of her favorite foods. We will definitely be back.

View more reviews for this inn


Our Wedding Weekend at Hornsby House Inn (Yorktown, Virginia)

5 reviewed on September 27, 2016

Our hearts can not express the gratitude and joy that the Hornsby Inn gave us on our wedding weekend and day. David and his staff are amazing , Jeanette is phenenomal My advice to any bride is to book the entire house including the carriage for your special day and weekend. We had our rehearsal dinner at the Hornsby everyone loved it. Our wedding day was outstandingly beautiful. Our bridal party and family loved every moment of staying at the Hornsby. The house is just stunning. Breakfast is just amazing . Thank you very much For making everything so spectacular Michael and kimberly Ewig

View more reviews for this inn


Our Favorite Inn at Hornsby House Inn (Yorktown, Virginia)

5 reviewed on September 13, 2016

We chose to stay at the Hornsby House because it looked attractive and is conveniently situated for short drives to all the historical sites nearby. Upon our arrival we knew we had made the right choice. The house is as charming as we had hoped and David and Philip warmly greeted us with wine and cheese and crackers on the front patio. Guests can enjoy this area and other welcoming spots in the common areas of the house, like the parlor with a piano, the side porch or the sunlit library. This charming house is filled with lovely antiques and family mementos - we particularly liked the entertaining writings of their mother. Each morning we enjoyed the convivial atmosphere over delicious breakfasts held in the formal dining room. David would tell us of the history and points of interest in the area, along with some amusing family anecdotes! We highly recommend staying at the Hornsby House and look forward to visiting again.

View more reviews for this inn


Simply Perfection at Bay Tree Manor (Yorktown, Virginia)

5 reviewed on September 12, 2016

I searched for a romantic getaway up and down the Mid-Atlantic coast. When I read the reviews for Bay Tree Manor, I was swayed to make a reservation. This was an incredible experience. Bay Tree Manor had amazing views; the Manor was clean and welcoming; the breakfast was excellent - made with such care and consideration of every choice. If those things made up our visit alone, we would have been more than satisfied - five stars. But really what made Bay Tree Manor a special experience were Paige and Mark. They are a couple with deep history in the area and strike a perfect balance of welcoming, authentic, and loving in how they care for their guests and how they engage with one another to "let you in" to their space. They were truly the difference makers for this visit and have set the highest bar for running a B & B. We will definitely be back to Bay Tree Manor.

View more reviews for this inn


Great host a and perfect location at Fife And Drum Inn (Williamsburg, Virginia)

4.6 reviewed on September 05, 2016

I arrive late by train and everything was waiting for me as promised. It was easy to follow the instructions to get to my room and I was able to check in officially the next morning at breakfast. The owner was welcoming and gave me helpful information about the town. I had the George Washington room which I found very comfortable and spotlessly clean. It was also conveniently close to the breakfast room where 24 coffee, tea and hot chocolate was available to help yourself to. Snacks were also provided. The location is excellent for exploring the heritage township on foot. I throughly enjoyed my visit to Williamsburg and The Fyfe and Drum was a significant part of my enjoyment of my visit.

View more reviews for this inn


OUtsanding Stay at Liberty Rose (Williamsburg, Virginia)

5 reviewed on August 23, 2016

My wife and I stayed at the Liberty Rose to celebrate our 25th anniversary. The stay was phenomenal. We chose the #Rose and Dine option, since we were not familiar with the Williamsburg area and wanted a nice meal as part of our celebration - we were not disappointed. The meal was a 4-Course, Plus 2 and Chef Mike was incredibly accommodating, bringing each delicious course with perfect timing. The room was as incredible as the meal. Beautifully decorated, spacious and accommodating. The Liberty Rose was easy to find, yet the evening was quite and free from road noises. The only sound to interrupt us was the chirp of the cicadas in the trees. Breakfast the next morning was as delicious as the dinner had been the night before, fresh fruit with a creamy yogurt/whipped cream topping, followed by herbed scrambled eggs with cheese, bacon and a French-toasted bread pudding. Yummy. In sum, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Liberty Rose. The food was fantastic, the Rooms were charming, and the staff was gracious and accommodating. It was a great value.

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding in EVERY way at Bay Tree Manor (Yorktown, Virginia)

5 reviewed on August 12, 2016

Best B&B I have every stayed at. And, I have stayed at many. Couldn't be more perfect if you tried.

View more reviews for this inn


Not your "average" B&B!! at Bay Tree Manor (Yorktown, Virginia)

5 reviewed on August 08, 2016

I don't usually post reviews, however I must tell about this fantastic place called Bay Tree Manor. We have stayed at numerous B & B's and Bay Tree Manor is at the top of our list now. Our stay with Mark and Paige at Bay Tree Manor was OUTSTANDING!! Mark and Paige are great hosts. It is like going to visit family. The view of the inlet and Chesapeake Bay are AMAZING! We highly recommend a stay at Bay Tree Manor. George and Mary Jo

View more reviews for this inn


Can't wait to come back! at Bay Tree Manor (Yorktown, Virginia)

5 reviewed on August 03, 2016

This was our second time at Baytree Manor and most definitely won't be our last. The innkeepers, Mark and Paige, are absolutely wonderful. They went above and beyond to make our anniversary getaway special! We can't wait for a chance to come back!

View more reviews for this inn


Best Hospitality (& bacon!) at Bay Tree Manor (Yorktown, Virginia)

5 reviewed on August 01, 2016

You won't find better accommodations, hospitality, or bacon! The rooms are comfortable and spacious. The views are breathtaking. The pool is warm & inviting. And Marks breakfast is truly remarkable - we are still talking about the bacon!

View more reviews for this inn


The best Bed and Breakfast I have ever stayed in! at Bay Tree Manor (Yorktown, Virginia)

5 reviewed on August 01, 2016

My wife and I have stayed in many B&B's over the years and many are very good. Bay Tree exceeds them all! Paige and Mark are super and the food was unbelievable. I would recommend 5 stars for this B&B! Best Bed I have ever slept in.

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay and fun hosts! at Bay Tree Manor (Yorktown, Virginia)

5 reviewed on August 01, 2016

What an unexpected treat to find this gem! We prefer B&B's over hotels any day and have been to different inns throughout the Southeastern US. Paige and Mark's home was extremely welcoming and felt like going over to a friend's home for cocktail hour and appetizers, deciding which restaurant to go to for dinner with their tried and true recommendations, and settling in to a night of rest in the best mattress I can remember (and we sleep in a very expensive Sleep Number at home). Added treat the second night after dinner was watching Youtube videos with Mark and Paige laughing until we turned in for the night. Mark is a contractor, and the home is well constructed with large windows in the gathering room to capture the wonderful scenic water views, private rooms with equally impressive views and details, and grounds and large pavilion that obviously would suit weddings and gatherings. Our two breakfasts were incredible, and plentiful. Let's call it a 4 course meal....no need for lunch later!! Stuffed french toast with fresh berry compote, baked frittata, hash brown casserole, millionaire bacon YUMMMY, and maple sausage. A definite must go for a weekend get away!

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}