Recent Reviews in Yorktown, Virginia

What a place. at Bay Tree Manor (Yorktown, Virginia)

5 reviewed on May 07, 2017

Got in after a day of travel to super gracious hosts and a refreshing libation. Breakfasts were enough to keep one going until evening. Conversations and tips for exploring the area were stimulating and helpful. If you don't try this place at least once, you miss one of the good things in life.

View more reviews for this inn


A Yorktown gem! at Hornsby House Inn (Yorktown, Virginia)

4.0 reviewed on May 01, 2017

We stayed in the Carriage house for our honeymoon! It was quiet, felt secluded, and very romantic! The Inn Keeper (I cannot recall his name), went out of his way to meet all of our needs. 10 out of 10!!

View more reviews for this inn


Romantic getaway at Marl Inn Bed and Breakfast (Yorktown, Virginia)

4.6 reviewed on April 27, 2017

We stayed there for one night but wish it had been longer. Our room was honey and inviting. It was romantic and relaxing. Near everything. Highly recommend staying there

View more reviews for this inn


Cosy and Quiet at Marl Inn Bed and Breakfast (Yorktown, Virginia)

4.6 reviewed on April 26, 2017

We had a quiet and cosy stay, I loved the location and the cleanliness

View more reviews for this inn


This B&B is HEAVEN on earth! at Hornsby House Inn (Yorktown, Virginia)

5 reviewed on April 23, 2017

This is the second year in a row we have been back to the Hornsby House....and we've already booked for next year. This is one of the most beautiful and peaceful settings you could ever wish for. Our hosts David and Phil make you feel like they've known you your whole life and that they are welcoming an old friend back home. I made it a point this year to take a whole day and just enjoy the house and its decor. There is SO much to do in the area, but the House is so amazing I just wanted to take it all in. We met wonderful people from all over the country......and David and Phil make the stay seem "like home". A marvelous B & B---this place is a must! Honorable mention to Jeannette who sparkling personality added much to our stay as well. Jeff and Annette Miller

View more reviews for this inn


Great hosts - perfect for Yorktown at Marl Inn Bed and Breakfast (Yorktown, Virginia)

5 reviewed on April 21, 2017

My wife and I stayed at the Marl Inn over Easter weekend and had a wonderful time. Paul, Amy, and Snickers are very friendly and hospitable hosts. We had the chance to have some extended conversations with them and picked up a lot of great ideas for our future B & B. Really selfless people. If you don't have breakfast plans, let them cook you breakfast. We did both days we were there and it was delicious. They love America and their home is a celebration of Americana (but not too over the top), which is what you want when you come to Yorktown. They both also have a love for history and can fill you in on any questions you have about the area. 5 stars across the board. Very reasonably priced, and again, great hosts. Would love to stay there again on a future trip to the Historic Triangle. Fred & Glenda Cooper Manassas, VA

View more reviews for this inn


Great getaway in Yorktown! at Marl Inn Bed and Breakfast (Yorktown, Virginia)

5 reviewed on April 13, 2017

We really appreciated the "opt-in" breakfast option. :)

View more reviews for this inn


Family Reunion at Marl Inn Bed and Breakfast (Yorktown, Virginia)

4.6 reviewed on February 22, 2017

I reserved two rooms (Patriot and Yorktown) to accommodate me and a son and his family. The rooms were big, bright and vey comfortable with more than adequate kitchen facilities; however, we opted for the breakfasts made by Amy and Paul. Those breakfasts were delicious and for the three mornings we were there, the menu varied. There was always something to satisfy all the tastebuds. I wholeheartedly recommend the Marl Inn Bed and Breakfast. This was our second stay and I expect will return there again.

View more reviews for this inn


Truly unique at Hornsby House Inn (Yorktown, Virginia)

5 reviewed on February 21, 2017

The Hornsby House Inn location at the conjunction of old Yorktown and the battlefield, itself makes it a unique place to stay. Add to that the river view, and you have more than you could ask for. We stayed in the largest room which has an upstairs verand, and we really enjoyed it. The Bowditch's and their Innkeeper, Jeanette were great hosts. The evening wine and cheese, along with the morning's full breakfast were both excellent.

View more reviews for this inn


I Just Don't Get It at Bay Tree Manor (Yorktown, Virginia)

5 reviewed on February 20, 2017

Bay Tree Manor is rated among the top three of the B&B's in Eastern Virginia. I give up -- why is not rated among the top three in Virginia, or even the Eastern United States? What else could Mark and Paige do to get a higher rating? There could not be a more comfortable night spent in their "B", the first letter in B&B. The mattress was so firm and high that there is even a footstool provided to get on top of it and into the most cozy and soft sheets imaginable. And that is after we had a relaxing bubble-soaked bath in an enormous hot tub in a spacious bathroom. Oh, tomorrow being Valentine's Day, Mark and Paige (such gregarious and gracious hosts) even left a bottle of Champagne in an ice-bucket for us. How very thoughtful! What a way to start the night to end a long, tiring day of driving. Starting the morning was just as wonderful, beginning with a spectacular view out the expansive picture window that showed the best off God's creativity. As the sun rose in a brilliant palette of reds, oranges, and teal blue illuminating the golden marsh grasses and deep grays of the Chesapeake Bay, the first flights of ducks, geese, gulls, and song birds began their day across this masterpiece, We are torn away from this remarkable and memorable spectacle by the aroma of coffee and sounds emanating from the kitchen as Mark began preparation for the second "B". You will not believe what came off his stove! First, a personal quiche with bacon strips and sausage and his own rendition of mashed potatoes -- all followed by a pair of crepes smothered in fresh strawberries and topped with fresh cream. "I don't want you to leave hungry!", he tells us. No kidding. We couldn't finish what we were given. All perfectly cooked and served on warm plates, a nice touch. Definitely not our normal breakfasts, for sure, but ones that set the bar so high that it is hard to understand how it can be surpassed. Bay Tree Manor for the Best B&B on the Eastern United States!

View more reviews for this inn


A WARM and WELCOMING STAY at Hornsby House Inn (Yorktown, Virginia)

5 reviewed on January 19, 2017

We came across the Hornsby House Inn while touring Yorktown during our son's orientation at William and Mary. We decided to stay here, instead of Williamsburg, on our next visit. This B&B is a delightful alternative to the chain hotels and is competitively priced. We had a pleasant two day stay and met some wonderful fellow guests. Dave and Phil are the perfect hosts, along with Jeanette (a budding opera star). From the afternoon wine and cheese by the fireplace to the hearty homemade breakfast, we were made to feel right at home. The Magnolia Room was just right with a beautiful view of the Yorktown Victory Monument. We can't wait to come back!

View more reviews for this inn


Great B&B, we highly recommend this place at Hornsby House Inn (Yorktown, Virginia)

5 reviewed on January 01, 2017

The Hornsby Inn is a great B&B. The house has a lot of charm. The breakfast was delicious! The owners sat down and told some if the history of the house and area. We recommend highly recommend the Hornsby Inn.

View more reviews for this inn


Yorktown B&B at Marl Inn Bed and Breakfast (Yorktown, Virginia)

3.6 reviewed on December 29, 2016

Outstanding location for Yorktown. Owners are very accommodating. Nice to have your own kitchen, but there are plenty of good restaurants within walking distance. Ignore the rating on dining. Did not do breakfast so cannot speak to that.

View more reviews for this inn


THE B&B in Yorktown! at Hornsby House Inn (Yorktown, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on December 14, 2016

My wife and I have stayed at the Hornsby House Inn three times over the past four years. This is a beautiful home in historic Yorktown. David and Phil Hornsby go far beyond what is typical in a bed and breakfast setting to make their guests feel welcomed, special, and comfortable. We always end up feeling more like residents of this community instead of guests in a strange town.

View more reviews for this inn


Liberty Rose - Wonderful B&B at Liberty Rose (Williamsburg, Virginia)

5 reviewed on December 09, 2016

Quaint and charming. Best breakfast of any B&B we have ever visited.

View more reviews for this inn


Best B&B Ever at Hornsby House Inn (Yorktown, Virginia)

5 reviewed on December 06, 2016

This is the review I just submitted on TripAdvisor for the Inn ¿¿ : I don't know how to start off and put into words how amazing and great our experience was at the Hornsby House Inn. From the moment I spoke to David to book the room, I knew it was going to be a great experience. He was very kind, friendly and helpful over the phone. We were due to arrive after 9:30p on Thursday and it was no trouble at all. When we pulled up to the house our jaws dropped. It's a beautiful home! We came inside and texted Jeanette to come let us in and give us our key to our room. She was extremely pleasant and courteous when we met her. She made us feel at home there. The room was spacious and beautiful and clean. We had the best sleep in years in the bed! We stayed in the Hornsby Room on the 3rd floor with great views of Yorktown and the monument near the water. We woke up to the smell of an amazing aroma of bacon, eggs and coffee. It also tasted as great as it smelled. Jeanette made "to die for" eggs Benedict with hollandaise sauce that was Perfection! She's amazing. David also had muffins, sausage and bacon, homemade cereal and local ground coffee... which is the best coffee I've ever had. David joined us for breakfast each morning, promptly at 8:45am. He always gave us history on the house and the Yorktown battle which was great. The best had to be stories of him and his brothers growing up in the house and the headaches they gave his mother. Everyday at 5pm they offer you wine and cheese, they made sure my glass was never empty. David will give you tips and passes if you need them for the surrounding tourist attractions. David and his brother Philip were a joy to talk to. Jeanette was a pleasure to get to know and was great. I highly recommend choosing this B&B to stay in, you won't be disapointed! We'll be back again, I wish sooner than later.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful Inn, Conveniently Located at Marl Inn Bed and Breakfast (Yorktown, Virginia)

3.4 reviewed on November 21, 2016

The Marl Inn offers a convenient location in Yorktown, easy to find. Our host, Amy, was very hospitable and gracious and we felt very much at home. We stayed in the very spacious and beautifully decorated, Garden View room. Caution though, beware of the first step, down, into the room. While carrying luggage into the room and not aware of the step down, my husband took a nasty fall and is still sore. Myself, stumbled a couple of times. While only staying for two nights, disappointed that there is an extra charge for breakfast, which was only average considering a $25 surcharge. The Marl Inn is conveniently located near Williamsburg and Jamestown but in a quieter location in a beautiful setting.

View more reviews for this inn


OUTSTANDING, AMAZING PLACE TO STAY! at Hornsby House Inn (Yorktown, Virginia)

5 reviewed on November 06, 2016

Our daughter reserved the Hornsby House for her wedding, so we rented the whole house for the entire weekend. It was so much fun! Breakfast each morning and wine and cheese in the evenings. The weekend we had the wedding happen to fall on the weekend of Hurricane Matthew. Saturday night the electric went out In the area, but we still had electric!! Hornsby House has a Generator!! So we were still able to enjoy the rest of the wedding and still had a nice hot breakfast in the morning. After we checked out and returned home I notice I forgot one of my belonging at the Inn., I called the Inn and talked to David and Jeanette. They found it and sent it to my address. Now where else could you find such gracious people? Thank you David and Jeanette!! I can't wait to go back to Hornsby House Inn. But next time, it won't be because of a wedding, it will be to relax and enjoy the whole atmosphere and history of this beautiful Historic House!! If you are coming to Yorktown, Hornsby House Inn is the place to stay!!

View more reviews for this inn


Best spot in towm at Marl Inn Bed and Breakfast (Yorktown, Virginia)

3.6 reviewed on November 06, 2016

Great location. Quiet, clean, comfortable, huge bedroom, excellent cooking facilities (no bakeware for use in the oven but I'm sure that, if we"d asked, it would have been provided. Enjoyed seeing deer stroll by at dusk. Should have liked to have stayed for more than 3 nights.

View more reviews for this inn


Historical Yorktown at Marl Inn Bed and Breakfast (Yorktown, Virginia)

5 reviewed on November 06, 2016

We had a winderful stay. The accommodation were as we expected. We arrived very late. The owners met us at the door, we were given great suggestions about things to do in the area. The breakfast was perfect. We would definitely stay there again.

View more reviews for this inn


2 lovely days of contentment at Hornsby House Inn (Yorktown, Virginia)

5 reviewed on November 02, 2016

My husband an l returned to this dear B&B 2 years after our first perfect visit. We wished for another"get away",and had heard that new Historical Museum Was open in Yorktown so we did tour (wonderful,wonderful) and then ,all worn Out we went back to wine and cheese time,sat in the front porch rockers and Was delighted to hear our host Dave,with his amazing historical knowledge,talk of battle of Yorktown! How's that for relaxed moments,for whichwe came!And a word or two about breakfast at the charming family D.R.For our 2 days there we loved every mouthful,and I Returned home with a copy of the most amazing cook book authored by our hosts' Mother,Mrs.Bowdich.Now l have the best receipe ever for cheese grits. We love this b&b and all there in. Xoxoxoxo from O.H.and Dorthy

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Time at Marl Inn Bed and Breakfast (Yorktown, Virginia)

5 reviewed on October 25, 2016

What a wonderful place! Great location within walking distance of everything going on in Yorktown and just a short drive along the Colonial Parkway to Jamestown and Williamsburg. The owners were fantastic and helped us organize our stay with information about all of the area attractions. They were so accommodating and helpful! We were even surprised with homemade cookies on day two of our stay! I would recommend the Marl Inn to anyone wanting a nice, quiet weekend away in Yorktown! We will definitely be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Simply the Best! at Liberty Rose (Williamsburg, Virginia)

5 reviewed on October 18, 2016

Liberty Rose Sept. 10, 2016 Simply the Best! My wife and I stop off in Williamsburg once a year on our way to the beach. The past two years has allowed us to stay at the Liberty Rose and it's a fantastic place to stay. Sandy is as generous,kind and informative as it gets and this past year was no different except for the fact of having her son Michael there. A chef to say the least with a long history of cooking from different parts of the world along with a great personality only led to another memorable stay. Upon entering the B&B you'll see antiques everywhere and a very clean "home" as we call it. The bedding is fresh along with robes and towels in the bath just the same. It's a quite relaxing place with absolutely beautiful gardens to admire from your room or to stroll along at your leisure. Now for the food :)We had a breakfast that was to die for. Michael used herbs for his breakfast that were hand cut that morning from their garden along with figs off one of the trees on the property. The raisin bread was out of this world as we're the pears being warmed in a sauce. The eggs were better than I have ever had and the morning coffee this year was French pressed and killer. We are sure to frequent this place yearly and if we ever go through Williamsburg at any other time it will be the only place we'll stay. We love it, love the owners and only wish we could stay more often. Give it a try and believe me you will not be disappointed. Helpful

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect place for a weekend getaway at Marl Inn Bed and Breakfast (Yorktown, Virginia)

5 reviewed on October 16, 2016

Owners are super nice. Room was clean and cozy. We had fresh chocolate chips waiting for us in our room. Overall, a woman detail experience.

View more reviews for this inn


A Wonderful B&B ! at Marl Inn Bed and Breakfast (Yorktown, Virginia)

5 reviewed on October 15, 2016

Amy and Paul take great pride in providing beautiful, comfortable, and clean rooms. The family style breakfast is filled with great food and conversation. Their Inn is conveniently located so you can walk to the charming waterfront shops and restaurants in Yorktown, or drive to other nearby historical sites. This was our family's 4th stay, and it's like coming back to see old friends. You truly feel like you are a guest in their home.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Birthday Weekend at Liberty Rose (Williamsburg, Virginia)

5 reviewed on October 11, 2016

I took my wife to the Liberty Rose for her birthday weekend. Hand a great time. The accommodations couldn't have been better.

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay, beautiful B&B, great host at Liberty Rose (Williamsburg, Virginia)

5 reviewed on October 10, 2016

Had a perfect relaxing stay at the Liberty Rose. Beautiful B&B, quiet room, great breakfast.

View more reviews for this inn


Hospitality at its best! at Hornsby House Inn (Yorktown, Virginia)

5 reviewed on October 08, 2016

David and Jeanette were the BEST! Not only did I enjoy hearing about the history of the house, but the food- yum! My room was very comfortable and spacious. It is right in Yorktown, everything just minutes away. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND The Hornsby House Inn. Look for the matriarch's rules for her sons. Andy Atkinson

View more reviews for this inn


Prefect Weekend at Liberty Rose (Williamsburg, Virginia)

5 reviewed on October 02, 2016

We had an outstanding weekend for my wife's birthday. Mike was a great host and prepared a 7 course dinner serving several courses of her favorite foods. We will definitely be back.

View more reviews for this inn


Our Wedding Weekend at Hornsby House Inn (Yorktown, Virginia)

5 reviewed on September 27, 2016

Our hearts can not express the gratitude and joy that the Hornsby Inn gave us on our wedding weekend and day. David and his staff are amazing , Jeanette is phenenomal My advice to any bride is to book the entire house including the carriage for your special day and weekend. We had our rehearsal dinner at the Hornsby everyone loved it. Our wedding day was outstandingly beautiful. Our bridal party and family loved every moment of staying at the Hornsby. The house is just stunning. Breakfast is just amazing . Thank you very much For making everything so spectacular Michael and kimberly Ewig

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}