Recent Reviews in Winston Salem, North Carolina

Best B&B We have ever stayed in. at A Mighty Oak B&B (Pinnacle, NC)

5 reviewed on July 18, 2018

Todd & Lisa made this past weekend truly memorable. From the just right furnishings to the delightful balcony with nightly music of cows & roosters, everything was delightful. Todd's breakfasts were truly gourmet experiences. Thanks again Todd - we will definitely stay with you again. Mike, Judy and Jennifer

View more reviews for this inn


The IDEAL B&B at A Mighty Oak B&B (Pinnacle, NC)

5 reviewed on June 18, 2018

Try to get a room with a view of the farm and King"s Mt.. Great central location to wineries. Outstanding food and service. Hope to be with them again soon!!

View more reviews for this inn


Perfectly Pleasant at A Mighty Oak B&B (Pinnacle, NC)

5 reviewed on May 30, 2018

The house and rooms were beautiful and in tip top shape. We enjoyed strolling around on the farm. The breakfast was awesome as were the hosts. They made us feel right at home as we chatted during and after our meals. Their knowledge was outstanding about organic and free range foods as well as about sustainability in our environment and daily lives. We would love to attend the workshop when it becomes available. Awesome experience to say the least.

View more reviews for this inn


An Impressive B&B Experience! at A Mighty Oak B&B (Pinnacle, NC)

5 reviewed on May 23, 2018

A modern B&B located on an 87 acre working farm in Pinnicle, NC. Rustic Mt Airy is located close by, together with many vineyards that serve dinners in modern facilities. We spent 3 nights at the B&B and we had a spectacular evening meal one evening prepared by Todd & Lisa. Breakfasts were superb....farm fresh with a presentation unequaled. We were 4 couples doing twice annual B&B jaunts for more than 20 yrs. This B&B tops the list in facility design, professionalism of the proprietors, view and locale, and competitive price. There are local golf courses; a rustic Mt Airy town; Pilot Mountain; and a relaxing family room setting to sip beverages and consume cheeses & other snacks. I strongly recommend this B&B!

View more reviews for this inn


Enchanted Stay at A Mighty Oak B&B (Pinnacle, NC)

5 reviewed on May 22, 2018

A Mighty Oak B&B far exceeded my expectations. It was an idyllic setting with all of the amenities one needs for a relaxing getaway. The hosts were perfectly accommodating, but did not hover. The farm is beautiful, and the view of Pilot Mountain was lovely. I so enjoyed seeing and hearing the farm life, as well as our brief visit with the family dog. Todd's dinner recommendation was spot-on, and breakfast was delicious and completely satisfying. We had a fantastic stay, and I look forward to returning. Thank you, Todd and Lisa, for a job well done!

View more reviews for this inn


I was totally at ease here. at A Mighty Oak B&B (Pinnacle, NC)

5 reviewed on May 21, 2018

Visited 05/04-06/18. Really loved it. And while I admit, this is a bit of a "hike" from my friend in Greensboro, it was worth it. I was looking for a quiet, sincere place to settle into and feel at ease. I like country settings. I like organic, down-to-earth and farm-to-table. But professionalism; well-appointed, clean rooms; kind hosts and excellent food are always a welcome plus! In my opinion, this place - and the innkeeper(s) - are TOP NOTCH. My host was INCREDIBLY hospitable when my travel times went wonky. He served me a DELICIOUS breakfast fit for a queen. When I settled into my lovely room the first night, I dropped everything, opened a window and, literally, sat on the floor next to it, allowing the cool evening breezes and the sounds of peepers, bullfrogs and quietly grazing cattle melt ALL my tension away. I believe Innkeepers Todd & Lisa absolutely have the talent, resources, wisdom and skills to be in the business they're in. They're charming. You give them a chance. Unless you're the "impossible-to-please" type, you WILL leave there with a smile on your face. And likely return. Thanks, dear hosts, for making me feel at home.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful place and amazing hosts! at A Mighty Oak B&B (Pinnacle, NC)

5 reviewed on April 22, 2018

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at AMO last week. It was the perfect spot for a relaxing evening and an amazing breakfast! The food was incredible and the hosts were so kind and thoughtful. It was fun sharing a meal with the other guests in the morning and we wrapped up our stay with some ping pong :) Thank you for the lovely getaway!

View more reviews for this inn


Spring vacation 2018 at A Mighty Oak B&B (Pinnacle, NC)

4.8 reviewed on April 16, 2018

My wife and I had a great stay at the mighty oak ! Todd and his wife were the best host we have had in our B&B stays they really go all out to make you feel at home.

View more reviews for this inn


Mighty oak stay NC at A Mighty Oak B&B (Pinnacle, NC)

4.8 reviewed on April 12, 2018

Wow what a wonderful place to stay ! Everything was perfect . The oaks owners were great and go out of their way to make you feel at home.

View more reviews for this inn


The Best B&B. "No brag. Just fact!" at A Mighty Oak B&B (Pinnacle, NC)

5 reviewed on December 13, 2017

I'm going to be to the point. If you want an outstanding experience in family atmosphere hospitality, then you need to stay here. It's rural, it's quiet (yes, the roosters or cows may wake you up), the food, and its presentation, is excellent and the owners are beyond great hosts. When my wife and I are in this area of NC, we won't think twice about staying here.

View more reviews for this inn


quick getaway for a wedding at A Mighty Oak B&B (Pinnacle, NC)

5 reviewed on October 02, 2017

this was mine and my husbands first stay at a B & B and needless to say from now on everyone we stay at will have high expectations! this place was so nice and quaint! Todd & Lisa were just amazing hosts! so thankful they let us into their home and I am thankful to have me both of them. the food was amazing! Todd fixed us breakfast and it was delicious and right out of a food magazine! Not to mention Lisa's biscuits were so good!! Love the farm to table B & B here. Our room had an amazing view of pilot mountain and we laid in bed on sunday morning and could watch the sunrise from our bed. very comfortable and beautiful atmosphere! will return soon, you can count on it! thanks again Todd & Lisa! 9.30.17-10-1-17

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Place To Stay at A Mighty Oak B&B (Pinnacle, NC)

5 reviewed on September 08, 2017

This B&B is top shelf excellent. Room was very very nice clean wonderful view. The owners were outstanding very knowledgeable about the area. Breakfast was better than any restaurant, Todd explained where the food came from as far as the farm is concerned. The whole experience was great perfect for couples as a romantic getaway.

View more reviews for this inn


Love the place at A Mighty Oak B&B (Pinnacle, NC)

5 reviewed on August 27, 2017

especially the third floor for a quiet getaway, and there's quite a lot of animals to see on their farm. Todd and Lisa are organic farmers, realizing actual sustainability, that is not the hyped version touted by activists.

View more reviews for this inn


Beyond happy to have stayed at A Mighty Oak B&B! at A Mighty Oak B&B (Pinnacle, NC)

5 reviewed on August 07, 2017

As I was looking for accommodations in our first Bed & Breakfast, I found A Mighty Oak and was immediately drawn to their mission. I read their story and farming practices and was impressed! I was also happy to learn about their commitment to good environmental stewardship and their beyond-organic gardening practices, composting, and recycling as an integral part of their day to day operations. I was not disappointed in the least, for everything they describe in their website was a modest description of the awesome place A Mighty Oak B&B truly is! The view of Pilot Mountain from our room (the French Blue Room) was spectacular. The room was beautifully decorated and clean and the sitting area was just charming. My daughter and I enjoyed the amenities in the media/library/game room. (Love the books!!) Space will not permit me to go into detail about all the beauty, peacefulness of this place, nor of the extreme kindness and care of our wonderful hosts, Todd and Lisa, but I must tell you about the tasty, healthful breakfast we enjoyed. Everything was farm raised and delicious. We had the Scottish Eggs, after our morning herbal tea and fresh fruit medley, all presented in a visually pleasing manner fresh flowers and all. Todd was very informative and took great interest in us and explained where all the food served was carefully selected from their own farm and other farms nearby. We will definitely be back to visit the Morse's at this God honoring place, alive with goodness and wholesomeness at so many levels! We are most grateful for the experience!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Would recommend this B & B to anyone! at A Mighty Oak B&B (Pinnacle, NC)

5 reviewed on July 10, 2017

We had a great night at A Mighty Oak B & B! Todd and Lisa gave great attention to details and the breakfast was splendid. We enjoyed our time away in a beautiful home that was very comfortable and inviting!

View more reviews for this inn


A Mighty Oak B&B - wonderful anniversary celebration! at A Mighty Oak B&B (Pinnacle, NC)

4.8 reviewed on June 30, 2017

My wife Debbie and I recently stayed at A Mighty Oak B&B to celebrate our wedding anniversary, along with our daughter. The inn was everything i had hoped it would be. It was charming, clean, well-decorated, the proprietors Todd and Lisa were welcoming and friendly and freely shared with us some of their life stories and what brought them to this point. The breakfast was excellent, locally sourced from their own and surrounding local farms. We enjoyed walking around the property and looking at the various inhabitants (pigs, cows, chickens!). I would not hesitate to stay there again. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely at A Mighty Oak B&B (Pinnacle, NC)

5 reviewed on June 20, 2017

This was such a lovely place to stay for a weekend get away. Todd and Lisa were so inviting and always went above and beyond. The food is exceptional!! Farm to table breakfast that was very gourmet. The room as well as the entire place was one of the cleanest places I've ever stayed in. Not a even a speck of dust. I highly highly recommend this place! Thank you Todd and Lisa for such a wonderful experience.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Place to Visit at A Mighty Oak B&B (Pinnacle, NC)

5 reviewed on June 18, 2017

Wonderful experience, relaxing weekend, and great service. We had a wonderful little getaway. The food was fresh, well thought out, and amazing. Everything was very clean and beautiful! The owners are extremely hospitable and kind.

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing and Welcoming at A Mighty Oak B&B (Pinnacle, NC)

5 reviewed on June 16, 2017

We spent one night at A Mighty Oak on our way to New England and enjoyed it so much we spent a second night on our return home. Both were exactly what we needed and wanted. Lisa and Todd were excellent, welcoming, and very personable. Accomodations are comfortable, spacious, and very clean. Breakfasts were great! We are delighted to have met Lisa and Todd and will return for short trips and to unwind there and as a resting place on longer trips. The Hughey's

View more reviews for this inn


Awesome Family at A Mighty Oak B&B (Pinnacle, NC)

5 reviewed on June 02, 2017

During our time at A Mighty Oak Bed and Breakfast, my husband, mother, and I experienced the warmth and welcome of the Morse family, absolutely spotless accommodations, and a beautiful view of Pilot Mountain and the green pastures surrounding this idyllic family farm. Breakfast was equal to being served in a five star restaurant. Even more impressive was learning that most of what we ate was grown locally, on the family's farm or from a neighbor close by. We thoroughly enjoyed our beautiful retreat and hope to return soon.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful B&B, setting and wonderful hosts at A Mighty Oak B&B (Pinnacle, NC)

5 reviewed on June 01, 2017

We stayed here for four nights in May 2017 while celebrating our 30th anniversary. We thouroughly enjoyed our stay and plan to return again. Todd and Lisa were wonderful hosts, they made us feel welcome and comfortable in their spacious and clean home. The rooms are beautifully decorated and had awesome views of Pilot Mountain, Blue Ridge mountains and their organic farm. We enjoyed watching the sunset from the front balcony and walking around the farm. Todd made us delicious gourmet breakfasts complete with fresh eggs and sausage from their farm and locally grown organic produce. We were impressed with their health conscious meals. They were also accommodating to our dietary sensitivities. There were many things to do in the area, from hiking to shopping in a quaint nearby town to visiting local vineyards. We are so thankful to have discovered this hidden gem and to have met Todd and Lisa.

View more reviews for this inn


Truly a hidden gem at A Mighty Oak B&B (Pinnacle, NC)

5 reviewed on June 01, 2017

Exceptional experience in everyway. Immaculate home, delectable breakfasts, educational farm, beautiful location, amazing hosts, treasured memories.

View more reviews for this inn


Phenomenal Stay at a Picturesque Location at A Mighty Oak B&B (Pinnacle, NC)

5 reviewed on June 01, 2017

I loved every moment of my stay at A Mighty Oak B&B. The farm tour was fascinating, the rooms were lovely, the view was breathtaking, and the food was a work of art! My wife and I visited nearby Mt. Airy during our weekend getaway, and the farm-to-table breakfast we enjoyed the next morning at the B&B was a creative, beautiful, and delicious treat.

View more reviews for this inn


A nourishing retreat at A Mighty Oak B&B (Pinnacle, NC)

5 reviewed on June 01, 2017

My husband and I had the chance to stay at A Mighty Oak last weekend to celebrate our 6th anniversary. I wish we could have stayed longer. We got the wine and cheese tray upon arrival, and it was a peaceful and DELICIOUS way to begin, sipping wine in rocking chairs on the upstairs deck while each beginning a great library book we'd packed. The wine came from a vineyard across the street (JOLO) so major points for providing such a local and delicious product. On the afternoon we arrived, we took a farm tour with another couple staying at the B&B. Near the end, we came down into the pasture to see the heifers and were amazed to see a newborn calf born just hours ago. We admired her and took photos. It was so sweet!! During this tour, I gained a whole new appreciation for local food and all the many benefits--from the environmental to the nutritional aspect to the yumminess and rich flavors. I am so glad to have had the chance to meet the animals on this farm. I don't think I've ever seen happier-looking chickens. One note: you may wish to bring sunscreen or bug spray before the tour so you're prepared for all the elements of a real, working farm. A fairly big storm blew through the night of our stay and we could see lightening all across the sky. It was pretty dramatic (I'm a fan of storms). We had dinner at Shelton Vineyards which I highly recommend. The biggest thing I want to mention is the breakfast provided. It's served at 8:30 (though coffee is available earlier). It was the most incredible feast of local, gourmet, amazing food. Here are a couple highlights: Homemade spelt rolls made from spelt ground on the farm, freshly baked that morning. Custom made omelets. Local strawberries. Local farm sausage. And more! We can't wait to get back. If we didn't have plans, we might go back next weekend, lol!

View more reviews for this inn


Our worst B'n'B experience, ever at Augustus T Zevely Inn (Winston-Salem, NC)

1.8 reviewed on August 08, 2014

Locale is nice, room is large, bed was comfy, innkeeper was pleasant. But, these should be givens, yes? Bath was wretchedly small (in ours, and in several other rooms we inspected). Plumbing was reversed (hot/cold) in shower and staff initially refused to inspect ("we suggest you....blah blah"). Toilet and sink plumbing all needed immediate attention and repair. TV MUCH too small for location. Food selection often unhealthy, and basically unchanged four mornings running. Coffee was supermarket grade. No access to refrigerator on the floor ("WE are a BnB" was the explanation). Surly staff, four mornings running. A/C controls date from the '50s, it is either off on on; very nearly freeze or fry. The best feature probably is, the Tavern (five stars) directly across the street. Good thing, it's a 20 minute walk to any place else to eat.

View more reviews for this inn


Historic Inn Old Salem, NC at Augustus T Zevely Inn (Winston-Salem, NC)

5 reviewed on March 15, 2014

Historic building, originally the home of Augustus T. Zevely in the Moravian settlement of Salem, NC, houses an delightful B&B inn. The rooms are beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean, comfortable and quiet. The only meal is a light but satisfying breakfast buffet. The Tavern across the street has excellent lunch and dinner menus. .The Inn is within a short walk of all historic attractions and the outstanding Museum of Early Southern Decorative Arts. Definitely worth a trip.

View more reviews for this inn


Great location!! at Augustus T Zevely Inn (Winston-Salem, NC)

4.6 reviewed on June 15, 2009

I was not familiar with "Old Salem" and had no idea it would be such a neat place. There was so much to see and there was live music outside at the tavern across the street. There are plenty of restaurants (casual & upscale) downtown just a few minutes away. The Inn was beautiful and the service was great. Unlike some bed & breakfasts, there was a lot of privacy and it was easy to come and go without disturbing the innkeeper or other guests. I thoroughly enjoyed this visit and it made my business trip feel like a vacation!

View more reviews for this inn


bonham bed and breakfast at Augustus T Zevely Inn (Winston-Salem, NC)

4.0 reviewed on September 08, 2008

Beautiful place with lots of antiques. Breakfast was yummy.

View more reviews for this inn


Charming Piece of History at Augustus T Zevely Inn (Winston-Salem, NC)

4.8 reviewed on September 06, 2008

Lovely decor, quaint peaceful surroundings. Newly updated rooms felt like a walk through time on a quiet evening. I can't wait to return. The staff was extremely attentive and helpful, and the personal touches were very homey. There were fresh flowers in my lovely room. I felt as though I had a wonderful vacation during my two-day stay. I highly recommend this inn to any couple who wants to relax and get away from the hustle and bustle of modern life for a bit.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent place to enjoy history at Augustus T Zevely Inn (Winston-Salem, NC)

4.4 reviewed on September 01, 2008

Located in the middle of a Moravian village, the Inn is quaint and enjoyable. They served terrific wines upon arrival and there is a great tavern/fine dining across the street. Very helpful staff and quiet rooms (including third-story rooms) made for a relaxing stay. I highly recommend it and plan to return very soon!

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. A Mighty Oak B&B (4.98)
  2. Augustus T Zevely Inn (4.10)
Top
check }