Recent Reviews in Wilmington, North Carolina

Blown away! at Port City Guest House (Wilmington, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on April 18, 2018

Where do I start?! My girlfriend and I stayed her for a short 2 night, 3 day trip to Wilmington and we were instantly blown away by the house and Sophie! It was difficult to find where to park so I called Sophie and she directed me right in and met us at the door. The house is so beautiful, cozy, and clean. Sophie showed us to our room and then invited us down for a snack. The snack was the best cheesecake we have ever had and homemade toppings to go along with it. We sat with a couple other guests as Sophie gave us wine and sweet tea for those who didn’t want wine and ate our cheesecake and talked for an hour or so. Sophie has so many stories and has just a genuine and electric personality. You can tell she considers all guests family and feeds you like family too! The location is great and convenient, only a 3-5 minute car ride to Front Street. We stayed in the Green room and it was clean and decorated beautifully as well. After a great night sleep, we went downstairs where Sophie met us and asked what we wanted for breakfast and how we liked our eggs. There was already fruit, yogurt, coffee, and orange juice waiting for us but Sophie told us that grits, bacon, toast and eggs were on the way too. The second morning she made us waffles (which were amazing), bacon, and eggs. Sophie and the Port City Guest House were way beyond anything we expected. The service, cleanliness, experience and location make staying here feel like a steal. You won’t find anyone as nice, genuine, caring and eager to serve as Sophie. Sophie made us feel like family and we will stay at the Port City Guest House any and every time we go to Wilmington for sure!!

View more reviews for this inn


Time Away..... at Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast (Carolina Beach, NC)

4.4 reviewed on February 22, 2018

Was in need of some time away to relax. This was the PERFECT spot. Close to great food, across from the ocean (walking distance), clean, accomadating, quaint. Loved the time I spent there and I plan to make it a regular stay. :) Nancy Campbell - Paul Hodjat

View more reviews for this inn


LOVED THIS PLACE!!! at Front Street Inn (Wilmington, NC)

5 reviewed on December 31, 2017

I stayed at this bed and breakfast a few days before Christmas and was enchanted from the start. The room was beautiful and luxurious. It faced Front Street so there was some traffic noise but this did not bother me at all. The building looks very historic on the inside and out. The bed was comfortable and everything was very clean. The breakfast was amazing and obviously a lot of care went into making it. There was a freshly made spinach quiche, muffins, various breads, juice, etc. The ideal continental breakfast, in my opinion. The owner was very pleasant and as a single traveler, I felt very welcome. He provided me a map of Wilmington and pointed out some great places to eat at, as well. I only stayed for one night but I really wished I could have stayed for longer. The location of the bed and breakfast is right on front street so you are only a minute walk from the "main street" of Wilmington. The location is ideal and super convenient for people who want to explore this area. TL:DR This place is beautiful, the service is great, and the breakfast very good. I definitely recommend staying here for anyone who is headed to Wilmington. I will be returning again myself in the future because this place is so lovely!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Bed and breakfast! at Port City Guest House (Wilmington, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on November 01, 2017

What a wonderful bed and breakfast! Sophie is what you think a southern grandmother would be like. Food was so good, made to order breakfast. Plus with wine and snacks at three and never know what she could be cooking for dinner if your around. It was a complete vacation! If you want great food, historical place to lay your head and a owner that makes you feel like part of a family you want to be part of this is your place. Enjoy it and go back often.

View more reviews for this inn


Warm and welcoming at Port City Guest House (Wilmington, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on October 30, 2017

From the moment we arrived on Friday evening, Sophie welcomed us like we were old friends. Sophie has a smile and bright spirit that, if they were elictricity, they would light up ALL of Wilmington. She invited us in to meet the other guests who were there for the weekend, and we enjoyed good food, drink, and lively conversation. Our room was comfortable, quiet, and tastefully furnished. Sophie's breakfasts are outstanding - well prepared, delicious, and of very generous proportions. Any time we return to Wilmington, Port City Guest House will be at the forefront of our choices for lodging.

View more reviews for this inn


Where do I begin? Home away from home! at Port City Guest House (Wilmington, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on October 19, 2017

We are not BnB people, we're hardly hotel people. But we will be returning to Port City Guesthouse at least a couple times a year. First of all we have to say Sophie was wonderful. From the second we got there we were greeted with homemade pimento cheese and crackers and wine. We sat and had conversation for nearly an hour before we had to leave to be somewhere. We had a very busy weekend planned in Wilmington so we missed our last days breakfast sadly but the first morning we came down and saw she had set out baked pears, bananas with honey & cinnamon sugar, yogurt, coffee, juice, water, etc. this would have been plenty breakfast but we had to more courses. Bacon, homemade waffles, 3 different syrups, eggs, pretty much anything! We were the only couple there our first night and although we aren't the best at socializing we returned around 3pm for snacks and another two couples had checked in. Again we ended up sitting st the table talking with everyone for nearly an hour as Sophie made us hot sandwiches as well! Next time we come down to Wilmington we will definitely have a more free plan so we can enjoy our time at Port City Guesthouse. Sophie makes you feel right at home! Did I mention theres a pup?

View more reviews for this inn


Home Away From Home at Angie's B&B (Wilmington, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on September 27, 2017

My daughter and I enjoyed our time at Angie's. They were so warm and loving to us. They did extra things to make us feel at home and showed us not just warm hospitality but love. I have never had an experience like this before from two people that I can now call my friends.

View more reviews for this inn


Old School/Retro Vibe at Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast (Carolina Beach, NC)

4.0 reviewed on September 13, 2017

Old school atmosphere with modern hospitality. Creative breakfasts, great coffee, convenient location. Heather and Mike are great hosts, very helpful and informative. We're desert rats with mostly West Coast/Pacific Ocean experience. Who knew there were fabulous beaches in North Carolina and the Atlantic Ocean is nice and warm.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing breakfast at Angie's B&B (Wilmington, North Carolina)

4.0 reviewed on September 08, 2017

We had a pretty good experience. Our only complaint would be they were having some plumbing issues and we had to use a bathroom across the hall.

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay! at Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast (Carolina Beach, NC)

4.8 reviewed on September 07, 2017

Very nice stay, our hosts were intent on making our visit a good one, they succeeded! The food was excellent, accommodations great, and the location was perfect. We will be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Truly an Outstanding B & B at Rosehill Inn (Wilmington, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on July 29, 2017

Patricia, Bob, and Sean run a first-class B&B! The rooms strike the perfect balance between historic decor and roomy functionality. As vegans, breakfast is sometimes a lost cause for us at B&Bs, but our hosts had plenty of wonderful and tasty options. We'll stay there the next time we're in Wilmington, and highly recommend Rosehill to all!

View more reviews for this inn


Best B&B in Wilmington at Front Street Inn (Wilmington, NC)

5 reviewed on July 28, 2017

Can't say enough good things about Richard, Polly and the Inn. We have stayed here many times and have tried most of the rooms, all of which are uniquely decorated with an eclectic and charming flare. We will continue to return every time we're in town. As a rule, we never eat breakfast anywhere else, Polly's quiches are definitely a highlight of the stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Beacon House Inn is the perfect place to stay! at Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast (Carolina Beach, NC)

5 reviewed on July 24, 2017

Everything about our stay was perfect. The room was so clean upon arrival and the owners were so wonderful. Breakfast was phenomenal every morning we stayed and we really couldn't do anything better for the price

View more reviews for this inn


Port City AWESOME accommodations! at Port City Guest House (Wilmington, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on July 10, 2017

What a pleasant experience! Our room was very comfortable, spacious and quiet. But the best part was the host, Sophie. She is very accommodating. Not only was the food plentiful and delicious but Sophie makes everyone feel like family no matter what time they come thru her door. As an example, i went downstairs to put an ice bag in the freezer at 7:30pm and ended up sitting at the dinning room table until 10:30pm engaged in lively conversations with Sophie and the other guests... and then more guests came in and they joined us too. It reminded me of years ago, when family would get together for the holidays and everyone would gather around the dinning room table and have a good time telling stories over lots of good food. This B&B is located on Market Street, very convenient to the Wilmington Riverwalk and many Historical sites. The service was excellent and continuous. The value was much more reasonable than staying at one of the mid-upper chain hotels and cleaner too. And the food was plentiful, fresh, and delicious. Sophie made homemade waffles, home made french toast, eggs, OJ, juice, coffee tea ,fruit, cookies, dessert, snacks, etc. She made sure we were well taken care of at all hours, not just during breakfast. We will definitely stay again!

View more reviews for this inn


Thanks for a wonderful stay. at Rosehill Inn (Wilmington, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on June 08, 2017

Sorry for my tardiness but I don't spend a lot of time online. But I did want to take the time to thank all involved in making our five day stay such a joy. You and your family made us fell as if we never left home. We won't soon forget your terrific breakfasts and the packed breakfast you made us so we could get an early start and avoid traffic. My wife and I look forward to returning sometime soon. Thanks again for your hospitality. Randy and Pam Ruhl Lancaster, Pa.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Stay at Robert Ruark Inn (Southport, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on June 06, 2017

Gorgeous, beautifully restored home in a charming community. Our room was very clean and comfortable, the courtyard patio was lovely, and breakfast was great. The innkeepers were wonderfully friendly and helpful, and we recommend this property without reservation.

View more reviews for this inn


You want to stay here! at Port City Guest House (Wilmington, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on May 23, 2017

My husband, Airedale, and I stayed here while house hunting in Wilmington. You will never feel more at home than with Sophie. Who, by the way, is charming, gracious, and a fabulous cook to boot! Go on a diet beforehand so you are prepared for her delicious breakfasts and "happy hour" hors d'ouevres. Loved it so much we are returning next month!

View more reviews for this inn


We'll be back! at Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast (Carolina Beach, NC)

4.8 reviewed on May 01, 2017

Spent a lovely night! The hosts were gracious and accommodating, and the breakfast was delicious. Thanks so much!

View more reviews for this inn


B&B Is a Misnomer for this "Boutique Inn" at Front Street Inn (Wilmington, NC)

2.4 reviewed on April 17, 2017

The Highlights: The location is great, right on Front Street, one block from Water St. and the River Walk. There is private parking and no need to drive if you don't want to, which we did not. The building is historic, and well maintained. The downside: The location. The building is literally right on Front St., only a sidewalk's width away from traffic, and the traffic kept up all night on the weekend. Our room was on the ground floor and not at the very front of the building. Passing traffic sounded like the windows were open when they were closed. After the first night, we left, giving up the cost of our second night, and staying in another establishment directly on the river with better accommodations, for less money. But the traffic was not the reason we left after the first night. It was the distance of the staff, from the moment we checked in. No "Welcome to Front Street Inn" at any point. It was clear we had interrupted what the staff person was occupied with so that we could be checked in. The most conversation either of us had with either of the owners was when we left, regarding the reason for our early check out. Then there's the Continental Breakfast. Despite the owner's contention, the presence of a toaster does not make it a "hot" breakfast. My wife and I have accumulated ample B&B experience over several decades in a variety of locations, and this is not a B&B experience, and in our opinion should not be advertised as such. While the owner, in his own words to me upon checking out, may have gotten rich in the hospitality industry, that's not an indication of how successful he has been at satisfying his patrons. He did quite well monetarily from our brief stay, and yet we have no plans to return or to recommend his establishment. There are better choices in equally good or better locations for access to the historic downtown area and the River Walk.

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay at Port City Guest House (Wilmington, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on March 14, 2017

Sophie is a great host and very friendly. She made my wife and I feel right at home.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent B&B at Robert Ruark Inn (Southport, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on February 06, 2017

We stayed in the Virginia room. The owners are very nice and will assit you with any needs you have, give dinner reccomendations, etc. The front porch and side areas are great to sit and relax. They have snacks and wine out each evening.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect weekend getaway! at Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast (Carolina Beach, NC)

5 reviewed on January 23, 2017

This was a perfect weekend get away! We stayed here to get away from all of the hustle and bustle of downtown nightlife, but it was just a quick ride when we wanted to go grab something nice to eat. The B&B was so clean, quiet and romantic. The breakfast was to die for and the service and hospitality was outstanding. We will for sure be back and will be recommending to anybody!

View more reviews for this inn


Mom and Daughters getaway at Port City Guest House (Wilmington, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on December 12, 2016

So, where do I begin on telling you how much My daughter and I enjoyed our stay at your Bed & Breakfast. From the time we walked in to the leaded crystal door and sat down for cheese and crackers until Sunday when we had a delish breakfast consisted of waffles with warm maple syrup crisp bacon and coffee with orange juice. . We enjoyed every moment of it and enjoyed so much you taking the time out of your busy day to sit down with us and chat a while. We will be back. Thank you Sophie for your Southern Hospitality !

View more reviews for this inn


Thank you! at Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast (Carolina Beach, NC)

4.2 reviewed on October 28, 2016

My wife and I stayed the weekend in one of the cottages with our two dogs. We were thrilled to find a place that not only accepted dogs but welcomed them with open arms. When we arrived we found water bowls, treats, wipes, and poop bags. That extra touch made life long friends of us. We didn't stay in the B and B so I can't really rate on site dinning.

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend in Wilmington at Port City Guest House (Wilmington, North Carolina)

4.4 reviewed on October 13, 2016

We had the most lovely weekend stay with Sophie, she is absolutely the ultimate hostess. She greeted us when we arrived, had breakfast and coffee on the table every morning and invited us to wine and treat hour every afternoon. She was quick to give recommendations and tell us the history of Wilmington (and of the ghosts in the house). You can tell she loves hosting because she is fantastic at it. We stayed in one of the rooms towards the middle of the house and had no trouble sleeping, the bed was comfortable and no noises disturbed us. It was our first bed and breakfast experience, and is very much so an experience. Sophie definitely makes the experience!

View more reviews for this inn


Felt right at home. at Port City Guest House (Wilmington, North Carolina)

4.0 reviewed on September 09, 2016

My stay at Port City was wonderful. The hospitality and breakfast was above what I had expected and we felt like we were staying with family.

View more reviews for this inn


Awesome stay! at Angie's B&B (Wilmington, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on August 31, 2016

Angie's B&B is historical, beautify and homey! Angie is a delightful hostess and a wealth of information on Wilmington, both past and present. We will return!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Weekend Getaway at Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast (Carolina Beach, NC)

5 reviewed on August 18, 2016

My husband and myself spent the weekend at the Beacon House Inn. It was a wonderful romantic getaway. The Inn is very clean and the room was very comfortable. The breakfast was so, so delicious! Mike is an amazing cook. We will definitely return.

View more reviews for this inn


Charming place at Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast (Carolina Beach, NC)

4.0 reviewed on August 11, 2016

Charming place with gracious hosts. Breakfast was always interesting and delicious. Mike is an outstanding cook. Very short walk to the beach, and the boardwalk was also within walking distance. Mike, Heather and Jeanette were on spot with restaurant and other recommendations.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Stay at the Port City Guest House! at Port City Guest House (Wilmington, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on August 04, 2016

Sophie was a wonderful host! We will be sure to stay with her again if we are back in town! Our dog loved it too!

View more reviews for this inn


Top
check }