Recent Reviews in Wilmington, North Carolina

Wonderful Bed and breakfast! at Port City Guest House (Wilmington, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on November 01, 2017

What a wonderful bed and breakfast! Sophie is what you think a southern grandmother would be like. Food was so good, made to order breakfast. Plus with wine and snacks at three and never know what she could be cooking for dinner if your around. It was a complete vacation! If you want great food, historical place to lay your head and a owner that makes you feel like part of a family you want to be part of this is your place. Enjoy it and go back often.

View more reviews for this inn


Warm and welcoming at Port City Guest House (Wilmington, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on October 30, 2017

From the moment we arrived on Friday evening, Sophie welcomed us like we were old friends. Sophie has a smile and bright spirit that, if they were elictricity, they would light up ALL of Wilmington. She invited us in to meet the other guests who were there for the weekend, and we enjoyed good food, drink, and lively conversation. Our room was comfortable, quiet, and tastefully furnished. Sophie's breakfasts are outstanding - well prepared, delicious, and of very generous proportions. Any time we return to Wilmington, Port City Guest House will be at the forefront of our choices for lodging.

View more reviews for this inn


Where do I begin? Home away from home! at Port City Guest House (Wilmington, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on October 19, 2017

We are not BnB people, we're hardly hotel people. But we will be returning to Port City Guesthouse at least a couple times a year. First of all we have to say Sophie was wonderful. From the second we got there we were greeted with homemade pimento cheese and crackers and wine. We sat and had conversation for nearly an hour before we had to leave to be somewhere. We had a very busy weekend planned in Wilmington so we missed our last days breakfast sadly but the first morning we came down and saw she had set out baked pears, bananas with honey & cinnamon sugar, yogurt, coffee, juice, water, etc. this would have been plenty breakfast but we had to more courses. Bacon, homemade waffles, 3 different syrups, eggs, pretty much anything! We were the only couple there our first night and although we aren't the best at socializing we returned around 3pm for snacks and another two couples had checked in. Again we ended up sitting st the table talking with everyone for nearly an hour as Sophie made us hot sandwiches as well! Next time we come down to Wilmington we will definitely have a more free plan so we can enjoy our time at Port City Guesthouse. Sophie makes you feel right at home! Did I mention theres a pup?

View more reviews for this inn


Home Away From Home at Angie's B&B (Wilmington, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on September 27, 2017

My daughter and I enjoyed our time at Angie's. They were so warm and loving to us. They did extra things to make us feel at home and showed us not just warm hospitality but love. I have never had an experience like this before from two people that I can now call my friends.

View more reviews for this inn


Absolutely Thrilled! at C. W. Worth House Bed and Breakfast (Wilmington, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on September 21, 2017

We could not have been more satisfied with our stay at the C.W. Worth House Bed and Breakfast! Margi and Doug went above and beyond our expectations to make our first anniversary special and memorable. The multi-course breakfast was absolutely perfect, and the dining room conversation with other guests was equally enjoyable. We stayed in the Hibiscus Room, which included an antique queen bed with a memory foam mattress, a two-person whirlpool, and a table for two recessed in the corner turret of the beautiful Victorian home. The home is a short walk from Wilmington's vibrant downtown, where we enjoyed museums, delicious food and drink, shopping, and a scenic cruise on the Cape Fear River. On Sundays, don't forget to check out the Historic Downtown Wilmington Marketplace at Waterfront Park on S. Water St. between Market St. and Princess St. You'll find quality vendors and live music sponsored by the City of Wilmington. We cannot thank Margi and Doug enough for making our stay special. We plan to return to the C.W. Worth House Bed and Breakfast for many years to come. Don't forget to purchase commemorative C.W. Worth House coffee mugs to mark what will be a very special event! -M. and A. Brown

View more reviews for this inn


Old School/Retro Vibe at Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast (Carolina Beach, North Carolina)

4.0 reviewed on September 13, 2017

Old school atmosphere with modern hospitality. Creative breakfasts, great coffee, convenient location. Heather and Mike are great hosts, very helpful and informative. We're desert rats with mostly West Coast/Pacific Ocean experience. Who knew there were fabulous beaches in North Carolina and the Atlantic Ocean is nice and warm.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing breakfast at Angie's B&B (Wilmington, North Carolina)

4.0 reviewed on September 08, 2017

We had a pretty good experience. Our only complaint would be they were having some plumbing issues and we had to use a bathroom across the hall.

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay! at Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast (Carolina Beach, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on September 07, 2017

Very nice stay, our hosts were intent on making our visit a good one, they succeeded! The food was excellent, accommodations great, and the location was perfect. We will be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Truly an Outstanding B & B at Rosehill Inn (Wilmington, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on July 29, 2017

Patricia, Bob, and Sean run a first-class B&B! The rooms strike the perfect balance between historic decor and roomy functionality. As vegans, breakfast is sometimes a lost cause for us at B&Bs, but our hosts had plenty of wonderful and tasty options. We'll stay there the next time we're in Wilmington, and highly recommend Rosehill to all!

View more reviews for this inn


Splendid B&B at C. W. Worth House Bed and Breakfast (Wilmington, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on July 29, 2017

My partner and I are frequent visitors to the Worth House, we are never disappointed. Beautiful home within walking distance of everything. Doug & Margi are extremely gracious and go above and beyond to make your stay exceptional. We are looking forward to our next visit! Michael and Michael

View more reviews for this inn


Best B&B in Wilmington at Front Street Inn (Wilmington, NC)

5 reviewed on July 28, 2017

Can't say enough good things about Richard, Polly and the Inn. We have stayed here many times and have tried most of the rooms, all of which are uniquely decorated with an eclectic and charming flare. We will continue to return every time we're in town. As a rule, we never eat breakfast anywhere else, Polly's quiches are definitely a highlight of the stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Fabulous three nights! at Bed and breakfast at Mallard Bay (Hampstead, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on July 23, 2017

Could not have asked for more from this beautiful B&B!. Wonderful hostess, breakfast, accommodations and location! The access to the water and the beautiful property itself was a bonus! Plus easy access to surrounding areas.. downtown Wilmington,Topsail Beach, UNCW.

View more reviews for this inn


Port City AWESOME accommodations! at Port City Guest House (Wilmington, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on July 10, 2017

What a pleasant experience! Our room was very comfortable, spacious and quiet. But the best part was the host, Sophie. She is very accommodating. Not only was the food plentiful and delicious but Sophie makes everyone feel like family no matter what time they come thru her door. As an example, i went downstairs to put an ice bag in the freezer at 7:30pm and ended up sitting at the dinning room table until 10:30pm engaged in lively conversations with Sophie and the other guests... and then more guests came in and they joined us too. It reminded me of years ago, when family would get together for the holidays and everyone would gather around the dinning room table and have a good time telling stories over lots of good food. This B&B is located on Market Street, very convenient to the Wilmington Riverwalk and many Historical sites. The service was excellent and continuous. The value was much more reasonable than staying at one of the mid-upper chain hotels and cleaner too. And the food was plentiful, fresh, and delicious. Sophie made homemade waffles, home made french toast, eggs, OJ, juice, coffee tea ,fruit, cookies, dessert, snacks, etc. She made sure we were well taken care of at all hours, not just during breakfast. We will definitely stay again!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Stay at Robert Ruark Inn (Southport, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on June 06, 2017

Gorgeous, beautifully restored home in a charming community. Our room was very clean and comfortable, the courtyard patio was lovely, and breakfast was great. The innkeepers were wonderfully friendly and helpful, and we recommend this property without reservation.

View more reviews for this inn


Great B&B in Wilmington, NC at C. W. Worth House Bed and Breakfast (Wilmington, North Carolina)

4.2 reviewed on May 31, 2017

Centrally located. Comfortable and beautiful accomodations. Great antiques. Breakfast was absolutely delicious. The hosts Doug and Margi were outstanding.

View more reviews for this inn


You want to stay here! at Port City Guest House (Wilmington, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on May 23, 2017

My husband, Airedale, and I stayed here while house hunting in Wilmington. You will never feel more at home than with Sophie. Who, by the way, is charming, gracious, and a fabulous cook to boot! Go on a diet beforehand so you are prepared for her delicious breakfasts and "happy hour" hors d'ouevres. Loved it so much we are returning next month!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful B&B. Wonderful Owners. at C. W. Worth House Bed and Breakfast (Wilmington, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on May 22, 2017

From the moment I arrived at C.W. Worth House, I felt instantly welcomed by the owners Margi and Doug. Poor Doug had to drag my 50-pound suitcase up to the second floor to the lovely Azalea Room that I had booked. I was meeting my sister and her husband (who stayed in the Rose Suite) to celebrate the graduation of our nephew from UNC-W. Although he ended up not graduating, the owners STILL gave us the Teal Deal, a 10 percent discount on our stay. That was incredibly generous of them. The large Victorian home is filled with lovely antiques and feels incredibly warm and inviting. My room was spacious with lots of windows, a fireplace, TV, sunroom and renovated bathroom with a clawfoot tub. Conveniently located outside my door was a frig filled with all kinds of drinks and an area counter stuffed with snacks, coffee, tea and more. A very nice touch. In the late afternoon, Margi would bring out some refreshing white wine, which really hit the spot. Every morning, the two-course breakfast was cooked from scratch and incredibly delicious. It was definitely gourmet quality. We had muffins, fruit, frittatas, sausage casseroles, plenty of different juices and coffee. I know there was more, but I can't remember it all! Margi and Doug were a wealth of knowledge and gave some outstanding recommendations on local restaurants and shopping. I had such a great time and would highly recommend this B&B if you're looking for a lovely place to stay and owners who really go the extra mile for their guests.

View more reviews for this inn


We'll be back! at Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast (Carolina Beach, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on May 01, 2017

Spent a lovely night! The hosts were gracious and accommodating, and the breakfast was delicious. Thanks so much!

View more reviews for this inn


B&B Is a Misnomer for this "Boutique Inn" at Front Street Inn (Wilmington, NC)

2.4 reviewed on April 17, 2017

The Highlights: The location is great, right on Front Street, one block from Water St. and the River Walk. There is private parking and no need to drive if you don't want to, which we did not. The building is historic, and well maintained. The downside: The location. The building is literally right on Front St., only a sidewalk's width away from traffic, and the traffic kept up all night on the weekend. Our room was on the ground floor and not at the very front of the building. Passing traffic sounded like the windows were open when they were closed. After the first night, we left, giving up the cost of our second night, and staying in another establishment directly on the river with better accommodations, for less money. But the traffic was not the reason we left after the first night. It was the distance of the staff, from the moment we checked in. No "Welcome to Front Street Inn" at any point. It was clear we had interrupted what the staff person was occupied with so that we could be checked in. The most conversation either of us had with either of the owners was when we left, regarding the reason for our early check out. Then there's the Continental Breakfast. Despite the owner's contention, the presence of a toaster does not make it a "hot" breakfast. My wife and I have accumulated ample B&B experience over several decades in a variety of locations, and this is not a B&B experience, and in our opinion should not be advertised as such. While the owner, in his own words to me upon checking out, may have gotten rich in the hospitality industry, that's not an indication of how successful he has been at satisfying his patrons. He did quite well monetarily from our brief stay, and yet we have no plans to return or to recommend his establishment. There are better choices in equally good or better locations for access to the historic downtown area and the River Walk.

View more reviews for this inn


CW Worth House Review at C. W. Worth House Bed and Breakfast (Wilmington, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on March 28, 2017

A bunch of 7 quilters booked the entire home for a quilting retreat. Words cannot begin to express the amazing time we had at C.W. Worth B&B. It would be hard to find a better host/hostess than Margi and Doug. They were very personable, often sharing in our laughter and good times. The daily breakfast held mouth watering delights that you don't find at any restaurant. We plan to return again to enjoy not only the historic atmosphere of the home, but loved the warmth and love felt in the home.

View more reviews for this inn


Quilting Retreat at C. W. Worth House Bed and Breakfast (Wilmington, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on March 27, 2017

Margi and Doug were the perfect hosts for our group's quilting retreat. We ate, talked, laughed, rested, and even sewed! Any request was promptly fulfilled and the hospitality was great! Rooms were large, comfortable, and quiet. Wonderful resting place for folks wanting to explore downtown Wilmington.

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay at Port City Guest House (Wilmington, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on March 14, 2017

Sophie is a great host and very friendly. She made my wife and I feel right at home.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful Bed and Breakfast at C. W. Worth House Bed and Breakfast (Wilmington, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on February 23, 2017

We really enjoyed our stay at C W Worth House. The house is very warm and inviting and the hosts are wonderful. They make you feel welcome. The rooms are clean and spacious. The atmosphere is relaxing and we will return again. Thank you for opening your house for us.

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding weekend at C. W. Worth House Bed and Breakfast (Wilmington, North Carolina)

4.0 reviewed on February 15, 2017

Well, I would have given Outstanding on the rating scale but for some reason it wouldn't let me click on the last dot. But is definitely exceeded my expectations!! We stayed in the Azalea Room and it by far is the best room in the house. The room temperature was just right. Everything was clean! Not to far from down town. Margi and Doug make awesome breakfast and great host's. We will be back again!!

View more reviews for this inn


Authentic B&B with Gracious Hosts at C. W. Worth House Bed and Breakfast (Wilmington, North Carolina)

4.4 reviewed on January 30, 2017

The B&B owners, Margi and Doug, were gracious hosts who were every accommodating. The property is in the historical district/residential neighborhood within walking distance to downtown, restaurants and the riverfront. The bedroom, with a fireplace, was spacious and comfortable. My only regret was not being able to use the nicely landscaped courtyard due to the seasonal weather. Be sure to sample the delicious homemade muffins for breakfast. Highly recommend staying at this B&B to experience true Wilmington hospitality.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing hidden jewel of Wilmington best bed and breakfast in town at C. W. Worth House Bed and Breakfast (Wilmington, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on January 29, 2017

The Worth house is a hidden gem in historical Wilmington nc. The house was once the capital and then a boardind house now its a quaint bed and breakfast. We decided this year we wanted to take a staycation in our own town for new years eve. I own a limousine and vintage car service and had been invited to place one of my vehicles into a local brewery within walking distance to the house for new years. From first contact Doug and Margi were exceptional hosts. They helped carry our bags to our suite and checked on us and made us feel like family during our stay. We were invited down stairs to sit and chat and enjoy a glass of champagne and snacks. They are a wealth of local knowledge. The house is immaculately taken care of and decorated I enjoyed walking thru the rooms looking at the bits of history and antiques. The rooms are well apointed and every detail is thought of from complementary snacks and drinks to soft comfy linens and towls. The breakfast is hand prepared with the freashest ingredients. Fresh fruit and amazing coffee. I highly recommend staying here and look forward to staying here again.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect weekend getaway! at Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast (Carolina Beach, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on January 23, 2017

This was a perfect weekend get away! We stayed here to get away from all of the hustle and bustle of downtown nightlife, but it was just a quick ride when we wanted to go grab something nice to eat. The B&B was so clean, quiet and romantic. The breakfast was to die for and the service and hospitality was outstanding. We will for sure be back and will be recommending to anybody!

View more reviews for this inn


Mom and Daughters getaway at Port City Guest House (Wilmington, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on December 12, 2016

So, where do I begin on telling you how much My daughter and I enjoyed our stay at your Bed & Breakfast. From the time we walked in to the leaded crystal door and sat down for cheese and crackers until Sunday when we had a delish breakfast consisted of waffles with warm maple syrup crisp bacon and coffee with orange juice. . We enjoyed every moment of it and enjoyed so much you taking the time out of your busy day to sit down with us and chat a while. We will be back. Thank you Sophie for your Southern Hospitality !

View more reviews for this inn


Thank you! at Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast (Carolina Beach, North Carolina)

4.2 reviewed on October 28, 2016

My wife and I stayed the weekend in one of the cottages with our two dogs. We were thrilled to find a place that not only accepted dogs but welcomed them with open arms. When we arrived we found water bowls, treats, wipes, and poop bags. That extra touch made life long friends of us. We didn't stay in the B and B so I can't really rate on site dinning.

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend in Wilmington at Port City Guest House (Wilmington, North Carolina)

4.4 reviewed on October 13, 2016

We had the most lovely weekend stay with Sophie, she is absolutely the ultimate hostess. She greeted us when we arrived, had breakfast and coffee on the table every morning and invited us to wine and treat hour every afternoon. She was quick to give recommendations and tell us the history of Wilmington (and of the ghosts in the house). You can tell she loves hosting because she is fantastic at it. We stayed in one of the rooms towards the middle of the house and had no trouble sleeping, the bed was comfortable and no noises disturbed us. It was our first bed and breakfast experience, and is very much so an experience. Sophie definitely makes the experience!

View more reviews for this inn


Top
check }