Log House Homestead Bed & Breakfast Reviews


View details

  • Guest room4.9
  • Service5
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness5
  • Onsite Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
39 Reviews

Write A Review

Beauty and Perfection

4.8 on July 14, 2016

The Log House is inspiring, the setting is lovely and the food is delicious. Mr. and Mrs. Hartley's hospitality is superb.

Awesome Log House

5 on February 05, 2016

Unique, down home in comfort. Wonderful host and hostess. Beautiful serene setting. Will tell my friends and family.

A Great Place to Relax!

5 on February 05, 2016

Had a wonderful weekend at Log House Homestead! Quiet, serene, and relaxing. Beautiful accommodations and good food.


5 on January 28, 2016

This was our second stay at the Log House. We live in FL and were hoping for snow during our January visit. Well, we got it, over a foot of beautiful snow. We even had to stay an extra night because traveling would have been difficult. Dick and Martha are wonderful people. Dick even braved the deep snow to bring us our breakfast! We will be visiting again soon and you should too. It's a beautiful and peaceful place to get away from it all.


5 on June 04, 2015

We celebrated our wedding anniversary here. Simply perfection among the beautiful WV hills...

A Christmas getaway

5 on April 27, 2015

Great guest house with décor of an earlier time period. A cozy cabin with all the modern amenities.

Great place

4.4 on April 23, 2015

We stayed two nights at the lovely Log House Homestead. It was wonderful, from the rocking chairs on the porch to relax an chat to the wonderful breakfast prepared by Martha.

Retreat to the hills

4.4 on April 23, 2015

Modern construction of traditional log house beautifully accomplished. Great hosts. Great breakfast.

Heaven on Earth

4.8 on April 22, 2015

Love the peace and beauty of this beautiful log home. Martha and Dick were born to own B&B. Martha is a cook beyond words.

Five stars all the way

5 on April 12, 2015

I generally distrust 5-star reviews, but this is one of those cases where it was more than amply earned. Martha and Dick are superb hosts, always looking for little ways to make your stay more pleasant. Their attention to detail is beyond superb - every time either one of us though, "I wonder if they have ...?" or "Do you think they provided ...?" Martha and Dick had been there before us. The breakfasts are amazing, and for some that may be the only meal you need to get you through the day. The cabin itself is a delight filled with small discoveries, and that fact that you are completely unplugged from the rest of the world only adds to the value. The surrounding forests are a delight to hike through, and the view from the front porch in the evening, quietly rocking away, as the sunsets behind the mountains are reflected in the pond out front, make the ending of each day memorable. Rest assured, we will be back.

Simply beautiful!

5 on April 08, 2015

Wonderful, peaceful getaway. Recaptures the beauty of the simple life but with modern bath and kitchen. Craftsmanship is fabulous and the beauty of the kinds of wood used is inspiring.

Idyllic !

5 on February 20, 2015

Stopped over for one night in Feb 2015 having seen posting on website. Beautiful warm and tastefully decorated cabin -exceptional craftsmanship. Despite a domestic crisis we were provided an excellent service and a lovely homecooked breakfast. Thank-you ! May be a little out of the way for some, but this is a beautiful quiet location - which I would thoroughly recommend. I want to go back ! (Next time would try Cairo for dinner - local State Park Lodge less than average for dinner/service).

Innkeeper Response
We have shared this dining concern with the restaurant in question and they are looking into the situation. Thank you for helping us make our guests’ experiences better.

Foothill Retreat

4.8 on February 04, 2015

Lovely log cabin in a picturesque setting. Quiet, peaceful but close to a variety of amenities in Parkersburg. Very friendly, helpful owners. Delicious breakfast.

Great B&B tucked away in the country

5 on January 03, 2015

This is a great B&B located in a relatively remote and quiet area. Friendly owners, incredible food, plenty of recreational activities not too far away. We will be returning in warmer weather for a better chance to take advantage of the outdoor activities.

Log House Homestead Bed & Breakfast

5 on September 23, 2014

The Innkeepers are great hosts. The cabin was exquisite. I would recommend the cabin to anyone. A beautiful place.

What a Treat !!!

5 on September 18, 2014

Our 2 night visit was exceptional. Martha & Dick were very gracious hosts and their breakfast fare superb. They accommodated my wife's gluten free diet exceptionally well and the breads were very very good! Thank you. I don't think I have enough nice adjectives to say how awesome the Log House was. So unique and suitable for a quiet stay. No hustle and bustle here. Relatively close to the Rails to Trails and North Bend state park facilities made it perfect for us. There are some unique attractions in Parkersburg and Williamstown and we would like to return to explore more. Do follow the Hartleys directions vs Google! It is secluded, but not too hard to find. Thanks, Martha & Dick. See you again soon.

Dakota's Review

5 on September 16, 2014

Staying here was outstanding. It was extremely clean, and it was very peaceful. Plus the breakfast was phenomenal.

Great Getaway

5 on July 15, 2014

We had to visit this place under unfortunate circumstances. However, we were delighted that we found this B & B. It was a comfort during grieving times. Both Martha and Dick were great hosts. Martha makes the MOST amazing breakfast you will ever have. Oh and the log cabin . . . a great getaway from it all (no phone, internet, or TV). We really enjoyed our evening on the porch sitting in the rocking chairs, listening to bull frogs in the pond out front. All while a deer sneaks out of the woods to steal a bite of the marigolds. In the morning we would walk the driveway which sneaks through an endless woods which harmonizes with birds singing. We highly recommend this B & B. Thank you Martha and Dick! Your friends in Driftwood, TX

Peepers and Tranquility

5 on June 17, 2014

Early spring in this bucolic hidden valley treasure of a log home hide-a-way brings out the peepers (tree frogs) around the pond. Just sitting in the rocking chairs on the porch is perfect relaxation.

Historical and Artful

5 on April 18, 2014

Authentic historical tribute to early American construction with 20th century amenities done in an artful way. A peaceful getaway!

A treasure in Wild & Wonderful West Virginia!

5 on December 18, 2013

We were delighted to find this beautiful, log house tucked away in the windy roads of W. Va. A step back in time w/all the modern amenities!

The perfect get away!

5 on November 18, 2013

This is the perfect place to relax and unwind. Martha and Dick are wonderful, the cabin is fantastic and breakfast is amazing! Loved it all and will be back!

Return to basics

5 on October 16, 2013

We keep returning here - now our 11th year,because of the charm and peace of the cabin, and the gracious hospitality of the hosts. The absolute quiet here makes inner reflection both possible and valuable.

Unique WV Log House

4.8 on October 14, 2013

This is an extraordinary place which I would highly recommend to all. The home is conveniently situated along the North Bend bike trail. Nestled on a family farm surrounded by amazing wildlife. The home is extraordinary - a labor of love and perseverance. The food was also amazing - delicious and filling.

Relaxing Get-away

5 on October 06, 2013

Conveniently located about 1/2 mile from the North Bend Rail Trail, the Log House Homestead offers a luxorious cabin with all the amenities. There is ample space in the cabin for relaxing/reading and a Jacuzzi tub for weary bikers. Martha and Dick (the hosts) were wonderful and brought delicious meals to the cabin each morning. The architecture of the cabin is amazing - I would have liked to have seen it being built.

A Quiet Escape

4.8 on September 22, 2013

The Log Cabin was exactly what we needed to getaway from it all. It was fun to leave worries and cell reception behind us. There is a quaint town nearby and Dick and Martha are the best hosts you could ask for. Can't wait to go back.

Step back in time!

5 on August 17, 2013

We loved the "step back in time" without missing modern amenities! Private, spacious and welcoming Log House Homestread was more than we'd hoped. We are anxious to share this gem with family and friends!

Log Cabin Homestead B&B

4.6 on June 11, 2013

Wonderful accommodations and lovely owners. A very secluded and memorable honeymoon.

A Piece of Heaven

5 on November 10, 2012

Log House Homestead takes you on a beautiful journey back in time to a more peaceful, simplistic place. A place where you rediscover meditative silence and conversation we came away renewed and refreshed.

Superlative Experience

5 on October 08, 2012

This rustic, hand-built log home in rural Cairo, WV offers the best in "down home peace and quiet." The innkeepers are historians and the cabin, and even the breakfasts are early American traditions. Superb!

Private Top-Notch Delight

5 on September 10, 2012

The Log House Homestead is excellent. It is spotlessly clean, the aesthetic of the down-home decor is perfect, the breakfast is delicious and well-planned, and the quiet front porch melts away your stress. We have already recommended it to several friends and family members.

Fabulous House and Innkeepers

5 on August 26, 2012

Would go back again and again. You don't want to miss the homemade breakfast!

Time Well Spent

5 on August 13, 2012

The one-on-one conversation with the owners, excellent food, value, cleanliness, safety, location -- all add up to a wonderful & restful visit.

Beautiful, peaceful place.

5 on August 10, 2012

The Log House was beautiful and in a peaceful, wooded setting. Breakfast was delicious. Period reproductions made it feel very authentic.

Home Away From Home

5 on August 05, 2012

We stayed there a couple of years ago and my sister has stayed there with her family a few times since. It's one of our favorite places to stay when we go back to visit. It is pretty far out in the country and the road to it is narrow and windy. You feel like you've gone back in time with all the luxuries of today. The owners are really nice and they make you feel like family. There is a pretty pond with cat tails all around it that you can fish in. My son liked that. And the view out there is awesome. The breakfast is amazing; you will want her recipes. It is truely like going HOME.

One of a Kind

4.6 on August 04, 2012

This authentically accurate log house is a masterpiece of craftsmanship, and a great place to stay if you are looking for something quiet. Highly recommended.

Cozy Cabin in the Woods

5 on July 29, 2012

This is a great cabin in the woods with all the amenities of a bed & breakfast. The innkeepers are very knowledgeable of the area and thoughtful. Their food was hearty and delicious.

Diamond in the Rough

5 on April 16, 2012

What an outstanding B&B. With the many other B&B's we have stayed at, and only having one room, how could you not enjoy having a whole house to yourself. Then the tranquility of the area. The WV mountains, fresh air, and wildlife made it even better. The home transports you back to another time and you just let all your worries melt away with no tv or cell phone service. After walking or biking around the area, you can come back to the inviting jacuzzi and then sit on the front porch with a nice glass of wine. The owners, Dick and Martha Hartley are just as wonderful and make the experience top notch especially with the food Martha cooks up for you each morning. Definitely suggest this one, even though it sits deep in the mountains among the simple life of the mountain people.


5 on April 01, 2012

The setting could not have been better. A excellent mix of 19th century and 21st. Conveniently close and wonderfully remote. The innkeepers make you feel at home regardless of how close or how far you wish to be from them.

Log House Homestead Bed & Breakfast


Contact Innkeeper

Visit Website »

View details