Recent Reviews in Waxahachie, Texas

My New Favorite B&B at The English Merchant's Inn (Waxahachie, Texas)

5 reviewed on May 15, 2017

My wife and I agree, this is our new favorite gem of a Bed and Breakfast but it is so much more than that. Mary and Howard were amazing hosts, going truly above and beyond to make us feel welcome. Mary is an amazing cook and we were woken but the amazing smell of Bacon and she even cooked me a custom English Breakfast (as I am actually from "Across the Pond"). The accommodations were awesome and we stayed in the HUGE suite and bed I just did not want to leave. We loved it so much we will be back just to stay there as our new secret hide-away.

View more reviews for this inn


Great rooms and breakfast at Chaska House B&B / Hemingway's cottages (Waxahachie, Texas)

5 reviewed on May 05, 2017

Had a delightful stay with friends. Our hosts were so accommodating and iendly. We would definitely stay here again!

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding accomodations at a great price... at The English Merchant's Inn (Waxahachie, Texas)

5 reviewed on May 04, 2017

We chose to stay at this location at the last minute while attending the local Renn Faire. I was amazed to find such a lovely room at a great price for an Inn vs. a regular hotel. We booked the downstairs suite which had a HUGE bedroom and a full sitting room WITH a fireplace, PLUS we had a private patio with our own entrance. Amazing.... Staying at an inn or B&B is SO much nicer and about half the price you would pay for a suite at a hotel. Plus the cozy atmosphere, the beautiful decor, the privacy..you really can't beat it. Mary and Howard were outstanding hosts, welcoming us with a chilled glass of wine and great conversation. They provided directions to a choice of dining options and introduced us to another couple staying at the Inn who we ended up going out to dinner with and had a great time. The next morning we had a lovely breakfast of parfait and quiche that smelled heavenly as we woke up. The whole experience was so pleasant and restful that it was hard to want to leave to even go to the Faire! Our second morning was even better than the first as Mary whipped up a full English breakfast specially for us, complete with tea and scones, just because my British husband mentioned it. She's a fabulous cook and it was stellar! The next time we come we won't need any more reason than just to visit with Mary and Howard and to enjoy just relaxing in truly the best Inn we've ever stayed at.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful getaway at The English Merchant's Inn (Waxahachie, Texas)

5 reviewed on May 01, 2017

The English Merchant's Inn is a hidden gem in Waxahachie, Tx. It is a place that transports you from the ordinary of everyday life to the romance of far off climes. The decor is superb, the hosts are wonderful, and breakfast is equally, ootherwise of the ordinary and tastey. If you are going to the Scarborough Faire and want don't want to drive home afterwards, The English Merchant's Inn is a very short drive with very comfortable beds. Cheers!

View more reviews for this inn


Absolutely Wonderful!! at Moore Ventura Bed and Breakfast (Ennis, Texas)

5 reviewed on April 29, 2017

This is a 5-Star Bed and Breakfast in every respect. It is a beautiful house and is kept spotlessly clean. Three cousins and I spent several days here in April, 2017. We loved everything about it.. The bedrooms were comfortable and inviting. The breakfasts were so special: each morning brought a delightful surprise. Joanne and Sam are beyond excellent hosts. It was such fun to be able to chat with them and admire all the hard work that went into the restoration of this great house, And an extra treat was getting a chance to see Sam's fantastic train collection. The pictures are very nice, but they can not do justice to the Ventura home. Please go see for yourselves. Betty

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely Inn; Good Quality All-Round at The English Merchant's Inn (Waxahachie, Texas)

3.4 reviewed on April 25, 2017

The Inn is delightful; rooms are large and nicely furnished. We would have liked a little better arrangement in the bathroom -- only one small bar of soap, which we had to move back and forth between lavatory and shower, and no table or hooks to put anything. Breakfast was good -- the poached pair was excellent; scrambled eggs good, but the waffle/bacon combo left a little to the desired. Howard was a gracious and congenial host; we met Mary only briefly, but she too was friendly. We did question the recommendation of a pub for off-site dining for two old ladies who had said we don't drink, but to each his/her own ideas. We would definitely go back and recommend this B&B to friends.

View more reviews for this inn


Wedding Night Relaxation at Chaska House B&B / Hemingway's cottages (Waxahachie, Texas)

5 reviewed on April 25, 2017

My husband and I stayed here on our wedding night, and it was perfect. Everything is so comfortable- the bed, the couch, every single chair. The decor is beautiful and unique. The Jacuzzi and the huge shower were just what we needed after the chaos of our wedding week. We sat on the front porch for a little while on our way out to watch the birds and hear their songs... it was so peaceful. It felt like we were a million miles away in a private garden- but we were really a short stroll from downtown. I cannot wait to return. This is now our dedicated getaway from the noise of Dallas.

View more reviews for this inn


Hidden Gem at Moore Ventura Bed and Breakfast (Ennis, Texas)

5 reviewed on April 21, 2017

We decided to spend our fourth anniversary taking in the bluebonnet trail of north Texas and stumbled upon the Moore Ventura bed and breakfast in Ennis looking for accommodations. We can tell you that nothing is left to chance here!!! Sam and Joannn are the ultimate hosts!!! Their years of experience in the hospitality and the arts become a natural fit as curators and hosts of this beautiful and warm mansion. The home has been lovingly restored and every attention to detail has been met. Joann even called my husband and arranged for a gorgeous bouquet of flowers in our suite! The decor is filled with worldwide pieces that have a history which they love to share if you are interested. The home has two areas for tv or movie watching (but who wants to do that), game areas, beautiful porches and outdoor areas for relaxing, reading or opening that bottle of wine from an area wine tour. And I haven't even gotten to the beautiful and sumptuous breakfast you will be served in the handsome dining room!!! This is where you can see their years of experience in the restaurant arena. Perfection!!! Don't miss any opportunity you have to book a stay here. You won't regret it.

View more reviews for this inn


Anniversary #4 at Moore Ventura Bed and Breakfast (Ennis, Texas)

5 reviewed on April 17, 2017

The host and hostess were fabulous! We will definitely go back in the future! The house is exquisite, beautiful, we didn't even get out in the yard! The home is so beautiful and restored to top detail. The rooms were beautiful and we fully enjoyed ourselves for our anniversary! The two of us.

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic at Chaska House B&B / Hemingway's cottages (Waxahachie, Texas)

5 reviewed on April 11, 2017

My Wife and I spent three nights and celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary. I can't say enough good things about our stay. Linda and Luis are number one. The house is beautiful well-kept and very clean. The breakfast was great. And really enjoyed the fellowship around the breakfast table with other guest and Linda and Luis. We plan a return trip in the near future

View more reviews for this inn


A step back in time. at Moore Ventura Bed and Breakfast (Ennis, Texas)

5 reviewed on April 05, 2017

This B&B was everything and more than I had expected. The host and hostess were gracious. The house is beautiful. Little things were thought of and provided to make our stay even more perfect - things I would not even have thought of. You won't be disappointed choosing this B&B

View more reviews for this inn


Loved my stay at the English Merchant's Inn at The English Merchant's Inn (Waxahachie, Texas)

5 reviewed on March 31, 2017

Everything was lovely and Mary and Howard made me feel so comfortable and at home. They are exceptional hosts and everything from the delicious breakfasts to the comfort of the bed and room decor was much better than I expected!

View more reviews for this inn


Eclectic and fun at The English Merchant's Inn (Waxahachie, Texas)

4.4 reviewed on March 11, 2017

This place is a fun oasis in a quaint little town within quick driving distance of Dallas. It worked out perfectly for us to travel into Dallas daily, but stay away from loud noises and heavy traffic at night. The English atmosphere and history is delightful and Howard and Mary are very gracious hosts.

View more reviews for this inn


Charming at The English Merchant's Inn (Waxahachie, Texas)

5 reviewed on January 03, 2017

October 2016 was my first visit but definitely not my last. My niece suggested this B&B & I'm so glad she did. Charming, relaxing & comfortable. Mary & Howard make you feel at home.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful!!! at The English Merchant's Inn (Waxahachie, Texas)

5 reviewed on December 29, 2016

Everything was perfect at this beautiful B & B. Mary, our hostess was charming and very very helpful. The décor was enchanting and lovely. Breakfast was devine. We will be back. Connie & Greg

View more reviews for this inn


Hidden B&B Gem just south of Dallas at Moore Ventura Bed and Breakfast (Ennis, Texas)

4.6 reviewed on December 17, 2016

My daughter and I were heading to Dallas for a wedding and I could not believe my eyes when I happened upon the online description of the stunning, historical Moore Ventura bed and breakfast tucked away in Ennis, TX, just south of Dallas. An incredibly beautiful Neo-classical Revival House from 1905 is now open to the public as a Bed and Breakfast. Well we had to to check it out! The house is lovingly restored and just breathtaking - the pictures don't do it justice. Of course we did appreciate the modern amenities as well, such as the fast wifi. The hosts Joanne and Sam did all they could to extend true hospitality to us and the other guests staying at the B&B. The 2-course breakfast was especially delicious and creatively plated, served in the gorgeous dining room along with interesting conversation with the innkeepers and other guests. I consider this a destination gem just south of Dallas. There are 3 bedrooms available for guests, and we enjoyed the huge bedroom with twin beds at the top of the sweeping staircase. I would recommend booking early for your choice of rooms.

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic Weekend Getaway at Chaska House B&B / Hemingway's cottages (Waxahachie, Texas)

5 reviewed on November 15, 2016

What a beautiful home. The retreat room we stayed in was so relaxing, especially the tub for two. The breakfast was absolutely delicious, and the sweet homeowners are the best part of the visit!

View more reviews for this inn


Great place, wonderful couple, amazing house at Moore Ventura Bed and Breakfast (Ennis, Texas)

5 reviewed on November 07, 2016

We stayed her last weekend, and it was wonderful. The only complain was the train loudness, but can't do much about that. We loved the innkeepers, they were as much fun as the historic old house itself. Great italian resturaunt nearby, close to Dallas, nice history and amazing house with really great balcony to sit on, especially when it's training! About the only suggestion would be to put in an enclosed hot tob in the back yard. Will stay again!

View more reviews for this inn


The most charming B&B at The English Merchant's Inn (Waxahachie, Texas)

5 reviewed on August 15, 2016

I cannot recommend a more charming and relaxing place to stay. Howard and Mary have created a little slice of heaven for their guests to feel at home. This B&B is nestled in the historic heart of town, so it's extremely close to the square with all its great shops and Restaurants . The rooms are beautifully done and extremely clean. The beds feel as though you are sleeping at home with wonderfully soft sheets and over stuffed pillows. Howard and Mary go out of their way to treat you as though you were old friends staying for a visit. If you are looking for a five star luxury place to call home for a few days, look no farther . You will not be disappointed . I am looking forward not only to stay in their beautiful home again but to see two of the sweetest people I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. Book it!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Great experience at The English Merchant's Inn (Waxahachie, Texas)

5 reviewed on August 04, 2016

Beautiful place. Nice town to visit

View more reviews for this inn


Great place! at The English Merchant's Inn (Waxahachie, Texas)

5 reviewed on July 13, 2016

We would certainly stay there again.

View more reviews for this inn


First Timers here, and to Waxahachie! at Chaska House B&B / Hemingway's cottages (Waxahachie, Texas)

5 reviewed on May 09, 2016

Hi, we just visited this amazing place this past weekend for the first time. We were made to feel so welcome, and the rooms were so well decorated with each having its own identity. I would recommend staying here as often as you can which we intend to do. Plus it's so close to everything!

View more reviews for this inn


Return visit to Chaska House! at Chaska House B&B / Hemingway's cottages (Waxahachie, Texas)

4.0 reviewed on April 17, 2016

We had an unexpected change of plans and needed a place to stay for the night. My husband remembered Chaska House and we crossed our fingers on getting a room at the last minute. Louis was so accommodating and we were able to get The Clemens-Twain Room which was such a treat! The antiques are so amazing in that house! It was fastidiously clean with luxurious sheets and the huge breakfast the next morning made it perfect. We will come back again and again to stay with Linda and Louis and enjoy their true southern hospitality!

View more reviews for this inn


Awesome! at Moore Ventura Bed and Breakfast (Ennis, Texas)

5 reviewed on April 13, 2016

I was on an assignment to shoot the Ennis Bluebonnet Trails April 8-10, 2016. I had the most welcoming and generous people, Sam and Joanne are so wonderful and kind. I will definitely return to the Moore Ventura B&B in the future. I do recommended anyone traveling to Ennis or passing by to visit this beautiful B&B.

View more reviews for this inn


Great two days at Chaska House B&B / Hemingway's cottages (Waxahachie, Texas)

5 reviewed on March 14, 2016

Outstanding accommodations and great food. Linda and Louis seemed like old friends in interactions with us. Their recommendations on evening meals and places to see were spot on. We will be back. Paula and Grant

View more reviews for this inn


Felt like "going home"... at Chaska House B&B / Hemingway's cottages (Waxahachie, Texas)

5 reviewed on March 05, 2016

This was our 3rd visit to Chaska House so we've now had the pleasure of F.Scott Fitzgerald, Teddy Roosevelt and Mark Twain's hospitality. This trip, we also had the pleasure of traveling with our son & his lovely wife, who works in the hospitality industry herself so were pleased to find that she was equally impressed.

View more reviews for this inn


A Special Anniversary at Moore Ventura Bed and Breakfast (Ennis, Texas)

5 reviewed on December 09, 2015

My husband and I were treated to this wonderful Bed and Breakfast for our 29th anniversary. The Ventura's were amazing hosts and went out of their way to make our stay special. Our room was AMAZING and GORGEOUS! It was huge with a working fireplace and an attached sun room. There was a Keurig coffee machine, small refrigerator and pantry with treats just outside our door. Breakfast was completely 5 star. The hosts used to own a restaurant and breakfast showed off their gift for preparing amazing food, service and hospitality.

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful experience at the Moore Ventura B&B at Moore Ventura Bed and Breakfast (Ennis, Texas)

5 reviewed on December 08, 2015

The owners of this beautiful home thought of all the details to make my stay special and well worth the visit. It was obvious they were committed to making this a memorable stay from beginning to end. My breakfast in the dining room was fit for royalty. I hope to return to this special home!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Bed & Breakfast at Moore Ventura Bed and Breakfast (Ennis, Texas)

5 reviewed on December 03, 2015

My wife and I stayed on November 20th and it was a great experience. It exceeded our expectations and the breakfast was better than we ever had!

View more reviews for this inn


back in time! at Chaska House B&B / Hemingway's cottages (Waxahachie, Texas)

5 reviewed on August 31, 2014

My wife and I had such a wonderful stay in the Margaret Mitchell room. It surpassed all of our expectations, from the old Alabama plantaion 4 poster canapy bed with its luxurious linens, to its antique furniture and furnishings, making us feel like we went back in time. Our gracious hosts, Louis and Linda, made us feel right at home, having homemade chocolate chip cookies and tea waiting for us on our arrival. The morning started with a silver pitcher of coffee and cups sitting outside our door and breakfast was so delicious served in a beautiful dining room while conversing with our hosts as well as another guest couple. Thank you so very much, Louis and Linda for making this our best anniversary ever!

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}