Recent Reviews in Waxahachie, Texas

Charming at The English Merchant's Inn (Waxahachie, Texas)

5 reviewed on January 03, 2017

October 2016 was my first visit but definitely not my last. My niece suggested this B&B & I'm so glad she did. Charming, relaxing & comfortable. Mary & Howard make you feel at home.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful!!! at The English Merchant's Inn (Waxahachie, Texas)

5 reviewed on December 29, 2016

Everything was perfect at this beautiful B & B. Mary, our hostess was charming and very very helpful. The décor was enchanting and lovely. Breakfast was devine. We will be back. Connie & Greg

View more reviews for this inn


Hidden B&B Gem just south of Dallas at Moore Ventura Bed and Breakfast (Ennis, Texas)

4.6 reviewed on December 17, 2016

My daughter and I were heading to Dallas for a wedding and I could not believe my eyes when I happened upon the online description of the stunning, historical Moore Ventura bed and breakfast tucked away in Ennis, TX, just south of Dallas. An incredibly beautiful Neo-classical Revival House from 1905 is now open to the public as a Bed and Breakfast. Well we had to to check it out! The house is lovingly restored and just breathtaking - the pictures don't do it justice. Of course we did appreciate the modern amenities as well, such as the fast wifi. The hosts Joanne and Sam did all they could to extend true hospitality to us and the other guests staying at the B&B. The 2-course breakfast was especially delicious and creatively plated, served in the gorgeous dining room along with interesting conversation with the innkeepers and other guests. I consider this a destination gem just south of Dallas. There are 3 bedrooms available for guests, and we enjoyed the huge bedroom with twin beds at the top of the sweeping staircase. I would recommend booking early for your choice of rooms.

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic Weekend Getaway at Chaska House B&B / Hemingway's cottages (Waxahachie, Texas)

5 reviewed on November 15, 2016

What a beautiful home. The retreat room we stayed in was so relaxing, especially the tub for two. The breakfast was absolutely delicious, and the sweet homeowners are the best part of the visit!

View more reviews for this inn


Great place, wonderful couple, amazing house at Moore Ventura Bed and Breakfast (Ennis, Texas)

5 reviewed on November 07, 2016

We stayed her last weekend, and it was wonderful. The only complain was the train loudness, but can't do much about that. We loved the innkeepers, they were as much fun as the historic old house itself. Great italian resturaunt nearby, close to Dallas, nice history and amazing house with really great balcony to sit on, especially when it's training! About the only suggestion would be to put in an enclosed hot tob in the back yard. Will stay again!

View more reviews for this inn


The most charming B&B at The English Merchant's Inn (Waxahachie, Texas)

5 reviewed on August 15, 2016

I cannot recommend a more charming and relaxing place to stay. Howard and Mary have created a little slice of heaven for their guests to feel at home. This B&B is nestled in the historic heart of town, so it's extremely close to the square with all its great shops and Restaurants . The rooms are beautifully done and extremely clean. The beds feel as though you are sleeping at home with wonderfully soft sheets and over stuffed pillows. Howard and Mary go out of their way to treat you as though you were old friends staying for a visit. If you are looking for a five star luxury place to call home for a few days, look no farther . You will not be disappointed . I am looking forward not only to stay in their beautiful home again but to see two of the sweetest people I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. Book it!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Great experience at The English Merchant's Inn (Waxahachie, Texas)

5 reviewed on August 04, 2016

Beautiful place. Nice town to visit

View more reviews for this inn


Great place! at The English Merchant's Inn (Waxahachie, Texas)

5 reviewed on July 13, 2016

We would certainly stay there again.

View more reviews for this inn


First Timers here, and to Waxahachie! at Chaska House B&B / Hemingway's cottages (Waxahachie, Texas)

5 reviewed on May 09, 2016

Hi, we just visited this amazing place this past weekend for the first time. We were made to feel so welcome, and the rooms were so well decorated with each having its own identity. I would recommend staying here as often as you can which we intend to do. Plus it's so close to everything!

View more reviews for this inn


Return visit to Chaska House! at Chaska House B&B / Hemingway's cottages (Waxahachie, Texas)

4.0 reviewed on April 17, 2016

We had an unexpected change of plans and needed a place to stay for the night. My husband remembered Chaska House and we crossed our fingers on getting a room at the last minute. Louis was so accommodating and we were able to get The Clemens-Twain Room which was such a treat! The antiques are so amazing in that house! It was fastidiously clean with luxurious sheets and the huge breakfast the next morning made it perfect. We will come back again and again to stay with Linda and Louis and enjoy their true southern hospitality!

View more reviews for this inn


Awesome! at Moore Ventura Bed and Breakfast (Ennis, Texas)

5 reviewed on April 13, 2016

I was on an assignment to shoot the Ennis Bluebonnet Trails April 8-10, 2016. I had the most welcoming and generous people, Sam and Joanne are so wonderful and kind. I will definitely return to the Moore Ventura B&B in the future. I do recommended anyone traveling to Ennis or passing by to visit this beautiful B&B.

View more reviews for this inn


Great two days at Chaska House B&B / Hemingway's cottages (Waxahachie, Texas)

5 reviewed on March 14, 2016

Outstanding accommodations and great food. Linda and Louis seemed like old friends in interactions with us. Their recommendations on evening meals and places to see were spot on. We will be back. Paula and Grant

View more reviews for this inn


Felt like "going home"... at Chaska House B&B / Hemingway's cottages (Waxahachie, Texas)

5 reviewed on March 05, 2016

This was our 3rd visit to Chaska House so we've now had the pleasure of F.Scott Fitzgerald, Teddy Roosevelt and Mark Twain's hospitality. This trip, we also had the pleasure of traveling with our son & his lovely wife, who works in the hospitality industry herself so were pleased to find that she was equally impressed.

View more reviews for this inn


A Special Anniversary at Moore Ventura Bed and Breakfast (Ennis, Texas)

5 reviewed on December 09, 2015

My husband and I were treated to this wonderful Bed and Breakfast for our 29th anniversary. The Ventura's were amazing hosts and went out of their way to make our stay special. Our room was AMAZING and GORGEOUS! It was huge with a working fireplace and an attached sun room. There was a Keurig coffee machine, small refrigerator and pantry with treats just outside our door. Breakfast was completely 5 star. The hosts used to own a restaurant and breakfast showed off their gift for preparing amazing food, service and hospitality.

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful experience at the Moore Ventura B&B at Moore Ventura Bed and Breakfast (Ennis, Texas)

5 reviewed on December 08, 2015

The owners of this beautiful home thought of all the details to make my stay special and well worth the visit. It was obvious they were committed to making this a memorable stay from beginning to end. My breakfast in the dining room was fit for royalty. I hope to return to this special home!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Bed & Breakfast at Moore Ventura Bed and Breakfast (Ennis, Texas)

5 reviewed on December 03, 2015

My wife and I stayed on November 20th and it was a great experience. It exceeded our expectations and the breakfast was better than we ever had!

View more reviews for this inn


back in time! at Chaska House B&B / Hemingway's cottages (Waxahachie, Texas)

5 reviewed on August 31, 2014

My wife and I had such a wonderful stay in the Margaret Mitchell room. It surpassed all of our expectations, from the old Alabama plantaion 4 poster canapy bed with its luxurious linens, to its antique furniture and furnishings, making us feel like we went back in time. Our gracious hosts, Louis and Linda, made us feel right at home, having homemade chocolate chip cookies and tea waiting for us on our arrival. The morning started with a silver pitcher of coffee and cups sitting outside our door and breakfast was so delicious served in a beautiful dining room while conversing with our hosts as well as another guest couple. Thank you so very much, Louis and Linda for making this our best anniversary ever!

View more reviews for this inn


Very Enjoyable Stay at Chaska House at Chaska House B&B / Hemingway's cottages (Waxahachie, Texas)

5 reviewed on April 21, 2014

We took a 2-day trip to check out the bluebonnets around Ennis and Waxahatchi, Texas the Friday and Saturday before Easter Sunday. After checking the B&B listings on the web, we chose Chaska House in Waxahatchi as the place to stay. We certainly weren't disappointed; Louis and Linda Brown were just the nicest and friendliest couple, and as hosts they went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. They suggested a great restaurant for dinner, provided fresh baked cookies in the evening and an outstanding breakfast the next morning. The house was just magnificent with turn-of-the-century furnishings and antiques everywhere. The bed was one of those high four posters, king size and the most comfortable you can imagine. The room had a firg, flat screen tv, wi-fi and just about every convenience you might find in a 5-star hotel, a giant shower and a soaking tub; just great. We plan to go back at the next opportunity.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely week-end at Chaska House B&B / Hemingway's cottages (Waxahachie, Texas)

4.4 reviewed on April 08, 2014

My sisters and I have been taking a spring trip together for the last 25 + years and we love B&Bs. The Chaska House is delightful and the Browns are the best hosts we have had the pleasure to stay with! By the time we left we felt like friends instead of guests. Thanks Louis and Linda for a wonderful stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Weekend at Chaska House B&B / Hemingway's cottages (Waxahachie, Texas)

4.8 reviewed on November 11, 2013

Each year I book a bed and breakfast for my mom's birthday weekend. Last weekend we stayed at Chaska House and enjoyed one of the best B & B experiences we've ever had. The property is amazing! Louis and Linda spare no expense to make your stay as pleasant as possible. One highlight was breakfast where both the meal and the conversation were wonderful. I would highly recommend Chaska to anyone looking for a B & B in the Dallas/Ft. Worth area.

View more reviews for this inn


Enjoyed the stay at Chaska House B&B / Hemingway's cottages (Waxahachie, Texas)

5 reviewed on November 05, 2013

Can't believe how nicer these guys are. Went down for breakfast at 9 and everyone was still sitting around talking 2 hours later. It felt like we were leaving friends behind. Room was amazing and the restaurant catfish plantation, right around the corner was too good. Already recommended it to our friends and look forward to coming back. Thank you so much.

View more reviews for this inn


TCR Weekend at Chaska House B&B / Hemingway's cottages (Waxahachie, Texas)

4.4 reviewed on November 02, 2013

Texas Country Reporter Festival 2013, Chaska B&B close to downtown (walking distance), clean, quaint, historical, great porches & big trees, clean rooms, great host, good breakfast & other guest conversation, would recommend to others and will return! Tuscan Slice - great place for dinner, go see the park, cemetery and the prettiest Court house in Texas!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful & will return!! at Chaska House B&B / Hemingway's cottages (Waxahachie, Texas)

4.8 reviewed on October 29, 2013

We stayed in one of Hemingway's cottages and had breakfast at the Chaska House. It was perfect for our "girls get away", private but inclusive too! OMG, Louis & Linda are charming people too! Very personable, warm, inviting and make you feel like family! Ready to go back!

View more reviews for this inn


Great experience at Chaska House B&B / Hemingway's cottages (Waxahachie, Texas)

4.8 reviewed on October 16, 2013

We have stayed in a fair number of B&Bs but the Chaska House is number 1 on our list. The Brown's are a most interesting couple and the accommodations were wonderful.

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic at Chaska House B&B / Hemingway's cottages (Waxahachie, Texas)

5 reviewed on September 29, 2013

This is the whole package: the house itself, the roomy rooms, the special attention, the great breakfast, and the friendly manner of Louis and Linda. They also seem to attract interesting guests. That meant we had fun conversation at breakfast. I left both physically and spiritually refreshed.

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic!! at Chaska House B&B / Hemingway's cottages (Waxahachie, Texas)

4.8 reviewed on May 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed here over Mother's Day weekend, both to celebrate that day as well as our anniversary. After browsing different properties, we chose Chaska House, and are we glad we did! We stayed in the Clemens-Twain room, which was enormous, with comfortable period furnishings, wood paneling, and a bed that was so tall we had to use footstools to get in it! The bed linens were some of the most luxurious I've slept on, and the bathroom was very well-appointed, with a frameless glass shower and a darling clawfoot tub. The house itself is breathtaking, with a charming wraparound porch and lovely gardens, and the innkeepers are so friendly and have great stories to tell. My husband and I met some wonderful people over the delicious breakfasts and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We will definitely be back!

View more reviews for this inn


The best place on earth at Chaska House B&B / Hemingway's cottages (Waxahachie, Texas)

5 reviewed on March 16, 2013

My wife and I went there on our honeymoon and stayed in Hemingway retreat. The owner were the nicest, most pleasant people. The room was perfect. And breakfast was superb. We will definitely be back for anniversaries, getaways and any other opportunity. If you are considering going I would recommend it to everyone for any and all occasions. This place is the best!

View more reviews for this inn


Absolutely amazing!!! at Chaska House B&B / Hemingway's cottages (Waxahachie, Texas)

5 reviewed on March 16, 2013

I do not have one complaint about the chaska house. my husband and i stayed.there last night for our honeymoon. We stayed in the hemingway retreat one. it was spacious, clean, cozy, neat,full of artifacfs, and the sheets were the softest in the whole world. The jaccuzi tub for two was wonderful and the water got HOT! The owners are the nicest people i have ever meet in this kind of business. the woman encouraged my husband to carry me over the threshold as she took pictures for us. The breakfast was hot, unique, made from scratch and made you feel good. Stuffed french toast and homeade syrup! Yum! The couple sat at the breakfast table after serving us and told us stories and gave us great advice! I cannot wait to go back and.try out the other rooms!

View more reviews for this inn


wonderful summer get away at Chaska House B&B / Hemingway's cottages (Waxahachie, Texas)

5 reviewed on July 19, 2012

this was a return trip for me / first time for my husband we had a delightful time exploring waxahachie and all the great antique shops hope to convince my girlfriends that we need to do a return trip in feb

View more reviews for this inn


honeymoon at Chaska House B&B / Hemingway's cottages (Waxahachie, Texas)

5 reviewed on May 02, 2012

This was the first time i stayed in a B&B my wife and I had a great time, and plan to go for our anniversary every year.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}