Stone Hill Inn Reviews


View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Onsite Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
38 Reviews

Write A Review

Wonderful VT Inn

4.2 on February 19, 2016

Don't take my rating for Rooms and Value as a negative. The room was terrific but I wanted to highlight that the truly special aspects of the Inn include attentive service, cleanliness and the creative & tasty breakfasts. Well done, we'll be back!

This is a great B&B

5 on February 13, 2016

My wife and I have been staying in Bed and Breakfasts every year for the last 4 years in the New England states. The Stone Hill Inn is by far the best one we have stayed in. George, Linda and there staff are very friendly and personable. Linda's cooking has both exceptional taste and amazing variety. We highly recommend a stay at the Stone Hill Inn if you are going to be staying in Stowe.

Wonderful weekend away

4.8 on February 12, 2016

Needed a weekend away with a fireplace and jacuzzi in the room with a delicious homemade breakfast each morning and that's exactly what we got! A bit pricey but for a luxury hotel it was a worthwhile experience. Linda and George were very attentive and sweet and the place was clean and close to everything, quiet and they even went out of their way to have gluten free options available.

Classy and romantic

4.8 on August 05, 2015

Rooms were beautiful, food was fantastic, very acommodating.

Stone Hill Inn

5 on July 30, 2015

Excellent place to stay - very peaceful and relaxing. I would highly recommend The Stone Hill Inn.


5 on April 01, 2015

This was our first stay at the Stone Hill Inn and it was amazing! Linda and George are so kind and made us feel right at home. They also went out of their ways to accommodate our needs! We are already booked to go back in August and can't wait to return. I highly recommend staying here. It is definitely worth the price!

A wonderful, comfortable Inn

3.4 on March 17, 2015

Stayed at the Inn for a few days in March 2015. Although it may not to appear as a typical Inn by design, we found it to be extremely comfortable and relaxing, and certainly more modern than the usual Inns. Linda and George were outstanding Innkeepers, genuinely nice people, very friendly, and informative. I have no negative comments about the Stone Hill Inn. We're so glad to have found it and would go back without question.

The best!

4.8 on March 11, 2015

This was an outstanding experience. My wife and I have traveled across the US for the past 12 years working in schools in 37 states. This is an amazing experience. We will tell everyone we know about the Stone Hill Inn. We have a daughter in the Stowe area and will not stay any other place else when we visit her. Cannot wait to return!

Beautiful getaway

4.6 on February 26, 2015

Our weekend stay at the Stone Hill Inn was beautiful, relaxing, and quite romantic. The food was delicious, and George and Linda were wonderful hosts. The price point is quite high but the Inn is fabulous.

The perfect getaway!

5 on February 23, 2015

I stayed here the first weekend of February for 2 nights and after spending just a few hours there, I considered taking Monday off of work to extend my stay. This place is absolutely stunning and the perfect place to relax. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and cozy. The breakfast was wonderful and could accommodate any taste...I don't think it is possible to leave hungry. Linda and George made an already perfect stay even better. I hope to see them again soon!

Amazing !

4.6 on December 19, 2014

Staff was so friendly and helpful. Felt like family right away.

A great get away!!

5 on November 13, 2014

An Excellent time!! Breakfast was great. Staff even better.

Home Away From Home

4.2 on November 02, 2014

George and Linda are a sweet, welcoming couple who invite you into their home and create an environment so comforting that you never want to leave! We looked forward to breakfast every day. Scenery and location are absolutely wonderful! We truly felt at home but on a quite luxurious scale. We will definitely be back!

Great getaway!

4.6 on October 25, 2014

This was a great place to getaway!

Stone Hill Inn is wonderful!

4.8 on October 19, 2014

We had a great time staying at Stone Hill Inn last week. George and Linda are exceptional hosts and innkeepers. We stayed in the room "The Notch" and it was luxurious and relaxing. The bathroom is oversized with a soaking tub and glass door shower. Includes fire place by tub that is also accessed in the sitting area. The breakfasts were first class, and George was also very helpful in arranging dinner reservations, and area hiking details for our trip. We will definitely go back and visit again Ben and Sarah Ohanesian

Great Fall Weekend

5 on October 17, 2014

An archtypical New England Country Inn. Quiet, beautiful setting, comfortable rooms & delicious breakfasts, all in a convenient location.

Romantic Getaway

4.8 on September 25, 2014

The Stone Hill Inn is a beautiful romantic Inn in a gorgeous setting away from the busy life. We were warmly welcomed by Linda & George with little treats. An extra bonus was the billiard table and the spa! We had a fabulous time there and hope to be back soon.

The Best of The Best

5 on September 14, 2014

The STAFF at the INN was so helpful and sat down with you if you choose to tell you about Vermont and places to see no detail spared stayed 4 days and already set to come again to relax LOVE THIS PLACE

THE place to stay in Stowe!

4.4 on September 03, 2014

Charming, yet modern. Beautifully appointed rooms and the innkeepers have thought of everything. Not your typical B&B, privacy is respected. Very quiet, feels like home. A bit pricey, but if you don't want to stay at the run of the mill ski bum type of place that Stowe is full of, this is well worth it. Highly recommend.


5 on August 29, 2014

Linda & Gorge are the perfect hosts, they are the No. 1 on our whole 2 week trip. Rooms are pretty and clean, breakfast is amazing, Linda and Gorge are attentive hosts and the breakfast ... (I must repeat the breakfast). Whenever we came back to Stowe this will be our first choice.

2nd visit

5 on August 05, 2014

This was our second visit to Stone Hill with George and Linda as our hosts. We went up late fall and knew we had to return during the summer to see the beautiful grounds. We were not disappointed.Once again, George and Linda were gracious and attentive hosts and the grounds were just beautiful. When rain came, George was quick to provide some suggestions for rainy day activities and Linda steered us on our way to some great antiquing shops and barns.The inn and its service was once again warm and welcoming. Linda's breaksfasts continue to be delicious in both presentation and taste. We are looking forward to another fall visit as this inn is a hidden gem and our favorite romantic getaway.

Attention to detail!!

5 on August 01, 2014

This is by far our new favorite. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with every attention to detail. We enjoyed the view of gardens and waterfalls. Our hosts (Linda and George) were happy to accommodate our guests for breakfast. The food was amazing! We are planning our first winter trip to Stowe and this will be our choice for accommodations.

Peaceful Escape!

5 on July 27, 2014

Our short, get away vacation to VT was enjoyed once again at our favorite Inn in Stowe. Stone Hill Inn is just the best kept secret in VT. George & Linda are wonderful, gracious hosts. The gardens are delightful and listening to the waterfall couldn't be more peaceful. The staff is courteous and friendly along with lovely breakfasts served to us each morning. We will be returning which will make it our third visit someday soon.

This is what getaways are all about!

5 on July 27, 2014

This is our 2nd stay at the Stone Hill Inn and we are as pleased with it the 2nd time around as the 1st. George and Linda are wonderful innkeepers. They willingly share their knowledge of the area, sights and things to do. The inn itself is immaculate, decorated beautifully with every amenity you could want. Linda's breakfast is the absolute best that I've experienced in any B&B.There is nothing you will wish for, it's all been done. This is what a getaway is all about.

Stone Hill Inn in Stowe Vermont

4.6 on July 21, 2014

Linda, George and Tony were perfect hosts. George was able to give us perfect suggestions of fun activities to do in the area. The inn and gardens are beautiful. The room was wonderful. They were able to accommodate my many allergies. I particularly enjoyed the gluten free waffles and muffin.

Outstanding home away from home

5 on July 16, 2014

The hosts were very welcoming. The food, service and rooms were amazing. Perfect for a romantic getaway

Stone Hill

4.6 on July 10, 2014

Very nice...would stay here again.

Nice romantic adults only getaway

3.6 on May 19, 2014

This is a very nice, quiet and pretty B&B for an adult’s only retreat. We enjoyed the beautiful surroundings and VT is home to the nicest people! Our room was well-appointed and comfortable--comfy bed and nice linens and towels. The Jacuzzi tub was a nice touch. Staff very attentive and the homemade breakfast were over the top delicious! Only one thing we could think of for change would be to put a mini fridge in every room instead of just two. Other than that-wonderful and will recommend to all.

Nice romantic getaway

5 on April 06, 2014

The room was beautiful! Double sided fireplace with one side facing a giant jacuzzi tub in the bathroom and the other side facing the sitting area in the bedroom. The bedroom had sliding glass windows to the outside with a view of snow covered gardens and trees. Breakfast was top notch! Unique and delicious. Hands down the best B&B I've ever stayed in.

Stone Hill Getaway

4.2 on January 18, 2014

Linda and George are amazing, thoughtful and accommodating hosts!

5 stars all the way around!

5 on October 14, 2013

We arrived in Stowe Saturday evening and were greeted at the Inn by Linda and George. There were a number of guests enjoying happy hour conversation and appetizers made by Linda. We were shown to the White Birch room. So nice!! Fireplace on both sides of the bathroom and bedroom and the water fountain view and sound from our room was great! We were treated to breakfasts for four mornings straight out of Bon Appetit. Linda is an amazing cook and Tony and George handle most of the morning service. We were able to enjoy the happy hour get togethers the rest of the nights of our stay there and really enjoyed that time as well. This inn is just away from downtown Stowe, so it is very quiet and beautiful grounds. George and Linda provide a wonderful atmosphere for relaxing and enjoying time in Stowe. We DEFINITELY will be back!!! Don't miss this inn if you are in Stowe! It is a must stay!

Great Romantic Inn

5 on September 12, 2012

Clean, historic, charming, and the best breakfast ever! I would definitely stay here again & recommend it to friends.

Amazing hospitality

5 on September 05, 2012

What a treat this Inn is! My daughter and I are from Australia and stayed here a few nights back and from the minute we arrived Linda and George couldn't do enough for us. We have travelled the world and stayed in many wonderful places, but I don't think anywhere makes you feel as welcomed as the StoneHill Inn. The room was delightful, the gardens breathtaking and the home cooked breakfast amazing! I would return in an instant.

I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay!

5 on February 02, 2011

This is by far the best place I have ever stayed and I would HIGHLY recommend this inn to anyone considering a trip to Vermont or a snowy getaway! We stayed the week leading up to Christmas for 4 nights and 5 days and the only thing I regret is not staying longer! The inn keepers Skip and Sharon were so warm and inviting. They went out of their way to accommodate me as a vegan not only with a scrumptious breakfast each morning but even during hors d'oeuvres. The food was so good in fact that even the guests who were not vegan were blown away by how good the vegan hors d'oeuvres were. The rooms were immaculately clean and the fireplace that looks through to the Jacuzzi was such a great feature… I am considering having one installed in my own home. It’s funny, I stumbled upon this inn on a simple search and it turned out to be the cutest, coziest place I have ever stayed. I could not have asked for a better place to stay or better people to share it with, the staff members were fabulous. Thank you for making this trip so memorable for me! ~ Jackie, N.J.

Wonderful getaway

4.8 on July 15, 2009

We stayed at the inn for two nights, and had a wonderful experience while we were there. The rooms were decorated in a modern but cozy way, and we loved the see-through fireplace and large jacuzzi tub. And the breakfast was delicious! The Inn is also very accommodating of "down-time"... we enjoyed playing board games in the common area after dinner and socializing with other guests (as well as enjoying the pre-dinner snacks!). Great place... we'll definitely stay again the next time we're in VT.

Breakfast is the Best

4.4 on June 23, 2009

Stayed for a surprise 50th birthday for my boyfriend, it exceeded my high expectations by far! Steve & Suzanne helped make the stay fantastic. Steve's breakfast is the best to say the least. We would definitely return again and look forward to it. Like the other review, it's not your typical inn - very up to date and modern - romantic & private yet whenever you need assistance you receive it asap.

Outstanding in all ways

5 on June 08, 2009

I had the chance to enjoy a stay at the Stone Hill Inn this weekend. What a place! Unlike most other B&Bs, it's a modern building, built in 1998 to be a B&B. It's almost more a boutique hotel than a B&B, filled with tons of great offerings for guests. I got the chance to peek into a number of rooms, and while they're all individually decorated, they all have see through fireplaces, that can be seen from the bed and the jacuzzi tub. There are flat screen TVS, double vanity sinks and king beds in every room. They have a stocked guest kitchen and a billiards/common room. We sat outside in the double Adirondack chairs overlooking the waterfall. It was romantic and beautiful. Each room has a view of the yard and the waterfall. Breakfast was the best. The mushroom and leek omelet and yummy VT sausage was so good. Usually I try not to eat everything on my plate, but I ate every last bite of this breakfast. There's tons to do in Stowe too, making this a perfect getaway destination.

Elegant escape!

5 on January 05, 2007

Lavishly decorated, pampering atmosphere. Built as a B&B so has all modern comforts and conveniences. Wonderful breakfasts and afternoon treats. Great skiing and hiking nearby.

Stone Hill Inn


  • Nightly Rate $275 - $425
  • Reviews (38) 4.7
  • Rooms 10
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8022536282
  • Fax 1-8022537415
  • Mobile 1-484-345-1429

Visit Website »

View details