Hill Farm Inn Reviews


View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service5.0
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Onsite Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
39 Reviews

Write A Review

Great stay at Hill Farm Inn!

5 on December 25, 2017

We had a very enjoyable pre-Christmas stay at the Hill Farm Inn in Sunderland. Our room was great and everyone at the Inn was very friendly and hospitable. The breakfasts were delicious and generous! The fire was always blazing and the bar was always open! Christmas trees inside and out, as well as other decorations, made our stay festive. Having it snow five inches on our last night made everything magic. Looking forward to returning in the summer or fall! Very close to Manchester, Dorset and other great towns to explore. We would highly recommend the Hill Farm Inn!

Hill Farm Inn

5 on December 01, 2017

Really beautiful . Super friendly. Very clean. Breakfast was delicious. Our only Complaint would be that is no counter space in the bathroom and no place to hang a washcloth in the shower.

Country Life at It’s Best

4.8 on October 25, 2017

We recently made a trip East and stayed at 4 different bed and breakfasts, all highly rated. This was our favorite. Beautiful views, outstanding accommodations, friendly and competent customer service. I grew up on a small midwestern farm, and it felt like going home. Loved every minute and hope to go back for a longer stay!

Great B & B

5 on October 10, 2017

We loved this B & B. Beautiful location great staff. We only stayed one night but would have liked to have stayed longer. We enjoyed the the "Pub Night" entertainment and getting to mix with the local folks.

Another fantastic getaway to Hill Farm Inn

5 on September 17, 2017

This was the 4th time my husband and I stayed at Hill Farm Inn. Absolutely gorgeous, beautiful rooms, and delicious breakfasts. Can't wait for our next stay.

Charming Country Inn

5 on August 15, 2017

We stayed at the Inn for 4 nights and had a fabulous stay. The staff did an amazing job welcoming us and cound not have been more helpful of friendly. The Inn is just beautiful with comfortable well appointed rooms, all new and updated. The breakfast was cooked to order every day by the chef and included blueberry pancakes, french toast, omlets or eggs any way you want, fresh bread, yogurt and fruit. There is a lovely porch that offers a view of the surrounding mountains and farm where we had our morning coffee and afternoon cocktails. The inground pool is brand new surrounded by nice gardens. We enjoyed sitting around the fire pit in the evenings. We had a very enjoyable stay and would highly recommend staying here. Cannot wait to return!

Great Time!

5 on July 31, 2017

My wife and I went there to celebrate our 1 year wedding anniversary and we could not have been more happy with our decision. The views from the Inn were breath taking. The inn also had everything you could want with a delicious breakfast, pool, hot tub, game room and self serve bar. We would definitely recommend this place and are already planning our return trip.

Love our stay at the Hill Farm Inn!

5 on March 25, 2017

We absolutely loved our stay at the Hill Farm Inn. We stayed midweek and got a great discount on the price. The Inn was empty, but they still gave us the full experience. The barn out back has adorable animals and the views of the mountains are stunning. Breakfast was great and it is very close to Manchester. We could not have had a better time and have 0 complaints. We would love to go back and experience it in the summer.

Farm House at Hill Farm Inn was outstabding

5 on March 08, 2017

We stayed in the Farm House and it was delightful. It had everything we needed including a washing machine! It was clean and fresh. Everyone was very friendly and professional. The breakfast every morning was delicious. I would definitely stay again

PerfectBes and Breakfast

5 on March 06, 2017

We were impressed from the moment we pulled up. The grounds were meticulous , Including the barn with the animals! My children loved walking out to the barn to say hello after breakfast. Everything was updated and in superior condition, while still maintaining its country charm. Rooms were absolutely beautiful, and the common rooms were warm and inviting. The small touches like fresh flowers made it evident that the inn was well cared for and everyone took pride in it. The food was out of this world. We couldn't wait to come down and have a big country breakfast! We went to a few ski resorts during our stay. The inn was in close proximity to the resorts as well as other activities in town. The staff was so happy to help us find places to eat and fun outings for our family.

Wonderful service, beautiful property

5 on February 28, 2017

My boyfriend and I enjoyed an idyllic Vermont getaway at the Hill Farm Inn. Mariah and Maria provided recommendations on restaurants and skiing and really made us feel at home.

Vermont's hidden gem

5 on February 20, 2017

The Hill Farm Inn is beautifully decorated offering a cozy ambiance. Breakfast is outstanding and the beds are super comfy.

Great B&B in Southern Vermont.

4.8 on February 17, 2017

This was a fabulous weekend get away spot in southern Vermont. The inn keeper does an outstanding job of making your stay comfortable with sharing great spots to visit and providing a enjoyable relaxing visit.

A special getaway.

5 on January 03, 2017

An exquisitely charming and relaxing retreat. The views are spectacular and the accommodations and service are unparalleled.

Love the remodel

4.8 on January 03, 2017

We stayed at Hill Farm Inn several years ago and had a great time. It was wonderful to come back to see all the great updates. Everything looks fantastic! I know we will be returning in the near future. We were very appreciative of the room upgrade also.

Special Place

5 on October 25, 2016

The Hill Farm Inn is a special place for a quiet getaway. The staff (Mariah, in particular) is terrific. Yummy breakfasts and really comfortable beds--the perfect example of a Bed & Breakfast. Nearby Manchester is a lovely town--with excellent restaurants and many outlets. Lots of things to do and you can't beat the views and fall foliage, We are planning to make it an annual event.

Best stay in VT!

5 on October 25, 2016

Hill Farm Inn has got to be the best stay in VT! The property was beautiful, the common areas and rooms were outstanding and the breakfast was to die for! My wife and I will definitely be returning again and again!


5 on October 19, 2016

We absolutely LOVED our stay at Hill Farm Inn! It was gorgeous - our room was perfect and comfortable and roomy! Loved the porch area and the den with the fireplace! It was just wonderful! Can't say enough about it! Kathy

What a beautiful B&B...inside and out!

5 on September 20, 2016

We joined friends for a two night stay here while visiting Manchester VT and had a fantastic time. The entire farmhouse is just gorgeous and comfortable. The food was abundant and delicious. The entire staff was warm and welcoming. Definite 5 star choice for us!

Early Fall Visit

4.6 on September 15, 2016

You don't just have to visit Hill Farm in the Fall when the colors are at their peak. It's beautiful anytime of the year as we experienced in early September. Not crowded at local attractions. Had a chance to see all rooms and all are equally great some just bigger than others but I would pay the extra for the larger rooms. Breakfast was outstanding. Always two choices and cooked to your liking. Will certainly stay here again.

Wonderful B&B with great Innkeeper

5 on August 12, 2016

We recently had a wonderful stay (our second visit) at Hill Farm Inn. The Innkeeper is a great host, breakfast is delicious, the Inn is magnificent. We are definitely planning to return!

Three Wolves visited VT and left our hearts there!

5 on August 06, 2016

My teen daughters and I flew North to Maine in July 2016 to rent a car and drive West to Albany, NY for a family reunion a few days later and our favorite Inn and most beautiful breathtaking scenery along the way was the Hill Farm Inn and its location among the hills. The decor and rooms had very clean lines, upscale furnishings and seemed brand new. All wood on the deck was polished nicely too; like on a boat. Though the scenery was rustic, the accommodations were not grandma's attic by any means! I highly recommend it!

Great Hospitality!

5 on May 18, 2016

Great experience! Staff went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and comfortable throughout the stay. Highly recommend!

Best bed and breakfast I've ever stayed in!

5 on May 11, 2016

The decor is impeccable, the grounds are stunning, the atmosphere is wonderful, and the staff is very welcoming. There are farm animals here that you can visit. There is an outdoor fire pit and and an inside game room including a pool table. All of it is done with taste. The entire grounds are super clean and inviting. I stayed in late April and I wished I could stay much longer. The beds are comfortable beyond!!!! Here's another note. I was there working and I had much to accomplish. I had peace and quiet and had all the solitude I needed. If I had chosen to I could have participated in "Pub Night" which is a night the B and B opens to the public for drinks and food. No one bothered me while I was there and they even brought me coffee in the morning (even though it was available for me to make right outside my room) in lieu of going to breakfast since I am not a big breakfast person. Point is, go for solitude or choose to get more involved with other guests and staff. Either way you will be very happy you stayed here and you will recommend it to all of your friends and family like I have!

Couldn't have been better!!

4.8 on April 02, 2016

Our three night stay at Hill Farm Inn couldn't have been better!! The rooms were beautiful, comfortable and all had gorgeous views of the farm and mountains. The service was impeccable, the food was amazing. Thank you Mariah, Marlene and Maria for a relaxing, get away ... Feeling spoiled and blessed. We hope to return very soon!

Lovely night

4.6 on March 18, 2016

Not many places will let you do just one night on a weekend reservation- but they do. We were the only ones in the place- perfect for us. A warm weekend in early VT spring, so we sat on the comfy porch furniture and drank draft beer from a local brewery in the pub area. We got to explore the whole place- rooms are gorgeous, common areas perfect for lounging. Recommend the walk around the property over to the Battenkill River... Room was spotless, linens crisp, bed comfortable. Breakfast was simple but yummy and full of fresh ingredients. Beware it is an older renovated farm house- it was a bit noisy at night when we went to bed and others who were there for late dinner only were playing pool. Not bad enough to complain, no fault of the innkeeper- old houses just carry noise! Overall a great find- we will go back! Mariah was great- easy to chat with and cheerful.

wonderful renovation

4.6 on February 22, 2016

The 'new' Inn is beautiful. I cannot say enough about the renovation. The staff was very attentive and the food very good. Looking forward to a return visit.

Wonderful weekend getaway

5 on May 08, 2012

My husband and I spent a weekend at the Hill Farm Inn and had an excellent experience. Lisa was fantastic and her breakfast featured the best blueberry pancakes we had ever eaten! The animals were lovely and the recreation around the Inn was fun. I highly recommend Hill Farm Inn and will be returning soon.


4.8 on August 13, 2010

Wonderful Inn-beautiful setting, wonderful owners. Very clean, incredible breakfast. Owners very accomodating. Will come again!

A wonderful place to stay

4.0 on July 25, 2010

We stayed for one week in July 2010 in the Battenkill Suite. It was roomy, well furnished, and lovely. There was always more to discover on the grounds including a great area to view sunsets and the animals were fun. The hosts were helpful about the area, providing good recommendations about food and activities.

A perfect honeymoon getaway!

5 on October 07, 2009

The perfect distance from Manchester, cozy accommodations, and friendly innkeepers. Tons to do and see for the outdoor enthusiast. The animals and beautiful forest surroundings added to the charm. Loved our stay!

Great B&B!

4.6 on August 18, 2009

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Hill Farm Inn. The room was charming and clean, the blueberry pancakes were delicious and Lisa and Al were lovely and very helpful when we asked for suggestions of what to do and where to go. We also loved the walking trail and the farm animals on the property. The entire experience was truly enjoyable, and we would certainly recommend this B&B to others.

Great food, great view, comfy room

4.6 on August 10, 2008

My wife and I stayed 2 nights and had a wonderful time - from fly fishing with local guide Marty Oakland to shopping in Manchester to visiting museums & galleries. Beautiful views and friendly animals (be sure to visit Wilbur, the pot bellied pig). Lisa and Al Gray were excellent hosts, making sure we were comfortable. We will definitely go again.


5 on June 13, 2008

we found the hill farm inn online. the experience was even better than what was described on their website. terrific farm stay!

our weekend in vermont

4.2 on June 11, 2008

the hill farm inn is a charming inn with great hosts and an extravagant view of the mountains. Lisa and Al were very helpful and hospitable. we couldn't be more pleased with our stay and look forward to going back one day

Best Breakfast and View Ever!!!

4.8 on June 05, 2008

Breakfast was outstanding!!!! Best blueberry pancakes I've ever had!!!! The whole family had a great time! We enjoyed the room, inn, view, trail walks on the property and animals. Everything was outstanding! Manchester, Vt is just a short jaunt and has lots of great shopping for those aching for an escape from the countryside. Great food in the vacinity - try The Perfect Wife.

a perfect spot

5 on July 08, 2007

I discovered Hill Farm Inn a few years ago and have made it a point to go back twice a year ever since. It is off the beaten path, very quiet, with beautiful views, but very accessible to any activities, shopping, and dining that you might want. The accommodations are lovely, the food is great , Lisa and Al are wonderful innkeepers - very friendly and helpful. The farm animals are fun, too. If you are looking for an old-fashioned Vermont inn but with all the amenities you will love it.

Country Charm

5 on June 12, 2007

We just had a great vacation at Hill Farm Inn. Lisa and Al Gray, the innkeepers, made us feel at home right away. The farm is on a charming rural setting with beautiful mountain views. The breakfasts were delicious with homemade breads,muffins,scones, pancakes, and more! Even though we got to enjoy staying on a farm, it's very close to shopping and many great restaurants. There's lots to do in the area. It was a wonderful experience, and we can't wait to go back!

Beautiful and Relaxing!!!!

5 on May 26, 2007

We really enjoyed our stay at Hill Farm Inn! It was our honeymoon and after the bustle of planning our wedding (and all the stress that weddings entail) it was great to get away to such a beautiful relaxing place. The room we stayed was gorgeous, and the food was delicious! Lisa and Al did a great job of making us feel right at home. The best feature of Hill Farm Inn, however, was its location. The Inn is located in a very relaxing rural country setting but the surrounding towns, in which you can shop, dine, and site see are only about 10-15 minutes away. We look forward to returning for many anniversaries to come!!!

Hill Farm Inn


  • Nightly Rate $175 - $295
  • Reviews (39) 4.9
  • Rooms 12
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8023752269
  • Fax 1-8023759918
  • Toll free 1-8008822545

Visit Website »

View details

Top check