Oak Grove Plantation Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.3
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Onsite Dining4.4

Score Breakdown based on
12 Reviews

Write A Review

Above and beyond

5 on August 15, 2017

My family enjoyed a truly wonderful weekend at Oak Grove Plantation, every bit as beautiful and comfortable as other reviews suggest. It was a welcome retreat from our home just outside Washington, D.C., but we had a little more excitement than we had anticipated when we lost our car keys in a kayaking mishap. We were unable to find a rental car and very nearly stranded, but Pickett and Mike very graciously lent us their car to make the two-hour trip to Richmond, where my elder son met us with the spare keys. We had far more help from Pickett and Mike than we could have reasonably expected; it is clear how dedicated they are to taking care of their guests, which is in turn reflected in their friendliness and hospitality, even in the absence of such misadventures!


A Piece of History with Modern Comforts

5 on July 02, 2017

We had a wonderful stay at The Oak Grove Plantation during a visit to see family in Hyco Lake...way better than staying in a hotel! We wish we could have spent more of our time here. Tucked down a long driveway on an already quiet country road, the serene setting is perfect for anyone wanting a quiet and peaceful getaway. The grand historical homestead, the surroundings and Pickett's stories of her family take you back in time. The home is meticulously maintained and clean, not a speck of dust picked up walking across the floors of an 1820s home in your bare feet. You'd also expect such an old home to have stagnant air, but the A/C had the circulation of a new home, and there was no mustiness at all. Plenty of room for a family in the upstairs suite. The new mattresses are super comfortable. That combined with the complete dark and quiet provided a perfect night's sleep. We loved Pickett's hospitality and yummy breakfast, and the resident dogs India and Niko were sweet and entertaining. You won't be disappointed!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again.

- Pickett (innkeeper)


Nice stay

4.4 on June 29, 2016

Our stay was just one night. The room was nice, bed comfortable but the best part was the breakfast. We had plenty of food, all freshly cooked with even fresh out of the oven berry coffee cake. We didn't utilize any of the grounds because it was a quick stay.


Great place to stay

4.8 on August 20, 2015

My family (my husband and I, my brother and his girlfriend, and my parents) stayed in this B&B while in town for a family wedding in May. The hosts were very accommodating of our boisterous group, and we enjoyed the dogs and the tour of the estate. Breakfast was great, rooms were clean, and we were so much happier staying here than at a chain hotel in South Boston! Beautiful house and grounds, great breakfast.


Oak Grove Plantation

3.8 on July 11, 2013

Enjoyable stay; friendly & helpful host; interesting family & home history. Nice place to stay in a pastoral setting.


A gem in Southside Virginia

4.8 on May 29, 2013

I apologize if this review appears twice. Submission error occurred the first time I wrote this. My wife and I had a wonderful time at Oak Grove Plantation. It looked very interesting online and offered dog-friendly accommodations so that we could take our Standard Poodle with us on this getaway. When we learned that the owner, Pickett Craddock, had two Standard Poodles, that sealed the deal for us. Virtually everything about our visit lived up to our expectations. The house was well-appointed and interesting from an architectural and historical perspective. Our room, the Library, was generous and well-appointed. I loved the built in bookshelves, and the separate entrance made it easy to deal with the dog when necessary. Pickett made delicious and healty breakfasts with lots of fresh ingredients, and the converation around the breakfast table was consistently enjoyable. The grounds were lovely, and we had an opportunity to hike some of the trails which wind their way through the property. The trails were wide and well-maintained -- no machetes needed! South Boston and Halifax were pleasant surprises for such small towns. There were a number of interesting places to visit (don't miss the Prizery in South Boston or the sculpture gardens). There were also several outstanding restaurants which would hold their own in any major metro. Finally, the dogs. Pickett's dogs, Bonnie and Niko, are total sweethearts -- friendly, playful and well-behaved. Our dog Jefferson had a blast romping with them in the yard. I think Bonnie and Niko had fun also. If you like dogs at all, those two will get away with you. One very minor quibble was that the mattress on the bed sagged in the middle, so that I felt like I was sleeping uphill. Not terrible, but not as comfortable as I would have preferred. Still, that is a minor flaw in what was an otherwise outstanding experience. We will definitely come back another time.

Innkeeper Response
We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit. It was a pleasure having you. After reading your comments, we have replaced the mattress and box springs. Thanks for the feedback.

- Pickett Craddock (innkeeper)


Wonderful

4.8 on October 15, 2012

My mother and I enjoyed our stay very much - it helped to have a vivid imagination!


Peace and Quiet

4.2 on September 10, 2012

We had a stressful time at home and wanted to get away to a peaceful place to recharge. Oak Grove fit the bill. Nice rooms in a 100+ year old house decorated with ancient photos of the relatives. Great breakfast with the owners and other guests which took forever because we found so much to talk about. Sitting on the front porch, drinking wine and reading our mystery paperbacks. Priceless.


birthday treat

4.4 on June 20, 2012

We went for a weekend stay in Virginia and stayed at the Oak Grove Plantation B&B. This B&B is wonderful and we enjoyed the peace and quietness. Our hostess explained about the history of the plantation. Thank you for a wonderful weekend


What a find!

4.6 on June 14, 2012

For those who appreciate history and a touch of luxury, Oak Grove is a wonderful place to stay in this area. My room was spacious, well appointed, and the bed could not have been more comfortable. Pickett is a lovely and welcoming host and makes delicious breakfasts! I only wish I had had more time to roam the beautiful grounds, but I will make sure I do next time.


Visit with Girlfriend

5 on October 24, 2011

My best friend and I stayed at Oak Grove the last weekend in September and it was great and the Innkeeper was a fine hostest. The food was good and the companionship was even better. Would recommend this for anyone who would want to get away from the day to day activities and relax.


One of the best

4.0 on June 28, 2011

It was more than we expected.Hostess was gracious and very helpful.Rooms were clean.Breakfast delicious!Loved the soft bathrobe provided.Hope to go back!!1


Oak Grove Plantation

Details

  • Nightly Rate $110 - $195
  • Reviews (12) 4.6
  • Rooms 2
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-4345757137

Visit Website »

View details

Top check