Recent Reviews in Ventura, California

Weekend in Ventura at Inn On The Beach (Ventura, CA)

4.0 reviewed on May 06, 2018

Love this place!! The rooms are quaint, a little outdated but with a million dollar view and a fireplace in the room. Located on the beach with views of the most beautiful sunsets around. This room was perfect for my grandkids. There are many restaurants within walking distance. For those that want to explore the city of Ventura, there is a Trolly stop close for free transportation to downtown to the harbor. The front desk was efficient and very friendly. We will be back!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Inn On The Beach at Inn On The Beach (Ventura, CA)

3.8 reviewed on April 25, 2018

Our stay could not have been better. Our room was nice (3rd floor beach front) and the staff was pleasant and helpfull.

View more reviews for this inn


loved it!! so relaxing at Inn On The Beach (Ventura, CA)

5 reviewed on April 24, 2018

went for our anniversary per my parents suggestion (they stay here everytime they go to ventura) with my 2 year old daughter! We had so much fun and front desk clerk was super friendly and even let us check it an hour early with our sleeping toddler in tow! we will def be stayin again loved the fireplaces and continental breakfast was amazing

View more reviews for this inn


Norma's Inn on the Beach Review at Inn On The Beach (Ventura, CA)

5 reviewed on April 17, 2018

Best view, comphy beds. Been coming here for over 20 years.

View more reviews for this inn


Will stay again at Inn On The Beach (Ventura, CA)

4.0 reviewed on April 14, 2018

I loved the room. It was right on the beach

View more reviews for this inn


Not as I expected... at Inn On The Beach (Ventura, CA)

1.2 reviewed on April 11, 2018

We booked the upper floor by the ice machine... The person at the desk said we would not hear the machine in the night and he was wrong we could hear the hum of the pumps. The maid was just finishing cleaning the room and the sliding door was open to the beach. The room looked run down but we were in a hurry to visit my daughter and granddaughters... We came back around 10:30 in the evening and having closed the door before leaving in the afternoon we were overcome the room had a smell that was not pleasant and very upsetting to my sweetheart. We tried to straighten the sheets on our bed and found that the bottom sheet did not fit the queen bed and was short exposing the mattress cover. The rug was imbedded with stains and felt dirty under our bare feet. I also checked under the sheets and saw one of the beds had a hole in the mattress exposing the stuffing about the size of a silver dollar. To top off the evening in room 202 I took a shower and the handle fell off the shower fixture... Upon finishing the shower that evening I tried to turn off the water and the shower kept dripping and kept my sweetheart up with the sound of water splattering on the tile floor. I had stayed in this Inn more than ten years ago and had memories of a together clean experience. The best feature of this Inn is the beach.

View more reviews for this inn


Will stay again! at Inn On The Beach (Ventura, CA)

4.2 reviewed on April 03, 2018

I loved the room. It was Gothic like and I loved the ocean view.

View more reviews for this inn


A great stay on the beach at Inn On The Beach (Ventura, CA)

4.4 reviewed on March 26, 2018

As advertised, our room had a balcony that looked out onto the beach and ocean. Room was charming, clean and comfortable. Wallpaper could use a little updating, but the bath was recently remodeled.

View more reviews for this inn


Great value oceanfront hotel at Inn On The Beach (Ventura, CA)

3.8 reviewed on March 15, 2018

We’ve stayed at the Inn on the Ocean 3 times so far and this was our best stay!! Older hotel but the views are spectacular with oceanfront decks! The staff is awesome and the morning coffee( 3 different flavors to choose from) cereals and muffins/pastries are a nice added touch! The value here is tremendous as the location is great for walking to the nearby eateries ( social Tap is our favorite) and walks on the beach!!! We look forward to our next stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Great experience at Inn On The Beach (Ventura, CA)

4.2 reviewed on March 07, 2018

The rooms are very reasonably priced and the location could not be better. Plenty of dining within walking distance. Staff was friendly and helpful. Only negative is that they could use new tv’s. Overall, excellent!

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful views at Inn On The Beach (Ventura, CA)

3.0 reviewed on February 16, 2018

Wonderful potential. Amazing views from 2nd and 3rd floors. It's a wonderful property that needs some love and upkeep. Broken thermostats housings in both rooms. Didnt need to use them but they didn't look functional anyhow. Gas fireplace not working in room so changed rooms the next day. That fireplace was filthy. Portable fans placed on ledges over fireplaces were dirty and blades caked with dust. Bed had broken springs poking out. Breakfast was very limited. Coffee, milk, 2 cereals and stale muffins. Fruit, yogurt, bagels and granola would be a nice idea. That being said, the site is charming and the views are beautiful. Local food establishments are within walking distance. With some paint, minor attention to details and a little love, this place would be an amazing!

View more reviews for this inn


Old beach hotel with character at Inn On The Beach (Ventura, CA)

3.2 reviewed on February 03, 2018

My wife and I have been staying here every year for six years. Its old and a bit run down in some ways but its clean and inexpensive for being right on the beach. Super nice staff/owners(?). 5 or 6 places to eat on the same block. (Right next to it). We love staying here.

View more reviews for this inn


We love to stay here at Inn On The Beach (Ventura, CA)

3.8 reviewed on January 29, 2018

We love that this place is right on the beach, has a balcony for ocean viewing, AND has a fireplace. Absolutely love staying here. It can be a little sandy at times, because ... you know, you are on the beach -- but I've never found it to be dirty. We've stayed here numerous times and will continue to do so.

View more reviews for this inn


Old but with a charm at Inn On The Beach (Ventura, CA)

3.4 reviewed on January 23, 2018

This place definitely needs refurbishment like any place so close to the sea it has been rubbed by the humid sea breeze. The location and view is spectacular and the staff was very welcome. I was a littler nervous by some negative ratings in the web but these are not true and obvioulsly done by picky people as every place in this world has occasionally bugs and dirt it you zoom in the closest corners with a zoom lens. Various food locations in the same street offer good food and drinks.

View more reviews for this inn


The best view in town at Inn On The Beach (Ventura, CA)

1.2 reviewed on January 16, 2018

The best view in town is unfortunately wasted in a very poorly managed hotel. The rooms are at best surface clean, the dust behind the bed was embarrassing even to the day manager who helped us look for an outlet that wasn't even close enough to the desk to plug in our computer. He was helpful and suggested we move the desk closer to the plug. I am a solutions person so this seemed reasonable. The staff that I met were helpful but they ran out of bottled water and there was no water even in the vending machine. Regarding value, this hotel wasn't cheap, I could have stayed somewhere cheaper and probably cleaner but opted for the view instead. Cleanliness as I mentioned was beyond reasoning, nothing was clean, the bathroom shower began to fill with water shortly after the water was turned on. The most absurd event is that we went without hot water for more than 24 hours without notice. I had to ask when it was coming back on. As far as dining, their breakfast room has potential but it's evident no one cares to take away the cement bags in the corner that assumingly making repairs. Sadly, I would not reccommend this hotel, no matter how beautiful the view.

View more reviews for this inn


nice place but needs work. at Inn On The Beach (Ventura, CA)

3.0 reviewed on January 13, 2018

This Inn seems to be in the middle of being remodeled. My family stayed in 2 rooms and the amenities varied with the rooms. I love the location and this makes it a great place to stay.

View more reviews for this inn


New Years Eve at Inn On The Beach (Ventura, CA)

5 reviewed on January 05, 2018

Very nice place to stay with an awesome view!

View more reviews for this inn


Going down hill at Inn On The Beach (Ventura, CA)

2.0 reviewed on December 07, 2017

Rooms definitely need some deep cleaning!! And upgrades!! Only thing going for this place is that it’s on the beach. Carpets stained, ugly flowered wallpaper, I don’t think it’s ever been vacuumed under the bed.

View more reviews for this inn


Typical Older Beach Hotel at Inn On The Beach (Ventura, CA)

2.8 reviewed on November 30, 2017

It is a well-worn beach hotel that is in need of a remodel. Great location on the beach with several good local restaurants and pubs next door.

View more reviews for this inn


A blast from past at Ventura Beach at Inn On The Beach (Ventura, CA)

3.8 reviewed on November 26, 2017

The Inn on the Beach harkens back to the 50s and 60s when independent motels ruled the South coast. It has a great vibe and awesome location. If you are looking for the bland sameness of a chain motel, go for it. But, if not, the Inn on the Beach is for you.

View more reviews for this inn


Love this place! at Inn On The Beach (Ventura, CA)

4.4 reviewed on November 17, 2017

My husband surprised me with a stay at the Inn on the Beach. The view is spectacular, overlooking the beach & ocean. The clean room was really nice, having antique furniture & a gas fireplace. We dined at Duke’s restaurant right across the street. We definitely will return.

View more reviews for this inn


Birthday Weekend at Inn On The Beach (Ventura, CA)

3.4 reviewed on November 09, 2017

Another great visit. Beautiful weather. Friendly staff.

View more reviews for this inn


On the Beach, On a Budget at Inn On The Beach (Ventura, CA)

4.0 reviewed on November 03, 2017

Certainly this place could use some renovations, but it's clean, quaint, and beautiful. The staff is very friendly, including the service at the bountiful breakfast (included!). And you absolutely cannot beat the views. I recommend staying on the third floor.

View more reviews for this inn


Great location & friendly service! at Inn On The Beach (Ventura, CA)

4.0 reviewed on October 27, 2017

Enjoyed our stay as location was awesome and service very friendly and efficient!

View more reviews for this inn


Great Views at Inn On The Beach (Ventura, CA)

4.4 reviewed on October 26, 2017

The room was clean, staff was friendly, and fantastic views from my balcony .

View more reviews for this inn


Gorgeous View at Inn On The Beach (Ventura, CA)

3.8 reviewed on October 13, 2017

Loved staying here. Wish I could of stayed longer. You can't beat the view and just listening to the ocean on your balcony is so soothing. The staff was very friendly. Cant wait to stay here again. Beach therapy at its best! Thank you! Jacki Maudlin

View more reviews for this inn


Nice Stay!! at Inn On The Beach (Ventura, CA)

3.8 reviewed on October 06, 2017

We enjoyed our stay at Inn on the Beach.It was a beautiful location with lots of restaurants nearby. The staff was amazingly wonderful and for the price we won't complain about all the little things in the room that could use Improvement.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice work at Inn On The Beach (Ventura, CA)

4.4 reviewed on September 23, 2017

Outstanding young group of employees! Enjoyed our stay and epic view and location

View more reviews for this inn


Surely will come back here again at Inn On The Beach (Ventura, CA)

3.8 reviewed on September 21, 2017

Beautiful view even on the first floor. Simple breakfast. Nice, soft bed with clean bathroom.Thick and soft towels. Definitely will come back here again.

View more reviews for this inn


On the beach at Inn On The Beach (Ventura, CA)

3.2 reviewed on September 13, 2017

My trip was all about being on the beach and hearing the crashing waves from my room to lull me to sleep. Place is old but cute just needs some deep cleaning. Walk to several restaurants in a 1 block area. I traveled alone and felt safe. There was a homeless couple across the street but were tidy and disappeared during the day. Customer service was great welcoming. I'd come back for another beach retreat.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Inn On The Beach (3.80)
Top
check }