The Inn at Mount Vernon Farm Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.9
  • Service5.0
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Onsite Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
81 Reviews

Write A Review

#winning

5 on April 25, 2018

This was our first B&B experience and this place surpassed our expectations. Will do this place in the future.


BlueRidge Gem

5 on April 23, 2018

My Wife and I recently spent 2 days at the Inn at Mount Vernon on the occasion of our 49th Wedding Anniversary. We were joined there by two longtime Friends who share the same Wedding date. The Inn had come highly recommended by our Daughter and her Husband. We arrived with “Great Expectations” and were not Disappointed. The Inn commands a spectacular Panorama of the Thornton River Valley below and a BlueRidge Mountain Backdrop. The 840 Acre Property is a working Cattle Farm which has long utilized Soil Conservation. Cliff Miller, the 8th Generation of his Family to own the Property, is the consummate Virginia Gentleman. He was most hospitable and on the morning of our departure invited us to watch the Cattle Drive when the Herd was moved from mountain pasture To new pasture across the Thornton River. Tessa, Assistant To Inkeeper Cindy, greeted us on arrival, oversaw all details of our stay and helped Venerable Chef Lillian prepare her Original Breakfast Recipes which were served in a splendidly decorated Downstairs Dining Room. Our accommodation, the “Brief” Room, could not have been nicer. In summary, this beautiful place is a Gem. Bernard Swope Winchester

Innkeeper Response
How wonderful that you and your friends celebrated your anniversaries together in such a special way. I am so glad we didn't disappoint and that you enjoyed yourselves and were able to witness the moving of the herd. Thank you to your daughter for recommending us and thank YOU for sharing your experience with this wonderful review! All the best, Cindy

- Cindy (innkeeper)


Wonderful Stay

5 on April 20, 2018

My wife and I had a great experience booking the cabin recently. Staff was friendly and attentive, rooms were excellent, and the breakfast was one of the best I've ever had. Just lovely.


Restored, Refreshed, Relaxed.

5 on April 05, 2018

Sara, Cindy and Ms. Lillian, care takers on the property, made our experience awesome. Very helpful, friendly and inviting. Can't wait till next time. And please let me know when Ms. Lillian's book comes out. Love hearing the history of the Inn. One day maybe meet more family members that open their home for others to enjoy.

Innkeeper Response
Your three "R's" are what we strive to provide here at the Inn and I'm happy you were able to achieve them all! We would love for you to come back and we will let you know once Lillian's book is out. Best! Cindy

- Cindy (innkeeper)


Perfect!

5 on April 05, 2018

The Inn at Mount Vernon met all of our high expectations based on the description on their website: a 600 acre working farm, beautiful views, and lovely small town atmosphere of Sperryville. No chain restaurants or stores. Beautiful views of Shenandoah National Park. We stayed here at the half-way point of a 2-week road trip from Massachusetts to visit the Civil War battlefields. Based on our experience in previous road trips, I planned 4 nights at the same B&B at the half way mark to rest and relax from the tiring routine of packing and unpacking and driving to another B&B every day. We drove along the Skyline Drive in Shenandoah National Park. Drove to Luray Caverns and had an amazing dinner at the Inn at Little Washington. When a snow storm made travel hazardous, we simply settled down in the parlor of the Inn and enjoyed the fire, wi-fi, and snacks from the kitchen. Cliff Miller, the owner, told us about his ancestor who had been wounded at Gettysburg, including showing us the original discharge papers from the Confederate States forces. So special to connect Cliff’s personal family history with the tour of Gettysburg we had taken just 3 days earlier in which we learned about the big picture of the battle. The Inn at Mount Vernon is one of the very best B&B experiences we have had.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your review! It is wonderful that you were able to enjoy some of the history Virginia has to offer and I'm especially glad you chose our Inn as your half way mark to rest and relax, I think you experienced all 4 seasons in those 4 days! lol We hope come visit again when you find yourselves traveling through Virginia.

- Cindy (innkeeper)


Fantastic, highly recommend!

5 on March 25, 2018

We chose to stay at the Inn at Mount Vernon Farm on a complete whim. With little notice, we were accommodated and welcomed warmly. This is a fantastic place to treat yourself to a luxurious experience, without breaking the bank. I felt the quality far exceeded the price tag. I would absolutely stay here again and recommend it to any one looking to enjoy the Sperryville area. This was a great location to enjoy a hike around the farm after a hearty and delicious breakfast, and we enjoyed nearby hikes, wineries and distilleries that we had no idea existed! I would absolutely stay here again. The rooms were extremely comfortable, and surprisingly cozy and warm. The complimentary cheese and wine in front of the fire was the perfect ending to a long day of hiking, and the small hot tub under the stars was just perfect. I hope to visit another time!


Highlight of our mother/daughter weekend

5 on March 18, 2018

My daughter and I spent the weekend enjoying wineries and country drives in Virginia. The stay at Mt. Vernon Farm was the highlight!! We enjoyed the beautiful home, cocktail hour with our guests, the amazing breakfast, stars overhead in the hot tub at night and our lovely hosts. THANKS!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind review! I am so happy to hear that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay! I hope you have the chance to come again when you are visiting your daughter. Best! Cindy

- Cindy (innkeeper)


Exceeded all expectations for our 2 night getaway!

5 on March 15, 2018

Photos and description do not do this place justice! My husband and I, who have travelled to many lovely B&Bs both in the US and Europe, found this Inn to be a gem. My husband and I wanted a serene 2 night getaway from the kids and travelled here from Richmond, and found exactly what we had hoped for. The drive north from Charlottesville is so scenic, and the blue ridge mountains form the backdrop for a star-filled sky every night. The rooms are tastefully furnished and very clean, and the attention to detail is incredible, both in the decor as well as the sumptuous breakfast and the almond milk put in our mini fridge in our Cabin room when they noted my husband stays away from dairy products! The innkeepers are attentive and friendly. The property, which has been in the same family for eight generations, is beautifully restored and maintained. I can't wait to come here again.


Just fabulous!

5 on March 12, 2018

We had a wonderful time . We stayed in the cottage it was. a rainy weekend so lighting the fire was just perfect. The bed was so comfortable and all the attention to details was appreciated. The location is perfect . We highly recommend this Inn.


2 day getaway

5 on March 01, 2018

My husband and I can't say enough good things about our stay. It was just what we needed after not having a break since our daughter was born almost 6 years ago. Normally, I spend a lot of time researching various places to stay but when I came across this gem I looked no further. The house is just gorgeous! The attention to detail was very impressive to me. We stayed in the Owners Suite. There is a sitting room and an amazingly comfortable bed. My favorite part was the claw foot bath tub that had candles to be lit right above tub. Don't even worry about toiletries because they will supply you with quality products that smell wonderful! The innkeeper was very knowledgeable and kind. She made sure we had wine and cheese at 4 pm and have us thick blankets so we could sit on the porch and enjoy the sunset. For dinner we really enjoyed the Thornton River Grille which is only 5 mins away from farm. When we came back from dinner we relaxed in the cedar hot tub they had made in Maine. The experience was breathtaking because the stars felt so close I could grab them and the subtle smell of the cedar was wonderful. In the morning prepare yourself for a delicious home cooked breakfast by Mrs Lilian and the inkeeper. We enjoyed our breakfast talking to the owner Mr Miller. He was very friendly and personable. We felt like we knew him even though we just met. I found his stories very engaging and interesting. We look forward to returning in the Spring to enjoy the farm in full bloom and chatting with Mr Miller and his awesome staff!

Innkeeper Response
I am delighted to hear you were able to sit back and relax during your stay. We really strive to provide a comfortable, relaxing atmosphere and all the comforts needed to really un-wind. Just looking at the views from our porches can do wonders. We hope you can return and hopefully stay longer! Best!

- Cindy (innkeeper)


Great Getaway

5 on February 17, 2018

We enjoyed the cozy cabin and had a fantastic stay. Breakfast was amazing.


Just Lovely

4.6 on February 01, 2018

What a gem. The historic family home has been remade into a stunning inn with attention to maintaining the authentic Virginian upper class style and incorporating modern convenience. Favorite surprise - the magnificent shower! Good strong water pressure, unlimited hot water spacious shower - unusual in older establishments. The sheets were oh so soft and the bed extremely comfortable. Room was a bit chilly, but a fire in the fireplace warmed it right up. Inn keepers were very friendly but not intrusive; helpful with local places to visit. Was great to get to meet and visit with the owner who came by on Saturday to give us a tour of the historic barn. As farmer's ourselves, we thoroughly enjoyed hearing all about his farming improvements. Definitely a destination to return to.

Innkeeper Response
It was a pleasure having you stay with us and learning about your farming as well! We are happy to hear you enjoyed the property and do hope you will be able to return. Best!

- Cindy (Innkeeper)


So wonderful, we did not want to leave!

5 on January 10, 2018

The hospitality, food, scenery- everything was perfect! My husband and I stayed in the cabin during our anniversary weekend. We wanted a cozy spot with a fireplace that was not far from the Inn at Little Washington where we had dinner and this was the perfect choice. We arrived in the afternoon so that we could enjoy the scenery and walked over to the Copper Fox distillery- it was awesome to be able to walk over from the inn for a visit and there are breweries close by too. When we returned from dinner it was such a treat to sit by the fire- they had everything we needed all set up. There is a hot tub out back that is perfect to soak in while taking advantage of the prime spot for stargazing. Breakfast in the morning was delicious and so beautifully executed using local ingredients. They really do think of everything here and it shows- we loved our stay and think it would be fun to visit during all of the seasons to enjoy the beauty here.


A little gem in the Shenandoah Valley

5 on January 04, 2018

We stayed two nights in this beautiful inn. The view from the front porch was extraordinary and we loved our visit. The service, the hot tub, the breakfast were all terrific and we didn’t want to leave this cozy spot.


Just the best stay

5 on December 23, 2017

The Inn at Mount Vernon Farm was terrific. Rooms were lovely and cozy, staff couldn’t be nicer, walks around the property were special, hot tub was a bonus and breakfast was delicious. We are so happy we stayed and will be back.


Lovely, lovely

5 on December 04, 2017

We had a stay at this lovely Inn for a weekend. We stayed in the cabin which was gorgeous! Every night a wood fire was available to us to light in the fireplace if we wished to light it. The staff at the Inn couldn’t have been more helpful or friendly. The property is more than devine! Rich with history and beautiful scenery. We will definitely be back for another stay when we travel to the area next!


Wonderful - again!

5 on November 21, 2017

The property is lovely and makes for a wonderful weekend. It was our second visit and we'll be back again.


Wonderful overnight visit

5 on November 16, 2017

The winding drive up to the Inn gives you the impression that something wonderful is ahead, and once you arrive you are not disappointed. We are history buffs and renovated an old house ourselves so we were thrilled to learn the history of the farm and to be staying in the Cabin. Cindy was very accommodating, giving us a tour of the main floor and setting us up with a coffee press for the next morning. In the evening, we took advantage of the hot tub, enjoying our time looking at the clear sky and bright stars. We have stayed in many B&Bs over the years and this one will definitely be on our "let's go back" list. Thanks for a wonderful visit.


Perfect through and through

4.8 on November 13, 2017

This was our first stay at the Inn at Mount Vernon Farm. It will NOT be our last. A wonderful place. My only regret was not staying another day or two. It could cure what ails you.


It is lovely

5 on November 09, 2017

The setting is spectacular and the house is lovely. Ms. Lillian's breakfast is outstanding.


A beautiful treat!

5 on October 24, 2017

My sister and I stayed here recently as part of a trip up Skyline Drive, and it was such a pleasure! I booked the reservation, so my sis was a little concerned as we drove up Mt. Vernon Rd. and passed a machinery shed and then a ginormous green dairy barn. "What have you gotten us into?" Then we drove up to the top of the hill and saw the beautiful 1820s farm house, with expansive views of the mountains. The B&B has not one but two charming porches to view the scenery from. The area is so rural that there is little light pollution and the stars can be viewed. The entire house -- part of a working farm that has been in the owner's family for eight generations -- has been beautifully and comfortably restored and furnished. We went into Sperryville for dinner and had a great meal at the Thornton River Grille (great local lamb), and the next day enjoyed an excellent breakfast at the Inn. I will definitely be returning.


Amazing Restored 1800's Home and Property

5 on October 22, 2017

Totally renovated and restored beautiful generational home. Extremely clean and well maintained. Comfortable beds. Nice showers with plenty of hot water and substantial water pressure for a relaxing shower. Delicious breakfast and friendly staff. Willing to accommodate special food preferences/needs. No TV's in rooms. No cell service in area but Wi-Fi available. Landline available for outside calls out. Not handicap friendly. Totally enjoyed our stay here and would return again if in the area! Highly recommend!!


Nice relaxing stay!

5 on October 16, 2017

Beautiful house with clean, comfortable rooms. The location is idyllic and relaxing. Perfect for a weekend getaway!


Double Thumbs Up!

5 on October 13, 2017

My husband and I stayed for one night to celebrate our 22nd wedding anniversary. The house and property are beautiful! Sarah was a wonderful hostess and took care of all of our needs. She was present and available when we needed her and also discreet and gave us plenty of privacy. The cedar hot tub was a lovely way to end our evening after dinner in Sperryville. Our morning breakfast was phenomenal! Ms. Lillian is exceptional in every way! We also had the pleasure of meeting Cliff at breakfast as well. Double Thumbs Up to everyone at the Inn at Mount Vernon Farm!


Amazing stay in Sperryville

5 on October 09, 2017

This Inn is such a treasure! The Inn and grounds are immaculately and lovingly maintained. Our innkeeper, Cindy, was so welcoming and proud to share this beautiful home and all of its history with us. We planned our trip rather last minute and could not have been more impressed with the value we received. Breakfast was absolutely delicious and prepared with food right from the farm itself. We explored the grounds and beautiful barn and creek on the property during the day. At night we took a short walk over a swinging bridge into town and enjoyed a fabulous dinner with local live entertainment. There are several small restaurants in town, all with great food, as well as a brewery and distillery which offer tours. The town of Sperryville does not have street lights or traffic lights, so it is pitch black at night and the stars were just breathtaking. We particularly enjoyed the cedar hot tub! We would definitely return to The Inn at Mt. Vernon!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your wonderful review! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed the Inn as much as I enjoyed sharing it with you. The area has a lot to offer so I hope you can stay longer the next time you visit. Best Regards, Cindy

- Cindy (innkeeper)


The Inn at Mt Vernon never disappoints

4.8 on October 05, 2017

My husband and I have stayed at the Inn three times. It is charming, historic, and romantic. The service is personal and welcoming. Their hospitality makes you feel "part of the family." The home-cooked breakfast is a pleasure and a treat. A great place for a weekend escape.


A lovely get-away!

4.6 on October 04, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay in the Brief Room! The Inn at Mount Vernon Farm is absolutely lovely, with a long history, beautifully appointed rooms, gracious service, and a delicious home-cooked food. We loved the proximity to Shenandoah, and enjoyed a great hike to Mary's Rock, just 15 minutes away. We hope to go back soon!


Charming Place

5 on October 03, 2017

I was pleasantly surprised with this bed and breakfast. I stayed for a very quick weekend for a friend's wedding. The room was very clean, including the bathroom - very modern. The entire place was very charming and clean. The staff was also very friendly and nice. I would definitely come back here again if I had the chance!


Didn't want to leave!

4.8 on September 20, 2017

Whatever you are looking for, it is here. The Inn at Mount Vernon Farm has it all and you will never want to leave. Looking for pastoral serenity? Curl up with a good book on one of several comfortable porches, with views of rolling pastures and the dramatic Blue Ridge Mountains in the distance. If you enjoy hiking, the owner has created well marked trails that wind around a glistening stream, next to pastureland and then up into the hillside forest. The home is beyond charming, built with craftsmanship in the 1800s, and filled with antiques that reflect the history of eight successive generations of family ownership. If you're interested in the environment and livestock, you're in for a treat and a learning experience as the owner is an expert in raising grass fed beef, rotational farming and multi-species grazing on his 840 acres. The surrounding area has fine restaurants, charming towns and shops and provides easy day trips to historical sites and Skyline Drive. And maybe best of all, you'll experience true Virginia hospitality on the part of the owner and his staff and be able to enjoy delicious breakfasts made by Lillian who will even create dishes compatible with personal requests and allergy challenges. This is the best B and B we have ever visited in decades. We will definitely return.


Charming Elegant Inn

4.0 on September 05, 2017

Old world charm in a beautiful setting. Offering wonderful home cooking and breathtaking views.


A new Benchmark for Hospitality

5 on September 02, 2017

My Wife and I have stayed at many B&B Inns through out the East Coast as well as the Midwest- we have never had the level of hospitality, warmth and service as from the Mount Vernon Inn. The 24 hour In-keepers: Lillian,Lolly,Cindy and Sarah were all like family soon after arriving. The fifth generation owner, Cliff Miller visited every morning after a scratch home-made breakfast to accommodate with local interest and even printing map directions for a visit to the National park- much needed since cell service is non-existent in this region. The rooms were luxuriously appointed with marble- tiled bathrooms and period furniture. The figurines and dinner ware all from England. Lastly and most Important- our King size bed in the "Owners suite," was more comfortable than the Hilton hotels my Wife and stay while traveling. I forgot to mention the view.....a panoramic countryside view of the gorgeous valley below. Words cannot accurately describe my experience at this special place. We are planning on another visit soon.

Innkeeper Response
We all throughly enjoyed having you and your lovely wife as our guests. The morning chats around the kitchen island are most memorable! We are so happy you felt at home and part of the family. We all hope to see you again soon!

- Cindy (innkeeper)


Lovely Inn with Wonderful Service

5 on August 27, 2017

My husband and I stayed at The Inn at Mount Vernon Farm for a night. The setting is idyllic with plenty of outdoor seating from which to enjoy it. The staff was warm, helpful and welcoming. Breakfast was delicious. I would recommend this to anyone and hope to return.


Loved our stay! Would (will?) go back.

4.6 on July 08, 2017

We spent one night here for our 19th wedding anniversary. It was a last minute thing, but the folks here were super-accommodating. This place is quiet, beautiful, and boy does the house have history! We fell in love with the place and would definitely go back.


Wonderful getaway!

4.6 on July 07, 2017

What a lovely two nights we spent at this inn! The staff are great -- so nice and accommodating! The breakfast was very good -- not super fancy but delicious and just the thing before a day of hiking in Shenandoah National Park. We had the Queen Room -- lovely and very comfortable. Highly recommended.


Hospitality in an elegant setting

5 on July 04, 2017

From beginning to end, my visit to the Inn at Mount Vernon was a wonderful experience. On arrival in the midst of a driving rain, the proprietor met me outside with an umbrella, which level of hospitality characterized my stay. Simply put, I had a wonderful time in a beautiful historic home situated in magnificent countryside. I look forward to my next stay, and highly recommend that you consider a visit to the Inn.


Wonderful!

5 on June 05, 2017

Our stay could not have been any better! The room was beautiful, and the property was outstanding. The staff Anna and Lillian were very hospitable, and a pure pleasure. The views of the countryside are a must see, also close to the Shanendoah mountains to explore. Highly recommended!


Excellent B&B - Definitely Return

5 on June 02, 2017

Finest B&B we have ever stayed at. Meets the needs of any adult traveler. The rooms are spacious and clean, updated, yet retain a real sense of history. The property is beautiful and begs you to take long walks to enjoy it all. The breakfast was fantastic with more (and better) options than a full service restaurant. The Inn has many small touches that help to really set this place apart. We will definitely return.


Beautiful and Friendly Inn

5 on May 17, 2017

We recently stayed at the Inn at Mount Vernon Farm and could not have been more enjoyable. The spacious rooms were well appointed with comfortable furniture. Deb, the innkeeper, was very welcoming, answering questions and providing recommendations for restaurants and things to do in the surrounding area. The breakfast the following day was a dream, and we left feeling very full and satisfied. Overall, I would recommend the Inn at Mount Vernon Farm to anyone looking to enjoy a relaxing weekend in teh area.


Great Stay

5 on May 12, 2017

We loved our night at the Mount Vernon Inn. The room and area was great. They were full of suggestions and ideas for what to do in the area and the breakfast was wonderful. We'd definitely come back!


Absolutely outstanding in every way!

5 on April 20, 2017

My husband and I recently honeymooned here for a long weekend and were not disappointed with our choice. The folks here could not be more hospitable and the room and breakfast was outstanding. The view from the porch, along with the wine we were given upon arrival made for a most relaxed evening, watching the sunset over the mountains. We will be back - soon!!


Don't Tell Anybody

4.8 on April 14, 2017

So I'm hesitant to leave a review as we really, really enjoyed our stay and now I fear it'll be harder to get a room next time with people leaving great reviews. Seriously, everything was top shelf...the rooms look just like or better than the photos on the site, the breakfast(s) were delicious, the innkeeper extremely helpful, bathrooms clean and fresh...plenty of hot water, and the owner who lives in a separate home on the property gave us a tour and history of the farm. Plenty of common spaces inside and out to relax/chat/read/explore. Distillery, brewery, and antique shop just down the hill and across a footbridge over the creek. We'll definitely be back and are making arrangements to give stays to my parents and in-laws. Thanks for the stay, P&E


Great service and wonderful accomodations

4.4 on March 07, 2017

This place exceeded our expectations. The staff was polite and helpful and the setting was quiet and peaceful. Would go again.


Great weekend getaway fro DC

4.8 on February 06, 2017

We loved our stay at the Inn at Mount Vernon Farm. Came for 2 nights to get away from DC during the inauguration, and were not disappointed! Lovely rooms, a beautiful property, and great service. There is no cell service, so no Uber or Lyft, but we enjoyed the walk from the Inn to the shops and restaurants - about 20 minutes each way.


Great, relaxing getaway

5 on February 06, 2017

Everything about our stay at the Inn at Mount Vernon Farm was wonderful. From meeting Cliff, the owner, on the driveway, to the pot of coffee, bottle of wine, and jar of spiced nuts awaiting us in the cabin, our introduction to the place was gracious and welcoming. Manager Deb was a treasure trove of great information about where to go, what to do, and who to talk to. Her introductions made us feel like we had a group of friends in Sperryville by the end of the weekend. The cabin is spectacular and private, with a lovely fire laid for us each night. The breakfasts are delicious, and I even got Miss Lillian's recipe for granola. I can't imagine a more wonderful experience, or a better place to stay. There's great walking around the farm, and you're just across the creek from the Copper Fox Distillery. Downtown Sperryville, with its charming coffee shop, restaurants and galleries (and a terrific knitting shop!) is less than 5 minutes away by car. And all of this is under 2 hours (but a world away) from DC. We'll be back.


Fabulous

5 on January 26, 2017

We absolutely love the Inn at Mt. Vernon Farm. It's gorgeous, breakfast is superb, it's well situated, close to the national park for great hiking and good restaurants, brewery, distillery etc., and the inn keeper, Deb, is so nice and helpful. It is a great oasis from the hustle and bustle of the city.


Beautiful and Peaceful getaway

5 on January 04, 2017

The Mt. Vernon Farm Inn B&B offers the very best of Virginia hospitality to those wishing to escape for a weekend of R&R. The rooms are beautifully decorated, service warm and friendly, and the breakfast is skillfully prepared, using local ingredients. In the colder months, your hosts will provide a warm fire to go along with an evening glass of wine. Perfect for couples.


Tranquil elegance

4.8 on January 03, 2017

What a special place. Cara and I thoroughly enjoy our third stay. The scenery was picturesque, and the rooms were elegant yet cozy. Highly recommend staying for more than a night to fully unwind.


Tranquil elegance

4.8 on January 03, 2017

What a special place. Cara and I couldn't have been more pleased w/ our third trip to Mt Vernon Farm. Scenery is picturesque. Rooms are elegant and cozy. Highly recommend staying for more than a night to truly unwind.


A lovely stay and lovely hosts.

4.2 on November 22, 2016

We had a lovely time at The Inn. Deb and Cliff were fantastics hosts and gave us great recommendations on exploring Sperryville and the surrounding areas. We stayed in the Cabin room which was perfectly cozy and comfortable and we loved having access to a fireplace in our room. We will be back!


Stellar example of an inn dedicated to nature conservancy and an idyllic venue for enjoying Fall within reasonable driving distance from the city.

3.0 on November 12, 2016

Maria Turner


The Perfect Fall Weekend Getaway

5 on November 10, 2016

Our stay at the Inn was perfect. The Inn is beautifully maintained and grand, but feels cozy and homey at the same time. The smell of baking was always in the air, along with the smell and sound of crackling wood fireplaces. The Innkeepers were extremely welcoming. And the homemade breakfasts were huge and delicious. The grounds are huge and perfect for long walks. We left feeling really pampered and rested.


Simply Wonderful!

5 on November 10, 2016

The property is beautifully situated, the house is lovely and the service was outstanding. We'll definitely return.


Wonderful Hosts - Beauty Everywhere

4.6 on November 03, 2016

This is our second stay at the Inn and it has become a family tradition. Deb made us feel welcome and comfortable starting with our phone discussions before we arrived. There were apple bars and nuts waiting in the inviting kitchen and wine bottles in our room (the cabin). Breakfast was delicious, elegant and cozy prepared and served in the downstairs dining room by Lillian and Deb. Thanks to everyone for suggesting a visit to the spotted/striped piglets and the hike to Mary's rock.


Wonderful Stay

5 on October 17, 2016

The farm estate was beautiful. The inn was rustic and quaint. The food was fresh and delicious.


Great Getaway

4.8 on October 06, 2016

Great staff, excellent rooms,and plenty of good food to eat in the morning. Location good for day trip to Madison, Jefferson and Monroe historical houses. Check vineyard schedules if that's your thing before you go. Nice evening dinner at Tulu's in Washington (15 minute drive) and plenty of Virginia scenery to enjoy. Its a quiet getaway from the hectic day to day. Make sure you know the exact location as it's a bit tricky if you arrive in the evening.


A true get-away!

5 on September 09, 2016

Great sunsets and a professional bocci ball court! Near the park, so fantastic hikes. A fantastic par-3 9-hole golf course just down the road (Schoolhouse 9, designed by Mike McCartin) and great restaurants within a short drive. A small brewery and distillery is only a short walk over a swing bridge. The staff/owners are delightful.


Quiet and Relaxing

4.8 on September 07, 2016

The Inn at Mt. Vernon Farm in Sperrysville is the only place to stay! It is quiet and the views from the porches are amazing. Be sure to arrive in time to sit on one of the porches with a glass of wine and watch the sun set. Then have morning coffee on the porch before your scrumptious breakfast. The Inn is within walking distance of the Copper Fox distillery and the Pen Druid Brewery. "Downtown" Sperryville is just a short walk further. Deb and Andrew made us feel like we were visiting friends in their home.


Paradise on Earth

5 on September 04, 2016

We spent much to few but wonderful days in this beautiful inn. Our hosts were friendly, helpful and welcoming. We felt at home from the first minute. The rooms, the inn and the farm are spacious. Room furnishings are luxurious and breathe a somewhat nostalgious slightly british style. The surrounding farm is beautiful. peaceful, lush and green. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. We enjoyed the stay, the hikes, the great afternoons on the porch beyond words. Highly recommended.


Beautiful Getaway

5 on September 01, 2016

This is a classic spot. The main house is beautifully restored to the last detail. The surrounding Blueridge are postcard worthy. The included breakfasts are from local meats and produce. The property is a short hike from the very interesting Pen Druid Brewery and Copper Fox Distillery. Good eating in Sperryville and gourmet eating a short drive to Washington,VA. This is a "go-back-to" place. Loved it.


Gracious and Helpful Staff Made Our Stay

4.4 on August 24, 2016

A surprise birthday visit turned into one of the most romantic and fun get aways I've had in a long time. Deb and Lillian did everything they could for us and even more. As we turned up somewhat bedraggled from 6 hours spent at White Oak Canyon, Deb elegantly served the wine we had dropped off earlier and encouraged us to relax and enjoy our time together. Breakfast the next morning did not disappoint. The house is beautiful, and our stay in the Owner's Suite was great. We made use of it all - from the claw foot tub to the porches for reading. A truly wonderful place made even more so by great staff!


Stayed for Wife's 60th Birthday

5 on August 22, 2016

Stayed in the Cabin and had a wonderful and relaxing weekend. Everyone was friendly and the old farm house is charming. The breakfast in the mornings was worth the stay alone. We will come back again for sure.


Wonderful stay!

5 on August 22, 2016

We loved our stay at the Inn at Mount Vernon Farm. The Inn and property is so lovely and everything was just perfect. The staff was very warm and helpful, the room and bathroom was beautiful and breakfast was amazing. Very nice, but not pretentious. We will be back.


Always good!

4.6 on August 12, 2016

We love The Inn at Mount Vernon Farm! We try and visit quarterly for a great getaway. This time we got stuck in a rainstorm on our walk to town. Lillian rescued us in her car and drove us into town in time for dinner.


Beautiful Summer Getaway

4.6 on July 22, 2016

My daughter and I stayed in The Fox's Lair room which was beautiful, outstandingly clean and quite roomy. The inn is beautiful and wonderfully maintained. The innkeeper, Cliff, and the housekeeper, Lillian, are extremely gracious and welcoming. We received a tour of the house and a glass of wine upon our arrival. Breakfast was bountiful,, and Lillian was very kind to accomodate our request for vegan breakfast items, and even made a new recipe for us.(We liked it...it's a keeper!) Highly recommended if you are in the Sperryville/Luray area. My daughter has requested a trip back for her birthday in November.


Great getaway!

5 on July 22, 2016

A great place to leave the city behind, rest and learn about organic farming. Beautiful house and rooms, private, comfortable and pleasant. Beautiful views!


Southern Comfort

5 on July 21, 2016

This property and the family that owns / operates the home are truly outstanding. The accommodations are comfortable, newly renovated and clean. The home is decorated with antiques and silver. It's a privilege to share the home of this multi generation family home.


Beautiful property!

4.8 on July 10, 2016

Wonderful views of the mountains from this hidden gem! A lovely stay!


Relaxing place to visit

5 on June 28, 2016

We've been to quite a few B&B's and really enjoyed the solitude that this one provided. The room was very comfortable and the views were awesome. A great place to relax on the porch in the evening.


A beautiful weekend

4.8 on June 15, 2016

What an amazing inn. Great location, walking distance to restaurants, breweries, distilleries, and shopping. Easy drive to Old Rag and other hiking. Can't wait to go back.


Great B&b

4.6 on June 02, 2016

We had a great weekend here, wonderful breakfast, view and friendly people.


Lovely inn in a lovely setting

5 on May 23, 2016

We stayed here mid-week on a lark as a place to rest our head after a meal at the Inn at Little Washington, without paying the prices one would pay in the town of Washington. Not having much expectation, I was so pleasantly surprised by this beautiful place. I will definitely visit this hidden gem again when I have more time to spend there. The house and the rooms are lovely -- some very fine antiques and rugs, all done with class and elegance. Because it was mid-week off season, we were the only guests that night, but we were made to feel very welcome. Upon our arrival we were provided some wine, some delicious rosemary nuts and bottles of water and the next morning we were treated with a sumptuous breakfast spread from Ms. Lillian. Eggs from the farm, homemade jam and granola, sausage, fried apples, fruit, salad, and a full French Press of delicious coffee. The farm and the views cannot be beat. I would recommend to anyone. Another perk is that it is about a 7 minute drive to the Inn at Little Washington.


Wonderful quiet retreat

4.8 on May 16, 2016

We only spent one night, but I could have stayed longer. Cliff, Jackie & Lillian made us feel like welcomed friends. The room was comfortable, the breakfast delicious. the home beautiful. And we loved seeing the horses & piglets.


Hobnobbing on thK nob

4.0 on May 09, 2016

Perched some 600' below the summit of 1169-foot Turkey Knob on a steep southwest facing slope, this historic Miller family residence commands a panoramic view of the Blue Ridge mountains and the Thornton River valley below. Service by Lillian and Jackie was as good as expected and friendlier. A late April hike on the lovely 1.5-mile loop trail to and from the Inn on the forested slopes of this 800+ acre property revealed close up sounds and sights of numerous songbirds, including a brilliant scarlet tanager and a squawking, surprised pair of Pileated Woodpeckers. Near the end of the wooded section of the trail, an enigmatic surprise greeted us. Continuing our walk past the Mt. Vernon farm, with its spacious barns whose inhabitants had been herded across the Thornton to pasture earlier that morning, we encountered several fly fisherman standing in this peaceful tributary of the Rappahannock, waiting for stocked trout to ambush a tied fly. As we climbed the steep driveway from the river to the Inn, we encountered a stately gentleman who stepped out of his car to greet us. We guessed he was the owner, which the distinguished-looking Cliff Miller confirmed. In the warming sun, the three of us did our part to add to the fragrant spring breezes around us. Cliff regaled us with some of the history of the property, which he and his son rescued from deterioration to bring it its present glory. The main source of Cliff's pride, we learned, is his thoughtful and conscientious stewardship of this beautiful spot and the surrounding forest and fields. His generosity in placing a large portion of this estate into a Virginia state easement ensures it will remain pristine for ages to come. This lengthy and educational chat just enhanced our feeling of fulfillment at the Inn at Mount Vernon Farm. We'll leave it to you to find out for yourself just what this little charm of many charms at Mt. Vernon may be.


Anniversary Weekend

5 on April 21, 2016

Beautiful Property. Hosts were gracious and did everything perfectly to make sure we had a wonderful stay from the moment we arrived to our departure. The property manager even drove us into the next town for dinner and picked us up when we were ready to return. Can't wait to go back!


A Wonderfully Relaxing and Refreshing Weekend Retreat!

5 on March 23, 2016

Cliff Miller and his staff, Lillian and Jackie, make certain that their guests have every opportunity to enjoy this idyllic setting. Despite cold and rainy weather, we enjoyed hours by the fire, visits to local wineries and a fabulous walk during a few dry hours. Breakfast was fantastic with most food locally sourced if not grown on the farm, and it was fun getting to know the other guests.


Great mountain getaway

4.6 on March 15, 2016

Country inn offers great views and excellent breakfast. Close to Shenedoah Park entrance. Lots of quaint shops and restaurants in the area. Rooms and service are first class.


Beautiful place to stay

4.2 on January 04, 2016

The rooms at the Inn are very beautiful. Our room also had a luxurious bathroom with an excellent 2-headed shower. Lillian and Jackie were warm and welcoming, and provided a really wonderful breakfast. We didn't feel that welcome to enjoy the property's sitting room, but then we were out most of the time, enjoying Sperryville's distillery, brewery and restaurants, and the countryside around Shenandoah.


Perfect stay

5 on December 16, 2015

exceptional early winter stay in our favorite Rappahanok county. first time at the Inn, but definitely will not be the last! magnificent setting, close to town but in a serene, private, country place. Beautifully furnished, comfortable and very welcoming. Innkeeper and owner treated us like we lived there!


SIMPLY OUTSTANDING

5 on December 23, 2012

Exquisite in the fine details at every corner. The buildings, the grounds, the history, the property, the view, the staff — completely amazing — like out of an oscar-winning movie. The breakfast was THE best I'D EVER had in my life. Not cheap — and worth every penny. Can't wait to go back. —Stayed November, 2012 S. Roberts, age 42, Ashburn, VA


Outstanding Country Weekend Inn

5 on October 29, 2011

We stayed at The Inn for our annual Virginia country weekend. The house is beautiful and authentic and the views are exceptional. The Innkeepers are the most gracious, hospitable and enjoyable people we have ever stayed with. We were there for four nights and especially enjoyed the gracious breakfast meals and conversations with the owners. Even better, we were a short ride to everything we wanted to do with our time - hike in Shannedoah, eat in Washington and attend the horse races in Warrenton. It also meant a lot to us that the Innkeepers are running a humane and 21st century farming operation on their property. We just loved The Inn and look forward to returning.


The perfect place for a weekend trip

5 on October 10, 2011

Everything about this inn is perfection. The location is serene with rolling hills, grazing horses and mountain views. The hospitality of the innkeeper will exceed your expectations. The house is decorated tastefully. It is obvious that the owners take time to ensure every detail of your stay is enjoyable. Our room was very charming with cozy bedding. The breakfast was delicious and a clear testament to how much better farm fresh ingredients make food taste. I have stayed at many B and B's and would rank this at the very top of my list. We will be sure to make a return visit to the Inn.


The Inn at Mount Vernon Farm

Details

  • Nightly Rate $149 - $379
  • Reviews (81) 4.8
  • Rooms 6
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5409878115
Top check