Old Yacht Club Inn Reviews

Overall
4.3

View details

  • Guest room4.1
  • Service4.4
  • Value4.2
  • Cleanliness4.4
  • Onsite Dining4.3

Score Breakdown based on
106 Reviews

Write A Review

A Rare Find in Santa Barbara, East Beach!"

4.4 on August 14, 2014

This was the perfect location for the Santa Barbara Triathlon last year! Rooms were clean and very nice, staff was very friendly and helpful, and they put breakfast out for us before the race. Loved the wine and cheese in the afternoon on the porch. A short walk to the trolley to take us along Cabrillo and up State Street to dining and urban wine trail. We'll be staying here again on our next visit to Santa Barbara!


Disappointing and a Little Overpriced!

2.4 on January 10, 2014

We stayed at the OYCI for a week during the Christmas holidays in a suite with a small fridge and microwave. Our rooms were clean and comfortable and the surrounding neighborhood very pleasant. The best thing going for OYCI is its location only a few blocks from the beach. Unfortunately, OYCI is in dire need of remodeling. The furnishings and decoration were dated and the window coverings worn and shabby. The OYCI claim to be remodeling for the breakfast room/reception was inaccessible and piled high with furniture and debris (we were told in advance breakfast was not served in winter--please ignore the above "Dining" rating). The name “Old Yacht Club Inn” might conjure to some an image of a picturesque B&B with rooms of charming decor and a reception reflecting a distinctive nautical ambiance and brightly decorated for the holidays. Alas, OYCI has almost none of that; it has rather all the charm of a dilapidated boarding house.


Great experience at the Old Yacht Club Inn

4.4 on October 07, 2013

This was our first stay at The Yacht Club Inn and we had a very positive experience. The inn was clean and the host, Eileen, couldn't have provided a more positive experience. She is very personable and easy to hold a conversation with. The food was great and the evening "wine hour" provided a nice forum to relax and meet the other guests. Our room (Castellammare) was clean, comfortable and exceeded our expectations. The bicycles that the Inn has available were well kept and they had plenty of them for the guests to use. There was sufficient parking available and the Inn is truly one block or less from a very nice beach. We'll definitely stay a Old Yacht Club on our next visit to Santa Barbara!


Perfect quick get away

4.0 on October 03, 2013

If you want to stay in a quaint setting and be close enough to the beach to walk or ride a provided bike to get there , then this is your destination! We stayed in the lovely Bella Caruso room (with a small kitchen- so convenient!)(recommended by the Innkeeper- many thanx! : ) ) We were so involved on walking around the area (& bike riding) we missed the wine socials! Breakfast and the organic coffee kept us going! Our only regret is not being able to stay longer!!! We will be back! Santa Barbara is the perfect destination from the O.C. or I.E. to get away from it all and The Old Yacht Club Inn is a good place for your Home base!


We will be back....

4.4 on August 06, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights in the Jardon room; a clean, quaint and comfortable space with a private bath. We relaxed and enjoyed the wine tasting hour on the front porch both days. Each morning we enjoyed a very tasty breakfast in the dining room, while watching the comforting flames from the gas fireplace. My only complaint is that the walls are a bit thin, and some rambunctious children stayed up too late one of the nights.


UCSB Graduation

4.8 on July 01, 2013

Everything is A+++++++, except that they only provide one bathroom for 3 rental rooms.


We'll be back!

5 on December 29, 2012

Our 5 star stay started at the time of our reservation. The Innkeeper took her time to place us in the room that fit our comforts and needs. She referred us to "off the beaten path" restaurants and wineries. Service continued in this manner through departure. Excellent food, staff and service. Charming property just a block to the ocean, bike path & trolley. We'll be back again and again!


Home away from home...

5 on November 26, 2012

My husband and I spent a portion of our honeymoon (Nov., 2012) here and we were very satisfied with the location, the personnel, the gourmet breakfast, and the wine & cheese hour. (The cookies were my personal favorite!) My husband is a hearty breakfast eater and Skylar was so attentive and generous with us to offer my hubby 2nds! Cheap but yummy eats to try: Rosales Mexican (X:Milpas & Montecito), Lily's Tacos (were Chapala ends at the 101 fwy); Taqueria Cuernavaca (X:Carillo & DeLaVina St.). Eileen was very generous too as she provided a room upgrade to a Suite for the price of a less expensive room. Well worth it!!!


I've already booked a return trip.

4.4 on August 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed for three nights and had a wonderful time! We've stayed at other B & Bs in Santa Barbara over the years, but they've all become so expensive. The OYCI has a terrific location, away from the noise of downtown but close enough for an easy bike ride to State Street. The neighborhood is quiet, parking easy, and our room was very comfortable. The staff was also terrific. Breakfast was good (but not spectacular), but the evening cookies made up for the so so breakfast.


Loved it!

5 on July 16, 2012

We just celebrated our 20th anniversary at the Old Yacht Club Inn and enjoyed it very much. We used the bikes they provide to ride up to the Mission (a bit of a trek, but we did it!). We also biked to Stern's Wharf. We enjoyed our room, visiting with the staff and other guests, and the food. Oh my, the food was delicious! We enjoyed breakfast and wine/hor dourves. We were treated so well. When I asked for the granola recipe, they kindly sent it to me. So yummy. This inn is only a short block to the beach and we would gladly come again.


A bit disappointed

2.6 on July 02, 2012

We recently spent a night at the OYCI. We were in one of the suites in the next house. The pictures on the web site were a far cry from what we actually saw. The room was very bland, pale or mint green walls with a plain off white bedspread. The "sitting room" had a bumpy day bed and was also shabbily furnished. The bathroom was more pleasant....It had wallpaper with a small pink print. The room looked like it had been cleaned but when I got down on the floor to check under the bed for items of ours, there was dust and a few pieces of paper ....I guess housekeeping missed that part. The ceiling fan worked but the lights could only be turned off by unscrewing the bulbs - same thing with the bedside lights. The suite just needs some TLC - little decorating touches that matches the pictures on the website. The hospitality was nice and it was enjoyable meeting the other guests.


Loved it!

4.0 on May 26, 2012

This was our our first stay at a bed and breakfast. The house was charming, our room (Cottage Room) was private and very comfortable. We loved how comfortable the bed was! We loved the wine and cheese socials as well as the chocolate chip cookies that were provided for us the first night. The second night we had chocolate dipped strawberries. Breakfast was delicious as well. We met some very nice and interesting people from other countries that were also staying at the Inn. Situated so close to the beach, it was easy to walk there each day. We loved sitting outside on the large porch..definitely relaxing! We would most definitely stay here again sometime in the future.


Awesome place!

4.2 on April 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed for one night in March 2012 and had a great time. It was our first time at a B-n-B, and didnt know what to expect. The experience is one we will always cherish. The food was outstanding, but I think our favorite was the cheese n wine social. We also took advantage of the free bike rentals, we took a little stroll to a local market that had great local produce n fruit. The room was bigger than I thought and had a unique charm to it. The innkeeper Jasmin was awesome n the people we talked to were great. Were definitely coming back!


Delightful weekend!

4.0 on February 26, 2012

We really enjoyed our weekend at the Old Yacht Club Inn. Met some very nice guests that we fould ourselves visiting with over wine and breakfasts. It was fun hearing about the different room. We found the food very good, the room bright clean and the bed very comfortable! Being so close to the beach make our romantic walks even better. We will be recommending the Inn to our friends!


Cottage Room

3.6 on November 12, 2011

My wife and I are big fans of the Old Yacht Club B&B and we've stayed there several times. We tried the cottage room this time, and loved the room, especially the fireplace, but have one problem with it. There was no hot water for the "state of the art" whirlpool tub. I should say there was only enough hot water to fill the tub about 4 inches. The tub was the main reason we picked the room, the same reason we like the castellamarie (sp?) room. We love the place and we're only giving this less than satisfactory review to alert the owners to the problem.


great place to stay

5 on August 16, 2011

This was a cozy , very nice place to celebrate our anniversay. We will stay here again.


Our 40th Anniversary Delight

4.0 on August 03, 2011

Loved,loved,loved it. Don't listen to the bad reviews, they are totally off the mark!!! The staff is very friendly and the rooms are decorated so cute. Very clean and comfortable. Only heard the train whisle 2 times. Once in the eve and once in the early morning. No big deal. Slept right through the night. Bathrooms are spacious and clean. Rode down to the beach each day on the complimentary beach cruiser bikes provided. Thank you for making our 40th Anniversay a memorable one. We definitely will return and A BIG thanks to Eilene for helping us make this reservation at our 1st B&B.....K&G


The REAL TRUTH of the Old Yacht Club Inn

4.8 on July 29, 2011

Just returned home a few hours ago, and the very first thing I wanted to do was write a review for this B & B. The negative reviews are soooooo incorrect, and do such a disservice to the establishment and the owners... but most of all,to the folks who would miss out on a lovely stay in this wonderful place. From the moment we turned onto the street, I held my breath for fear of what kind of Psycho House we would be checked into, based on the nonsensical negative reviews posted here. This home is so charming and warm from the outside, but one step inside and we KNEW the reviews were wrong. The friendly young lady checked us in and shared all the information that we needed to get to our room--oh, and we were upgrade at no extra charge! I looked at EVERYTHING, all the silly negative notations from others, and the home was SUPER CLEAN, lovely, had tremendous character, quiet, charming room, nice bathroom, great fluffy towels, and the food was FABULOUS! The portions were great, and my girlfriend and I did not finish what was on our breakfast plate. Coffee was great...the fellow diners were happy and no complaints to be had, only compliments. Loved the location, it took less than one minute to be on the ocean front and I ran all the way to the current Santa Barbara Yacht Club in 30 minutes! ( the wharf would take a few minutes by car!) This is a factual, and truthful review. I am very quick to criticize and certainly complain if the situation warranted it. I will be back next year for the SB/KHYC Race, and bring more friends with me. I loved it!


Inn is GREAT but needs NEW OWNERS!

4.0 on July 27, 2011

Wish I could give the Inn a 5 star rating because we DO love it. Not the first time we stayed there. The Belle Caruso Room is PERFECT and Jazmin is a sweetheart! But.... the owners.... YIKES! Rude, unfriendly and not adept at telling the truth. We stayed for 5 nights in July. We paid a $249 deposit in February. Our balance was $996 which we PAID IN FULL upon arrival. When we returned home to Sacramento, we discovered that the owner had charged our card an additional $1000!!! They do NOT answer the phone nor do they reply to e-mails. Never even sends reservation confirmations unless you pester the heck out of them. It took 4 phone calls and an entire day to have the charge reversed. But it did not happen without much insistence on our part. The owner read my other review and blatantly LIED in her response. There is no reason WE would lie but the owners have much to lose so they outright LIE! She said when "they" discovered the double charge, "they" corrected it within "60 seconds". OMG! Nothing is further from the truth. "They" discovered NOTHING! We had to bring it to their attention. She insisted we were given receipts for both the actual charges and for the corrected charge. LOL!!! We never received any receipts. AWESOME place but stay away until someone else buys it. Hopefully, new owners would know the meaning of the truth. The two current owners hide and when you happen to catch a glimpse of either one, there is no "Hello, welcome and thank you for staying with us." There is not even a friendly nod. Just glaring!


an englishman.. abroad

4.2 on July 01, 2011

Hi-ho everyone.. an englishman and an Pacific Islander traveling the world. (Please read the Guestbook entry if interested)..a British Army Veteran, I have seen slum's all the way up to Ritz Carlton, etc- I find this Old Yacht Club Inn, a Gem that fit's the profile I was seeking... thus I give this B&B a high ranking. We just completed a few days in Santa Barbara as we are fond of the beauty of California. We had the Julia M. Room. I must say, the Manner in which business was discussed over the telephone with Manager/Co-Owner, Eileen, was EXCELLENT, as in order to accommodate my special needs (with a service dog) she had to adjust her reservations... being disabled, with a dog- she could have simply told me 'No Vacancy's' Nah, not this Woman... so when we arrived from the South next day, all was as promised. Vince was busy in the Kitchen with his Staff. We bypassed wine tasting.. after all we came to this lovely City.. to go to the Vineyards ! My Dog (a Westminster show champion) Judy,Judy,Judy simply loved the very short walk to the Beach. Now, the main reason I wished an B&B in the area was the Zoo. GREAT STUFF, love the Zoo.. and was a very short walk from the old Yacht Club. Parking was excellent, which was refreshing as there are ZERO disabled persons parking in downtown Santa Barbara (State Street). I love traveling as I tend to always meet travelled (read educated) people, this Inn was no exception.. and we were able to temporarily befriend fellow Inn's-persons, funny enough fellow country man/WOman (small world) So when we Return, short answer is.. we ARE returnee's, if my companion wishes to return to Visit, Santa Barbara- I can feel no reason we would not again choose this fine inn.. the Old Yacht Club Inn. Enjoy- Jonathan, Judy & Edward


Back Again!

5 on March 03, 2011

Came back with my best friend for my birthday celebration and had the most relaxing & fun time again. We stayed in a one of the King guest rooms upstairs in the main house with a balcony. After we arrived we sat out on the beach in with the beach chairs and beach towels provided by our Innkeeper. We biked along the bike path on the complimentary bikes provided by the Inn and explored the pier and found a restaurant with the most amazing ocean views for my b'day dinner. Biked back to the bird refuge, and zoo before heading back to the wine social. After dinner headed back and sat out on our balcony talking about old times and headed off to bead in the most comfortable 4 poster canopy bed ever. Woke up early to fresh brewed coffee and a warm fire and lovely home cooked breakfast. We have already booked our next stay and cannot wait to return. This Inn is so homey, beautiful and in the best location ever! Thank you for your warm hospitality.


A memorable and romantic weekend in Santa Barbara.

4.6 on February 28, 2011

The room, the breakfast, afternoon wine and cheese, that welcome home feeling and even the local felines made for a tremendous weekend. We shall most definitely return. Thank you to all concerned.


Much needed rest!

5 on February 16, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this wonderful B&B in November. We own and run a small Victorian B&B in Colorado and was looking for a great place to be the "Guest" We found a great one! The room was nicely decorated and the the bed made for a great night sleep. The bathroom was large and easy for both of us to get ready in the morning. We did enjoy having the small kitchen to fix coffee in the morning. (We no longer can sleep in!) Having the cruiser bikes to use while we were there was most helpful. We were able to park the car once we arrived and never used it again until we left. The bikes were so easy to ride and comfortable, so much so, we bought a couple when we arrived home and gave our Mountain bikes away! In the evening we road up and down the coastal bike path, stopping at most of the restaurants to get a nibble and some of CA fine wine and beer. We only made to one of the evening wine gatherings. Great time to mix and mingle with other guest. I would recommend the wine tour with Captain Jack, we had a blast, (Santa Barbara Winery is a must). We also enjoyed their evening sail. Being owner, operator of a B&B we have become very critical of where we stay, Well Done Eileen and Staff! Hope to be back again!


Bring you back to this second home

4.8 on December 27, 2010

The rooms with the Blue roofs have all but vanished from the landscape of Santa Barbara County. For some 10 years now my wife and I have made several attempts to duplicate that experience along this section of our beautiful California coast. At last we have arrived and discovered there is a place that brings you back home. As we turned the corner down Corona Del Mar Street and got our first look at the "Old Yacht Club", we instantly got the sense of “Home away from Home". Our stay in the cottage behind the main house felt like we had come back to visit an old friend. Fantastic experience in every way, (loved breakfast) the inspiration is back and we too will return to do this again and again. Thanks for the memories!


Simply one of the BEST

5 on December 22, 2010

Check in was about the friendliness ever. The attention to detail was great! The extras were a total surprise. The food was way better than I had imagined and I'm in the business. An ideal location. Need to find an excuse to visit again.


OYCI - An enhancement to our Santa Barbara visit

4.4 on November 19, 2010

The staff was great as was the location and property. Breakfast was wonderful. A few small details could be improved upon such as not having large Kirkland shampoo bottles in the bathroom, having bicyles to use was great but they could use some maintenance, serving a local wine instead of a generic jug wine for the social hour, and perhaps an upgrade to hard candies as the in room treat. I do recommend OYCI and would stay there again.


Nice place, if you can get a room!

3.6 on October 20, 2010

It was a nice place, our first nice we stayed in the cottage. Very lovely. However, we got double booked - the B&B stated that the website never gave them the information, however they answered a question of mine via email that included the information the website sent them. So I was sent off to an apartment over a garage, which was nice...but odd for my honeymoon to stay over someone else's house, especially since I could hear them! I just suggest making sure before hand that they definitely have your reservations in the system.


Anniversary Getaway ~ LOVE this place! Keep coming back!

4.8 on August 06, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Old Yacht Club Inn a few weeks ago (weekend of 7/23/10) for three nights. We returned to this lovely, charming place to celebrate our 16th year wedding anniversary. We love that this place is very remote to the beach, the wharf, the restaurants and shops. We LOVE the fact that the inn includes bikes, as my husband and I both enjoy working out and pretty much ride our bikes to get around town. This year we stayed in the Santa Rosa Suite which had a nice antique decor. We agreed however that our favorite room was the one we stayed at last year, the Belle Caruso, as it had a cute deck and small kitchen area. We love that the inn is close to the freeway and enjoyed our day trip to to Solvang and to the wineries in Santa Ynez. We always look forward to the breakfast each morning as they are quite exquisite, not to mention filling! My husband's favorite is the cinnamon vanilla french toast which I continue to make for him as they even have their recipes online! A few of our favorite places to eat, also close to the Inn, are the Enterprise Fish Co. & Los Agave for authentic mexican food! We are extremely appreciative of the staff having yet again gone out their way to make both our 15th and 16th wedding anniversary quite special and memorable. The Innkeeper Eilene was also very gracious and pleasant to talk to. We will definitely return to the Old Yacht for many more anniversary celebrations to come!


thank you

4.0 on July 20, 2010

We stayed a week and had a great time. the purpose was daughters graduation. we held a little party of 17 on the deck with snacks and wine. very nice. we enjoyed the b-fast but only ate twice. always had a banana for me weather we ate or not. the owners just need to maintain the bike with air and chain adjustment so it does not fall off......m&j weller


A Perfect Getaway

4.2 on July 08, 2010

We choose the OYCI because we wanted a romantic and personal setting to celebrate our anniversary. The OYCI did not disappoint. We arrived to a house that had everything we wanted. We found our room made up with comfortable bedding, antique furniture, fresh flowers, no computer, no television no telephone…no distraction. An amazing breakfast every morning and local wine every evening; we hardly needed to leave the house, but we did. And thank you so much for the bikes! What a worthy amenity for Santa Barbara! We were to the wharf and downtown in less than 5 minutes. Lastly, many thanks to Jazmin, who we saw most often. We loved your restaurant and tour recommendations. Overall, OYCI was perfect: peaceful, personable, delicious, close. We loved our stay!


A wonderful B&B a block from the beach.

5 on June 17, 2010

The Inn is charming and romantic yet large enough to accommodate bigger groups. The beds were amazingly comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. The highlight was the free bike rentals that allow for a quick ride to the beach and up the coast via the bike path. Would reccommend to anyone visiting Santa Barbara.


OYC April 2010

3.4 on May 04, 2010

The room was beautifully decorated. No TV or phone, which is a plus for me. They are only staffed part of the day, but has never presented a problem. The breakfasts are very good and the staff attentive. Some of the bathrooms are very small, check before you book.


Will definitely go back

3.6 on May 03, 2010

Loved the complimentary cookies! The room was great. Would like a menu for breakfast so that we can pick and choose what we can have though. Will definitely return for another stay.


"Un Dia Maravilloso" "A wonderful Day"

4.0 on April 17, 2010

I would like to said that my husband and I really enjoyed our stay. The service people, the innkeeper, and the owner were very friendly. The room was very nice and clean. We only stayed for one night I just wish I would stayed a little longer. I will come back next time with my kids they really going to love it.Thank you for the breakfast it was delicious. Thank you we really love our stayed. Mi esposo estaba encantado muchas gracias


Enjoyable

4.0 on April 14, 2010

My husband and I stayed for one night during the week. We arrived around 2p to find the innkeeper was out. The keys to our room was in a lock box which was really convinient. After we settled in we took a pair of their bikes out. The bikes were kind of old and rusty and some tires deflated but we found 2 decent ones. They were free and convenient so what the heck! We had no problems during our bike rides. Although may I suggest baskets for some bikes. My bike had a rack in the back so maybe have some bungees available to tie stuff down on those bikes that have a rack in the back. I guess if I had remembered to bring a back pack, a basket or bungees wouldn't be necessary. :) I am not much of a bather so taking a shower in their spa tub was not very convienient. Maybe a suggestion is to maybe put a hook somewhere on the wall so we can rest the shower nozzle on it for a stand up shower. The bed was comfy. Plenty of pillows. Breakfast the following morning was yummy. Omelette with a crumpett and fresh fruit. The coffee was really good. Will definitely stay there again.


Better than I could have imagined

5 on April 04, 2010

The Old Yacht Club Inn is an absolutely phenomenal experience for those looking for a charming place to stay in Santa Barbara. Not only is it steps from a beautiful beach, but the property itself is wonderfully charming and eclectic. Each room at the Inn is a bit different from the next, and they even have a cottage and beach house available for those looking for even larger accommodations. The best part about the Inn is the service and experience. Each night, they provide guests with wine, cheese and other treats. Enjoying time by the fireplace or looking at the ocean while mingling (or keeping to yourself) is an exceptional experience. Not only that, but the breakfast is amazing and the staff is incredibly hospitable. The people that run this place know what good customer service really means. (Eilene Bruce, one of the Inn's owners gave us a tour of the property herself!) I am so happy that we chose to stay at the Old Yacht Club Inn during our recent trip to Santa Barbara. Now that we have been once, I'll never look elsewhere when planning a trip there. Love it!!


You have to be kidding me!

2.2 on March 25, 2010

My husband and I just spent three days in the Cottage which is really just a very small room adjoining the laundry room. It was very dark and shabby with only a handheld shower. The gas fireplace did not work, the whirlpool tub came on loudly during the middle of the night and the brass bed is literally falling apart. Not to mention dingy linens and only three hangers in the closet. The location was good but that is the only positive thing I have to say about this B&B. After a dismal experience at the Old Yacht Club Inn we spent two wonderful nights in the spacious Fess Parker Hotel. Much better. FYI - we frequently stay at B&B's and usually love them.


Great Romantic Getaway

5 on March 23, 2010

We spent our honeymoon at the Inn. It was charming and romantic to say the least. The innkeepers did everything possible to make our stay memorable. We expecially liked the location which is just footsteps away from the beach, shops, and resturants. I will definately be back for our one year anniversary. In fact, we reserved the same room already! Great Place for memory building


The Best B&B in California

5 on March 23, 2010

This is the best B&B we have ever stayed in. My husband and I travel extensively throughout the southwestern US and Canada. We spent our 25th wedding anniversary here. B&B's are usually our accomodation of choice, and this one was the best yet! The property is immaculate. The owners and their staff attended to even the smallest detail. We enjoyed being a block from the beach. We used their bicycles on Sunday to ride down to the crafts fair which was great! Food was FIVE STAR! Service was FIVE STAR! Room was FIVE STAR! My husband says " The Old Yacht Club INn B&B is heaven on earth." We will DEFINATELY return!


Quaint and close to beach in Santa Barbara!

5 on March 23, 2010

Historic Inn and bed and breakfast! Great change of pace from big box hotel experience, walk to beach in great area of Santa Barbara.


Home away from Home

5 on March 23, 2010

This beautiful bed & breakfast was everything we were looking for! My husband and I got married back in October, 2008 and we recommended that our guests (family and friends) stay at the Old Yacht Club Inn. We got nothing but great feedback!! The Old Yacht club in is truly a Home away from Home. It's quaint, private, homey, beautiful, relaxing, etc, etc. The staff is so friendly, the location was incredible, and they had great amenities. I would recommend this Inn to anyone visiting Santa Barbara.


Pleasantly surprised !

4.4 on March 13, 2010

We were disappointed at first when we walked into the first room they showed us with the full kitchen. WE didn't need a kitchen and it didn't have a tub which is something I enjoy.....we asked if there was something else we could see and they were so pleasant about it ! They took us to the Santa Rosa room which was PERFECT! We had a great stay and it is a lovely room ! Thanks so much....we'll come back. Our kids live in SB. Judi and Tom Welch, Pacific Palisades


Santa Barbara visit on Feb 15 & 16 2010

2.4 on February 25, 2010

The B&B is convenient to the beach and easy parking access. There was plenty of parking space. We should have been warned that the trees drip sap onto the cars. The rooms were clean and nicely furnished. No radio or TV in the room. The bathroom was small, about 3 feet by 12 feet and ackward to use. We were given excellend suggestions about where to dine for lunch and dinner. The 25-cent trolley to State Street was also convenient. The evening wine and cheese social was disappointing. It consisted of a single caraffe of white wine and a small selection of cheese, crackers, and vegetables. The gourmet breakfast was disappointing and consisted of toueh pancakes with sliced bananas on top. This was accompanied with small portions of granola and yogurt. This B&B operates as an efficient business with limited hospitality.


A Romantic Break

4.2 on February 01, 2010

I was pleased with our stay at the Old Yacht Club. It was walking distance from the Zoo and the Pier at Santa Barbara. We love to get up and explore. It was at a location that made that possible. If you want to do a lot of walking you can walk to State Street where you can find movies,shopping and fine dinning. I felt the stay in our cozy room and the friendly staff helped to make our Romantic Break a time to remember. Alex


Christmas at the Old Yacht Club Inn

4.2 on January 30, 2010

We've traveled extensively, both here and abroad. We have enjoyed B&Bs in Germany, The Netherlands, France, The Czech Republic as well as other European countries and The Hawaiian Islands. I can say without hesitation that our 7 days at the Old Yacht Club Inn was the best Christmas gift we could have given one another. Excellent accommodations and outstanding staff!


Wonderful place

5 on November 05, 2009

It's a very nice B&B locates in Santa Barbara Beach. It's decoration is very delicated and romantic, and the owner is very hospitable.


very very nice and perfect location

4.6 on October 15, 2009

I went to santa babara with my aunti in october-september time, we went there on the off chance that we were going to get a place, and then we came across this beautiful BnB which was in the perfect location for shops, markets, beach and restuarants. Not only was it in the perfect location the people who work there were friendly, welcoming and gave good advice. thank you for such a memoral stay


IT COULD HAVE BEEN GOOD...

2.6 on September 25, 2009

Our experience at this B&B was marred by very poor customer service from the owner following a series of unfortunate events. We were initially booked and paid for, then they were overbooked, then they offered us an upgrade to a studio that isn't normally rented out, then when we got there that studio was rented to someone else! We were offered one night in the cottage (Converted shed in the car park) and one night next door in the motel 2. There is Motel 6 - this was motel 2! At almost $250 per night, this was not acceptable. We were not offered any refund, full or partial, by the owner. On the other hand, the one breakfast we had was great, the service from the food staff was excellent and the kindness shown to our young daughter was heartwarming. When all is said and done, our weekend away was ruined and our experience was not enjoyable. Had these problems not arisen, our stay could have been very pleasant.


Santa Barbara Accomodation

3.2 on September 25, 2009

Prices are high in this area for what one gets however everything did meet expectation. The staff were just terrific. Friendly and informative. Had a really good time meeting people from other parts of the country and indeed the world, England and Sweden. Very nice place to stay.


The Wedding!

5 on September 04, 2009

We rented the Beach House for the weekend of our daughter's wedding, and absolutely fell in love with it! Our Bride :) her new sister-in-law, the photograper (Auntie) and my husband and I stayed there and had a fabulous time! We had wedding things EVERYWHERE and yet still had plenty of room! It was perfect - cozy, private and very comfortable. We had family and friends in and out constantly and Eilene and her staff are incredible! They made our families feel like we were at home. In fact, the two families met for the first time in the dining room, and we'll never forget that moment and how wonderful Old Yacht Club Inn's staff made that time for us. Old Yacht Club Inn will be the only place we ever stay when visiting Santa Barbara. Thank you so much, Eilene. With Much Love xoxo The Peternels


Home Away From Home!

4.0 on September 01, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the OYCI in celebration of his birthday and we were beyond thrilled with our experience. Right away we felt as though we had stepped in our second home. Eilene, the Innkeeper, was wonderfully helpful and was quick make sure we felt at home. Our room, the Santa Cruz suite, was beautiful and spacious and we felt quite comfortable in our large king-sized bed. We absolutely enjoyed our stay and are looking forward to a return visit!


I love this B&B

4.8 on August 26, 2009

My bf and I were vacationing down the west coast and stopped here for 4 days. The room was upstairs in the main house and very spacious with a balcony. The pictures online made it look smaller than it was. The inn keepers were so friendly and helpful, they even took a 1 night free gift certificate when they usually only in the off-season. There is a lot to do in the area, the beach is a 5 minute walk, and there are bikes that you can ride all around town. The breakfast was awesome! We are a younger couple and it was perfect for what we were looking to do. I highly recommend this Inn to everyone and I will definitely be back!


Great time!

4.8 on August 23, 2009

This is our second time that we have spent our anniversary at the Inn. Each time we have stayed three days. The rooms are charming and the main house is full of character. The breakfast is also terrific. The staff are very helpful with any of your needs including recommendations to dining, beaches and activities. The location is within easy walking distance to all beach activites. We will be returning again next year for our anniversary.


Old Yacht Club Inn is a Fabulous place to stay!

5 on August 20, 2009

The Old Yacht Club Inn in Santa Barbara, Ca. is a fabulous place to stay! I have experienced many places in Santa Barbara, and I have to say I was extremely impressed with the professionalism; customer service and not to mention the gourmet breakfast served every morning. I am a photographer and I had a large dress rehearsal and wedding to photograph at East Beach. I needed to check into my room a little early so that I could start my job right away. Eilene and her staff were wonderful! They were so accommodating making sure my room was ready and beautiful for me to run in and out. If I happened to miss the Innkeeper, they made it very easy for me to find my room and go. When I finally finished for the night, I felt like I was coming home. My room was very welcoming and quiet, and my bed was extremely comfortable. The next morning, I was greeted by Eilene and her friendly staff with a cup of hot coffee and an incredible gourmet breakfast. I highly recommend the Old Yacht Club Inn if you are looking for a quiet quaint place to stay to enjoy the Santa Barbara beaches and sites. Thank you Eilene and your staff for creating a wonderful stay that I will always treasure. Sincerely, Diana Chase Photos By Diana


One Night at Old Yacht Club

3.2 on August 20, 2009

Rooms: Stayeded in the Portofino Room. It was clean and the bed was very comfortable (as mentioned in other reviews). Location: Great location! It is in a neighborhood next to houses and motels. It is near train tracks but I did not hear the train at all. It was only a short walk or bike ride to East Beach and the Santa Barbara pier. Wine social: Delivered as promised. The wine and food were ok. The snacks were just store bought cheese and crackers. We did enjoy eating them on the front porch. Breakfast: Delicious! We had french toast and homemade granola. We were even offered seconds (I accepted!). Overall: I would stay there again and thought it was nice.


Not Bad

3.4 on August 19, 2009

Very short walk to the beach; but was cloudy and windy during our stay. One crankout window didn't work; had to push it closed from the outside. The old fashioned vinyl curtain on the door didn't work; had to unroll it by hand. Breakfast was great & wine and cheese for happy hour was nice; Met some nice guests.


A must stay bed and breakfast!

4.0 on August 16, 2009

Very charming and peaceful setting. A wonderful place to just relax on the porch or by the fireplace and enjoy the comforts of home! Will definitely make this a getaway again next year.


A nice surprise

5 on August 10, 2009

On a business trip and no decent rates to be found in Santa Barbara right before a major festival. We found the name of this B&B in a travel guide and booked earlier in the day at a reasonable price. This turned out to be such a lovely, comfortable place. There were evening cocktails and wine, and Eilene,the owner, made dinner reservations for us weary travelers at a wonderful restaurant in town, Opal. Our rooms were spotless and charming, obviously decorated with loving care! It was the most comfortable bed I can remember ever sleeping on, and I travel every week! The breakfast was wonderful: french toast with fresh berries and bananas, home made granola and yogurt. Eilene was a gracious hostess. I highly recommend this B&B, on vacation or on business!


4 Star Location

3.4 on August 07, 2009

We loved the old California atmosphere with comfortable beds and warm hospitality.


A special anniversary surprise

4.0 on August 05, 2009

We really enjoyed the new Bella room. It was very private. Breakfast was delicious. This was our first anniversary and my husband was very surprised. The location was perfect to the beach and pier. The Opal restaurant was a special place to have our celebration dinner. Thank you for the recommendation. We look forward to our next stay. Deb H.


We had a great time

5 on August 05, 2009

Thanks for a wonderful weekend, the B&B was spendid. Food was good, room was wonderful. We will definately be back.


Great and Conveniently Located

3.6 on July 31, 2009

The Old Yacht Club Inn was a nice last minute getaway spot for my husband and I to celebrate our wedding anniversary. It is remote to many of the locations we enjoyed visiting (e.g. zoo, beach, good restaurants). We rode bikes practically everywhere we went. It is great to have the bikes available for guests at no extra charge; however, they could definitely use some attention. We stayed in the Belle Caruso room, which was spacious and nicely decorated. The beds was very comfortable which allowed for a restful sleep! The only downfall of our room was that it did not have a tub, which we did not realize until we had arrived. The innkeeper was kind enough to offer a bottle of wine and snacks to compensate for this (as other rooms with tubs were not available). I should also mention that since the Belle Caruso it is a downstairs room and you can hear much of noise (e.g. steps, voices) coming from the room directly above. The breakfast was delicious and the service and attention were remarkable. It was also nice to have the wine tasting hour in the early evening. The fees were reasonable; however, we were a bit disappointed we were asked to pay slightly higher fees than the special prices offered that weekend, because we made use of our B&B gift certificates. Overall, I feel that this is a pleasurable and conveniently located B&B. I have shared our positive experience with friends and colleagues who look forward to staying here. My husband and I will definitely plan to return to the Old Yacht Club Inn during our next trip to Santa Barbara!


close, qquiet and comfortable

5 on July 27, 2009

We stayed in a spaccious newly remodeled room with King bed. Delightful sitting room opening to deck. Walk to beach, quiet location yet a short drive to main part of town. Front porch is delightful for evening wine.


getaway

4.0 on July 18, 2009

My wife and I had a greeat time, the inn keepers were the best, Specisl thanks to Chantelle for the advice.


Spectacular B & B

5 on July 08, 2009

We have returned every year for 8 years. The experience is always special. The rooms are quaint, and the food and hospitality is wonderful. We wouldn't go anywhere else in the beautiful city of Santa Barbara. I promise you won't be disappointed. It's our home away from home!


Chuck's review

4.4 on July 07, 2009

Bikes could be kept in better condition.


Great getaway

4.2 on June 30, 2009

Staying at the Old Yacht Club Inn was beautiful and restful, Eilene is a great innkeeper, and the staff is wonderful. I'll need to schedule visits on a yearly basis in order to rest and rejuvenate at this wonderful place!


The best in Santa Barbara!

4.4 on June 23, 2009

Eilene is a wonderful host! She and her staff make you feel as if you own the place. The breakfast is wonderful and the wine and cheese in the afternoon allows guests time to visit and relax. This was our third stay and we will definitely be back!


best place to stay in santa barbara

5 on June 23, 2009

This is the third time we have stayed at the Old Yacht Club Inn. The rooms are always neat and clean; the service is outstanding; everyone is friendly and very willing to accommodate all your needs. The breakfasts are wonderful!!! The wine and cheese in the late afternoon is very good. You get to meet your fellow travelers and share events of the day. I cannot imagine staying any place else in Santa Barbara.


Get away week-end

3.0 on June 22, 2009

If you're looking for a quiet and quaint get-away, Old Yacht Club is your best bet.


As good as promised

5 on June 20, 2009

So often you see pictures of accommodations that don't quite live up to expectations. Not so at the Old Yacht Club Inn. The rooms were even better than pictured. Very clean, quiet, comfy beds, lots of nice little touches. These folks want you to be comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious and different each morning. We would highly recommend this charming and historic B&B and look forward to our next visit. The Watson Family.....San Diego


a stay in spring

3.6 on June 10, 2009

Owners pleasant and friendly....helpful in finding restaurants.......room clean......very comfortable


Lovely Warm and Friendly

4.8 on June 08, 2009

We arrived and were warmly greeted by Eilene the innkeeper. At once we felt at home, not like guests. Our room was lovely and comfortable. The breakfasts each morning were delicious, sitting in the dining room with a fire in the fireplace. We will surely be returning to our Santa Barbara home away from home in the future.


A Truly Lovely

5 on May 29, 2009

The staff was genuinely friendly, very attentive, and very helpful. The breakfast was delicious. My husband and I really enjoyed the room and the way it was all set up. From the dining area to the bedroom, it was all very comfy and cozy. Everything that was offered online was fulfilled. It really was an absolutely lovely experience. I would recommend the Inn to anyone in a heartbeat. Truly delightful.


Fun Family Run B&B

5 on May 25, 2009

My fiance and I spent the weekend at the Old Yacht Club Inn and left feeling like part of the family. The owners were extremely friendly and went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. They cooked us a fresh hot breakfast and had beach cruiser bikes for us to take downtown. The innkeepers were very knowledgeable about the area and suggesting some great sights and restaurants for our stay. The location is superb....just a hop, skip and a jump to the water's edge. My fiance and I enjoyed a romantic sunset stroll each evening after indulging in the evening wine socials. Looking forward to returning soon.


a good time in santa barbara

4.0 on May 15, 2009

quiet, charming old house with a great inn-keeper. Close to all the good stuff, easy parking.


Home away from Home in S.B.

4.6 on May 14, 2009

Recently my wife had an event at Fess Parkers Hotel nearby and we opted to stay here at the Old Yacht Club Inn since we're more of the down home type. Although there are many B&B's to chose from in S.B. we decided check it out and we were not disappointed. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast was perfect. Not too much but just right so we could get a good start to the day. Having the use of the bicycles and the beach a block away was just great. Kudos to the Innkeeper for staying on top of the landscaping and overall ambience of the Inn. We will no doubt be repeat guests.


BEST BIRTHDAY PRESENT EVER!!!!!

5 on April 20, 2009

My 2 daughters brought me here for my 60th birthday and a "girlfriend weekend" and we had an absolute wonderful time! We loved our room, we loved hearing the train at night, and the breakfast put on by Innkeeper Eilene was outstanding!! I would highly recommend the Old Yacht Club Inn if Santa Barbara is your destination!


Great hostess gave it a good try

3.0 on April 07, 2009

Corey, the hostess, gave it her best, all in all I expected something more, I suppose, and this just didn't live up to it.


Great Location..

3.0 on March 06, 2009

We want here to review wedding sites. The B and B was good except for the rooms don't have double pane windows so the train wakes you up early and often. The windows didn't have shades dark enough to keep out the light, so this woke us up as well. In the separate house where we stayed it was a bit of a hassle to get ice and there was no internet service there..


Relaxing...

4.8 on February 23, 2009

This was a really nice bed and breakfast. The staff was helpful and I felt as if I was staying at a friends house. A big plus was that the breakfast was awesome... Thanks!!!


Fun Fun Fun

4.4 on November 13, 2008

The emphasis on Bed and Breakfast here would be on the Breakfast! A great way to start a morning: Great food. The Inn itself was perfectly fine, in Santa Barbara there is so much to do, great place to go for a get away.


Santa Barbara

4.0 on October 06, 2008

The Old Yacht Club Inn is a delightful and convenien place to stay. My only disaapointment was the "private patio" outside of our room -- it was truly about 4' X 4' and was shared with another room and on the side of the driveway!


Great Inn, in a great location

4.8 on September 12, 2008

My wife and I spent one night in one of the smaller rooms. It was comfortable and clean. The service was wonderful including breakfast and the afternoon wine/cheese. One block off the beach allowed for wonderful AM/PM walks. We will be back should the opportunity be presented.


Stepping back into a Friendly, Leisurely Era

4.2 on September 08, 2008

The Old Yacht Club Inn is the only B & B with a beach location in Santa Barbara and usually full. a "home away from Home." We stayed in the Hitchcock House next door -- quiet with period appointments, Oriental rugs, colorful fabrics and wallpapers, telephone, private bathroom and wonderful sun room with sleeping quarters. Big Queen Size beds and in our case, a separate and inviting sitting room with French windows where at night we could see sky all around and smell the ocean air. In the evening we were invited to a wine and sherry tasting in the front room and on the front porch which turned into an informal party with other guests. Next morning we only had to walk a few yards to the Main House dining room for complimentary breakfast. We ate at the big common table. Inviting fresh fruit juices and fruits covered one sideboard while attentive but unobtrusive servers filled coffee cups and brought out steaming plate of Mexican omelettes. Stuffed with cheese and salsa, they were tasty and filling. Even without the overcast early morning air giving a cozy feeling to being inside, the atmosphere encourages people to talk to each other. Plenty of space behind the buildings for parking cars, and free bikes there. Owner Eileen Bruce could not be friendlier and positive and at the same time somehow low key.


Gotta Love It

4.0 on August 31, 2008

Great breakfast, great location (close to the beach), great service and great rooms. It just doesn't get any better than this at a bed and breakfast!


Charming Inn By the Sea

5 on August 24, 2008

A perfect vacation get-away by the beach. Friendly staff and delicious food. I especially loved the Santa Barbara omelet with toasted crumpet and poached pear. They have beach cruiser bikes for riding along the bike path that you can access just a block from the inn. They have a lovely front deck where I often found myself socializing with the other guests during the wine hour or drinking my afternoon tea while enjoying the homemade cookies. Cozy, clean and quiet room with lots of sunlight. A perfect place for rest and relaxation.


Quaint, Comfortable, and Beautiful!

5 on August 24, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Old Yacht Club Inn in “The Cottage” for our 5 year anniversary. The Inn was beautiful and our room looked like something out of a romance novel (and I mean that in a good way)! We loved the fireplace and the jacuzzi tub… Breakfast was scrumptious and the Inn had an amazing selection of wines. My husbands family own a vineyard so he’s hard to please, but even he was impressed. Finally the staff at the Inn was great; they were really knowledgeable about the area, day and nighttime activities, and made a GREAT restaurant recommendation with Pascucci. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves at the Old Yacht Club Inn and we’ll definitely be back! THANKS AGAIN! --Tina Lee


Top Value For Your Dollar!

4.4 on August 19, 2008

Excellent location. We heard no trains! Great staff, wonderful win, social hour on the porch. We'll be back soon!


Vacation

4.6 on August 05, 2008

The stay was outstanding and exceeded my expectaions.


Great Stay in SB

4.0 on June 17, 2008

We had a very pleasant stay in the Captain's Corner room. Took a couple of rides on the complimentary bikes and enjoyed the delicious breakfasts. The location was perfect and we fully utilized the beachfront shuttle. We'll be back!


Pleasant B&B

3.2 on June 09, 2008

We enjoyed our stay very much. We like the antique atmosphere of another time. The house and room reminded me of the my parents home in the 1940's. We were surprised that it was so close to the beach. Since we stayed at the Inn on a Wednesday and Thursday, the innkeeper gave us what I thought was an excellent rate for the quality and location. We could not have found a better rate and accommodation at a three or a four star hotel.


The Old Yacht Club Inn

4.4 on June 04, 2008

Outstanding service, value and cleanliness! Rooms and dining were great.


Old Yacht Club

5 on May 21, 2008

For a weekend getaway in a beautiful relaxing city...Santa Barbara, The Old Yacht Club is the spot. It is a couple blocks from the beach and you can ride bikes to the downtown area! The price is great for the service and atmosphere!! And they have great coffee!!


Enjoyed my stay

3.4 on May 15, 2008

The B&B is in a great location, one block away from the beach. And the street it's on is very quiet. However beware there is a train that passes by at least two times during the night but you're going to hear it no matter which b&b you stay at as they're all located near the R&R. The breafaksts were scrumptious and I loved the cookies, wine, cheese, crackers, and grapes that put out every day at 5:00pm. Just that perfect little afternoon snack. I stayed 5 nighs in the Julia Metelmann room and it's a spacious room that's in the house next door to the main house. It' s nice to be able to have your own entrance from the outside and not share a hallway with anyone. The only negative of the location of the B&B is that it is a far walk to the pier and harbor. However not even a 5 min drive. The highway and downtown state street (lots of shopping and dining)are extremely close by car.


Everything was wonderful

5 on April 17, 2008

Oh! That whirlpool tub and sipping sherry. Just what I needed to relax. I enjoyed my stay tremendously!


Beautiful step back in time!

4.8 on April 17, 2008

Breakfasts were scrumptious we'll see you again soon


THE BEST!

4.8 on April 16, 2008

Great food, warm innkeepers, location - 1 block from ocean Love this place. We'll be back


Location! Location! Location!

4.4 on April 16, 2008

WHAT a deal - lovely beach neighborhood - Loved the bikes. Relaxing & warm caring atmosphere


we'll be back

4.0 on February 21, 2008

My husband and I wanted to get a way for a long weekend and stayed at the lovely old yacht club. The room was beautiful the food prepared was awesome. You could tell time and thought went into the preparation. The staff was just wonderful and friendly and very knowledgeable about the area. All in all, we had a wonderful time away ... thanks you for the great weekend. We’ll be back!!!!


The negative reviews are WRONG

4.8 on February 21, 2008

My wife and I made reservations for a 3 day 2 nite stay. We then read any review we could find on the net. We read quite a few of which the majority were negative. We started to panic. If it could be put down, then it was put down,...from the service, the rooms, the breakfast and the surroundings...most of what we read, since most WAS negative, was completely innacurate. Our stay was exactly what we wanted. The service was friendly, attentive, personable and just plain good. The room was what you would expect from a quality bed and breakfast, quaint, warm, and cozy. The breakfasts (we had two) were perfect - delicious, nicely prepared, well thought out, appropriate portions (not too big not too small), - to start out the day with and served with warm and attentitive service - couldn't ask for more. Finally the location - again,...just perfect. We walked to the beach (less then a minutes walking time) after dinner, before breakfast or whenever we wanted some coastal scenery and air, too easy. Since it is actually located in Santa Barbara we were a 5 minute drive from the main downtown street and the freeway. Something to take advantage of, and we did. Oh yes, there is a railroad track close by, of which we only heard the train horn once. We were antipicating and looking forward to hearing it more - it was actually romantic and added to the ambience. We WILL be going back,...very soon!


Perfect Santa Barbara Get-away

4.6 on February 09, 2008

We stayed in the Portofino room and absolutely loved it. The bed was incredible comfortable, we have a lovely balcony overlooking the quiet beach community. We used the bicycles to ride along the water and found a great local produce store a block away. Excellent location. The service was superb. Great recommendations for dinner and local activities. Delicious food, homemade chocolate chip cookies and chile cheese soufle was our favorite. They even gave us the recipe for the famous soufle! Nice wine social too. Will be back.


Just like Grandma's house

4.0 on February 02, 2008

This was our first B&B and after staying here it will not be our last. The rooms are warm, large and full of charm. I was pleased with the service and the Breakfast was a great way to start the day. The inn is walking distance from the beach so after Breakfast we were able to take a nice long walk along the water that did add to a wonderful experience.


How are you supposed to brush your teeth?

2.8 on June 22, 2007

We stayed in the Captain's corner, but the sink in the "bathroom" was just not user friendly at all. It was frustrating trying to get ready to go out. The breakfast was very nice and I thought the wine social was a nice thought Being able to walk to the beach saved the day and the use of beach chairs & bikes was a nice touch. For the money, I think you could do better.


Charming, historic home-Great Service

5 on March 01, 2007

We loved this place. Included in your stay are complimentary beach cruisers, chairs & towels along with the delicious breakfast. Service was great as well. The perfect place to stay in idyllic Santa Barbara.


Don't miss this one!

4.0 on January 14, 2007

We found this beautiful, home one block from the beach by surprise! It was so relaxing. They have bikes, great food, and are REALLY in Santa Barbara. Not far from State Street. Make sure where the others are located!


Old Yacht Club Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $119 - $299
  • Reviews (106) 4.3
  • Rooms 14
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone +1-800-676-1676
  • Fax 1-8059623989
  • Toll free 1-8005491676
  • Toll free 1-8006761676
Top