Blue Heron B&B and Retreat Center Reviews

Overall
4.9

View details

  • Guest room4.9
  • Service5
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Onsite Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
17 Reviews

Write A Review

Relaxing stop along the way

4.8 on May 09, 2018

Forget the traffic and honking horns. Enjoy nature with the stream, goats and relaxing atmosphere. Your friendly, concerned and capable staff help make this a memorable experience.


Outstanding experience!

5 on March 10, 2017

We had a wonderful time at this beautiful place with delightful food and two accommodating, friendly innkeepers. Beautiful waterfalls, meandering streams, and winding paths, all embraced by the deep stillness of the Kentucky backwoods. Loved every minute we were there!


Expectations Exceeded

4.8 on October 27, 2016

This past weekend my wife and I spent our first two nights(ever) in a B&B. We chose The Blue Heron because of its close proximity to family in the Lexington/Mount Sterling area. The Blue Heron B&B exceeded our expectations! Our hostess(Liz) was wonderful, the breakfasts and desserts exceptional, the setting quiet and tranquil, and the fellow guests enjoyable. My wife and I have definitely become believers in B&Bs because of this wonderful, first time experience. Lord willing, we will definitely be back!


Exceeds Expectations!

5 on October 13, 2016

Our first time and definitely not our last time. My husband and I booked reservations not knowing what to expect. Hubby is not real big on B&Bs - avid Marriott hotel guy. My experience with B&Bs goes back 15 years. We booked this place based its proximity to our present whereabouts because we did not want to drive more than 4 hours and we were looking for a place where we could dig for fossils. Bingo - 4 hour drive was pleasant and the scenery lovely. Our time digging for fossils in the creek bed was so much fun that I felt like a kid again looking for buried treasure. We did not come up short - brought home 3 average size boxes of treasure. Not only was this a vacation for us, the word "retreat" in the company name is true. For us it was a retreat from all the news, from work, from the internet and other busy-bee events and a focus on the beauty God generously created. There are pathways through the property that will take you on a 5 minute walk to a 30 minute walk. Don't forget your boots if you want to splash in the creek bed or watch the crayfish scurry about. Liz is an absolutely wonderful cook - breakfasts are amazing - from simple oatmeal with fruit to French homemade bread casserole with cream cheese and fruit topping. In the evening, as you walk in the front door the smell of warm cinnamon will entice you to kick back with a hot cup of tea and enjoy that homemade dessert Liz baked for you. Connie will also pitch in and cook and she will tell you she is not as good as Liz but don't let that fool you. Keep in mind you are on your own for lunch and dinner. In Richmond we loved Purdy's Coffee House for lunch. For a special dinner Tony's in Lexington is wonderful. In Winchester Halls on the River did not disappoint. This B&B experience, plus the warm generous hearts of Liz and Connie and let's not forget Libby the farm dog and the goats, Lucy the house cat made for a wonderful memory my husband and I will talk about for years.


Great time for all.

4.8 on August 12, 2012

Stayed here with little kids for the first time and it was great. Connie had great food and we will go back. You can walk down the creek to your heart's content. The goats are great.


A must for B&B lovers!

4.4 on July 23, 2012

Check out this charming B&B! Everything was perfect! Owners are both cordial and friendly. They make sure you have a happy memory!


A Great Escape

5 on March 05, 2012

What an outstanding weekend getaway! The hospitality and food were amazing! Picturesque countryside perfect for fall colors.


The Blue Heron B&B

5 on August 03, 2011

Extremely quiet & great food! Spacious room & room to roam around the property. Ultra friendly innkeepers!


Just got back, it was wonderful!!!

5 on July 04, 2010

This place is great, we stayed in the Heron's Nest and it is beautiful. The hospitality is wonderful, and the food is delicious!!! Connie is very friendly, and we cannot thank her enough for her kindness. This place is very spacious and quiet, and you are able to relax. Their are also baby and mommy goats, as well as dogs and cats, they are too cute and very friendly!! This was our first experience in a bed and breakfast, and it completely exceeded my expectations!! Thanks so much for everything Connie


Girlfriend Retreat

5 on March 19, 2010

We had a wonderful time there and so enjoyed the hospitatility AND the wonderful calming location. THANKS!


October small church group retreat

5 on November 01, 2009

Our group enjoyed the hospitality of the Inn all one Saturday. Our hostesses were delightful, hand preparing both breakfast and lunch. The home is fairly new, but constructed with used period materials, and is completed with antiques of all kinds: furnishings, books, memorabilia and artwork. You will not be disappointed to come and stay. You can walk paths to cascade waterfalls, visit the goats and Great Pyrenees dogs. You will eat healthy and delicious food and enjoy the fresh country air. Birds are abundant! We can't wait to schedule another visit.


Great birthday getaway

5 on October 14, 2009

Beautiful, secluded setting, lovely house, friendly hostesses and the cat, dogs and goats are fun!


Blue Heron B&B and Retreat Center

5 on August 26, 2009

This quaint inn is really delightful. Connie and Liz were so kind and warm-hearted, and welcomed us for the night. Very neat and tidy. They see to your every need and cook up the best homemade breakfast ever! Gladly would come again!


Peaceful country hideaway

4.8 on July 15, 2009

We loved our stay at the inn. Connie was a great hostess. We'd love to go back and spend more time walking the trails.


A very relaxing week end

5 on July 02, 2009

We were looking for a quiet week end away from our hectic lives. We found it at the Blue Heron. The owners were very welcoming, the breakfasts were great, and their sightseeing recomendations were very helpful. We enjoyed our stay very much.


My fleeowship

4.6 on October 20, 2008

Our WMU group had the opportunity to go and stay there this past weekend. This was absolutly wonderful the food was delicious. The ladies made us feel so special. The walks and fellow ship made me feel so much better and made me really think about how I can walk closer with my God. I will go back again as soon as I possibly can. This was a wonderful experience for me and one that I will treasure forever.


My First Stay At A B&B..

5 on July 22, 2008

This was my first trip to a Bed and Breakfast and was pleasantly surprised! As soon as we drove up we were greeted by the Inn Keeper and she was as helpful as she was nice. The room was very comfortable and the food was superb.. Overall I enjoyed my stay.


Blue Heron B&B and Retreat Center

Details

  • Nightly Rate $115 - $195
  • Reviews (17) 4.9
  • Rooms 3
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 859-527-0186
Top check