Scandinavian Inn Reviews


View details

  • Guest room4.1
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Onsite Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
28 Reviews

Write A Review

Great stay

4.2 on August 28, 2013

Owners are very nice and the food is outstanding.

Top rate hospitality

3.8 on August 27, 2013

Owners were extremely gracious and helpful. Breakfast was wonderful. We enjoyed the variety offered during our 3 night stay.


5 on August 26, 2013

Excellent facilities, service and food. We give it our highest recommendation.


4.0 on August 26, 2013

Excellent cuisine and homey Victorian setting, unique roof-top gazebo.

Great food, great people

4.8 on August 26, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The food was delicious. The host, Peter, was gracious and attentive. Love the rooftop gazebo!

Where breakfast is not an afterthought

4.8 on August 05, 2013

The first time I stayed at Scandinavian Inn was 2009; the last time was this past weekend. I initially was attracted to the place because of their commitment to serve only free range eggs and locally raised meats at their breakfasts. I've since learned many more reasons to love this inn. The breakfast at the Scandinavian Inn is probably the best one in all of Lanesboro if not Fillmore County. On our first morning we were served Persian Quiche (crust-less), which contains free range local eggs, Swiss chard, spinach, tofu and other delicious ingredients. Along with it was coffee, warm cornbread right from the oven, a selection of homemade jams and jellies, fresh fruit, orange juice, and ham steak from a local farmer whose livestock range free in naturally stress-free pastures. Our second morning's breakfast was similarly as big and included oven-baked French toast with homemade syrup made by Peter and Vicki (the inn's owners) as well as chocolate chocolate-chip muffins, lemon bread, fresh raspberries from the inn's gardens, and rommegrot--a rare Norwegian treat. Rooms at the inn are tastefully decorated in period pieces (the inn was built in 1892). While some are attracted to the Bed and Breakfast because of its commitment to sustainability--for example, it draws heavily from geothermal heating and cooling rather than constant AC--this may worry some who are used to the creature comforts. However, with our window open and two fans available to us, the room was quite pleasant and in fact one night we found ourselves reaching for the comforter / quilt beautifully adorning our antique bed. It should be noted that one bedroom has its own dumbwaiter, whereby breakfast is served in the room and not communally with the other guests.

Beautifully Appointed B&B

4.2 on August 10, 2012

Lovely B&B... clean, comfortable & quiet. The hosts were helpful with dining and activities. The breakfasts were exceptional. I did go back again.

Scandinavian Inn

4.2 on July 26, 2012

The hosts were very accommodating, the food was great! The inn is beautiful and the town very friendly!

A Lovely Getaway

4.8 on July 23, 2012

The innkeepers are a delightful couple, the breakfasts are organic &/or locally sourced and are simply wonderful. Comfy beds, great location to the river and bike trails, Lanesboro is a lovely community with a great local theater and Amish crafts. This inn is clean and great for people with allergies. The gazebo on the roof is a rare thing. Very Victorian with a Scandinavian twist. LOVELY!

Caretakers of Wonder

4.4 on May 06, 2012

Vicki & Peter aren't just innkeepers; they're caretakers of your vacation experience. Their attention to detail (providing hats & mittens on unexpectedly cold days, cheerfully working with dietary requests, and booking any reservation you can name) make them standouts in the B&B arena.

Perfect Weekend Getaway!

5 on January 05, 2012

Peter and Vicki went out of their way to make our stay exceptional! This is an excellent Bed & Breakfast that exceeded our expectations. The rooms were clean and extremely comfortable. The food was delicious! The service was personalized-they even provided homemade hot chocolate when it wasn't on the breakfast menu, as an extra special treat, just to please us! This Bed & Breakfast surpasses ones that we have been to in both England and Ireland and those were superb!

wonderful breakfast!

4.2 on November 08, 2011

Delightful, comfortable, easy-going hosts. Super bed and bedding. Great setting in lovely Lanesboro. But here's the kicker: best breakfast I have ever been served in a B&B. Beautiful ingredients, thoughtful menu, perfect preparation.

End of Summer weekend getaway

4.0 on September 02, 2011

My wife and I have stayed at several different Bed and Breakfasts in Lanesboro over the years but this is our first time at the Scandinavian Inn. Peter & Vicki were great hosts, very nice accommodations and fantastic breakfasts. Will stay again. Mick & Ann

Beyond the Call of Duty

4.8 on August 09, 2011

We inquired about a vegan (no egg or dairy ingredients) breakfast. Peter said he had not prepared a vegan breakfast for guests before, so we agreed on oatmeal and soy milk. But he did not serve us oatmeal. Instead, we had a wonderful vegan quiche, with seitan on the side, with several kinds iof vegan muffins, and lots of fresh fruit, as well as orange juice, tea, and coffee. Truly far beyond the call of duty!

Family First

4.6 on July 23, 2011

This was my first time at a B&B, and was not disappointed in any aspect of the the Scandinavian Inn from their accommodations, host and hostess, good food, and area. Peter and Vickie are very accommodating, as they even set-up a mini breakfast area on our day of departure because we were not able to dine with the others for breakfast. I would highly recommend the Scandinavian Inn.

An ideal getaway on the Root River

4.8 on July 22, 2011

Exceptionally warm and friendly B&B with lovely Victorian appointments and ambience. The breakfasts were especially superlative -- a gourmet's delight. Altogether, a wonderful experience.

Five star food!

4.4 on December 06, 2010

The breakfast here was lights out. The meal was delicious, plentiful, and locally sourced. We stayed in the new addition with a private balcony and our food arrived via dumb waiter -- what a treat. The innkeepers are warm and very accommodating. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud, but not made for those who need a firm mattress.

Scandinavian Inn

5 on November 28, 2010

We stayed in the balcony room. it was very clean and comfortable. The inn decoration was very nicely done -- not over-decorated, breakfast was outstanding -- more than enough to eat.

A great place to stay

4.8 on October 19, 2010

Peter & Vicki offer warm, friendly hospitality in their beautiful B&B along with a 5-star breakfast... the best in town. You will not be disappointed.

Scandinavian Inn

5 on October 11, 2010

Pleased with attention to detail -- nice variety of room choice & accommodations to dietary restrictions.

Generous Hospitality

4.8 on August 25, 2010

The innkeepers offered tasteful and comfortable accommodations in an environmentally friendly setting. The food was superb! We felt very welcome, as if the space was our home away from home.

Totally enjoyed our stay

5 on August 06, 2010

We could not have been happier with our stay at the Scandinavian Inn. We had not been to Lanesboro before, but found the Inn to be a perfect place to stay to fully enjoy the biking, the local theatre, and local restaurants. It was a short walk to everything, but a quieter location than many of the other inns in Lanesboro. We will definitely return.

Little Slice of Heaven

5 on July 15, 2010

What a delightful stay! Everything was perfect, especially the gourmet breakfast served in our room via the dumb waiter. Beautiful home, peaceful setting, gracious and attentive hosts.

B&B Evaluation

5 on June 23, 2010

Gracious and friendly hosts. Excellent accommodations, service and food.

Loving Lanesboro

5 on June 21, 2010

The Scandinavian Inn is a beautifully restored and maintained B&B. The breakfasts were not only delicious, but unique, using locally produced ingredients. Dietary restrictions were accommodated. The table settings were exquisite and their attention to detail was impressive. Admired their "green" philosophy.

A Perfect Getaway

4.8 on June 02, 2010

What an amazing home! Beautifully decorated, fresh flowers in our room, and a breakfast that was not only gourmet, but so generous they provide baggies to take with you! Thanks again!

Sweet Times

4.2 on May 28, 2010

The food was wonderful - creative recipes well-executed and kindly served.

Lanesboro B&B Treasure

4.6 on April 06, 2010

I truly enjoyed my stay at the Scandinavian Inn. Despite it being early March, we stayed warm due to your hospitality and busy due to the many places of interest to visit in Lanesboro. The Inn is clean and well-appointed. The apple-stuffed French toast topped with the maple syrup made from your trees was the best breakfast I’ve had at any B&B. I especially appreciate the “green” touches that you have put in place at the Inn while still going above and beyond expectations in guest comfort. Thank you for a much needed getaway! (My husband still talks about the guest room with the dumb waiter, providing breakfast directly to the room and allowing a casual outdoor breakfast on the room’s private balcony.)

Scandinavian Inn


  • Nightly Rate $99 - $150
  • Reviews (28) 4.6
  • Rooms 5

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 15074674500