The Homestead on Fox Ridge Reviews

Overall
4.9

View details

  • Guest room4.9
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.9
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Onsite Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
26 Reviews

Write A Review

Perfect Peaceful Getaway

5 on August 11, 2018

My husband and I spent a relaxing weekend away to celebrate an early anniversary. The property was well taken care of, peaceful, away from the city and the room was very clean and comfortable. Andria made us a delicious breakfast each morning and her hospitality made us feel at home. We can't wait to go back.


You don't want to leave this place!!

4.8 on July 01, 2018

Leta and Bill are the heart behind this beautiful escape. They put thoughtful detail into their property, the rooms, the ambiance, and the food. They truly want to care and tend to their patrons, and bless them. That is truly uncommon, and worth gold! Your whole person will be renewed here... Because God has blessed their hands to serve others. Thank you Leta. !


A Slice of Heaven in Texas

5 on December 06, 2017

We recently celebrated our 30th anniversary and were looking for a quiet, relaxing weekend. The Homestead on Fox Ridge exceeded our expectations. Nestled in the hills of South Texas we relaxed by the pool with a warm peaceful breeze. Breakfast was worthy of a 5 star restaurant. Beautifully decorated accommodations. Wonderful hosts -- made excellent recommendations for enjoying the local tourist spots and places for dinner. We look forward to our next visit.


Great Place

5 on November 05, 2017

Well if you don't like peace and quiet, beautiful scenery, comfortable rooms, pool, hot tub, outside fire place, absolutely amazing breakfast, and wonderful friendly hosts, don't go there. But if you do like all of the above........go there, you'll love it. Tom and Connie


Great Bed & Breakfast

5 on June 16, 2017

We totally enjoyed our stay at the Cactus Guesthouse! It was clean and nicely decorated with a Texas touch. Leta prepared delicious breakfast. We had strawberry waffles and yogurt with almonds and cherries one morning, and omelets and yogurt tailored to our tastes the other morning. The residence is located in a valley with a beautiful view of the hills and trees and nice breeze. We were also able to enjoy the pool nestled in the wonderful landscaping. Leta also made very helpful recommendations about where to visit in that area, such as the old towns of Borne and Comfort. Our overall experience: wonderful hospitality and great accommodations, convenient location, privacy, very relaxing getaway from the city.


Doesn't get any better than this!

5 on April 02, 2016

Stayed a long weekend - wonderful hosts, great breakfasts - beautiful surroundings, relaxing by the pool in warm sun. Feels like your own personal estate or on board your own private mega yacht. Can't recommend it enough. Exceeded expectations.


Amazing Memories

5 on September 07, 2015

Anyone looking for a private get away or an intimate location for a small family gathering - this is the place for you! The owners are amazingly friendly with hospitality like none I've ever encountered. My husband had a few odd requests and the owners accommodated his every need. If you think the pictures are pretty - I promise you, the surroundings, up close and personal are unforgettable. The Homestead on Fox Ridge was a get away we won't soon forget. Now that life has slowed down a little, I can finally thank you both for a for a beautiful wedding, honeymoon and family gathering. Sincerely, Jennifer and Jarrard


A Gem in the Hill Country

5 on July 02, 2015

My husband and I were delighted to find this beautiful and immaculate spot in a great location! Even though we could only stay one night, we arrived early enough to take a relaxing dip in the pool, after being welcomed with cookies, chocolate covered cherries and iced tea. The following morning our leisurely and delicious breakfast on the veranda was another highlight. We felt like we were staying at a Southern Living Magazine featured getaway! Thank you, Leta and Bill, for sharing your gem in the Texas Hill Country!


Superior B&B -

5 on April 28, 2015

The Homestead on Fox Ridge was the absolute highlight of our weekend. We could not have had a more delightful stay. Leta was a joy and babied us beyond compare. The food, the service, everything was fabulous. We will be back!


Wonderful, Overnight Stay

5 on April 28, 2015

My girlfriend and i stayed at the Homestead on Fox Ridge this past Friday evening after attending a concert at John T. Floore's . We actually arrived Friday afternoon, and were both in love with the place immediately. The grounds are peaceful, lush and beautifully landscaped. Leta is the perfect hostess, and she greeted us with wine and a snack. We stayed in the Cactus Blossom Suite which was clean, cool, and thoughtfully decorated. There is also a spacious porch with a dining table, and other comfortable seating. We very much enjoyed sitting out on the porch Saturday morning, eating the delicious breakfast that Leta prepared for us, and watching the hummingbirds visit the feeders. There was a beautiful pool and hot tub which we didn't have time to enjoy, but we did enjoy sitting around the pool in the evening after the concert for a time. We absolutely loved everything about our stay, and our only regret was that it was only for a single night. The next time, we will definitely stay for a couple of days.


Country escape

5 on December 12, 2014

We visited here in November and had a wonderful experience. The food, the room , the grounds were great. We are innkeepers ourselves and know what it takes to make a great B&B. The innkeepers helped us with recommendations to help us enjoy the area. If you are visiting the San Antonio area, this is the place to stay. Denny and Jan


Wonderful experience!!!

5 on November 02, 2014

This is by far the most wonderful B and B I have ever stayed in. Leta and Bill are so welcoming and the Homestead is beautiful. The attention to detail is everywhere...from the grounds to the rooms to the food and presentation. Thank you so much. We will be back!


Awesome accommodations.

3.0 on October 21, 2014

Lovely, wonderful breakfast and great hosts...the grounds are your hill country expectations ..located in a very convenient area..can't possibly express how much we enjoyed our stay....

Innkeeper Response
Jerre, thank you for your review and attempting to post a five star rating. I contacted the technical dept at B&B.com and they were experiencing technical difficulties with the IPad entries and explained that is why you could not go higher than a three. It should be corrected soon they reported. We enjoyed having you and appreciate very much your kind comments, and look forward to having you stay with us again!

- Review technical difficulties (innkeeper)


A little piece of Heaven in Texas

5 on October 20, 2014

The Homestead on Fox Ridge Bed & Breakfast far exceeded my expectations. The joy of this property started upon arrival. We were greeted by Leta who was busy preparing for round two of guest. Her personality, kind heart and smile were a heartwarming and most pleasant greeting. We stayed in the guest house and can say Leta & Bill covered all details from all bathroom necessities, kitchen, bedding, robes and the delicious snacks (candy, fresh cookies and chocolate covered cherries).I would highly recommend this property for a wedding, individual get away, romantic getaway, or an all-girls shopping weekend (Helotes, Bandera and Fredericksburg are close). The pool, jacuzzi, outdoor seating, natural sounds of water and birds, the lush landscaping that attracts the most beautiful hummingbirds and butterflies were all so very tranquil we couldn't help but just set back, relax, breathe and take in the beauty. And last but not least was the 3 course breakfast. Leta & Bill are an amazing team. The food was top notch from presentation to flavor! Yum. It was a blessing meeting the both of you and we look forward to a future stay. God bless you & thank you. Tait & Stacey


Best B&B in Texas!!

5 on October 03, 2014

We stayed for several nights and enjoyed the wonderful hospitality of the owners. The homestead is meticulously kept and the beauty is unsurpassed by any B&B we have stayed at prior. The best part was the tranquility of the home, the grounds, and the gardens allowing us the opportunity to just unwind and relax. We highly recommend this B&B!


The Best we have stayd in for a long time

5 on July 08, 2014

We spent the 4th of July weekend at Fox Ridge. It was the Greatest, Bill and Leta go way out to make you feel at home, clean and fresh, Leta your food is top shelf. Best weekend ever! Thank you Bill and Leta for sharing such a great place with us. We will be back. Thank you again Bo & Julie


prettiest place we've seen in Texas

5 on May 29, 2014

Wonderful, relaxing stay. Beautiful and very comparable to the Colorado b&b's we stay at. You will have a wonderful time here.


anniversary get away

5 on April 05, 2014

We had an incredibly pleasurable experience at the Fox Ridge Bed and Breakfast. It was peaceful and rejuvenating. The grounds and rooms are immaculate and full of character. We visited in April when the bluebonnets were in full bloom which just added to the atmosphere. Leta was so accommodating.


Peacefully quiet with the gentle sounds of nature

5 on March 22, 2014

Leta and Bill have created a wonderful setting to enjoy the quiet surroundings of the countryside just minutes from all the activities a big city can offer. Our "Texas size" room was very clean and comfortable with all the amenities of home. The breakfast presentations were excellent, depicting Leta's talent as a "Master Chef". We will definitely plan another stay.


Great stay on birthday weekend

5 on February 05, 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful time at this property. The innkeeper was so friendly and welcoming, as was her husband. They were a joy to be around, and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Their bed and breakfast is beautiful & restful and very private. We can't wait to return in the spring to experience the wildflowers. We would highly recommend this B&B to everyone.


Quick escape from the city life

5 on August 12, 2013

This is a great B&B for many reasons....exceptional hospitality...comfortable...beautiful decor...outside ambiance is very tranquil...great breakfast and lets not fail to mention the goodies that "Leta" the owner had provided, cheeses, crackers, fresh fruit tray, a red velvet decadent dessert it was scrumptios, Leta even had had wine chilling in the fridge. The little touches made for such a wonderful stay, even some wonderful chocolate covered cherries at the bed side for a bedtime sweet...DELICIOUS. We are from San Antonio, we didn't have the time to travel to far, so this being so close was great, when you arrive you enjoy a very scenic widing driveway that takes you to the cottages, and you feel that your worlds away from reality, this was a perfect quick getaway from the daily stresses. Another wonderful thing about this B&B, no minimum stay like the other B&B's were requiring, with my husbands busy travel schedule 2 day stay just wasn't reasonable for us. Leta is a wonderful host, and she really makes you feel very comfortable and right at home. You can tell she pays attention to the little things that make a difference for her visitors. My husband and I plan on a return stay we enjoyed all the amenities that were included in our stay at this B&B.


Relaxing!!!

5 on July 13, 2013

Every detail of our stay was absolutely perfect! The suite was beautifully decorated with so many small unique touches! I loved the pool, our hostess even brought us out afternoon snacks served on beautiful platters! Breakfast was served outside on the beautifully shaded porch! The food was prepared and served so beautifully! I didn't want to touch a thing because everything was so pretty! We were in the plush white robes provided! The grounds surrounding us was so manicured every detail! If you go on the first sat of the month there is a market fair with everything from antiques food and crafts in old helotes which is down the road. That was really fun we then came back to an afternoon appetizers by the pool! My whole stay was perfect. I absolutely love Leta! She is absolutely an angel! She loves to host! We will be coming back for sure.


Wow! Fantastic Experience

5 on July 02, 2013

This is a delightful B&B. The owners are wonderful, they truly enjoy their guests. There are special touches all along the way. The breakfasts are wonderful. She makes the best apple strudel, you may want to request it. There are special treats in your room when you arrive along with beautiful flowers. The location is ideal for a relaxing weekend. It is about 10-15 minutes from 1604, which makes meals very convenient, while still being out in the country. At 1604, there are lots of restaurants, grocery, target and most things you could ever need. The grounds are impeccable. They have the most beautiful flowers which attracts all types of birds, humming birds and butterflies. Great opportunities for photography. The pool is very nice which is surrounded by lots of comfy lawn chairs. They also have floats you can use. They have thought of all the details. The room is a nice size with a wonderful bed and soft linens and comforter. There is a small leather love seat and a breakfast table in the room along with a kitchen sink, microwave and a wine fridge. We had our breakfast on the porch overlooking the pool each morning. This was delightful to have breakfast while watching the humming birds. We would definitely stay there again and highly recommend.


Heaven!

5 on June 06, 2013

The attention to detail is second to none - spectacular class! Grounds are gorgeous and breakfasts are amazing!! The location is beyoond peaceful yet convenient to local attractions, such as restaurants and Floore's Country Store! We had an amazing time and can't wait to visit again!! Such a relaxing and romantic getaway!


A beautiful and relaxing getaway!

5 on May 27, 2013

A peacefulness comes over you as you drive up the long winding drive. A wonderful place to relax and get away from it all. We felt so pampered and welcomed! the breakfasts were each different and delicious! Thank you for such warm hospitality!


A beautiful retreat!

5 on May 27, 2013

You have a beautiful place! The relaxing atmosphere and the surrounding natural environment is very peaceful and soothing to the soul! Loved the breakfasts! Thanks for everything!


The Homestead on Fox Ridge

Details

  • Nightly Rate $225 - $245
  • Reviews (26) 4.9
  • Rooms 2
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1 2106022318
Top check