Clarendon Square Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Onsite Dining4.2

Score Breakdown based on
82 Reviews

Write A Review

Outstanding Clarendon Square

5 on October 01, 2017

We recently had a wonderful 3 night stay at this beautiful Bed and breakfast. Common areas were like walking into an interior decorators showroom. Wow factor from entering the front door. Staff could not be more attentive and informative. Thank you especially to Salvador who greeted us and suggested things to do and see during our stay. Our room was very comfortable and decorated in stunning style. There is a roof top area with hot tub where you can also enjoy the amazing sunset! The location of this bed and breakfast is great. Close to some amazing restaurants and shopping as well as many historical attractions that Boston is famous for. We would not hesitate to recommend staying here based on all the factors above. Loved it!!


Great choice in Boston

4.4 on September 29, 2017

Excellent alternative to hotel stay. Salvador was terrific


Lovely !

4.6 on September 19, 2017

Entire experience was great ....except for the number of stairs! I was unclear on the steep and narrow stairs issue until I received a "welcome" email with details about checking in. Just a surprise... and occasional challenge over our three night stay.


Fantastic Stay

4.2 on September 17, 2017

My husband and I visited Boston for the first time in early September and stayed at the Clarendon Square Inn. The room was spacious and the breakfast had delicious healthy options. Also Salvador our host was so helpful with local sight seeing tips and made our stay here even more enjoyable. I would definitely recommend this to my friends and family and whoever wants a truly wonderful experience. The location is also great for walking to restaurants and local attractions


Boston Getway

4.6 on September 03, 2017

My husband and I enjoyed 4 busy days exploring Boston. How wonderful it was to return to our gorgeous and comfy suite at Clarendon Square Inn. The South Boston location is around the corner from trendy shops and restaurants. It's also an easy walk to the Prudential Building as well as the Back Bay T and train station, making it easy to get to the north end of town as well as surrounding areas.


Wonderful first stay in Boston in this beautiful B&B

3.6 on August 25, 2017

We arrived under the week and had really good support from Salvador, who gave us advice where to go and nice restaurants for the evening. Also Steven and Bobby were really supportive about our upcoming journey. The B&B is well equipped and really good refurnished and clean. Our room was spacious and the rooftop is amazing! We would definitely go there again!


Perfect! Simply Perfect!

4.6 on August 21, 2017

Clarendon Square is such a delightful privilege! For my finances, it is pricey but sooo beautiful. I was only in Boston for one night which allowed me to be able to afford it. It is everything a great upscale BnB could ever be. You would be remiss if you never stayed there!


Wonderful stay in Bostons South End

3.8 on August 13, 2017

We where traveling on our honeymoon and arrived under the week for just two nights but found the location really relaxing and well renovated. The terrasse, which you can sit in at breakfast, is so lovely and chilly! The hot tub on the roof even more! We also liked the size of our room, although it takes some time to go up the stairs in this house. The owner Steve and especially Salvador were really friendly and helpful to plan our day trips! We would definitely go there again!


Excellent Bed and Breakfast

5 on August 12, 2017

This is an outstanding Bed and Breakfast! Beautiful building and fantastic service.


Sophisticated b&b

4.2 on August 11, 2017

The property is handsome, well-maintained, and located on a residential street in the South End. Restaurants and shops in easy walking distance. 2 parking spots in rear of property. Our room was on the 3rd floor front. Well-appointed, quiet, comfortable. Breakfast offerings better than expected, closely attended by concierge. Nice garden niche for alfresco breakfast, but not available on our stay due to rain. Concierges very helpful, always available. Had most contact with Daisy Martinez, who was excellent. There is a roof hot tub but we did not utilize. Be aware that there are many steps and no elevator.


The best B&B I have stayed in!

4.4 on August 07, 2017

I absolutely loved my week here. I have no negative comments to make! I felt right at home from the minute I arrived. The owners and their staff are fabulous, so friendly and helpful. If your going to Boston and need a place to stay this is it.


One of the best B&B I have been to.

5 on July 27, 2017

I have nothing negative to say about my stay at the Clarendon Square Inn. Stephen and Bobby were absolutely charming and Bobby definitely knows the best restaurants in town! All the members of staff were extremely helpful.


Outstanding Bed and Breakfast

5 on June 29, 2017

My husband and I stayed here for the first time. It is gorgeous and luxurious with a delicious breakfast. The two innkeepers are fabulous and are outstanding hosts, paying attention to every detail, and making our stay relaxing and comfortable. The rooms and common area are spotless and have a warm inviting feel while also being modern and functional. We loved it and even invited the innkeepers to visit us if they are ever traveling to Hartford! (This is not something I often do). It was nice to be able to mingle with the other guests if we chose to, and they were all very interesting and fun people. Everything is walking distance and we didn't use our car once even though we had it. I will absolutely recommend this location to others and come back here again on our next trip to Boston. Outstanding!


A Real Gem !

5 on June 12, 2017

We almost hate to tell how amazing this B&B is in fear we'll never get an available room again ! Everything was great, and the hosts are super, as is the view from the hot tub on the roof. We have stayed here twice and can't wait to return....


Once again the Clarendon Sqaure Inn provides a stellar stay!

5 on May 22, 2017

This is our favorite place to stay in Boston for so many reasons. The decor of the common areas to the rooms, the cleanliness, the warmth of the manger Gabrielle, the amazing roof top, and so much more. A true Boston experience not to be missed. We can't wait to come back - again!


Great B&B in good location

4.0 on May 22, 2017

This is our second visit and loved it just as much as the first time. We find this is in such a good location for the train station and T, so getting around is very easy. Hot tub a perfect end to the day. Will definitely be coming back.


Wonderful Clarendon Square

5 on May 10, 2017

Our room was large, with a lovely bay window for watching "life go by." very comfortable bed. Flowers in the bathroom! Breakfast was chock full of delicious and healthful choices. The hostesses could not have been more friendly and helpful. A most pleasurable stay.


Perfect place in Boston

4.6 on May 04, 2017

Very nice place, beautiful location and rooms. In a quiet area of the city. We thank for the hospitality and advice we had, in where to go and what to do. Staff so sweet, rooms very nice.


Great Hospitality for Boston Marathon Trip

4.8 on April 30, 2017

Great location. Game at Fenway, mass at Cathedral, brunch at Bee Hive and marathon finish line all within easy walking distance. Beautifully restored and great neighborhood. Our first stop the next time we're in Boston.


An excellent experience!

5 on April 24, 2017

A surprising friendly and homely bed & breakfast in the perfect location. Just follow the crew's advice for an unforgettable stay!


Quaint Bed and Breakfast

3.8 on April 18, 2017

I wish there was more parking on site. This was the only downfall. Beautiful room and service was wonderful!


Lovely Boston Retreat

5 on April 16, 2017

We enjoyed a couple of days in Boston at the end of our holiday and were pleasantly surprised by the lovely room, excellent attention to detail and lovely service at Clarendon Square B & B. While the room was a delight the icing on the cake was the wonderful rooftop hot tub with spectacular views of Boston which we enjoyed each evening.


Quiet Getaway in Boston

3.8 on April 01, 2017

My husband and I enjoyed a nice, quiet getaway in Boston. Our room was clean and comfortable and attractive. The only drawback is that the closest parking garage is a good quarter mile or more away. However, that is also a plus, because the inn is a bit secluded on a quiet street of brownstones, with just a small plaque to let you know you're in the right location. As long as you can manage an easy 10-minute walk, you can visit the Prudential Center and other sites without needing to take an Uber or bring your car out of the garage. The inn is a great mix of classic and modern, and it is very clean! Breakfast was fine--nothing fresh-baked, but many options available. I'd return gladly!


Outstanding

4.4 on March 23, 2017

Loved the room and the location we would hit there again and recommend it to others


Charming Home Away From Home.

5 on March 14, 2017

Everything was perfect! Beautifully decorated, inviting rooms. Super comfy bed. We will definitely be back!


Not bad

4.4 on March 07, 2017

Cute rooms, great value for an alternative to staying at a traditional hotel. Staff is fruendly and helpful. Sheets had unidentified stains on thrm. Hot tub was a nice touch but nothing to write home about. Breakfast was underwhelming.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for recognizing the unique value our property as well as our friendly and accommodating staff. We have a commitment to cleanliness and implement a multi-level screening process for all towels & bed linens. Sadly our long time housekeeper was out on medical leave for a week and we had temporary staff that did not live up to our standards and expectations. We are sorry and feel badly that you noticed anything questionable. We welcome your feedback and especially hope to hear from you during your stay so we can address any questions or concerns that you have immediately. Each guest has slightly different needs and we want you to have the perfect stay. Next to cleanliness one of our most talked about features in our reviews is our hot tub, making it the most posted, tweeted, snapped features of our property. We are surprised that you did not feel similarly. We recently upgraded to a state of the art hot tub with a soft salt water system, LED lights and enhanced features to help you enjoy the spectacular views of the Boston skyline. Perhaps you had hoped for options at breakfast. Due to health codes we are not able to cook for guests but we make breakfast fresh and varied while keeping it free of charge. It is European in style offering a selection of fruits, meats, cheeses, hard boiled eggs, cereals, yogurts, breads, pastries, oatmeal, juices, coffee, tea and unlimited espresso beverages. Consider that a comparable breakfast would be $25 pp at a traditional hotel. Thank you for giving Bed and Breakfasts a try for a night at Clarendon Square. We feel the B&B experience is for those looking for a friendly local staff, unique local architecture and a personal experience at each property. Please keep an open mind and try staying at additional properties.

- Stephen Gross - Proprietor (innkeeper)


Hidden Gem

4.8 on March 06, 2017

I've only stayed in a B&B once before, years ago, so I was a little apprehensive. This place is gorgeous! From what I've seen, all their rooms are very clean, well decorated, and spacious. I never got a chance to take advantage of their onsite dining. However, the B&B is within walking distance of some nice pubs. Clarendon Square is definitely a spot I will return, whenever I'm in town. Thank you for the hospitality.


Great little spot in Boston

4.6 on March 03, 2017

This place is fantastic. So nice and a great locatoon


We will definitely be back...

4.6 on February 24, 2017

I loved this inn located in a gorgeous brownstone in the South end. The rooftop hot tub is to die for. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the hostesses we met were lovely. The continental breakfast was great and complete with delicious coffee drinks. I liked the location very much, great neighborhood in walking distance of Newbury St, Prudential Ctr, etc. Great place to stay, highly recommend!


Reasonable Price for Something Different

3.4 on February 23, 2017

Hotels can get boring. This is something that's far from your typical hotel. Very nice room. Hot tub could be cleaner and so could the linens on the bed (found lipstick stains and a mysterious stain). Mediocre breakfast.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your comments, for appreciating our unique style and for experiencing your first Bed and Breakfast at Clarendon Square. We understand you had questions about the hot tub and roof deck. Accommodating to our guest's requests we keep our hot tub open 24hrs a day. This is a very generous hotel policy, but requires that each guest will be respectful of the next bather and not leave bottles or towels about the hot tub when finished. To ensure each guest's privacy we do not monitor the roof deck through out the night. Nevertheless, the hot tub is constantly filtered, automatically chlorinated, cleaned and inspected each day to ensure a sparkling and romantic bathing experience. It is one of our most talked about features and we do everything possible to keep it accessible and clean at all hours. We are sorry and embarrassed that you noticed anything questionable on the linens. Sadly our career housekeeper was out on medical leave for a week and we had temporary staff that did not live up to our standards. We have a property wide commitment to cleanliness and have a multi-level screening process for all towels & bed linens. We welcome your feedback and especially hope to hear from you during your stay so we can address any questions or concerns that you have immediately. Mediocre breakfast. Due to local health regulations we are not permitted to cook for our guests but we do make breakfast fresh and varied, all while keeping it free of charge. We hope that you will have the opportunity to stay with us for more than one evening since we have a different selection of china and food each day. We offer a selection of fruits, meats, cheeses, hard boiled eggs, cereals, yogurts, breads, pastries, oatmeal, juices, coffee, tea and unlimited espresso beverages. Consider that a comparable breakfast would be $50 per couple at a traditional hotel. Thank you for trying our Bed and Breakfast for a night. We hope that next time you will be able to say for several days and experience all that we have to offer. There are wonderful opportunities to meet smart and interesting guests from all around the globe. In the summer you can have breakfast alfresco on our beautiful outdoor deck with flowering foliage and colorful fabrics. Our staff are friendly, knowledgeable and have lived in Boston for many years. We welcome the opportunity to help you choose a restaurant or plan your time visiting our wonderful city. It is really our pleasure! We hope you have the opportunity to try many more Bed and Breakfasts and see how each has something special to offer.

- Stephen Gross - Proprietor (innkeeper)


Stylish/Charming/Luxurious/Unique

5 on February 18, 2017

This is my go to place to stay when in Boston! I had a last minute need for a room, knowing how amazing this place is I didn't think I would be able to get a room, however, I checked on line, booked on line, and showed up a 1/2 hour later to a beautifully clean and lavishly decorated room with all the amenities. Both innkeepers, Gabriella and Melissa were welcoming and accommodating. The breakfast is a lovely buffet featuring cured meats and cheese, fresh fruit and yogurt, pastries and granola... and I love how they let you help yourself! Overall, there is no other place to stay if you want a 5 star room. Oh and you will not be paying city prices here, my room was only $120!! Thank you again for a wonderful stay, I will be back! - Katie Carter from Syracuse, NY


Elegant and Convenient for Copley Square

4.0 on February 12, 2017

Having to attend another course at the Fairmont in Copley Square I stayed 7 nights (for a second time) at this delightful Inn! The service is outstanding with special attention to detail! My course started daily at 7.30 am so I missed out on the breakfasts for the first five days which was a great shame as they are delicious! The house is extremely elegant in the old Bostonian style but the stairs present a particular challenge to those traveling with large (heavy) suitcases! I had to help at least two young ladies carry their luggage up the three floors of steep stairs to their rooms! So if you are physically challenged by stairs take note! The bathroom is a little cramped but has all the mod cons! I love it here and I shall be staying again next time I am in Boston! Some great restaurants close by - the O and G Oyster Bar is outstanding and we took in some live music at the Beehive! $6 by Uber to anywhere in town or you can walk to Yvonne's (book table) in 20 minutes. Highly recommended!


Historic but cosy house in the heart of Boston

5 on February 01, 2017

Staying in Boston for a conference at Copley Square - so chic and unique, lovely breakfasts (I was up too early to enjoy) but challenging stairs if you have a heavy suitcase. I have stayed here previously five years ago and I shall stay here again On my next trip to Boston


Clarendon Square Inn

5 on January 30, 2017

Amazing stay, the place is beautiful and in an amazing location. Will be returning very soon to experience it even more.


We had a charming experience

5 on January 03, 2017

We had a wonderful time staying at the Clarendon Square Bed and Breakfast. The property is beautiful and in a great historical location. The rooftop hot tub was a great way to relax after a long drive and the room was lovely. Thank you to the whole staff for a great few days.


Am I Dreaming?

4.8 on December 11, 2016

If you have ever spent much time in Boston, you know the brown stone. Classic, elegant, beautiful, romantic. I used to love to walk around neighborhoods of brownstones, trying to imagine what it might be like to live there. Well, at the Clarendon Square Inn, my dreams came true. Ok, a bit over the top perhaps, but this Inn was a slice out of that world. The neighborhood was perfect! Walkable to everything touristy, but in an authentic South End neighborhood with shops and cafes and amazing restaurants literally around the corner. The rooms were large, clean, unique and comfortable. While the bathroom wasn't large, it was luxurious. Plush towels and bathrobes, deliciously scented soaps, and a double shower head. The roof top hot tub was a huge plus. We almost didn't use it, as the weather was about 20 degrees, but it was pleasantly warm in the hot tub and the view of the skyline was incredible! A must. A simple, but fresh breakfast; quiche, hard boiled eggs, home-made oatmeal, coffee and espresso, cereals, danishes, you get the idea. The inn keeper was friendly and helpful, making the place feel a bit more like home. Loved it!


Gorgeous. Sumptuous. Romantic. Incredible.

5 on December 11, 2016

Our first stay at the Clarendon. Blown away by the whole experience. Truly stunning accommodation. Exceeded any expectation.


Hidden secret!

5 on December 08, 2016

The suite we stayed in was huge! Comfortable bed. Soaking tub was so nice. The only complaint I had was for such a great room the shower head was terrible.

Innkeeper Response
We are happy that you enjoyed our luxury suite and the soaking tub for two. Thank you for your comments, we are always looking for ways to improve. Please come back again and enjoy the shower with two shower heads - we have installed fabulous news for you !

- Stephen Gross - proprietor (innkeeper)


Best of the best in Boston

5 on December 07, 2016

This was an amazing experience. Better then any hotel I have stayed .The innkeeper (Melissa) was helpful and pleasant and always made sure we had what we needed. I can't wait to go back . Location and neighborhood A+ .


Best Place to Stay in Boston!

5 on November 15, 2016

Clarendon Square Bed & Breakfast made our stay in Boston a memorable one! It was the perfect location for business and pleasure. We could walk to great restaurants in this lovely neighborhood, relax at the Inn as well as enjoy the rooftop view and spa. You can't imagine the incredible view you get for sunset! Can't wait to stay again!


Wonderful experience in Boston

4.2 on November 14, 2016

This was our first time visiting Boston and we were so happy to be staying at The Clarendon Square. Such a wonderful location and a warm welcome.


Lovely B and B in the South End

5 on November 16, 2012

Clarendon Square is a lovely B and B located steps from the T and an easy walk to sights and dining. Roberto and Bobby were the staff that I met, and they were both warm, welcoming and full of great information about things to do and how to get there. My room was lovely, and the linens and towels were top quality. Breakfast every day was excellent, and hot tea and cookies in the afternoon was just the thing to tide me over until dinner after a long day walking around the city. The Inn even provided a local restaurant map with awesome suggestions! I will be back the next time I visit Boston.


Great Boston B&B

4.0 on January 12, 2012

Clarendon is well worth the stay


Now our #1 choice for Boston visit!

4.8 on October 15, 2011

Great stay at Clarendon Square in September. Walking distance or T to Fenway! Fabulous service and beautiful, clean and comfortable decor. Stephen and Bobby were great hosts and Lydo was most attentive. Stairs might be a challenge if you never use them, but aside from that, we can't see any reason to stay anywhere else!


Lovely, Lovely B&B!

4.6 on July 21, 2011

For my boyfriend's birthday, a year ago, I decided to take him to Boston (He had never been!). I know that seems like a long time to wait to write a review but honestly the memories this B&B left are still as fresh and delightful as ever! While planning the mini vacation, I was looking for a place to stay that wasn't "outdated and gaudy" (as most B&B's are...ugh!) but still had very, very tasteful, lovely decor...well I found it! This place is perfectly, meticulously decorated! The whole house was warm, welcoming and absolutely beautiful, especially our suite which was breathtaking! Our innkeeper - Liz - was the most helpful, kind person and made sure we knew exactly where to go out to eat, and what sites to see! The whole experience was an absolute joy and we would recommend this B&B to anyone headed to Boston! ~ Jessi


Would definately stay here again!!!!

5 on December 16, 2010

The Clarendon Square Inn is very quaint and beautifully decorated. The location is fantastic - on a nice, quiet side street, yet very close to everything! The breakfast was great, the staff very friendly and helpful! And of course our favorite was enjoying the roof top jacuzzi with an incredible view of the city!! A great value that was very reasonably priced.


Wonderful getaway

4.4 on September 07, 2010

My husband and I stayed here just after Christmas and loved every minute of our two-night stay. Lots of restaurants and shops within walking distance, the bed and linens were heavenly, and Stephen and especially Bobby were very helpful, friendly, and accommodating. We took full advantage of the rooftop hot tub even in the freezing weather; the view was amazing. We lucked out, too, with our fellow guests at breakfast and really enjoyed getting to know them.


Classy,Elegant With an Outstanding Rooftop Hot Tub!!

5 on July 28, 2010

My husband and I spent three nights at this outstanding Bed and Breakfast. Absolutely beautiful decor on all four floors! Clean, service was perfect, breakfast was great! The innkeeper and his staff are very friendly and helpful with making plans etc.....The BEST part is the coolest rooftop hot tub with breathtaking views of the Boston skyline!! We highly recommend this BandB if you like exceptional service and accomdations!!


Lovely B&B

4.0 on June 24, 2010

We have friends in Boston with a beautiful but choose Clarendon because of the charming and friendly ambiance. the location is perfect, walking distance to our favorite places to visit. The beds are wonderful and breakfast is perfect.


First Rate Accomodations

4.8 on April 24, 2010

Lovely restored home in South End of Boston. Great location- 5 minute walk to subway, nice safe neighborhood to walk and enjoy the beautiful homes. Service is the best. Beautiful contemporary decor.


Wow, what a hip, cool place!

5 on April 21, 2010

I've just returned from a stay at the Clarendon Square B&B. What an incredibly cool place. As you can see from the photos, it's got that urban-chic feel, and the photos don't lie! I went to Boston with my kids, nine and eleven. Although I would classify the Clarendon Square Inn as more of an adult-oriented place, they were wonderful with my kids. All the rooms (I got a peek at a number of them) were large enough to accommodate three people, with one extra person on the couch. We stayed in the Garden Room. We had a fabulous private courtyard outside our room, filled with bamboo. For those who don't stay there, however, fear not! The inn's back deck offers the chance to sit outside and enjoy breakfast or a cocktail. However, the best deck in the house is on the top floor with a hot tub ovelooking a fabulous view of Boston. What a great way to relax after a day of touring Boston. There is some lovely rod iron furniture up there too, so even if you're not into hot-tubbing, the roof deck is a great place to relax. Breakfast is a European-style continental, with plenty of wonderful fruit, yogurt, cheeses, meats, quiche and more to fill you up. This is a real urban treasure B&B. Trust me, you'll love it! Bobby and Stephen are wonderful


Great location and accommodations

5 on March 25, 2010

Very clean, impressive use of colors and decor in rooms. Downstairs deck is nice extra as is hot tub and deck on roof. Inviting area, pleasant staff.


Clarendon Square Bed & Breakfast

4.4 on March 08, 2010

Friendly, clean and outstanding service. Staff provides suggestions for the day and meals based on your interests. Quiet and quaint with other guests that are friendly.


Fabulous bed and breakfast in the South End

4.2 on February 25, 2010

We had a wonderful weekend at the Clarendon Square Bed and Breakfast. The service was friendly, the room was immaculate and we cannot wait to go back.


Wonderful

5 on January 18, 2010

The hosts are great, the breakfast is perfect, the furnishings are stylish while still being warm and inviting. The location is excellent. I can not imagine wanting to stay anywhere else when visiting Boston. In fact, if I was visiting any destination on the eastern seaboard I would consider staying here and shuttling back and forth. Perhaps an exaggeration, but my wife an I could not have had a better time. We hope to come back often.


Luxurious Getaway in the Center of It All!

4.4 on January 12, 2010

The Clarendon Square truly exceeded my expectations. We visited to celebrate a birthday, and wanted something different than the usual large hotels. The house is magnificent, with beautiful decor and plenty of amenities. Our room was spacious, comfortable, and well-appointed. Of course, the rooftop hot-tub is the crown jewel of the property. The view is breathtaking -- completely un-obstructed views of the Boston skyline, with great privacy. Relaxing in the warm hot tub on a blustery Boston night, with these perfect views was the absolute highlight of the stay. Stephen made us feel welcome and assured our comfort. We will certainly return!


Clarendon Square Inn: Pampered and Private with Impeccable Attention to Detail

5 on January 11, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Clarendon Square Inn on January 7, 2010. I was searching for a stylish venue in a quiet location and Clarendon Square was the perfect fit. We drove to the location with no problem using the directions from the website and were able to make use of the parking owned by the inn for a nominal fee. When we arrived, we were warmly welcomed by gracious host/owner Stephen. We stayed in a room on the top floor which was private and had a lovely view of the brownstone lined residential neighborhood. It made us feel like we were living in Boston. The furnishings were outstanding and my eyes were drawn from one texture to the next. Stephen was available to offer tips on entertainment, eateries and general questions about the inn. It is clear he has a wealth of experience that has made Clarendon Square a perfect location for anyone in need of respite. Despite temperatures in the upper teens and low twenties, we made use of the roof top hot tub late at night and were thankful for the beverages stocked in the pantry. The views of the skyscrapers and twinkling stars from the roof were amazing. In the morning, we had an enjoyable breakfast with several choices and nice conversation with Stephen and other staffer, Bobby. We look forward to returning soon. We can't say enough about this wonderful experience and will recommend Clarendon Square to all family and friends who find themselves in Boston.


Outstanding Accomodations

5 on January 04, 2010

From the moment you arrive, you are greeted with warmth and friendliness. Rooms are tastefully decorated, extremely clean, and the staff is ready and willing to provide assistance with directions to attractions and recommendations for dining. We plan on returning to Boston and will definitely stay at this outstanding boutique inn.


Beautiful modern B&B

4.4 on December 18, 2009

Very snazzily furnished B&B with wonderful service and good breakfast in a very nice area of Boston


What a spa!

3.8 on November 29, 2009

The staff is very nice and wonderfull, the rooms are great, quiet and soundproof (alley side). The breakfasts, continental style with croissant, muffins, a different cake every day, juices and yogurt, different types of coffees, etc., was excellent. Most of all, the BnB is very-well situated, less than 10 minute walk to downtown. On top of it all, the SPA is great, with a 360-degree view of the city. Would have appreciated more bath-gel though...


Like being invited home as a very special guest

4.8 on November 27, 2009

The best B&B experience ever. Quiet, relaxing with beautiful rooms and a staff that was friendly and helpful around the clock. Walking distance to major attractions in Boston.


The best there is!

5 on November 11, 2009

This is the best B&B I've ever stayed in. The hosts are terrific, the Inn is in perfect sahpe, the rooms outstanding and the breakfast is wonderful. This is a "Four Seasons" on steroids! In addition, there are always interesting people staying at the B&B.


My best experience... ever!

4.8 on October 29, 2009

The owner and staff were really friendly. Some hotels cost as much or more and really don't have the personal touches and luxury of this fine B&B. I prefer B&Bs because I see more value in staying in a place with fewer guests and a place where you can interact with the proprietors and guests. I find hotels are a bit off-putting socially. And this B&B's staff served as personal concierges with hints and tips about places to see and dine for a newcomer. The owner and staff were really accommodating to my needs; I had several packages being delivered and they were most kind with making sure that they made it to my room while I was out enjoying the city. I can't really say enough about this place so here are some likes: Location - walking distance to lots of dining, close to the T stops and we walked from the B&B all over the city. But it was on a nice quiet street, simply perfect. Perks - our upgraded room had two sinks in the bathroom, roomy shower and a huge tub. It also had chairs, a couch, a desk, ipod connected stereo, wine and beer fridges (stocked and at reasonable prices), huge closets and a comfy bed. There was a hot tub on the roof (great view) although we didn't take advantage of that. - DVD library. The second floor lounge area also had a DVD library to select a favorite title and watch it on a flat screen LCD in your room. Nice touch. Breakfast.. Although there was not hot offering, the breakfast was substantial with more than enough fruit, cereal, breads, cheeses and more to choose from. They even had some soy milk available. Guests. All of the guests we met were very personable and made for a nice start to each morning.


the perfect Boston weekend getaway

4.8 on October 15, 2009

Our stay at the Clarendon Inn was perfect. The inn was quiet and had a very peaceful atmosphere. the location was perfect, close to great shopping and restaurants. The proprietors were welcoming and very helpful with places to see and eat.


An unexpected find in Boston

4.2 on October 11, 2009

This B&B really surprised us. The house is very stylish throughout, with every effort made to ensure maximum comfort for our stay. The staff are very helpful and provide advice regarding Boston and how best to take advantage of all that Boston has to offer. There are many very good restaurants that are reasonably priced within walking distance. We found the staff very facilitating to us in our coming and going.


Great stay...

5 on October 09, 2009

Great location, charming building, great roof deck, and great staff.


Stylish and worth the money

4.2 on October 05, 2009

It is not cheap for a B&B but attention to detail and helpfulness was top notch. Great location within easy walking distance of the copley Square area and museums. And so many good and good value eateries within 10 minutes, which the owners will happily advis eon and book for you.The real star is perhaps the building itself, beatifully retored and looked after. Our room (No. 4) was quiet, large and nicely planned with a good size bathroom en suite. Only downside was it sits on the 4th floor and there are lots of stairs! But they will lug baggage up and down for you very happily so that isn't really a problem.


Charming Bed and Breakfast in Downtown Boston

2.6 on October 01, 2009

Clarendon Square Inn is a very pretty Bed and Breakfast in downtown Boston. Rooms are nice with comfortable beds and state of the art equipment. We were welcomed warmly and everything was taken care off, however, we did miss the personal touch to things, this little extra flavor that makes a bed and breakfast a special place. Overall, a very nice place to stay but with an air of anonymity.


Classy Clarendon

4.0 on September 16, 2009

What a great place to stay - we loved everything: the rooms are divine, the design is wonderfully eclectic, the team very helpful (thanks for the great restaurant recommendations), the location is perfect and we felt both suitably relaxed and pampered at the same time! Our favourite treat was being able to sit on the roof deck at night and enjoy Boston under the stars. We have already recommended this as a great place to stay and if we are ever back in Boston, this will be our first choice everytime


Coming home to the South End

4.0 on September 15, 2009

This is a beautifully designed inn, well-located in the South End neighborhood of Boston. Karen Cigala, the manager, is personable and always helpful. I saw most of the rooms and loved them all! My husband and I sold our condo in the neighborhood and felt that we were back at home again at the Clarendon Square Inn.


Great place for romance!

4.6 on August 31, 2009

A beautiful place, well appointed, everything you need! Would recommend it to anyone looking for luxury at reasonable prices.


A hidden gem in Boston

4.2 on July 08, 2009

The building is absolutely beautiful, inside and out, and located on the most lovely street. From the moment we arrived, Karen treated us as valuable guests and provided many helpful tips for getting around Boston. Our room was stunning and had the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in, as well as a large comfy couch and a back patio. The location is within walking distance of many restaurants, as well as Copley Square. I've only stayed in one other B&B (in California) where, as at Clarendon Square Inn, I just couldn't bear to leave at the end of my vacation.


Elegant and relaxed

3.8 on June 24, 2009

Great find, wonderful B&B, very chilled out, beautiful decor. It really is a haven of tranquility just off the beaten track, would thoroughly reccommend it if you prefer a more unique hotel type experience.


I love Boston!

4.6 on March 19, 2009

We moved into the suite at Claredon Square and we never wanted to leave. Staying at this wonderful B&B gave so much value added to our business/vacation trip to Boston that our total visit moved into the realm of "best trip ever"! The manager, Karen, was delightful and helpful and totally professional at all times. Breakfast times were very flexible due to the "continental breakfast" style provided. This suited our needs perfectly and we cannot wait to go back. We would recommend this B&B to anyone - and in fact we already have!


Marvelous!

5 on February 25, 2009

Quite simply one of the most beautiful and memorable places I have ever been, decorated with the most exquisite taste. An experience we hope to repeat!


A Little Gem in the South End

4.4 on November 16, 2008

I've stayed here for five or six years for an annual event in Boston and will be back next year. Great South End location in an elegant late 19th century townhouse. Great restaurants in the neighborhood; easy walk to Copley Square. Rooms are elegantly appointed and contantly updated. Welcoming, but not intrusive, owner and staff.


A special Place

4.8 on November 16, 2008

e absolutely adore Clarendon Square and it has become our favorite place to stay when we come to Boston. Not only does one feel like one is in ones own house but it also has excellent service that is very personal. The rooms are gorgeous, comfortable and cosy with every little detail carefully thought through. Finally there is the area South End with charming little cafes and restaurants and of course a bakery for dogs which we stop at every time!


Great Experience!

4.8 on November 15, 2008

My wife and I were looking for a week long experience within the city of Boston. This B & B is located on a quiet side street in a elegant 6 story brownstone just blocks from transportation and great restaurants. Our host, Stephen and his staff were vary gracious in providing information, making reservations, and assiting our every need. We would recommend this location and owner to anyone! We had an outstanding week to remember!


What a gem

4.8 on November 05, 2007

I stayed in this Inn about 2 years ago and it was a delightful experience. The furnishings are amazing overall and the hosts are so helpful. I can highly recommend this to Boston visitors.


Great place!

5 on July 25, 2007

This is a beautiful BnB! The hosts and hostess are wonderful. This was our third BnB visit in Boston and this by far was the best. I do not think that there is a thing that they could do better! We will be back.


Clarendon Square put comfort -- and Boston -- at my fingertips

5 on May 04, 2007

The beautifully renovated 1870s brownstone was immaculate and decorated with a great modern flavor. The service was helpful and friendly. The inn's location was also superb. Situated on a quiet side street, the inn was close to great Back Bay area dining and shopping. The metro station stop was close walk away to take me to the North End, Cambridge, or the start of the Freedom Trail. I had a wonderful experience.


warm+cozy

5 on April 17, 2007

We stayed at the Clarendon Inn for the first time in March 2007. It is a perfect location if you like to walk Boston back bay as we do. Host make dinner reservations for us and checked later to see if we enjoyed that particular restaurant. We have stayed in several B+B's and would highly recommend this one.


Clarendon Square Bed & Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $135 - $495
  • Reviews (82) 4.6
  • Rooms 7
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone +1-617-536-2229

Visit Website »

View details

Top check