Recent Reviews in Tyler, Texas

Perfect location, charming hostess at Historic 1859 Woldert-Spence Manor (Tyler, Texas)

5 reviewed on February 06, 2017

You can't beat the location of this charming and beautifully restored 19th century home. Barbara is a wonderful hostess, going above and beyond to make your stay comfortable but also discreet enough to give you your space so that your privacy is never in question. Delicious breakfast in a large and comfortable dining room. Large sitting room. Nice courtyard out back and plenty of off street parking. Nice street with additional historic homes. YMCA is just across the street for the fitness minded.

View more reviews for this inn


A Wonderful Place to Stay at Historic 1859 Woldert-Spence Manor (Tyler, Texas)

5 reviewed on November 25, 2016

The hosts are very friendly and aim to please :) The rooms are quaint and it's great to interact with others staying there. The breakfast was marvelous!

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to stay in Tyler at Historic 1859 Woldert-Spence Manor (Tyler, Texas)

4.6 reviewed on November 18, 2016

We very much enjoyed our stay. Barbara and Mike are gracious hosts and very friendly. The only reason we rated the rooms at 3 was because the room we stayed in was smaller than we thought from the picture -- although it did have a very nice balcony! We stayed 2 nights, and the location/accommodations were very nice and relaxing. Would stay at the Woldert-Spence Manor again!

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful weekend at Historic 1859 Woldert-Spence Manor (Tyler, Texas)

5 reviewed on November 09, 2016

The hosts added to the relaxing atmosphere of their home.

View more reviews for this inn


Best B&B Ever at Historic 1859 Woldert-Spence Manor (Tyler, Texas)

5 reviewed on November 06, 2016

Our stay at the Woldert-Spence Manor couldn't have been better. Mike and Barb were wonderful hosts. Our room was spacious and clean with a great screened in porch. The breakfast was fantastic. We wish we could have stayed longer. We will definitely be back. We highly recommend this B&B.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect accommodations for our wedding weekend! at Historic 1859 Woldert-Spence Manor (Tyler, Texas)

5 reviewed on October 18, 2016

Barbara and Mike are wonderful hosts. Our rooms were very comfortable and everything was very clean. They were very accommodating and breakfast was always enjoyable.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice place in Tyler at Historic 1859 Woldert-Spence Manor (Tyler, Texas)

4.6 reviewed on September 28, 2016

Really nice place to stay in Tyler and Mike and Barbara are great hosts

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend Getaway at Historic 1859 Woldert-Spence Manor (Tyler, Texas)

3.6 reviewed on September 27, 2016

Barbara was a very gracious and attentive hostess, the house is vintage and nicely renovated, the setting is quiet and pretty, and there are a lot of restaurants and amenities nearby in Tyler. This place is a great value, well kept and clean. Being an old house, it is a bit creaky. The food was nicely presented but could use some improvement in terms of flavor and choices, compared to other places we've stayed. Overall a very pleasant stay and I would recommend it!

View more reviews for this inn


Great overnight stay at Historic 1859 Woldert-Spence Manor (Tyler, Texas)

4.6 reviewed on August 03, 2016

After a long flight and drive, we had a great sleep in our clean, well appointed room. We love breakfast and it was excellent. We would definitely stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely Escape at Historic 1859 Woldert-Spence Manor (Tyler, Texas)

5 reviewed on July 15, 2016

My daughter and I stayed here for 2 nights in late June when we were in town for some meetings at UT Tyler. We enjoyed our stay so much that we've already booked for our next trip. The location is very convenient, the house is beautiful and perfectly appointed. The place oozes with warmth and charm from the moment you drive up. Our hostess couldn't have been more hospitable. We felt right at home, like we were staying with dear friends. Breakfast each morning was fabulous and worth the trip on its own. I highly recommend this lovely, well cared for, bed & breakfast.

View more reviews for this inn


Happy that the Woldert- Spence was my first B&B at Historic 1859 Woldert-Spence Manor (Tyler, Texas)

5 reviewed on July 10, 2016

We stayed here 2 nights in the William Woldert room. It was an absolutely incredible experience. The innkeeper, Barbara is very personable and a very skilled chef! She made us a fabulous quiche the first morning and a delicious oven baked omelet the next morning. Both were beautifully presented and had a yogurt and fruit parfait to start. The home is equipt with games, outside sitting spaces, wifi, cable... But our very favorite part was our morning conversations with Barbara over breakfast and coffee. This B&B alone is a great reason to visit Tyler, TX. Thank you!

View more reviews for this inn


Beautifully Historic at Historic 1859 Woldert-Spence Manor (Tyler, Texas)

5 reviewed on July 06, 2016

I cannot fault anything about our stay. The beds were comfortable, the rooms were beautifully done and the breakfast was delicious. Barbara was welcoming and helpful. We look forward to returning!

View more reviews for this inn


Good Stay! at Historic 1859 Woldert-Spence Manor (Tyler, Texas)

3.0 reviewed on July 06, 2016

Very quaint house, loved the ambiance and location. A bit steep for the stay, but it was a good experience for my daughter.

View more reviews for this inn


Very pleasant stay at Historic 1859 Woldert-Spence Manor (Tyler, Texas)

5 reviewed on July 04, 2016

The home was very lovely! Our room was very comfortable and clean. Barbara was very accommodating and an awesome cook!! She prepared a gourmet breakfast the next morning. We would definitely stay again and recommend to anyone.

View more reviews for this inn


Going back into time at Historic 1859 Woldert-Spence Manor (Tyler, Texas)

4.6 reviewed on July 01, 2016

We liked everything. We enjoy old houses and being a small part of them. We enjoyed sitting on the porch with the white wicker furniture that was like that in my Grandfather's home. We loved the three friendly kitty cats. We even enjoyed the challenges that the utility workers provided. Reynolds and Alice Griffith

View more reviews for this inn


Stay at the Woldert-Spence Manor at Historic 1859 Woldert-Spence Manor (Tyler, Texas)

4.4 reviewed on June 13, 2016

Wonderful home with really nice rooms, Mike and Barbara were really nice hosts. Were only able to stay one evening so we didn't really get to experience all they had, but we will be back again.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely and wonderful house and hostess! at Historic 1859 Woldert-Spence Manor (Tyler, Texas)

5 reviewed on June 08, 2016

It was a privilege being able to stay at this fabulous historic home. The breakfast and attention to service detail was all four stars. The room was very comfortable, attractive and lovely. I would highly recommend this B+B and the town of Tyler for a visit!

View more reviews for this inn


Winner on woldert at Historic 1859 Woldert-Spence Manor (Tyler, Texas)

4.2 reviewed on June 05, 2016

Cheryl Power

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful stay! at Historic 1859 Woldert-Spence Manor (Tyler, Texas)

4.0 reviewed on June 01, 2016

Stayed at Historic Woldert-Spence Manor for a weekend and had a great time. The hosts were very welcoming and very professional from the moment we came in. Rooms and bathroom were clean and well taken care of and the hosts provided water as well as very convenient communal area with snacks and coffee/tea. A fridge communal is available in the communal area which is a nice touch as we were able to bring in food and wine and enjoy them on the porch. We were served a wonderful home made breakfast every morning and had a very entertaining time talking to the guests and the hosts who attended to every need of their guests. Will definitely look for opportunities to do this again!

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend in Tyler at Historic 1859 Woldert-Spence Manor (Tyler, Texas)

3.6 reviewed on May 18, 2016

We wanted to stay within walking distance of downtown Tyler and used google maps to find this place nearby. It was a very relaxing and enjoyable B&B. Lots of history and Barbara is great. Prepared breakfast two mornings and she knocked them out of the park. Nothing like I have eaten for breakfast. I would recommend a stay there just for the historic value, but the entire experience was good.

View more reviews for this inn


Absolutely would return!!! at Historic 1859 Woldert-Spence Manor (Tyler, Texas)

4.6 reviewed on April 28, 2016

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed the accommodations of the old house, the delightful hospitality of the owner, and the delicious breakfast. We would highly recommend it to others, as well as return ourselves when we can. We enjoyed a cozy upstairs room with a private balcony, which we really enjoyed relaxing on following the incredible breakfast!

View more reviews for this inn


Our second trip, very much worth it! at Historic 1859 Woldert-Spence Manor (Tyler, Texas)

3.8 reviewed on April 26, 2016

This was our second visit to Woldert Spence Manor. The location is very convenient to downtown, yet tucked away far enough off the main road to offer some seclusion. Barbara, the innkeeper, was excellent, very pleasant, personable and a great cook. The Manor provides that unique step back in time, and feeling of getting away from the modern rush of daily life.

View more reviews for this inn


Second Stay at Woldert-Spence Manor at Historic 1859 Woldert-Spence Manor (Tyler, Texas)

5 reviewed on March 20, 2016

Our second stay was as good if not better than our first. The rooms are clean and have all the comforts of home. Barb is a great host and a great cook. We were packing up my daughter to move. When we came in that evening Barb had a meat and cheese tray for us. It was a great surprise and very good. Not sure if we will go back to Tyler since my daughter has moved but if we do we will stay with Barb again. Barb is warm and inviting. Just a great place to stay. Thanks, Barb!

View more reviews for this inn


great food, outstanding hospitality! at Historic 1859 Woldert-Spence Manor (Tyler, Texas)

5 reviewed on March 20, 2016

great food, outstanding hospitality!

View more reviews for this inn


Tyler Bed and Breakfast at Historic 1859 Woldert-Spence Manor (Tyler, Texas)

5 reviewed on March 10, 2016

If you're looking for a relaxing night away, in east Texas, this is your place. Barbara took our reservation the night of, was very welcoming, and made us feel at home. It was a really cool 19th century home, but has a modern and shaded courtyard... with a hot tub! Barbara made a great breakfast, which made it an overall fun experience.

View more reviews for this inn


Warm & Fuzzy at Historic 1859 Woldert-Spence Manor (Tyler, Texas)

5 reviewed on March 08, 2016

We drove down to attend a local concert & we actually only chose the WS Manor because it was the nearest hotel to the venue. I am so happy we stumbled across this little gem! Barbara is a fantastic cook, very personable, and pays attention to the little details. The property is beautiful, the rooms are clean & cozy. This will from now on be our home away from home while in Tyler. Stay at the WS Manor you will not be disappointed.

View more reviews for this inn


Second Stay at Woldert Spence Manor at Historic 1859 Woldert-Spence Manor (Tyler, Texas)

5 reviewed on February 08, 2016

Our second stay at Woldert Spence Manor was just a great as the first. The rooms are clean and have all to comforts of home. We were in Tyler to move our daughter so we had a very busy day. Barb made us a tray of meat, cheese, and pita chips for a snack when we returned. It was a nice and delicious surprise. Barb is warm and inviting; just a pleasure to talk to. She is also a fantastic cook. Breakfast is delicious and not just the normal bacon, eggs, and pancakes you get with a continental breakfast. If we ever go back to Tyler we will stay here again. Thanks Barb!

View more reviews for this inn


First Time B&B Stay at Historic 1859 Woldert-Spence Manor (Tyler, Texas)

4.2 reviewed on December 10, 2015

We had a quick stay that was quite enjoyable for our first time visiting a B&B. We loved the history of the Woldert-Spence Manor and Barbara was very hospitable.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent Hospitality! at Historic 1859 Woldert-Spence Manor (Tyler, Texas)

4.8 reviewed on November 19, 2015

This was my first bed and breakfast experience! I came for Veterans Day with my sister and we really enjoyed our stay! The hospitality was great, the food was great and it was a peaceful stay! Thank you all sooooo much for what you do to make the stay here very enjoyable! :- )

View more reviews for this inn


Our Honeymoon at Historic 1859 Woldert-Spence Manor (Tyler, Texas)

5 reviewed on October 29, 2015

My husband and I were on our honeymoon during our stay. The manor was beautifully decorated and well kept. The innkeeper Barbara was very accommodating and provided us with a delicious breakfast the next morning. She also presented us with a congratulatory wedding gift. It was beautiful and very thoughtful. We will be returning again in the future.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Historic 1859 Woldert-Spence Manor (4.61)
Top
}