Gruene Homestead Inn Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Onsite Dining4.3

Score Breakdown based on
48 Reviews

Write A Review

Perfect Stay in Gruene!

4.4 on August 07, 2017

Gruene Homestead Inn makes you feel right at home! Lovely property in a great location with the best service.


A Stay in a SIlo

4.8 on August 07, 2017

What an amazing adventure. We set the Silo as the cornerstone of our Texas road-trip, and it was the perfect destination. The kids loved it as much as the adults. We had a great time at the pool, while mom got to go to the Gruene dance-hall with an old friend. They served these sausages wrapped in sweet bread that were amazing.


beautiful room but something missing with customer service

3.8 on August 04, 2017

The room was clean and nicely decorated. The shower seemed to have a leak and was almost painful because it sprayed so finely and with such force. The toilet unless you jiggled the handle would run continuosly. The TV controller only changed the channels when the control was pointed to the back of the TV, not sure why but the volume control worked just fine. The towelswere clean and fluffy. The linens on the bed were clean and pressed. The bed was large and basically comfortable. The small bed in the adjacent room was adequately comfortable but squeaky. The staff member were not as friendly as they could have been, they didnt have the Texas charm that I am accustom to, they were cordial not rude but seemed to lack genuine concern for guests. I was especially referring to the young man who checked me out when I inquired about a triple A discount and he very firmly addressed me "no this is our busy time of the year and there is no discount". I also told the young lady who seemed to be in charge about the issues in the bathroom. She very matter of factly told me I could have called the maintenance guy because his job was to be "on call". I told her that I didn't think it constituted a late night call because it was usable but was reporting the issues so they could be addressed. Again she seemed irritated that I told her about the issues but hadn't called the maintenance man. I really try to be reasonable. There was no noise from the bar, all was well and breakfast was filling. I do want to point out that the eggs and sausage should be separated in different serving dishes for those who are vegetarians. Thank you


You should definitely stay here!

4.6 on July 27, 2017

We stayed in The Root Cellar for an annual girls trip and it was absolutely perfect! The property it's self is gorgeous and conviniently located, our room was clean, comfortable, and so cute! The staff is friendly and accommodating, complimentary breakfast had a good variety, there is a bar on the property that was also very convenient. We couldn't have had a better stay and will stay again!


Hidden Treasure

5 on July 26, 2017

We always love staying at the Greene Homestead Inn! We have stayed many times and continue to return. The accommodations are excellent! The staff and service are top notch and the breakfast is always delicious!


Perfect place to stay in Gruene!

4.6 on July 26, 2017

We had cottage #2 as first-time visitors to Gruene Homestead Inn. The room was comfortable, clean and spacious. The bathroom was recently remodeled and I loved it! The bed and pillows were a little stiff for my liking and the televisions need to be updated (old tube tv!). Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and will be back!


Love, love, love this place!!

5 on July 18, 2017

Always a wonderful stay at the Gruene Homestead Inn! Our first time staying in The Silo and we absolutely LOVED IT!! Great service, beautiful grounds and just an all around peaceful place to stay. The owner Ed is super friendly and greeted us upon our arrival. Can't wait to go back!! PS, Ed, if you ever want to sell the B&B, give me a call ;) The Wagner's


Rustic and country B&B

4.8 on July 12, 2017

Very nice stay and staff is very friendly and helpful! Great breakfast!


The Comfy Silo

5 on July 11, 2017

My fiance and I stayed for a quick getaway during the Fourth of July. It was comfortable and a clever use of space. The breakfast was fantastic. Perfect for any vacation.


This place is the best!

5 on June 29, 2017

I've stayed here on 3 trips and have not had a bad experience. The whole place is just neat. The breakfast is always good. I don't know what brand mattress is in the Silo, but I need to buy myself one.


My favorite B&B

5 on June 13, 2017

Gruene Homestead Inn is my favorite B&B. I love staying here and hanging out by the river by day and going to Gruene Hall and Tavern on the Gruene (the onsite bar) by night. I have stayed in the cabin multiple times and the Bluebonnet room once. Both of these rooms are very close to the onsite Tavern and music can be heard from the Tavern at night sometimes. I don't mind because I'm usually at the Tavern but if you want a quieter stay I suggest staying at one of the other rooms. There used to be a pizza truck outside the Tavern that was very good but they no longer have, which is a bummer. The rooms are very clean and very quaint. I adore the bathrooms, both of the rooms I have stayed in had tubs with jets perfect for a relaxing bubble bath. The breakfast is always good and fresh. I have never been unsatisfied with the food or experience. I wish the rates were a little lower but its worth it. One thing I found odd, I was allowed to make my reservation with my AMEX card but I could not pay with my AMEX, it had to be VISA, etc. I wish they excepted AMEX so I can get my rewards, but eh no big deal. I'll definitely be back its my go to place in Gruene.


Wonderful as always!

5 on May 19, 2017

I've been staying here with my parents since I was young. My husband and I recently came for a long weekend. It was just as great as I remember. Everyone is wonderfully nice and helpful. We will always continue to come back!


A pleasant stay in Greune

4.8 on May 15, 2017

Stayed here over a weekend and enjoyed the visit.The bed and breakfast is very good value for the money. You should be aware that rooms vary widely; the online photos are helpful in letting you know what to expect.


Great stay...

5 on May 11, 2017

Everything was perfect, quiet, relaxing. Will definately plan to go back.


Gruene Homestead Inn

5 on May 04, 2017

The stay was great as usual. And the Homestead always meets our expectations!


Unique B&B

4.2 on April 28, 2017

This was our first stay at Gruene Homestead Inn. We chose Cottage 2 for our stay. We were very pleased with the large and spacious room. The bathroom was extremely large and had a whirlpool tub and large walk-in shower. The king size bed was more than comfortable and we had a wonderful nights sleep. The Cottage was extremely clean and well kept. We will stay here again and recommend it to our friends and family.


B&B GHI

4.6 on April 18, 2017

Very unique and nicely appointed. We'll be back!


Home away from home!

3.8 on April 02, 2017

Our daughter was in from Colorado where she goes to college & I wanted her to live be our getaway, AND SHE DID! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, we swam, we played washers & corn hole, we enjoyed our porch swing & yard, our room was quaint & clean. THANK YOU SO MUCH for helpful by us create a great family memory.


Our new favorite

5 on April 01, 2017

I knew it was a hit when both my husband and daughter thanked me for booking our vacation here. It was all we could hope for: clean, quiet and convenient. After visiting the historic Gruene shopping area, I was so greatful we chose to stay at Gruene Homestead Inn. It's out of the traffic from the historic area yet close enough to visit when your ready.


Wonderful Weekend Get Away!

4.6 on March 24, 2017

My husband and I stayed at the Gruene Homestead Inn in Cabin #9. The staff greeted us with a smile and thoroughly explained the propert y to us, which was helpful. Our cabin was so cute and the bed was very comfortable. We definitely took advantage of the jetted tub as well. Close proximity to Gruene Hall and downtown New Braunfels, and the onsite Tavern on the Gruene Bar was a plus! We can't wait to stay here again!


Pleasant stay

4.8 on March 24, 2017

We stayed one night. The grounds are beautiful, and our room was excellent. Highly recommended for special occasions.


Well maintained and clean

4.6 on March 21, 2017

The staff was friendly, the rooms well kept, clean and breakfast was good (except for the bacon...skip). Maybe a little pricey. The Gruene district, however, was awful. Stores full of overpriced chotchkies, mediocre food and overpriced beer. When beers are cheaper at a Spurs game you know something's wrong. The hotel was nice if you need two rooms as my wife prefers due to my snoring and the trundle bed/couch was more comfortable than most sleepers. I'd revisit the hotel and skip Gruene.


Spring Break

4.8 on March 18, 2017

Merriweather suite was spacious and elegantly rustic. Teen boys had no problems with space and parents will love the huge bed and bedroom. You may never make it inside since the porch is worth spending a chunk of time on. Shopping is right around the corner and the tavern has a mean shuffleboard. Need more time to visit with the friendly staff and beautiful grounds.


Lovely getaway.

3.8 on March 06, 2017

We stayed in The Cottege the weekend after Valentunes Day. The place was very clean with a very nice and big bathroom. The whole are is very nice with Center of town minutes away. Breakfast buffet was good but in a bed and breakfast you would expect to have the option of having food brought to your room. The biggest issue for us was a very outdated tv. We just wanted to lounge around and watch a movie but found ourselves trying to look for something to do instead. Overall I would definitely recommend it. You will not be disappointed with the place and the area.


Home Away from Home

4.4 on February 15, 2017

We loved our stay at Gruene Homestead Inn. The location was ideal and within walking distance of shops and dining. The staff is very attentive and helpful. Our accommodation, the Cottage, was very clean, comfortable and charming. We will be returning soon!


Great B&B!

4.4 on January 25, 2017

Enjoyed our stay. Property is great and close to everything


Loved our stay in the Merriwether Suite!

4.6 on January 23, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Gruene Homestead Inn in early January. It was unseasonable cold that weekend, but the room stayed nice and warm. I was running the River Road Run Half Marathon on the Saturday or our stay, and happened to mention it in passing when we checked in. The staff offered to put a breakfast basket in our room the night before since we would miss their regular breakfast. The basket was the perfect start to our morning and very thoughtful. I would definitely stay here again.


Very Unique and Charming Property

4.8 on January 07, 2017

The Gruene Homestead Inn is our first choice when staying in New Braunfels. The location and setting is so convenient to the "must see places" in the area as well as our family members who live there. As a family we have stayed at several of the small houses and suites. They are all very comfortable and it is easy to walk between them. Breakfast is included and it is such a nice way to start each day. There are several choices of hot and cold selections. Always very tasty and Edgar is always on hand to be sure the there is plenty of food for everyone and for any other needs. I highly recommend staying here!!!


Anniversary Getaway

5 on December 27, 2016

The Cabin was the perfect spot for our anniversary Getaway. Such a quaint atmosphere!! The use of space was impressive! The staff was exceptional and even fixed us a basket of breakfast items for our departure morning since we had to leave before breakfast was served. The morning we did get to eat breakfast was so yummy!! We can't wait to get back to Gruene and stay here again!!


Anniversary Getaway

4.8 on December 18, 2016

We stayed in The Cabin. It was the perfect romantic spot to celebrate our anniversary. We hope to be back very soon!!


Outstanding!

5 on November 17, 2016

This B&B is everything. Fantastic service, we had left a pair of sunglasses in our room and the staff was so willing and ready to assist. Breakfast was awesome. Definitely an experience to stay here and fits well with the vibe of new braunfels/gruene. Will be staying here every trip! Have a pickle shot at the tavern and pick up a pizza for a late night snack on your walk back to your room ;)


Our Home Away From Home

3.6 on November 07, 2016

This is a warm, charming and very comfortable B&B and a family favorite anytime we come to New Braunfels or Gruene, TX. Highly recommended. We brought some friends along this time and booked the Rose Cottage. The weather was great for sitting on the long, covered porch and enjoying the cool evening. We had one side chair that had a loose/broken leg, but other than that, a perfect weekend. Very comfortable bed.


The Silo Hideaway

4.2 on November 03, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed this unique B&B. We chose the Silo because it is standalone and has no neighbors. It sits apart from Tavern in the Gruene (pub) Ignore the warning about construction noise...that subdivision is built. We spent hours on the large porch. The mattress could use replacing, but otherwise it was a quiet, clean, romantic, comfortable stay. Breakfast was a typical hot/cold food buffet...not special.


Charming b & b

4.8 on October 26, 2016

A lovely, clean, friendly staff, We would stay there again. Albert


The Silo

4.4 on October 20, 2016

I booked the Silo for a mother/daughter min vacation and we both loved the Silo. It was so clean and comfortable. The grounds are well kept, the breakfast was tasty and we enjoyed the dining room experience. The Inn is just down the road from all the cute shops and good eateries. We would definitely recommend the Homestead Inn to family and friends and hope to return soon.


Gruene homestead Inn review

5 on October 03, 2016

This was by far one of the most relaxing vacations the wife and I have had. The property was well maintained and the staff was great. Clean comfortable rooms made it feel like a 5star hotel


Best little get away

5 on October 01, 2016

Nothing went wrong, everything is better in Texas especially at Greune Homestead Inn!


Girl's Getaway

4.6 on September 21, 2016

We booked our room over the Internet. We stayed in the Root Cellar. It was a awesome room, really different. There were 3 of us and we had plenty of room. We had breakfast their every morning. Food was really good and free, staff was very helpful. Would stay again.


A hidden gem

5 on September 18, 2016

We stayed in the root cellar which was right off the parking lot and next to the bar. The room was fabulous. It was unique, clean, inviting and spacious. The entire place was just adorable and we enjoyed sipping our coffee on the front porch the next morning.The staff was friendly and accommodating. We will definitely be back, I promised my daughter we'd go stay in the silo.


Loved it!

5 on September 07, 2016

Gruene Homestead Inn was amazing. We stayed in the root cellar. The room was clean, comfortable & full of charm. We loved sitting in the front porch enjoying our coffee the next morning. Our room was right next to the Tavern on the Gruene (a bar) but they closed and midnight and the parking lot was empty by 12:03. We are already planning a trip back to the Gruene Homestead Inn and cannot wait to try out more rooms. The man at the front desk was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious and I would highly recommend this place to anyone needing to stay in the area.


Great time in Gruene

4.8 on August 30, 2016

The rooms are unique and have character. The staff is friendly. The breakfast food is great. The wi fi, not so good. It's a great place to stay.


One of our favorite B&B's

5 on September 13, 2012

We have stayed at Gruene Homestead Inn over the past several years. Sometimes it is just my husband and I and other times we have brought large groups. The Hosts are very accommodating. The property is unique and the facility is very clean with lots of amenities. More than you would expect from a B&B. Breakfast is always good!!! We highly recommend Gruene Homestead Inn.


Nice Stay

3.2 on September 07, 2012

Nice place. I was disapointed with the internet service. The rooms were very nice but the food was no better than some chain hotels.


a great weekend

4.4 on April 16, 2012

my wife and i stayed on a friday and saturday night. rooms were clean...and had everything we needed. loved the onsite things to do... horseshoes, washers, pool, hot tub, etc. breakfast was great... and loved the onsite bar, and location to town. bed could have been a bit softer... and would have loved an onsite hammock check out... or spot. we will defenitely return and reccomment.


New Years Eve

5 on January 05, 2012

My girlfriend and I also stayed here on New Years Eve. We've been here before and love the inn. It has all of the creature comforts that we expect, plus a tavern on the property. Close enough to have some adult beverages, far enough so that you can't hear the music. It was truly a wonderful stay and we will be back! Mr Ed and Mrs Billie are wonderful hosts and the atmosphere was rustic with Gruene Hall an easy walk away. The grounds were beautiful with old time farming equipment placed all over. Easily the best B&B in Gruene!!!


New Year's Eve

3.4 on January 03, 2012

My husband and I wanted to celebrate our anniversay so we wanted some place with good atmosphere and quite. The room was quite rustic which we expected but what I didn't expect want the "loud" green color on the walls. Also, being an older building we expected some creeking with the floors but all we heard all night was the door in the unit next door - open and close, open and close, open and close. It was like a revolving door. Went on for hours. I know the place is rustic and old; but even that is a bit much. On the flip side, breakfast was fantastic. I just wish that because it was New years day they would have extended the schedule for breakfast and for check out.


We come back again and again

4.0 on July 08, 2011

My husband and I first stayed at the Gruene Homestead Inn in 2003 and have been coming back ever since. We've stayed in different suites and houses on the property, and each has been well appointed, comfortable, and charming. We just booked our 2011 holiday and are staying at the Gruene Homestead Inn for the entire time. Truly a gem in the hill country!


very nice

4.0 on March 23, 2010

they all have nice porches outside - these pix don't capture that. nice rooms but not mucg of a view.


Gruene Homestead Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $125 - $250
  • Reviews (48) 4.6
  • Rooms 20
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone (830) 606-0216

Visit Website »

View details

Top check