Red Velvet Inn Reviews


View details

  • Guest room4.9
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness5
  • Onsite Dining4.3

Score Breakdown based on
29 Reviews

Write A Review

Beautiful Dog Friendly Inn

4.2 on August 04, 2016

We arrived on a Sunday evening and had the entire inn to ourselves, It is a beautiful restored 2 story with a huge backyard. Amazing bathroom in the Kya suite, we had to take a bath just for the claw foot tub!

Excellent experience!

3.8 on July 24, 2016

My husband, fur kiddos and I had an excellent experience while at Red Belvet Inn. The house is beautiful, super clean, and the service from manager and owner outstanding. The breakfast was the only thing that it was disappointing, but all the great experiences, were enough for us not to care much about that. The important thing for us was that our fur kiddos could stay. They provide a few bowls, towels for them and a great backyard (even poop bags). The beds are queen size very comfortable. I highly recommend this place for anyone to stay. We are certainly planning on coming back.

Great Stay

4.6 on July 19, 2016

My husband and I needed a quick get away and this fit the bill perfectly. We ended up being the only ones there. This was our first time at a bed and breakfast. It was a lot of fun. The inn was very clean and no expenses were spared. The bed was very comfortable and the linens were top notch.

Perfect getaway & pet friendly

4.6 on May 07, 2016

We were arriving late and everything was waiting for us with an information packet that was helpful. We had such a relaxing stay, we will definitely be returning. The room was clean, the public areas were inviting and clean. We were traveling with our puppy, and the fact that they were pet friendly was the whole reason we chose to stay here. The big fenced clean back yard was perfect for Bella. She had a great time playing while I relaxed on the comfy chairs on the shaded patio sipping coffee and reading. Can't wait to stay again.

Beautiful Inn

4.4 on April 06, 2016

This is a charming little inn. The breakfast is just a self-serve so I consider this an Inn not a full blown bed and breakfast. The owner, Denise, is very friendly, accommodating and hospitable. The rooms are exceptionally clean and well arranged. Cable and Wi-Fi. I can't give it a 5 star because it is by a railroad track so the sound of trains may disrupt your quiet time. It is within 30 minutes of Brenham, the Lavender Farm, College Station and Washington on the Brazos. During wildflower season you have many roads to travel and soak up the beauty. Very friendly small town Texas charm.

Innkeeper Response
We appreciate this review and the many kind comments about our wonderful Inn. It is always greatly appreciated when guests appreciate the hard work that went into restoring and maintaining this gem of a historic house. While we certainly regret that the trains bothered this guest, we make sure information about the trains is available to all potential guests prior to making a reservation. Our website clearly states: "Navasota is known as 'The Town that Trains Built' and is one of three cities in Texas that Union Pacific has designated as Train Town USA. The Red Velvet Inn is two blocks from the train tracks and an average of 30 trains a day travel through Navasota, so you will hear trains passing by, even at night. It is part of the charm of Navasota and the Inn, but light sleepers should be aware of this." Our self-serve breakfast came about after numerous suggestions from guests that appreciate being able to eat on their own schedule, and the industry itself as been moving this direction over the past couple of years. The self-serve breakfast is discussed on both our website and the reservation confirmation letter that is sent to every guest. As this guest mentioned, Navaosta is a wonderful small town with many interesting places to visit within a short drive. Wildflower season is one of the best!

Very Nice B&B

4.6 on March 14, 2016

This was a fabulous place. Extremely clean, beautiful décor - very comfortable stay. The only downside was the train that ran all night long and the functionality of the shower. If the location was away from the railroad, it would have been perfect and certainly a place I would return to over and over again!

Innkeeper Response
We appreciate this review and the nice comments about our wonderful Inn. While we certainly regret that the trains bothered this guest, we make sure information about the trains is available to all potential guests prior to making a reservation. Our website clearly states: "Navasota is known as 'The Town that Trains Built' and is one of three cities in Texas that Union Pacific has designated as Train Town USA. The Red Velvet Inn is two blocks from the train tracks and an average of 30 trains a day travel through Navasota, so you will hear trains passing by, even at night. It is part of the charm of Navasota and the Inn, but light sleepers should be aware of this."

One of the best bed and breakfasts that I have ever been to. Thank you Denise.

5 on February 18, 2016

The entire house is absolutely stunning. We had a great weekend with friends here. Great way to get away from the city.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your review and I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay at the Red Velvet Inn. Hope to see you again!

Amazing stay!

5 on January 26, 2016

We are on a year long bicycle trip and found the Red Velvet on our route and decided it sounded like a fantastic place to rest for a couple of days. We haul two dogs with us in a cart, and the Inn is dog friendly! Our stay exceeded expectations. Denise is an amazing person and host, and she did an exceptional job in turning a old home into a warm and comfortable environment. She also is heavily involved in Husky rescues, and as dog people, we certainly appreciate those efforts. The house is great, the fenced yard was loved by the dogs, and we all left rested and refueled. We highly recommended a stay here!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind review and I can say that your stay at the Inn has been one of the true highlights of my time as an Innkeeper. Your adventurous spirit and two wonderful pups made me smile every day. I look forward to seeing you again!

Navasota's Red Velvet Inn

5 on October 10, 2015

This is a hidden gem in Texas. The owner was very hands on and extremely friendly. The Inn was beautifully restored and clean.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for your review! I hope to see you again soon.

A Velvet Stay

4.0 on September 24, 2015

Neat as a pin. Reminded us of the homes we grew up in. A very restful and tranquil stay.

Beautiful home with excellent service

4.4 on August 04, 2015

Get away weekend for my girlfriend and I....I am so happy I discovered the Red Velvet Inn upon an internet search. Close to Houston, it took only 45-60mins from my house to arrive there. When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised to find out we were the only ones staying in the house that evening. We were told fall, because of football season and its proximity to College Station, is another story. I had booked the Blondie Room, but the owner was gracious enough to upgrade us to the largest room in the house which is the downstairs master. The room was beautiful and featured a large bathroom and own personal A/C. Owner was beyond kind in doing this, and generally was a very sweet woman. I would recommend this B&B to anyone and will not hesitate to stay there again!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your review and I hope to see you again!

Getaway Night

5 on May 27, 2015

I wanted to do a surprise getaway night for my husband to thank him for working the entire Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo. We have three dogs, who we miss terribly when we are away from home. I found Red Velvet Inn and was so excited that Denise not only allows, but welcomes dogs into her beautiful inn. We had such a a fun time staying at the Red Velvet and will absolutely be back!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your review and I hope to see y'all again some day!

Wonderful Historic B&B

4.6 on November 05, 2014

The Historic Home was beautifully decorated and the attention to detail was amazing. Our room, Willie's, was lovely and super neat. We will be back.

Love this Inn!

5 on October 14, 2014

Denise goes above and beyond to make your stay perfect! The house has been meticulously restored and is just beautiful, and the food and amenities are great. Denise is also THE most generous and helpful innkeeper I have ever had the pleasure to meet! The accommodations are equally perfect for our dog, and the yard is wonderful; it's large and secure, and there is a porch area for pet owners to hang out while pups stretch their legs. This is a wonderful place to spend a night, or several!

Great Place to Stay

4.6 on September 23, 2014

Denise was very friendly & helpful. The refrigerator was well stocked. Outstanding overall.

best Pet Friendly B&B!

4.4 on September 17, 2014

Exceptional space for a B&B...very nicely updated, very comfortable, nice fixtures/bedding/towels etc all of very high quality. Very nice, large grassy backyard is great for your dog. Only 20-25 minutes from College Station (Texas A&M) and convenient access to the highway. Very much like doing breakfast on our own time...frig was well stocked for pretty much anything you'd want for breakfast. Will only stay here from now on when we travel to the College Station area.

Absolutely Wonderful

5 on August 19, 2014

This is such a wonderful place. Denise has created the most wonderful little place in the heart of Navasota. We rented all 4 rooms for a family gathering and had a great time. The sitting rooms and dining room are great for this type of event as they help facilitate the family togetherness that are key to a great celebration! The Red Velvet is exceptionally clean and charming. Can't wait to go back!

Excellent Bed and Breakfast

5 on July 30, 2014

I was very pleased with every aspect of this Bed and Breakfast. I highly recommend this Inn and I know I will be a return guest.

Great Stay

5 on July 09, 2014

The Red Velvet Inn is legit. Denise was beyond friendly. The place is pristine with great porches to relax and enjoy. I brought my pup who was equally welcomed.

Outstanding Stay!

5 on June 25, 2014

We were absolutely blown away with the quality of the room, service, and food during our stay. Denise was a delight to chat with, and the breakfast was superb and overflowing! I highly recommend the Red Velvet Inn to anyone passing through Navasota. We hope to make it back soon!

Friendly and Welcoming

5 on May 07, 2014

We had a delightful stay at the Red Velvet Inn. Our golden retriever particularly enjoyed the welcome by Denise upon arrival, the big backyard to run after the ball, and the staircase and spacious rooms to explore. We had a restful night sleep and a wonderful breakfast before departure. Thank you, Denise!

Wonderful experience!

5 on March 19, 2014

We absolutely enjoyed our stay at the Red Velvet Inn. The home is beautiful and Denise is an excellent host! Our bed was so comfortable that we slept through our alarm clock the first morning and missed breakfast. Thankfully, we woke up in time to catch breakfast the following morning and it was delicious. In addition, we were relieved to have a place to bring the dogs and they totally loved running around the yard. We're planning to find reasons to visit the area again just so we can stay at the Red Velvet Inn again. LOVED IT!

Cute B&B

4.6 on February 05, 2014

We stayed at this Bed and Breakfast for a night during the Wine and Chocolate Trail. It's a central location for visiting the local wineries and a great place to relax. Denise did a great job on the renovations. My boyfriend is not a fan of B&Bs but enjoyed staying here. We would definitively stay again!

Beautiful, peaceful, clean, and unique...

5 on January 07, 2014

We have stayed here multiple times, and each time has been equally wonderful. For starters the Inn is absolutely gorgeous. The owner, Denise, really knows how to renovate a place! Another very important detail is that the Inn is CLEAN, from the comfy beds, to the bathrooms, the dining room, and the kitchen. Speaking of kitchen, Denise whips up a big breakfast to your liking. The Inn is kept stocked with beer and wine, for those who wish to sit in a rocking chair on the second floor porch or on the beautifully manicured backyard's patio while enjoying a drink. The Inn is a great place to get away from everything and unwind in a beautiful, tranquil setting. Additionally, there are sights to see in historic Navasota as well as in the conveniently located cities of Bryan and College Station. As if all this were not enough, the Inn is pet-friendly and a portion of profits go to three different animal rescue groups:Texas Husky Rescue, Texas Sled Dog Rescue, and Long Way Home Pitbull Rescue. Denise is not only the owner with a keen eye for restoration, but she herself is a compassionate advocate for and rescuer of dogs. She has rehabilitated/ rescued numerous dogs from illness, injury, and abuse. An owner who brings beauty to the world through restoration/ renovation of a historic building and saves animals...AND a lovely, clean, and peaceful bed and breakfast? For us, staying at the Red Velvet Inn was an obvious "must," and we are certainly glad we did!

Fantastic Getaway

5 on December 18, 2013


A red velvet treat

5 on January 14, 2013

i had the wonderful opportunity to stay at The Red Velvet Inn for 2 nights and it was so relaxing. The owner Denise was extremely helpful and a pleasure to communicate with. She designed the restored Victorian home and it is just so comfy and cozy. I cannot wait to go back and reserve the whole house for my family and again stay there with 4 other couples for a great weekend away from home. The beds are superb quality and to sit on the upstairs porch and watch the passers by. We will be regulars at this lovely new bed and breakfast in Navasota!

Carefree Weekend

5 on January 04, 2013

My wife won a night stay at the Red Velvet Inn which was graciously donated by Denise as gratitude for the work my wife's class did for a fundraiser. While I am not one for taking much time off, my wife managed to pull me out of the house one Friday to go with her to Navasota. She had shown me a few pictures and an information card, but I just figured it was all photo-shopped so I wasn't to excited about where we were going. When we arrived, the house was more impressive than any of the pictures I had seen. Denise was there to greet us, welcoming us to her beautiful home with friendliness and warmth. She gave us the grand tour, detailing the histroy and renovation of the house, and inviting us to use her house as our home. She gave us details on where to eat (we chose the Hullabaloo Diner in College Station featured on Diners, Drive-Inns, and Dives - excellent! but that's another review) and the best way to park and avoid traffic to view the Santa's Wonderland lights. She left us for the evening to enjoy. The furniture is a mixture of antiques and newly-crafted work all modeled towards the time period of the house, with updated plumbing and lighting crafted to look like the originals. The beds and coverings were very comfortable, quality I have seen in top Marriots and Hiltons around the country, and the entire house was spotless. After an evening around the area, our night was peaceful and restful. We woke early, having coffee and hot chocolate on a cool morning on the back patio. Denise arrived in the morning and had breakfast ready for us at 10 a.m., right as she promised. It was a wonderful full course country breakfast with eggs, bacon, biscuits, coffee and juice. We invited her to sit with us, enjoying her company and sharing stories of our lives. Denise, her home, and her work with animal shelters is so impressive, we booked a stay for the future before we left. We plan to bring our entire family to stay at least once a year before Christmas.

A must stay for a great getaway!

5 on January 03, 2013

I have stayed at The Red Velvet Inn several times now and absolutely love it! The Inn itself has been beautifully restored and decorated down to the last detail. It has all the bells and whistles - my favorite being the Margaritaville mixed drink maker :) - and is as comfy and cozy as my own home. It's a blast to bring your pups along and they love the HUGE backyard to run around in. I also loved relaxing in the rocking chairs on the balcony and on the comfy couch out back. If all that wasn't enough, Denise's hospitality, cupcakes and breakfast are all amazing! I will be back many times over and I highly recommend anyone else stay here as well!

Soon to be customer

5 on January 02, 2013

I can't help but stalk this page ALL the time. It is the only Inn I have booked for my April 13th wedding next year and I am pretty jealous that my family, and coordinator will be staying here and not me. The restoration of the Inn is just beautiful. My future mother-in-law gawked over the pictures this previous weekend during our Christmas visit. Most importantly, as someone who believes that they are kinda being a "crazy bride" with all the planning..Denise has done nothing but make me feel comfortable with all the questions I have and has been very professional and friendly since the moment I picked up my phone to call her. Not only that but her promptness is just what I need. As a business owner myself I know how antsy clients can get waiting on answers from their hired professional. So thank you Denise! I can't wait to have my family and friends here for one of the most important weekends of my life! P.S. You are sure to get another review after our stay! -Misty Sims

Red Velvet Inn


  • Nightly Rate $99 - $189
  • Reviews (29) 4.8
  • Rooms 4

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 979-777-5584

Visit Website »

View details