Casa del Sol Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Onsite Dining4.0

Score Breakdown based on
84 Reviews

Write A Review

First Visit to TX

5 on September 15, 2018

Casa del Sol is a wonderful place! Quiet, clean and very cozy. We were on a mother/daughters’ trip. First time in TX, and this stay was the first leg of our trip. The breakfast foods were fresh and delicious. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Highly recommend. Thank you so much!


Great weekend getaway

3.4 on August 22, 2018

The property is beautiful especially the pool area. It provided the perfect getaway for the weekend.


no, thanks.

1.8 on August 21, 2018

mosquitos everywhere. even in the room; which is likely because you’ll find still water in strange ornaments along the grounds which are meant to be charming, I suppose- but that conclusion is difficult to come to when you realise there is no view, despite the location, and that it all seems like someone’s garage sale turned b&b

Innkeeper Response
We are sorry to hear you did not have a good experience here. I wish there were a magic remedy for mosquitos in Texas summers! We do have natural repellent on every table outside, and our failsafe trick is to use a fan when sitting outside at dusk, when they are most active. The breeze is 100% effective in keeping them away! As for the rooms... a few can squeak in if the door is open too long. Regarding our strange and charming ornaments, I did take a good look to see what was holding water. (We do take all reviews to heart!) All I found were our 3 birdbaths... but they always have fresh water as it evaporates so fast! Sometimes the rain fills the candle holders outside, but the housekeeping empties them afterward. No mosquito nursery there!

- Cata (innkeeper)


Hope to return again. Very enjoyable stay.

4.2 on August 06, 2018

The good- Lavender Suite was large, pleasant, and relaxing. The grounds had lovely trees acting to create a sheltered atmosphere. At night the led lights created a delightful affect. The internet was fine and TV was good. Bed, bath, and furnishings was good too. The so so- Kitchen wasn't really a kitchen. It had a small fridge and microwave, no sink or stove. It had plenty of plates and glassware. The bad- Having the hot tub /pool right near the room made for more noise/lack of privacy from other guests than we liked a few times during our stay. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would like to return again. Now that we know what the rooms/area is like we can plan ahead a bit better.


Great stay

5 on August 04, 2018

We had a wonderful stay at Casa Del Sol. It was very peaceful.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for the review! Of all the reviews we have ever gotten, "Peaceful" and "Tranquil" are the key words most used! We are happy about that, and do our best to keep that happening!

- Cata (innkeeper)


Birthday

5 on July 30, 2018

The room was very clean and tidy. The view was beautiful, very relaxing. The parking was a little tight getting in and out. But overall we had a wonder relaxing weekend.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for taking the time to review us! We are glad you liked the room and the view! We agree, the Moonlight Suite does have a narrow driveway! : (

- Cata (innkeeper)


Great B&B

5 on July 25, 2018

Great quiet place to get away and relax..... beautiful grounds and a very clean refreshing pol to take a dip in... Fun to meet other guest sitting around the pool.. It is well kept, we stayed in the cute little Amarillo trailer. Well worth the cost and more relaxing and quieter than a hotel... will definitely go back...

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind review! We love that little Armadillo trailer! When we were remodeling it, we used to sit on the deck ourselves and enjoy the lake view! It's like being in a little park! Thanks again!

- Cata (innkeeper)


Beautiful and private

3.6 on July 23, 2018

My wife and I came here to celebrate our 20 anniversary. We had a wonderful time. It was very private and for the most part we felt we had the place to ourselves. There is no check in, just a note on the door welcoming us and telling us where the key was. There is no onsite dining, but the location is close to multiple great places to eat. The only drawback was that since it was close to the highway, though you could not see it, there was some road noise. It was not bad though. Also there was a slight smell outside that came and went if the wind was blowing a particular direction, maybe from a septic system. Overall though I would say this was an excellent value. We will be coming back

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for taking the time to review! We try to make check-in as easy as possible by leaving the door unlocked so people can come in any time of the evening or night after 3pm. Pretty much no-hassle. We love to give people all the privacy they want, but we leave our number and some info on the note in case anyone needs anything! We are steps away, next door. We can only serve Continental style breakfast (which is amazing, now that we have a new pastry chef) because we don't have a licensed commercial kitchen. But there is so much good cuisine in Austin, and we recommend a number of great restaurants on our "Attractions & Distractions" page on our casadelsolbedandbreakfast website. Thanks again!

- Cata (innkeeper)


Awesome little spot!

4.6 on July 10, 2018

Such a chill and cool spot to stay! Beautiful surroundings inside and out. Owners were always available by phone and were very accommodating. Pool and hot tub were fantastic! We would stay again.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for the kind review! Glad you loved the peace and care we have taken to make it a sweet spot! Since you have been here, we have a new breakfast pastry chef who makes the BEST coffee cake, blueberry lemon muffins and banana bread! All fresh & from scratch!

- Cata (innkeeper)


Loved our stay.

4.4 on July 07, 2018

We will be back again and again, I'm certain!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your review! We are happy when people are happy staying here! We hope we do see you again!!

- Cata (innkeeper)


Relaxing Hill Country Room With A View

4.6 on June 23, 2018

This was a lovely room with a comfortable bed and fantastic view. We enjoyed the hot tub and wandering around the property. Cata greeted us and had stocked our fridge with orange juice, milk, and yogurt. She also provided delicious muffins and pastries for breakfast or snacking. I'm looking forward to returning for a longer stay.


The cycling family has a home away from home

5 on May 21, 2018

I found this hidden gem and thought the spacious outdoor space and separate rooms would be a great fit for our cycling family adventure- and it was perfect. Saturday evening we got to meet Kata and Doug, the couple that runs this B and B, and they both are the sweetest, kind and welcoming people ever. They have worked hard to create a place that guests can stay and have a peaceful ambiance along with an opportunity to enjoy Austin’s unique nature. We have already booked the house for next year!


Love this Hidden Gem

5 on April 27, 2018

Close to everything, great quiet location tucked away from the craziness


Hidden Gem in Austin

5 on April 16, 2018

Quiet, relaxing perfect place for a night away!


Cute and cozy

5 on April 12, 2018

Perfect for an overnight trip. Quiet , cute and cozy just what I needed!!


38th honeymoon

4.4 on April 12, 2018

Wanted a cozy relaxing place to celebrate 38 years together. The Armadillo trailer was a cozy new experience. Breakfast was good. Felt like far away from hustle but close to everything we wanted to do. I would go back but probably try out a room, trailer got to cozy after a few days. All together a great experience.


Lovely and relaxing

3.4 on April 10, 2018

My husband and I just loved this place. We were very impressed with the décor and the attention to detail. The owner left us a nice fruit basket and homemade pastries. The kitchenette was well supplied with dishes, glasses and silverware. There is coffee and a coffee maker, some oatmeal, creamer and sugar and a small fridge and microwave. The view of lake Travis is very nice from the private deck and the hot tub is amazing! The owners are there if you need them but otherwise leave you to your privacy. The location is close enough to many restaurants.


Moonlight Sweet

4.6 on April 04, 2018

We recently stayed in the Moonlight Sweet. It was quite wonderful, relaxing and so comfortable. We enjoyed the private hot tub. The deck was lovely at night where we enjoyed a glass of wine. Highly recommend!!


What a great place

4.8 on March 27, 2018

This place is amazing! When you arrive you enter through a gate that leads you into a gorgeous courtyard with a bubbling fountain. There are beautiful trees and lots of areas to sit and relax. There is a pool that overlooks a small valley of trees. We relaxed in a really great hot tub while enjoying the sounds of the evening. Our cabin was very quaint with a southwestern feel. I would go back in a heartbeat. The photos don't do it justice. I could have forgone the inside and just spent all my time outside on the deck. The breakfast consisted of coffee, juice, milk, yogurt, fruit and some great pastries.


Perfect Honeymoon spot

5 on March 24, 2018

We got married in March and I knew I didn't want to stay at a standard hotel. Where I would have to walk in with my wedding dress with tons of people that I didn't know. We found Casa del Sol B&B through dozens of reviews that I looked through. It just seemed the ideal place due to location and our style. It didn't disappoint! Casa del Sol is set in a quiet area in Lakeway. The room was perfect and we woke up to a view of the lake. They had a built in kitchen in the closet and it was lovely! I would totally recommend staying here. We had pastries and fruit in our room everyday. Coffee, coffee pot, and a small fridge that held granola, orange juice, milk, and half and half. We couldn't have stayed in a more perfect place for this special day! It is also close to local restaurants like Lucy's on the lake that has a great patio!


Charming B&B

4.2 on March 13, 2018

Was a nice quiet and clean place to stay. Owner was very helpful and friendly. Would stay with them again.


Underwhelmed

2.6 on March 13, 2018

Very secluded and quiet. This is basically a self service B&B-they provide the items (continental) in your room and you take it from there. Coffee maker takes forever to brew a pot - a Keurig would have been much more appreciated. We frequently stay in B&B's and this was a little disappointing. Stayed 2 nights and never interacted with the innkeepers.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for the feedback! We take everything we hear to heart, and improve what we can! We do provide a continental style breakfast, which we advertise on all of our sites. We don't have a licensed commercial kitchen, so we have some lovely pastries made by a local pastry chef, along with an all organic assortment of fruit, granola, yogurt, milk, o.j., coffee, tea and real half & half. We don't use Keurig due to the excessive plastic waste. Just a personal choice. We like the taste and feel of fresh brewed coffee, even though it takes about 5 minutes. We try to give people privacy, which most people seem to like, but we leave a note on the door with our number, in case there is any need. We are steps away, next door.

- Cata (innkeeper)


Great getaway

3.4 on March 10, 2018

We were looking for a quiet getaway and the Moonlight Cottage was perfect! We will return!


AMAZING! WE LOVED IT!

4.0 on March 07, 2018

Casa Del Sol was the very first and probably the only Bed and Breakfast I ever want to stay at! The host Cata and Doug, oh and Muffin are the sweetest ever. The moment you enter the gates of Casa Del Sol; no better yet the moment you turn into the street you immediately feel at peace, my husband and I felt so at peace and inlove with not just the place but the entire vibe of it just makes you appreciate it all around. We will definitely be going back! My favorite place ever. Thank you guys so much for an amazing time. - Vivian Chau Molina


The Perfect Getaway

5 on March 02, 2018

It rained every day and night of our recent extended weekend vacation, but it didn’t bother us one bit. The entire campus is hand groomed, hand planted and hand picked to perfection. The room was cozy, comfortable and clean. The views (when available) were spectacular. And... the private hot tub saved the weekend. We must have got in and out no less than a dozen times. FIVE STARS!!! The proximity to Austin and the surrounding area makes this one of the coolest spots we’ve stayed recently. We will definitely be returning when possible.


Perfect Valentines Day

5 on February 27, 2018

The room was perfect and the flowers and champagne were spot on. We had a wonderful time, very romantic.


Cute and quaint

5 on February 14, 2018

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Moonlight Suite at Casa del Sol. It was a great experience. The bed was comfortable and the room was very clean. The room was equipped with a small kitchenette that was perfect for what we needed. The view is amazing of the lake and you can see it from laying in bed. The best part was the hot tub! It was very chilly when we went and we used the hot tub to our advantage. Gracious host and lovely place all around! We will definitely stay again!


Definitely will be coming back!

5 on January 20, 2018

It was a perfect getaway to celebrate my significant other’s Birthday! We had a good time and very much enjoyed the quiet and relaxing atmosphere. Can’t wait to plan another trip to Casa Del Sol later in the future (:


Tranquil retreat just outside of Austin

5 on January 12, 2018

My husband and I stayed at Casa del Sol the weekend we got married and again recently to celebrate our one year anniversary. The Moonlight Suite is magical, with a beautiful view of Lake Travis. With all the trees we felt like we were in a luxurious tree house. The private hot tub is a wonderful and romantic addition. A year ago, for our wedding weekend, they let us check-in a day early so that my husband could drop a car off; at that point the owners asked if he'd like them to set up the room with rose petals (they also set up a bottle of champagne he brought with him). The room is complete with a mini-kichenette with microwave, coffee maker, and mini-fridge which they stock with orange juice, milk, half and half, and yogurt. We love this place and plan to return in the future to check out the other rooms!


A Beautiful Gift

4.8 on January 11, 2018

My family was coming from Florida to visit for Christmas, but we have a small home and didn't believe it would be comfortable for my parents to stay with us for an entire week. They had celebrated their 50th wedding anniversary the year before, but were not able to do anything special for it. My husband and I found Casa del Sol B&B when searching for a nearby place for them to stay. When I came across Casa del Sol's website, I was so excited to see such a peaceful and beautiful setting that was close enough for my parents to travel to and from our home. My Mom and Dad loved The Garden Room, as well as the entire property! It allowed them privacy, time to relax at the end of the day and enjoy their time here in the most comfortable and beautiful way. They both said it was beyond their wildest expectations, and we are so thrilled to know Casa del Sol is so close for future out of town guests! We even plan to stay here one day in the Airstream! Before my parent's arrival, Cata gave me a full tour of the entire property and all of the rooms. They have done an amazing job in making this a very special place with an Austin vibe. I highly recommend this B&B for those wanting to be away from the hustle & bustle of the busy city and close to beautiful Lake Travis.


Cozy and Welcoming

5 on January 08, 2018

My wife and I spent a small portion of our honeymoon at Casa del Sol, before jetting off to warmer climates. The Moonlight Suite was absolutely delightful, cozy, and welcoming. I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway.


Best Grounds EVER!

4.6 on November 15, 2017

Stayed in the Armadillo Trailer for a night. What fun! I love to do different things. Walking around the grounds is an occasion in itself. All unique, ecletic decor and landscaping. Beautiful pool and hot tub. Very serene and visually pleasing. Cata was on site to answer our MANY questions about where everything was purchased or found. She is truly excited about talking to guests about her B&B. Nice little pastries, fruit and Greek yogurt awaited our arrival. Would definitely recommend this B&B.


A hidden Gem

4.6 on November 12, 2017

First time we ever stayed in a tiny home airstream trailer. Decorated so cute. the grounds of this property are fantastic! A beautiful and clean built in pool. Very nice hot tub. the other rooms if s tiny house is not for you are extremely large! very nice outdoor seating and small fire pis. Outdoor lighting comes on with pretty chandeliers and tiny white lights, I highly recommend staying! Innkeeper so kind and friendly. Brought us fresh pastries for breakfast along with our items that were already there for breakfast. LOVE LOVE Love this place!


Anniversary

5 on November 08, 2017

We had a great stay to celebrate a birthday and annvoversary. It ended our trip on an unexpected high not. Beautiful views and beautiful stay!


A must stay bed and breakfast in Austin

4.8 on November 08, 2017

My husband and I have stayed here 3 times now and have enjoyed it every time. It is far enough outside the city to really relax and take in the views but only 30 minutes from Austin so you can still reasonably travel for dinner or a play. Beautiful property.


Nice for a Weekend Getaway

2.6 on October 31, 2017

Nice little place for a weekend stay. Location is nice but a little inconvenient for getting into Austin.


Such a nice quiet getaway

3.8 on October 26, 2017

Lovely little place, beautiful surroundings, the pool was pretty chilly but the hot tub was wonderful. Bring mosquito repellent, there are not alot of them, but if you are like me (a magnet) then you will want the repellent.


A great little place nestled in the woods near Lake Travis

4.4 on October 02, 2017

A cozy weekend spent with my wife while she visited me in Austin, Texas. We stayed in the Garden Room and it was quite nice. Also, we used pool on site and it was nice and relaxing...I would highly recommend this property.


Romantic weekend getaway

4.0 on September 25, 2017

We spent 2 nights in the garden suite. This little gem exceeded our expectations. The room and grounds are lovingly decorated. We especially liked the little kitchenette in our room with a fridge for drinks etc. and the complimentary yogurt/granola breakfast was perfect. We will definitely be back!


Birthday Stay Away

5 on September 24, 2017

I booked this BnB for my girlfriend's birthday and to find a nice peaceful location with a view of Lake Travis. The accommodations and service were better than anticipated. This was our first time to stay near the Lake and the view was wonderful. We stayed in the Moonlight suite and couldn't ask for a better location. It came with its own hot tub and access to the pool. I highly recommend this place for a nice, peaceful stay that was conveniently located near everything we wanted to check out. We will be back!


Charming and Romantic

4.6 on September 21, 2017

We just loved it! It was everything a couple could want for a romantic getaway. Close enough to downtown Austin to enjoy the Austin dining and music scene but far enough to be secluded and private. Our room, with a full kitchen, was adorable! We will be returning!


Unique, special property near the lake

4.8 on September 08, 2017

We stayed in the Golden Sun Cottage and loved it! Our room was very clean, there was a great selection of fresh fruit and pastries, and each morning we had orange juice, yogurt, granola and coffee. The pool and hot tub area were gorgeous and very clean. We even brought our dog along to enjoy our weekend stay. We will be back!


Great place to stay

4.6 on August 15, 2017

We loved this place. Doug and Cata do a great job maintaining the grounds and making you feel at home. Enjoyed the pool and hot tub, though mosquitos were a bit of a problem in the summer. Convenient location. It's a bit different from other bed and breakfasts in that they put the breakfast food (pastries, yogurt, fruit, granola, etc.) in your room the day before, and you can eat it on your own whenever you're ready.


Surprise birthday getaway for my fiancé

4.0 on August 14, 2017

This bed and breakfast was a great place for a weekend getaway. The location was so convenient. It was easy to make a fun day trip to Austin or to explore around Lake Travis. It's also an easy ride over to wine country, which if you're looking for an amazing vineyard, visit Spice Wood Vineyards (which was recommended by Cata). The views were wonderful, the pool was awesome especially in the summer heat in Texas, oh and the morning treats for breakfast along with the stocked fridge was a fun surprise. I also really loved that the rooms were cleaned daily and the room was restocked with anything we needed. My fiancé and I stayed in he Moonlight room and really loved it. I have to say it was a great time and a great place and my fiancé and I will definitely be returning for another trip. Thanks for the hospitality Doug and Cata :)


Great for a couple!

5 on July 20, 2017

This is our second time to stay here. For the money, it's a great value and it is one of the reasons why we have been twice. It is also very convenient to pull right up to the house.


Beautiful!!

4.6 on July 07, 2017

My wife and I absolutely loved this place! The location and view is beautiful. The rooms, the pool, and Jacuzzi are perfect for relaxation. I highly recommend staying here, and the owners are very nice and accommodating.


Nice, But Allergens Killed The Stay

2.6 on July 06, 2017

The place looks quite nice, but when I arrived I had no idea where to go to "check in". I had no idea which room was mine, and had to call to get more information. Once in the room, my wife found a gigantic spider just above the entryway. It was only a daddy-long-legs, so we paid it no mind - still it was the absolute largest one I've ever seen. Soon after getting to the bedroom, my wife began sneezing and her eye became bloodshot. We left the Casa del Sol to grab some dinner. 30 after being away from the room, all of her symptoms subsided. After returning to the room, once again she had a sneezing fit, and we chose to go to sleep immediately before she got worse. In the morning she woke up with a really sore throat and sounded like she was a lifetime smoker (she's never had one EVER). Furthermore, we started noticing an alarming number of additional spiders around the room. Needless to say, we left the place immediately that morning. I don't expressly blame Casa del Sol for this, my wife has severe dust and pet allergies - so perhaps one of the previous guests had a cat or a dog in the room. Maybe there was just dust in the air vents. Either way, as nice as the place is, it just wasn't compatible with us. The owner called after we left when her housekeeper discovered that our bags were no longer in the room. Explained that nobody had ever reported similar problems in the past - like I said, room just didn't work well for me and my wife.


Great private get-away

5 on July 05, 2017

We stayed in the Garden Room. It was more than we expected. We loved the pastries and the coffee was awesone!!! We always stay at the Sonesta Bee Cave to avoid driving home in I-35 traffic after a long day in Austin but they don't have a hot tub. We chose Case del Sol for the pool and hot tub and enjoyed every minute. This is our new Austin retreat.


Awesome!

4.6 on May 31, 2017

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Armadillo for two nights! It was an awesome experience. It is small but cozy and it accommodated us very well. We are not small people but surprisingly we fit comfortably on the bed and there's also a day bed in there for more room and comfort. I loved that this place is secluded but it's also only a short drive away from many food options. Lake Travis is only a mile away. And it's great if you just want to spend your whole stay there. I love this place! Will definitely be going back!


Lovely Place for a Getaway

4.8 on April 26, 2017

Thank you for a lovely getaway! Casa del Sol sits on a beautiful property with an outstanding view. My husband and I stayed here on our trip to Austin. It was a nice, quiet place away from downtown where we could spend our evenings. The fruit and pastries for breakfast were great! There were also games and movies for when we had some downtime. We look forward to another stay here in the future!


Heaven with a hot tub!!

5 on April 21, 2017

This is a great place to go for a romantic getaway or to just relax. The room was beautiful and the private hot tub was incredible!! I would definitely recommend this place for anyone!! Ashley and Shari Wall


Moonlight Suite

5 on April 21, 2017

Had an awesome time. Perfect retreat, room was much bigger than it looked in the pictures, incredible view. Will definitely go back!!!


Charming B&B

5 on April 19, 2017

This is an amazing secluded getaway, yet close to many restaurants, stores and Lake Travis. We were in about a 20 -30 minute drive to some Winery's and Vineyards. The attention to detail and privacy is wonderful. Very charming B&B. We will definitely stay again.


Heaven with a hot tub!!

4.6 on April 09, 2017

I don't really think I could say enough good things about our stay. Everything was beautiful!! The room and decor were amazing. Everything we needed was right there for us. We never had to or wanted to leave. And the private hot tub in the Moonlight suite was beautiful and romantic.


Loved our time there

5 on April 03, 2017

We loved the room and the location total Austin experience


Casa fel Sol was outstanding

4.6 on February 19, 2017

Casa del Sol was wonderful, relaxing, quiet and very detail oriented. We will definitely stay again.


I'll be back.

4.6 on February 07, 2017

Perfect spot to get away from Austin for a bit. The moonlight suite has a private hot tub tucked into the forest. It was so cute and perfect that my girlfriend was convinced that I was going to propose at any minute.


Wonderful Getaway!

5 on January 05, 2017

Such a lovely, idyllic setting for our anniversary! The room is beautifully decorated, relaxing, and well-appointed. The hot tub is nestled in a woodsy and peaceful little alcove and was the perfect way to start our getaway. By chance, we met Cata on arrival who gave us great recommendations for area restaurants. The rest of the property is connected by pretty footpaths and, while we didn't hang out there, the communal pool and hot tub area was rather inviting. For breakfast, we devoured luscious pastries, gorgeous fruit, FANTASTIC coffee, and delicious granola. We highly recommend this B&B!


Great night

4.6 on November 10, 2016

This was a wonderful place! Only wish we had booked sooner so we could have stayed more than one night


Comfortable Heavan

4.0 on October 17, 2016

We stayed for 3 days in the Garden Room. Decor was wonderful, the gardens were so beautiful and peaceful. The perfect casual retreat. We easily drove into Austin each day to explore, then back to our retreat. It was perfect.


Great place to spend a honeymoon!

4.6 on October 13, 2016

My wife and I stayed here after our wedding, and it was outstanding. Fresh fruit, pastries, and drinks in the fridge. We already have plans to head back for our anniversary!


Awesome B&B!

5 on October 13, 2016

This place was so quiet and peaceful - truly a retreat!


Perfect stay!

4.0 on October 07, 2016

I was there for two nights to attend a wedding. The rooms were cozy and really clean and well kept. There were fresh pastries and fruits every morning and a stocked fridge with organic breakfast items. The property was spectacular and extremely peaceful. Parking is a good added perk. Definitely going back whenever I am in Austin!


Best B&B in all of Austin!!!

5 on June 03, 2016

We have stayed here numerous times in several of the suites & the ambiance is a force to be reckoned with. The pictures don't do this place justice, it is breath-takingly beautiful. Cata & Doug are sweet, fun & kind hearted. These two know Austin & can recommend some of the neatest places to see. I highly recommend this place & I promise you will not regret giving it a try!


Highly Recommended!!!!

5 on April 02, 2015

We have never stayed at a B&B before. This was a wonderful experience. Very relaxing! Doug was awesome and we loved little Muffin ( sweet little dog). We will definitely be back.


Wonderful Stay

5 on June 09, 2014

This was our first bed and breakfast we have been to and it was amazing. Doug is very accomidating. Great place for our mini honeymoon. Will book again!


Great Time without the city!

5 on March 05, 2014

let me start by saying that this place made me realize that most hotels are really not in the business of providing comfort or relaxation. Casa Del Sol was a most relaxing destination and made us forget all of our troubles. The service is great and Doug made sure that if we needed anything he was available. We rented both rooms and we were very satisfied with the level of comfort and decor. The entire property was clean and well kept. The rooms are decorated with a kitschy southwest feel (Sol is the focus) and the beds are really comfortable. The kitchen areas while a little small were very useful and the smaller unit had a full size refrigerator. this combined with the BBQ in the back yard and the comfort level gets even higher! The grounds are open and green with a fire pit and a fountain that will put you to sleep with its mellow sounds. The Jacuzzi was great and we used it every day of our stay (4 nights). The house dog Muffin was really well behaved and was not the way at any time. All in all a great place to stay and we will definitely be coming back again this year. If you like staying in hotels and you like the impersonal nature of those establishments this place is not for you. If you want to get away and enjoy yourself without any worries then this place is for you!


Our new favortie!

5 on October 29, 2013

This is my fiancé and my new favorite getaway spot! Not only because he proposed to me at this romantic little B&B, but because it is the perfect place to relax for the weekend! The rooms are clean and cozy and their quirkiness is charming! The owners provide great service without being ever-present, giving you plenty of time for privacy out by the pool, on your porch, lounging in one of many comfy spots, or enjoying the view! We will be back at least once a year!


Authentic Hideway

5 on August 29, 2013

We had an amazing evening and morning here. Beautiful property. Beautiful view. Eateries are everywhere. Fresh fruit and pastries for breakfast. The pecan roll was the best I've had. Can't wait to revisit!!


Oh, What a Night!

5 on February 27, 2013

Got married just down the road at Lake Travis and it was just a few minutes away after we left our wedding. Doug and Cata were awesome. Place looked amazing, all the pics cannot really show you this amazing little place. My wife (originally from Austin) said this was typical Austin and was thankful I found this cozy gem. It was perfect spot for us to tour the Hill Country wineries and enjoy a bottle of Cabernet in the hot tub underneath a blanket of Texas stars. Cannot wait to come back and celebrate an anniversary at Casa Del Sol!


the best R and R

4.8 on February 22, 2012

This property and suite was the most private and relaxing places we have stayed. We enjoyed every second! Romantic but also very suited for a man as well. I talked my hubby into a gorgeous leather sofa like theirs for our home; the front blew in and we snuggled in on theirs for a movie and appreciating the real wood fire. The suite allowed us to spend most of our time enjoying the property. The hot tub under the stars, with beautiful views of the lake and lights sealed the deal. The pool was perfect for larger groups as well. There was plenty of spots to lounge, even an outdoor shower. We thought it would be possible to have an intimate wedding there. We thought we might have used a microwave but they had plenty of beautiful dishes to eat in meals there. They had real wine glasses for sitting in front of the fire and watching a movie. We express appreciation to the owners for accommodating us at the last minute; it was a perfect place for recharging !


Wonderful and cozy

4.6 on June 13, 2011

We were there for four days and it was so nice and romantic (as much as can be with a four year old along). Our cottage was so romantically decorated! We had a small kitchen with all appliances needed. The property was clean and well cared for. The owner, Doug, was very nice and helpful but also gave us our space. I am so ready to go back to this BB!!!


Casa del Sol at Lake Travis

4.6 on April 05, 2011

My husband and I just spent this past weekend (April 1-3 2011) here. We were absolutely thrilled with the room and the privacy.Along with a romantic flair too. We needed some quiet,relaxing, LAZY time and that is exactly what we got here. There is plenty to do in the surrounding area if you are looking for that . Such peaceful surroundings made it well worth the stay. The room was very clean and Doug took care of everything. Fresh pastries,fruit,coffee& coffee cream. What we liked MOST was there was not a CLOCK of any kind in the room. Small thing,but when you live your lives on schedules during the week that was a nice plus to us. Only down side was, there was a BIG golf tourney on TV(Shell Open) and there was no ESPN in the room. Wasn't a down side for me,only hubby.:) We recommend this B&B highly if you are looking for "down" time.


Secluded, Near Lake & Fantastic Restaraunts!

4.4 on September 04, 2010

My husband and I, in need of a short mental break from the daily grind, wanted a private place to unwind but near the lake for quick swims and near great food to dine out. Casa Del Sol was just right. With only two cottages on site, we had the hot tub and pool to ourselves both days (day and night). It was quiet-no kids running around...could read a book and listen to the birds sing. The pool and hot tub were clean-a must! The owner was there when you needed him but respectful enough to give you privacy as well. The food in the immediate area was outstanding-4/5 star places like Hudson on the Bend or more moderate priced but exceptional food like Rocco's, Floras or Sandy's for a quick burger. If you're looking for peaceful, this little place tucked away near the lake is great.


Great Place!!!!

4.8 on August 23, 2010

My name is Brenda Conn anad I am very delighted to reccommend Casa de Sol to any and all my friends/family. It was a fabulous weekend getawa. From the moment I entered the bamboo gate, I felt like I was in a secluded, tropical paradise...very peaceful, serene and romantic. The owner, Doug, greeted me with fruit, pasteries and a very welcoming smile. I could go on & on...but bottom line is....it is close in to Austin and it is just what we were looking for. Thank you so much, Doug, for having such a charming retreat. We,ll definitely see you again!! Brenda


Casa del Sol review

3.6 on November 04, 2008

If you are looking for a charming place to stay with a beautiful view and tranquil surroundings, then this is the place for you. We will be back!


2 days on Lake Travis

4.0 on September 23, 2008

Wonderfull service. Very nice place to enjoy some relaxing days. The rooms are lovely and the garden is so relaxing. Doug was very helpful with tips and very attentive.


Beautiful, secluded B&B

4.2 on August 06, 2008

Doug & Cata have created a serene oasis -- gorgeous big trees, pretty flowers and plants, lake views, and an inviting pool/deck area. Our suite was very large and even had DVDs and board games to play! You don't really need to leave the B&B. Doug was present to answer our questions about where to eat, provide daily fresh fruit and pastries, and to send us the items we left in the closet (thank you). We recommend a dip in the pool during the evening hours! Kirstie & Greg Bowen, Dallas, TX


Little Piece of Paradise

5 on July 31, 2008

Looking for some downtime to relax, enjoy scenery, bird watching and great sevice; not to mention the romantic atmosphere...this is the place.


Beautiful, Serene and Tranquil

4.0 on June 25, 2008

If you are looking to get away from it all--this is your place!!!! My husband and I stayed in the Golden Sun and the Lavender Suite and enjoyed our stay in both rooms. Just 5 to 10 minutes drive time to the Oasis and Mansfield Dam Park (great boat launch).


An oasis in the city!!

5 on June 18, 2008

Another outstanding visit, our 4th in 6 years. Gracious hosts, great food, a real relaxing atmosphere by and/or in the pool. Would recommend to anyone!


Very Relaxing!

4.6 on June 18, 2008

Everything was perfect! It was so hard for us to leave! We will be back soon! Thank you for our much needed R & R!


Very nice inn.

3.0 on September 28, 2007

Very nice inn; would stay there again.


What an experience!

4.6 on September 17, 2007

We shared the most invigorating weekend at Casa Del Sol! It is tucked away in serene seclusion but is conveniently located to all of the Austin hot spots. The innkeepers take attention to detail, ambiance and atmosphere to another level.


Casa del Sol Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $129 - $195
  • Reviews (84) 4.5
  • Rooms 5

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5122667098
Top check