Recent Reviews in Tucson, Arizona

A favorite getaway destination! at The Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast (Tucson, Arizona)

5 reviewed on April 30, 2017

Although the accommodations and breakfasts are terrific, it's the people that keep drawing us back to the Azure Gate. Dennis and Christine are truly exceptional hosts! They've created a relaxed and sociable environment that never fails to replenish our souls. We've always enjoyed catching up with them and socializing with the other guests. Already looking forward to our next visit!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful experience at The Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast (Tucson, Arizona)

3.8 reviewed on April 28, 2017

Great breakfast-well balanced nutritional menu; very welcoming, thoughtful and accommodating hosts; loved having a bar frig assigned to my room and access to kitchen for small meal prep/teas. The garden/pool area is inviting and relaxing-from full on sun to dappled shade. Reading light in guest room was a bit dim for my eyesight. Surprised by water sprinkler system at 0600 but, I sleep with all windows open. Looking forward to my return visit next year. Liked being 10 minute walk to shops, LeBuzz cafe plus a few miles from Mount Lemmon. A bit out from downtown yet, this location was fabulous with so much open space. Biking and cycling was great. A bike was delivered to the B&B without fuss.

View more reviews for this inn


A Sanctuary in the Desert at The Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast (Tucson, Arizona)

5 reviewed on April 24, 2017

Let me start by saying, “We LOVE this place. Having made that clear, let me do my best to give a balanced review. First, location. If being minutes from downtown is important, this may not be your best choice. Figure on at least a 25 minute drive. It is, however, conveniently located for both Saguaro National Park and Sabino Canyon. Second, accommodations. There are four bedrooms. Only four. “Sabino” is within hearing distance of the kitchen, so when Dennis begins making breakfast, before 7, you can hear the gentle sounds of his preparations. If this would be bad for you, choose one of the other rooms. Third, the grounds. If the desert and its creatures scare you, consider a Motel 6. The Azure Gate is set on 5 acres of lots of prickly things, and lots of creatures. It is quiet, peaceful, beautiful…a desert sanctuary. The pool and patio may tempt you not to leave the grounds. Fourth, the breakfast. Look at the pictures. It tastes even better than it looks (if that is possible), not least because of the conversations that arise around the breakfast table. Finally, the hosts/the ambience. Christine and Dennis have created a place that you will feel and experience, not just spend the night. In fairness, we have only stayed in about a bit more than a dozen B&B’s (most of them really, really nice). So keep that in mind, but we have never been at one as wonderful. The owners strike the perfect balance of being welcoming, helpful, delightful, fascinating, and gentle. They are easy to be around. They have created something that reflects their love of where they live and what they provide, and share it graciously, creating the space for you to enjoy quietly, peacefully. Also, there are treats – we had a fabulous trail mix, and cookies. Be sure to look at Christine’s children’s books. Beautiful. So, one last thing: We met a couple who now spend six weeks a year there, and have been visiting for more than a decade. ‘Nuff said.

View more reviews for this inn


Another fantastic visit to Azure Gate at The Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast (Tucson, Arizona)

5 reviewed on April 24, 2017

We have been visiting Azure Gate for 10 years and we hope to continue our visits. It is truly an oasis in the Sonoran desert. A beautiful property, with well appointed, comfortable rooms and the most delicious breakfast we have ever eaten. Always amazed that Dennis and Christine are able to come up with new recipes, even though we have been visiting for so many years.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect Desert Retreat at Casa Tierra Adobe Bed & Breakfast Inn (Tucson, Arizona)

3.8 reviewed on April 12, 2017

The Casa is out from Tucson, near the Desert Museum and West Saguaro National Park,located in a quiet and serene location in a charming abode hacienda. Dave, the owner, is a very welcoming host and his breakfast menus are to write home about.The distance from nightly dining means you may decide to snack in your room some nights. Our room had a sink, fridge and microwave which were very handy. We enjoyed the communal breakfasts with the other guests while we were there.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely getaway at The SunCatcher Fine Country Inn (Tucson, Arizona)

5 reviewed on March 21, 2017

We celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary here. We loved the country location with easy access to local restaurants and sights. The breakfasts were to die for, nothing like we have ever experienced. Great wifi and tv reception so we didn't have to miss our March Madness games!

View more reviews for this inn


Winter escape in Tucson at Casa Tierra Adobe Bed & Breakfast Inn (Tucson, Arizona)

5 reviewed on March 04, 2017

Dave was an excellent host (and chef!), and the Casa Tierra lived up to its excellent reputation. Comfortable rooms, great breakfasts, and wonderful service. The location on the west side of Tucson was a bonus (since we went to Kitt Peak and the Arizona Sonora Desert Museum, and hiked in the western portion of Saguaro National Park). Definite thumbs up!

View more reviews for this inn


What a Gem! at The Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast (Tucson, Arizona)

5 reviewed on March 02, 2017

This is a wonderful bed and breakfast. Dennis and Christine are a special couple who provide a quiet respite from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. The gourmet breakfasts were outstanding and it was fun to visit with other guests around the breakfast table. We feel lucky to have had the opportunity to stay at the Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing Hospitality at The Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast (Tucson, Arizona)

5 reviewed on February 28, 2017

Such a great place to stay in Tucson - Dennis and Christine are wonderful people who truly care for their guests. Dennis was extremely helpful and knowledgeable about wildlife in the area. Great place to watch the sunrise and sunset. The breakfast is out of this world! This was our first BnB and Azure Gate set the bar very high - we will definitely be back in the future!

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing place to stay at Casa Tierra Adobe Bed & Breakfast Inn (Tucson, Arizona)

5 reviewed on February 19, 2017

Beautiful scenery, lovely interior designs, host was outstanding, and you are within minutes of hiking trails and the desert museum.

View more reviews for this inn


Off the beaten path, but worth the effort at Casa Tierra Adobe Bed & Breakfast Inn (Tucson, Arizona)

4.6 reviewed on February 19, 2017

This B&B is located a good 15 minutes west of Tucson but it's worth the effort. It's very close to the western branch of the National Park and other west of Tucson attractions. The breakfasts were truly outstanding and the room was very comfortable. ' I gave the rooms 4 stars rather than 5 only because the bed was a Queen size rather than a King, which would have improved the bed's comfort.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Hospitality at The Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast (Tucson, Arizona)

5 reviewed on February 08, 2017

Christine and Dennis were gracious hosts and we had a good hiking around the acres of desert landscaping back of the B&B. Beautiful setting and Chef Dennis was an artist with breakfast! We toured Desert National Parks, Missions, and southwest artist galleries in the area.

View more reviews for this inn


Seventh year in a row and already booked for 2018 at The Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast (Tucson, Arizona)

5 reviewed on February 06, 2017

This is simply one of our favorite places in the world. Returning truly feels like coming home. We've stayed either of the casitas the past several years, and the views of the Senoran Desert with the mountains in the background are beautiful and the sunrises and sets are often breathtaking. Dennis and Christine are truly wonderful hosts and now friends. The breakfasts are unique and outstanding and everything about the place is truly five stars. Looking forward to next year.

View more reviews for this inn


Returning for our 13th time in 2018 ... and we're not the only ones who keep coming back at The Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast (Tucson, Arizona)

5 reviewed on February 05, 2017

We ended up first time at the Azure Gate by accident. A different B&B was full. They referred us to the Azure Gate ... and the rest, as they say..... Look: we have a second home we rent to people, in France. We know what guests expect. And we know what we expect, as frequent world travelers. And everything we want, the Azure Gate thinks of. Because that's who Dennis (a former "humane management" consultant) and Christine (children's book author) are: thoughtful about the comfort of their guests. When we arrived late from the airport this time (Jan 2013), we found the lights on, a bottle of good white wine on the table, two different snack jars full to the brim, and a big bouquet of gorgeous roses in our living room. We go here for (1) the attitude, which is relaxed; (2) the hospitality of Dennis and Christine, which is flawless; (3) the incredible breakfasts they make, with Dennis as lead and Christine as sous chef [think of the most complicated, gourmet, exquisite breakfast you've encountered? this will equal or better it, morning after morning]; (4) the other guests [in Jan. we had to tear ourselves away from the breakfast table, exchanging tips and stories; great crowd; all ages; very interesting; varies daily]; (5) Tucson generally [a fascinating city that just keeps getting more intriguing; a blue city in a red state; home of a great research university, the world's best air museum [Smithsonian only wishes], incredible food [try Feast on Speedway or the distressingly-unpretentious Poco and Mom's on S. Kolb], and surrounded by hike-worthy mountains; and (6) cacti. Going to Tucson from New England is like going to Mars. We love the saguaro. I bring leather gloves so I can safely touch cacti. The Azure Gate is right in the middle of the scenery, on the skirts of the Catalinas.

View more reviews for this inn


Retreat In The Desert at The Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast (Tucson, Arizona)

4.8 reviewed on February 05, 2017

We spent eight wonderful days in Christine and Dennis' home on the outskirts of east Tucson. Actually, the Azure Gate is a compound including the main house plus smaller casitas which surround a lovely pool and which in turn are surrounded by a manicured desert garden. The grounds are home to many birds plus a number of critters who occasionally visit, as evidenced by Dennis' professional photos as well as animal tracks. The pool looked very inviting and probably is very refreshing during the warmer months. We came down from Washington State in January for some mid-winter warmth and hiking in the beautiful surrounding parks in the desert and mountains. Our room, The Saguaro, was in the main house and was large, comfortable and clean. The bathroom was detached (accessed right outside the bedroom door) but private and the fact that it was not en suite was not an issue at all. The room comes with very nice robes but we never ran into anyone. The Saguaro also has a very private patio which is a nice place for a glass of wine while relaxing, listening to the birds after a day of hiking. The other room in the main house has a bathroom en suite but no patio. The other two rooms are casitas with more space as well as kitchenettes. Dennis prepares truly gourmet breakfasts which are served at the large communal table where the guests get to interact and share their adventures of the prior day and discuss plans for the current day. Dennis and Christine have loads of information on sites, museums, hikes, birds, animals and local restaurants and are more than willing to help you plan your day. The Azure Gate with its owners is one of those special bed & breakfasts that make you feel comfortably at home and makes you want to return. One pair of guests during our stay were on their 15th annual pilgrimage to the Azure Gate. This oasis is not to be missed.

View more reviews for this inn


Our every year visit at The Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast (Tucson, Arizona)

5 reviewed on February 05, 2017

Great in every respect.... Comfort. Privacy. Breakfast. Hosts. Area. Rooms. We've stayed here at least 10 times. (Only reason we aren't here is because space wasn't available.) Lovely lovely special special.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful B&B, great location to explore Tucson and surrounding area. at The Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast (Tucson, Arizona)

4.8 reviewed on January 11, 2017

My parents and I stayed with Dennis and Christine for 5 days in December. Our plan was to stay for 4 nights and we extended to 5 because of the great location and the comfort of Azure Gate. Dennis and Christine have gone above and beyond when making sure their guests are comfortable and well fed. The breakfasts are amazing, each day was a new treat. We stayed in the main house and enjoyed coming home to a warm kitchen. We will definitely return.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Getaway at Casa Tierra Adobe Bed & Breakfast Inn (Tucson, Arizona)

5 reviewed on November 05, 2016

Super Friendly Dave waited up for us to check-in because we got behind on our schedule. Great brealfasts...creative use of local ingredients! A quiet, "gentle" atmoshere. Dave was also happy to allow us to host family for a dinner and relaxation.

View more reviews for this inn


A Beautiful serene Oasis in Tucson at The Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast (Tucson, Arizona)

4.8 reviewed on October 22, 2016

A great environment with grounds and buildings that make you feel at home as soon as you enter through the gate. Denise and Christine are passionate about their home and it shows every detail.

View more reviews for this inn


A peaceful retreat at The Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast (Tucson, Arizona)

5 reviewed on October 08, 2016

Our room was quiet. There was a library and living room for reading, all sorts of snacks available in the kitchen. Breakfasts were a work of art and delicious to the last bite. Dennis and Christine were gracious hosts.

View more reviews for this inn


First Time Stay and a Discovered Gem at The Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast (Tucson, Arizona)

5 reviewed on October 03, 2016

This B & B is in a quiet location in Tucson that has a lot of space in order to attract birds and wildlife. The innkeepers were wonderful in making us feel at home. We had access to tea and snacks and our room was decorated with a southwestern feel. Dennis' breakfast was phenomenal. We'll certainly be back.

View more reviews for this inn


Feel at home away from home" Beautiful property and great hospitality" at Hacienda Linda (Tucson, Arizona)

5 reviewed on October 03, 2016

Had a great stay with Dan and Linda. Very welcoming, beautiful home, great information, great location, outstanding breakfast, outstanding accommodations, and oh so much more. You will not go wrong staying at this great place with the backdrop of a national park out your back door. 5-star treatment!!! Dan and Linda make you feel like long time friends immediately upon on arrival. Property both inside and outside is immaculate from well maintained garden to unique interior decorated rooms by Linda. The outdoor shower is a MUST.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful property and great hospitality at The Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast (Tucson, Arizona)

5 reviewed on October 03, 2016

Had a great stay with Dennis and Christie. Very welcoming, beautiful home, great information, great location, outstanding breakfast, outstanding accommodations, and oh so much more. You will not go wrong staying at this great place. The home-made trial mix is great as well. 5-star treatment!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Superb B&B at The Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast (Tucson, Arizona)

4.6 reviewed on October 02, 2016

A fantastic property in a wonderful location. There is an amazing desert garden, and a lovely swimming pool. Great room too. The hosts are fantastic and provide a real gourmet breakfast. We would definitely stay here again should we return to Tucson.

View more reviews for this inn


Eco Friendly B&B at Paca de Paja B&B (Tucson, AZ)

5 reviewed on September 27, 2016

From the moment you arrive Caroline treats you like family. This is the place to stay if you are looking for peace and quite. The breakfast is beyond amazing, from fresh squeezed orange juice to home made breads. The grounds are beautiful with many places for bird watching or catch of glimpse of a passing Javelina. We had a wonderful stay and returned a second time. I would highly recommend Paca de Paja.

View more reviews for this inn


A big thank you! at The Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast (Tucson, Arizona)

4.6 reviewed on September 03, 2016

What a gem this place is! My husband and I stayed for 3 nights as part of a trip from Australia. Christine was super helpful (you couldn't meet a more delightful lady if you tried) and gave us directions and suggestions based on our interests. Dennis is a wizard in the kitchen and made the best breakfasts we have had during our trip. The property itself is also lovely and has a great ambience about it. Thank you for making our stay a real highlight - Sarah and Joey

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay in Tucson at The Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast (Tucson, Arizona)

5 reviewed on August 03, 2016

We stayed four nights in the Catalina House in July. The accommodations were excellent but the breakfast was beyond excellent. Dennis is a chef who cares about presentation, quality and texture when preparing his meals. This was evident each morning. Christine was a warm and gracious hostess. I look forward to visiting again.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful desert experience in Tucson at The Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast (Tucson, Arizona)

4.8 reviewed on July 12, 2016

About the best setting in Tucson. Neat property. Attentive hosts and wonderful food. I have stayed there during two visits in the last few years and enjoyed it very much. Looking forward to the next visit.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Experience at Casa Tierra Adobe Bed & Breakfast Inn (Tucson, Arizona)

5 reviewed on June 06, 2016

Excellent, peaceful getaway in the desert!

View more reviews for this inn


The Best! at The Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast (Tucson, Arizona)

4.8 reviewed on May 23, 2016

Our second visit to The Azure Gate was every bit as enjoyable as our first. The highlight is Dennis's cooking (no better anywhere!) but what attracts us more than anything is the hospitality of hosts Dennis & Christine. On a stroll around the large property we saw all kinds of wildlife including a bobcat! We have found a new Favorite Place in Tucson and will for sure be back many times.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}