Recent Reviews in Tucson, Arizona

Delightful Stay at the Desert Dove at Desert Dove Bed & Breakfast (Tucson, Arizona)

5 reviewed on March 10, 2017

The perfect place to stay during a very busy week in the greater Tucson area. Harvey and Betty were delightful hosts.

View more reviews for this inn


Winter escape in Tucson at Casa Tierra Adobe Bed & Breakfast Inn (Tucson, Arizona)

5 reviewed on March 04, 2017

Dave was an excellent host (and chef!), and the Casa Tierra lived up to its excellent reputation. Comfortable rooms, great breakfasts, and wonderful service. The location on the west side of Tucson was a bonus (since we went to Kitt Peak and the Arizona Sonora Desert Museum, and hiked in the western portion of Saguaro National Park). Definite thumbs up!

View more reviews for this inn


What a Gem! at The Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast (Tucson, Arizona)

5 reviewed on March 02, 2017

This is a wonderful bed and breakfast. Dennis and Christine are a special couple who provide a quiet respite from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. The gourmet breakfasts were outstanding and it was fun to visit with other guests around the breakfast table. We feel lucky to have had the opportunity to stay at the Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing Hospitality at The Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast (Tucson, Arizona)

5 reviewed on February 28, 2017

Such a great place to stay in Tucson - Dennis and Christine are wonderful people who truly care for their guests. Dennis was extremely helpful and knowledgeable about wildlife in the area. Great place to watch the sunrise and sunset. The breakfast is out of this world! This was our first BnB and Azure Gate set the bar very high - we will definitely be back in the future!

View more reviews for this inn


A great place to stay close to the Saguaro National Park at Desert Dove Bed & Breakfast (Tucson, Arizona)

5 reviewed on February 11, 2017

We stayed at this bed and breakfast because of its close proximity to Saguaro National Park. It was an excellent place to stay. The hosts greeted us warmly when we arrived and showed us around the property. The room was large and the bed was very comfortable. It was a very quiet location and we slept very well, Breakfast was right at the time they told us it would be and was very good. There is a common room where you can do laundry and have access to a refrigerator and other things. The location is very pretty. I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone staying in the Tucson area.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Hospitality at The Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast (Tucson, Arizona)

5 reviewed on February 08, 2017

Christine and Dennis were gracious hosts and we had a good hiking around the acres of desert landscaping back of the B&B. Beautiful setting and Chef Dennis was an artist with breakfast! We toured Desert National Parks, Missions, and southwest artist galleries in the area.

View more reviews for this inn


Seventh year in a row and already booked for 2018 at The Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast (Tucson, Arizona)

5 reviewed on February 06, 2017

This is simply one of our favorite places in the world. Returning truly feels like coming home. We've stayed either of the casitas the past several years, and the views of the Senoran Desert with the mountains in the background are beautiful and the sunrises and sets are often breathtaking. Dennis and Christine are truly wonderful hosts and now friends. The breakfasts are unique and outstanding and everything about the place is truly five stars. Looking forward to next year.

View more reviews for this inn


Returning for our 13th time in 2018 ... and we're not the only ones who keep coming back at The Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast (Tucson, Arizona)

5 reviewed on February 05, 2017

We ended up first time at the Azure Gate by accident. A different B&B was full. They referred us to the Azure Gate ... and the rest, as they say..... Look: we have a second home we rent to people, in France. We know what guests expect. And we know what we expect, as frequent world travelers. And everything we want, the Azure Gate thinks of. Because that's who Dennis (a former "humane management" consultant) and Christine (children's book author) are: thoughtful about the comfort of their guests. When we arrived late from the airport this time (Jan 2013), we found the lights on, a bottle of good white wine on the table, two different snack jars full to the brim, and a big bouquet of gorgeous roses in our living room. We go here for (1) the attitude, which is relaxed; (2) the hospitality of Dennis and Christine, which is flawless; (3) the incredible breakfasts they make, with Dennis as lead and Christine as sous chef [think of the most complicated, gourmet, exquisite breakfast you've encountered? this will equal or better it, morning after morning]; (4) the other guests [in Jan. we had to tear ourselves away from the breakfast table, exchanging tips and stories; great crowd; all ages; very interesting; varies daily]; (5) Tucson generally [a fascinating city that just keeps getting more intriguing; a blue city in a red state; home of a great research university, the world's best air museum [Smithsonian only wishes], incredible food [try Feast on Speedway or the distressingly-unpretentious Poco and Mom's on S. Kolb], and surrounded by hike-worthy mountains; and (6) cacti. Going to Tucson from New England is like going to Mars. We love the saguaro. I bring leather gloves so I can safely touch cacti. The Azure Gate is right in the middle of the scenery, on the skirts of the Catalinas.

View more reviews for this inn


Retreat In The Desert at The Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast (Tucson, Arizona)

4.8 reviewed on February 05, 2017

We spent eight wonderful days in Christine and Dennis' home on the outskirts of east Tucson. Actually, the Azure Gate is a compound including the main house plus smaller casitas which surround a lovely pool and which in turn are surrounded by a manicured desert garden. The grounds are home to many birds plus a number of critters who occasionally visit, as evidenced by Dennis' professional photos as well as animal tracks. The pool looked very inviting and probably is very refreshing during the warmer months. We came down from Washington State in January for some mid-winter warmth and hiking in the beautiful surrounding parks in the desert and mountains. Our room, The Saguaro, was in the main house and was large, comfortable and clean. The bathroom was detached (accessed right outside the bedroom door) but private and the fact that it was not en suite was not an issue at all. The room comes with very nice robes but we never ran into anyone. The Saguaro also has a very private patio which is a nice place for a glass of wine while relaxing, listening to the birds after a day of hiking. The other room in the main house has a bathroom en suite but no patio. The other two rooms are casitas with more space as well as kitchenettes. Dennis prepares truly gourmet breakfasts which are served at the large communal table where the guests get to interact and share their adventures of the prior day and discuss plans for the current day. Dennis and Christine have loads of information on sites, museums, hikes, birds, animals and local restaurants and are more than willing to help you plan your day. The Azure Gate with its owners is one of those special bed & breakfasts that make you feel comfortably at home and makes you want to return. One pair of guests during our stay were on their 15th annual pilgrimage to the Azure Gate. This oasis is not to be missed.

View more reviews for this inn


Our every year visit at The Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast (Tucson, Arizona)

5 reviewed on February 05, 2017

Great in every respect.... Comfort. Privacy. Breakfast. Hosts. Area. Rooms. We've stayed here at least 10 times. (Only reason we aren't here is because space wasn't available.) Lovely lovely special special.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful B&B, great location to explore Tucson and surrounding area. at The Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast (Tucson, Arizona)

4.8 reviewed on January 11, 2017

My parents and I stayed with Dennis and Christine for 5 days in December. Our plan was to stay for 4 nights and we extended to 5 because of the great location and the comfort of Azure Gate. Dennis and Christine have gone above and beyond when making sure their guests are comfortable and well fed. The breakfasts are amazing, each day was a new treat. We stayed in the main house and enjoyed coming home to a warm kitchen. We will definitely return.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Getaway at Casa Tierra Adobe Bed & Breakfast Inn (Tucson, Arizona)

5 reviewed on November 05, 2016

Super Friendly Dave waited up for us to check-in because we got behind on our schedule. Great brealfasts...creative use of local ingredients! A quiet, "gentle" atmoshere. Dave was also happy to allow us to host family for a dinner and relaxation.

View more reviews for this inn


An escape to a relaxing time, at Desert Dove Bed & Breakfast (Tucson, Arizona)

5 reviewed on October 23, 2016

We were met by Betty and Harvey, who genuinely welcomed us into their beautiful home. The room was comfortable and decorated in interesting antiques. The gardens were beautiful and refreshing. The full moon gave it a romantic atmosphere. The breakfast was delicious and appealing with nutritious food on more antique tableware. The conversation was enjoyable and informative. Loved hearing all of their stories and seeing their treasures!

View more reviews for this inn


A Beautiful serene Oasis in Tucson at The Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast (Tucson, Arizona)

4.8 reviewed on October 22, 2016

A great environment with grounds and buildings that make you feel at home as soon as you enter through the gate. Denise and Christine are passionate about their home and it shows every detail.

View more reviews for this inn


A peaceful retreat at The Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast (Tucson, Arizona)

5 reviewed on October 08, 2016

Our room was quiet. There was a library and living room for reading, all sorts of snacks available in the kitchen. Breakfasts were a work of art and delicious to the last bite. Dennis and Christine were gracious hosts.

View more reviews for this inn


First Time Stay and a Discovered Gem at The Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast (Tucson, Arizona)

5 reviewed on October 03, 2016

This B & B is in a quiet location in Tucson that has a lot of space in order to attract birds and wildlife. The innkeepers were wonderful in making us feel at home. We had access to tea and snacks and our room was decorated with a southwestern feel. Dennis' breakfast was phenomenal. We'll certainly be back.

View more reviews for this inn


Feel at home away from home" Beautiful property and great hospitality" at Hacienda Linda (Tucson, Arizona)

5 reviewed on October 03, 2016

Had a great stay with Dan and Linda. Very welcoming, beautiful home, great information, great location, outstanding breakfast, outstanding accommodations, and oh so much more. You will not go wrong staying at this great place with the backdrop of a national park out your back door. 5-star treatment!!! Dan and Linda make you feel like long time friends immediately upon on arrival. Property both inside and outside is immaculate from well maintained garden to unique interior decorated rooms by Linda. The outdoor shower is a MUST.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful property and great hospitality at The Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast (Tucson, Arizona)

5 reviewed on October 03, 2016

Had a great stay with Dennis and Christie. Very welcoming, beautiful home, great information, great location, outstanding breakfast, outstanding accommodations, and oh so much more. You will not go wrong staying at this great place. The home-made trial mix is great as well. 5-star treatment!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Superb B&B at The Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast (Tucson, Arizona)

4.6 reviewed on October 02, 2016

A fantastic property in a wonderful location. There is an amazing desert garden, and a lovely swimming pool. Great room too. The hosts are fantastic and provide a real gourmet breakfast. We would definitely stay here again should we return to Tucson.

View more reviews for this inn


Eco Friendly B&B at Paca de Paja B&B (Tucson, AZ)

5 reviewed on September 27, 2016

From the moment you arrive Caroline treats you like family. This is the place to stay if you are looking for peace and quite. The breakfast is beyond amazing, from fresh squeezed orange juice to home made breads. The grounds are beautiful with many places for bird watching or catch of glimpse of a passing Javelina. We had a wonderful stay and returned a second time. I would highly recommend Paca de Paja.

View more reviews for this inn


A big thank you! at The Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast (Tucson, Arizona)

4.6 reviewed on September 03, 2016

What a gem this place is! My husband and I stayed for 3 nights as part of a trip from Australia. Christine was super helpful (you couldn't meet a more delightful lady if you tried) and gave us directions and suggestions based on our interests. Dennis is a wizard in the kitchen and made the best breakfasts we have had during our trip. The property itself is also lovely and has a great ambience about it. Thank you for making our stay a real highlight - Sarah and Joey

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay in Tucson at The Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast (Tucson, Arizona)

5 reviewed on August 03, 2016

We stayed four nights in the Catalina House in July. The accommodations were excellent but the breakfast was beyond excellent. Dennis is a chef who cares about presentation, quality and texture when preparing his meals. This was evident each morning. Christine was a warm and gracious hostess. I look forward to visiting again.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful desert experience in Tucson at The Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast (Tucson, Arizona)

4.8 reviewed on July 12, 2016

About the best setting in Tucson. Neat property. Attentive hosts and wonderful food. I have stayed there during two visits in the last few years and enjoyed it very much. Looking forward to the next visit.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Experience at Casa Tierra Adobe Bed & Breakfast Inn (Tucson, Arizona)

5 reviewed on June 06, 2016

Excellent, peaceful getaway in the desert!

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely B & B Among the Saguaros at Desert Dove Bed & Breakfast (Tucson, Arizona)

5 reviewed on May 30, 2016

We had two wonderful nights at the Desert Dove and wish that we could have stayed longer. Betty and Harvey are so warm and friendly. We could have talked to them all day! Betty's breakfasts are incredible and she is very accommodating as far as any special dietary needs. The rooms are very private and we liked having our own entrance. Like the rest of the house, the rooms are beautifully decorated with Betty's collections. The view from the back patio is amazing. We were busy sightseeing during the day but wish that we had planned at least one day to relax here. Harvey feeds the birds in the morning and they are gorgeous! There is also a hot tub and a lovely garden area. We did not want to leave!

View more reviews for this inn


The Best! at The Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast (Tucson, Arizona)

4.8 reviewed on May 23, 2016

Our second visit to The Azure Gate was every bit as enjoyable as our first. The highlight is Dennis's cooking (no better anywhere!) but what attracts us more than anything is the hospitality of hosts Dennis & Christine. On a stroll around the large property we saw all kinds of wildlife including a bobcat! We have found a new Favorite Place in Tucson and will for sure be back many times.

View more reviews for this inn


Oasis in the Desert at The Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast (Tucson, Arizona)

5 reviewed on May 18, 2016

This was our tenth visit to the Azure Gate B&B. For us it is visiting friends. We stayed for a month from March 27th to April 26th. There are many reasons to recommend the Azure Gate, but the key is Dennis and Christine. They want you to have a good time at their B&B and in Tucson, and do everything they can to make that happen. There are two rooms in the house and two casitas on the property, and all are wonderful. The breakfasts are out of this world. Guests rush back to their rooms for their cameras to take pictures of the breakfast offerings. Christine refers to the outside area and patio as the "Oasis", as do the guests. The area is quite beautiful and peaceful with a variety of sitting (sun and shade) to enjoy the surroundings. As well, the five acres surrounding the Azure Gate allows enjoyment of the local vegetation. If you plan on visiting Tucson, the Azure Gate is the place to stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Serenity at The Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast (Tucson, Arizona)

5 reviewed on May 18, 2016

Our stay at Azure gate B&B exceeded our expectation. Sure the breakfasts were gourmet quality and interesting because Dennis loves to cook. But that might be the least of it. Dennis is a nature photographer and shared photos and information that enhanced our trip to Arizona. The home and grounds and the host and hostess exude a serenity that is contagious. We left Azure Gate to continue our trip both very mellow and looking forward to more adventure. Hobson and Andrea

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful stay at Casa Tierra Adobe Bed & Breakfast Inn (Tucson, Arizona)

4.8 reviewed on May 15, 2016

A very elegant and cozy inn near Sonora desert museum and Saguaro NP with great desert views and amazing breakfast. Got restaurants recommendations and the food is so good

View more reviews for this inn


Azure Gate B&B, A Lovely Retreat at The Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast (Tucson, Arizona)

5 reviewed on May 11, 2016

We stayed recently at Azure Gate B&B. From the fine linen sheets to the superior food to the amazing botanical grounds, the experience was delightful. Best of all was the warmth of our hosts. My husband, a wonderful cook, particularly enjoyed being allowed in the kitchen to watch Dennis create his amazing gourmet breakfasts. We felt like family and hesitant to leave! A lovely experience.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}