The Nest @ Casa de Halcyon Reviews

Overall
4.9

View details

  • Guest room5.0
  • Service5
  • Value4.9
  • Cleanliness5.0
  • Onsite Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
28 Reviews

Write A Review

We had a great stay with our 5mnths old babyboy. Felt like home!

5 on May 07, 2017

We had a great time with our five month old babyboy. The hospitality was outstanding. Friendly and so helpfull. The room was fantastic. Walking distance to nice modern restaurants / shops. Downtown Nashville is also not too far. When you visit Nashville, this is the place to stay!


Spring stay

4.6 on April 29, 2017

We really enjoyed our stay at The Nest. The room was great, walking distance to shopping and restaurants! The owners are very welcoming and friendly. Highly recommend!


Weekend get away

5 on April 07, 2017

My husband and I took a much needed weekend get away. When we arrived we were greeted by Lanny and instantly felt welcomed. The Nest was beautiful, relaxing and just what we were looking for. Lanny gave us some great insight on restaurants and things to do as this was our first time in Nashville. He made sure we had everything we needed, he checked in on us each day. He also helped us when we had some tire issues on our way home. We can't wait to come back and will definitely stay here again.


Had a great time on my weekend visit

5 on March 07, 2017

Leslie and Lonny, Thanks for letting me take over your beautifully finished “studio” digs. How did you know I needed an escape from the drywall dust generated from the renovatio of my frigid waterfront condo in Rochester, NY? …… my lungs thank you for the fresh Tennessee air as well and this comes straight from my stent-riddled heart ¿ Lonny is quite the “powerhouse of personality” and it’s obvious he is full of positive energy. I love it! My Nashville associates tell me Leslie is “absolutely amazing”, which I’m sure is accurate to a “T”. In two short days at the end of a week-long conference, I was able to hang with my Austin based sister and niece as well as a couple of my transplanted northern band members. We were introduced to a few local musically minded people they have met in the years they’ve spent here. This includes newly arrived transplants from Boston living a few blocks up the street, who are following their son’s dream come true as he hits the road and builds a future in the business. Every single one of these people have been polite, friendly, interesting and accommodating….. which reminds me of something called Southern hospitality. Although I have been here a few times in the past, this was the first time I got to enjoy the exploration of your charming revitalized neighborhoods. I told my sister to ditch her Austin digs, migrate up here and I won’t be far behind! The weather, the musicianship and the people seem better here anyway! The map shows some interesting waterways which will be the focus of today’s exploration. Who knows, maybe I will retire on a giant houseboat and write yet another song about relaxing cold beer consumption and Evinrude propulsion – maybe it will include the line “I Love (leaving) NY” Tom McNall


Nice change of pace...

4.6 on March 02, 2017

Good location to get off the beaten path, yet close to everything. Great Host, nice atmosphere.


Great place to stay to get off the beaten path...

4.4 on February 19, 2017

The Nest was a nice break from the hustle and bustle of down-town. The 12 South area was nice and it is a good way to see some different parts of Nashville. Lanny was a great host and went the extra distance to make us feel welcome, but yet gave us our privacy.


Restful

5 on October 19, 2016

The Nest was the perfect haven of rest I needed in the middle of a busy, conference trip. Everything was beautiful and the hosts very kind. I really appreciated the healthy snacks and water left for munching as eating well while traveling can be tricky. It was my first trip to Nashville and I am looking forward to coming back.


Loved our stay!!

5 on October 03, 2016

Loved our stay at The Nest!! Lanny was so helpful and full of information on the area! Room and facility is clean and beautiful. Lots of treats and beverages. Wish we could of spent more time enjoying the patio. Great location, can walk to many shops and restaurants! Can't wait to visit again! Lorrie & Mike Mariani, Cleveland, Ohio


Best stay ever!

5 on September 21, 2016

First time staying at a bed and breakfast but Lonnie made the stay wonderful! When we first arrived he gave us the warmest welcome and gave us a tour. He also left out lots of great snacks( a lot gluten free yay!) I felt like I was staying with family, it was such a warm and welcoming place. I would highly recommend staying there to anyone! A million thanks Lonnie!


A Great Find in the 12S Neighborhood with Awesome Hosts!

5 on August 02, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed a kid-free weekend in Nashville recently and decided to revisit the 12 South neighborhood after staying there four years earlier. The place we stayed at last time was not available so I looked for alternatives and came across The Nest. I could not have been more pleased. Although I sought out a bed and breakfast, we were completely satisfied with just the bed option given the dining options in the area. Lanny keeps the refreshment station stocked with more than enough items for a short stay and my daughters -- before we handed them off to grandparents -- were raving about the jellybeans and Hershey Kiss jars in the room! As far as hosts go, Lanny is among the best I have encountered. He was accessible when needed and gracious at all times. He saw that we brought a couple bottles of wine with us and promptly went to get "good" glasses to supplement the standard wine glasses in the refreshment station. He was quick to offer up suggestions when needed and eager to learn about new alternatives in the area. A final example: we had a two night stay (Friday/Saturday) and since he did not have someone checking in on Sunday, he offered us to stay as long as we needed on Sunday and even gave us the option to stay overnight without charging an extra night. It was his way of acknowledging that we were kid-free that weekend and may want to extend the time away from home. We ended up going home on Sunday, but we did extend the stay until the early evening! It was an excellent stay -- you can do no wrong in selecting The Nest.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so very much for the amazing review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. Hope you come visit again.

- Lanny West (innkeeper)


Fabulous space and location!

4.6 on June 27, 2016

Walking distance to 12S restaurants and shopping. Quick uber ride to downtown/Broadway. Super clean and all amenities! Great snacks included, but no breakfast. This was a bit of a surprise since it was on B&B.com We did use the owner's recommendation to hike one of the waterfall trails-beautiful if you can make the over hour drive. Overall, wonderful trip!


To notch B&B

5 on June 16, 2016

Love this place! We got there a little later than expected and the owners were right there ready to greet us. Very helpful/informative during check in. Place was super tidy and clean. Gave us tips where to go for food and shopping or bars. We were there during CMA's so 12south neighborhood wasn't super busy. Walking distance to the neighborhood hot spots! Easy to get to. Guaranteed parking. They had supplies and coffee and water and tons of other things. I really enjoyed our first stay here and we will totally be back for more! Highly recommended! You will not be let down!


Perfect

5 on June 13, 2016

If there was a rating higher than Outstanding I would give it. I almost never take time to write reviews, but not to do so in this case would just be wrong. Everything about The Nest is perfect; from the location, the physical set up, privacy and the hospitality extended everything was all that could be asked for. In a city with a lot to do it is the perfect place to stay to be able to get to all the city offers and then quickly retreat to a great place to relax in a great neighborhood. We will be back, and we would not want to stay any place other than The Next. Thanks Lanny & Leslie for such a great experience. Herb & Jodi


Don't hesitate, just book

5 on June 04, 2016

We had a perfect stay in the Nest. You've got your own very private studio, beautifully decorated and stocked with everything you could possibly need (coffee/tea, snacks, the fluffiest towels, soft drinks, books, even a garden and a parking spot). First we contemplated staying in the city center, but we are so happy that we didn't. 12 south is a vibrant non-touristy neighborhood with tons of bars and restaurants just around the corner of the Nest. The city center is easily reached by Uber (costs about 6 dollars). And Lanny could easily win the host-of-the-year award :) (P.S. I had to rate onsite dining, there is no dining in the Nest, but as I said, many restaurants at walking distance)


Quiet retreat in a lively town

5 on April 11, 2016

We really enjoyed staying at The Nest for the two nights we were in Nashville. Our schedule was pretty much taken up with our son's engagement party, so it was nice to have The Nest as our getaway. Lanny and Leslie thought of everything when designing this wonderful space! We can't think of the last time we stayed somewhere and couldn't stop telling our friends and family how great the accommodations were. Thank you Lanny and Leslie for making our weekend so special!! Craig & Alma


Wow, wow, wow

5 on April 06, 2016

My husband and I have stayed at other B&Bs in Nashville and across the country and, no matter how lovely the pictures are, there's always a bit of worry -- Will it be as clean and comfortable as it looks? Will it be private? Is the neighborhood going to be safe and walkable? Is it really as close to shops and restaurants as they say? I can honestly say, this is the first time we've stayed somewhere that there were literally no disappointments. I can't say enough good things about The Nest and our gracious and generous host, Lanny. The space is a serene get-away yet within 2 short blocks of the 12South which is teeming with great shops and restaurants. The bed is super comfortable and the shower is divine. The off-street secure parking is an added bonus. (The neighborhood is perfectly safe, it's just nice to have one's car off the street which has been a drawback as some of the places we've stayed.) There was even a fire pit for our use. Truly, they have thought of everything to make their guests feel welcome. We will definitely be back - with The Nest we feel like we've found a home away from home - and a friend! Amy & Ryan, Kansas City, MO.


Highly recommended!

5 on April 03, 2016

We have visited Nashville many times, but this was our first stay at The Nest. It will not be our last. Lanny was a great host making us feel like we were visiting an old friend. The location was convenient and centralized for getting anywhere we needed to go. We loved the recommended walking route and enjoyed the city from this new perspective. The suite was lovely, comfortable, and very peaceful. The snacks, bottled water,and coffee was a nice addition. If you are looking for a place to stay away from the noisy hotels and traffic, look no further. Clayton and Paula


Beautiful newly remodeled property!

4.6 on March 24, 2016

Newly remodeled, lower-level room. Bright and cheery with private entrances in a quiet, lovely Nashville neighborhood just a few miles from the City. Walk to local restaurants and shopping. Take a Bus or an Uber into downtown Nashville or The Gulch, Includes coffee area with snacks suitable for a light breakfast. Truly a "home away from home"!


Wish I could have stayed longer!

5 on March 07, 2016

Big thanks to Lanny for being such a fantastic host!


Highly Recommend

5 on February 20, 2016

The Nest is an incredible place to stay--beautiful, comfortable, spotless, and convenient. Highly recommend for anyone visiting Nashville. Staying there made our week so enjoyable. The hosts were welcoming, and bent over backwards to make sure we had an amazing experience, and we did. The location is in the heart of the Historic 12 South neighborhood which is walkable to many coffee shops, restaurants, bars, and boutique shops, not to mention the park. Will definitely be back to The Nest again!


Great Nashville Getaway

4.8 on January 11, 2016

The Best! A very clean, comfortable, and private getaway that helped us absolutely love our stay in Nashville. We came there for 4 nights to listen to "Music City" and the Nest made it even more fun. Lanny and Leslie are very hospitable and made sure all our wants were met with hospitality and graciousness. I will try to stay at the Nest next time we go back to Nashville. You have your own private entrance, it is 2 blocks from 12South with great little places to eat and a short 2 mile drive to Broadway. I highly recommend! Tony and Pat Denver


Terrific getaway!

4.6 on January 06, 2016

We had a great three day stay at the Nest. Lanny was a terrific host, made sure we had everything we needed. Very spacious and private accommodation in a neat neighbourhood. Can't wait to go back. Terry and Sue


great hosts great room and perfect location

4.2 on November 13, 2015

Can't wait to visit Nashville and the nest again soon


All the best and then some!

5 on November 10, 2015

I was a little apprehensive when my wife told me we were staying in someone's home, when accommodations were booked for our recent weekend away. I wondered about privacy, noise, the ability to come and go without feeling like we were disturbing anyone, things like that. All my apprehensions were laid to rest the minute we walked into The Nest and met Lanny. To begin with, Lanny, along with his wife, Leslie, are wonderful hosts. Aside from providing amazing accommodations, they are a wealth of information on all things Nashville, be it neighborhood or downtown or east side, music (especially music!), dining, shopping, you name it. The Nest is private. It may be attached to the main house, but it feels like its own apartment, with two separate entrances and secure off street parking in the driveway that is accessed through a gate off the alley behind the house. No worries. The Nest is neither overly feminine or masculine in its decor and feel; it is simply elegantly artisan and clearly designed with reverence for comfort and ease and healing. I loved the walk in shower with its smooth river stone floor and large shower head, big thirsty towels, and locally produced organic soaps and creams. It might not be a big deal to some, but I love a large shower. This one comes close to feeling like you are showering outdoors due to the large glass block window on one wall. Awesome. We walked to coffee shops, restaurants and vintage shops. Lanny is a terrific host. The Nest that he and his wife have created is just a perfect place to land and explore Nashville. And like the doves that return each year to the nest in our wisteria vine on our back deck, we'll be back. Can't wait.


Perfect Stay in Nashville

5 on October 05, 2015

My husband and I came to stay at "The Nest" completely by accident but so thankful to have experienced this opportunity. I have never stayed at a more incredible, beautiful, and clean B&B. It has all the amenities that anyone would need to feel like a home away from home. Lanny and Leslie are two of the kindest and most attentive individuals that we have met in all of our travels. We would return nowhere but here if we ever come back to Nashville. Thank you so much for all your kind gestures and making this vacation completely unforgettable!! Idalmis & Jeff


Perfect Stay in Nashville

5 on October 05, 2015

My husband and I came to stay at "The Nest" completely by accident but so thankful to have experienced this opportunity. I have never stayed at a more incredible, beautiful, and clean B&B. It has all the ammenities that anyone would need to feel like a home away from home. Lanny and Leslie are two of the kindest and most attentive individuals that we have met in all of our travels. We would return nowhere but here if we ever come back to Nashville. Thank you so much for all your kind gestures and making this vacation completely unforgettable!! Idalmis & Jeff


Perfect Nashville stay!!

5 on September 02, 2015

Definitely a home away from home in a wonderful neighbourhood. The owner, Lanny, was very welcoming and extremely helpful. On our next trip, we will definitely want to stay here again. Christine & Gavin


Tranquil retreat in the perfect location.

5 on June 08, 2015

My husband and I have stayed in many BandB's and fine hotels over the years. We recently had the pleasure to stay at "The Nest" , and to say that it exceeded our expectations is an understatement. The pictures simply cannot do it justice and Lanny and his wife, Leslie made us feel welcome and comfortable from the moment we arrived. It is a peaceful sanctuary just two miles outside of downtown, with great local restaurants and shops just a few blocks away. The studio, bath, and lovely garden are sure to please even the most discerning traveler. It is so beautiful....staying here truly made our trip to Nashville a "one of a kind" experience.


The Nest @ Casa de Halcyon

Details

  • Nightly Rate $195 - $195
  • Reviews (28) 4.9
  • Rooms 1
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-6159131455
  • Mobile 1-6159131455

Visit Website »

View details

Top check