Butterfly Gap Retreat Reviews


View details

  • Guest room4.9
  • Service5.0
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Onsite Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
118 Reviews

Write A Review

awesome getaway

5 on October 17, 2016

we had a wonderful stay the house was clean comfortable and privacy was great

All-time favorite

5 on September 27, 2016

Butterfly Gap is our favorite place to go to for a quiet, peaceful get away from this crazy, hectic world.

Always the best

5 on September 21, 2016

This is our 3rd time staying at BGR because we love it so much. The homes are beautiful, the setting is breathtaking, the breakfast is delicious and we always leave feeling so refreshed and relaxed. We will be back again next year.


5 on September 15, 2016

Looking for a relaxing restful getaway - LOOK NO FURTHER!!! Love the environment - food - owners - and especially the homemade ice cream.

August stay 2016

5 on August 24, 2016

My husband and I spent a very relaxing week here Aug.2016. We hiked a little, fished, relaxed, drove The Tail of The Dragon, ate dinner at some great places, had a couple dinners at our cabin-no grill at cabin but found some frozen entrees at a grocery store nearby. Enjoyed exploring the Maryville area and went up to Knoxville to check out a sporting goods place. Wonderful stay! Breakfast was really big every day-no need for lunch! Good people and a great place to stay!

Butterfly Gap, a true gem

5 on August 23, 2016

Our stay couldn't have been more delightful. The breakfasts prepared by Becky, Ryan and Laura were first rate. We recommend this gem in the woods and we look forward to many more visits.

wonderfully secluded

4.6 on August 05, 2016

We had a great time. It was very relaxing and the breakfasts were just outstanding.


5 on July 28, 2016

Uniquely designed, beautiful, clean cabins with great views. Very friendly staff go above and beyond to make your stay comfortable and relaxing.

Friendly and hospitable B&B

5 on July 24, 2016

One of the best weekend getaways my husband and I have ever enjoyed. We're planning to return soon and keep returning until we stay in each of these wonderful houses.


4.6 on July 23, 2016

This is the most relaxing place to take a vacation.

Butterfly Gap homerun

4.6 on July 23, 2016

Lee and Tricia

Anniversary Trip to Butterfly Gap

5 on July 16, 2016

We had an amazing stay for our anniversary weekend. There are many options of activities to do onsite (hiking, fishing, swimming, kayaking or paddleboarding-if you bring your own) or other outdoor activities not too far away offsite. We chose to only leave the retreat once for dinner and to stay there the rest of the time. We brought in our own food to prepare for lunches and dinner, but the breakfast provided by the staff is amazing. It is definitely one of the best parts of the stay, and is usually large enough to be your breakfast and lunch! We will definitely be back for another special weekend!

Hidden gem

4.6 on July 16, 2016

So peaceful and relaxing. Nice accommodations and amazing breakfast.


5 on July 13, 2016

The perfect place for rest and relaxation. The owners are so sweet and the breakfast is great. I plan on going back at least twice a year.

Trust me, Butterfly Gap Retreat is worth it.

4.6 on July 12, 2016

My wife and I have been staying in bed and breakfast for about 10 years. We have stayed in North Carolina Virginia Tennessee in Charleston South Carolina. Butterfly get retreat just went to the top.

Best little romantic getaway!!

5 on July 09, 2016

This is the place to go if you ever want to get away, to disconnect and reconnect!! Total privacy and seclusion! No wifi or cell service!! We stayed in the tree house for our anniversary and it was just perfect!!! The views were gorgeous. We napped in a hammock, showered outside, had the most delicious homemade breakfast delivered to us every morning. And homemade ice cream waiting for us when we arrived. The host were extremely nice and helpful!! Will most definitely come back.

Hidden gem

4.8 on July 05, 2016

This place is a hidden gem.It is so peaceful and relaxing. The food is amazing

Butterfly gap anniversary get away

4.8 on June 30, 2016

Butterfly will be a staple in our getaways. We needed a place that we could reconnect with each other and disconnect with the outside world. If you are a lover of small things, this is a place for you. From the home made pint of ice cream waiting on you in the freezer, to the to-die for breakfasts that are delivered to your bungalow each morning, to the seating at the top of the mountain so you can watch the sun set. We already have reservations in January for my birthday. The owners are so nice and genuinely kind. You won't regret this trip!

Our favorite B&B

4.6 on June 27, 2016

This is our second visit to Butterfly Gap. It is THE place to go to get away from the world for a bit and relax. The breakfasts are superb...always beyond satisfied with the variety. The rooms/spaces are one of a kind and so private. This time around wasn't as clean as I'd like (I'm probably pickier than most as far as that goes). The owners/staff are so friendly, but not intrusive in any way. Love this place....absolutely beautiful.

Lovely and relaxing

4.6 on June 20, 2016

This was a lovely anniversary get away. Gorgeous property and cabins that are truly private. Huge tasty breakfast in the morning. They even got turkey bacon for us since we don't eat pork. Staff was so nice. Highly recommend.

Blissful Relaxation

4.8 on June 19, 2016

Perfect stillness and comfort. Complete privacy while surrounded by nature's beauty! Loved every second!

Great weekend getaway.

4.8 on June 06, 2016

Beautiful place. Friendly staff. Highly recommend!

Full moon weekend

5 on May 26, 2016

Outstanding place.. Will be back! Hidden gem... Amazing service by owners.. Don't miss it:))))

Smokies Best Kept Secret

5 on May 12, 2016

15th Wedding Anniversary trip and our second time at Butterfly Gap. What an amazing place; nothing can be improved upon. The ladies make you feel like part of the their family and Maryville makes you feel like part of their town. But it's close enough to the Park, Townsend, Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg if you want to get a way for a few hours. The breakfast delivered every morning is wonderful and there is always enough leftover for later for a late night snack. If you need a place to unwind and reconnect, make Butterfly Gap your next destination.

Best kept secret

5 on April 19, 2016

My husband and I stayed here for a short getaway. It was just what we needed to disconnect from everything and reconnect to each other. The space was fantastic and food was amazing.

Amazing getaway in our own backyard

5 on April 16, 2016

We are locals and are so thankful we have Butterfly Gap Retreat right in our backyard! This is an amazing place with fantastic owners who go the extra mile to make sure your stay is superb. Our last stay was at the end of March, before the leaves were on the trees. That gave us a chance to see some of the other cabins that we had not seen before. We stayed in unit 142, the Glass House, our second time there. This is exactly what it sounds like - a round house with floor to ceiling windows all the way around. Even without the leaves, it is so secluded, you have no concerns over privacy. It is a great place to kick back and just take in nature. We had a wild turkey walk right up to the bedroom windows. Everything was great about this stay. The only possible negative was that there was smoke in the area from a controlled burn in Cades Cove. I personally, love that smell, so it didn't bother me. As others have noted, the breakfasts are huge and decadent. Plan on a nap if you eat it all! We will definitely be back!

The Best!

5 on April 13, 2016

Great getaway. Quiet, clean, cool cabins, delicious breakfasts, relaxing. It's the best. We have been for 5 years in a row. You won't regret it. Try the treehouse! Love all the decks!

Our Honeymoon was Perfect!

5 on April 05, 2016

My husband and I booked a few days at Butterfly Gap for our Honeymoon in August and it was exactly what you see in the pictures, only better! It is the perfect romantic getaway, secluded and serene. The breakfast is fabulous and it was all we could do to eat it all each morning! The owners are so helpful and extremely pleasant. The cabins and surrounding are literally like something out of a story book. We enjoyed the paddle boards on the lake and hiking the property, I would definitely recommend the lookout at sunset. We can't wait to go back for our anniversary!

Sleeping in the trees

5 on April 05, 2016

Today is our one year anniversary and I can't help but think back with nothing but smiles. We had our wedding onsite, and it was the most beautiful day and so much more than we could have imagined. We stayed the night in the Treehouse and were blown away! Such a wonderful room and the breakfast was delish! Have I mentioned how amazing the family is that runs this gorgeous property? Those ladies rock! Seriously, such a gem of a place to make memories! ¿¿¿¿¿¿

Butterfly Gap - Amazing!!

5 on April 04, 2016

Butterfly Gap is more than a Bed and Breakfast. It is a unique, secluded mountain retreat. While most Bed and Breakfast venues provide a single dwelling for their guests with multiple rooms, this property provides 7 individual houses...each with a different view, theme and distinctive personality. And each of the houses is set on 5 private acres giving you privacy while still providing accessibility. The breakfast is beyond what is served in most 5 star hotels. Every morning's offering is different and served directly to your doorstep at your designated time. But the most important offering at this retreat are the owners. Their graciousness and attention to detail is what sets Butterful Gap Retreat apart from any other bed and breakfast. While I would like to keep this little secret gem to myself, do yourself a favor and try a week or weekend at Butterfly Gap. Your first visit will not be your last!

Love Butterfly Gap

5 on April 03, 2016

We have visited Butterfly Gap for the last 5 or 6 years. The cabins are charming, the breakfasts are delicious and it is so peaceful! The owners are delightful. We will return again next year.

Best place ever

5 on April 03, 2016

My husband and I were needing a short getaway for just the two of us. When I happened upon this while doing research, I knew it would be the perfect place....and it was. From the moment we arrived to the serene setting to the best breakfast brought to our door, we couldn't have been more pleased. They are so nice and accommodating to anything we needed. We can't wait to return.

Treehouse Getaway

5 on March 30, 2016

We stayed in the Treehouse at BGR, and it was amazing! Waking up in the woods is a treat and the breakfast was delicious! We had a wonderful and relaxing stay.


5 on March 17, 2016

My wife and I try to escape to this wonderful place as often as possible. We have stayed in three of the cottages and have never been disappointed. We simply love this place and adore Laura and Becky. This place is truly a retreat and an escape from our "connected" society. If you need high speed internet and 4G phone service to stay connected, then this is not the place for you. If you want a place to escape with your significant other, I cannot think of a better place to do it.


5 on February 29, 2016

Truly a hidden gem in the Maryville area! If you haven't been, you have to experience this property.

Butterfly Gap

5 on February 19, 2016



5 on February 10, 2016

Just what we needed for a weekend getaway. These guys do it right!! Have been to several retreat spots across the country and this place is leaps and bounds better than places twice the cost. If you are looking for a private and relaxing weekend then this is your place. Pre order extra ice cream...... trust me.......


5 on February 03, 2016

The Butterfly Gap a Retreat is absolutely excellent.

Doing it right

5 on January 24, 2016

The staff at Butterfly Gap have excelled in all aspects. The design/style of each cottage; the layout of the premises; the breakfast (wow!); the friendliness; the seclusion; the amenities.... I have no suggestions for improvement! Perfect relaxing getaway weekend.

Fabulous getaway

5 on January 17, 2016

We booked Butterfly Gap as a last-minute winter getaway, based on a Southerb Living online review and pictures on the website. It far exceeded our expectations and we have already booked another trip for our anniversary in March. The cabin was perfect, the owners were friendly and helpful, the breakfasts were delicious and hearty. One morning included cinnamon rolls just like my Grandma used to make and though I've been sugar-free for months I ate mine and my husband's! Cannot wait to go back to BGR and will return often. Perfect Getaway locale!

Treehouse 134 Will Probably Always Be Our Favorite!!

5 on December 26, 2015

This was our second stay at BGR, first time stayed in guesthouse 320 (also awesome), this time stayed in the treehouse 134. The treehouse will probably always be our favorite, but we plan to try some other guesthouses! We were there in the fall, so the leaves were on the trees for more privacy and they were beautiful in color. The treehouse is so modern (like the others) and unique with it's different levels and multiple outdoor spaces. It was so awesome to wake up feeling like we were in the trees! The breakfasts were again so amazing, for us there was enough left over for lunch. Suggest bringing paper plates and a couple over-the-door hooks. This guesthouse doesn't have a dishwasher or a guest closet for clothes, but these were only minor inconveniences. The kitchen and living room areas are on the first level, then you go up 6 steps to the bathroom area, then up 11 more steps to the bedroom. Small lighting illuminates these steps at night. There are additional exterior steps from this point going up to the screened-in covered deck that includes a hammock! We also enjoyed hiking the trails and driving up to the overlook. This will probably always be our favorite bed and breakfast!

Never felt so relaxed!

5 on December 24, 2015

We were extremely pleased with our stay. The breakfast was great and the ice cream was fantastic! I can't remember ever staying in an area so quiet and peaceful. I highly recommend it!

Thanksgiving Weekend

4.0 on December 14, 2015

The cottage was lovely and the breakfast were excellent. Coffee was an issue since the 4 cup maker produced terrible coffee. I hoped for some fresh brewed with breakfast, and it was too far to run into town. The distance from town for an evening meal combined with a bottle of wine was a problem.

Just what we needed¿¿

5 on December 12, 2015

Our stay at Butterfly Gap was truly a "retreat". We will definitely be back.

29th Anniversary get-a-way Nov 2015

5 on November 29, 2015

While these are probably the farthest from "cabins" they are WONDERFUL in you are looking to get away, unplug and reengage with your significant other! We stayed in house 142, it is the most secluded of all of the 7 houses. You are on top of a mountain! (we're from Indiana, it was up there!) The house is surrounded by almost 360 degrees of glass! But don't worry, the curtains cover all of the glass. The house is furnished very nicely and cozy! From the gas fireplace to the spa tub to the walk in 3 head shower to the king bed, its EVERYTHING you need! The kitchen is wonderfully appointed with everything one needs. Coffee maker too! There was even a pint of ice cream in the freezer for their guests. The bath had all of the supplies needed too, hair dryer included. The 1st morning, breakfast arrived on time and WOW, the breakfasts at BG are wonderful! Plan on not eating lunch until afternoon after eating one of these! They bring OJ and milk too! We had a visitor the first morning...a small black bear wondered up to our house. You are in the hills/Mtn's of Tennessee after all! We saw many deer too! We had a little mechanical issue with the AC in the house one day, yes we had such GREAT weather, we ran the air in late November! Ryan came up right away to make sure we were comfortable and by the next morning, Laura and Ryan (daughter and son-in-law of the owners) had it fixed! We went shopping in Pigeon Forge one day, went to the Smoky Mtn's one day and hiked, They are both about 45 min away. BG is about 9 miles from Maryville and this will take you about 15 min to drive if you need something. The house had a TV and DVD in both the living and bed room. The BG office has DVD's to borrow. The house has stereo throughout the house. If you come during the winter, the floors also have radiant heating! We cant say enough about the wonderful time we had at Butterfly Gap Retreat!


4.4 on November 25, 2015

This is our 5th time to stay at Butterfly Gap over the last several years. We absolutely love it. The accommodations are warm, clean and inviting. The breakfast is amazing as well. It's been an amazing get away for us in the season of life with young kids. .

Butterfly Gap Retreat

4.4 on November 24, 2015

Beautiful scenery in the mountains. Loved the modern decor of the house we stayed in . view of the lake on the property was beautiful as well.Loved the seclusion of the property for a relaxing stay. Owners were very accommodating. Anything we needed or asked, they accomadated us. Would definitely return for another stay in the future.

Had an awesome time at a beautiful place

5 on November 22, 2015

My wife and I wanted to get away from the house and the kids for a couple days. I found this B&B online and we took a trip to TN to check it out. The scenery was beautiful with all the trees in the fall. We took relaxing baths in the Jacuzzi tub every night. The breakfast every morning was delicious. Overall one of the best places I've ever stayed at. We intend to head back there and do it again next year.

Wonderful Low-Key Babymoon

5 on November 16, 2015

We loved our stay at BGR! We stayed in 142 (the glass house) and we were so happy - it was hard to leave! The breakfasts were fantastic and there was no pressure to leave the house or the premises. We wanted to relax and unwind from our jobs, and that was totally achieved. The grounds are beautiful and so quiet. It was amazing! Thanks Laura, Mandy and Becky - we are so happy we visited BGR and we can't wait to come back!


5 on November 09, 2015

Butterfly Gap Retreat is Heaven on Earth. It was peaceful, beautiful, and breakfast was AMAZING. Becky, Laura, and Ryan are the best! You must stay here!!!

Could not have asked for a better time!

5 on November 08, 2015

BFG is an awesome venue. No cell coverage; great for down time. We really enjoyed the breakfast. Excellent staff, excellent house. Celebrated our 26th anniversary. We will be going back, hopefully once per year.

Awesome Treehouse !

5 on November 04, 2015

We just love the family , such great people and the homemade ice cream .

Wonderfully Relaxing, Great People, Oustanding Breakfast

5 on October 29, 2015

A friend told my wife and I about BFG. We treated ourselves to a couple day visit to celebrate our 26th anniversary. What a wonderful gift we gave each other. No cell service, no internet. We were completely satisfied. Great hosts, great food provide each morning, and the accommodations are just fantastic. We look forward to visiting again very soon.

Great retreat!!

5 on October 26, 2015

Butterfly Gap is the best place to relax and unwind. Breakfasts are delicious and delivered with a smile. Becky, Laura and Mandy go the extra mile to make the us feel welcome. Oh....and then there's the homemade ice cream....!!!!!!! Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.


5 on October 26, 2015

We arrived in mid fall and the weather was spectacular...The colors were just starting to pop...The property is just amazing...The folks who own it are even more amazing... We stayed in the round house...Very private and a unique design..It sits up on a ridge and the winter view from the deck must be breathtaking...When we were there the trees were full of color but it prevented a vista type view back down the valley from out deck.. The round house is probably unlike any home you have ever seen before...It is round and it is completely encircled in huge glass panels...They provide shear cotton curtains that can be pulled to close in the whole house if you feel you need them at night....It does make a great picture when the curtains are drawn closed and the fireplace is roaring... If your concerned about privacy, the home is very secluded with a long driveway leading up to the front and side deck...Very convenient for loading and unloading as well....The home has heated painted concrete floors that adds character to the homes unusual design.. We were told that the home was designed to resemble a weeping willow tree and when you look to the ceiling from any part of the house you can see why.. Did I mention the five star breakfast delivered to your front door every morning? Exactly at the time we requested? Maryville is a beautiful town only a short drive away..It had everything we wanted..But if you happen to feel like BBQ fro lunch or dinner, avoid at all costs the outside converted gas station BBQ joint on the corner downtown..You can't miss it..follow the smoke and run the other way... By the way the kitchen is fully stocked including home made ice cream left there for our enjoyment... Take a moment to borrow some really nice fishing equipment from the office and fish the large and very picturesque lake at the bottom of the valley... Just fantastic

The Perfect Quiet Getaway

4.2 on October 23, 2015

Butterfly Gap Retreat is one of Tennessee's best kept secret's. Tucked away in Maryville,Tennessee this modern retreat is the perfect place to escape from the rest of the world. Surrounded by nature and gorgeous Mountain View's this 900 acre retreat is the perfect little getaway. The staff is beyond friendly! They are available 24-7 but yet you only see them for about five minutes when they deliver your amazing 5 star breakfast to your door every morning. Butterfly gap retreat will be a place we definitely will visit again.

You're going to love it

5 on October 23, 2015

We have been to BGR more than 10 times. Quite literally winter, spring, summer, fall, cold, hot, sun, rain, snow, for birthdays, for anniversaries, for just because, when all the cabins are booked, and when we've been the only guests there. Every time it has been amazing and every time we can't wait to plan our next visit. Just go ahead and make a reservation, because you are going to love it.


5 on October 23, 2015

My husband and I first read about BGR in Southern Living magazine several years ago and immediately booked a cabin for our upcoming wedding anniversary. Once we crested the hill and saw the lake for the first time we were hooked. We have been back to BGR at least 10 times and have stayed in all the cabins at least once (although we haven't made it to the tree house yet). We could not recommend a place more highly than we do BGR - the accommodations, the amenities, the food, the location, the proprietors, you name it . . . if it's at BGR, it ROCKS!

The Treehouse Rocks!

4.8 on October 20, 2015

We were on our honeymoon and couldn't have found a better place. The location is terrific, it provides plenty of privacy and relaxation, the Treehouse is really neat, and the food was fantastic. We loved it and would go back in a second. Oh, and the Treehouse actually rocks, or sways, which makes you feel like your up in the tree tops!

Great place to stay in TN!

4.4 on October 14, 2015

Stayed for our honeymoon, and it was fantastic to have such a great house to stay in in a secluded beautiful area, each morning breakfast was brought to the house and it was delicious!!

Best Retreat Ever

4.6 on October 13, 2015

The staff was absolutely wonderful! The breakfast was absolutely delicious. The view was breathtaking and the rooms were very clean and decorative. To top it all off, they left homemade ice cream in the freezer to welcome you and it was divine. Can't wait for our next visit to the BGR.


5 on October 13, 2015

Butterfly Gap was beyond my expectations. It was perfect. The food was fabulous. The whole retreat is very private we stayed four nights for our honeymoon and saw another couple one time when we we checked out of our stay. The property is amazing. There is an overlook that looks over East Tennessee that you can access on the property. Whether you want to get away for a couple of nights or have a long R&R, you NEED to visit butterfly gap ASAP.

Absolutely Peaceful Retreat

4.8 on October 12, 2015

Breakfast delivered daily - Awesome! Homemade Ice Cream Upon Arrival - Awesome! Accommodations - Awesome! Hospitality - Awesome! Loved it & will return!!!

THE place to RELAX

5 on October 12, 2015

Everything was perfect. Great price on a great place and location. Service was exceptional and the house was wonderful. Will definitely stay again. Want to get away and relax, this is the place.

One of the best BandB's inUS

5 on October 09, 2015

Second visit and stayed in the tree house. Clean as a pin fantastic views, fantastic breakfast, staff and owners know how to make their guest feel very comfortable and respond immediately to your needs. All they expect from guests is to follow their few rules. This adult only retreat is is fantastic! Close to all the attractions but you stay in a very safe and secluded setting. Retiring again to stay in lake house.

An Experience That You Will Want Again

4.6 on October 07, 2015

My wife and I got married at Butterfly Gap and found ourselves back 2 years later. Everyone is so genuine. The moment you enter the retreat, you can help but relax and keep yourself from saying "how did we not know about this"? Each of the villas are unique with a wonderful warm feel. I found myself thanking the owner for exceeding our expectations which has always been met with the same enthusiasm. My wife and I decided that this is a staple in our annual getaways to relax and enjoy such a beautiful surrounding.

A world away only 6 miles from downtown Marryville!

4.4 on October 02, 2015

We really enjoyed our stay! Our breakfast was tasty, the complementary ice cream was yummy, and the owners are very sweet.

Great Again

5 on September 28, 2015

This was out second visit and we stayed in the tree house. There is nothing negative to ever complain about Butterfly Gap. Excellently operated and the breakfasts are outstanding. We stayed three nights and each meal was totally different. Butterfly Gap is within 45 minutes drive of any place to see and visit. We are returning next year to stay in the lake house. G&P

Dream B&B

5 on September 19, 2015

My husband and happened upon this wonderful retreat on a whim. Thank goodness we found BGR! The property is nothing short of amazing. The grounds are expansive and it is so relaxing. Each guest house is unique in architecture design. We stayed in number 142. The cabin is round with floor to ceiling windows that allows you to feel that you are inside the woods. There is great hiking onsite and pretty close to places like Cades Cove. The breakfasts are so yummy! I looked forward to them each morning. If you are traveling to this part of Tennessee, you must stay at the BGR! You will absolutely love it!!!

Wedding Venue

4.8 on September 09, 2015

My daughter held her wedding here and we were very pleased with every aspect of the venue from the outdoor ceremony site to the reception hall. The cabins were very well appointed and the breakfast excellent. The only negative is the almost total lack of cell phone reception but, of course, they can't control this factor.

What a Great Getaway!

4.6 on August 21, 2015

Spent two nights at The Butterfly Gap Retreat. It was wonderful! The breakfast was amazing and the house was so comfortable. A fantastic shower, jacuzzi tub, screened in porch, and a well equipped kitchen. My only regret was that we didn't stay longer.

Dream Honeymoon

5 on August 18, 2015

My wife and I are so happy we decided to stay here for our honeymoon. The value was right in our budget. Our stay was beyond luxurious. The retreat was a little hard to find at first, but the online instructions were good to get us there. The property is gorgeous and incredibly private. We never saw another guest there, except for a wedding on Saturday. Also: Best. Breakfast. Ever. Not anything like your typical bed and breakfast. Meals change each day, so nothing gets boring. They even asked us about dietary restrictions when we checked in. Overall we could not have asked for anything better. We were treated like family and we will be returning at the first opportunity we get.

Incredible Stay

5 on August 12, 2015

The house was fantastic and the people who run the center are incredible. We couldn't have asked for a better visit. Thank you!

Butterfly Gap House 320

5 on August 07, 2015

Loved every minute. Second time to Butterfly Gap and will return as soon as possible.

The ultimate place to relax and reconnect

4.4 on August 06, 2015

My husband and I have been to BG twice and we absolutely love it. The staff is amazing. It is so peaceful. Each cabin is unique and the breakfasts are delicious. We plan to return soon.

Incredible Romantic Retreat!

5 on August 05, 2015

Butterfly Gap Retreat is everything you can ask for if you are looking for a romantic getaway. The secluded location offers privacy and natural beauty, while the guest homes are absolutely stunning. We stayed in the Treehouse and were in love with our weekend home as soon as it came into view. The house was amazing, the service was incredible and the breakfasts delivered to your front door were delicious. We have traveled across the Southeast and this is our favorite place to stay. You know you have found something special when you plan your next trip before you leave.

Best Vacation Ever

5 on June 15, 2015

We booked Butter Fly Gap based on a friends recommendation and were not disappointed. The facility is awesome and the owners are fabulous. They treated us like family and were very attentive to any needs. Words can not adequately describe how wonderful Butter Fly Gap is. We will be returning in the fall.

Words can not describe...

5 on June 07, 2015

I can not began to explain the experience I've had at Butterfly Gap! From the staff to the lodge, to the breathtaking views, it is simply a diamond in the mountains. Becky & Laura go completely out of their way to make sure each guest has everything they could need or want. I will definitely make this an annual visit!


5 on May 28, 2015

This place was amazing. It was so great to get away and disconnect for the weekend. No internet and no phone to distract us. The food was amazing and they did a fantastic job catering to someone with a gluten allergy. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I cannot wait to return! Beautiful property, beautiful rooms, and all around an amazing time.

Beyond the City

5 on May 26, 2015

This is a wonderful B&B. Laura was a sweet innkeeper & she is definitely gifted in the kitchen. Breakfast was delicious each morning and so abundant that lunch is unnecessary. We stayed in house 320 and it was so comfortable and quiet. Just what was needed for a getaway weekend. BGR is close enough to Knoxville, Gatlinburg & The Great Smoky Mountains National Park for lots to do when we wanted to go out and about. We will be back soon!

Relaxing Retreat

4.6 on May 25, 2015

My wife and I wanted a secluded place to get away for a few days. We stayed in the "glass house" and it perfectly fit the bill. We had ample hot water for the whirlpool tub (not always the case with cabins) and the cabin had all the amenities we needed. Breakfast was unique and quite tasty. I loved this place and look forward to going back.

Tranquil Mountain Retreat

4.8 on May 23, 2015

Butterfly Gap was everything we hoped it would be, quiet, peaceful and beautiful. Our cabin was tucked down its own private drive complete with a babbling brook, porch swing and rocking chairs. Just 30 minutes from the Smokey National Park, we went hiking everyday and returned to our little ossais every evening to sit by the fire and just chill. Breakfast came every morning with a warm smile and was so yummy! Looking for a place to relax, disconnect from the world this place is for you!

Relax & unwind

5 on May 10, 2015

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at this beautiful retreat for three nights. They are an amazing family runner business. We would highly recommend the tree house. They breakfast was amazing,mine cabin was perfect and the relaxation was amazing. Mao see them and enjoy the peaceful part of life

Outstanding as always!

5 on April 29, 2015

We have stayed at BGR three times and hosted our daughter's wedding there. Every experience has been wonderful and beyond our expectations. We can't say enough about the hospitality of this family. We stayed at the treehouse this trip. It was charming and unique. If you need a quiet get away, head to BGR.

Wonderful Getaway

5 on April 21, 2015

Love this place! The breakfasts are delicious, the cabins clean and unique. The owners so friendly. A jewel in the Smokies.

Best B&B/cottage stay ever

4.8 on April 17, 2015

Loved the creatively designed modern cottage -- especially napping on the "drawer" bed in the screen porch built over a babbling brook. Huge breakfasts delivered to the cabin... we'll be back many times I'm sure.


5 on April 14, 2015

Everything about this place is wonderful. The people. The food. The peace. Total relaxation for your body and mind. We booked another stay as soon as we got home.

couldn't imagine wanting to go anywhere else

5 on April 11, 2015

Beautiful scenery Great home cooked breakfast Southern hospitality Private Strongly recommend

We absolutely loved our stay at Butterfly Gap Retreat!!!

5 on April 02, 2015

We could not have asked for a better weekend! Our room or cabin was laid out in such a unique way and very clean. It was probably the most relaxing weekend we have ever had!! It was so quiet and peaceful! We loved laying in bed at night and being able to look at the stars from all the big open windows...no street lights or cars driving by!!! Breakfast was GREAT and definitely more than you can eat ¿¿ The sunset at the lookout was absolutely AMAZING!!! We will be back for sure!!!!!!!

Lovely getaway

4.8 on April 01, 2015

We visited Butterfly Gap over the weekend as a romantic getaway for our 2nd anniversary and we had a wonderful stay. We stayed in cabin 308, which was beautiful both inside and out and was very comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful, the location was very private and welcoming, and the food was delicious. The only issue we had was a few wasps found their way into our building and had to be dispatched with some bug spray. They didn't bother us at all, but if you have a phobia of any sort it's worth being aware of. That being said, we loved our stay and were very sad to have to leave at the end of our weekend. I would not be at all surprised if we end up visiting again.

Literally. Perfect. Honeymoon.

5 on March 26, 2015

Torn between telling everyone we know, and hoarding this incredible gem for ourselves. Everything you could ever want for a couple's getaway, and truly a STEAL at the off season pricing. Laura, Mandy, and Becky have really nailed it (and those breakfasts? OMG!!!). My wife and I were planning our next stay before we'd even left.

Weekend away

5 on March 25, 2015

What a great weekend away! The setting was great, the unit was very nice, but the best was the breakfast!!

Wonderful Retreat

5 on March 18, 2015

Great attention to detail, relaxing atmosphere, excellent service, friendly staff, amazing breakfasts..I could go on and on...will definitely recommend BGR to all my friends and family.

A Valentine's Day to Remember!!

5 on March 04, 2015

My husband and I stayed two nights in guesthouse #320 over Valentine's Day weekend and loved it! We're in good health, so we didn't mind the two stories and it was so romantic and modern. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. The homemade, gourmet breakfasts were on time, delivered to our guesthouse, amazing, and so much food that we only needed two meals each day! Coffee filter packs and a good variety of condiments are provided in the guesthouse, but if you're a serious coffee drinker, recommend you bring your own along with filters. We had a 4-cup coffeemaker. The guesthouses are not close to each other, but you do need to close the curtains, at times, for complete privacy. Restaurants and shops are only 15 minutes away in Maryville. We so enjoyed our stay that we're already booked to return in October!

Valentine Getaway

4.8 on February 19, 2015

My husband and I decided to take a long weekend and stay at this magnificent property. We were unable to explore the grounds due to the extremely cold weather but we were more than happy to relax in our cozy house. When we checked into the office we were pleasantly greeted and given the specifics of our stay. We could pick the time of our breakfast delivery. There were also many DVDs to choose from. We then made the short drive to guesthouse 220. This lovely home is just across the lake and has a fantastic view. There is a double sided fireplace located in the bedroom and bath which keeps you toasty warm. To my surprise there was a complimentary pint of homemade ice cream in the freezer. That weekend's flavor was red velvet cake and it did not disappoint. Breakfast is delivered straight to your home by the most friendly of folks. The selections were warm, hearty and super tasty. There is a coffee maker in your fully stocked kitchen with local coffee. The first morning we had French toast topped with fresh strawberries, scrambled eggs, and sausage. At this time they also brought us milk and orange juice. The following morning we were served a breakfast sandwich with egg, thick sliced bacon and apples with potatoes and fresh fruit. SO YUMMY! We brought our own food to cook for lunch and dinner however the owners do a great job of providing you with a local listing of restaurants and grocery stores (with addresses and directions) in case you forgot something or just want to venture out. My husband and I were super pleased with our stay. So much so that as soon as we got home we booked another long weekend for our anniversary in August! The only "issues" we had with our stay related to personal preferences. Our mattress was more firm than our liking so we woke up frequently. Also, due to the location the free Wi-Fi gives a very weak signal. But really, if it is a romantic get away you desire, you shouldn't need it anyway!

A Must Visit Place

5 on February 11, 2015

Having traveled extensively in the US and Europe, I can honestly say this is the best place that I have ever stayed. I will recommend it to everyone I know and will definitely be back.

Beautiful, relaxing retreat!

4.8 on February 03, 2015

Butterfly Gap Retreat provided the perfect spot for a much needed weekend getaway. The cabins are modern, yet comfy. We loved just sitting by the fireplace and relaxing. The breakfast is absolutely delicious, and your hosts are incredibly helpful and friendly. We will definitely make a return stay.

This was our 4th stay

4.4 on January 19, 2015

Not only was this our 4th stay, this time in our 3rd different unit, but it also coincided with our 50th wedding anniversary ... a long story (pun intended, of course). This stay had an additional, unique experience - and Becky and Laura will immediately recognize who we are: my wife became ill in the last few hours of our stay - noting quickly that the problem had nothing to do with the Retreat, the hosts, etc. Becky and Laura encouraged us to go to available medical facilities, but we elected to check out as planned and drive west to Franklin, TN. The anniversary celebration came to a halt with an emergency appendectomy at Williamson County Medical Center. She is recovering and we will soon resume our active lives.

What a birthday treat!

4.6 on January 14, 2015

This was a new adventure for us and a perfect choice for my wife's birthday! Rooms - actually you get a whole mini house - completely with great room, kitchen, bedroom and huge bathroom. We actually had a big screened in porch. Our house was tucked in woods and had a small creek flowing across the front. Service? Excellent - the staff was easily reached via walkie-talkie when needed. But, there was no real great need for anything. Our house was stocked well with linens and all the kitchen appliances we needed. Cleanliness is a deal breaker for us - no trouble. The house was fresh smell and spotless. Breakfast, the only meal available, was home-made and brought to our house at the time requested. The excellent food was so much we had plenty to save for lunch.

Perfect Weekend Get Away

5 on December 29, 2014

My wife and I celebrated my 60th birthday here and it was the most romantic weekend we have ever spent together. The accommodations are first class, service is impeccable, and breakfast is gourmet. We are going back for our 25th anniversary next year!


4.4 on November 15, 2014

We stayed at 220 by the lake and it was so hard to leave the property because of the beauty during the fall.

Wonderful Getaway

5 on November 10, 2014

Upon a recommendation from my daughter and son-in-law, we stayed at Butterfly Gap for a weekend in October. The cabin (#320) we stayed in was wonderful and cozy. The hosts were amazing. The breakfast that they brought to our cabin was delicious. Great places to walk. We enjoyed biking on the greenway in town. Next time, I would love to bring things to make for dinner so we don't even have to leave. Totally relaxing!!!

2014 First Snowfall

5 on November 05, 2014

Wonderful people running this retreat ! My wife and I will cherious the memories of staying at the retreat and the people me have met during our stay. Breakfast was exciting everyday and the creations were better than any restruant could offer. The houses are like little luxury homes. We will be returning soon !!!

The Best Couples Retreat!!

5 on November 01, 2014

I fortuitously read the Birmingham Magazine article about Butterfly Gap a month our first wedding anniversary and booked immediately. What a great decision. This jewel in the Smoky Mountains should be experienced by any couple who love privacy, the comforts of home whole being surrounded by nature, and excellent service. Becky and her daughters are friendly and accessible without being intrusive and the breakfasts they deliver are YumDiggity! And I must also give 4 stars to the homemade ice cream! There are great restaurants in the nearby town of Maryville or you can take advantage of full kitchen and never leave the property. The houses are distinctly and beautifully designed and will spoil you for wanting to stay anywhere else. Love Love Love Butterfly Gap!!

Butterfly Gap Retreat is a truly amazing place!

5 on October 16, 2014

My wife and I stayed in Guesthouse 142 ("the glass house") for a long weekend in mid October, and we absolutely loved it! The house was beautiful and immaculately kept. The owners of the B&B were super friendly, and the breakfast they delivered each morning was delicious. And the view of the Smoky Mountains was stunning, especially with the leaves reaching their peak fall colors. It rained for much of the weekend -- which altered our hiking plans -- but we didn't mind at all. Because of the floor-to-ceiling glass walls, we were still able to enjoy nature even while snuggling inside by the fireplace. It was great watching the wild turkeys in the forest! We loved our stay so much that we are already planning a return trip to Butterfly Gap!

Butterfly Gap Stay

4.0 on October 06, 2014

My husband and I came here to celebrate our one year anniversary and it was such a great getaway! It was so relaxing and peaceful, we felt like we were really able to escape for the everyday hustle and bustle. The staff was super friendly and we had a great breakfast delivered to our door every morning. We will definitely be coming back!

Beyond compare

5 on September 14, 2014

Wonderful family (owned and operated)...delicious, fresh breakfast delivered to your door each morning....beautiful scenery....each one of a kind "home" is too special and different to explain. Go online to view. You will find them all exceptional! We are repeat visitors and will continue to return to this magical place. Thank-you Southern Living for doing a short article a few years back that led us to this haven of peace. Please consider doing an update so others may find BGR!!! Sheila

Awesome property friendly owners

5 on August 17, 2014

Had a great time. Everybody was super friendly. Breakfast was delicious. Property and cabin well kept. Will return in the future and recommend friends to stay also.

The Most Amazing Experience!

5 on August 03, 2014

My husband and I came here for our honeymoon and stayed in the glass house. It was a truly wonderful experience. The house was just beautiful and the food was some of the best I have ever had. We loved every minute and cannot wait to return. I cannot imagine a better honeymoon!

Just Perfect!

4.8 on July 17, 2014

We have just recently spent 3 nights at the BGR. The stay was just the perfect way to spend our 1st wedding anniversary. The Lodge was great with everything we needed. The level of service offered by the BGR team was exceptional and the breakfasts were AMAZING! Would return if we ever found ourselves back in the US.

Awesome place to stay!!!

5 on July 03, 2014

Butterfly Gap is an amazing place to stay! Everyone is so nice and the breakfast is delicious! During the warmer months the pond is a cool place to go and fish or kayak. We will definitely be back to stay.

Review of an amazing stay!!!

5 on July 02, 2014

There are not a lot of words to describe BGR, but as cliché as it sounds, "amazing" pretty much covers it! It was peaceful, comfortable, and gorgeous! We were just in awe with the set-up, the scenery, and the generosity of our hosts. I would definitely recommend this as a vacation spot to anyone!!!

Peaceful & amazing!

5 on June 14, 2014

Loved everything about this place! Cannot wait to go back!

Great vacation

5 on June 08, 2014

Great time at butterfly gap

glass house weekend

4.6 on April 23, 2014

Very nice retreat, private, pretty, quiet. Friendly, non-intrusive hosts. Really enjoyed our get away.

We will be back!

5 on April 10, 2014

Beautiful property with beautiful places to stay. Love the unique design of the different houses. Everyone was incredibly friendly but also gave us plenty of space. The lake was beautiful and the overlook was a great place to catch the sunset. We will definitely be back!

Best experience ever!!!!

5 on February 07, 2014

This was the first time my wife and I stayed and a bed and breakfast and it was better than we expected!!! We highly recommend Butterfly Gap. The breakfast served every morning was delicious!! We stayed in 308 and it was secluded and beautiful. My wife and I plan on coming every year. Thank you for the great service and wonderful hospitality, Butterfly Gap!!!!!

Our best getaway in years!

5 on July 31, 2013

Luxurious accommodations, breakfasts delivered to your cottage are above and beyond what was expected - fresh, delicious and ample; peaceful, private, very comfortable furnishings, beautiful setting, friendly hosts make you feel like long-time friends, incredible 5-head shower plus a jetted tub, DVDs to borrow, near many nice restaurants and shops Mark & Kay Powers, Columbia, SC

Butterfly Gap Retreat


  • Nightly Rate $175 - $225
  • Reviews (118) 4.9
  • Rooms 7

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 865-984-6021

Visit Website »

View details