Recent Reviews in Tappahannock, Virginia

Fabulous! Perfect for a weekend getaway at The Essex Inn (Tappahannock, Virginia)

5 reviewed on April 18, 2016

My husband and I left the kids with the grandparents and stayed two nights for our anniversary weekend. We had a wonderful stay. The main house is beautiful. Breakfasts were gourmet and DELICIOUS. There is a mini menu so you get to pick exactly which breakfast you want AND the time you would like to have it!! We stayed in the upper suite (outside the main house) which was very comfortable and spacious. We found a couple board games in the room which was a pleasant surprise. The Butler's pantry was a special bonus stocked with tasty treats, coffee, tea, and delicious wine! We enjoyed walking the town of tappanhanock, riding our bikes in the local wildlife reserve, and lounging on the patio of the Essex Inn. Ric and Jeremy were inviting, wonderful hosts who made us feel welcome and pampered!

View more reviews for this inn

Essex "Inn love" at The Essex Inn (Tappahannock, Virginia)

5 reviewed on January 05, 2016

Great, great, great! At first, I was hesitant due to prior B & B experiences. However, this was top notch! A last minute girl's trip and we didn't want to stay at a "near by" commercial hotel - so glad we chose to stay here! As soon as we walked in the door, we were greeted by Jeremy and Charlie (resident sweet rescue - hello you had me at dog and then rescue!) and it already felt at home. Jeremy gave us the history of the place and showed us the house and accommodations (wine for guests! butler's kitchen with warming tray for coffee, snacks..oh yeah and history ;) We weren't able to eat dinner that night on site due to a booked Christmas party and boy, were we sorry - smelled divine! But at the same time we never felt we were in the way - both GENTLEMEN talked to us as if we had always been in their company. Rick still had the energy to talk to us that night, near the fireplace as if he hadn't just catered a full Christmas party. The next morning, however, stole the show! Rick made breakfast and it was just the 3 of us guests at that point. They made us feel so special -the china, the Christmas music, the scenery! They had to be tired from the night before but there was no sign of that! I loved Jeremy's "it's Christmas, you can have chocolate covered strawberries for breakfast" bit! The breakfast was decadent and SO DELICIOUS! Top Chef any one?? Rick, we all want that ham biscuit recipe! I'm kicking myself for not buying the cookbook but I think I was still in a food coma :) If you want a quick get-a-away with a pampered feel, this is it! Forget VA Beach or Wmsburg! These guys know what they are doing but at the same time make it feel effortless. It lead up to a joyous relaxed holiday due to their "feel at home, every day should be treated this way" mentality. KUDOS!! I would give it 6 stars if I could!

View more reviews for this inn

Great Experince at The Essex Inn (Tappahannock, Virginia)

5 reviewed on August 16, 2015

The Essex Inn is gorgeous, and the breakfast was absolutely wonderful. The Inn keeps are so friendly and helpful. Can't wait to come back... and we WILL!!

View more reviews for this inn

Perfect anniversary getaway at The Essex Inn (Tappahannock, Virginia)

5 reviewed on May 24, 2015

Loved our anniversary weekend away here! First class breakfast and charm! You will be so spoiled. Quaint quiet relaxing town. Beautiful gardens to sit and enjoy. Great for photographers and nature lovers. Can't wait to go back, didn't want to leave.

View more reviews for this inn

Soggy Saturday and Sunny Sunday couldn't have been better. at The Essex Inn (Tappahannock, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on March 15, 2015

What a wonderful weekend getaway. We met friends traveling from the opposite direction and it was the perfect halfway place to meet. Breakfast was over the top with blueberry french toast one morning and crab and egg bake the other with lots of extras, plus fresh squeezed apple juice. Ric and Jeremy would so gracious and very helpful in guiding us to the perfect evening dinners. We stayed in the Blue Room; it was so beautiful with big fluffy towels and bathrobes. Totally felt at home, enough that I was absolutely comfortable wandering the house in my stocking feet looking at the amazing antique collections. Thank you both so much for an marvelous weekend!

View more reviews for this inn

Best Engagement Party! at The Essex Inn (Tappahannock, Virginia)

5 reviewed on February 07, 2015

My fiance's parents and a family friend recently threw us the most amazing engagement party at the Essex Inn. Everything was absolute perfection - the whole evening was just magical! Thank you so much Ric and Jeremy for all of your hard work. You were both incredibly attentive and made the evening a truly unforgettable experience! Our families and friends have not stopped raving about how beautiful the Inn is and how wonderful of a time they had. My sister and I stayed in the Yellow Room - it was so beautiful and cozy. My parents stayed in the Green Room, and I believe they would move in now if you would let them. Thank you again for everything! I highly recommend the Essex Inn to anyone looking to host a special event or to enjoy a special getaway. Thanks, Ric and Jeremy!

View more reviews for this inn

Engagement Party and stay at The Essex Inn (Tappahannock, Virginia)

4.0 reviewed on February 02, 2015

What a beautiful and historic home! Just attended an engagement party this past weekend. Jeremy and Ric are fantastic hosts! The rooms are beautiful and the bed was fabulous! The food was top notch too! I stayed in the Kitchen suite--wonderful!! If you are in the area, I would recommend a stay at the Essex Inn! I tried to give 5s for all scores but the site would not let me.

View more reviews for this inn

Totally wonderful!!!!! at The Essex Inn (Tappahannock, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on December 25, 2014

we had a magical Christmas at the Inn. Jeremy and Rick are amazing hosts and make you feel like family guests. You may never want to leave. We chose the blue room, quaint, peaceful and our own remote operated fireplace next to the bed. What a great Christmas gift. Thanks to our hosts. We WILL be back.

View more reviews for this inn

Love The Essex Inn at The Essex Inn (Tappahannock, Virginia)

5 reviewed on July 11, 2014

I have stayed at the Essex Inn twice within a few years and both times the experience was wonderful. The innkeepers are so nice and hospitable and give you plenty of space and privacy. The accommodations are cozy and the beds so comfortable - I could have stayed forever. The food at breakfast is always a special treat - delicious and not something you'd make at home. I wish I had the recipes. The town is quaint - there's not much to do and very few decent places for dinner, but there are winery tours nearby and a mediocre public golf course close by. I go to relax and unwind so I'm happy sitting outside with a good book, taking walks and enjoying the waterfront.

View more reviews for this inn

The Essex Inn at The Essex Inn (Tappahannock, Virginia)

5 reviewed on October 13, 2012

This is a lovely inn with gracious hosts. Breakfast was excellent, our suite was beautiful and clean. We would definitely stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn

Southern Charm at The Essex Inn (Tappahannock, Virginia)

5 reviewed on September 06, 2012

Beautiful, comfortable, clean, cozy, quiet, private. Walk to downtown, or to river's edge. A perfect spot for a retreat & attend local fairs.

View more reviews for this inn

Great Visit! at The Essex Inn (Tappahannock, Virginia)

5 reviewed on August 02, 2012

Innkeeper Bob and Janice McGee have helped to make The Essex Inn visit as gracious as the inn is beautiful!

View more reviews for this inn

Can't wait to return! at The Essex Inn (Tappahannock, Virginia)

5 reviewed on December 16, 2011

Have another review on TripAdvisor so I'll make this one brief...this was the best experience in lodging I have ever had, bar none. The room (Upstairs Quarters) was spacious and secluded, gorgeous, clean, cozy, with the most comfortable bed EVER. The innkeepers and the housekeeper were amazing, polite, gracious and helpful. The Inn was beautiful and Tappahannock is a perfect place to unwind. Just amazing. I would recommend the Essex Inn to anyone.

View more reviews for this inn

Great location for touring Northern Neck region at The Essex Inn (Tappahannock, Virginia)

4.0 reviewed on September 29, 2011

We stayed at the Essex in while on a historical tour road trip in Virginia. It's the perfect spot for touring some of the historical sites in the Northern Neck region of VA, and for touring the Chesapeake Bay wine trail. We stayed in the main house in the Green Room. Their website described this room as having a partial view of the river from one of the windows (you could not see the river at all over the rooftops of the neighboring homes). However, the room was nice and spacious. Bob and Janice, the innkeepers, were very gracious and accommodating when we unexpectedly needed to do some work while on our vacation and print some documents. The innkeepers serve a sweet snack in the afternoons and spring water, beer, wine, pretzels, and mixed nuts are available for the enjoyment of guests. The breakfast both days was delightful!

View more reviews for this inn

A river idyll at The Essex Inn (Tappahannock, Virginia)

5 reviewed on August 01, 2011

Sparkling clean, light-filled rooms with beautiful colors & furnishings. Interesting antiques in house, but not an "old house" feel. Very gracious innkeepers & delicious food. Comfortable, quiet garden, views of river & old town.

View more reviews for this inn

A must stay at The Essex Inn (Tappahannock, Virginia)

5 reviewed on April 14, 2011

We just enjoyed a wonderful weekend at the Essex Inn. We felt like we were visiting family. Bob and Janice are attentive and gracious hosts. The breakfast was amazing. We definietly plan to return!! M & JL Sciancalepore

View more reviews for this inn

This Inn needs to be on TOP of your list! at The Essex Inn (Tappahannock, Virginia)

4.6 reviewed on March 01, 2011

I have stayed at many B&B's and this one tops my list because of its charm and friendly Inn keepers, cleanliness and charm plus the food. They offer wine, beer, sodas and home made goodies in the evening as part of your stay but the best part is the breakfast. The selection and variety the chef chooses will totally please you. I have stayed with them many, many times and am a customer for life! Do not miss this gem!

View more reviews for this inn

A wonderful find in Virginia at The Essex Inn (Tappahannock, Virginia)

4.0 reviewed on February 28, 2011

My husband and I stayed three nights at the Essex Inn this past October. This was not our first experience staying at a B & B; however, this was by far the best one. The Inn and the gardens are beautiful, very charming, and impeccably maintained. Although the weather was a little dreary, we felt very warm and cozy sitting by the fireside, enjoying a nice glass of wine. A very delicious and elegant breakfast was waiting for us each morning and the menu is changed daily. The Innkeepers are warm and friendly and happy to share their knowledge and history of the area. They helped us plan short day trips for our entire visit. We feel fortunate to have found this wonderful place and definitely plan on returning soon.

View more reviews for this inn

Friendly, discreet atmosphere at The Essex Inn (Tappahannock, Virginia)

4.0 reviewed on December 01, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Essex Inn for a week in July and found it to be delightful, both for the quality of its service and the comfort and charm of the inn itself. It’s convenient for visiting major tourist sights such as Jamestown and Williamsburg, as well as exploring the many beautiful and lesser-known back roads around the area. The breakfast, which varied from morning to morning, was truly exceptional, and the “Butler’s Pantry” was a wonderful addition, offering snacks throughout the day. Our hosts were personable and friendly, but discreet, and proposed day-trips and offered tips for good restaurants and interesting local sights. Our only disappointment was that we couldn’t stay longer…

View more reviews for this inn

Lovely colors at The Essex Inn (Tappahannock, Virginia)

4.2 reviewed on October 16, 2010

A pale blue dining room & light green bedroom -- charming. Nice breakfasts, helpful host & hostess.

View more reviews for this inn

Disappointing Service at The Essex Inn (Tappahannock, Virginia)

2.2 reviewed on June 21, 2010

This is an expensive but beautifully restored inn. I had really looked forward to staying here. Unfortunately, there was exactly no room service. The bed was never made, the trash cans were never emptied. On the first day when we returned to the room and took this in, I asked the new inn keeper if we could have fresh towels. She asked if I had not read the sign about being a green hotel. Well, there was a small sign in the bathroom, stating that one should leave towels on the rack if you want to reuse them, or leave them on the floor if you want clean ones. Since there was no real space to hang wet ones, I left them on the floor. No one even entered the room the three days we were there. There was another sign from the room attendant saying that she started work at 8 am and if we did not wish to be disturbed, put the sign out. That indicated to me that the room would be freshened up. It was not ever. I would not stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn

Long Term Stay at The Essex Inn (Tappahannock, Virginia)

5 reviewed on January 20, 2010

I was a guest at the Inn for three months, while working in the area on assignment. What a delight to feel 'at home' in my own minature townhouse (LR,Kit,BR,Bath,2 floors). Coming home at the end of the day and sitting by the warm burning fireplace. Simply relaxing and reading my own books, or perusing the shelves for something different. Taking nice long walks in the neighborhood, right along the River: beautiful views. Within walking distance to just about anything. I elected to fix my own meals in the full kitchen. But, the best part was knowing that the innkeepers were there if i needed anything; the cleaning service was fantastic. I guess that everyone doesn't get home-made cookies, warm from the plantation style enormous brick-floored kitchen in the main house, though. Guess i just timed it right!

View more reviews for this inn

Outstanding at The Essex Inn (Tappahannock, Virginia)

4.4 reviewed on December 16, 2009

A wonderful, comfortable and restfull inn. Very clean and beautiful.

View more reviews for this inn

Exquisite Accomodations at The Essex Inn (Tappahannock, Virginia)

5 reviewed on November 16, 2009

My stay at The Essex Inn was unequivocally the most wonderful experience I've ever had at a bed and breakfast. The lovely bedroom with gas/electric logs was meticulously decorated and I rested comfortably in the high four poster bed. The gourmet meals were intricate presentations of finest recipes. Hosts, Melodie and Reeves, were gracious, personable, and thoughtful. Don't miss an opportunity to stay at this lovely inn.

View more reviews for this inn

2PreppyGirls loves The Essex Inn! at The Essex Inn (Tappahannock, Virginia)

5 reviewed on October 18, 2009

Recently, 2PreppyGirls sponsored a 5K run for St. Margaret's Girls School in Tappahannock, VA. I was fortunate enough to have found The Essex Inn months ago and have been looking forward to being able to stay there - I was NOT disappointed!! I was in awe of this magnificently preserved and updated 150 year old house. It had wonderful 20 foot ceilings and beautiful hardwood floors but was not drafty; instead, it was warm and inviting with beautiful rugs, rich furniture and roaring fires going in both front rooms as well as my own beautifully appointed bedroom. The owner, Melodie, was friendly but not overtly so in case you just wanted to be alone. She was a marvelous hostess and chef as well! The china and crystal was all paired beautifully with polished silver - ahhh, it was all so lovely! I must tell you that breakfast was really special - Melodie's very own recipe for Crab & Grits with Poached Egg and Old Bay. WOW!! Or maybe it was the sliced melon with fresh Pomogranite (a first for me!)and cream...Oh it was all just sooo wonderful! I encourage you to check out the website and take a look at the pictures, they truly represent what you will experience. I loved my quiet, elegant weekend at the "Rivah" and look forward to going back again and again! Thank you Melodie! And I wish you continued success! Sincerely, Margaret Asbell Owner, 2PreppyGirls

View more reviews for this inn

The Essex Inn at The Essex Inn (Tappahannock, Virginia)

4.6 reviewed on August 26, 2009

Beautifully renovated & very well kept bed & breakfast inn. Possibly the nicest we have ever visited. Highly recommended. Location is in the center of Tappahannock very convenient to the historic district & St. Margaret's school.

View more reviews for this inn

Essex Inn at The Essex Inn (Tappahannock, Virginia)

5 reviewed on August 13, 2009

This was our first stay at a bed and breakfast. It was more than we expected. The accommodations were great, the food was outstanding. We had a fantastic 2-day get-away. We would recommend this inn to anyone wanting to be pampered.

View more reviews for this inn

Sibling getaway at the Essex B&B at The Essex Inn (Tappahannock, Virginia)

5 reviewed on June 30, 2009

Very elegant and beautiful bedrooms- this B&B graciously presented the 'butlers pantry'-full of snacks and drinks. The breakfast was delicious and beautifully presented.

View more reviews for this inn

The Essex Inn at The Essex Inn (Tappahannock, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on May 13, 2009

It was quiet, friendly, convenient, and a delightful place to stay. Wonderful host and hostess – food excellent.

View more reviews for this inn

Great weekend getaway at The Essex Inn (Tappahannock, Virginia)

4.4 reviewed on May 11, 2009

Great stay with wonderful hospitality. The innkeepers didn't intrude but were very helpful. We had the Rose Room, a large corner room overlooking the garden. It was very quiet, being in the back, but there isn't a lot of traffic in Tappahannock! The breakfasts were more than ample, delicious and very creative - highlighting the fact that they had studied cooking in France.

View more reviews for this inn

Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. The Essex Inn (4.61)