Recent Reviews in Staten Island, New York

Basic, clean B&B with wonderful service and location at The Harbor House (Staten Island, New York)

4.6 reviewed on May 10, 2017

Always a wonder visit with Moe at the Harbor House. No, this is not the Aster, and if you are looking for plush, fancy with bells and whistles you should move on. The Harbor house is a basic, clean, friendly, courteous B&B. Moe, the host, will do anything for you, is gracious, and just a nice person to talk to. There is a wide assortment of rooms, some with private bathrooms, some with shared bathrooms. We’ve done both, and while a private bathroom is nice, we’ve never had an issue with the shared bathroom. Spacious rooms, dressers and closets for your clothing, lots of hot water for your shower, comfortable beds. What more do you need? There is an apartment unit on the 1st floor, with two beds, a livingroom and a full kitchen. There are even rooms with bunk beds, so you are good if you want to bring the kids and still have a bit of privacy for yourself. Breakfast consists of assorted cereals, bagels, English muffins, plenty of good coffee and an assortment of teas—just tell Moe when you want it, and it will be laid out for you in the dining room. We’ve always had great views of the Hudson river, and there is a short greenway right across the street. The inn is incredibly well located—a couple of blocks to the subway system that take you to right in to the Staten Island Ferry terminal, and boom you are right in lower Manhattan. The ferry ride provides some of the best, if not the best, views of lower Manhattan, so bring your camera. There is easy street parking, and we always park and leave the car right where it is for the entire stay. The Harbor House is also within easy walking distance to restaurants, convenience stores, and a D&D. Go, enjoy, and say hi to Moe for us! Moe, as always, thanks for a wonderful experience, and we’ll see you again.

View more reviews for this inn


Best Bang for your Buck! at The Harbor House (Staten Island, New York)

5 reviewed on May 26, 2016

My brother, nephew, husband & I stayed here this past Friday - Monday and it was wonderful! We used to live in NYC and my husband is a native New Yorker, so my brother & nephew asked us for a personal tour of NYC. And this was the perfect place to stay. It's quiet, has a wonderful porch, a park is next door, and it's on NY Harbor, so there are wonderful views. We even saw a freighter turn around. It's only a few minutes to the Staten Island Ferry and then you are in the most exciting city in the world! My husband and I stayed in the Manhattan room and loved it! The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was good, and the view was phenomenal! We will stay there again next time we are in the city. Initially my brother and nephew had the Madison room. When I booked the reservation, it had a bunk bed and a sink. When we arrived, the bunk bed had been replaced by a double bed. It was a tight fit for them. The Mr. Moe attempted to rectify the situation, but the first solution didn't work out well. But the next day when a better room was available, the he gave it to my brother & nephew. The room they were given was the Verrazano room! The best room! They were so happy! And the rates! You can't beat the rates! Best in NYC, unless you want to stay in a hostel or flop house!!! Next time we go to NYC, (assuming we don't stay with friends), this is where we will stay!

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful place to arrive, when you are thousands of miles from home. at The Harbor House (Staten Island, New York)

4.6 reviewed on September 30, 2015

What we expected when we arrived was a clean and serious location to stay. This was real but we felt very welcome. The special quality of the treatment by Moe was his real interest to make us feel comfortable in his kindly way. The house and area itself has the exclusive spirit of a place where stories arrive from the whole world and decide to get roots in Harbor Houses garden.

View more reviews for this inn


great place to stay in NYC at The Harbor House (Staten Island, New York)

4.4 reviewed on April 29, 2015

We stayed at the homey Harbor House recently and were delighted by the views, convenience and especially by Mo, who was an exceptional host. It is convenient to the city by ferry and across the street is the Alice Austin House, a park, an exhibit of her home and her photography. We will stay there again and recommend it to friends who want a reasonably priced, comfortable and clean place to stay away from the noise of the city.

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding at The Harbor House (Staten Island, New York)

4.0 reviewed on January 04, 2015

We stayed at Harbor House in Sept of 2014, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay it was the perfect place to be after the hustle and bustle of the city. It was great to come home at night to the amazing view of the harbor. Moe's customer service was truly outstanding he went above and beyond. Thank you for making our stay in New York extra special. We would return anytime.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Value at The Harbor House (Staten Island, New York)

4.4 reviewed on October 20, 2014

The Harbor House is a labor of love for the host, Moe. I highly recommend it for anyone visiting NYC (a free ferry ride away).

View more reviews for this inn


A great place to be when visiting New York at The Harbor House (Staten Island, New York)

5 reviewed on September 30, 2014

The Harbor House is a great place to be when visting New York with a great view on NYC Skyline and Varrazano Narrows Bridge. Relax near the water on Staten Island. Good connection to South Manhattan via Bus and Staten Island Ferry. We really enjoyed our stay at Harbor House. Thanks to Moe who is a perfect host.

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic little gem at The Harbor House (Staten Island, New York)

4.4 reviewed on September 30, 2014

What a gem: unobstructed panoramic NYC views, located right on the water, clean and well-appointed rooms with plush sheets, towels, etc.; a wonderful host in Moe who even drove us back to the ferry one morning. The location is a 10-minute bus and five-minute walk, combined, from the ferry terminal. We walked all the way, about 25 minutes. Don't miss the Alice Austin historic house across the street. The only less than stellar thing is the modest breakfast selection, just cereal, toast, english muffins and bananas. They could be more varied in food selections. My wife and I used this as a getaway for a day from Manhattan, where we live.

View more reviews for this inn


Best value for money in New York at The Harbor House (Staten Island, New York)

5 reviewed on August 20, 2014

This B and B has friendly and helpful staff as well as having great views of the Manhattan skyline.

View more reviews for this inn


Psst: great stay for the New York Marathon at The Harbor House (Staten Island, New York)

4.2 reviewed on August 19, 2014

A short walk to the start of the NY Marathon made this a great place to stay before a long running tour of the five boroughs, with the budget-priced Vanderbilt room fine for two to share, plus helpful owners, fantastic views, and the wonderful free "cruises" on the State Island Ferry to and from Manhattan.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Harbor View, Friendly, accommodating Innkeeper at The Harbor House (Staten Island, New York)

4.2 reviewed on September 15, 2013

Very nice property, Some rooms still in transition to "great". Comfortable, good area. Breakfast included eggs, sausage, fresh fruit, cereals, juice, milk. Will definitely stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


$100(cash) room w/a $1,000,000 view at The Harbor House (Staten Island, New York)

3.2 reviewed on September 25, 2012

had ez 3rd floor walk-up crow's nest rm w/private bath. view was fabulous: hard right verrazaro narrows bridge, right brooklyn, & bridge, straight lower manhattan. left statue of liberty & nj. ny harbor v/busy& exciting. believe new owner moe mohammed & daughters doing better job than prev one. even took us to newark airport. staten is. ferry is free 24/7. great ride. didn't see anything of interest on staten island. cheap 10min bus ride to ferry, $5. by cab. would go back.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Value, Needs Upkeep at The Harbor House (Staten Island, New York)

2.8 reviewed on May 14, 2012

Innkeeper very nice. Area and view unbeatable, and a very good value. However, at least the Staten Suite is in bad need of repairs. Not nearly as nice inside, pictures are misleading.

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend Getaway on Staten Island at The Harbor House (Staten Island, New York)

3.4 reviewed on July 27, 2011

The Harbor House was a perfect choice for my needs. I chose it because of its proximity to the water right across the street. I appreciated the front porch and watching all the activity on the narrows, the NY harbor, and the changing lighting of Manhattan. I thoroughly enjoyed the conversations with the owner who is a very gracious host.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful views and hospitality. at The Harbor House (Staten Island, New York)

3.6 reviewed on July 19, 2011

We chose the Harbor House for the views and the economy. Our suite was roomy and met our needs well. We enjoyed the ferry rides to Manhattan. We would stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. The Harbor House (4.09)
Top
check }