Recent Reviews in Spartanburg, South Carolina

Great experience! The museum tour was the best. at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.0 reviewed on January 30, 2017

The house was beautiful and you felt like you were back in that era. Marty does an amazing job at telling the stories and the food, "Awesomely Delicious!". I'd recommend everyone to try this historic place.

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend getaway at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on January 26, 2017

Food is amazing!!! Museum tour was great, Chef Martie is a great personal tour guide, not to mention his knowledge of the history of N.C. He will explain how and when NC became what it is today. The character he becomes during the tour is funny, whitty, and extremely knowledgeable of the past presidents and/or The White House. I'm not a history buff but truely enjoyed his explanation,energy and detail that he processes during the your. Although there is not a lot to do in the town of Grover, it is a perfect place to get away and just slow down. There are things to do with a short drive. All around, awesome experience!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Great Weekend at the Inn of the Patriots! at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on January 25, 2017

Great Inn! Marti goes above and beyond to make sure you know all of the fun places to go and also offers an interesting history tour.

View more reviews for this inn


No problems, just fine! at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on January 24, 2017

Great stay in this very interesting inn with wonderful food! Surrounding area fun to visit. Town itself very small with limited shopping,etc.

View more reviews for this inn


Best Anniversary Ever! at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.2 reviewed on January 19, 2017

My husband and I spent our 29th Anniversary at the Inn of the Patriots in Grover, NC. The house is warm and friendly, the rooms are decorated with the finest detail and very clean. The bed linens were so very soft and comfy. Most impressive was the staff and the home style breakfasts. Everything from the homemade dry cereal, sausage, pumpkin pancakes, homemade syrups, ketchup, and preserves. It felt like we were visiting lifelong friends and we are already planning to return.

View more reviews for this inn


Fabulous stay! at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on January 06, 2017

Loved the home, it's location, and area! The food was incredible and met some interesting people. Definitely will go back!

View more reviews for this inn


Magical Christmas Getaway at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on January 05, 2017

We loved our first B&B stay at the Inn of the Patriots. Our host was gracious and helpful, and all the magical Christmas lights in the area (which they keyed us into) allowed for a lovely weekend getaway that made our season magical. The spacious and comfortable rooms, the amazing food, and the museum tour all came together to give us something completely unexpected and delightful. We look forward to making it a new tradition for us, and are so grateful we were able to truly experience this magical place.

View more reviews for this inn


Thanksgiving weekend stay at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.2 reviewed on January 04, 2017

Rooms were great and staff was very friendly...home itself was very cozy and behind the scenes tour was interesting

View more reviews for this inn


Getaway at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on January 03, 2017

The country gourmet breakfasts were fabulous! Enjoyed the Presidential memorabilia and Marti's tour and tales. Experienced all the extras in nearby Shelby, NC. Would go back!

View more reviews for this inn


Most enjoyable experience at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.4 reviewed on December 25, 2016

Very unique home, exceptionally appointed rooms, Delicious gourmet breakfast with new friends to enjoy your time. Also, great history lesson as part of your stay.

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful new Christmas Tradition at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on December 22, 2016

We had never been to a B&B before the Inn of the Patriots. We were a little lost as to what it would entail, but we were happy for a new adventure. Marti could not have been more welcoming and helpful. We enjoyed delicious food in the area, then set about an excursion in a Christmas Light wonderland before nestling down into cozy, snuggly room, perfect for a weekend getaway or a much longer stay. Breakfast in the morning was scrumptious, and the tour of the on-site museum was a treat with a fantastic tour guide (Marti again!). We were incredibly sad to leave, and cannot wait to make it a new family tradition.

View more reviews for this inn


Lopvely escape at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on December 13, 2016

We had no plans, but to rest and relax and regroup. There were some local wineries, historical battle ground in King's Mountain (minutes away) and a cute town of Shelby with surprisingly great food (go to the Ni Fen Bistro!) Unplug if you can, and allow yourself to just wander and have fun during the day/evenings, but get ready for amazing break feasts! (aka breakfast)

View more reviews for this inn


Combine history and cuisine at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.2 reviewed on December 03, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed 2 day stay and cooking course. Plenty to do and their 2 restaurants are good.

View more reviews for this inn


Great place for food and Presidential History at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.0 reviewed on November 29, 2016

Host was charming and very informative. Food is outstanding. Lots of Presidential historical information.

View more reviews for this inn


Loved It at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on November 28, 2016

We thought the house was charming. Marty gave an outstanding tour

View more reviews for this inn


Great history tour. at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on November 26, 2016

Highly educational place to stay, We loved the tours. We enjoyed the set dinning time of 9:00AM. With the other Guests.

View more reviews for this inn


Great history,host, and food. at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.2 reviewed on November 21, 2016

You shouldn't miss a chance to stay here. Very enjoyable 2 days with cooking class. There is history abound and enough to do locally. Their restaurants are good and you can add some winery time

View more reviews for this inn


Great experience, super value. at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on October 15, 2016

Very unique & outstanding experience. Innkeeper very skilled with unique insightful perspectives on cooking & his time being the chef for various presidents.

View more reviews for this inn


Best of the best at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on October 12, 2016

We truly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this B & B.¿¿¿¿

View more reviews for this inn


Great experience at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on October 12, 2016

Peaceful, delightful, excellent food and hospitality.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Weekend Getaway at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.0 reviewed on October 08, 2016

We enjoyed a great weekend at the Inn of the Patriots for our 21st wedding anniversary. The breakfast was awesome. My husband especially loved the eggs. There is a lot of history there and we especially liked the stories that the chef shared. We will definitely go again. Thanks Inn of the Patriots for a memorable weekend..

View more reviews for this inn


Great for Getaways! at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on October 08, 2016

My husband and I did a quick getaway last weekend. We visited the Cowpens National park, and then spent the night at the Inn. Very clean and inviting, great memorabilia around the entire Inn, and the owners are informative and welcoming!! We highly recommend!

View more reviews for this inn


Definitely give this a visit. at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on October 01, 2016

From the moment we stepped into the inn we correctly surmised this was going to be a good experience. The ambiance and the owners, Marti and Stormy, were friendly and welcoming. We were given The Baby Ruth Room, named for Cleveland's daughter. This room had no bathroom per se, however the owners had cleverly made one closet a shower and another a toilet area. While this made the shower a bit claustrophobia inducing, it beat having to go up the hallway to the shower. Beds are extremely comfortable and lots of electrical hookups are available for our digital world. Breakfast is provided at a long dining table. Everything from the first sip of coffee to our final day's pumpkin pancakes was delicious, as it should be coming from the kitchen of a former White House chef. Marti's tour of the house and presidential memorabilia, and his White House insider stories were very enlightening. Our full day's visit to the area included nearby King's Mountain National Military Park, SC; Owl's Eye Winery, and a delicious meal at Ni Fen Bistro in Shelby, NC. Highly recommend a stay here.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Stay at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on September 29, 2016

My husband and I decided to take a very small late anniversary trip this year. We just bought a house so the budget was tight. I bought a Living Social to The Inn of the Patriotists and decided to take a chance on a new destination. Our one night stay came with two free wine tastings at two different vineyards (Owl’s Eye and Baker Buffalo Creek), a Cider Flight at the local wine market, a free dessert, and a free appetizer. You really can’t beat this deal!! We went to the Vineyards on Saturday and arrived at about 5:00pm at the Inn. Kim greeted us and showed us around the place. It was very easy to check in. We stayed in the Baby Ruth Room. There is a private toilet room and then a separate private shower. They were both very small but, we knew this ahead of time. The room was quiet and peaceful. There is a beautiful front porch if you want to relax and enjoy some wine or tea. Breakfast the next morning was wonderful. We also enjoyed the tour of the inn with Marti. He loved giving us a history lesion which I very much appreciated. The little insights were wonderful. He was very animated. I also love that they want to help disabled veterans. Shelby is about 20 minutes away with a cute downtown area with a brewery, wine market, and some other cute restaurants and shops. We also hiked Crowder’s Mountain on Sunday. If you like the outdoors then that is a great spot. We truly had a great one night weekend getaway.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Place For. Quick Getaway at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on September 18, 2016

Found this place on Living Social while I was looking for something to do for my wife's birthday. The place was truly a gem. The room was filled with historic relics and the bed was cozy. Breakfast was amazing too and is served family style, so we had nice conversation with other guests.. Definitely worth the money. Just wished we had arrived earlier.

View more reviews for this inn


Authentic and Delicious!! at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on September 07, 2016

If you want to relax, learn, and really dine, visit the Inn of the Patriots and enjoy the comfy rooms, abounding historical connections, and Chefs Marti and Stormy's excellent, mouth-watering breakfast!!

View more reviews for this inn


Get-a-way at The Inn of The Patriots at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

3.8 reviewed on August 29, 2016

Our stay at the Inn was very nice. The place is great and Marty and company are wonderful. Breakfast was delicious just felt a bit disorganized during the serving of it.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Visit at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on August 28, 2016

The Chef and Staff were wonderful!

View more reviews for this inn


patriotic inn at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on August 27, 2016

enjoyed our stay

View more reviews for this inn


Short Stay at The Inn of the Patriots (Grover, North Carolina)

4.0 reviewed on August 22, 2016

Great place and great people, I'll be back.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. The Inn of the Patriots (4.52)
Top
}