Recent Reviews in Sintra, Portugal

Amazing stay at Quinta Verde Sintra (Sintra, Portugal)

5 reviewed on December 05, 2016

Sintra was a last minute addition to our itinerary through Portugal and we didn’t regret it. We chose Quinta Verde because of its location: an easy drive to the villages and the coast! The property is very well maintained, superbly appointed rooms and common areas. The staff was very welcoming; a special thank you to Tina, a charming and very helpful host! We will definitely come back!

View more reviews for this inn


A beautiful stay at Sintra. at Casa do Valle (Sintra, Portugal)

3.8 reviewed on August 28, 2015

With our group of 12 family members we stayed 1 week in Casa do Valle in Sintra. The garden was beautiful with a nice swimming pool great view on the surrounding mountains and castles. Our questions, remarks and wishes were instandly solved by the friendly personal. We recommend Casa do Valle for your stay in Sintra.

View more reviews for this inn


We Lucked In at Quinta do Scoto (Sintra, Portugal)

5 reviewed on November 06, 2014

Peter and I stayed at the Quinta do Scoto for two weeks using it as a base to visit the sites around Lisbon, Sintra, Mafra, Tomar and Obidos as well as the beaches at Cascias and Sesimbra. There is so much to see in just half and hour or so from this centrally located Quinta, that you need not pack up and move around the countryside. The bedrooms are large, roomy and well decorated. The breakfasts have so much choice that they appeal to adults and children alike. The pool is big enough to do laps. And there is a large property for children to run in whilst the parents get organized. Penny and Tony were beyond measure charming and helpful addressing a range of questions from local customs to restaurants. Don't miss the bread soup at the fish restaurant at Azenhas do Mer. We had no idea about where to book in Portugal to get the most out of a two week stay. We lucked in!

View more reviews for this inn


On August 25,28 2014 at Casa do Valle (Sintra, Portugal)

4.2 reviewed on August 29, 2014

I spent three days with a friend at Casa do Valle, Sintra. The view over the surrounding countryside is simply amazing. We could even see the moorish castle and some palaces on the top of the hill. Our room was very cozy and equipped with everything we needed to prepare our breakfast or even some tea before going to sleep.It is situated not far from the centre of the town but far enough for you to feel that you are away from all noise, in a pleasnt, romantic place. Yet, you can get easily to all the interesting places in the surrounding area. I would recommend this B&B hotel to anyone who would like to spend a pleasant vacation in Sintra.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Visit! at Casa do Valle (Sintra, Portugal)

5 reviewed on April 20, 2014

I recently had the pleasure of spending two weeks at Casa do Valle. In the many places I have stayed throughout the world, Casa do Valle is No. 1 on my list in service, hospitality and overall accommodations. Upon my arrival, I was greeted by the owner with great warmth and friendliness; and throughout my stay, she was always extremely helpful in proving information about the local sights and activities. The location was superb, offering beautiful views of the mountains, valley and castles, and within easy walking distance to many sights in the town and surrounding area. The room was impeccably clean, tastefully furnished and comfortable. The staff was well-trained, cheerful, efficient, and seemed to take great pride in being a part of Casa do Valle. I particularly enjoyed the breakfast, which was so lovely to eat on the terrace. My visit here was a very special time in every way and I would highly recommend Casa do Valle.

View more reviews for this inn


A treasure B&B at Casa do Valle (Sintra, Portugal)

5 reviewed on July 07, 2013

Spent a couple of days in Sintra, at Casa do Valle. The hostess is super nice, it is easy to see that she loves entertaining guests. The care and thought that the management put into little details makes this stay absolutely wonderful. The hotel is beautiful, we had a room that overlooked the castle and the town and we could see the sunset from the balcony. Very good experience, I can recommend to anyone who visits Sintra and wants a comfortable, place where to feel at home during a few days and enjoy a romantic vacation.

View more reviews for this inn


Portugalin huhtikuu at Casa do Valle (Sintra, Portugal)

5 reviewed on June 10, 2013

Vietin sisarusteni kanssa pitkän viikonlopun Sintrassa Casa do Vallessa. Paikka oli mainio: kaunis, rauhallinen ja siisti.Henkiläkunta oli eritäin ystävällistä ja avuliasta, ja iso apu oli tietysti sillä, että majatalon emäntä Virpi on suomalainen. Lyhyen loman aikana jäi Sintrasta vielä paljon näkemättä ja palaan varmasti uudelleen Casa do Vallen viihtyisiin huoneisiin ja upeaan puutarhaan!

View more reviews for this inn


Paradise in the hills of Sintra at Casa do Valle (Sintra, Portugal)

4.8 reviewed on September 02, 2012

Once we arrived at Casa doValle and welcomed by Virpi, a charming lady from Finland, we felt right at home and relaxed. The view from the pool area is amazing from dawn to sunset and even at night it's wonderful to look at the lights of the castle on top of the hill. Casa do Valle is a great starting point for many things that you can do in the area. A hike to the castles, a walk into town, a visit to one of the beaches in the area, a visit to a great local restaurant. Virpi knows all the places where you see, taste and feel this unique part of Portugal at it's best. We look forward to come back and hope that many other guests will recognize the warmth and value of this place. A true paradise in the hills of Sintra. Norman - The Netherlands

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect retreat at Casa do Valle (Sintra, Portugal)

4.0 reviewed on August 27, 2012

I spent 6 nights at Casa do Valle in August with my teenage daughter and it simply wasn't long enough! The setting is idyllic, with particularly glorious views from the pool. Whilst it would be the obvious place for a romantic stay, Virpi and her family had thought of everything to make it equally as welcoming to families. Nothing seemed too much trouble. There is plenty to do within walking distance or by taking the very efficient public transport or reasonably priced taxis, so hiring a car is really not necessary. The accommodation was spotless and the position, though down a steep lane, in my opinion, impossible to beat. We would both absolutely love to return!

View more reviews for this inn


Thanks for a great holiday at B&B Quinta Beira-Mar (Sintra, Portugal)

4.8 reviewed on August 21, 2012

I have just stayed in quintabeiramar for a week and had a really relaxing time, the house is amazing, our room was clean and spacious and had lovely views of the sea, I would recommend to anyone.....a short walk to the beach and Sintra within easy driving distance, its an ideal holiday

View more reviews for this inn


A lovely stay in a stunning location at B&B Quinta Beira-Mar (Sintra, Portugal)

4.6 reviewed on July 29, 2012

I recently visited Quinta Beira-Mar with two friends and we had the most wonderful stay. The house is gorgeous and situated in the most stunning location. A two minute walk takes you down to the beach and a 20 minute walk across the beach takes you to the local town of Praia das Macas. There is loads to do in the local area and lots of fantastic restaurants, bars and interesting places to visit. The house is absolutely gorgeous with a beautiful garden and swimming pool. Our hostess, Susanna, was completely charming and couldn't have been any more helpful and warmly hospitable. The animals are great and added a lovely, homey dimension to our stay. I would highly recommend visiting this beautiful home in a splendid location!

View more reviews for this inn


A great holiday at Casa do Valle at Casa do Valle (Sintra, Portugal)

4.4 reviewed on June 17, 2012

We enjoyed a wonderful week at Casa do Valle, Sintra. Virpi and her team were very welcoming, and nothing was too much trouble for them. Our balcony had a brilliant view of the stunning Pena Palace and Moorish Castle...and if that's not enough, also the countryside towards the Atlantic Ocean. Our room was really well-equipped with everything we needed to make our own breakfast, but Virpi's breakfasts and dinner platters were too tempting! Casa do Valle is in a great location - out of the busy-ness of Sintra, but close enough to be able to experience all the area has to offer. We loved it.

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic b&b at Casa do Valle (Sintra, Portugal)

4.4 reviewed on May 15, 2012

The rooms are so comfortable and clean. The atmosphere is warm and cozy. Viripi made us feel cared about when our friend was pick pocketed. Can't recommend this b&b more highly.

View more reviews for this inn


A must for a visit to Sintra at Casa do Valle (Sintra, Portugal)

4.4 reviewed on April 19, 2012

We went to Sintra to get a break from the atmosphere in London, and Casa do Valle was one of the best decisions we made. The room was spacious and came with a balcony that afforded a wonderful view of the Pena Palace and the surrounding countryside. Every day, the room was stocked with bottled water, tea, coffee and biscuits to start your day. There is also an option for a more substantial breakfast for a very reasonable price. Virpi is extremely friendly and accommodating. She takes excellent care of you and genuinely tries to make your stay more enjoyable. When we wanted to rent bikes to explore the area, Virpi was extremely helpful in finding a terrific place to do so. There are probably slightly cheaper places around Sintra, but, if you are looking for a relaxing getaway in a beautiful B&B with a fantastic owner, Casa do Valle is the best place to go. We have recommended Casa do Valle to many of my family and friends, and if we go back to Sintra, we will definitely stay with Virpi again!

View more reviews for this inn


Magical Sintra and Casa do Valle at Casa do Valle (Sintra, Portugal)

5 reviewed on April 18, 2012

Very friendly, informative, all restaurants, beaches, hiking paths, local history, recommended by our hostesses were wonderful. I even had a broken tooth and Virpi graciously made a dental appointment with a superb clinic. My husband had his birthday while there and we came back from dinner to a lovely chocolate fondue provided by Casa do Valle with a Portuguese happy birthday sung to him by Virpi & Martta. The choices for breakfast had a nice variety to choose from, plus lovely fresh fruit and coffee. You can see 3, plus castles from the yard. Quiet, peaceful. Good beds. Short walk to restaurants. Lovely neighborhood.

View more reviews for this inn


Loved it!!! at Quinta Verde Sintra (Sintra, Portugal)

4.8 reviewed on March 14, 2012

We've been to Quinta Verde before and we will return again. The location is great, very quiet and relaxing, yet close to everything – restaurants, beaches, monuments… The rooms are very comfortable and the grounds are very well kept. Delicious breakfast; Tina is a wonderful and charming host and provides the best recommendations to help guests get the most of their trip. If you are visiting Sintra, stay here!

View more reviews for this inn


great place with great views at Casa do Valle (Sintra, Portugal)

4.8 reviewed on March 10, 2012

Great spot for R&R, trekking and visiting a terrific UNESCO World Heritage site. History and art by the ton. Views of the valley, at dawn, sunset or any time, from our top floor room are just a pathway into your soul. As far as the establishment is concerned, do they rate B&Bs with six stars? They should for this one. Mike and Joan Napanee, Ontario Canada

View more reviews for this inn


Stay last Feb at Quinta do Scoto (Sintra, Portugal)

5 reviewed on October 28, 2011

Stayed last Feb with my wife and confirm looking forward to return with the rest of the family. Tony and Penny should dedicate in showing other Hotels on how a good job is done. best rgds Juan Pablo & Rosi Algeciras Spain

View more reviews for this inn


Inn with a Magnificent View at Casa do Valle (Sintra, Portugal)

4.0 reviewed on September 16, 2011

We recently spent 4 nights at Casa do Valle and it was a truly wonderful experience. Our hostess made us fee at home immediately. Everyone was very helpful. Our room had a great balcony with a fabulous view. It was very relaxing, away from the hustle and bustle of Sintra, but close enough to walk to dinner. I would highly recommend it.

View more reviews for this inn


A Special Gem at Casa do Valle (Sintra, Portugal)

4.4 reviewed on July 06, 2011

Casa do Valle is that special gem where you immediately feel comfortable and welcome. Quiet and clean without any fussiness but plenty of attention to detail Virpi and her family are delightful hosts eager to accommodate their guests. They know what their guests want through years of experience. The little room with high-speed internet and books and brochures is convenient and helpful. The proximity to the center of old town makes it an ideal location and the views from the property are stunning. Breakfast on the patio, the hammock on a relaxing morning, poolside with a chilled bottle of Green wine in the late afternoon, reflexology for my tired feet uner he canopy....are all fond memories of our stay at Casa do Valle. I wholeheartedly recommend this charming B&B to others.

View more reviews for this inn


Casa do Valle....Sintra's Gem at Casa do Valle (Sintra, Portugal)

4.0 reviewed on May 05, 2011

My husband and I were travelling together with my daughter and her husband and their 1 year old child. We arrived at Casa do Valle and were pleasantly surprised with our two lovely rooms with adjoining balconies that offered a breathtaking view. In preparation for our grandchild, a new crib had been put together with comfy bedding. The weather was mostly favourable, but one cool evening after a day of sightseeing, we were delighted to find the stove in our room crackling with a warm fire. On another day, our daughter's birthday was acknowledged with flowers and a box of chocolates! Our host Virpi was not only gracious, but obviously intelligent speaking six languages fluently! During our stay she suggested restaurants, and ordered dinner for us when we wanted to relax in our rooms. Always available to help, Virpi thoughtfully provided me with a camera when she determined that I had left my battery charger at home. After spending six days at Casa do Valle, I left with the feeling that we could be friends. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this lovely B & B to anyone.

View more reviews for this inn


Kodikas ja viihtyisä paikka, upeat näköalat, hyvä palvelu at Casa do Valle (Sintra, Portugal)

4.8 reviewed on March 16, 2011

Vietimme maaliskuisen viikon Sintrassa Casa do Vallessa. Paikka on upea - vain kivenheiton päässä vanhasta historiallisesta keskustasta, rauhallisessa ympäristössä, missä oli sitruunapuita, kielopuut tuoksuivat huumaavasti ja linnut lauloivat. Parasta oli kuitenkin näköala huoneesta ja parvekkeelta - kukkulat, joiden päällä satumaiset linnat ja linnoitukset - pimeällä ne oli valaistu ja tunnelma oli vielä enemmän sadunhohtoinen. Palvelu oli leppoisaa ja mutkatonta - kuin olisi kylässä vanhan tutun luona - paikan emäntä Virpi on suomalainen. Viimeiseksi päiväksi tilasimme Virpin avulla ayervedisia hoitoja - kasvo-, pää- ja jalkahierontaa - suosittelemme lämpimästi kokeilemaan. Oli tosi rentouttava loppusilaus ihanalle lomaviikollemme.

View more reviews for this inn


Fabulous stay in Sintra at Casa do Valle (Sintra, Portugal)

4.4 reviewed on February 15, 2011

This was just a gem of a find. Virpi was extremely helpful -gave us a lot of information about the castles and palaces to see and also about restaurants. The location of the property is very convenient - one can walk to most sights. Sintra is gorgeous and we had a great experience. We had a breakfast brought to our rooms every morning - fresh seasonal fruit was especially nice. We took a train in to Lisboa which was very convenient.

View more reviews for this inn


a most pleasent holiday at Casa do Valle (Sintra, Portugal)

5 reviewed on February 01, 2011

If you are looking for a wonderful get-a-way either alone or with someone special I can highly recommend Casa do Valle in Sintra - I've been there with my husband, with my friends and finally alone and every time I've seen a different Sintra. Casa do VAlle's location is perfect and the rooms are comfortable and especially in the summer the garden is beautiful! The staff is very friendly - if you need aplace to relax, this is it! (or for an active, sporty holiday - perfect!)

View more reviews for this inn


A charming night. at Casa do Valle (Sintra, Portugal)

4.4 reviewed on January 10, 2011

We stayed at Casa do Valle for a single night in late December 2010. Despite a last-minute alteration to our booking our hosts were extremely kind and made us feel at home. The room itself was a pleasant surprise, as were the set of tea, coffee and nibbles layed out on the table. Unfortunately we did not have the chance to look at the garden properly, but we do hope to return and have that taken care of! In all, a great stay and extremely kind hosts. Highly recommended.

View more reviews for this inn


More Than A Wonderful B&B Experience at Quinta do Scoto (Sintra, Portugal)

5 reviewed on December 30, 2010

The Ross family – Penny, Tony, Charlotte and Izzy -- have an unaffected flair for making you feel like you’re a special guest from the moment you arrive. Other comments about the spaciousness and comfort of the rooms reflect our experience as well. Indeed, our sleeping room was larger than our living room at home! While many visitors to Portugal seem to lament the uncomfortable beds they encounter, ours was on a par with our expensive mattress at home. The bathroom’s amenities (loved the oversize shower head that really gives you a soaking) were well thought out. Even though we were there during a cooler period, the grounds were lovely and inviting. While we did not try it, Tony assured that the beautiful pool was comfortably swimmable even at that time of year. Breakfasts were wonderful treats, enhanced by wonderful conversations and guidance on planning each day's activities. Tony and Penny introduced us to the delightful wines of the Alentejano region, which have now become regular pours in our home. The walks to the local train station and the nearby restaurants, were only mini-adventures, but with frequent, fast service to Lisbon and to Sintra in the case of the former, and excellent, inexpensive food and wines in the case of the latter. On the weekend, they willingly drove us to the larger local station where rail service was more frequent. With their encouragement, we spent wonderful days in Sintra and Obidos, which we might not have attempted had we based in Lisbon. What they are undertaking in the restoration of the property is awesome. Ask them to give you an oral history of their undertaking. It will tell you so much about who these wonderful people are, and why their love and passion for the place shows through in your experience of them and of their adopted home. If you’re like us, you’ll leave with the feeling that you’ve made new, lasting friends who you hope you’ll have the privilege of seeing again very soon.

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic stay at Casa do Valle at Casa do Valle (Sintra, Portugal)

5 reviewed on December 13, 2010

I stayed at Casa do Valle during the first weekend of December, for three nights. And I must say it was a fantastic weekend. My room was quite wide and very comfotable, with litlle grateful details like candles ... and with a lovely and warmth wood stove. Breakfast was very good, with coffee, orange juice, different kinds of bread, jam, cheese, fruits .... But what makes the difference to other places is the quiet place, the views, the hospitallity ... it is like your second home. And nothing of this could happen without the friendship and crativity ot he owners: Virty and Manuel. Sintra is a lovely and magical place that worths a place like Quinta do Valle.

View more reviews for this inn


Great spot at Casa do Valle (Sintra, Portugal)

4.8 reviewed on October 31, 2010

Stayed for five nights October 2010. We aren't really B&B people but loved this place. You have your own separate unit with bathroom. Very clean, hot water abundant, charming hostess with VERY freindly Great Dane pup. Breakfast is served in your room at a time you request and great effort is expended to accommodate food tastes. Spectacular views of the hilltop castles and the surrounding countryside. Great value, too!

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely and charming B&B at Casa do Valle (Sintra, Portugal)

5 reviewed on October 27, 2010

Stayed 6 days at this lovely inn. The room was charming, the breakfast very good, and the owner and staff very pleasant. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends!

View more reviews for this inn


Casa do Valle on helmi at Casa do Valle (Sintra, Portugal)

5 reviewed on October 22, 2010

Casa do Vallessa voit irtaantua arjesta ja nauttia maisemista, hyvistä aamiaisista, isäntäväen ystävällisyydestä ja kauniista ympäristöstä, olimme siellä jo toista kertaa lokakuussa syyslomalla ja suosittelemme lämpimästi!

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Quinta Verde Sintra (4.90)
  2. Quinta do Scoto (4.90)
  3. B&B Quinta Beira-Mar (4.75)
  4. Casa do Valle (4.57)
Top
check }