Recent Reviews in Simsbury, Connecticut

Lovely stay! at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

4.4 reviewed on April 19, 2017

My daughter and I were in Simsbury for a school bisit. We loved our stay at Green Acres! The rooms were cozy and beautifully appointed and the food was fantastic!

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding Place to stay ! at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on February 18, 2017

This was one of the best bed and breakfasts we have stayed at. Friendly inn keepers and lots of small touches to make it homey. We loved it here and will be back for another stay !

View more reviews for this inn


Love this place!!!!! at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on January 19, 2017

We have stayed here many times and each visit feels like you are seeing old friends. The entire b&b is a beautiful and comfortable place and the breakfasts are amazing!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful country escape! at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on January 18, 2017

Fantastic breakfast (try the french toast!). Friendly hosts. Sensational experience.

View more reviews for this inn


Best B&B in Connecticut at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on January 02, 2017

We've stayed here four times already. To us, Jim and Cathy are like family. We love the rooms and all the amenities that you get with the rooms. Such as Terricloth robe and slippers, a candy dish filled with an assortment of different candies, Sherry in a decanter and a mini refrigerator fully stocked with juice, water, soda and snacks such as chips and crackers. Plus a coffee maker with an assortment of k-cup coffies and tea. And of course your very own bathroom with shower. During the summer months they have an in ground pool with pool house (which has a fully functional kitchen) to enjoy. Jim and Cathy are dog lovers as we are too. They have dogs that are very friendly and love attention and their chickens are a hoot as well. We continue to vacation here because of all you get for the price you pay. Green Acres is truly the place to be!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding visit all around! at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on November 17, 2016

Wonderful hosts, fantastic breakfasts and bountiful amenities! Cathy and Jim have mixed just the right amount of modern comforts into their very historic home. Would definitely put Green Acres on a "repeat" list.

View more reviews for this inn


A Jewel of an Inn with Farm Flavor at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on November 07, 2016

The Green Acres exceeded our expectations of a b & b outside Hartford! This stunningly maintained colonial home, right on the main road, makes it easy to imagine what travel was like 200 years ago. Our hosts, Jim, Cathy and their friendly dogs, met us right in the driveway at our arrival, making us feel right at home. I loved the little stairway up to the two second-story guest rooms. Our Linen Room has five windows, two facing front, with a big table in between, laid with homemade cookies, chocolates, and a decanter of sherry. Lots of area restaurants, and each room gives great details on each, plus books about local history and places to visit. After a comfortable night in luxurious surroundings, we devoured Jim's breakfast. The menu is very flexible, so we were able to mix some items from the continental choices with our hot dish. The dogs are perfectly polite and persuasive, if you allow yourself to be charmed. The yard in autumn is a wonder to behold, and the wire fenced-in chicken yard and coop rule it! I was able to enter the enclosure and visit the eccentric individuals who live there. The chickens will eat out of your hand, sit near you, and even let you hold them. Spending time with the rooster and hens was very contemplative and soothing. Jim knows a lot about gently raising these fine birds, and treats each of them as a member of the family. They work for the inn, laying their eggs for our meals. Upon our reluctant departure from Green Acres, we drove through scenic byways bordered by state forests. The branches waved us good bye and beckoned us to come back again soon.

View more reviews for this inn


~Best B&B~ at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on October 14, 2016

Fabulous and comfy room with an equally amazing breakfast. Beautiful back yard to stroll in. The inn keepers have thought of everything for the most pleasurable stay I've had at a bed and breakfast ever.

View more reviews for this inn


Green Acres is the place to be. at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on September 23, 2016

In a quiet, serene environment, a stay at Green Acres is a treat. The Inn keepers, Cathy and Jim, take care of little touchs, like cookies in your room and coffees to go when you leave. The home is warm and inviting with beautiful grounds. Fresh eggs at breakfast from their chickens adds to your stay. Highly recommended!

View more reviews for this inn


A great place to stay. at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

4.8 reviewed on September 20, 2016

This is a beautiful home, with a pool and a lovely outside area to sit and enjoy the wonderful breakfast prepared by our hosts. What I seriously enjoyed was the tub (that you could sit in and take a bubble bath) and the breakfast (no limits, just pick everything you want to eat). My only (tiny) critique is that the room was a bit hot (we went during the high summer season). They did give you a small fan, but, it needed more air. You can't open the windows to let any of the cool night air in.

View more reviews for this inn


Welcoming Hosts at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on September 19, 2016

Jim and Cathy are very welcoming hosts. Our room was comfortable and beautifully decorated with antique furniture. We've stayed here several times now. We live an hour away, and this is our "go to" destination for a couple of days break, a real "home away from home". Breakfast by the pool was delicious as always. We look forward to visiting again.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing Getaway Outside of NYC at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on September 02, 2016

My fiance, dog and I recently stayed at Green Acres to have a relaxing weekend away from NYC. We were super pleased with the outcome and level of hospitality provided via Jim and Cathy. You cannot honestly get a better value for the price. First, the cleanliness of the home, rooms and property was as expected. They have a great space, chickens, a pool and areas to walk around. Secondly, don't even get me started on the home cooked breakfast every morning! The french toast, scones and more was delicious. There is also plenty in Simsbury for hiking, dog parks, and restaurants to choose from that will keep you busy. I highly encourage and recommend evaluating GA B&B as a viable option. Cheers!

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding in all regards at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on May 10, 2016

I stay at many high end B and B's and this one is at the top! Worth a trip in itself.

View more reviews for this inn


Exceptional!!!!! at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on April 06, 2016

Jim + Cathy do an incredible job. Beautifully restored New England home and delicious breakfast. You will not be disappointed!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Another great stay! at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on March 23, 2016

We had another grand stay at Green Acres. Cathy and Jim are gracious hosts at their lovely home.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing Stay at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on March 22, 2016

Everything was perfect, I only wish we came during a much warmer weather! Otherwise even during the fall the beauty of the area is breath taking. I highly recommend this B&B!

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic B & B at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on January 01, 2016

My wife and I visited our family in the area and our stay at Green Acres was outstanding. Our hosts were very accommodating, the breakfast superb, and the room very comfortable. We have stayed at many B & B's and this was the best one ever. Would recommend Green Acres to anyone.

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

4.2 reviewed on November 27, 2015

We had a lovely stay at Green Acres BnB. The house is a charming historic house with modern amenities. Our hosts were gracious and gave us an excellent breakfast, to boot!

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent B & B at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on October 03, 2015

Stunning accommodation, where we were made to feel very welcome. Jim and Cathy have thought of everything to make your stay relaxing and restful. They are excellent hosts, the food is freshly cooked and beautifully served and provide full use of house and grounds. I would highly recommend this B & B to anyone travelling in the CT area.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect! at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on August 12, 2015

Green Acres was the perfect choice for entertaining guests and providing overnight accommodations for the lucky few. We entertained out-of-town guests at the pool one evening and again the following afternoon. Good company and the idyllic New England setting brought compliments from everyone involved. Jim and Cathy were perfect hosts. We'll be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Short but oh so sweet! at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on July 21, 2015

My husband and I stayed in The Trade Room. Towels were 100% egyptian cotton ++++ Robes and extremely comfy slippers were provided. Shower was equipped with wonderfully scented shampoo and conditioner. Sherry and an abundance of chocolate greeted us in our room as well as a loaded mini fridge, keurig machine with K-cups and chocolate chip cookies. Unfortunately, we didn't have as much time as we would have liked since we got in pretty late at night and check out was at 11am the following day but the house was very cozy, bed was extremely comfortable with lots and lots of pillows (part of the reason we slept in later than we wanted to) and the breakfast was fresh and delicious! Portions were very generous. While in CT, I had a hard time finding good coffee (I'm a NY coffee snob) but the coffee at the inn was PERFECT. We ate out in the patio - sound of the pond waterfall was so relaxing. I was afraid of what the temperature would be like in the house since it was so hot outside (in the 90's) but the it was perfectly cool - YES! there is AC. The pool and hammock looked so inviting! We wanted to stay an extra night but they were booked. Would love to see this place in fall/winter with the fireplaces lit. Both Jim and Cathy were very nice and gave us some great recommendations on places to visit nearby. We'll deinitely be going back!!

View more reviews for this inn


Perennial Favorite at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on March 26, 2015

Green Acres has become my perennial favorite place to stay when I'm travelling for work in CT. Jim and Cathy are so welcoming, the breakfasts are practically gourmet (and so delicious!), and the beds are quite comfortable. I highly recommend staying here!

View more reviews for this inn


Honey I love you, but give me Green Acres! at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on January 17, 2015

Who says you can't choose your relatives. We were visiting close by in Simsbury. We found this mavilous little B&B tucked away just down the street, so indiscreet, so comfortable. No detail was left unattended. We even had a live, full size, beautifully decorated and lightened Christmas tree in our room. We were made to feel at home. We entertained guest by the fireplace in the living room after a night out and diner. The bedding is top shelf, they even thought if a sound machine, we slept to the sound of the rain forest. breakfast was great, nicely prepaired. We invited a guest to join us, it was truly a wonderful visit! Our hosts treated us like favorite relatives. They will definitely see us again.... and our family.

View more reviews for this inn


Welcoming and beautiful. at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

4.8 reviewed on November 09, 2014

My husband and I were overjoyed to find a b&b that allowed dogs, and was close to Hartford. Cathy and Jim exceeded all of our expectations. Not only were they friendly and very nice, but also, super accommodating. They allowed us to use space in their fridge, they made delicious vegetarian breakfast for us, at 4 am, they let us hang out after check-out, and they made our dog feel very welcome. On top of this, the room and the whole b&b, were absolutely immaculate. I am notoriously hard to please, but Green Acres was absolutely perfect; clean, cozy, and very welcoming. We hope we can visit this lovely home, and wonderful innkeepers again, soon.

View more reviews for this inn


Green Acres at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on June 26, 2014

Jim and Cathy are amazing hosts, and their 1700's B&B home is absolutely magnificent. Every amenity is of top quality, the furnishings are gorgeous, the bed was exquisitely comfortable, the grounds are beautiful, and the chickens are the perfect added touch. Jim and Cathy really care about their guests and are such kind people to have opened their home to three elderly shelter dogs as well as the free-roaming chickens which provide eggs for the most delicious omelets one will ever taste. We LOVED our time at Green Acres and recommend it with the highest accolades! Jane & Art, NY

View more reviews for this inn


Truly a wonderful experience at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on June 24, 2014

My husband and I just got home from Green Acres B&B, and we cannot wait to return. We chose to stay here based on the reviews below, so I had pretty high expectations. Even still, Jim and Cathy managed to go above and beyond what I ever would have expected from hosts. Pros: 1. The bed was very comfortable. The room was cozy, and there was no noise to disturb us. We stayed in the Trade Room which had a private door leading to the backyard patio and pool. 2. There were complimentary snacks, soft drinks, sherry, and AMAZING homemade cookies in the room. 3. You get to choose your own breakfast from a menu. Do yourself a favor and choose the skillet - sausage, onions, peppers, cheese, and a freshly laid egg by one of his chickens. 4. You also get to choose what time you want to eat and where. We ate outside on the patio and enjoyed the company of the chickens and Champion the dog. 5. The grounds are beautiful to walk around. You can relax by the pool, go for a swim, relax on the hammock, and hang out with the chickens who walk around on their own. If you ask, Jim will also take you in the barn to see the baby chicks he is raising. 6. After an absolutely amazing evening and delicious breakfast in the morning, we couldn't ask for anything more, but then Jim and Cathy gave us even more cookies for the drive home. They are super thoughtful and just the best hosts! Cons: NOTHING. The only sad part was leaving so soon. We can't wait to return. Thanks again Jim and Cathy!

View more reviews for this inn


The Greatest! at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on June 03, 2014

Jim and Cathy are super hosts who really care about their guests. Elegant luxury in a 270 year old carefully rehabbed historic farmhouse! Food was delicious and attractively presented. Watching their delight upon arrival of new baby chicks was priceless. (Future source of breakfast eggs - doesn't get any fresher than growing your own!).

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent B&B at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

4.4 reviewed on May 23, 2014

Our hosts at the Green Acres B&B, Jim and Cathy, both made us feel very welcome throughout our recent stay at the Green Acres B&B. We really enjoyed our stay, and have already booked our return visit! Green Acres is a beautifully restored 18th century farmhouse, and is very conveniently located for anyone visiting the Hartford area (20 minutes from the city center). We stayed in the Trade Room, which is charmingly decorated (I really loved the huge wardrobe). Most importantly the Queen sized bed was very comfortable, and we both got a good night's sleep. I particularly enjoyed exploring the gardens the next day, which were full of spring flowers, and then relaxing by the pool. Looking forward to our return.

View more reviews for this inn


Charming B&B at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

4.2 reviewed on May 04, 2014

I was hoping for a nice stay and received so much more. My room was lovely and comfortable and appointed with fresh flowers, complimentary refreshments, and chocolates! Jim and Cathy the hosts were friendly and welcoming. And the breakfasts delicious - farm fresh eggs are the best! I'm happy that I had a moment to walk the grounds with their chickens for company. I would not only stay here again, but want to find time to go back.

View more reviews for this inn


One of the best B&Bs I've ever stayed at at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on March 11, 2014

Charming doesn't begin to describe this place. I’ve stayed at a lot of B&Bs, and don't usually feel compelled to review them, but Green Acres deserves the effort. We stayed for two very comfortable nights while we explored the Hartford area. I would like to return during high season, as the pool and grounds looked like they would be gorgeous in the summer. Still, we got to enjoy the house’s fireplaces and cozy interior. The house retains all the best parts of 18th century architecture/embellishments while adding luxury bathrooms, memory foam mattresses, well-stocked mini-fridges, and sherry. The grounds host a brood of free-range hens, which the proprietor will let you visit (when the weather’s good, the chickens can also accompany you on the patio for breakfast if you want). The house is also home to several adorable derpy dogs, so prepare your best “aww”s. The proprietor is very warm and a great cook. I often find that breakfasts at B&Bs can be a little awkward if the host hovers etc., but the atmosphere at Green Acres was very relaxed and laissez-faire. The house is right on a main road (a charming, smallish main road, but a main road nonetheless). We didn’t have any trouble with the noise, but the rooms come with white noise machines, so it’s clearly something that the proprietor has thought of. The other minor issue was that the upstairs bedrooms were both pretty warm at night (but better too hot than too cold in March?). We ended up using fans (conveniently located in the closets) for the second night. To be fair, it didn’t occur to us to ask the proprietor about the temperature—there was probably a way to adjust it. In short: I would highly recommend Green Acres; in fact we’re looking for excuses to return to Hartford just to stay there again.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Green Acres B&B (4.90)
Top
}