Recent Reviews in Shippensburg, Pennsylvania

Great B & B near SU at Dykeman House Bed & Breakfast (Shippenbsurg, Pennsylvania)

4.8 reviewed on April 30, 2015

Absolutely the best mattress ever...even better then our own. We stayed in the Lizzie room, and enjoyed the historical stories of the Civil War era. We also enjoyed the evening treat, and the breakfast was superb! The hosts were very friendly and accommodating.

View more reviews for this inn


Don't miss this wonderful stay at McLean House Bed & Breakfast (Shippensburg, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on April 06, 2015

We have stayed at many B&B's but this is hands down probably the finest. Beautifully decorated and we would enjoy living here. How we missed this in the past I'll never know. Jan was a wonderful host and gave us a sumptuous breakfast. This is a must stay for any of our future trips to the area. Will stay longer next time so we can enjoy the downtown and the history.

View more reviews for this inn


Affordable & Comfortable at Dykeman House Bed & Breakfast (Shippenbsurg, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on November 08, 2014

We are so glad we chose the Dykeman Inn for our stay. We found it clean and comfortable. John & Shelly were very accommodating to our schedule. Our breakfasts were outstanding meals and over and above what we expected. We felt very welcomed there and will definitely go back.

View more reviews for this inn


Great get away Weekend at McLean House Bed & Breakfast (Shippensburg, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on December 20, 2013

Was such a delight staying in the McLean Home. Jan Rose was a wonderful hostess & made our visit very pleasant- coffee & breakfast were wonderful-

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing getaway at Dykeman House Bed & Breakfast (Shippenbsurg, Pennsylvania)

4.8 reviewed on October 23, 2013

Rich with history. Relaxing environment. Excellent homemade breakfasts. Warm, inviting hospitality. Variety of events & activities.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Stay! at Dykeman House Bed & Breakfast (Shippenbsurg, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on October 18, 2013

The home is lovely. The room was very comfortable and everything was immaculate. Breakfast was great, and the hosts were warm and welcoming. Would definitely stay again!

View more reviews for this inn


So peaceful, lovely setting, great hosts at Dykeman House Bed & Breakfast (Shippenbsurg, Pennsylvania)

3.8 reviewed on July 06, 2013

We were looking for a quiet, comfortable B&B within reach of the sights we wanted to see in Pennsylvania, and we found it! The setting was lovely, and very quiet and peaceful, but close to downtown. Our hosts Shelly and John were very welcoming, and helpful with ideas for local dining (we loved CJ's!). Breakfasts were huge and hearty - enough to see us through to dinner! Our room was large and very comfortable.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect Bed and Breakfast experience! at Dykeman House Bed & Breakfast (Shippenbsurg, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on June 06, 2013

I have stayed in several bed and breakfasts and this is my favorite. Beautiful historical home filled with lovely antiques. Enjoyed John and Shelly's hospitality and the homemade chocolate chip cookies were a big hit with my husband. Shelly even packed some up for us to take with us on the trip home. I would highly recommend Dykeman House!

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent B&B at Dykeman House Bed & Breakfast (Shippenbsurg, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on March 18, 2013

This was an excellent B&B. Hosts were very hospitable. Rooms were beautiful and very clean. Breakfast was very plentiful and delicious. Location was near to many attractions in Shippensburg as well as surrounding communities. It's a "must stay" place!!

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely home & innkeepers! at Dykeman House Bed & Breakfast (Shippenbsurg, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on February 23, 2013

Dykeman House is a beautiful historic home that has been lovingly restored. Located in the scenic countryside of Pennsylvania. Shelley and John are great innkeepers and make you feel very welcome. Looking forward to visiting again.

View more reviews for this inn


Highly recommended at Dykeman House Bed & Breakfast (Shippenbsurg, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on January 02, 2013

Warm and friendly hosts, impressive home, cozy rooms, nice location, scenic area, close to down town.

View more reviews for this inn


What a great place at Dykeman House Bed & Breakfast (Shippenbsurg, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on November 15, 2012

This is a wonderful historic home in which to stay. Very pretty and great hosts.

View more reviews for this inn


Like meeting old friends.... at Dykeman House Bed & Breakfast (Shippenbsurg, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on September 29, 2012

Meeting John and Shelly for the first time felt like we must have met them before....great people and so accommodating. We had to leave a bit early the next morning and there was breakfast waiting for us. And what a breakfast it was...wonderful! The B & B is so easy to get to from the interstate too. We hope we will have the opportunity to spend the night again sometime. Thank you so much. Tony and Bertie

View more reviews for this inn


Historical Charm at McLean House Bed & Breakfast (Shippensburg, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on September 06, 2012

Lovely getaway within driving distance from Carlisle. An experienced hostess and the comfort of home away from home made our trip one we look forward to making again soon!

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful place at McLean House Bed & Breakfast (Shippensburg, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on September 04, 2012

Beautiful historic old house. gracious hospitality -- Thank you Jan! We would definitely return.

View more reviews for this inn


One of the best B & B's we have stayed at at Dykeman House Bed & Breakfast (Shippenbsurg, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on July 19, 2012

Hi, Both my husband and myself have stayed at B & B's in the UK, USA and Canada and we have to say this is one of the best we have ever stayed at. The owners are friendly, the room was wonderful (the picture on the web site does not do it justice) and the food was awesome. We were down in PA at a car show and our Challenger had a challenge...the battery died. We were ten miles from B & B, we called and the John came to where we were, picked up my husband and took him to have it replaced. After all of this we were greeted at the door of Dykeman House by Shelly who had place a bottle of wine with cheese and crackers out for us. The breakfasts was wonderful and plenty of very tasty food which filled us up. Our stay was great and we have already booked in for next year. Doris and Bill Knox Canada

View more reviews for this inn


Very Charming B/B at Dykeman House Bed & Breakfast (Shippenbsurg, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on July 03, 2012

I recently traveled to Shippensburg for a family reunion, the Dykeman B/B was recommended and Iam glad it was. I found the Dykeman to have a wonderful charm about it. The inside is beautifully decorated and the rooms are very comfortable and relaxing. Every morning they served a wonderful breakfast. Its owner Shelly and John Davidson are very friendly and gracous inkeepers that attend to there guests every need. If your looking for a quite charming place to stay,stay at the Dykeman B/B

View more reviews for this inn


McLean House stay at McLean House Bed & Breakfast (Shippensburg, Pennsylvania)

4.6 reviewed on June 23, 2012

We were looking for a quiet setting where we could visit Gettysburg & do some hiking. This was a great choice! Gettysburg was close enough, Boiling Springs was a gem & the Appalachian Trail was nearby. Jan made us feel welcome & the food was wonderful. She also gave us numerous tips on places to visit & we would certainly go back. Danny & Martha - fulltimeRV'ers Sioux Falls, South Dakota (currently in Elmira, NY)

View more reviews for this inn


Delightful stay at the Dykeman House at Dykeman House Bed & Breakfast (Shippenbsurg, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on June 02, 2012

John and Shelly are hosts to a charming historic B&B with all of the modern amenities, yummy treats and personal, warm service a busy traveler could need. From the cozy room to the comfortable bed and new private bathroom (with great hot water pressure) to the excellent breakfast, wine and cheese and the special peanut butter cookies, there was a lovely surprise at every turn. Time spent reading and chatting in a number of their perfectly placed porch rocking chairs and a generously shaded hammock, listening to the waterfall, left me feeling relaxed and ready to enjoy the State wide track meet hosted by Shippensburg University. I highly recommend John and Shelly’s Dykeman House.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely Inn and Innkeepers at Dykeman House Bed & Breakfast (Shippenbsurg, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on May 16, 2012

We stayed at the Dykeman House over Shippensburg U. graduation weekend and had a wonderful experience. The room was very clean, quiet, and comfortable. The innkeepers were kind enough to leave wine, cheese, apples, and fresh water in our room. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious. We highly recommend this bed and breakfast.

View more reviews for this inn


My Stay on 4/21 at Dykeman House Bed & Breakfast (Shippenbsurg, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on May 04, 2012

It was absolutely beautiful and delightful. Great meeting all of you. Felt as though I was at home with friends. Thank you again so very much.

View more reviews for this inn


My new favorite to place to stay when visting Gettysburg! at McLean House Bed & Breakfast (Shippensburg, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on April 11, 2012

I travel to the Gettysburg area on a yearly basis and I always stay at a bed & breakfast. McLean House is the least expensive bed & breakfast that I have ever stayed at and is by far one of the best I have ever experienced! In August 2011, I stayed at the McLean House for 2 nights with my teenage daughter and I have to say that our stay exceeded my expectations. The house and gardens are lovely! The relaxing vibe gave my daughter and I the chance to reconnect while spending quality time together. It was an easy drive into Gettysburg, which is a big bonus for us. An outstanding value and a very memorable experience. McLean House will now be my first choice for lodging when I travel to PA!

View more reviews for this inn


Ifdieting this B&B will cause you pain at Dykeman House Bed & Breakfast (Shippenbsurg, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on April 02, 2012

Very friendly atmosphere in a beautiful heritage home that is extremely comfortable.

View more reviews for this inn


Girl's Weekend Away at Dykeman House Bed & Breakfast (Shippenbsurg, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on March 29, 2012

Lovely B and B! Host and Hostess' were great and the service was excellent! Chocolate Chip cookies A++ Booked two rooms with some girlfriends and had an excellent time away!

View more reviews for this inn


Simply the Best at McLean House Bed & Breakfast (Shippensburg, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on January 03, 2012

I stayed here over New Years 2011/2012 during a visit to Gettysburg. The McLean House is beautiful, and Jan Rose was very friendly and hospitable. Her breakfasts were excellent, and she was eager to share the history of her lovely home and the town of Shippensburg - lots of incredible stories. The view of the creek from the breakfast table is worth the visit alone. Highly recommended, and I look forward to visiting again in the future. 5 stars all the way around. -Mark H. Georgia

View more reviews for this inn


Gorgeous Home at McLean House Bed & Breakfast (Shippensburg, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on November 13, 2011

This is a gorgeous, impecably neat and clean house with wonderful charm and character. I was greeted with warmth and made to feel very welcome. Accommodations are beyond comfortable with numerous amenities. Breakfast was delicious and attention to detail most evident.

View more reviews for this inn


a wonderful overnight stay at Dykeman House Bed & Breakfast (Shippenbsurg, Pennsylvania)

4.0 reviewed on November 05, 2011

A delightful place to stay if you are in the Shippensburg area. My wife and I were there to see a performance of Rain, A Tribute to the Beatles, at the Luhrs Center on the University Campus; a great theater. The Dykeman House is a tasteful blend of history and modern amenities. Its history goes back to the Civil War era; there's a picture in the sittting room of the Union's Colonel Chamberlain's charge at Gettysburg, and General Ewell's Confederate troops camped nearby in 1863. Our room (the Dykeman Room) was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. John and Shelly were gracious and charming hosts, serving a fine local wine and cheese reception when we arrived, and a sumptuous breakfast the next morning; too much wonderful food to finish! Great value and location; we are looking forward to a return visit.

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding Hospitality at Dykeman House Bed & Breakfast (Shippenbsurg, Pennsylvania)

4.2 reviewed on October 26, 2011

Visiting grand-daughters (with their Moms) at nearby college, who joined us overnight. As our family group occupied all three guest rooms, John & Shelley went out of their way to accommodate our schedule .. including scheduling sumptuous breakfast to meet our time frame. Truly hospitable. The house and surrounding property art of history if the area - a bonus.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful as always at McLean House Bed & Breakfast (Shippensburg, Pennsylvania)

4.6 reviewed on October 24, 2011

We have been staying here at least 10 years. We used to go to have a little alone time without our kids; it was always very relaxing and rejuvenating. Jan is so hospitable -- we always feel so welcome and she knows so much about the area -- very helpful. Rooms comfortable, beautiful old home, picturesque. This year we took 2 of our married kids with us -- it was great!

View more reviews for this inn


Shippensburg Historical Society Visit at Dykeman House Bed & Breakfast (Shippenbsurg, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on October 18, 2011

In early October, as guests of the Shippensburg Historical Society, we bunked at the Dykeman house. It is a beautiful home and property and Shelly and John Davidson pampered us. We had the Ewell room, which is lovely, and there was cheese, crackers, and Dykeman House wine waiting for us upon our arrival. We thoroughly enjoyed Shelly and John’s hospitality and company. Saturday morning we were treated at breakfast to John’s just made Apple Butter. He may not have any more left when you arrive, but its worth asking about! Also, if you find yourself in town after a performance, consider the “Before and After” café. Its a great place for breakfast late at night.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
check }