Recent Reviews in Scottsville, New York

Great little B&B at Beautiful Valley Guesthouse (Scottsville, New York)

4.8 reviewed on August 20, 2017

We spent one night here because of a family wedding. The B&B is conveniently located near The Wed Shed. It is a cute house and very well-maintained. The owners were very responsive to our questions.

View more reviews for this inn


Quaint charming stay at Beautiful Valley Guesthouse (Scottsville, New York)

3.8 reviewed on August 06, 2017

Great service in a unique historic house in Scottsville.

View more reviews for this inn


disappointed / not recommended at Beautiful Valley Guesthouse (Scottsville, New York)

1.8 reviewed on August 02, 2017

My wife and I have stayed at numerous B&B's around the country, and we agree that this one is below average. The hosts are clearly running this B&B as an after-thought. Their main focus is their cafe which they heavily promote on their site as well as in the hand written note we received and in the guest info book. The room was in need of repair (paint pealing off the wall above the jacuzzi which had a make-shift drain plug (the original was missing), towel wrack falling off the wall, deep scratch marks on the floor from furniture being moved around, cleaning supplies used by the host easily found child height in the room, dust bunnies in the corners.... and the worst part.... I go down for coffee in the morning and there's leftover coffee in the pot from the previous day!!!) I guess if we wanted breakfast / fresh coffee we would have had to pre-arange for it and pay extra or walk 2 blocks to their coffee shop. We NEVER saw or heard our hosts. It's our belief that this couple had the coffee shop first, an opportunity to buy the B&B came up and they took it thinking they could run both..... not so. My advice to them... focus on 1 business and do it well. We went to the coffee place and found out that some of the equipment wasn't working and they were out of a few menu items. I also noticed flies in the pastry display case. My wife and I have spent our lives in foodservice and we know first hand how hard it can be, but that is no excuse for not giving great customer service because your stretched too thin. Standards slip, customers go away unhappy and you never find out why they never come back. This B&B has potential, but as it's being run now, we recommend staying someplace else; unless you don't care that you're paying for B&B service which should INCLUDE service from the host but doesn't happen here.

View more reviews for this inn


Felt like home at Beautiful Valley Guesthouse (Scottsville, New York)

5 reviewed on July 20, 2017

We were late. But Rachel called & helped us find our way. She stayed on the phone til we pulled into the driveway. It was the best night sleep I had in along time. We want to come back next year. Thank you for a wonderful vacation.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful room & vacation at Beautiful Valley Guesthouse (Scottsville, New York)

5 reviewed on July 07, 2017

Everything was just so beautiful. I could of stayed there for awhile. We felt like we were at home.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice Place to Stay at Beautiful Valley Guesthouse (Scottsville, New York)

3.8 reviewed on March 25, 2017

This is a beautiful old house in Scotsville NY. The rooms are large and well kept. The stairwell (to the second floor rooms) is a bit steep and narrow so take your time accending and descending. The common rooms are spacious and comfortable. The owners don't live on site but are close enough to respond when needed. There is no on-site breakfast - instead breakfast is at the coffee shop down the road.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice place to stay at Beautiful Valley Guesthouse (Scottsville, New York)

3.0 reviewed on December 04, 2016

The stay met and our expectations in this cute little town. We would stay again!

View more reviews for this inn


September in Scottsville at Beautiful Valley Guesthouse (Scottsville, New York)

4.0 reviewed on September 13, 2016

Visiting our son at RIT. One night at Beautiful Valley Guesthouse. A quaint B+B located in a cute small town. Great location, comfortable stay, and a wonderful breakfast sandwich. Would definitely stay again.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely house, perfect host at Beautiful Valley Guesthouse (Scottsville, New York)

5 reviewed on September 08, 2016

Beautiful old home, and very comfortable surroundings. Breakfast wasn't on site, it was at a pretty cafe a few doors down. We came to explore two bike paths, and this was an ideal location for accessing the paths.

View more reviews for this inn


Lives up to it's name, beautiful at Beautiful Valley Guesthouse (Scottsville, New York)

5 reviewed on August 24, 2016

Stayed here one night while bicycling the Greenway Trail. Nice clean, comfortable room. It was nice having the use of the refrigerator too. And the free breakfast was delicious! We enjoyed our stay very much, can't wait to do this again!

View more reviews for this inn


Lives up to it's name! at Beautiful Valley Guesthouse (Scottsville, New York)

5 reviewed on August 13, 2016

My nephew and I stayed here while biking the Greenway Trail. Very clean, comfortable room and bathroom. Rachel was very kind to let us put our bicycles inside for the night. Having the use of the refrigerator in the dining room was very helpful, too. We want to take the same ride again soon and we will definitely stay at the inn! Breakfast at the coffee house was excellent.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice, accommodating and great, friendly owners. at Beautiful Valley Guesthouse (Scottsville, New York)

4.2 reviewed on July 10, 2016

Greeted us as soon as we got there. Loved the coupon for breakfast down the street!

View more reviews for this inn


Nice place! at Beautiful Valley Guesthouse (Scottsville, New York)

3.8 reviewed on July 21, 2014

We enjoyed our evening in Scottsville. The breakfast was excellent. I think the price was a bit high, but we did have a quiet nice evening. The owners were very kind and accomodating. Loved the satin sheets!

View more reviews for this inn


Delightful house, delightful village at Beautiful Valley Guesthouse (Scottsville, New York)

4.2 reviewed on July 10, 2014

Charming older home, the room was a little small but the bathroom was huge! Breakfast at the owners' coffee shop was excellent--ordered off the menu. A neighborly, friendly, small town kind of place. We enjoyed strolling around the village--very pretty.

View more reviews for this inn


:D at Beautiful Valley Guesthouse (Scottsville, New York)

4.0 reviewed on November 12, 2013

Me and my husband have a strict diet. They worked very well to acomidate our dietery needs!

View more reviews for this inn


Worth the Money! at Beautiful Valley Guesthouse (Scottsville, New York)

4.0 reviewed on September 29, 2012

We needed a place to stay after a beautiful country wedding nearby and the Guesthouse suited our needs just fine! The rooms are all very clean and the decor is warm and welcoming! The following morning we enjoyed a good hearty cup of coffee and breakfast at the coffee house. Would definitely recommend! Thanks again, Carl and Rachel, for the use of your lovely home!

View more reviews for this inn


OutstandingSmall Town B&B at Beautiful Valley Guesthouse (Scottsville, New York)

4.2 reviewed on July 19, 2012

We enjoyed a well equiped room,large bath, and the quiet atmosphere of a small town. We actually looked forward each day to the short walk down the picture perfect street to the Cafe for breakfast. The owners also run a Artisan Cafe with a healthy menu that is also very tasty. The busy owners are also at he Cafe at times to care for you there also. They will become as family if you are there and enjoy being taken care of.

View more reviews for this inn


Affordable evening away from home. at Beautiful Valley Guesthouse (Scottsville, New York)

3.6 reviewed on June 18, 2012

Need to get away for a while? Feeling the pressures of a tightening a economy? Look no further! Beautiful Valley is great. My wife and I spent one night here and we enjoyed ourselves. There is a beautiful walking path not far for running or jogging. The breakfast was great and the room was very clean. This is not pampered service. Stay here for a nice time but don't expect four-star treatment or amenities. Have fun!

View more reviews for this inn


Scottsville B&B at Beautiful Valley Guesthouse (Scottsville, New York)

2.6 reviewed on May 24, 2012

Owner very nice but didn't live at the Inn, so we felt a bit abandoned. I didn't realize it was a "self-serve" experience.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice getaway for those seeking privacy at Beautiful Valley Guesthouse (Scottsville, New York)

4.0 reviewed on April 18, 2012

My husband and I spent the evening in the inn in the Rupert Suite, which has a very comfortable bed and a nice whirlpool bath-tub (we did not experience any dripping issues). As mentioned in other reviews, we had minimal contact with the innkeepers, but we didn't mind because we were looking for privacy and I am from Scottsville, so we know the town. The breakfast at the Artisan Cafe was very good (we each had a delicious egg sandwich, muffin, juice, and latte).

View more reviews for this inn


Cute location but not the feel of a B&B at Beautiful Valley Guesthouse (Scottsville, New York)

4.0 reviewed on January 16, 2012

The location is very nice in the village. Unfortunately there is not much to do/see in Scottsville and it is a bit of a drive to stores, museums and the college our son attends. It was a bit odd staying at a BandB that doesnt have an innkeeper in the traditional sense. The house was empty except for us and it felt awkward being there without any staff. We went to the library a few doors down to ask for suggestions for dinner and directions. There is no computer at the inn. (the site says there is). We found a much more traditional BandB and stayed there for the remainder of our stay.

View more reviews for this inn


loved it!! at Beautiful Valley Guesthouse (Scottsville, New York)

4.6 reviewed on November 23, 2011

This was the first time we stayed at a bed and breakfast we both loved our stay and would absolutely go back. The breakfast was fantastic. We felt very comfortable right at home we went down to the common room and watched a movie. We also took advantage of the massage service they offered that was wonderful the perfect little extra to our stay

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding stay at Beautiful Valley Guesthouse (Scottsville, New York)

4.2 reviewed on November 06, 2011

The place was lovely, clean and well kept. Traveling with a one year old, we found the place safe and easy to give her comfortably free reign of the place. Based on conversations with the keepers, we felt that had we needed it, the service level would have been excellent - but we found the place perfectly as we expected and didn't call on them for anything.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful Setting absent owners at Beautiful Valley Guesthouse (Scottsville, New York)

3.2 reviewed on October 24, 2011

We were greeted when we arrived and spent about 10 minutes at the most with Rachel. She was lovel and very accomodating, the room was clean, as were the common areas. Two complaints about the room - need a small seating area or easy chait/rocker. Only place to sit is on the bed or in hard desk chair. Also there were no instructions for the whirlpool tub and we found that it slowly leaks water so it had to be constantly refilled. Because the owners do not live on site many things were not clear to us and I missed that personal attention to detail and the interaction with our hosts. Who is responsible for turning off lights at night? Should the doors be locked? They were left on all night and the hall light shined under our door. We did not want to turn them off for fear the other guests were not in for the night. The outer doors to the establishment were always unlocked which as another reviewer mentioned was a bit unsettling. It was advertised that a computer was available for our use and therefore we did not bring our laptop. We did not locate any computer for guest use in the upstairs lounge area as advertised. We were told just order off the menu at the Artesan Coffeehouse but that was not true. There were limits to what you could order. The food was good but having to pay extra to have breakfast at the Guesthouse is inconvenient. Although I prefer some eggs and meat for breakfast I would certainly forgo that if a variety of the fresh pastries, muffins, scones and fresh fruit were provided at the Guesthouse. It was a lovely stay and we will probably be back. However if you choose a B&B to get recommendations on local attractions, great restaurants, and general information on the area this is not the one for you due to the absent owners.

View more reviews for this inn


A small-town surprise at Beautiful Valley Guesthouse (Scottsville, New York)

5 reviewed on September 01, 2011

This turned out to be a very pleasant and welcoming place. The "breakfast" is actually your choice of breakfast sandwiches at a nearby coffee house, which was delicious. Highly recommended.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect stopover at Beautiful Valley Guesthouse (Scottsville, New York)

4.6 reviewed on August 17, 2011

I had a long drive and needed someplace to stop. Also wanted to avoid corporate motels and not spend too much money. Rachel offered me a bunk in a small room with a gorgeous bathroom and my needs were met. Scottsville is a small, sweet town and the Artisan Coffee House, where the breakfast was served down the road, was the perfect antidote to a Starbucks. The staff worked with my food issues and gave me a delicious breakfast each day. I will probably need to make this drive again and will definitely stay again at this place!

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful Valley at Beautiful Valley Guesthouse (Scottsville, New York)

4.6 reviewed on July 31, 2011

Very nice place, old and enchanting, and the place operator was nice and helped a lot.

View more reviews for this inn


Alpenrose room very large/breakfast suited our needs at Beautiful Valley Guesthouse (Scottsville, New York)

4.0 reviewed on June 04, 2011

Only stayed one night/town very nice/saw Memorial Day parade before we left/Owners very trusting and friendly/Although we were only 2 adults, the rooms we had access to were clean and uncluttered/ very peaceful atmosphere/ we were the only guests that night! Bev and Don Welland Ont. Canada

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Stay at Beautiful Valley Guesthouse (Scottsville, New York)

5 reviewed on April 21, 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at Beautiful Valley Guesthouse. It was my husband's birthday, and we wished to visit our daughter and her family in the Rochester area. Everything was provided for our stay. The house is immaculate and welcoming. It is a large space for two people with lovely furnishings, many of which are antiques. We did make use of the computer, and the grandchildren found the toys upstairs. Breakfast can be had in the house or at the coffee shop, a short walk from the Guesthouse. It was a very relaxing stay. We would definitely return to Beautiful Valley Guesthouse.

View more reviews for this inn


great stay! comfortable and quiet at Beautiful Valley Guesthouse (Scottsville, New York)

3.4 reviewed on March 26, 2011

There were just a few rooms in the building we were in so it was pretty quiet and relaxing. The owners are very friendly and accommodating.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Beautiful Valley Guesthouse (4.26)
Top
check }