Recent Reviews in Santa Barbara, California

Great recommendation! at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.6 reviewed on February 07, 2017

A friend of our who used to live in SB recommended Casa Del Mar. and I will recommend it to anyone heading that way. Great accommodations in a great neighborhood. Easy walk to the train station.

View more reviews for this inn


best value for your money at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

3.8 reviewed on February 06, 2017

We stayed at CDMI for 5 nights. It is a very nice & comfortable BB with a wonderful location.

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to stay!! at A White Jasmine Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

5 reviewed on January 31, 2017

We would recommend this place to anyone wanting to stay in Santa Barbara. Breakfast in the morning was perfect and the entire stay was absolutely charming! We wished the weather was a bit warmer (visited in January), so we could have enjoyed more of the beautiful gardens!

View more reviews for this inn


we love casa del mar! at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

5 reviewed on January 29, 2017

every time we visit santa barbara we make sure to stay at casa del mar. we love the location- it's close to the pier and just a walk away from downtown. the rooms are well appointed, clean and bright. we always enjoy our stay here! :)

View more reviews for this inn


Home away from Home at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.6 reviewed on January 21, 2017

I loved our stay with you. I felt totally at home

View more reviews for this inn


Love this Quaint place! at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

5 reviewed on January 07, 2017

I love the quaint Spanish style garden feel to this Inn, only thing that could make it better would be to have a Jacuzzi and better parking.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice weekend in SB! at Secret Garden Inn and Cottages (Santa Barbara, California)

4.8 reviewed on January 06, 2017

We stayed in the Nightingale room. Loved the private hot tub. Breakfast was tasty croissants and quiche with fresh coffee. Room fit three but had a single for third too. Very friendly staff as well!

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely little jewel at Secret Garden Inn and Cottages (Santa Barbara, California)

5 reviewed on January 04, 2017

love this place and look forward to visiting each time we go. breakfast is outstanding-even gluten free options

View more reviews for this inn


Holiday Break in SB at Villa Rosa Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

3.4 reviewed on January 01, 2017

Darling old B&B. We stayed in room 13 and our friends stayed in room 3. Room size excellent, but in dire need of updating. Room 3 had a very unpleasant smell in it that would not clear, even with the windows open. I think they should remove all of the old carpet and replace with the beautiful Saltillo tile that runs throughout the public areas of the hotel. We really loved the pool courtyard, living room, evening wine and cheese reception (the 4 of us took over the LR and enjoyed the wine reception and the fireplace for several hours) and morning breakfast goodies. Excellent location, just 1 property back from the beach. Would definitely stay again because it's probably the best deal in SB. Easy 10 minute walk to Stearns Wharf too!

View more reviews for this inn


Our Favorite Santa Barbara Retreat! at Secret Garden Inn and Cottages (Santa Barbara, California)

4.8 reviewed on December 30, 2016

Always a pleasure to stay with Dominique at the Secret Garden Inn. We have stayed in most of the rooms during the past 13-14 years and have never been disappointed. The breakfasts are bountiful with European flair. We would highly recommend the Inn to anyone who values a peaceful/pleasant venue, easy walk to the Mission and personable hostess. Bon voyage!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful! at Secret Garden Inn and Cottages (Santa Barbara, California)

5 reviewed on December 25, 2016

We loved our stay at the Secret Garden Inn. We stayed in one of the cottages and it was perfect for us. Dominique is a wonderful host. The location is in a central location,walking distance (about 20 minutes) to Downtown Santa Barbara and the Mission. We walked and used Uber to get around. Perfect.

View more reviews for this inn


Great location and accommodations! at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.2 reviewed on December 21, 2016

Located directly across the street from the ocean, walking distance to state street restaurants, shops, and the wharf. Clean, and pretty rooms. Complimentary wine and cheese was wonderful! Would definitely recommend to a friend.

View more reviews for this inn


A 4 overall at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

3.8 reviewed on December 19, 2016

Excellent value with the winter special and good set up for me and my little dog. Updated room with a wonderful bathroom. The room however had a damp soapy smell like an older locker room even after I turned on the fan and opened the windows for quite some time.?The smell did not come from the bathroom. If not for that, I would have given a rave review based on value, charm, location, wine and cheese and breakfast. My only other suggestion would be to provide some protein with breakfast, hard boiled egg, Greek yogurt?

View more reviews for this inn


We Cannot Wait To Return at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

3.8 reviewed on December 14, 2016

What a beautiful boutique hotel in SB. My husband, I and our two dogs LOVED the gorgeous King room overlooking the courtyard. The windows overlooking the courtyard were the tall French windows the opened. We made great use of the romantic electric fireplace. Ambiance and heat is A plus Parking onsite and on street. The one and only drawback I would say is it's distance from "Downtown SB". It's closer to the pier. But if you're looking for a cup of coffee nearby in the evening.......7-11 will be your only option. I recommend not touching the coffee available in the hotel lounge in the evening..........it's really pretty awful! Cold and tastes almost like dispensers are cleaned (but not rinsed) with soapy water.......Other than that I will ALWAYS stay at Casa Del Mar when next in SB

View more reviews for this inn


Very happy return guest. at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

5 reviewed on December 11, 2016

This is probably my 10th stay. 9 of those stays have been for business and one for Fun. It is so much nicer to be in a Boutique style hotel and be close to the Beach, State St and the Freeway. Always A+.

View more reviews for this inn


Scientist on the road at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

3.4 reviewed on December 02, 2016

Big and comfy rooms. No A/C, but you don't need one!

View more reviews for this inn


Secret Garden at Secret Garden Inn and Cottages (Santa Barbara, California)

3.6 reviewed on December 02, 2016

Very cozy, clean and excellent food and hostess!

View more reviews for this inn


Quaint but Modern B&B Style Inn at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.0 reviewed on November 29, 2016

My trip didn't start out as planned. It started rough. Things changed for the better after meeting Dan at check-in. Dan is fantastic. He was still cleaning up from wine & cheese, asked if I'd like a care plate. Brought a tray right to the room w/ crackers, chesse, grapes & wine! Also made sure I had all the info I needed at check in. He is full of knowledge on the area--places to go, where to park, how to get places, where you can order food for delivery up until 3am......My boyfriend wasn't able to come up until the following evening. He would be arriving during the wedding. Never to fear, Dan to the rescue again! I left him one of the room key & my boyfriend's info. He made sure that my bf got the key, got his car info added to the room for parking, gave him directions to the restaurant and told him the best place to park! Cute room. A standard queen w/ a tub. Small but generally well setup room. A mini fridge? score! I had a place to store all my extra wine and cheese! Bathroom has shower curtain rods that bow out to give you more room. Little conveniences made it easy to feel right at home. Overall a clean place. The daily cleaning during my stay wasn’t quite up to par. Wasn’t being vacuumed. My bf actually got it himself one night to do. Hence docking a point on cleanliness. We were in one of the center buildings. Soundproofing may not be as good as at some places. Can't say for certain since I don't get out much. But we could hear our neighbor one night clomping around in their heels, banging things around, etc. SUCH a short walk to the beach, which is amazing! Firepit in courtyard lit on request. One of only 2 places on Bath street Thursday night that said “no vacancy” so I felt I had chosen the right place.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Room! at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.0 reviewed on November 29, 2016

Great room and great service...will stay again

View more reviews for this inn


Family Visit at Villa Rosa Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

3.4 reviewed on November 29, 2016

The Villa Rosa Inn was a wonderful experience. W was taken back to another time of elegance, privacy and security. The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. We will definitely be back when we visit our family next year.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely Characterful Inn at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

3.6 reviewed on November 29, 2016

Really enjoyed the Casa Del Mar. The rooms were stylish and clean. The shower was very good..Its location is perfect close to the beach and not far from State Street I enjoyed the breakfast choice of bagels, cereals and pastries. Coffee wasavailable at all times and the Wine and Cheese in the evenings was a really nice touch.

View more reviews for this inn


My recent review casa del mar at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

3.2 reviewed on November 29, 2016

Being my first trip to Santa Barbara I had no idea of what to expect. It was my first visit to a B&B as well. The staff were top notch. Couldn't have been nicer. My room faced south; so it got the afternoon sun. HOT. No A/C. Ceiling fan didn't cut it. Box fan from front desk didn't do much more. Windows open day and night allowed street noise to filter in "without a filter!" Jeremy Lenzner

View more reviews for this inn


Nice B&B in Santa Barbara at Secret Garden Inn and Cottages (Santa Barbara, California)

3.2 reviewed on November 28, 2016

This is a nice B&B in a good area. We had a lovely, hot breakfast both days. Our room was not fancy but adequate and clean. We were in the main house (built in 1901) and, as guests started arriving for breakfast, it was just a little noisy. We were up anyway so it didn't matter. There were many cottages out back and I can only assume they were quieter. It was a pleasant stay. I especially enjoyed the resident cat, Peanut. It was nice to have a pet around in the common area as mine were left home!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful anniversary! at Villa Rosa Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.6 reviewed on November 26, 2016

We stayed for five nights in a queen room. It had a beautiful view of the ocean and a lovely balcony. This bed and breakfast is a great value: a nice continental breakfast, wine and appetizers in the evening and a port/sherry night cap at night. The beach is less than a block away. The pool and spa are gorgeous. The staff is friendly and very helpful/accommodating. This is an old building and thus has some quirks. Do not pay attention to reviews that label the place as "dirty." It is not dirty, it is old and shows a bit of wear. One word of caution: Please call ahead before booking online if you want a room with a balcony. A few were closed for repairs; I know I would have been irritated to arrive only to find out the room I specially booked had it's balcony cordoned off. Overall, it's charming; we loved it! We will definitely stay here again!

View more reviews for this inn


we will return at Villa Rosa Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

5 reviewed on November 24, 2016

Quaint, staff was accommodating, atmosphere as pleasant. overall great.

View more reviews for this inn


Misses at some points at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

2.8 reviewed on November 22, 2016

Ok it is Santa Barbara after all...the location could not have been better. Easy walking to the beach and other sites. The hotel is older but the use of space is very good and the outside areas attractive. Breakfast left something to be desired, how about a little protein, yogurt, hard-boiled eggs, protein bars. For the rate they are charging breakfast should be upgraded some.

View more reviews for this inn


The Service was incredible! at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.4 reviewed on November 18, 2016

My wife and I stayed at the Casa Del Mar Inn this November to attend a wedding, and we absolutely loved our stay! The staff were incredibly attentive, and even re-opened the wine and cheese evening spread for us when we arrived late in the evening after it had closed! They even brought it all to our room! Talk about first class! The room was so comfortable and roomy, exlempifying the beachy bed and breakfast feel that permeates the entire hotel! The location was fabulous, and practically right on the beach! The whole staff were really just tops! Overall, not only would I recommend the Casa Del Mar Inn to a friend, I myself will most certainly be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Close to beach at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

2.6 reviewed on November 07, 2016

Was roomy, clean but had a stuffy smell. Great winter special on a two room suite, but strange layout as king size bed was part of living quarters. Beach, pier, and restaurants in walking distance.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Place at Casa Del Mar Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

4.6 reviewed on November 02, 2016

Like a little slice of 40's California with modern features, its close to the beach, Stearns Wharf and the downtown. We will definitely coming back.

View more reviews for this inn


Beach B&B at Villa Rosa Inn (Santa Barbara, California)

5 reviewed on October 19, 2016

Referred to Villa Rosa Inn by some friends. Met them at Inn for weekend and had a wonderful time. Inn is super charming and staff really accommodating.

View more reviews for this inn


About Santa Barbara

Find Santa Barbara sandwiched between the Atlantic and the Santa Ynez Mountains, less than a two-hour drive northwest of L.A. You’ll see beauty at every turn in this relaxed California coastal city.

What to See
Make one of your first stops the Santa Barbara Botanic Garden, located at the base of the Santa Ynez Mountains. Yes, it’s a desert climate, but you’ll also see shady redwoods and babbling brooks - the perfect place for a stroll, as is Ganna Walska Lotusland - a 37-acre estate boasting gardens filled with rarities: bromeliads, succulents, cycads. You can find several species of lotus in the ponds and kids will love the topiary garden, with trees trimmed into giraffes and other fun shapes. See fascinating local history at the Mission Santa Barbara and Casa del Herrero.

What to Do
Hike at the Nojoqui Falls County Park, about a 30-minute drive northwest of downtown Santa Barbara and into the foothills. If it has recently rained, you can take a swim under the pretty waterfall here. Head to Chumash Painted Cave State Historic Park to see intricate and well-preserved cave paintings, dating to the 1600s or earlier, from the local Chumash Native Americans.
See more history at the fascinating Santa Barbara Maritime Museum or the small but mighty Museum of Natural History. To cool off, take a swim at breathtaking Shoreline Park and enjoy a sunset picnic at the Arroyo Burro County Beach Park, a relaxed beach about 20 minutes west of downtown Santa Barbara. Catch a live show at the historic Granada Theatre - dating to 1924 - in downtown Santa Barbara or at the historic open-air Arlington Theatre.

Dining and Shopping
You can find the best shopping - major retailer and boutique - on State Street in downtown Santa Barbara, running about ten blocks between Micheltorena and Gutierrez Streets. Head to the waterfront for the best seafood: Brophy Brothers near the yacht club and The Harbor Restaurant on Stearns Wharf. Bouchon, Wine Cask and Los Agaves are other must-tries and all located near downtown Santa Barbara.

Top
}