Recent Reviews in San Jose, Costa Rica

Amazing Views. at Out of Bounds Hotel (San Jose, Costa Rica)

4.6 reviewed on October 16, 2016

The hotel have very nice views of San José, friendly and helpfull staff. Cozy rooms. Free calls to the U.S

View more reviews for this inn

Great experience at Casa Lima at Casa Lima Bed & Breakfast (San Jose, Costa Rica)

4.8 reviewed on August 19, 2016

We returned to Casa Lima each time we passed through San Jose, so we stayed three times. Each visit was great. We had the traditional breakfast each time and once had a wonderful evening meal. It is a very safe location. Also there is a small airport nearby for in-country flights. The owner took us to the international airport himself for our departure. We highly recommend Casa Lima

View more reviews for this inn

My home away from home at Casa Lima Bed & Breakfast (San Jose, Costa Rica)

4.8 reviewed on May 24, 2016

I returned to Costa Rica after a 4 years' absence, and when Nelson, the owner saw me walk through the front door of the Casa Lima, he gave me a huge bear hug and told me how happy he was to see my he reservation. We immediately began talking like old friends, I was soon set up in my very clean room, and we began planning a dinner for his family and friends. We went to the outdoor market and spent a great day shopping and catching up, and I was welcomed into his house for the cooking. Nelson is always the most gracious of hosts, and in watching his interaction with the other guests, I saw I was not the only guest he treated like family or friends; that is the way he treats everyone. I truly felt I had come home. The patio and garden area is very lush and green with two parrots, a white faced monkey, many parakeets, finches, and iguanas. There is a fountain and pools in the garden where he keeps all sorts of fish, and the garden really is a cool oasis from the heat of the city. If it is sightseeing you are interested in, Nelson knows about everything, including sport fishing as far away as Nicaragua. I have traveled all over the world and Casa Lima with Nelson at the helm is far and away the most welcoming and warm place I have ever stayed. The rooms are clean, the room service is great and readily available, and I would recommend this place to anyone without any reservations whatsoever. There is a convenience store just a couple of blocks away, a grocery store a couple of blocks further down, and restaurants of every kind within walking distance, although there is some very good food offered up out of the kitchens of Casa Lima, prepared by Nelson's mother and another cook.

View more reviews for this inn

NOT THE PLACE TO STAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! at Casa 69 Costa Rica (San Jose, Costa Rica)

1.0 reviewed on April 23, 2016

room size was barely livable with too small a closet entrance for me to pass through. room situated next to garbage storage area with weathered discarded cardboard containers outside the bathroom window which had to remain open for any ventilation. extraneous noises, day and night, from service staff in garbage area, street traffic, train traffic, and barking dogs in-house. soiled and odorous towels just outside room entrance use to bed three house cats roaming freely in the access area to rooms. pet dogs and cats roaming freely in the food service area. pet dogs (3) lounging freely in common sitting and reception area of your establishment. location of B&B in less than a desirable neighborhood.

View more reviews for this inn

Dental Work- close to Clinic at Casa Lima Bed & Breakfast (San Jose, Costa Rica)

3.0 reviewed on February 16, 2016

Small privately owned hotel- rooms clean- owners friendly-- close to dental clinic- walk to restaurants and other areas- owner will arrange transportation and tours- recommended by my Travel Agent- would stay here again--

View more reviews for this inn

Quaint, with local charm at Casa Lima Bed & Breakfast (San Jose, Costa Rica)

3.2 reviewed on December 08, 2015

The staff at Casa Lime were very friendly and helpful. The owner, Nelson, was eager to make sure you had everything you needed. He made good suggestions of things to do and gave excellent instructions so you were safe and knew where you were going. The rooms were showing their age.

View more reviews for this inn

San Jose's best B&B at Casa Lima Bed & Breakfast (San Jose, Costa Rica)

5 reviewed on June 01, 2015

Came to San Jose for a dental clinic visit. Stayed at Casa Lima and it was a great experience. Nelson and his family were the best in making me feel welcome and helpful in getting me to and from the airport and the clinic. The residence is a magical place with all manner of native species in the courtyard. It was like living in the Costa Rican jungle while staying in the city. Listening to the waterfall outside the room was so peaceful at bedtime. Food there was great, no need to go anywhere for dining. San Jose is a neat city and enjoyed walking around to sample the local life, feeling very secure there, a lot to see. I will be returning to San Jose in the future for more dental work, and my wife and I are going in the fall to visit. Casa Lima will always be our main destination, Nelson can arrange all manner of trips for you to visit the volcanoes, the jungle, the Pacific or anywhere in country you may wish to see. Nelson and family at Casa Lima are the best, I highly recommend Casa Lima for a great and peaceful stay.

View more reviews for this inn

Room with a view! at Vina Romantica (San Isidro Alajuela, Costa Rica)

5 reviewed on April 07, 2015

My boyfriend and I stayed at Vina Romantica on our first trip to Costa Rica and were very pleased! The owner arranged a cab ride from the airport to the b&b, showed us to our rooms, and even offered us drinks! We felt at home immediately! Our room was upstairs (very clean!!!) and it has a beautiful view of the valley where we could watch the sunrises and sunsets. The owner prepared us amazing breakfasts and gave us advice on fun things we could do while we visited. What is particularly nice is that this b&b is right next to a bus stop into town and bus fares are nice and cheap, so it's easy to go explore from this location. The owner was able to also get us a cab whenever we asked, including a cab ride back to the airport after our stay. We HIGHLY RECOMMEND this b&b for your stay in Costa Rica!

View more reviews for this inn

In General at Casa 69 Costa Rica (San Jose, Costa Rica)

5 reviewed on April 04, 2015

My stay at Casa 69, was truly a wonderful experience. My room was clean, the staff were phenomenal; very warm and kind. I would highly recommend this warm friendly place to travels from abroad.

View more reviews for this inn

First time traveling international at Vina Romantica (San Isidro Alajuela, Costa Rica)

5 reviewed on March 20, 2015

This was the first time for my wife and I to travel abroad and this innkeeper was perfect. We had a local favorite one morning and gourmet French Toast the next. Request the pineapple orange syrup, you won't be disappointed. The innkeeper was also very knowledgeable about the surrounding area. He had a taxi service take us to Poas Volcano, the Doka plantation and the airport. He also suggested a day cruise and a restaurant down the street with an amazing view. I think if we had stayed in a hotel in downtown San Jose we wouldn’t have had such a wonderful experience. My wife and I are already thinking about going back.

View more reviews for this inn

Nice views! at Vina Romantica (San Isidro Alajuela, Costa Rica)

3.4 reviewed on January 05, 2015

Nederlands Engels Frans Schone kamers, een aardige gastheer en een heerlijke ontbijt. De laatste twee nachten van onze vakantie hebben wij ons prima vermaakt in deze B&B. De uitzichten op de Poas Volucano en San Jose zijn prachtig. Omdat we er met oudjaar waren, hebben we spectaculair vuurwerk gezien boven San Jose. Geef je wensen aan en er wordt een heerlijk ontbijt klaar gemaakt. Wel zou de eigenaar zich nog wat meer kunnen verdiepen in activiteiten en eetgelegenheden in de omgeving, zodat hij zij bezoekers hierbij kan helpen. Clean rooms, a nice host and a delicious breakfast. The last two nights of our vacation we have lot of fun in this B & B. The views of the Poas Volucano and San Jose are wonderful. Because we were there New Year's Eve, we have seen spectacular fireworks over San Jose. Give your wishes and a delicious breakfast is made ready. However, the owner is able to delve into some more activities and dining options in the area, so he she can help visitors here.

View more reviews for this inn

Loved the experience at Out of Bounds Hotel (San Jose, Costa Rica)

5 reviewed on November 17, 2014

The staff were amazing, The view over San Jose wonderful. We will stay again!

View more reviews for this inn

What a great trip ! at Vina Romantica (San Isidro Alajuela, Costa Rica)

3.8 reviewed on October 26, 2014

We spent 11 wonderful days here at the B&B. The town is small but the activities are very close by. The facility, staff and food was very good. Fresh fruits, great views and a relaxing atmosphere all made for a very nice stay. Being close to the airport (about 7 miles) but up in a quiet Costa Rican village makes it a great place to stay. We will be going back very soon. P/s: I recommend the Doka Plantation tour... about 3 miles away.

View more reviews for this inn

exelente at Casa Lima Bed & Breakfast (San Jose, Costa Rica)

5 reviewed on October 20, 2014

exelente sitio a visitar el personal increible servicial y calido .... jeffry chico que se encuentra en el hotel preocupado por dar el mejor servicio agradezco jeffry tus atenciones y apoyo asi como la oportuniodad en la informacion que me brindaste pára hacer mi estancia mas placentera.....

View more reviews for this inn

Feels like a home away from home! at Casa Lima Bed & Breakfast (San Jose, Costa Rica)

4.2 reviewed on September 23, 2014

Nelson and his family were such gracious hosts--always helpful and sincerely welcoming! The food they prepared for our group was always outstanding and varied. The rooms were cozy and clean, and there is a beautiful garden in the center of Casa Lima with many places to sit and talk. I would absolutely come here again, and I highly recommend it to other people that want to experience a lovely hidden gem of Costa Rican hospitality. :)

View more reviews for this inn

Muy Cerca del Mall Multiplaza at Out of Bounds Hotel (San Jose, Costa Rica)

4.8 reviewed on August 13, 2014

Soy de Venezuela y estaba buscando un buen hotel para hospedarnos cerca de lugares para compras, el hotel es muy bonito y se puede ir caminando a uno de los shopping malls mas grandes del pais

View more reviews for this inn

Great stay in San Jose at Casa Lima Bed & Breakfast (San Jose, Costa Rica)

4.6 reviewed on July 29, 2014

The owners are excellent host. Nelson is very helpful and informative with travel tips and ideas. The grounds are exceptional. If you enjoy watching wildlife in your backyard, then this is the place for you.

View more reviews for this inn

fun at Casa Lima Bed & Breakfast (San Jose, Costa Rica)

4.0 reviewed on July 23, 2014

Nelson the owner could not be nicer or more accommodating as was his staff.Property as a whole is fun to stay at with a good location.Fresh fruit.biscuits.and great coffee and juice is more than adequate for "desayuno". Rooms are clean and fresh everyday. My problem ( my fault) is stairs.Bed was a little shaky with weak mattress. All in all it was fun. The staff definitely makes the place.The manager Kiko and his girlfriend Lucy are a trip.

View more reviews for this inn

Lovely Home near San Jose Airport at The Cariari Bed and Breakfast (San Jose, Costa Rica)

4.8 reviewed on June 22, 2014

The Cariari B&B is located in a lovely residential neighborhood between the San Jose airport and the downtown core. It's easy to get to from SJO (12 minutes by taxi!) and a lot nicer place than the sterile, boring chain hotels around the airport. The innkeeper, Laurie, is a delight. She knows San Jose and Costa Rica well and can dole out lots of very helpful travel tips. Her beautiful home is clean and comfortable and quiet. It's right next to the Cariari golf course which makes for a pretty early-morning walk. The home has a second-story deck that is perfect for an evening of snacks and a glass of wine. Oh, and breakfast is delish, too! I heartily recommend this B&B for a stopover in San Jose or for a longer stay.

View more reviews for this inn

A garden delight!! at Casa Lima Bed & Breakfast (San Jose, Costa Rica)

4.8 reviewed on June 16, 2014

It was an unexpected pleasure to see the garden with the different flowers and plants. The birds, fish and Don Kiko were a lesson in biology. Peaceful and beautiful. Staying at CasaLima is good for your soul!

View more reviews for this inn

Paradise for any animal lover at Establo San Rafael B&B (Santiago de Puriscal, Costa Rica)

5 reviewed on January 28, 2014

I had a wonderful stay at Establo San Rafael with Brenda and her partner Abel. They are excellent hosts and the food was plentiful, fresh and delicious. As a guest at the farm you can completely make yourself at home, swinging in a hammock on the porch, looking out over the ring where the horses love to play and at the surrounding mountains bathed in sunshine is utter bliss. The horses (and all of the other animals) are extremely well looked after and very well loved. For me this trip was a perfect opportunity to relax in a horsey atmosphere, learn about natural horsemanship (in which I was a total beginner so don't be afraid to give it a go even if you never have before!) and to get to experience the real 'Tico' lifestyle. Tourism has not really hit Puriscal, the nearest town, and riding around the surrounding villages is a fabulous experience of authentic Costa Rican countryside. I could not recommend Establo San Rafael highly enough for a horsey retreat for any animal lover!

View more reviews for this inn

Kiko and the kitties at Casa Lima Bed & Breakfast (San Jose, Costa Rica)

3.4 reviewed on January 07, 2014

The owner and family live in and run this oasis. Casa Lima is located in a quiet neighbourhood a few blocks from the American Embassy. It was a good landmark and kept us from getting lost. The Kittens Sunshine and Boots kept us amused. Kiko the monkey played catch with the kids while we finalized our daily schedule. The atrium is a relaxing oasis. We stayed in the adjoining family rooms and our teenage son and daughter were happy to have seperate beds. The view from the balcony was amazing. Showers had " hot water on demand", pure luxury. We took the bus downtown to the Market and churches, and took the Loma bus back to the Embassy. So easy. There was a farmers market on Saturday and I bought fresh, I mean FRESH, vegetables including Breadfruit. So fun. They even sell goldfish there. Great BnB , great hosts, great location . Highly recommend this spot 15 minutes from the airport $25 Orange taxi ride.

View more reviews for this inn

Muy Excellente at La Terraza Guest House (Grecia, Costa Rica)

5 reviewed on November 27, 2013

My friend and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at La Terraza Guest House. Jeanetta, the owner, was gracious, entertaining and very helpul in assisting us in getting around. The cook, Christina, is fabulous, the meals were absolutely delicious. We also used Jeanetta's driver Geraldo, he was friendly and an excellent and safe driver. The rooms are very comfortable and extremely clean. This bed and breakfast is probably one the cleanest places I have ever stayed. The grounds are beautiful and the river that runs behind the property will lull you to sleep at night. You must go for a walk over the brand new bridge to look at the river up close and to enjoy the beautiful scenery which also includes fruit trees. I highly recommend La Terraza Guest House, you will not be disappointed. We are already arranging our next trip for 2014."

View more reviews for this inn

recomendación at Posada Nena, Casa Alegre (Santa Ana, San Jose, Costa Rica)

5 reviewed on September 28, 2013

De verdad lo recomiendo es como una posada venezolana una atención excelente los recomiendo ampliamente el desayuno variado y bueno las habitaciones lindas y limpias la manteleria impecables y bueno de verdad los recomiendo lo único malo es que no se puede hacer parrilla ja ja ja!!!! Del resto los felicito!!!!!

View more reviews for this inn

Casa Lima is the Place to Stay in Costa Rica! at Casa Lima Bed & Breakfast (San Jose, Costa Rica)

5 reviewed on August 03, 2013

Casa Lima is the only place I'd stay while in San Jose- a true bed and breakfast with that home away from home feel and excellent food. The rooms are comfortable, the staff extremely helpful and the location is in the center of it all. Nelson and Judie were great in helping us make the best of our stay, recommending some awesome tours and local hotspots. Can't wait to go back- already planning my next visit!!!!

View more reviews for this inn

A Veritable Menagerie at Casa Lima Bed & Breakfast (San Jose, Costa Rica)

4.6 reviewed on August 03, 2013

We recently stayed at Casa Lima at both the start and end of a whirlwind adventure trip through Costa Rica with 3 pre-teen - teenagers. Judie welcomed us thoroughly but what caught the attention of all included 2 cats, 1 monkey, 2 iguanas, a parrot, 2 turtles, and the wild birds that few in and out of the courtyard to check things out. This place has it all, in a safe residential neighborhood outside of downtown San Jose. As a way to get in/get out of San Jose as you move through the country, it's great.

View more reviews for this inn

Give this place a look! at Casa Lima Bed & Breakfast (San Jose, Costa Rica)

4.4 reviewed on June 16, 2013

Had to make a stop in San Jose for some dental work. Surgery was extensive and I did not feel well. All of the folks at Casa Lima made our stay excellent. Everyone was helpful, responsive to all of our needs and could not have been more supportive. We will be staying at Casa Lima in the future and hope to enjoy there hospitality again. Want to try the pizza next trip!

View more reviews for this inn

Great location, service! We will be back! at Casa Lima Bed & Breakfast (San Jose, Costa Rica)

4.6 reviewed on June 06, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay. We checked in thinking we were getting a basic hotel that happened to be close to family and were pleasantly surprised. We stayed at Casa Lima at both the beginning and the end of our trip. The courtyard was amazing, a little oasis in the middle of Pavas! Don Kiko was a blast to play with! Our rental car was safe, there is outdoor parking, it's monitored, we had no issues. We felt secure, our rooms were on the 2nd floor and you needed a key to get to the upper level exterior hallways that lead us to our rooms. Our rooms were adjoining. One with 2 twins and one with a queen. Both had bathrooms, A/C, mini fridge and TV's. We were very comfortable. There was a couple, a single and a 5 year old in our party. The breakfast was great! I always enjoy the typical Costa Rican continental breakfasts, fresh fruit, juices, bread and plenty of coffee!! We will most definitely come back! We found our gem in the city! We stayed in April of 2012.

View more reviews for this inn

Casa Lima B&B at Casa Lima Bed & Breakfast (San Jose, Costa Rica)

3.4 reviewed on May 23, 2013

I did enjoy staying at this B&B just be prepared for Kiko (the monkey) to wake you up in the morning.

View more reviews for this inn

Great value at Casa Lima Bed & Breakfast (San Jose, Costa Rica)

4.2 reviewed on May 18, 2013

Great value for the price. The service was excellent and the food was good. However, if you're a big eater, the continental breakfast may not be enough. There is an option to purchase breakfast from the menu to supplement the continental breakfast. Rooms were a great size and were very clean, though the mattresses could be a tad softer, but that may just be a personal preference.

View more reviews for this inn