Recent Reviews in Saint Simons Island, Georgia

Southern charm and hospitality at its finest! at Open Gates Bed & Breakfast (Darien, Georgia)

4.0 reviewed on November 20, 2016

I would have given 5 stars but the website did not allow me to click the 5th circle for some odd reason. We were greeted very warmly as soon as we pulled up to this lovely Inn by the owner and top notch chef, Zach. We knew right away that we were in the perfect place to celebrate our anniversary! Zach could not have been more helpful. He helped up with planning our bike ride around town, the places we should visit and perhaps even, not visit. His input was invaluable. The Inn was so warm and charming, we went to four towns on our anniversary road trip and Open Gates was our favorite! The room was immaculate and oh so comfy, the breakfast was absolutely top notch. We wished we could have had breakfast every morning from Open Gates. Darien was charming as well. A quaint little fishing village with a wonderful home town feel. We felt very safe and comfortable there. We will definitely be back to Darien and to Open Gates! (note, we had the crepes, featured in the photo, they looked just like the photo and were so delicious!!)

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful accommodations, wonderful breakfast and warm/relaxing environment at Open Gates Bed & Breakfast (Darien, Georgia)

4.8 reviewed on November 14, 2016

We were welcomed and made comfortable even though we arrived late. We had a great night's sleep with comfortable bed and linens and then served a wonderful breakfast. You can see & feel the care that Zack & Carrie put into this bed & breakfast. Wonderful.

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend at St Simons at Ocean Inn and Suites (St. Simons Island, Georgia)

4.2 reviewed on October 28, 2016

Very pleased with my stay. The room was extremely clean. The bed was super comfortable. Really enjoyed staying here.

View more reviews for this inn


Highly reccomend at The Horse Stamp Inn Bed & Breakfast (Waverly, Georgia)

5 reviewed on July 13, 2016

My husband and I stayed two nights and we will definitely be back. Tom and Kris were so nice and very accommodating. So peaceful and beautiful.

View more reviews for this inn


All Outstanding at Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse (Saint Simons, Georgia)

5 reviewed on May 31, 2016

Great location and outstanding everything.

View more reviews for this inn


Saint Simons Inn at Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse (Saint Simons, Georgia)

4.8 reviewed on March 21, 2016

The Saint Simons Inn is a beautiful Hotel and I recommend it to every friend

View more reviews for this inn


March-Hols at Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse (Saint Simons, Georgia)

4.8 reviewed on March 15, 2016

everything was great. We shall recommend this Hotel to our friends

View more reviews for this inn


Cozy hideaway at Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse (Saint Simons, Georgia)

5 reviewed on February 21, 2016

This lovely hotel is ideally situated on the waterfront near the lighthouse on St. Simon's Island. Five-minute walk to restaurants shops and museums make this very convenient. A ten-minute drive brings you to more restaurants, cafes and shops. All this, a 90 minute drive from Hilton Head/Savannah Airport make this an easy spot for a relaxing weekend.

View more reviews for this inn


Darling Darien at Open Gates Bed & Breakfast (Darien, Georgia)

5 reviewed on January 01, 2016

Go for the food and stay for the ambience. Clean, neat and historic, Open Gate B and B is everything you hope for and nothing that that you fear. The thing that sets it apart, though, is the owners Zack and Carrie. Their laid-back style is augmented with an attention to personal service and memorable meals. They were responsive to requests and never failed to delight, from award-winning crepes to specialty items. Zack's years as a chef on private mega-yachts shows in the presentation and creativity as well as in the taste. We will be back.

View more reviews for this inn


nice place to stay at Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse (Saint Simons, Georgia)

5 reviewed on December 22, 2015

nice place to stay

View more reviews for this inn


SHORT BUT ENJOYABLE STAY at Open Gates Bed & Breakfast (Darien, Georgia)

5 reviewed on December 18, 2015

Zack met us warmly at the front door upon our arrival and acclimated us to the area. He gave us great local information and invited us to join locals at Fort King George event the same evening. The B&B is charming, nice location with very comfortable rooms. Zack made us feel at home and his famous breakfast crepe were a great presentation and delicious. We highly recommend Open Gate and will revisit next time we are in the area.

View more reviews for this inn


Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse at Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse (Saint Simons, Georgia)

4.6 reviewed on December 12, 2015

very pleasant stay. Convenient to shops and water front,

View more reviews for this inn


BEST TRIP TO ST SIMONS at Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse (Saint Simons, Georgia)

5 reviewed on November 02, 2015

WE STAYED FOR FIVE NIGHTS FROM OCT 23 TO OCT 26TH. WE STAYED IN THE PENTHOUSE YOU COULD NOT ASK FOR A BETTER ROOM OR BALCONY(GREAT VIEW OF LIGHTHOUSE) QUIET STREET..5 MINUTE WALK TO THE VILLAGE.THE BED,,LIVING AREA AND STAFF ALL GREAT.COFFEE 24 HOURS A DAY.IF YOU ARE NOT HAPPY HERE STAY AT HOME YOU CAN'T BE PLEASED.

View more reviews for this inn


Very helpful at Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse (Saint Simons, Georgia)

3.8 reviewed on October 22, 2015

They only have a small breakfast area, so that's not a fair review of the onsite dining, but the hotel itself is clean and attractive, the staff are very helpful and the location can't be beat.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Place to Stay at Open Gates Bed & Breakfast (Darien, Georgia)

4.8 reviewed on October 14, 2015

We enjoyed the great gourmet breakfasts and the ideas about the area from Zach and his wife. A special place.

View more reviews for this inn


Scrumptious breakfast, lovely, quiet setting at Open Gates Bed & Breakfast (Darien, Georgia)

4.6 reviewed on October 11, 2015

Quiet setting in small town, convenient to Jekyll and Sappello Islands. Great breakfasts. House and grounds are spacious, even has an outdoor pool and patio!

View more reviews for this inn


Enjoyable summer stay at St. Simons Inn at Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse (Saint Simons, Georgia)

3.8 reviewed on September 21, 2015

Very friendly staff at the St. Simon's Inn, and the location is the BEST! Room was quite comfortable. We'll be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful Boutique at Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse (Saint Simons, Georgia)

4.6 reviewed on August 27, 2015

A very lovely place to stay. A great location, with in walking distance of the heart of St. Simon. The staff is very kind and helpful. The rooms are spacious and clean. I am planning my next vacation back to this lovely place.

View more reviews for this inn


Can't wait to go back! at Open Gates Bed & Breakfast (Darien, Georgia)

5 reviewed on August 18, 2015

We were coming by boat to Darien from Savannah for one night. We had been given the name of another place to stay, but they were booked and boy am I glad! They actually referred us to Open Gates and we had the best time. I called once we docked the boat and Zach was kind enough to come pick us up so we wouldn't have to walk with our luggage. He had cooked and tea waiting on us. He showed us to our rooms and gave us a quick tour as he was about to leave for the day. My husband and I stayed in the Island Room which was huge! We had more than enough space. Our friends stayed in the Bluebird Room and they too enjoyed it. After seeing our rooms, we got in the pool to relax after having been on the water for the last five hours. We stayed in until a storm ran us out. We decided to walk down to Skipper's after Zach's fiancée Carrie suggested it. We were blown away. We eat seafood quite a bit and this was delicious! The hush puppies were to die for! We got back and decided to call it a night and the next morning, Zach had prepared the prettiest breakfast that I had ever eaten! It was also out of this world. I was amazed by his abilities. We chatted over breakfast with both Zach and Carrie and Carrie told us all about jelly balling which we found to be very interesting. They recommended we try the Sugar Marsh Cottage, directly across from the inn and I'm glad they did. The chocolate was absolutely stunning and delicious. Since we were on a boat, we were scared to purchase any for fear it would melt, but the owner was kind enough to give us ice packs to keep it cool. We walked back to the inn and it was time to check out so Zach offered to drive us back to the dock so we wouldn't have to walk. We were blown away by how nice both Zach and Carrie were and how accommodating they were. We actually want to return next year just to stay there and eat at Skippers again!

View more reviews for this inn


Comfy Boutique at Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse (Saint Simons, Georgia)

5 reviewed on August 12, 2015

I loved the feel and atmosphere of the hotel! My room was fabulous! The beds are very comfortable! The staff is very friendly and helpful.

View more reviews for this inn


What a terrific find for a really special historic Inn and top class host, Zach! at Open Gates Bed & Breakfast (Darien, Georgia)

5 reviewed on July 12, 2015

Definitely a first class B&B for a feel of the low-country hospitality and historic time! Makes you want to stay longer to absorb the great ambience of the place, and roll back in time along the river and history of the area. Owner and chef Zach make your visit the best.........and off the too-busy fast track, but very much in touch!

View more reviews for this inn


Nice stay and great location! at Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse (Saint Simons, Georgia)

3.6 reviewed on July 02, 2015

Nice location and facility to spend a few days. The staff was very helpful and the rooms were clean and up to date. The breakfast was very limited with mostly sweet rolls and a few other items. The pool was not very clear and looked unsatisfactory to swim in based on our standards. I noticed other guests mentioned this so they are just not checking it daily as they should for a public facility. Yes, we would return here again!

View more reviews for this inn


Relax at St. Simons Inn by the Lighthouse at Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse (Saint Simons, Georgia)

4.4 reviewed on June 09, 2015

Our second stay at the Inn. We have very much enjoyed St. Simons Island and the Inn. The area has an exceedingly rich history of which the Inn is a part. The rooms are absolutely gorgeous and very comfortable. We'll be back one day!

View more reviews for this inn


Room 110 - Not My Favorite at Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse (Saint Simons, Georgia)

4.6 reviewed on June 08, 2015

We have stayed at the St. Simons Inn many times and it is our go-to place on the island. This trip was the first time I was not 100% impressed with the room. Room 110 was not very up-to-date. The vanity and sink in bathroom are not user-friendly and provide no counter-top space to place toiletries. This room had carpet and did not feel as clean as other rooms we have stayed in here.

View more reviews for this inn


Short Stay at Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse (Saint Simons, Georgia)

3.2 reviewed on June 05, 2015

Enjoyed the very convenient location and the pool; the room was nice and well equipped; management and staff were very responsive to our needs

View more reviews for this inn


Great weekend at Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse (Saint Simons, Georgia)

3.6 reviewed on June 04, 2015

Spent my anniversary at St. Simons Inn by the Lighthouse. Loved the location, right in the middle of everything. The bed was nice and comfortable. The carpet seemed a little dirty. It had a recliner in the room that was broke.

View more reviews for this inn


Previous St Simon's Island resident. at Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse (Saint Simons, Georgia)

4.6 reviewed on June 02, 2015

Room 200 has the greatest view of the lighthouse!

View more reviews for this inn


St. Simons Inn by the Lighthouse - Memorial Weekend at Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse (Saint Simons, Georgia)

4.8 reviewed on May 29, 2015

Nice size clean room. Close to all the activities. We could walk everywhere we wanted to go. Breakfast items available were fresh. Good variety of cold breakfast items. Staff was very helpful and friendly.

View more reviews for this inn


Two day getaway at St Simons Inn by the Lighthouse at Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse (Saint Simons, Georgia)

3.0 reviewed on May 25, 2015

We have stayed at the Inn by the Lighthouse a number of times. We only live an hour and a half away and like to come to St Simons for just a day or two to get away to relax. We always stay here because we do like it. All in all the stay was ok this time but a few things were disappointing. I eat and drink a few special things so brought them with me but the refrigerator in room 217 did not keep them cold, just cool. Had to wait for a LONG time for water to get hot in the shower and sink. Main thing that really didn't make me happy was that I booked online, paid in full. I couldn't find online where to add my AARP card for discount. Told the young woman at the front desk and her response was pretty much " sorry you already paid in full, I can't refund the discount". Come on. Swipe the CC and refund the discount, anyone can do that. Because of that we have decided we will be trying another place for our next stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful at Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse (Saint Simons, Georgia)

5 reviewed on May 21, 2015

Great hotel at a great value. Would love to stay here again. Staff was friendly and helpful even at midnight.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}