Recent Reviews in Saint Emilion, France

Awesome find!! at La Panneterie B&B (Espiet, France)

5 reviewed on October 01, 2016

We stayed here recently during a trip through France. This B&B was OUTSTANDING and we highly recommend it. Emma was such a kind and gracious host. She made everything easy for us and she was very helpful in deciding how to spend our time in the area. The room is a beautifully and tastefully remodeled suite in a country hous in the middle of a vineyard. The room was lovely - well furnished and very clean. The breakfast was huge and delicious and included freshly baked croissants from the local bakery. There was also a lot of helpful info in the room. The only issue was had was that it was a little hard to find but as they say "the view was worth the climb". This is a great spot to explore St Emilion and its environs. The Emma speaks perfect English. Highly recommended. M and MJ

View more reviews for this inn

Very Charming B&B at BnB LA PETITE MADELEINE (Saint Laurent des Combes, France)

5 reviewed on April 18, 2016

we are always looking forward to coming there during our primeur tasting in St. Emilion. We feel like home.

View more reviews for this inn

You won't be able to find a more relaxing place at Simply Bed and Bedbreakfast (Saint Jean de Duras, France)

4.6 reviewed on February 29, 2016

We were treated on a warm welcome by hosts Sandra & Santi and had the most relaxing holiday ever. The pool is great and their permaculture garden worthwhile a visit. Sandra and Santi are happy to give you a tour. Our children loved to do a tour by the farm animals and to help feed them. We will definitely come back

View more reviews for this inn

Great stay, beautiful nature and lovely hosts at Simply Bed and Bedbreakfast (Saint Jean de Duras, France)

4.6 reviewed on February 29, 2016

We had a lovely stay in a safari tent at Simply Bed and Breakfast. There are six tents, spaciously scattered over a big field with great views. Don't forget to have a meal when you stay there. Hosts Sandra & Santi cook the most delicious dinners with vegetables from their own garden and local produce.

View more reviews for this inn

Séjour inoubliable at Ilot - Vignes (RAUZAN, France)

5 reviewed on February 22, 2016

Merci Claudie pour votre accueil, la qualité de notre séjour. Nous tenons à vous féliciter pour vos talents de super chef au niveau des diners raffinés et ainsi que les petits déjeuners copieux avec vos excellents yaourts ainsi que la viennoiserie succulente. La décoration de votre maison montre votre gout des choses simples et délicates. Nous avons très bien dormi grâce à une très bonne literie. Merci également pour les massages qui nous ont permis de trouver la détente totale chez vous. En plein milieu des vignes nous avons trouvé le calme et le confort. Vos talents de guide touristique sont aussi souligner. Promis nous reviendrons. Excellente adresse que nous recommandons.

View more reviews for this inn

Bamboo room at Ilot - Vignes (RAUZAN, France)

5 reviewed on August 24, 2015

Had a wonderful time. The beautifully restored property is a perfect fit for the surrounding wine country.Vinyards everywhere,this for me was a place of rest and peace.It is centrally located for visiting the extraordinary Bordeaux area . Claudie the owner makes you feel as family .The an especially enjoyable experience.The entire grounds and buildings are clean and we'll maintained.The restoration is of high quality with all the modern amenities.Have already given much thought about a future return .Visited 10 countries in Europe on this trip and this for me was the most relaxing and peaceful of all the places I stayed. Loved the bamboo room and it's beautiful view of the vineyards. I give 5 stars for all categories Rooms ,service ,value, cleanliness and on-site dining ,which Claudie, being a gourmet does quite naturally.

View more reviews for this inn

Spacious and comfortable home away from home at Ilot - Vignes (RAUZAN, France)

4.8 reviewed on August 07, 2015

My husband and I spent 10 nights at this charming B&B. Our room and bath were spacious and comfortable, as were the common areas of the building, especially the wonderful courtyard where we had a simple but satisfying breakfast every morning and enjoyed a few glasses of wine every evening in the long summer night. Another special feature was the large pool, such a welcome relief after sightseeing during a record-breaking heat wave. We'd go back in a heartbeat.

View more reviews for this inn

Once upon a time… Actually, almost 8 years ago… at Chambres d'hotes Bordeaux St Emilion: Beau Sejour (Naujan et Postiac, Aquitaine)

5 reviewed on April 16, 2015

…it was the first time I visited Beau Séjour, while travelling through France. I only stayed one night there, but it was enough to make me want to come back again as soon as possible. It’s not only the charming house, with spacious rooms; delicious breakfasts (and dinners, Maureen is such a good cook!); or the afternoon tea and accompanying biscuits; or the very helpful advice on which places to visit and what wines to buy (Jon will explain you everything you need to know!). It’s also about Maureen and Jon, two of the most wonderful persons I have ever met. They are passionate about their business and did everything in their power to make my stay there outstanding. Always. Oh, I forgot to mention this was my seventh visit at Beau Séjour. And I can’t wait for the eighth (August 2015 is drawing near!) - one more week with two very special people.

View more reviews for this inn

Wonderful stop at La Panneterie B&B (Espiet, France)

4.6 reviewed on February 06, 2015

We were looking for a place to stay near St Emilion and found the 'jewel in the crown'! We arrived after a late lunch/supper so only wanted to crash in a clean a quiet place and get a good nights rest. This was just that - wonderful cozy bed, warm (despite freezing temperatures outside), extremely clean, and well appointed. We briefly met Emma who was very welcoming, but were so tired, we didn't have a long chat. Also left first thing in the morning after a wonderful fresh continental breakfast that just 'appeared' in our room. When next in the area, would definitely come back for a longer stay.

View more reviews for this inn

What a gem! at Chambres d'hotes Bordeaux St Emilion: Beau Sejour (Naujan et Postiac, Aquitaine)

5 reviewed on December 16, 2014

We stayed at Beau Sejour at the beginning of October and it was a great time to enjoy the end of the wine harvest. Beau Sejour is in the countryside and very close to the main wine growing areas. Whilst we were with Maureen and Jon they took the time to book visits at different chateau not only in Saint Emilion (less than 15 minutes by car) but also in the Medoc and Sauternes, which were much closer than we had imagined. We were reluctant to visit Bordeaux but Maureen and Jon persuaded us that it was worthwhile and with their easy and precise driving and parking details, we found a gem. Thank you for insisting! Maureen and Jon have taken enormous care in restoring their home which was originally an old farmhouse and everything is so beautifully thought out. The house is very comfortable and we really enjoyed the time we spent sitting in their garden and the big sitting room. The afternoon tea time each day was a real treat with different home made cake or biscuits made by Maureen. Our bedroom, which also had a sitting area, was very spacious and the bed was so comfortable with a good mattress and lovely bed linen. The bathroom had a great shower with fast flowing,constant hot water, not often found in B&B's! The bathroom too had great attention to detail and was spotless. We strongly recommend that you have dinner at Beau Sejour if Maureen is cooking whilst you are there. Maureen's cooking is really excellent and a real plus is that she will share her recipes with you! Jon matched the food with some excellent wine from the region. This is no ordinary B&B, this is a beautiful home with hosts who really strive for you to have the best moment possible under their roof. From the moment we arrived and were greeted by Maureen and Jon until the moment we said 'au revoir' they ensured we had wonderful time. We enjoyed our visit so much we have already booked for a second visit.

View more reviews for this inn

Wonderful surprise! at La Panneterie B&B (Espiet, France)

4.6 reviewed on November 04, 2014

We were recommended to stay at La Panneterie when visiting St Emilion - what a wonderful surprise to find this lovely B&B in the surrounding countryside. Not to mention the warm welcome we recieved from our Hosts, Emma & Alex Hall. The accommodation was very comfortable & clean and the breakfast - fresh & delicious.Would definitely recommend and stay again.

View more reviews for this inn

100 por 100 recomendable at Les Fleurs des Champs (St Martin d'Ary, France)

4.2 reviewed on July 31, 2014

Hola hemos pasado cuatro noches en esta casa y ha sido una experiencia que sin duda repetiríamos.Desde el primer momento tanto Michel como Francine nos han acogido en su casa con una calurosa bienvenida y a pesar de que nosotros no hablamos ni frances ni inglés,Michel que si que se defiende con el castellano nos ha ayudado en todo lo que ha estado en su mano.En la habitación no falta un detalle esta todo limpisimo y decorado con muy buen gusto.El desayuno formidable.Que más decir...que nos ha encantado y que volveremos.Un saludo para Michel y su mujer desde Madrid.

View more reviews for this inn

SUPER WEEK END at CLOS MARCAMPS (Prignac et Marcamps, Aquitaine)

4.6 reviewed on February 25, 2014

Nous venons de passer deux nuits au Clos Marcamps. Nous avons passé un excellent séjour. Cette maison est superbe et les chambres parfaitement décorées et toutes neuves. Les propriétaires viennent d'ouvrir leur maison d'hôtes et nous leur souhaitons beaucoup de succés.

View more reviews for this inn

Notre week end at Chambres d'hotes Bordeaux St Emilion: Beau Sejour (Naujan et Postiac, Aquitaine)

5 reviewed on December 09, 2013

Très bon accueil des propriétaires de cette grande demeure du bordelais La maîtresse de maison offre un verre de vin en guise de bienvenue. Le petit déjeuner mérite le détour : pain, viennoiserie, confiture, jus de fruit, fromage, charcuterie les chambres spacieuses et confortables Nous avions hâte de faire découvrir à notre famille Beau Séjour. Nous avons retrouvé avec grand plaisir les hôtes de cette grande demeure du bordelais, Maureen et Jon; un couple charmant et chaleureux, qui vous font vous sentir très à l'aise dès l'instant où vous passez leur porte. La maîtresse de maison nous a offert un verre de vin en guise de bienvenue, et pour fêter nos retrouvailles. Nos trois chambres, spacieuses et très confortables, nous ont permis d’apprécier le calme environnant. Quant aux salles de bains, c’est le grand luxe et surtout d’une propreté irréprochable. Après un thé et de goûteuses pâtisseries « maison », traditionnellement offert par Maureen, nous avons apprécié les judicieux conseils pour visiter la région et organiser quelques dégustations. Nous avons mêmes découvert un charmant restaurant dans les environs ….abandonnant pour une soirée la table généreuse et conviviale de Beau Séjour. Maureen met tout sn savoir faire pour gâter ses convives et elle y réussit à merveille. Le petit déjeuner mérite le détour : pain, viennoiserie, confiture, jus de fruit, fromage, charcuterie etc.…. Tous les produits issus pour la plupart de l’agriculture raisonnée, sont cuisinés, sur place, par la maîtresse de maison. Jon est un parfait sommelier et veille au bien-être de chacun… Tout ceci pour vous dire…que nous reviendrons….et que nous vous encourageons à séjourner à Beau Séjour

View more reviews for this inn

a home away from home at Ilot - Vignes (RAUZAN, France)

4.6 reviewed on December 03, 2013

a great place to be, with spectaculair views, fantastic food and wines, a hostess that immidiately makes you feel at home and lots of opportunities to visit in the area. As soon as the pool and jacuzzi are finished this is Paradise on earht and I will come back to show this lovely place to my love.

View more reviews for this inn

Un petit bijou niché au cœur des vignobles at Ilot - Vignes (RAUZAN, France)

4.8 reviewed on November 04, 2013

Séjour de deux journées/nuitées passées dans ce magnifique établissement. Service agréable, convivial, sympathique. Chambres toutes plus belles les unes que les autres, décoration raffinée : le bon goût est au rendez-vous.

View more reviews for this inn

Fantastic B&B at Le Pavillon Villemaurine (St Emilion, France)

5 reviewed on June 16, 2013

What a lovely B&B with outstanding hosts Julian and Nikki. We stayed an extra nite and would have stayed longer if they would have had available rooms. Such an inviting place and a great location. Julian provided us a great tour of the area and arranged a great wine tour and tasting at Chateau Gaudet with Vincent...Breakfast was perfect each day. I could not offer higher praise for a B&B. Made a wonderful start to our French Holiday.

View more reviews for this inn

Wonderful Stay at Domaine de La Freynelle (Espiet, France)

5 reviewed on May 28, 2013

This Bed and Breakfast just outside Bordeaux was the best of our recent trip, a destination in and of itself. The house and grounds are magnificent. The furnishings are elegant and reflect a lifetime of collecting from around the world. The weather was too cool for us to use the tennis court, pool and patios, but we enjoyed walking through the well-groomed gardens admiring our delightful surroundings. The room and bath were quite luxurious. Best of all, the proprietors were very accommodating and helpful. They give us good sight-seeing advice and helped us arrange a picnic on the premises. We highly recommend this bed and breakfast.

View more reviews for this inn

Delightful stay in beautifully restored house. at Chambres d'hotes Bordeaux St Emilion: Beau Sejour (Naujan et Postiac, Aquitaine)

5 reviewed on March 26, 2013

We stayed at Beau Sejour for a short winter break in February. The house is full of character and has been very sympathetically and tastefully restored by the present owners into by far the best B&B Chambre d'Hotes we have ever stayed in. The rooms are extremely comfortable, clean and well appointed, we stayed in Chambre Rouge which was incredibly spacious and yet felt cosy and warm in the frosty weather. We were shown the other bedrooms and they were equally well furnished and comfortable. Jon and Maureen are splendid hosts, who take genuine pleasure in meeting their guests and sharing their experience and knowledge of this lovely area. They are happy to arrange excursions to places of local interest and advise on places to visit, nothing was too much trouble. Maureen is an accomplished cook, who takes a real pride in using the highest quality local produce to create wonderfully tasty meals, we ate with them on several occasions and were never disappointed. Jon's extensive knowledge of the local wines was put to good use, he served a different wine with each course that complimented the dish perfectly. Breakfasts were substantial to say the least, Maureen's homemade preserves and breakfast cakes were delicious. In all we had a wonderfully restorative break and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We are certainly planning a return visit - can't recommend Beau Sejour and Jon and Maureen highly enough.

View more reviews for this inn

nid douillet at Les Fleurs des Champs (St Martin d'Ary, France)

4.4 reviewed on March 17, 2013

Merveilleux petit havre de paix adossé à la forêt. Accueil classe et chaleureux. Confortable et de très bon goût comme les confitures du matin. Hélas ce n'était qu'une étape rapide. Pas le temps d'en profiter mais mérite d'y revenir!

View more reviews for this inn

short break in the vineyards of st. emilion at Le Pavillon Villemaurine (St Emilion, France)

5 reviewed on September 26, 2012

This is the perfect place to stay when visiting St. Emilion . Everything is beautifully done . Bedrooms are luxurious and beds are super comfortable . Lovely sitting room and breakfast room -- plenty of up to date glossy magazines if you want some light reading ! Nikki and Julian really want you to make the most of your stay and will organise wine tastings for you . Their own white is delicious . As well the Vineyards you are also very close to the home of Michel de Montaigne which is well worth a visit. Highly recommended .

View more reviews for this inn

Do not look further - this is the perfect place!!! at Le Pavillon Villemaurine (St Emilion, France)

5 reviewed on September 25, 2012

When I made the booking, I di hestiate becasue it was slightly more than we wanted to pay, but thankfully we decided to go with Le Pavillion. It really was worth every Euro! Firstly , being situated just minutes away from the town centre itself, you could just walk back after a wonderful meal and not worry about transport. This was really important to us, because we like our wine. The room was just perfect. Just right to make you feel confortable and relaxed. Nikki and Julian could not be more helpful. Their aim was to make us have a lovely break. By the way, breakfast delicious, ALL beverages, water and as much wine as you can drink is included in the price. We are going to make this place a visit for us each year. I cannot recommend it enough.

View more reviews for this inn

indded outstanding at Le Pavillon Villemaurine (St Emilion, France)

5 reviewed on September 24, 2012

extremly beautiful. we had a week in the Pavillon and everything was perfect. We had the suit and it was amazing. Services including breakfast perfect at all. Nikki and Julian are very, very friendly and always aiming to do the very best. And they did it with us. Location is very close to the centre and you can reach everything with a short walk. Ask Nikki or Julian for some dinner tips they will give you good advice. 5 stars recommandation. Chrissi and Mike

View more reviews for this inn

Best place in the region at Luxury B&B maison à votre santé (Savignac de Duras, France)

5 reviewed on August 11, 2012

This summer we stayed for the second time in this renovated farmhouse with view on the Duras Chateau. This time we took one of rooms on the first floor which was even better than the one at the pool. Laurens & Caroline are fabulous hosts. Ask for a tour in their own garden and addresses of interesting wine houses, this will upgrade your vacation in this lovely part of France. Of course don't forget to visit Saint Emilion and Bergerac. Fred & Franca

View more reviews for this inn

Magical Stay at Chambres d'hotes Bordeaux St Emilion: Beau Sejour (Naujan et Postiac, Aquitaine)

4.4 reviewed on July 17, 2012

Thank you Maureen & Jon. A magical stay. Guide to exploring the region - outstanding. Evening meals superb. Highly recommend this establishment Allan & Miriam, Brisbane, Australia

View more reviews for this inn

Cyclists' paradise at Les Fleurs des Champs (St Martin d'Ary, France)

5 reviewed on June 28, 2012

My friend David and I, keen cyclists, stayed at les Fleurs des Champs for one night and it was bliss. The welcome was superb and the accommodation was first class. Francine directed us to the nearest resataurant and after a good rest and a hearty breakfast (with home made jam) we set off in the morning fully resotred. All in all, I highly recommend Les Fleurs des Champs!

View more reviews for this inn

Wonderful getaway at B&B Saint Emilion, Bordeaux : Bleu Raisin (Les Salles de Castillon, France)

5 reviewed on January 24, 2012

We were delighted to have found this B&B on our way to Saint-Emilion. What a beautiful place! The house is really surrounded by vineyards, as far as the eye can see. We stayed in the Joie de Lavande room, which was tastefully renovated, had a very comfortable bed and a superb bathroom. Breakfast was excellent and next time we are here - yes, we are planning to come back - we certainly want to have dinner in Bleu Raisin. Unfortunately we could not experience Yves' cuisine this time, as we arrived late in the evening, but the other guests were excited about it and we are eager to try it out. Looking for a nice place to stay near Saint Emilion? This is the place to be. Thanks to Sandra and Yves for their warm welcome and hospitality.

View more reviews for this inn

Excellent ! at B&B Saint Emilion, Bordeaux : Bleu Raisin (Les Salles de Castillon, France)

4.8 reviewed on October 04, 2011

We stayed at the Bleu Raisin for 3 nights and absolutely enjoyed it. We were given a warm welcome by the hosts. The room was very charming, comfortable and clean. Lots of choice at the breakfast buffet. And the setting amidst the vineyards is just wonderful. We hope to be back one day !

View more reviews for this inn

Excellent hosts, food & area at Luxury B&B maison à votre santé (Savignac de Duras, France)

5 reviewed on August 15, 2011

Very nice accommodation in a good location. Great hospitality and food from very welcoming hosts. Lovely walks around the area

View more reviews for this inn