Recent Reviews in Rockbridge, Ohio

Awesome at Hyde House Bed & Breakfast (Nelsonville, OH)

5 reviewed on August 03, 2018

So cute and clean and good home style breakfast.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice B & B not too far from Hocking Hills at Hyde House Bed & Breakfast (Nelsonville, OH)

4.4 reviewed on July 10, 2018

Enjoyed the place to ourselves on a Wednesday night. Very relaxing. Nice period décor. Very friendly and accommodating hosts who came in the morning and made a fine breakfast.

View more reviews for this inn


Hyde House at Hyde House Bed & Breakfast (Nelsonville, OH)

5 reviewed on June 19, 2018

Beautiful rooms, delicious breakfast and everything was just outstanding.

View more reviews for this inn


Hyde House was outstanding! at Hyde House Bed & Breakfast (Nelsonville, OH)

5 reviewed on May 22, 2018

This place was great! Breakfast was awesome and the company was fantastic! Would definitely stay here again! Love that staircase ;)

View more reviews for this inn


Past date milk and bring your own soap at Hyde House Bed & Breakfast (Nelsonville, OH)

1.4 reviewed on September 13, 2017

The hosts told my husband who made the reservations to bring our own soap. He did not tell me this or we would not have made reservations. There is a sign in the bathroom saying guests may use one towel per stay and for longer stays guests can wash their own towel. Almost no toilet paper so I took a roll from the public restroom. Seriously! The hosts did not arrive until 750a. Earlier I had fixed my own Keurig coffee and checked the fridge for creamer. There was none. Only past date milk. Another guest bought her own creamer and offered it to me. She said she had not seen her hosts all week even though there was supposed to be a continental breakfast and so she ate out every morning. Friday the host delivered donuts and muffins from the grocery store. The same baked goods were there the next day. For the price I expected to soap to wash my hands, an extra towel to dry my face, in date milk for my coffee and fresh bakery. Go anywhere else. GLR

View more reviews for this inn


Romantic Getaway, Peaceful Relaxation and Wonderful Dining at Glenlaurel A Scottish Inn & Cottages (Rockbridge, Ohio)

5 reviewed on October 03, 2016

This place is breathtaking and the meals were incredible. Do the dinner, it's amazing and the Chef is magnificent! My husband and I celebrated our 25th Anniversary and it was perfect! We hiked out the back of our croft and got off the trails to take some great photos of the gorge while climbing the rocks and went horseback riding which was only 15 minutes away. The crofts, cottages are so pretty, romantic and comfortable, we enjoyed the hot tub on the deck. We will definitely go back!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful place for a honeymoon weekend! at Glenlaurel A Scottish Inn & Cottages (Rockbridge, Ohio)

4.4 reviewed on June 22, 2016

My husband of 30 years and I chose Glenlaurel for a 3 day weekend getaway to celebrate our anniversary. The pictures do not do it justice, everything is beautiful! The cottages are gorgeous and the hiking is incredible. We chose not to do the formal dinner, as we did not feel like dressing up, but the breakfasts and lunches were great. The hottubs are wonderful and secluded. We spent 3 days "unplugged" and thoroughly enjoyed it. We can't wait to go back again.

View more reviews for this inn


Four years and still going STRONG... at Hyde House Bed & Breakfast (Nelsonville, OH)

4.6 reviewed on May 29, 2016

Each year my hometown of Nelsonville has a reunion for the classes who have graduated previously. For the past several years I have had the privilege of staying at the Hyde House and being served those delicious homemade breakfasts made by the hostess Sue Maxwell. Sue gives you the most welcoming feeling and a great place to stay while on your visit to Southeastern Ohio. Lots of historical information is provided by Sue and she can give some ideas(if needed) as to places to visit while in the area. And for dinner may I suggest the "Rhapsody" for your dining enjoyment. Although Nelsonville is a quaint little town you will enjoy the enormous adventures that await you. Give Sue Maxwell a call and tell her Nancy sent you. And NO, there is no money paid for my endorsement.

View more reviews for this inn


Exceptional birthday surprise! at Hyde House Bed & Breakfast (Nelsonville, OH)

5 reviewed on February 11, 2016

Hyde House is one Bed and Breakfast you don't want to miss. We dined at Rhapsody and then walked the one block to Hyde House where we were greeted by Sue who had a nice warm cup of tea waiting for us. The B&B is very well kept and exceptionally decorated. Sue provided us with the house history and tales of wonderful critters. The soaking tub is a must and on a cold winter evening it was to perfect way to relax. The bed was most comfortable as we were in the Dogwood Room which was toasty warm. We woke up to the aroma of pumpkin chocolate chip muffins baking and coffee brewing. We enjoyed both while Sue prepared an extremely tasty ham and cheese omelet which was served with fresh watermelon and orange juice. Thank you Sue for making my Hubby's birthday surprise extra special. He said it was the best birthday gift ever. We are looking forward to our next visit.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful gem hidden away in Ohio at Glenlaurel A Scottish Inn & Cottages (Rockbridge, Ohio)

5 reviewed on September 12, 2015

Having 3 children can be a handful, so we decided it was time to have some "us" time. We arrived with a late check-in, and went immediately to our first 6 course dinner. I had the Salmon and my wife had the stuffed chicken breast; both were delicious. We stayed in the MacBeth Croft the entire time, and the view of the surrounding area in the back was simple, and beautiful. The hot tub was set at 100°, which was perfect! That allowed us to stay in the hot tub for over an hour without getting over-heated. 4 days and 3 nights seems like it went too quickly! The staff was amazing, and very accommodating (thank you again T!) If your body is not used to well water, I highly suggest the bottled water they have at the Manor House. We were celebrating our 5 years anniversary, and look forward to coming again next year!

View more reviews for this inn


My new home away from home! at Hyde House Bed & Breakfast (Nelsonville, OH)

5 reviewed on August 16, 2015

I had planned a trip from South Carolina to the Athens, Ohio area in order to visit a friend who recently moved there and was looking for my "new home away from home". And I surely did find just that with Sue Maxwell and her beautiful Hyde House in Nelsonville!!! I loved absolutely everything about my stay there, from the comfortable Tulip Tree Room, to the magnificent staircase, to the delicious breakfasts, to Sue's genuine and warm hospitality! I will most definitely be staying here again!

View more reviews for this inn


Home Away from Home at Glenlaurel A Scottish Inn & Cottages (Rockbridge, Ohio)

5 reviewed on August 01, 2015

We have been going there since 2005. We enjoy the MacDonald Suite in the Inn as you can have your breakfast & supper right there. Always great food. Same with staff. Lovely, quiet area with things to do or not do. Can't get cell phone service & that's a big ++. In the evening you can often see sillouttes of the deer on the horizon.

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend Getaway at Hyde House Bed & Breakfast (Nelsonville, OH)

4.6 reviewed on February 11, 2015

The house is beautiful and well presented with a perfect location in relation to downtown Nelsonville. We chose Nelsonville as a quick getaway from Columbus for a weekend and lucked out with nice weather. It was great to explore the town on foot and we enjoyed shopping at the antique stores and spending time at the local coffee shop. The experience at Hyde House was excellent and Sue was a very welcoming host.

View more reviews for this inn


Love this place at Glenlaurel A Scottish Inn & Cottages (Rockbridge, Ohio)

4.6 reviewed on November 17, 2014

Going to Glenlaurel is always a highlight of our year! We love the room - Campbell, the atmosphere, the hiking, and especially the breakfast and dinners! Have strayed elsewhere but returned! I don't see us straying again!

View more reviews for this inn


Honeymoon to the stars and back. at Glenlaurel A Scottish Inn & Cottages (Rockbridge, Ohio)

5 reviewed on November 16, 2014

The title speaks for itself. Glenlaurel Inn is an experience to enjoy, not just a place to spend the night. Every facet of your stay, from the croft, to the hills and valleys, to the dining, and last but not least, the accommodating staff. They are memories to cherish long after you leave, to carry with you always. What an experience, and none could be better, start a life together with someone you love.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing croft at Glenlaurel A Scottish Inn & Cottages (Rockbridge, Ohio)

5 reviewed on November 12, 2014

The food is excellent and the staff is really nice there. We lived in the Drummond croft for 2 days and the room is neat and clean. The hot-tub is out at the balcony, which is awesome.

View more reviews for this inn


First time at Glenlaurel A Scottish Inn & Cottages (Rockbridge, Ohio)

4.6 reviewed on November 11, 2014

First time at Glenn Laurel and already planning to come back. Wonderful experience!

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect Night away at Glenlaurel A Scottish Inn & Cottages (Rockbridge, Ohio)

4.6 reviewed on October 20, 2014

This was a fabulous place to stay for a night away. The cottages are clean and very private. The breakfast is outstanding! The staff were friendly. We will be visiting here again!

View more reviews for this inn


A great, romantic getaway. at Glenlaurel A Scottish Inn & Cottages (Rockbridge, Ohio)

4.4 reviewed on October 15, 2014

We stayed two nights in an East croft to celebrate our anniversary. Loved the accommodations including the screened porch and private deck with hot tub. The food served in the dining room was excellent. We also had dinner and breakfast delivered to our room. Dinner comes early and is designed to be microwaved so you can eat at your convenience. Breakfast was good - much lighter fare than the food served in the dining room. We couldn't eat that much breakfast 2 days in a row! We spent a lot of our time hiking in Hocking Hills State Park - beautiful. We will definitely return to GlenLaurel.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect Getaway at Glenlaurel A Scottish Inn & Cottages (Rockbridge, Ohio)

4.4 reviewed on September 30, 2014

Perfect getaway with my now fiance! We love to come here in the fall and enjoy the scenery and Glenlaurel provides more then enough to satisfy a peaceful escape

View more reviews for this inn


The Perfect Getaway at Glenlaurel A Scottish Inn & Cottages (Rockbridge, Ohio)

4.8 reviewed on September 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed in the Elliot Croft for our 13th anniversary. This was our first time to the Hocking Hills area. The location and setting of Glenlaurel was just beautiful. We could have just stayed on the grounds, if there weren't any other sites to see. The Elliot Croft was very clean and cozy. The crofts were just far enough apart, that it felt like you were the only ones in the area. The hot tub on the deck made for a perfect end, to a long day of hiking. The 3 course breakfast was amazing every morning, especially the creme brule french toast! The evenings live bagpipe music made the setting feel like you were actually in the Scottish Highlands. My husband and I would highly recommend a stay at Glenlaurel if you're looking for a relaxing, romantic get away!

View more reviews for this inn


A perfect choice for our Anniversary at Glenlaurel A Scottish Inn & Cottages (Rockbridge, Ohio)

4.0 reviewed on September 13, 2014

We were staying at the Macintosh cottage and enjoyed every minute of it. The Cottage is beautifully decorated, very quite and romantic . It was very clean and the service was outstanding . We enjoyed breakfast in the very elegant dinning room. We will definitely come back and recommend Glenlaurel Inn to our friends and family.

View more reviews for this inn


Unplug, unwind and treat yourself at Glenlaurel A Scottish Inn & Cottages (Rockbridge, Ohio)

5 reviewed on September 07, 2014

The MacDonald Suite at Glenlaurel is a beautiful place to relax while enjoying solitude and a lovely view of the grounds while only being steps away from the ambience downstairs that is the Manor House. I can only imagine how thrilling this place looks in autumn and with snow. Surely a gem in a every season!

View more reviews for this inn


What a great way to experience the Hocking Hills at Hyde House Bed & Breakfast (Nelsonville, OH)

4.8 reviewed on August 06, 2014

We stayed here for our 10th anniversary, and loved it. The house was charming, and Sue was a fantastic host. She had great suggestions for how to enjoy the area, made wonderful breakfasts, and made sure we were comfortable. Our room was spacious and clean. At first we weren't sure if we'd enjoy staying outside of the parks, but it was really nice being so close to the historic square in Nelsonville. There's a great restaurant (Rhapsody), a nice coffee shop, a couple sandwich shops, a pub, a gallery, several shops and a train(!). Nice to be able to walk to this. If we go back to the region, we'll certainly stay here or at one of Sue's other properties.

View more reviews for this inn


Warm and charming with a personal touch at Hyde House Bed & Breakfast (Nelsonville, OH)

4.4 reviewed on July 10, 2014

We stayed here somewhat at random because we were traveling through the area and the town met our "we expect to be here at the end of the day" qualification. Wish we had more time to stay and explore, as it looks like a rather fun-in-the-outdoors type of place. The accommodations were very nice, and it's so refreshing to have a personal touch and learn about where you're at that we would definitely stay here again if we decided to make a proper visit to the Hocking Hills.

View more reviews for this inn


21st Anniversary getaway at Glenlaurel A Scottish Inn & Cottages (Rockbridge, Ohio)

4.0 reviewed on June 08, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the McGregor room, it was perfectly sized, quaint and romantic. Spotlessly clean. Staff are all very friendly and accommodating. We had the 6 course seafood meal on Fri, it was delicious, but picky eaters beware. The chef was very cordial however and even changed my husbands appetizer because he does not eat mussels. Its a lot of food, and by dessert you will be completely full. Kudos to the chef on his Halibut with leeks over lentils, just amazing! We had dinner in our room Sat night, which was just perfect for us, it was casual and cozy and we could eat on our own schedule, the food was equally delicious! Breakfasts were good, not traditional Scottish fare, but good. Very filling. The grounds are beautiful, very well kept and the trails were easily traveled, and gorgeous scenery. There is so much to do, or not do, its up to you. Left completely relaxed and rejuvenated, planning our next trip before our next anniversary!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful getaway! at Glenlaurel A Scottish Inn & Cottages (Rockbridge, Ohio)

4.8 reviewed on June 03, 2014

We were married at Glen Laurel and have returned for our anniversaries The crofts are very private, cozy and intimate. Food is delicious. The trails are beautiful and easy to navigate. We even tried the golf. Fun but terrible score. There are many things to do and see in the area or you can just relax and "distress" in your croft. We would recommend Glen Laurel to anyone.

View more reviews for this inn


We enjoyed our two nights stay at the Primrose B&B at Hyde House Bed & Breakfast (Nelsonville, OH)

3.2 reviewed on May 05, 2014

Our room was small but adequate. Very quiet. We were impressed with the lady that owns and cares for property. Value: In comparison to other B&B it really is a great value. Cleanliness: The room was clean. Dining: Both mornings we had lots of fresh fruit and great muffins as well as a hot casserole.

View more reviews for this inn


A great stay in a grand home! at Hyde House Bed & Breakfast (Nelsonville, OH)

4.8 reviewed on April 08, 2014

We had a wonderful stay in the Dogwood Room while visiting the area for the MOGA (Geocaching event) this spring. Our room was lovely and very spacious; the bed was super comfy with a really nice large bathroom; and the ambiance throughout the house was great! Breakfast was filling and tasty, served in a friendly atmosphere. The free WIFI was a nice bonus. The "parlor" is filled with beautiful books and magazines to read in a relaxing atmosphere. The price is very reasonable. Sue is a wonderful hostess; her passion and pride for her historic home and the lovely little town of Nelsonville is evident in everything she does. We would DEFINITELY stay here again, and will recommend it to others!!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderfully Cozy and great stay at Hyde House Bed & Breakfast (Nelsonville, OH)

5 reviewed on March 16, 2014

Wonderful accommodations and Sue was a great hostess. We will be sure to stay again when visiting the area. Thank you! Highly recommend

View more reviews for this inn


Top
check }