Recent Reviews in Rockbridge, Ohio

Hyde House was outstanding! at Hyde House Bed & Breakfast (Nelsonville, OH)

5 reviewed on May 22, 2018

This place was great! Breakfast was awesome and the company was fantastic! Would definitely stay here again! Love that staircase ;)

View more reviews for this inn


Past date milk and bring your own soap at Hyde House Bed & Breakfast (Nelsonville, OH)

1.4 reviewed on September 13, 2017

The hosts told my husband who made the reservations to bring our own soap. He did not tell me this or we would not have made reservations. There is a sign in the bathroom saying guests may use one towel per stay and for longer stays guests can wash their own towel. Almost no toilet paper so I took a roll from the public restroom. Seriously! The hosts did not arrive until 750a. Earlier I had fixed my own Keurig coffee and checked the fridge for creamer. There was none. Only past date milk. Another guest bought her own creamer and offered it to me. She said she had not seen her hosts all week even though there was supposed to be a continental breakfast and so she ate out every morning. Friday the host delivered donuts and muffins from the grocery store. The same baked goods were there the next day. For the price I expected to soap to wash my hands, an extra towel to dry my face, in date milk for my coffee and fresh bakery. Go anywhere else. GLR

View more reviews for this inn


Romantic Getaway, Peaceful Relaxation and Wonderful Dining at Glenlaurel A Scottish Inn & Cottages (Rockbridge, Ohio)

5 reviewed on October 03, 2016

This place is breathtaking and the meals were incredible. Do the dinner, it's amazing and the Chef is magnificent! My husband and I celebrated our 25th Anniversary and it was perfect! We hiked out the back of our croft and got off the trails to take some great photos of the gorge while climbing the rocks and went horseback riding which was only 15 minutes away. The crofts, cottages are so pretty, romantic and comfortable, we enjoyed the hot tub on the deck. We will definitely go back!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful place for a honeymoon weekend! at Glenlaurel A Scottish Inn & Cottages (Rockbridge, Ohio)

4.4 reviewed on June 22, 2016

My husband of 30 years and I chose Glenlaurel for a 3 day weekend getaway to celebrate our anniversary. The pictures do not do it justice, everything is beautiful! The cottages are gorgeous and the hiking is incredible. We chose not to do the formal dinner, as we did not feel like dressing up, but the breakfasts and lunches were great. The hottubs are wonderful and secluded. We spent 3 days "unplugged" and thoroughly enjoyed it. We can't wait to go back again.

View more reviews for this inn


Four years and still going STRONG... at Hyde House Bed & Breakfast (Nelsonville, OH)

4.6 reviewed on May 29, 2016

Each year my hometown of Nelsonville has a reunion for the classes who have graduated previously. For the past several years I have had the privilege of staying at the Hyde House and being served those delicious homemade breakfasts made by the hostess Sue Maxwell. Sue gives you the most welcoming feeling and a great place to stay while on your visit to Southeastern Ohio. Lots of historical information is provided by Sue and she can give some ideas(if needed) as to places to visit while in the area. And for dinner may I suggest the "Rhapsody" for your dining enjoyment. Although Nelsonville is a quaint little town you will enjoy the enormous adventures that await you. Give Sue Maxwell a call and tell her Nancy sent you. And NO, there is no money paid for my endorsement.

View more reviews for this inn


Exceptional birthday surprise! at Hyde House Bed & Breakfast (Nelsonville, OH)

5 reviewed on February 11, 2016

Hyde House is one Bed and Breakfast you don't want to miss. We dined at Rhapsody and then walked the one block to Hyde House where we were greeted by Sue who had a nice warm cup of tea waiting for us. The B&B is very well kept and exceptionally decorated. Sue provided us with the house history and tales of wonderful critters. The soaking tub is a must and on a cold winter evening it was to perfect way to relax. The bed was most comfortable as we were in the Dogwood Room which was toasty warm. We woke up to the aroma of pumpkin chocolate chip muffins baking and coffee brewing. We enjoyed both while Sue prepared an extremely tasty ham and cheese omelet which was served with fresh watermelon and orange juice. Thank you Sue for making my Hubby's birthday surprise extra special. He said it was the best birthday gift ever. We are looking forward to our next visit.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful gem hidden away in Ohio at Glenlaurel A Scottish Inn & Cottages (Rockbridge, Ohio)

5 reviewed on September 12, 2015

Having 3 children can be a handful, so we decided it was time to have some "us" time. We arrived with a late check-in, and went immediately to our first 6 course dinner. I had the Salmon and my wife had the stuffed chicken breast; both were delicious. We stayed in the MacBeth Croft the entire time, and the view of the surrounding area in the back was simple, and beautiful. The hot tub was set at 100°, which was perfect! That allowed us to stay in the hot tub for over an hour without getting over-heated. 4 days and 3 nights seems like it went too quickly! The staff was amazing, and very accommodating (thank you again T!) If your body is not used to well water, I highly suggest the bottled water they have at the Manor House. We were celebrating our 5 years anniversary, and look forward to coming again next year!

View more reviews for this inn


My new home away from home! at Hyde House Bed & Breakfast (Nelsonville, OH)

5 reviewed on August 16, 2015

I had planned a trip from South Carolina to the Athens, Ohio area in order to visit a friend who recently moved there and was looking for my "new home away from home". And I surely did find just that with Sue Maxwell and her beautiful Hyde House in Nelsonville!!! I loved absolutely everything about my stay there, from the comfortable Tulip Tree Room, to the magnificent staircase, to the delicious breakfasts, to Sue's genuine and warm hospitality! I will most definitely be staying here again!

View more reviews for this inn


Home Away from Home at Glenlaurel A Scottish Inn & Cottages (Rockbridge, Ohio)

5 reviewed on August 01, 2015

We have been going there since 2005. We enjoy the MacDonald Suite in the Inn as you can have your breakfast & supper right there. Always great food. Same with staff. Lovely, quiet area with things to do or not do. Can't get cell phone service & that's a big ++. In the evening you can often see sillouttes of the deer on the horizon.

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend Getaway at Hyde House Bed & Breakfast (Nelsonville, OH)

4.6 reviewed on February 11, 2015

The house is beautiful and well presented with a perfect location in relation to downtown Nelsonville. We chose Nelsonville as a quick getaway from Columbus for a weekend and lucked out with nice weather. It was great to explore the town on foot and we enjoyed shopping at the antique stores and spending time at the local coffee shop. The experience at Hyde House was excellent and Sue was a very welcoming host.

View more reviews for this inn


Love this place at Glenlaurel A Scottish Inn & Cottages (Rockbridge, Ohio)

4.6 reviewed on November 17, 2014

Going to Glenlaurel is always a highlight of our year! We love the room - Campbell, the atmosphere, the hiking, and especially the breakfast and dinners! Have strayed elsewhere but returned! I don't see us straying again!

View more reviews for this inn


Honeymoon to the stars and back. at Glenlaurel A Scottish Inn & Cottages (Rockbridge, Ohio)

5 reviewed on November 16, 2014

The title speaks for itself. Glenlaurel Inn is an experience to enjoy, not just a place to spend the night. Every facet of your stay, from the croft, to the hills and valleys, to the dining, and last but not least, the accommodating staff. They are memories to cherish long after you leave, to carry with you always. What an experience, and none could be better, start a life together with someone you love.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing croft at Glenlaurel A Scottish Inn & Cottages (Rockbridge, Ohio)

5 reviewed on November 12, 2014

The food is excellent and the staff is really nice there. We lived in the Drummond croft for 2 days and the room is neat and clean. The hot-tub is out at the balcony, which is awesome.

View more reviews for this inn


First time at Glenlaurel A Scottish Inn & Cottages (Rockbridge, Ohio)

4.6 reviewed on November 11, 2014

First time at Glenn Laurel and already planning to come back. Wonderful experience!

View more reviews for this inn


Top
check }