Recent Reviews in Rochester, New York

A unique and stylish treasure in upstate New York at A B&B at the Ellwanger Estate (Rochester, New York)

5 reviewed on September 12, 2017

If business or pleasure takes you to Rochester NY you'll find no better place to stay than Rosemary Janofsky's unique Ellwanger Estate. The rooms, most of them individually decorated by interior designers, are comfortable, well-equiped and very stylish. Rosemary is the perfect host: friendly, well-informed, funny and a superb cook - I'm sure you'll find no better breakfasts anywhere and every one looks like they should be stars of Instagram! The grounds are tranquil and exceptionally well cared-for. In short, the Ellwanger is a place to be treasured.

View more reviews for this inn


Simply wonderful at Morgan Samuels Inn (Canandaigua, New York)

5 reviewed on August 24, 2017

Such a lovely and idyllic setting, comfortable bed, delicious breakfast, friendly hosts. Will definitely return.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing choice for our stay in Rochester at A B&B at the Ellwanger Estate (Rochester, New York)

5 reviewed on August 21, 2017

The Ellwanger Estate exceeded our expectations in every way. Breakfast was absolutely wonderful, our room was immaculately clean, and we had plenty of privacy to enjoy the downstairs living areas. We are so glad we chose this B&B for our mid-week getaway.

View more reviews for this inn


Great little B&B at Beautiful Valley Guesthouse (Scottsville, New York)

4.8 reviewed on August 20, 2017

We spent one night here because of a family wedding. The B&B is conveniently located near The Wed Shed. It is a cute house and very well-maintained. The owners were very responsive to our questions.

View more reviews for this inn


Exceptional! at A B&B at the Ellwanger Estate (Rochester, New York)

4.8 reviewed on August 20, 2017

As always a wonderful stay. This is our staycation go to place. Rosemary is always accommodating and her establishment is so elegant and welcoming. We just love the experience every time we stay. We brought friends along and they were very impressed and had a wonderful stay as well.

View more reviews for this inn


hospitality in historic home at Edward Harris House B&B (Rochester, New York)

5 reviewed on August 07, 2017

Warm welcome from owners and manager in a historic Victorian house, beautifully decorated. Comfortable and clean. Full buffet breakfast with added choice of omelet from owner. One block from 'urban village' of Park Avenue with many good dining choices. Convenient to museums. Highly recommended.

View more reviews for this inn


Quaint charming stay at Beautiful Valley Guesthouse (Scottsville, New York)

3.8 reviewed on August 06, 2017

Great service in a unique historic house in Scottsville.

View more reviews for this inn


disappointed / not recommended at Beautiful Valley Guesthouse (Scottsville, New York)

1.8 reviewed on August 02, 2017

My wife and I have stayed at numerous B&B's around the country, and we agree that this one is below average. The hosts are clearly running this B&B as an after-thought. Their main focus is their cafe which they heavily promote on their site as well as in the hand written note we received and in the guest info book. The room was in need of repair (paint pealing off the wall above the jacuzzi which had a make-shift drain plug (the original was missing), towel wrack falling off the wall, deep scratch marks on the floor from furniture being moved around, cleaning supplies used by the host easily found child height in the room, dust bunnies in the corners.... and the worst part.... I go down for coffee in the morning and there's leftover coffee in the pot from the previous day!!!) I guess if we wanted breakfast / fresh coffee we would have had to pre-arange for it and pay extra or walk 2 blocks to their coffee shop. We NEVER saw or heard our hosts. It's our belief that this couple had the coffee shop first, an opportunity to buy the B&B came up and they took it thinking they could run both..... not so. My advice to them... focus on 1 business and do it well. We went to the coffee place and found out that some of the equipment wasn't working and they were out of a few menu items. I also noticed flies in the pastry display case. My wife and I have spent our lives in foodservice and we know first hand how hard it can be, but that is no excuse for not giving great customer service because your stretched too thin. Standards slip, customers go away unhappy and you never find out why they never come back. This B&B has potential, but as it's being run now, we recommend staying someplace else; unless you don't care that you're paying for B&B service which should INCLUDE service from the host but doesn't happen here.

View more reviews for this inn


Serenity!!! at Morgan Samuels Inn (Canandaigua, New York)

5 reviewed on July 30, 2017

A little piece of heaven on earth... such a relaxing atmosphere . House was beyond beautiful with attention to detail at every turn. John and Julie were beond gracious and the meals were exceptional.. you won't be disappointed at your stay here.

View more reviews for this inn


Best Bed and Breakfast! at A B&B at the Ellwanger Estate (Rochester, New York)

5 reviewed on July 29, 2017

We could not have asked for better service and hospitality. Wish we could have stayed longer. Would definitely return and recommend to anyone!

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful, country setting, private place to stay. at Morgan Samuels Inn (Canandaigua, New York)

4.8 reviewed on July 21, 2017

We were so pleased with the warm cozy feel of this B&B. It was clean and John and Julie were so friendly and gracious. The breakfast was far beyond our expectations. We look forward to staying there again and enjoying a dinner meal.

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful place to stay!! at 1840 Inn On The Main (Canandaigua, New York)

5 reviewed on July 20, 2017

Friendly welcoming, comfortable! Delicious breakfast and baked treats. Rooms are lovely.

View more reviews for this inn


Felt like home at Beautiful Valley Guesthouse (Scottsville, New York)

5 reviewed on July 20, 2017

We were late. But Rachel called & helped us find our way. She stayed on the phone til we pulled into the driveway. It was the best night sleep I had in along time. We want to come back next year. Thank you for a wonderful vacation.

View more reviews for this inn


Wedding Getaway at Morgan Samuels Inn (Canandaigua, New York)

5 reviewed on July 09, 2017

We arrived and were treated to an exquisite experience from the moment that we entered the driveway. The location is idyllic and instantly transported us from the world of the mundane to the calm and lovely world of yesteryear. The gardens and meticulously selected decor of the inn provided a sense of history and serenity. Upon entering the inn we could instantly tell that we were in for a unique experience. Our hosts John and Julie welcomed us like we were family and provided for our every need. Including offering us the suite when they found out we were being married the next day. The suite was comfortable and spacious, with a wide view of the pastoral vista offered. We had dinner plans in town but promptly, and wisely, changed them as soon as possible in order to partake of the sumptuous dining offered. All meals here were prepared with a feeling of care rarely experienced and each repast was a culinary joy. John's and Julie's hospitality is second to none. Anyone staying in their area owes it to themselves to book at least one overnight at the Morgan Samuels Inn.

View more reviews for this inn


First visit to Finger Lakes region at 1840 Inn On The Main (Canandaigua, New York)

5 reviewed on July 09, 2017

Superb accommodation and fabulous breakfast. The quality of the food and service was truly outstanding. Jaynee and Guy went out of their way to make our all too brief stay in their beautiful B&B a memorable experience. We cannot wait to return.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful room & vacation at Beautiful Valley Guesthouse (Scottsville, New York)

5 reviewed on July 07, 2017

Everything was just so beautiful. I could of stayed there for awhile. We felt like we were at home.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect weekend getaway at A B&B at the Ellwanger Estate (Rochester, New York)

5 reviewed on June 12, 2017

My wife and I come here to get away once a year and Rosemary (and indeed the entire staff!) are just fabulous. Couldn't ask for a more beautiful home to stay in!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Stay at Dartmouth House (Rochester, NY)

5 reviewed on June 09, 2017

Great stay! Every detail was thought of. I loved the iPad in & drinks in the room. Breakfast was wonderful & staff was extremely accommodating.

View more reviews for this inn


A Wonderful Experience at Morgan Samuels Inn (Canandaigua, New York)

5 reviewed on June 05, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.....the atmosphere was very inviting and relaxing........John and Julie made sure everything was perfect........our meals were excellent and serviced so beautifully!........we will be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Can this be real? at A B&B at the Ellwanger Estate (Rochester, New York)

5 reviewed on May 22, 2017

Just returned from three night stay at the Ellwanger and it was not long enough. What a beautiful estate. Rosemary is an amazing person and has decorated the entire house with beautiful taste and comfort in mind throughout. Lighting good, furniture comfortable, colors lovely and restful. Breakfast was a treat everyday and my plate always looked like a work of art and tasted wonderful. The gardens grounds are beautiful and restful addition to the lovely house. Beds comfortable and everything we needed was within reach. I have stayed at many, many B&B's and this one tops the list. We will be back this summer to see how the gardens have changed. Within talking distance of history cemetery and and park as well as restaurants.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice Place to Stay at Beautiful Valley Guesthouse (Scottsville, New York)

3.8 reviewed on March 25, 2017

This is a beautiful old house in Scotsville NY. The rooms are large and well kept. The stairwell (to the second floor rooms) is a bit steep and narrow so take your time accending and descending. The common rooms are spacious and comfortable. The owners don't live on site but are close enough to respond when needed. There is no on-site breakfast - instead breakfast is at the coffee shop down the road.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful Estate, Bountiful Breakfasts and Cozy Rooms at A B&B at the Ellwanger Estate (Rochester, New York)

5 reviewed on March 13, 2017

We arrived early at Ellwanger Estate and that was no problem for Rosemary. She greeted us early and gave us a thorough introduction to the Estate and our quarters for the next few days. The room was spacious and open and exactly as described on their website. The bed was comfortable and warm and extra blankets and pillows were available when needed. We were there when Rochester received a pretty heavy storm and knocked out the power to the Estate for over 24 hours. Rosemary sprung into action and ensured we had sufficient lights and kept warm. She also comped us the night of the storm. Totally unnecessary, but Rosemary insisted. The location of Ellwanger is very close to the hospitals, which was the reason for our stay. Rosemary also gave us some extra care by providing amenities after my surgery which went above and beyond the duties of "bed and breakfast". There were several choices for restaurants and entertainment nearby. The morning breakfasts... after having Rosemary's breakfasts you won't be hungry til the evening hours. Such delicious and well-balanced breakfasts. A great way to start each day. We highly recommend staying at the Ellwanger Estate. We stayed in the Woodland Suite and it was delightful. My husband felt that this was his best stay at a bed and breakfast ever.

View more reviews for this inn


An exceptional place to get away! at 1840 Inn On The Main (Canandaigua, New York)

5 reviewed on February 22, 2017

Jaynee and Guy were fantastic during our stay. Our stay in the Gifford room was perfect. The room was clean and everything worked. For a historical home, everything is kept up well. All guests had breakfast together at 9am, specially prepared by the owners. They even catered to my girlfriend's food allergies. It's obvious that Jaynee and Guy truely love what they do and want their guests to have the best experience possible. The location is a short walk or drive to Canandaigua Lake and nearly every attraction in Canandaigua. I highly recommend checking out the 1840 Inn on the Main for any stay in the finger lakes!

View more reviews for this inn


Guy and Anita at Morgan Samuels Inn (Canandaigua, New York)

5 reviewed on February 09, 2017

We stayed at Morgan Samuels Inn 7 days for our honeymoon. We chose MSI because it also has an "in house" restaurant. John is an amazing chef and the meals we're top of the line! Julie is the most gracious host there is. From the minute we arrived we were welcomed and treated like family. You can look on line and see that the rooms are beautiful. We have already recommended MSI to our friends. Thanks John and Julie for a special week!!

View more reviews for this inn


Absolutely fantastic! at 1840 Inn On The Main (Canandaigua, New York)

5 reviewed on January 25, 2017

Beautiful decor, very clean and wonderful owners! They cooked a delicious hot breakfast and offered scrumptious little baked treats at the guests convenience!

View more reviews for this inn


The absolute finest getaway in Canandaigua at Morgan Samuels Inn (Canandaigua, New York)

5 reviewed on January 08, 2017

This was our second stay at the Morgan Samuels inn. The food, atmosphere, comforts and service are all second to none. We are very blessed to have found this little piece of heaven and will return many more times!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful!! at Morgan Samuels Inn (Canandaigua, New York)

5 reviewed on January 04, 2017

Our stay was very relaxing and comfortable at the Morgan Samuels Inn. John was an exceptional host who is very passionate and takes great pride in providing the dining experience and inn services. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking to get away, short drive from downtown Geneva, waters edge, and plenty of wineries. And you should definitely inquire about the formal dinner, words do not do it justice!! Wide spread of appetizers and I've never had lamb that tasted so good, must try!!

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend Getaway at 1840 Inn On The Main (Canandaigua, New York)

4.4 reviewed on December 25, 2016

It was a great place to stay. Very beautiful and peaceful. The owners greeted us at the door and showed us around and walked us to the room. Our room was more beautiful than the pictures online! Such a romantic setting. The hot tub was clean and spacious. The only thing we would've liked was a couple of more options to choose from for breakfast.

View more reviews for this inn


Even better than hoped for at A B&B at the Ellwanger Estate (Rochester, New York)

5 reviewed on December 21, 2016

I booked the Ellwanger in part because it is walking distance from the nursing home my Mother is in. So glad I did. The estate is spectacular (even in winter). The building is gorgeous, Rosemary is very welcoming and accommodating. Turns out we were the only ones there that weekend (mid December) and had the run of the place. I am sad we were there i winter because the gardens look like they would be spectacular. Breakfast fast amazing.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful Victorian Home, warm friendly Innkeepers. at 1840 Inn On The Main (Canandaigua, New York)

5 reviewed on December 13, 2016

Quiet, clean, warm and peaceful. Loved it here. Will return.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
check }