Recent Reviews in Richmond, Indiana

Great Girls Getaway Weekend at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

4.0 reviewed on April 27, 2017

If you're looking for something fun to do with a friend, definitely give Jill a call at this B&B. She took care of all the details...from arranging a tea party, dinner, and massages, to letting us know about the best sites and shops in town. The B&B was lovely and very comfortable with a delicious breakfast.

View more reviews for this inn


Charming B&B in Richmond IN helped take away some sorrow of fam funeral time! at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

5 reviewed on April 17, 2017

Jill and Kris were so gracious and warm. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Place to Stay with Lovely Hosts at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

3.4 reviewed on March 30, 2017

We enjoyed our stay and hosts were helpful and accommodating. Comfortable and clean room. Would have been nice to have a light on both sides of the bed for in-bed reading. Host good at providing info about the city, places to eat, historic district, etc. We would definitely stay here again if traveling this way.

View more reviews for this inn


Felt right back at home in Richmond, IN at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

4.8 reviewed on March 30, 2017

Comfy rooms. Yummy breakfast. Gracious hosts

View more reviews for this inn


review at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

3.8 reviewed on March 29, 2017

Enjoyed the huge rooms and the whirlpool bath.

View more reviews for this inn


Quiet, clean and comfortable at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

3.8 reviewed on February 28, 2017

Overall, I had a very nice stay with Kris and Jill. I was greeted by Jill whom quickly got me acquainted with the inn and information for my stay. I was there for 3 nights business travel. Kris prepared such nice breakfasts that I skipped my daily lunches. The shower was very nice with plenty of hot water. I stayed in Mr Smith's room. It has a 13" color tube TV. A little hard to get used to at first but I grew up in the generation which these were mas produced. Younger folk may not understand. Creaky wood floors didn't bother me either. Finding conveniently located electrical sources for today's many electronics could be an issue but I did at least find one extension cord in the night stand which helped. An aroma of musty antiques are detectable so keep in mind the things that often come with century old Victorian relics. I happen to appreciate this one.

View more reviews for this inn


worth the trip at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

4.6 reviewed on February 21, 2017

We were more than satisfied with our experience at Philip Smith Bed and Breakfast. Both hosts Kristopher and Jill were friendly, informative and helpful in our get away weekend in Richmond, In addition to the excellent conditions of this historic house, our hosts were helpful tour guides in providing an historical information for our weekend.

View more reviews for this inn


A Beautiful Victorian Near Earlham College at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

4.4 reviewed on December 11, 2016

I needed a place to stay near Earlham and the local hotels were a bit of a drive and not very interesting. Smith's B&B seemed much more what I was looking for. I wasn't disappointed. A beautifully restored grand Victorian home, a very personable innkeeper, and a comfortable room and bed. I recommend it!

View more reviews for this inn


Great two day getaway at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

4.2 reviewed on December 06, 2016

We had a nice two days to unwind a bit and do some shopping in some of the great antique shops in the area. Jill is a great host. I'm sure we will be back.

View more reviews for this inn


great one night stop at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

5 reviewed on November 23, 2016

I needed a place to stay mid way on a trip from Pennsylvania to Missouri. The room was cosy and comfy. The home is beautiful and quaint. The breakfast was delish! would recommend this grand home for a short or long stay

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent visit! at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

5 reviewed on November 15, 2016

Service was outstanding ... breakfast was great .... innkeeper was a joy to talk with. Very knowledgeable of the home and the community.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful historic home close to Earlham at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

4.8 reviewed on October 27, 2016

What a lovely historic home with beautiful historic furnishings. Breakfast was creative and delicious. Jill was happy to adjust breakfast for my daughters who are both gluten sensitive. This was our first stay in a Bed and Breakfast, and we will be back. We were in Richmond for Homecoming at Earlham College, where my youngest daughter is a sophomore and plays on the Women's Soccer Team. We had a very nice stay and especially enjoyed having breakfast with Earlham alumni of varying ages. Last year I stayed at a motel, breakfast included. I didn't meet or talk to anyone else staying there even though there were clearly many Earlham alumni at the motel and at breakfast. It's an additional advantage that the Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast is much closer to Earlham than the motel district. We had a great stay. The only negative is that the sign is difficult to see, so we drove around the block multiple times before determining that we were at the right place. Glad we found it! What a great weekend!

View more reviews for this inn


Labor Day Getaway at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

3.6 reviewed on September 17, 2016

Owners were knowledgeable of the area and made suggestions to visit. Kris was on his own the night we stayed but did a wonderful job.

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

4.6 reviewed on September 07, 2016

We enjoyed the time we had at the Smith BnB. Very nice accommodations. Service was excellent and friendly. Would recommend staying here for a quiet time.

View more reviews for this inn


wonderful stay at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

5 reviewed on August 28, 2016

the room was charming and the breakfast was fabulous. We enjoyed meeting the host and talking about Richmond. I highly recommend it! The mansion is so well preserved and decorated. The evening snacks in the upstairs hall were a surprise treat!

View more reviews for this inn


Jill and Chris are dedicated and pleasant hosts! at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

5 reviewed on August 25, 2016

I have stayed with the Nelsons twice and they could not have been more pleasant and accommodating. I will definitely be staying with them again on my visits to Richmond.

View more reviews for this inn


Earlham Parent at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

3.8 reviewed on August 23, 2016

Very nice rooms, lots of cool antiques. This is a good option when you want to visit Earlham College. The only thing I would want to have changed would be to have more healthy options for breakfast.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice Place - Exactly What You'd Expect at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

3.4 reviewed on August 06, 2016

Beautiful, interesting home & furnishings. Jill was friendly and knowledgeable, but not intrusive. Breakfast was wonderful, and I had more than my share of yummy cookies in the evening! Other guests were friendly too. I'm actually not a big fan of historic B&B's, which is why my ratings are not higher, as opposed to anything being "wrong." (I was there with someone who likes them.) My room was tiny (but I expected that), I made sure I didn't get one with a claw foot tub (they creep me out), but of course it had a pedestal sink (I expected that), so I had to put my things on the toilet seat, and then leaned over to get something, stood up, and whacked my head on a little glass shelf. Had to move the mirror over in order to plug in my hair dryer. Sink stopper mechanism disconnected when I used it. Etc. I'm sure people in the 1890's had worse problems. I suspect Jill & Kris are rather overwhelmed with work and don't always have time to check every little detail like a sink stopper every day (I did let Jill know about it). But it was still a beautiful home, and my room was clean and the bed was comfortable. If you like historic B & B's (and if you're on this website, you probably do!), you will love it.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely B & B at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

4.6 reviewed on July 29, 2016

Lovely home, friendly staff, food was excellent.

View more reviews for this inn


A Wedding get away at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

4.8 reviewed on July 14, 2016

Great B&B with very helpful innkeepers and amazing rooms. Would recommend to friends and family who want to stay in Richmond in the future.

View more reviews for this inn


One night getaway at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

3.4 reviewed on July 02, 2016

We stayed at your B & B to celebrate our 45 th wedding anniversary. It was quiet and relaxing. We certainly enjoyed the delicious breakfast.

View more reviews for this inn


Three room cousin get together in Richmond IN at P W Smith B&B at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

5 reviewed on June 11, 2016

Second stay here. This time invited traveling buddies knowing they would have a good experience - and they did! The 3 couples had a great time with accommodations, breakfast, hospitality from owners, and suggested attractions.

View more reviews for this inn


Indy weekend at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

3.6 reviewed on June 02, 2016

We stayed in room # 3. Loved the room. Did not love not having a shower. I really should have made sure we had a bathroom with at least a shower curtain around the claw foot tub. We did not have breakfast either the days we stayed because we left too early.

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic B andB!!!! at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

5 reviewed on May 30, 2016

Very beautiful house and awsome house!!

View more reviews for this inn


Another fantastic stay! at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

5 reviewed on May 16, 2016

Jill and Chris have consistently been great hosts. Top notch service, clean and comfortable, great breakfast and evening snacks.

View more reviews for this inn


Second time at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

5 reviewed on April 30, 2016

This was was our second visit. My basket weaving buddy and I come to Richmond each year for Stateline Friends Basket Retreat. We love it here, much nicer than when we stayed in the local hotels. We intend to stay here each year in our cute little room with the twin beds. So I'm very hesitant to give a review lest someone steals it from us! The owners are very nice and accomodating. Food is wonderful! The house is an old Victorian house with old house charms and quirks that makes our stay so fun. Charms: beautiful stained glass windows, beautiful wood work and antiques. Quirks: in our room a very small stand up shower that you don't want to drop the soap in. Lol!

View more reviews for this inn


OUR GO-TO SPOT at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

4.6 reviewed on April 29, 2016

Having stayed her numerous time, I can attest to the ambience and consistency of this B&B. The Innkeepers are always gracious and accommodating, and go out of their way to meet any request made of them. being located close to the Depot District makes it wonderfully convenient for shopping, dining and exploring. The building itself is historic and beautiful, having original woodwork from a lumber baron who built it. They offer two different breakfast times for early risers and those who sleep in, which I find most welcome. Looking forward to my next stay! Laura Lawson

View more reviews for this inn


historic Richmond b and b at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

4.2 reviewed on April 02, 2016

Beautiful woodwork inside, convenient location, breakfast was delicious, our bed very comfortable and room cozy (request a room that does not face the main road, can be noisy from cars). Innkeeper very nice and was fast in responding to inquiry emails and made area tecommendations. Parking is on side street however innkeeper let us park in her driveway next door. Very convenient location

View more reviews for this inn


Better than I imagined! at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

5 reviewed on February 29, 2016

I decided to whisk my hubby away for a pre-Valentine's getaway. We chose to stay at the Campbell house which is a beautiful Arts & Craft home. Having never stayed at a B&B, I was a little apprehensive, but so glad we did! We were greeted by the owner, Kristopher, when we arrived. He was pleasant and engaging as he offered us a tour of the property. Each room was warm and clean, and the rustic charm was amazing! We stayed in the king-size-suite, and the room was decorated in period pieces. There was a whirlpool tub connected to this suite which was relaxing on a cold night. The bed was very comfortable, bedding was immaculate, and the pillows were heavenly. Our host made us dinner reservations at "The Olde Richmond Inn" which was nice. The next morning, we had the most amazing breakfast at the Inn cooked by Kristopher. (I would come again just for the breakfast!) During that time, we learned even more history about the home and the city of Richmond. I would highly recommend this property, and we plan on returning soon!

View more reviews for this inn


Very nice and affordable B&B at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

4.8 reviewed on February 26, 2016

Enjoyed our one night stay in this B&B in downtown Richmond, IN. The owners operate two separate adjacent homes. He runs one and his wife runs the other. He runs the one we stayed in and we were very pleased. Although the home is old it has been updated in the ways of convenience. Like, instant hot water in the upstairs. We may return someday.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (4.54)
Top
}