Recent Reviews in Richmond, Indiana

Lovely Victorian home! at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

5 reviewed on September 06, 2017

Innkeeper was passionate about historic preservation and the area where the inn is located. The home was warm and inviting. All our needs were met. We were quite comfortable.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely home at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

4.2 reviewed on August 24, 2017

This B&B is in a small city with traffic, but once you're inside, everything changes & you're in another era!

View more reviews for this inn


Guest room #2 at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

4.6 reviewed on August 17, 2017

Classic corner room with a king size bed, very comfortable.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Experience at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

5 reviewed on July 23, 2017

The house is gorgeous and the service outstanding. The breakfast and dessert were fantastic. Would go again and recommend to anyone!

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing and Wonderful Stay at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

5 reviewed on July 22, 2017

We stayed in the Philip Smith House. Kris and Jill are wonderful engaging people who help make the stay enjoyable. Great stimulating conversations and wonderful pride in the city. They keep the rooms clean and are pretty good cooks.

View more reviews for this inn


very comfortable at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

3.8 reviewed on July 04, 2017

We stayed overnight during a Cardinal Greenway ride. Very comfortable and relaxed. Owner very down to earth and friendly. Comfortable bed. Excellent breakfast. She even gave us a big bag of ice to fill our camel-backs. We were rested and ready for the trail the next morning.

View more reviews for this inn


Very nice B & B at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

3.8 reviewed on June 28, 2017

Everything about our stay, from check in to check out was very easy and pleasant. The house is quite impressive as an example of a small 19th century mansion. The hostess was very nice and accommodating, and a good cook too ! We will definitely go back for our next visit to Richmond.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful House at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

3.6 reviewed on June 14, 2017

Really nice place, well organized and grace-filled hosts. Enjoyed our brief (2 night) stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay! at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

5 reviewed on June 01, 2017

My husband and I are well traveled and have stayed at B&Bs and boutique hotels around the world. We came to the area for a weekend antique hunt, and absolutely loved our stay. We ended up having the entire Campbell house to ourselves and it was terrific. I'll admit, we were a little nervous when we pulled up, as there is some work to be done on the outside (that Kris is all over by the way), but the interior is beautifully refinished in a way that honors the past but with all modern amenities. Kris was a wonderful host and we ended up chatting with him for awhile over breakfast. He shared stories about the renovations of the home, which we found fascinating. As with any historic home, the work is never complete, but Kris is committed to doing the work right. As far as the details, the bed was very, very comfortable, the shower was great (strong water pressure) and breakfast was yummy! Great place to stay.

View more reviews for this inn


A Lovely Bed and Breakfast Experience at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

5 reviewed on May 17, 2017

This was my first time staying at a bed and breakfast. I loved every minute of my stay. My room was comfortable and clean. The breakfast was delicious. The hospiltality extended by the owners made me feel as though I was visiting relatives.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Girls Getaway Weekend at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

4.0 reviewed on April 27, 2017

If you're looking for something fun to do with a friend, definitely give Jill a call at this B&B. She took care of all the details...from arranging a tea party, dinner, and massages, to letting us know about the best sites and shops in town. The B&B was lovely and very comfortable with a delicious breakfast.

View more reviews for this inn


Charming B&B in Richmond IN helped take away some sorrow of fam funeral time! at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

5 reviewed on April 17, 2017

Jill and Kris were so gracious and warm. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Place to Stay with Lovely Hosts at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

3.4 reviewed on March 30, 2017

We enjoyed our stay and hosts were helpful and accommodating. Comfortable and clean room. Would have been nice to have a light on both sides of the bed for in-bed reading. Host good at providing info about the city, places to eat, historic district, etc. We would definitely stay here again if traveling this way.

View more reviews for this inn


Felt right back at home in Richmond, IN at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

4.8 reviewed on March 30, 2017

Comfy rooms. Yummy breakfast. Gracious hosts

View more reviews for this inn


review at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

3.8 reviewed on March 29, 2017

Enjoyed the huge rooms and the whirlpool bath.

View more reviews for this inn


Quiet, clean and comfortable at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

3.8 reviewed on February 28, 2017

Overall, I had a very nice stay with Kris and Jill. I was greeted by Jill whom quickly got me acquainted with the inn and information for my stay. I was there for 3 nights business travel. Kris prepared such nice breakfasts that I skipped my daily lunches. The shower was very nice with plenty of hot water. I stayed in Mr Smith's room. It has a 13" color tube TV. A little hard to get used to at first but I grew up in the generation which these were mas produced. Younger folk may not understand. Creaky wood floors didn't bother me either. Finding conveniently located electrical sources for today's many electronics could be an issue but I did at least find one extension cord in the night stand which helped. An aroma of musty antiques are detectable so keep in mind the things that often come with century old Victorian relics. I happen to appreciate this one.

View more reviews for this inn


worth the trip at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

4.6 reviewed on February 21, 2017

We were more than satisfied with our experience at Philip Smith Bed and Breakfast. Both hosts Kristopher and Jill were friendly, informative and helpful in our get away weekend in Richmond, In addition to the excellent conditions of this historic house, our hosts were helpful tour guides in providing an historical information for our weekend.

View more reviews for this inn


A Beautiful Victorian Near Earlham College at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

4.4 reviewed on December 11, 2016

I needed a place to stay near Earlham and the local hotels were a bit of a drive and not very interesting. Smith's B&B seemed much more what I was looking for. I wasn't disappointed. A beautifully restored grand Victorian home, a very personable innkeeper, and a comfortable room and bed. I recommend it!

View more reviews for this inn


Great two day getaway at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

4.2 reviewed on December 06, 2016

We had a nice two days to unwind a bit and do some shopping in some of the great antique shops in the area. Jill is a great host. I'm sure we will be back.

View more reviews for this inn


great one night stop at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

5 reviewed on November 23, 2016

I needed a place to stay mid way on a trip from Pennsylvania to Missouri. The room was cosy and comfy. The home is beautiful and quaint. The breakfast was delish! would recommend this grand home for a short or long stay

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent visit! at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

5 reviewed on November 15, 2016

Service was outstanding ... breakfast was great .... innkeeper was a joy to talk with. Very knowledgeable of the home and the community.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful historic home close to Earlham at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

4.8 reviewed on October 27, 2016

What a lovely historic home with beautiful historic furnishings. Breakfast was creative and delicious. Jill was happy to adjust breakfast for my daughters who are both gluten sensitive. This was our first stay in a Bed and Breakfast, and we will be back. We were in Richmond for Homecoming at Earlham College, where my youngest daughter is a sophomore and plays on the Women's Soccer Team. We had a very nice stay and especially enjoyed having breakfast with Earlham alumni of varying ages. Last year I stayed at a motel, breakfast included. I didn't meet or talk to anyone else staying there even though there were clearly many Earlham alumni at the motel and at breakfast. It's an additional advantage that the Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast is much closer to Earlham than the motel district. We had a great stay. The only negative is that the sign is difficult to see, so we drove around the block multiple times before determining that we were at the right place. Glad we found it! What a great weekend!

View more reviews for this inn


Labor Day Getaway at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

3.6 reviewed on September 17, 2016

Owners were knowledgeable of the area and made suggestions to visit. Kris was on his own the night we stayed but did a wonderful job.

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

4.6 reviewed on September 07, 2016

We enjoyed the time we had at the Smith BnB. Very nice accommodations. Service was excellent and friendly. Would recommend staying here for a quiet time.

View more reviews for this inn


wonderful stay at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

5 reviewed on August 28, 2016

the room was charming and the breakfast was fabulous. We enjoyed meeting the host and talking about Richmond. I highly recommend it! The mansion is so well preserved and decorated. The evening snacks in the upstairs hall were a surprise treat!

View more reviews for this inn


Jill and Chris are dedicated and pleasant hosts! at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

5 reviewed on August 25, 2016

I have stayed with the Nelsons twice and they could not have been more pleasant and accommodating. I will definitely be staying with them again on my visits to Richmond.

View more reviews for this inn


Earlham Parent at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

3.8 reviewed on August 23, 2016

Very nice rooms, lots of cool antiques. This is a good option when you want to visit Earlham College. The only thing I would want to have changed would be to have more healthy options for breakfast.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice Place - Exactly What You'd Expect at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

3.4 reviewed on August 06, 2016

Beautiful, interesting home & furnishings. Jill was friendly and knowledgeable, but not intrusive. Breakfast was wonderful, and I had more than my share of yummy cookies in the evening! Other guests were friendly too. I'm actually not a big fan of historic B&B's, which is why my ratings are not higher, as opposed to anything being "wrong." (I was there with someone who likes them.) My room was tiny (but I expected that), I made sure I didn't get one with a claw foot tub (they creep me out), but of course it had a pedestal sink (I expected that), so I had to put my things on the toilet seat, and then leaned over to get something, stood up, and whacked my head on a little glass shelf. Had to move the mirror over in order to plug in my hair dryer. Sink stopper mechanism disconnected when I used it. Etc. I'm sure people in the 1890's had worse problems. I suspect Jill & Kris are rather overwhelmed with work and don't always have time to check every little detail like a sink stopper every day (I did let Jill know about it). But it was still a beautiful home, and my room was clean and the bed was comfortable. If you like historic B & B's (and if you're on this website, you probably do!), you will love it.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely B & B at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

4.6 reviewed on July 29, 2016

Lovely home, friendly staff, food was excellent.

View more reviews for this inn


A Wedding get away at Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (Richmond, Indiana)

4.8 reviewed on July 14, 2016

Great B&B with very helpful innkeepers and amazing rooms. Would recommend to friends and family who want to stay in Richmond in the future.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast (4.54)
Top
check }