Henry Collins Inn Reviews


View details

  • Guest room4.3
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Onsite Dining4.4

Score Breakdown based on
36 Reviews

Write A Review

Nice Experience

4.2 on October 18, 2016

Very good location and very nice innkeepers

Little gem in Newport

4.8 on October 03, 2016

Serena and Alexis are wonderful hostesses. They are very welcoming and accommodating. Serena's fruit pies are worth the trip alone! Rooms are quaint and eclectic. Very comfortable place to stay.

Perfect Getaway!

4.6 on August 28, 2016

This bed and breakfast was four blocks away from one of our favorite restaurants, The Brick Alley Pub. It was convenient to all of the activity going on down at the waterfront. The value of this bed and breakfast was unbeatable. The room was clean and comfortable and Alexis was a very sweet and accommodating innkeeper.

Good Affordable accommodation

5 on August 22, 2016

Great location, friendly staff and good breakfast. Walking distance from Thames Str Very affordable option in a very expensive town.

Great value in heart of newport

3.8 on August 19, 2016

Great bed and breakfast. The master bedroom we had was nice but the private porch could use a little sprucing up.

A lovely stay

4.8 on August 08, 2016

The inn is lovely as is the staff. We enjoyed our room, our stay and our fellow guests. The ability to bring our small dog with us was much appreciated. We would stay here again.

Great B&B

4.8 on August 03, 2016

We were attending a Friday night wedding and needed a place to stay. This Inn was recommended. The price was good and the rooms were, too. There is only 1 negative remark I have and that would be that the room we stayed in was relatively new and didn't have any closets and there were no outlets in the bathroom. I think it was still a work in progress. But everything else was outstanding! The breakfast was fantastic! The owners were awesome! I would recommend this B&B to anyone!

Very accommodating!!

5 on July 31, 2016

Our stay at the Henry Collins Inn was fabulous. We booked the end with other family members for my son's wedding. The owner allowed us to check in early, which allowed for a relaxing time before the wedding. We stayed in the second floor suite and it was large and spacious enough for three of us. It was also one of the hottest days of the summer and it was very cool upstairs. Our breakfast the next day included a wide variety of foods fresh and delicious. During our leisurely breakfast we were able to converse with family members in a relaxing atmosphere on the porch. I highly recommend the Henry Collins Inn for anyone visiting Newport!!

Henry Collins Inn, Great stay

4.6 on July 26, 2016

Honestly, when I found this place on line I didn't know how comfortable my night stay would be. It totally exceeded my expectations. Great service, they were really gentle and kind. Master Room No.2 was really clean and comfy. Breakfast was delicious and all fresh. The table was full of different berries, even the the crockery they have is amazing (vintage). On my next stay in Newport RI I will book a room here for sure. -Melba Natalia

Great Location

5 on July 12, 2016

This little bed and breakfast was really nice. It was clean, the breakfast was great ant the host and her daughter were great. Definitely recommend to others

Great place

4.8 on July 03, 2016

We really enjoyed staying . Clean, comfortable and the women who owned it were wonderful. I will stay here again.

Very Nice Bed and Breakfast

5 on July 01, 2016

This Bed and Breakfast is great. The host and her daughter are great. Very nice people and the Inn is in a great location. Easy walk to shopping and restaurants

Perfect accomodation

5 on June 29, 2016

The service was great! The breakfast was the best, we experienced on our USA trip. Thanks again for the vegan specialities.

Easy walk, good food! Comfy bed.

3.6 on June 15, 2016

We really liked the short and easy walk to downtown. Breakfast was yummy! The pies are amazing! Loved the mix of old and new bathroom furnishings. The rest of the furnishings were just ok. We were hoping for less country and more Newport-esque furnishings. Bed was comfortable. We stayed in the master bedroom so it was quite loud in the morning for breakfast. While we did like our stay, we thought it was still pricey.

Favorite place in Newport

5 on June 10, 2016

The Henry Collins Inn is my favorite place to stay in Newport. This past time was my second time and it was a great experience. The staff makes you feel right At home and makes a delicious breakfast you can enjoy on the patio outside. The rooms are very comfortable and it's perfect that it is within walking distance from the center of town. I will definitely be back here every time I come to Newport.

friendly family feel

4.2 on June 06, 2016

a mother and daughter team who give guests a family feeling. the breakfasts are delicious...especially the fresh fruit and good hot coffee. sarina and alexis are very fine hosts.

Columbus Day

3.8 on October 14, 2015

Henry Collins Inn is a good place to stay, park your car and walk to various areas of Newport. It is not far from anything. Staff is friendly and very helpful with directions, etc. Breakfast was great.

Great place to stay!

4.8 on September 16, 2015

Staff were very friendly, breakfast was great and the room was very nice. It's walking distance from restaurants which is great.

You'll be surprised....

4.8 on August 20, 2015

Only stayed one night for a wedding in Newport. Very clean, cozy, and owners are very friendly and accommodating. The B&B is located a block from some nice cafes. Across the street are run down buildings but the Police station is also next door so it feels like a safe area and walkable to down town. This is a great value spot and the cleanliness and hospitality of Sarina make it good deal.

Comfortable stay

3.4 on August 16, 2015

This was a comfortable place to stay. The hosts were very friendly and obliging. The room was spacious, although quite cluttered. The bed and pillows were comfortable. The breakfast was fine, continental, the highlight being the fresh fruit which was extensive and plentiful. A short walk to restaurants and the waterside area.

A Nice Experience in Newport.

4.2 on August 15, 2015

Henry Collins Inn was a small 5 room B & B walking distance from the waterfront with parking. The rooms were fine and very clean. Hostess was very friendly and accommodating. Good choice for the money.

Delightful two night stay at the Henry Collins Inn

5 on August 14, 2015

My fiancée and I stayed at the Henry Collins Inn during our wedding weekend in early August. It is a very cute place that feels like stepping into a time warp. The breakfast was very generous, and we were even treated to a surprise bottle of Prosecco the night of our wedding! Highly recommend if you are looking for somewhere in Newport that is reasonable and still close to all the action.

Great Value, Great Breakfast, Great Location

4.8 on June 25, 2015

Great room with a separate sitting room, walking distance to downtown, amazing breakfast, very easy and nice owners. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Great B&B

5 on June 18, 2015

Lovely B&B just a short walk to downtown. They were great about coming over to check us in when we arrived as we were late checkins. Helped us out about where to go and what to do. Breakfast was delicious! The pie was awesome, eggs to order, bacon, bagels, fruit. Anything youd want! With a cute outdoor area to sit. I was very satisfied.


5 on May 22, 2015

Clean, comfortable, great location, very friendly owners. Wonderful value!!!

Great stay on a budget

3.4 on May 21, 2015

Although my friends and I were basically only at the Inn to sleep, we had a great experience. Both the price and the location are great, as it's only a short walk away from downtown and we didn't have to pay the extreme prices of other bed and breakfasts in the area. Our room was clean and well kept, and they even pulled out the pull-out sofa prior to our arrival. We did stay for breakfast the next morning which included bagels, english muffins and lots of fresh fruit; just enough to fill us up before we headed to the Cliff Walk. I would definitely stay here again and would also recommend it to someone looking for a place to stay on a budget.

Much needed relaxing getaway

4.0 on May 18, 2015

We spent 2 nights in the Henry Collins room and it was fantastic. Alexis was wonderful and made sure we had everything we needed while still giving us our privacy. It was very quiet and peaceful, especially for how close it is to everything-we walked everywhere. We will definitely be staying here again.

One night in Newport

3.0 on May 08, 2015

We stayed at the Henry Collins for one night only. We wanted to explore Newport. The neighborhood was not exactly prime, but the house was cheerfully painted and not far off the beaten path. The room was pretty basic and the ceiling fan needed dusting badly. The host was utterly charming and the breakfast was delicious! This made up for any disappointment I had about the decor, location, or cleanliness!

The Henry Collins Inn

4.6 on May 07, 2015

what an awesome stay we had at "The Henry Collins Inn! The room was so cute and clean! The owners were so kind and nice! Breakfast was awesome! You couldn't ask for a more quaint place to stay and so close to everything! Thank you guys! We had a blast! Deb

A Delightful Stay

5 on May 06, 2015

We stayed in Room 4 in April, which was nice & quiet since it's not a busy time for tourists. The location is great, within walking distance to the shops & restaurants. There were other reviews about it being in a sketchy part of town, but that is an over exaggeration. The area is fine, rather representative of Newport. The hostess is very friendly with pleasant conversations during breakfast. She was knowledgeable about the area. The rooms were tidy & clean as well. Would recommend!

Just like home

4.6 on September 04, 2014

We were very satisfied with our stay. Alexis made us feel right at home. Our room was comfortable and very clean. The breakfast was special.

Great value

4.0 on September 02, 2014

Very nice and cozy room and excellent location. The owner is very friendly and helpful. Will recommend to friends in the future.

Great stay!

4.4 on August 17, 2014

Great value! Room was larger than expected and breakfast was great. Walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Short drive to the beach and cliff walk!

Great bohemian hideaway

3.8 on July 12, 2014

We loved our night in this unique tradional lodgings close to the waterfront. It's run by a woman and daughter who have invested love and creativity into their venture. On sunny mornings, you can eat breakfast out on a small deck on the street. And you can park for free in a small lot next to the hotel.

Great Weekend Stop

4.4 on June 13, 2014

The room was larger than a normal hotel room. Complimentary breakfast was on point. Waking distance to wharfs and shopping was a great incentive. Would stay again.

very nice people

4.6 on April 22, 2013

new owners have created an atmosphere of someone who loves what they do. fresh linens, 2 minute walk to restaurants and bars on Broadway. rooms with a real sense of authenticity appropriate for an old inn.

Henry Collins Inn


  • Nightly Rate $110 - $155
  • Reviews (36) 4.5
  • Rooms 5

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-4018480708

Visit Website »

View details