Recent Reviews in Rhinebeck, New York

Fabulous place on the Historic Hudson at Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa (Milton, New York)

4.8 reviewed on October 13, 2017

I found Buttermilk Falls upon an extensive search of this area on the Hudson after reading "Boys in the Boat". We are from the UK, and were looking for a unique bed and breakfast experience in New York State to explore the river valley and were pleased with the beauty and comfort of the accommodation and restaurant. My only recommendation to Buttermilk Falls is to better publicise the Hudson's rowing history and make a feature of this within the living and dining areas. Walking down to the Hudson and imagining the University crews racing with spectators of 150,000 people was very emotional for me. The Poughkeepsie annual university regatta of the late 1800s and early 1900s was the largest spectator sport in the USA at that time - and the train line that travels just below Buttermilk Falls once held moving bleachers to follow the race as the teams competed for 4 miles on the Hudson. The competitors included teams from likes of Harvard, Yale, Cornell and of course the famous University of Washington 8 that went on to win the Berlin Olympics just before the start of WWII. Truly fabulous history and one that Buttermilk Falls would benefit greatly from in targeting history tourists from around the world like myself.

View more reviews for this inn


Most Things Right at Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa (Milton, New York)

3.2 reviewed on October 12, 2017

Property is charming and pastoral. We stayed in the main building. I give slack in that it is an old house but the bathroom in our room was not as clean as should be around baseboards. The breakfast buffet was a highlight. I feel this property is striving to be five star but doesn’t quite get there. Henry’s was good; very friendly service too. I think Buttermilk Farms is probably the best lodging in the area and quite convenient to Hyde Park and the Culinary Institute. All said I would book again but consider one of the suites in the outer buildings.

View more reviews for this inn


Much more than just a B&B! at Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa (Milton, New York)

4.6 reviewed on October 11, 2017

We went for our wedding anniversary and it was a great weekend. All the staff were lovely and helpful. The on-site restaraunt, Henry’s, was delicious and well-paced with seasonal items grown on the onsite farm. The Spa was a great way to unwind poolside and indulge in relaxing massages. The Spa lunch menu hit the spot. And though we don’t have a dog, we met a couple nice canines staying with their people at the Inn. Go now, we will return later!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful B&B at The Sedgwick House (Hunter, New York)

5 reviewed on October 10, 2017

Very clean updated rooms, in a perfect location - across from Hunter Mountain. The breakfast was excellent. The owners care about making your visit very enjoyable!

View more reviews for this inn


My stay at Buttermilk Falls Inn at Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa (Milton, New York)

3.2 reviewed on October 10, 2017

My stay at Buttermilk Falls Inn was amazing. The spa is beautiful and ths staff very friendly and accomendating. The grounds are tranquil and beautiifully landcaped. My only compliant is the staff does not appear to be professionally trained. We were hardly acknowledged us when we came in from an outing, the wait person at breakfast was slovenly dressed and the waiter when asked what kind of bread he was serving,didn't know. I feel this is due to no or minimal training by management.

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful step back in time...... at Olde Rhinebeck Inn (Rhinebeck, New York)

5 reviewed on September 17, 2017

This is one of the lovliest B & B's I've ever stayed in. The Inn is quaint and charming. The breakfasts were outstanding. I love history and especially the history of the Hyde Park/Rhinebeck area. The Innkeepers, Jonna and Cindy, are not only gracious hostesses and fabulous chefs but through their stories at the breakfast table, brought the history of the area "alive" for all. Thank you for providing such a wonderful place for us to celebrate our anniversary.

View more reviews for this inn


Charming Inn - OUTSTANDING Breakfast! at The Red Hook Country Inn (Red Hook, New York)

4.2 reviewed on September 11, 2017

Gorgeous B&B in a pretty area of NY. Comfortable bad - wonderful inn keepers - AMAZING breakfast supplied by a world traveled chef! Our room even had a hundred year old bar in it! Very comfy stay. And they were great with our dog.

View more reviews for this inn


great getaway at Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa (Milton, New York)

5 reviewed on September 07, 2017

We loved the whole experience of buttermilk falls inn. The restaurant was so delicious and our room (Jupiter)was lovely with a gorgeous view of the grounds. The staff was accommodating to our needs. We will recommend the inn to all our friends.

View more reviews for this inn


Family Get-a-Way at Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa (Milton, New York)

4.6 reviewed on September 04, 2017

This is a great spot for trips around the area. Enjoyed the breakfast and afternoon teas. We did come a few years ago and there was wine in the afternoon--we missed that. There was a wine tasting meal on Sunday night--overlooking the river and hosted by the Inn and local merchants. We had a blast. It was the highlight of our stay. Everyone is so nice. We stayed in the North Cottage, so very quiet and plenty of room. Make sure you plan your visit way in advance. The Spa was booked up and I was told you need to make reservations weeks in advance--but guests are welcome to use spa facilities. Rooms are hard to get at the last minute, too. I highly recommend Buttermilk Falls.

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic and Enjoyable Time at Olde Rhinebeck Inn (Rhinebeck, New York)

5 reviewed on September 03, 2017

I'm one who rarely, if ever, write a review about anything. The Olde Rhinebeck Inn is a gem to behold. My wife and I had they extreme pleasure of spending a few days at the Inn. Suites were wonderful...roomy, comfortable and decorated in the rustic motif one would expect with the location. This was the first time we stayed at a bed and breakfast, however, with our kids living up there, this will not be our last visit. If I could give this Inn a 10 star rating I would.....Don't miss this great opportunity if you're looking for a beautiful place to stay. Thank you for a wonderful experience. Arlene and Paul

View more reviews for this inn


AVOID if looking for premium lodging & customer service at Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa (Milton, New York)

1.2 reviewed on September 03, 2017

It's unbelievable to me that what was supposed to be a wonderful one week relaxing get away turned into a 24 hour nightmare. Upon checking in to RiverBirch House and being charged in full for a four night stay, in less than two hours I discovered that the house was unsanitary and uninhabitable. The floors were inexplicably and pronounce-ably dirty and sticky, resulting in my dogs white paws turning charcoal black in the span of 90 minutes.The kitchen had molded over food in the sink and a dishwasher full of dirty dishes. The temperature on the living room AC unit read 57 degrees F however the house was extremely and uncomfortably muggy and warm. Based on the filth and dirt that could be seen by the naked eye in such a short period of time, I was positive - and disappointed - that the house in full had not been properly and fully cleaned and sanitized in preparation for my check in. After requesting to speak to management several times, the house remained warm and muggy despite the maintenance workers attempt to resolve. Given the uninhabitable, uncomfortable conditions of the accommodations, and the pronounced lack of action to remedy what are actually the basics of hospitality & lodging - cleanliness, comfortable temps during summer months, hospitable and warm service - I was forced to evacuate the premises due to personal health & safety concerns and abandon any hope of a relaxing stay as well as any acknowledgment by management of the concerns shared and unresolved. This is by no means a complete and exhaustive view of the poor customer service and complete lack of hospitality I received in attempting to spend a week relaxing and unwinding.

View more reviews for this inn


Quiet Gem in the center of town at Bohemian Inn (Saugerties, NY)

4.0 reviewed on August 30, 2017

Stephanie Hatzakos is a lovely hostess, her home is fastidiously clean and less than a block from one of the liveliest intersections in the charming town of Saugerties. She emailed both confirmations and a pre-check-in list of directions, helpful hints and favorite spots around the area. I didn't even mind sharing the hall bathroom. If you're expecting a leisurely breakfast at a dining room table though - this is not your spot. A mini fridge on the second floor landing is stocked with milk and yogurt - and just next to it is set up a smart little sideboard with charming cups, saucers, and small plates. Guests can help themselves to scones and the nescafe coffee machine. The bonus - you can take your coffee and breakfast back to bed :)

View more reviews for this inn


Review of my stay at Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa (Milton, New York)

4.0 reviewed on August 28, 2017

Staff was wonderful and helpful. Spa was incredible. Food was incredible. My room was just ok, but the bed was downright awful. Worst sleep we had in a long time. That was disappointing.

View more reviews for this inn


Great 2-Day Stay at Olde Rhinebeck Inn (Rhinebeck, New York)

5 reviewed on August 26, 2017

My wife and I had the wonderful opportunity to visit the Olde Rhinebeck Inn. Fabulous room, delicious breakfast and terrific stories by the owner. By far the best B&B that we have ever stayed at. Thank you Cindy! Warmest, George and Judy

View more reviews for this inn


The Best Yet at Olde Rhinebeck Inn (Rhinebeck, New York)

5 reviewed on August 22, 2017

Out of the 12 Bed and Breakfasts we have visited in recent years, this was the best bed and breakfast. The house and grounds are beautiful. The breakfasts were beyond delicious. The history of the Inn and Cindy's connection to it all was amazing. We will definitely visit again. John and Donna

View more reviews for this inn


Nice evening at Buttermilk Falls Inn at Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa (Milton, New York)

3.8 reviewed on August 20, 2017

We spent a nice evening at the Buttermilk Falls Inn recently. The landscape and gardening is very beautiful. Dinner at Henry's at the Farm was excellent, and it was convenient to have an exceptional restaurant on the property. Breakfast offered variety and was really good.

View more reviews for this inn


Ok - but - not great at Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa (Milton, New York)

3.4 reviewed on August 18, 2017

We stayed in Captain's Room. It was tiny. The bed and pillows were lumpy and the sheets just ok. Towels were fine. The grounds were lovely; we had a nice walk throughout down to the Hudson. The "falls" are sweet. Henry's Restaurant was very good. The food fresh and service nice. Our massages were also good. Overall, it was fine, not fabulous.

View more reviews for this inn


Unexpected Treasure in the Woods! at Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa (Milton, New York)

5 reviewed on July 31, 2017

Great 3 day getaway. Blend of old Inn, great modern spa, top-notch restaurant, excellent service from staff and good vibes with rescued animals around. Breakfasts were tasty, unusual and different recipes, and served professionally. Wonderful experience!

View more reviews for this inn


Gorgeous Bed and Breakfast at Saint Hubert's Lodge (Marlboro, New York)

5 reviewed on July 31, 2017

Absolutely one of the most beautiful places I have stayed. I just loved it there so much.

View more reviews for this inn


Great nights sleep! at Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa (Milton, New York)

4.2 reviewed on July 25, 2017

The Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa sets the bar high. Our room was charming,clean and oh so comfortable the bed was like sleeping on a cloud. After a long day of exploring the grounds of the Storm King Art Center. The whirlpool tub was just what the doctor ordered! and the breakfast? WOW! I don't know what to say other than Amazing! so if your looking for a great get away with a WOW factor? then look no further. You found it at...Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa.

View more reviews for this inn


Just excelent at Woodstock Inn on the Millstream (Woodstock, New York)

5 reviewed on July 24, 2017

Found this place on line and was happy it was just like it said it would be the room was perfect just for my husband and I, very quiet and very close to the town, lots to see and do,

View more reviews for this inn


Great Escape at Woodstock Inn on the Millstream (Woodstock, New York)

5 reviewed on July 22, 2017

Very Clean. Fluffy Towels. Great breakfast. Good Value

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend at Saint Huberts at Saint Hubert's Lodge (Marlboro, New York)

4.4 reviewed on July 18, 2017

Lovely quiet spot! Delicious breakfasts and very nice staff. Our groundfloor room was very dark and windows do not open - lots of AC though. Overall a good spot

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful Inn at Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa (Milton, New York)

4.6 reviewed on July 15, 2017

Buttermilk has amazing grounds and we stayed in one of the houses which was spacious, clean and the views from the deck were incredible

View more reviews for this inn


The PERFECT get-away from NYC hustle and bustle! at Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa (Milton, New York)

4.6 reviewed on July 07, 2017

I recently stayed at Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa for two nights for a quick get-away from the city, and it changed me forever! It is a beautiful plot of land lodged right off the hudson with views of the water, and lush green grass and trees running for miles. It was peaceful, quiet, quaint, and supplied every need emotionally as we needed an escape, and physically since we didn't have a car. The food was out of the park amazing! Every single bite from Henry's to the kitchen at the inn--so fresh, clean, flavorful, and delicious. Quality work! The train ride 2hrs and it went by like a breeze. We caught a cab over and the rest was history! As much as I want to keep it all to myself, I highly recommend you visit. It will transport you!

View more reviews for this inn


Delightful stay at Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa (Milton, New York)

5 reviewed on June 22, 2017

Everything about Buttermilk Falls was outstanding from the attentive staff, the beautiful grounds, to the various amenities, and a truly outstanding restaurant in Henry's. The morning buffet and afternoon teas were also totally enjoyable. My wife and I were celebrating two special events, our Birthdays and Anniversary. This stay at the Inn & Spa will always be thought of fondly.

View more reviews for this inn


A gem not to be missed! at Olde Rhinebeck Inn (Rhinebeck, New York)

5 reviewed on June 16, 2017

Of all the B&Bs or Inns that I have stayed in, the Olde Rhinebeck Inn is the best in beauty, comfort, service, and delicious, locally-sourced fare. From the plate of goodies that is placed in your room when you check in, to the delicious coffee and beverages at hand's reach from morning until evening, to the wonderfully appointed rooms, to the best sleep I've had in a long time on a most comfortable bed, to the care from Jonna and Cindy (owner and innkeeper), to, finally, the beautiful grounds on which to walk, rest, and reflect, you will come away from your stay refreshed. I did not want to leave! Highly, highly recommend.

View more reviews for this inn


best little srcret in rhinebeck at Olde Rhinebeck Inn (Rhinebeck, New York)

4.8 reviewed on May 24, 2017

Innkeeper Jonna was very helpful and friendly. The setting is beautiful and so historic the story of the home was fasinating. Sleepimg in that king size four poster bed was wonderful. the bathroom rain shoer was fun. totally enjoyed it.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely Stay at The Sedgwick House (Hunter, New York)

4.6 reviewed on May 19, 2017

My boyfriend and I stayed at The Sedgwick House during the TAPNY festival this past April. It was our first experience at a B&B. Chris and Florentina were wonderful hosts. The rooms were just the right size and having our own bathroom was an added bonus. Chris made a full breakfast each morning with several options. The only recommendation I would suggest to the owners is to upgrade the beds to queen size from full. Other than that the stay was the ideal B&B experience. I will be staying here in the future!

View more reviews for this inn


fantastic at Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa (Milton, New York)

5 reviewed on May 11, 2017

this is a real gem. From the moment we arrived to when we left we were treated like family. Anna at the front desk was welcoming and always had a smile on her face. What a great trip cant wait to go back

View more reviews for this inn


Top
check }