Le Château du Faubourg Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.6
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Onsite Dining4.3

Score Breakdown based on
16 Reviews

Write A Review

Wonderful and enchanting

4.4 on September 15, 2018

Perfect location for exploring Old Quebec. Host very welcoming and the complementary breakfasts (as well as baked goods always awaiting us in the dining room,) Delicious! Especially appreciated the 'off-site' secure parking arranged for us. Note: Parking in that area very limited!


Perfection

5 on August 23, 2018

This boutique hotel in Quebec City was a great find. The location was ideal. The B&B itself was gorgeous and well-equipped with everything you might need. It was especially helpful to us that they had parking available. It’s off-site, but very walkable. I go back here without hesitation.


Amazing!

5 on August 10, 2018

Fantastic location. Attentive staff. Good breakfast. The most amazing part, though, is the actual building itself. It felt like we were walking into a museum. Gorgeous furniture, antiques throughout, etc. We’ll go back if we’re ever in the area again.


Great Landing Pad!

3.6 on August 08, 2018

We absolutely loved the location and enjoyed our spacious room! The bed was very firm and Philippe was very quiet but check-in/check-out were very easy and breakfast was simple but enough to get by until lunch. The house is lovely but the common spaces aren't very comfortable for conversation/enjoying down time so is a better fit for just a landing pad versus a place to call home for the weekend.


Very unique

4.8 on August 05, 2018

A beautiful place. It is indeed like staying in a museum. Bed was fantastic. One of the best perks was the free parking in their secure garage. Very close to the old city sites.I would definitely stay here again.


Lovely taste of the Old World!

4.0 on August 04, 2018

Lovely historic place in a prime location. Short walk from everything you want to see. Parking is available- but do drive a small car! Do confirm your arrival direct with the inn keeper as there was a breakdown in communication from the website. Our host graciously provided alternate room and ensured our plans were not affected. Walk through the door and you are taken back 200 years to a beautifully restored French mansion.!


Surprisingly beautiful place!

4.6 on July 11, 2018

Memorable place close to the old town. Loved it!


A Lovely Place to Stay

4.0 on July 05, 2018

We booked Le chateau du Faubourg for a weekend in Quebec to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary. It was a great choice. The building had been divided into 8 apartments when the current owners bought it, and it has been lovingly restored in an elegant French style. The furnishings are wonderful as are hundreds of little details: ceiling moldings etc. We stayed in an enormous suite -- a big sitting room with fireplace, a bedroom, a full bath. It was lovely. The inn is within about 6 blocks of the old city, so we parked in the garage and never took the car out. Phillipe was an excellent host. He gave us suggestions for restaurants, maps etc. He also provided anything you might want for breakfast that was available almost anytime between 8 a.m. and 10 a.m. I would recommend a stay here to anyone. The cost was entirely reasonable, and we enjoyed our stay very much. I hope we will have a chance to come back soon.


Beautiful place

4.0 on June 13, 2018

We had a lovely stay at this beautiful house in Quebec City. The rooms were amazingly decorated. This made them very lovely to look at, but meant that no one used the common spaces like at other B&Bs. (For instance, at other places it's normal for people to sit in the living room and chat with other guests, but we didn't see anyone else do so during our stay.) It was extremely clean and quiet which led to restful sleep and lots of energy to explore the city. Breakfast was simple and offered fewer options than I would have expected. It was some croissants (reasonably good), some jam which had been put into little pots so it is unclear how old it was, cheese and ham. There were some basic cereals and yogurt. We were offered eggs and toast but that's not our style so we didn't partake. It would have been nice to have a few other pastry options, or different cheeses each day, or possibly cooked breakfast meats like sausage or bacon. The main drawback to this place was the person running it. He was cold and distant. For example, I ask for some restaurant suggestions when we arrived and he simply waved his hand at the road and told us to walk down the street and pick a place. There was also no way given as to how to contact him if we needed something. So when we needed to ask some questions we had to resort to ringing the front door bell rather than something more direct. He also seemed entirely uninterested in us and wordlessly brought us coffee at the breakfast table and only spoke to ask about eggs. He was entirely lacking in the general personableness you expect from a B&B operator.


How we spent the night in a museum

4.6 on June 05, 2018

The Chateau du Faubourg was absolutely magnificent. We stayed in enormous and lavishly decorated, en-suite bedrooms with their own sitting rooms, with a gorgeous dining room and several more lounges on the main floor. Everywhere we looked were ornate ornaments, filled display cabinets, paintings and gilded furniture, all immaculately spotless and clean. We enjoyed a delicious cooked to order breakfast the next morning from our charming host. Amazingly, the rooms were less expensive than our hotel.


It was fantastic!!

5 on March 06, 2016

This B&B was my best choice of my journey to Canada. It was easy to access to Old city(by walk). The clean and convenient facility and warming host made me comfortable and satisfied. There is peaceful mood in that place. I could feel relaxed during the stay. I will choose this B&B for next visit undoubtedly.


excelente servicio. Ambiente agradable y un anfitrión encantador

4.2 on September 20, 2015

Estuvimos alojadas desde el 4 hasta el 8 de septiembre. El chateau es encantador, y nuestro anfitrión, Phillipe, nos atendió maravillosamente. Excelente desayuno, y pequeños detalles de bienvenida. Muy recomendable!!


Le Chateau du Faubourg

5 on August 15, 2015

A super place to stay in the city. Great walking distance to everything, but in a slightly less congested area vs. the very busy central downtown. Plenty of great restaurants nearby. Philippe was very helpful before our arrival and welcomed us very graciously. Clean and well appointed, exactly as described. Breakfast delicious! If we visit the city again there is NO doubt we would stay at the Chateau. Thank you Philippe!!!


A Nice Experience

5 on May 21, 2013

We enjoyed our recent 2 night stay at Le Chateau du Faubourg. We wanted the experience of staying in a chateau environment while visiting the old city and were enchanted by the furnishings and restoration of this historic home. Walking through the front door was like taking a step back in time, yet our room had all the comfort and amenities of a modern facility. We felt the price was a very good value, great location, and excellent breakfast!


Unbelievable

4.8 on September 14, 2012

If you are going to Quebec this is the place to stay hands down. Fantastic location on Rue St Jean near the old city but far emough away so it doesn't feel like you are in a tourist area. Fabulous rooms, chateau is right and the breakfast was ecellent with French Press coffee. Philippe is a wonderful host


WE felt like we were in a Chateau in Paris. This chateau is beautiful and you feel at home at the same time!

5 on January 03, 2012

We stay at Le Chateau du Faubourg for 4 days in the Master Bedroom. Our room was very large had: a boudoir, a dressing room and private bath. The Chateau location is perfect, we did not use any transportation other then walking to the different sites. The B&B is immaculate, the furniture, the decor are beautiful and luxurious, Philippe was very helpful. Note that we had a chance to look at some of the other bedrooms and suites. Some are more modest and some were almost as large as ours. I will go back anytime... It feels like France but for a fraction of the price....


Le Château du Faubourg

Details

  • Nightly Rate $CAD 109 - $CAD 179
  • Reviews (16) 4.6
  • Rooms 5

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-4185242902
Top check