Recent Reviews in Portland, Maine

Impeccable Presentation at Captain Jefferds Inn (Kennebunkport, Maine)

5 reviewed on November 13, 2017

Erik and Sarah have seen to every detail to make your stay a delight.

View more reviews for this inn


Paradise in Portland at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

3.8 reviewed on November 08, 2017

I was afforded the opportunity to spend a few nights in the Inn at St John. I was pleasantly surprised at the kindness of the staff, particularly one effervescent young woman-concierge who greeted me everyday with a warm smile. The decor is small-town vintage, a theme that grew on me and felt appropriate in the heart of the city. I truly enjoyed my stay, the water was warm, my room was clean, and breakfast was terrific! The Inn at St John is a treasure because of its decor but most importantly the kindness of people I am appreciative of experiences during my stay. Needless to say I had a wonderful time.

View more reviews for this inn


All good at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.8 reviewed on November 08, 2017

Everything was fine; staff is very nice. The in-suite hot tub is just jets in a regular sized tub.

View more reviews for this inn


Exemplary service!! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

5 reviewed on November 08, 2017

The Inn was excellent, much better than what I anticipated. They were super accommodating and went out lf their way to make sure you had a great stay. Would definetly come again. The continental breakfast was great, a wide variety and cookies 24/7!!

View more reviews for this inn


Our Stay at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on November 08, 2017

Nice place, convenient (Portland is a small town, however). The "on site" dining is really just a continental breakfast and it is standard fare, not outstanding, but what you would expect. Recommended place to stay!

View more reviews for this inn


We Loved The Chadwick! at The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast (Portland, Maine)

5 reviewed on November 06, 2017

My wife and I visited Portland over Columbus Day weekend for our 2-year anniversary. We were looking to have a relaxing weekend exploring the city and neighboring area. We booked The Chadwick for its location - a 10~15 minute walk to nearly all of downtown Portland - and the beautiful rooms. We flew into Boston late Friday and rented a car, so we didn't get to the house until after midnight the first night. Fortunately, Scot & Erin made late check-in very easy, and called ahead to make sure we knew where everything was when we got in. I had requested prosecco and a cheese platter to surprise my wife, which Erin had suggested they keep in the dining room fridge until we wanted it. They also had a great selection of complimentary homemade cookies available (including gluten-free options), as well as various other snacks, coffee, and tea. We stayed in the Baxter room, which was the most private - even though the bathroom is across the hall, both are around two corners from any other rooms. We spent a little time on the balcony, but not nearly enough. I also regret that we missed breakfast the first two mornings (slept in the first day and left early to drive to Acadia the second), because the food was really amazing, and the company even better. It was really great meeting Scot and picking his brain about the ins and outs of running a B&B. If we ever fulfill our dreams of opening one of our own, we'll know who to thank! I honestly believe that after having stayed at a handful of B&Bs, that The Chadwick did the best job of offering a homey, comforting stay, balancing hospitality and availability with respectful privacy. Thank you so much, and we hope to come back soon!

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect getaway at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.2 reviewed on November 05, 2017

Absolutely gorgeous room in a quaint Inn. Loved it. Wish it were a bit closer to Old Port. My wife and I were able to walk there, but decided a quick Uber ride was the best way to get back after dinner. Highly recommended.

View more reviews for this inn


Great! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

3.8 reviewed on November 04, 2017

Our stay was just what we needed. Lovely room, close to everything and very affordable. We'd definitely come back!

View more reviews for this inn


October visit at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.2 reviewed on October 25, 2017

The continental breakfast was simple and satisfying. Great selection for a vegetarian.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful Spot at Wolf Cove Inn (Poland, Maine)

5 reviewed on October 22, 2017

Went there for my son and daughter in law's wedding. You can't find a more beautiful place. Sue and her staff did an excellent job and no detail was over looked. They are dog friendly that allowed us to bring our dog. They provided pet sitting during the ceremony and reception and then we were able to sit on the porch with our dog and enjoy a bottle of Chardonnay from a small but nice wine list. Beautiful views of the lake. Just, just could not have been more perfect.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent stay in Portland at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

5 reviewed on October 18, 2017

3rd time staying at the inn at St. John’s. Easily the most affordable option in town, fine location, oitrsgeously friendly staff. Hotel is a bit dated but that is the charm!

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely Inn in Bath, Maine at Kennebec Inn (Bath, Maine)

4.8 reviewed on October 17, 2017

A lovely restored home that is tastefully decorated--definitely an award winner! The host, Rachel, is very welcoming and provides a wealth of information about the area. She also serves an amazing breakfast. In addition, the location allows for a nice walk (0.5mi) to the quaint downtown and riverfront. Delighted we decided to stay in Bath. Hope to return next year :-)

View more reviews for this inn


A taste of luxury in Kennebunkport at Captain Jefferds Inn (Kennebunkport, Maine)

5 reviewed on October 17, 2017

It was a delight to stay here and our only regret was that we weren't staying longer ! Highly recommend and hope to be back! Breakfast was excellent, staff lovely, accommodation and decor fabulous.

View more reviews for this inn


Charming and scrumptious bed and breakfast at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast (Freeport, Maine)

5 reviewed on October 14, 2017

Brewster house inn was the perfect place to stay in Freeport Maine. We celebrated our 10 year anniversary here and it was truly amazing. The innkeepers kelleigh and Dave are welcoming and friendly hosts and want to make sure you are comfortable for the entire stay. From the cozy and clean rooms to the gourmet breakfast and afternoon baked cookies... this bed and breakfast and a place that will not disappoint. Make sure to stay here next time you are in Freeport. Melanie and Peter - Massachusetts

View more reviews for this inn


Fall Getaway at Captain Jefferds Inn (Kennebunkport, Maine)

5 reviewed on October 12, 2017

We have been coming back here for many years and have stayed in different rooms. Love the location, the room, the service, the people. Everything is immaculate and done perfectly, and everyone is very nice.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect at The Elms Bed & Breakfast (Westbrook, Maine)

5 reviewed on October 12, 2017

The cost of staying at the Elms is about half the cost of staying in town Portland. There's a paper mill right across the street. But yet you forget the mill. The Elms is a stunning building. Our room was on the river side, very large and very quiet, like our own little heaven. Tyler the proprietor was super wonderful. There are plenty of restaurants and other services close by. And it's a short drive if you do want to go to Portland.

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay at Inn at St John at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.8 reviewed on October 11, 2017

Such a cute place with tons of personality and great service! Very close to everything you need.

View more reviews for this inn


First time in Portland at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.4 reviewed on October 11, 2017

My band was playing on a Saturday night in Portland and my wife and I decided to stay the night and make a weekend of it. All of the name hotels were booked (and surprisingly expensive). So I searched the internet and came up with the Inn at St John. Although not in the center of town, it was close enough. The room was small, but clean and the bed was super comfortable. The service was outstanding and friendly. The breakfast and late checkout on Sunday were nice bonuses.

View more reviews for this inn


Best B&B in Kennebunkport at Captain Jefferds Inn (Kennebunkport, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on October 10, 2017

Captain Jeffers inn is a gem! The grounds, room and attentive staff are amazing. The 3 course breakfast was excellent - only suggestion is they add a 5-6 welcoming Happy hour with Wine/beer and appetizer. This 5 star b&b should have as other 5 stars do.

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding service at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.8 reviewed on October 10, 2017

My wife and I had a terrific time staying there and the staff was so caring, respectful, & helpful that we will for sure stay there again, so long as we make it to Portland again.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely B&B at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

5 reviewed on October 09, 2017

Staff were all so friendly and welcoming. Rooms were lovely and breakfast was just right. The free cookies were a good touch too!

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing Bed and Breakfast Stay! at The Elms Bed & Breakfast (Westbrook, Maine)

4.8 reviewed on October 09, 2017

The Elms is an beautiful Bed and Breakfast. It is located just outside of Portland, Maine which is a cute little city great for a couple of days exploring. The breakfast was delicious every morning and far exceeded my expectations. Tyler is an amazing, super accommodating host.

View more reviews for this inn


Love this place! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

5 reviewed on October 09, 2017

We loved this historic hotel! It's close to downtown Portland, but not in all the chaos of downtown. It has a lot of character, and the price is so much more reasonable than the big chain hotels. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, and they have cookies all day! We plan to stay here every time we come to Portland. Thank you for a great stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Spacious, Clean, Comfortable Room at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on October 04, 2017

We stayed here on our return from a trip to Acadia. It is about eight easy minutes from the airport. The room was very nicely decorated, it included everything you would need- hair dryer, refrigerator, microwave, coffee. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a very early flight, but they brought out breakfast food we could take with us to the airport. Highly recommend staying at the Inn at St John.

View more reviews for this inn


Early fall at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

3.8 reviewed on October 01, 2017

I have visited several times. Rooms are clean and comfortable. WiFi and computer access available. Easy breakfast items available to take as you explore Portland. Staff friendly and helpful.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice Historic Inn at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on September 27, 2017

We had a very spacious room, with comfortable beds. The room and bath were very clean and the bathroom was well stocked. A light breakfast is also provided. The staff were all friendly and helpful.

View more reviews for this inn


More than just a place to sleep at The Elms Bed & Breakfast (Westbrook, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on September 27, 2017

We were just looking for a place to stay for a work conventions dn ended up getting so much more. It has so much character and a space to sit and look out onto the river. We let the owner know that we wouldn't be able to make breakfast because we had a meeting to get to, but instead he made us breakfast early. And it was AMAZING. I'll definitely be back.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent and consistent every time! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.0 reviewed on September 27, 2017

We have been to Inn at St John many times and every time we are greeted with friendly customer service and clean rooms. It has a very cozy, European feel and provides a breakfast of bagels, english muffins, muffins, and more. We keep coming back to Portland and this is the place we always stay. When you revisit a place so often and it continues it's exceptional service, then you know you can trust your stay there.

View more reviews for this inn


Good stay as always at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.2 reviewed on September 22, 2017

I've stayed at The Inn at St John several times now, it is a great value - don't expect luxury but the rooms are nice and clean, the staff is excellent, breakfasts are basic but good and location is pretty good too - I don't like being too close to the touristy waterfront. This was the first time I had a room with a private but separate bathroom down the hall and it was fine. Certainly not worth paying the extra $100-200 per night (at least) at one of the bigger chain hotels in my opinion. I'll be back next time I'm in town.

View more reviews for this inn


Spacious comfortable room at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.8 reviewed on September 22, 2017

We enjoyed our stay at the Inn at St John. The bed was very comfortable. The room was spotless and we had room for our things.

View more reviews for this inn


About Portland

The understated reputation of Portland, Maine, is filled with colonial wonder and outdoor adventures. As an alternative to a hotel, tourists can make reservations at inns that date back to the 1700s and 1800s. Amenities have evolved to include modern bathrooms with heated floors, whirlpool tubs, and custom showers. Sit by fireplaces in front of flat screen televisions or take a leisurely stroll through perennial gardens.

Go on a Museum Scavenger Hunt

This quaint city is home to one of America''s beloved poets, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow. Train enthusiasts will take pleasure in a museum filled with the narrowest trains ever to run on tracks. Visit a New England antebellum home with most of its original contents. Create a scavenger hunt of colonial items to journal before starting the day.

Experience L.L. Bean Adventure Programs

Home to outfitter L.L. Bean is in the city of Freeport with its flag store open 24 hours per day. Enjoy adventures year round with various packages to choose from such as women only or bird watching. Vacationers can take archery and fly fishing classes or learn how to kayak and canoe. Guided fishing trips are filled with catches of delicious cod and haddock. Weekend to eight-day excursions for adults are also available as well as kid''s camps. There are beginner, intermediate, and advanced levels so everyone can take part in the escapades. Winters have activities such as snowshoeing and cross-country skiing trips.

Visit Eartha

On the trip back from Freeport, stop in Portsmouth to see the world''s largest globe that revolves and has 3d features. The 42-foot structure is housed in an atrium with an Omni-Span Truss that illuminates the entire building at night. This Guinness Book record holder is the accomplishment of map maker DeLorme. Once the tour is over, take a ferry to Chebeague Island to enjoy the beach and fresh seafood. Bird migrations are another main attraction for visitors.

The Seasons of Portland

Springs are cool to mild with snow on the ground at nearby White Mountain. Summers turn into fantastic opportunities to enjoy all the indigenous species. Fall foliage encourages daily drives up and down the coast with the Atlantic Ocean on one side. A variety of skiing and other winter sports complete full itineraries regardless of the season tourists arrive. Average temperatures range from the high 79 degrees in July to the low 13 degrees in January.

Top
check }