Recent Reviews in Portland, Maine

Great as usual! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

5 reviewed on December 06, 2016

We spent one night here while taking in a concert. This would be our 4th visit, I believe. Service was great and the room was very clean. I would recommend this inn to anyone!

View more reviews for this inn


Love It! at PineCrest B&B (Gorham, Maine)

5 reviewed on December 03, 2016

My wife and I went here for our 1 year anniversary. Loved it. It was in a beautiful area surrounded by some nice places to dine for dinner. But we also were able to travel to some local big towns and areas that we absolutely loved. Matt and Amy were so nice and helpful and the room we stayed in was lovely. As much as we love trying out new BnB's we really wanna come back here every year!

View more reviews for this inn


Charming Inn at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.0 reviewed on November 28, 2016

Very friendly staff, great atmosphere, wonderful location. Would book again.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent Inn at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on November 25, 2016

Stayed several times. Would recommend. Friendly staff. Conveniently located to downtown Portland. Will be back

View more reviews for this inn


Cute Inn at a good price at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

3.6 reviewed on November 24, 2016

Very cute Inn at a good value. The room was very large and comfortable and the Inn had a lot of charm. It's not right downtown, but we could walk to all the bars/restaurants within 20-30 minutes. Parking was also easy. The dining area was a bit small, but I would suggest skipping the provided breakfast and just heading to one of the many great places to eat in downtown Portland!

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding B&B at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast (Freeport, Maine)

5 reviewed on November 21, 2016

From the moment we arrived at the Brewster House B&B, we were treated like honored guests. Kelleigh and Dave are the perfect hosts! The room was spacious, quiet and comfortable. The gourmet breakfast was incredible! Starting with french pressed coffee, we enjoyed a cup of fresh berries, followed by an 'upside down' French toast smothered in blueberries and apples. Following this, Kelleigh appeared with another course - a shirred egg served in a cup of prosciutto and topped with gruyere cheese! (Thanks, Dave for sharing your technique for this dish with us - our children and grandchildren LOVED having it at our house the following weekend!) The location of Brewster House is also ideal, since it is located within walking distance of downtown Freeport shopping and restaurants. We will definitely be returning!

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend getaway at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.2 reviewed on November 21, 2016

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights, it was a lovely atmosphere and the room exceeded our expectations. Everything was within walking distance and the staff was very friendly and helpful. It was a great deal, I would recommend this place to anyone.

View more reviews for this inn


Absolutely Fantastic at Black Lantern (Topsham, Maine)

5 reviewed on November 20, 2016

Our stay at the Black Lantern was absolutely fantastic. Innkeepers Tom and Judy are an absolute delight. Their furry companions adds a nice homey touch. From the moment we arrived, we were greeted with smiles and felt like we were at home. Judy's cooking is great and Tom knows where all the hot spots are; listen to what he says. Our room "River Room" was great. It was clean with a spectacular view of the river. Relaxing in the reading room sipping coffee with the fireplace on while doing homework was certainly a relaxing experience for two college students with homework assignments due. We plan on coming back and are eagerly looking forward to our next stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Cozy with Charm at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.2 reviewed on November 19, 2016

This is a very adorable Inn. From the outside it has charm and comfort. When you walk in everything ties together as a safe place to getaway and relax. Although you have to pay extra to have a private bathroom, the shared bathroom was very clean and quaint.

View more reviews for this inn


Comfortable and Relaxing at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on November 16, 2016

I stayed at the Inn at St. John for the first time last month and was very pleased. The rooms are clean, spacious and the beds are comfortable. My daughter and I each had a room of our own so we got to see two rooms. Each was unique ~ hers had a brick wall on one side. Mine was on the front with flower boxes on the windows outside. The continental breakfast was plentiful and the coffee was delicious. The only problem was that the narrow space it is set up in is too tight. Our only complaint.

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay just outside of downtown at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on November 16, 2016

Very cute inn and cozy. This definitely feels like an authentic mom and pop BB with the whole colonial flair. The staff was absolutely amazing. The second we arrived, we were welcomed with a greeting and they provided us the whole welcome speech and offered us cookies and a quick tour. They took our bags up to our room without us even asking which was a nice perk. Our room wasn't ready, so we wandered into town and walked it. It took about 1/2 hour- but we ubered home and it was only $5. Well worth ubering just so you had energy to walk around the town. When we got back at night, the inn was still open and greeted us again. The next morning, we went down to the continental breakfast at 830 and there were options for everyone. I'm gluten free, dairy free but still could have coffee and fruit with peanut butter. There was everything from yogurt to bagels to pastries. Overall good continental spread. My only 'complaint' which isn't even one is the bathroom was tiny and the towels were a bit odd. They reminded me of a college girls dorm (hot pink and lime green). It just didn't go with the vibe of the room and felt odd. Other than that, great stay, especially for the price!

View more reviews for this inn


An outstanding place and a bargain at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.4 reviewed on November 16, 2016

Inn at St. John could not have been better. If you're staying in Portland, pay $100 less and stay here. The rooms were impeccable, luxurious even. The lobby was beautiful and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I will definitely stay here again. I only gave dining a 3 because I didn't dine there and the site makes you give it a score.

View more reviews for this inn


A comfortable and welcoming stay at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

3.6 reviewed on November 15, 2016

The Inn at St. Johns is conveniently located just a few short blocks from downtown. The staff are extremely welcoming and friendly and willing to help. The room was tidy and cozy too. The lack of parking is frustrating, but difficult to fix due to their location.

View more reviews for this inn


Best of times at the Captain Jefferd's Kennebunkport at Captain Jefferds Inn (Kennebunkport, Maine)

5 reviewed on November 14, 2016

From the reception by Steve to the hospitality of the the innkeepers Sarah and Erick to the attention to detail and cleanliness of the rooms and the five star breakfast a stay in Kennebunkport couldn't be better. This was my sixth stay and has reminded me of the way it should be when enjoying a country inn. On a special note they had a special reception for veterans when we arrived the night before Veterans Day. It was touching and highly appreciated. Don't over look the Captain Jefferd's Inn. It's an experience that will make Kennebunkport even more enjoyable

View more reviews for this inn


Just delightful! at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast (Freeport, Maine)

5 reviewed on November 13, 2016

We can't thank Kelleigh and Dave enough for their wonderful hospitality during our recent stay at Brewster House! When we arrived, Kelleigh greeted us like family - and brought us to our charming, quiet room, complete with a fireplace, and our names posted right on the door. This B&B is wonderfully located, only a 5 minute walk to shopping downtown or dinner at a great selection of restaurants. In the morning, Kelleigh served us the most delightful breakfast, that Dave prepared - fresh fruit, upside down French toast with apples and blueberries, served with locally sourced sausages - and then another surprisingly delightful course of shirred eggs with gruyere. (Dave, we made your eggs this morning for brunch for our children and grandchildren and they all raved about them! Thanks for sharing your technique with us.) And thanks to Kelleigh for making me a pot of French pressed coffee even before breakfast was served! You guys are the best and we will definitely be back! Nancy and Fred

View more reviews for this inn


Suprise getaway! at Wolf Cove Inn (Poland, Maine)

4.8 reviewed on November 13, 2016

My wife and I were looking for a place to stay for one night and arrived at Wolf Cove Inn without a reservation. Much to our delight a cancellation had just come in and a room was available. We were very impressed with the room, grounds and view of Tripps Lake from almost every window in the Inn. Most of all the food was outstanding along with the hospitality of Sue. We are planning to spend our next anniversary there!

View more reviews for this inn


First time Brewster stay at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast (Freeport, Maine)

5 reviewed on November 11, 2016

We have stayed in many other b and b's in Freeport, but the Brewster House is the best. Great accommodations and wonderful hosts.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful stay at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast (Freeport, Maine)

5 reviewed on November 11, 2016

We only stayed one night.. but we will be back. Hosts are wonderful people. Made us feel at home right from the moment we walked through the door. Our room was clean and spacious. Breakfast was special with nice touches. Right do

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent overnight stay at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on November 09, 2016

Lovely room, excellent service.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice old style hotel. at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.2 reviewed on November 09, 2016

Room was clean and the staff was nice. Only thing I didn't like was that it was hard to find outlets for charging. There was 1 on a lamp but that was it. Other than that the staff was nice and hotel was great.

View more reviews for this inn


Very nice visit! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.0 reviewed on November 08, 2016

We had a lovely visit, we were able to walk to food and entertainment. The staff was very friendly and helpful!

View more reviews for this inn


Would recommend and go back!! at Captain Jefferds Inn (Kennebunkport, Maine)

4.2 reviewed on November 08, 2016

Beautiful and quaint. Everything I was hoping for, within walking distance to town. The breakfast was outstanding!! Each and everyday. Very attentive and friendly owners and staff. One of the best B & Bs I've ever stayed in.

View more reviews for this inn


Absolutely satisfying stay at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on November 07, 2016

I stayed the room 108 ( Superior king w/ jetted tub 108 ) with two friends. We were all absolutely satisfied our decision to stay here, it is clean, quiet, affordable, and has a parking space. Additionally, staff were all super friendly and willing to help. If I visit Portland, I would definitely stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


Super B&B at Kennebec Inn (Bath, Maine)

5 reviewed on November 07, 2016

We took a trip through New England and Canada to see the foliage and visit National Parks and other venues and were fortunate to book the Kennebec Inn. The service, room and food were outstanding as was the assistance rendered by Rachel with regard to sightseeing in the area. We are very pleased to highly recommend this excellent B&B in SW Maine.

View more reviews for this inn


Second stay as good as the first. at Atlantic Birches Inn (Old Orchard Beach, Maine)

4.8 reviewed on November 06, 2016

Great to visit off season. We stayed in mid-October and were treated to spectacular season of leaf change. This was our second stay at Atlantic Birches, and it was as good as the first. This time we rented The Vesper suite and were not disappointed. Ray is always helpful with questions or with ideas of things to do.

View more reviews for this inn


Always a pleasure! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on November 04, 2016

The folks at Inn at St. John know their stuff, are professional to the highest level, and take care of every guest. Onsite nosh hits the spot with oj and fruit, and there is always coffee/tea available in the lobby. Lots of info about local sites and events. Nearby - 5 min walk or less from several great restaurants, down St. John St from an Asian market and an excellent therapeutic massage therapist (White Water Massage). The neighborhood is the total package. The Inn is historic with completely modern updates, and is very very comfortable. We ALWAYS stay here when in Portland.

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on November 03, 2016

The staff was wonderful; the rooms were adorable and full of character; very happy with my stay and will definitely return.

View more reviews for this inn


wonderful stay at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.4 reviewed on November 02, 2016

We had a fabulous stay at the Inn at St. John. The room was cozy, clean and charming. The staff were friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


Delight at the St. John at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on November 02, 2016

My stay at the St. John Inn was nothing short of pleasant and pleasureable. The staff was incredibly friendly and welcoming as they helped us with our bags, food recommendations, and provided a list of things to do/places to stay. The room was cute and quaint and not a peep of outside noise could be heard. I will definitely be staying here again when I come back to Portland.

View more reviews for this inn


Elegant pet friendly B & B at Captain Jefferds Inn (Kennebunkport, Maine)

4.4 reviewed on October 31, 2016

Love the Baxter room as it has a private porch leading out to the open yard. The room has a two person hot tub and a gas fireplace. My dog received a homemade treat with his name on it. The room has a water/food dish and a towel for his use. A dog watcher was available for us while we had a nite out. What more can we ask for! Love this B & B.

View more reviews for this inn


About Portland

The understated reputation of Portland, Maine, is filled with colonial wonder and outdoor adventures. As an alternative to a hotel, tourists can make reservations at inns that date back to the 1700s and 1800s. Amenities have evolved to include modern bathrooms with heated floors, whirlpool tubs, and custom showers. Sit by fireplaces in front of flat screen televisions or take a leisurely stroll through perennial gardens.

Go on a Museum Scavenger Hunt

This quaint city is home to one of America''s beloved poets, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow. Train enthusiasts will take pleasure in a museum filled with the narrowest trains ever to run on tracks. Visit a New England antebellum home with most of its original contents. Create a scavenger hunt of colonial items to journal before starting the day.

Experience L.L. Bean Adventure Programs

Home to outfitter L.L. Bean is in the city of Freeport with its flag store open 24 hours per day. Enjoy adventures year round with various packages to choose from such as women only or bird watching. Vacationers can take archery and fly fishing classes or learn how to kayak and canoe. Guided fishing trips are filled with catches of delicious cod and haddock. Weekend to eight-day excursions for adults are also available as well as kid''s camps. There are beginner, intermediate, and advanced levels so everyone can take part in the escapades. Winters have activities such as snowshoeing and cross-country skiing trips.

Visit Eartha

On the trip back from Freeport, stop in Portsmouth to see the world''s largest globe that revolves and has 3d features. The 42-foot structure is housed in an atrium with an Omni-Span Truss that illuminates the entire building at night. This Guinness Book record holder is the accomplishment of map maker DeLorme. Once the tour is over, take a ferry to Chebeague Island to enjoy the beach and fresh seafood. Bird migrations are another main attraction for visitors.

The Seasons of Portland

Springs are cool to mild with snow on the ground at nearby White Mountain. Summers turn into fantastic opportunities to enjoy all the indigenous species. Fall foliage encourages daily drives up and down the coast with the Atlantic Ocean on one side. A variety of skiing and other winter sports complete full itineraries regardless of the season tourists arrive. Average temperatures range from the high 79 degrees in July to the low 13 degrees in January.

Top
}