Recent Reviews in Portland, Maine

Great hotel! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

5 reviewed on January 19, 2018

This is a great little hotel minutes away from downtown Portland. I've stayed here several times and have enjoyed each stay. The rooms are always clean and comfortable and the service is exceptional. Would highly recommend.

View more reviews for this inn


Comfortable and A Great Value at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.8 reviewed on January 18, 2018

This was our second stay at Inn at St. John. We loved our first floor room... it was cozy and spacious and an easy place to hang out for hours when it was too cold to explore. It's wonderful having a parking lot and the breakfast is plenty to hold you until lunch. The staff is incredibly helpful and friendly.

View more reviews for this inn


My favorite "hidden gem" at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

5 reviewed on January 18, 2018

This lovely little getaway is, and will be, my favorite. Beautiful decor, always clean, very friendly, quiet even though the breakfast area was only a few feet from our door. Wonderful!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful getaway in Portland at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.4 reviewed on January 18, 2018

The Inn at St. John is such a little gem. Even though it's a little bit out of town from the Old Port, it's a nice walk home after a day of touring around. The staff here could not be friendlier or more helpful. It was our second time here and we will definitely be back again. Thank you

View more reviews for this inn


Short stay in Portland at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.4 reviewed on January 17, 2018

We didn’t use the on-site ring but it looked good. Continental breakfast was fine. Fresh

View more reviews for this inn


My favorite place to stay in Portland, Maine at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.4 reviewed on January 16, 2018

I love the Inn at St. John. Not only is it affordable but the staff are professional, helpful and make it a pleasure to stay here.

View more reviews for this inn


Quaint, Clean and Fun at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.4 reviewed on January 16, 2018

We were in Portland to attend a concert. Found the Inn at St. John through an internet search. The price was right, it was close to the concert venue, and the web site looked interesting and inviting. Yes, there is no elevator, but you know that going in because it is a major part of their reservation process. That said, the rooms were large, clean and had all the amenities you would expect. In all, a very nice stay--we would certainly stay again.

View more reviews for this inn


Inn at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on January 09, 2018

I frequently stay here when I'm in Portland. Staff are always friendly and helpful, rooms clean and comfortable. A good value.

View more reviews for this inn


Best Value at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on January 08, 2018

Vary modern and clean room. Nice large tile bath. Wonderful people. Best value. Walk to hospital.

View more reviews for this inn


Comfortable and convenient at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.0 reviewed on January 07, 2018

I stayed at the Inn at St. John for two nights near Christmas 2017. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was as complete a "continental" as I have seen. Lots of moderate spots for food in walking distance. Very satisfied.

View more reviews for this inn


Adorable inn! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on January 07, 2018

The pet-friendly property was everything my furry companion and I needed it to be. Thank you for the outstanding service!

View more reviews for this inn


Warm comfy bed during the storm at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on January 07, 2018

We have stayed a few times at the Inn at St-John and have always found it to be most satisfactory. This time, unbeknownst to us, we booked our vacation in the midst of a huge snow storm. Personnel were thoughtful and considerate, offering some continental breakfast to stranded guests who did not count on almost all the restaurants closing down in the city. (Normally, it is a short 15-20 minute walk to downtown Portland and all the nice restaurants.) Our beds were warm and comfortable and we had a great night sleep, also as usual. We slept so good the person at the desk had to call our room and let us know we overslept after check-out hour. She did so in a a polite and don't worry-about-it way. We didn't eat there, so I can't vouch for the food, but we had a great stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Stay at The Inn at St. John at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.2 reviewed on January 03, 2018

I enjoyed my one night stay at the Inn at St John very much. My room was very comfortable; I found everything to be neat and clean. I'd definitely stay there again.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent innovations in Portland at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.8 reviewed on January 01, 2018

Attractive public spaces, sparkling clean rooms with thoughtful amenities, friendly, helpful staff all at a reasonable price.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect home away from home at PineCrest B&B (Gorham, Maine)

4.8 reviewed on December 30, 2017

Kathy is a gracious host and we enjoyed our Christmas holiday immensely! Everthything was wonderful. Look forward to our next visit!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful stay, hope to do it again at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.8 reviewed on December 30, 2017

Had a wonderful stay at the Inn at St John. It was a bitterly cold weekend, but the Inn was a cozy refuge, and the staff were friendly and helpful. Would absolutely stay here again on our next visit to Portland.

View more reviews for this inn


Great go to place when in the area at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.4 reviewed on December 28, 2017

We stay here often times over Christmas when we come to visit family. We don't stay anyone else because this place is so charming. The service is excellent. I love the fact that you can get coffee, tea, cookies and bottled water anytime you want. There is a lovely continental breakfast in the morning as well. Everyone is also very friendly and helpful. The bathrooms are small, but that's the nature of the age of the building and the quaint rooms. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. The parking lot can get crowded, but it's workable. We wouldnt' stay anywhere else.

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic!!! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on December 27, 2017

Great location and impossibly helpful and friendly staff. My pup and I will be back for sure!

View more reviews for this inn


Consistently Great Comfort and Value at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.0 reviewed on December 27, 2017

I have been staying at this Inn for 10 years. It is located in Old Port and is so comfortable, lively and clean. You are greeted by delicious cookies and friendly smiles at check in.. Request a lower level floor if you have mobility issues as this is a historix New England Inn with several floors. This Inn has consistently been much cleaner than your typical chain hotel

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful Inn and Great service! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

5 reviewed on December 24, 2017

The Inn was so classically beautiful and was in a great location! The staff was great and all very kind and helpful. I would stay again in a heartbeat

View more reviews for this inn


Shush.... don't tell! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on December 22, 2017

This is our go to home away from home when we want a Portland getaway. Everything about the stay at The Inn at St. John is perfect for us. Friendly, accommodating staff, beautiful cared for and well loved Inn, parking on site, great finger food type breakfast and wonderful, wonderful ambiance. I just hope that it doesn't change, we love it just the way it is! Thank you Inn at St. John

View more reviews for this inn


The only place we stay In Portland! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.8 reviewed on December 17, 2017

Whenever we have a quick trip or weekend stay in Portland we always stay at the St. John’s Inn. The service is always friendly and accommodating. The rooms are clean and the breakfast has many choices!

View more reviews for this inn


Friendly service, cozy stay at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.0 reviewed on December 15, 2017

We spent a night at The Inn at St. John in early December, and were greeted by a friendly and helpful front desk staff, who quickly checked us in and helped us figure out parking (there's a small onsite lot, but an overflow lot behind the neighboring Asian restaurant; all free). They also made sure we were aware of complimentary bottles of water, as well as tea, coffee, hot chocolate, and delicious chocolate chip cookies. Our room was right off the festively decorated lobby, and we found it to be spacious and looked just like the online photos. Though it didn't bother us, our room was level with the sidewalk outside; it's also next to a medical center. If you're noise sensitive, you might want to ask for a quieter spot in the inn, but we hardly noticed it after we settled in. The room was cozy warm, clean and the bed was amazingly comfortable -- we slept great! The bathroom was narrow, but shower was great. Toiletries are available, including toothbrushes, mouthwash and makeup remover at no charge. We found a Lyft to Old Port that arrived in 3 minutes. The free Wi-fi worked great. Complimentary breakfast had fresh fruit, in addition to the continental fare. The staff was also quick to help the other guests, be it check-out or recommendations of small businesses to do some holiday shopping. They offered every guest help with luggage and parcels if needed. Our stay was only for a night, but we wouldn't hesitate to book again for longer. We felt welcomed, safe, warm and well attended to. We got an inn with a local feel and better amenities than any commercial chain it a competing price range.

View more reviews for this inn


Worthy of an annual trip at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.8 reviewed on December 12, 2017

Staying at the Inn at St. John to see a concert has become an annual tradition for us. We are never disappointed by the unique charm, great service and cookies on arrival. The location and value are excellent.

View more reviews for this inn


Great value at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

5 reviewed on December 09, 2017

Regularly stay here, always great service. Portland can be pricey so this is a nice option.

View more reviews for this inn


All Around Win! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

5 reviewed on December 05, 2017

This hotel was absolutely perfect as far as I'm concerned. Great price, near everything, food and drinks right across the street, and a meticulously maintained building both inside and out. The staff were fantastic and the stay was better than I could have imagined (Room 6C King/Private Bath). This is a time period hotel, so the steps are a bit more narrow and there is no elevator, however this did not affect me in the least. Just an excellent place to stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Home away from home at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

5 reviewed on November 28, 2017

An older quaint structure, updated, together with lovely details, friendly staff, a very nice continental breakfast, and excellent pricing make Inn at St. John our go-to accommodation when in Portland.

View more reviews for this inn


Superb Staff at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

3.6 reviewed on November 28, 2017

This inn was lovely, and the staff were super friendly and professional. I The room was spacious and clean. I chose this place to stay because of it's history and dog friendly accommodations. My pup had a relaxing stay and we would definitely stay here again. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect Getaway for Thanksgiving! at The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast (Portland, Maine)

5 reviewed on November 27, 2017

My husband and I decided to get away for Thanksgiving this year, and made the trip up to Portland, ME after celebrating the holiday in Plymouth, MA. I was impressed by The Chadwick's website, but even more impressed with the actual facility. On-site parking was a breeze, and we had all the instructions on how to check in well in advance of our arrival. The place is immaculate and the owners have thought of everything to occupy guests during their stay. We were able to watch all of the football games and even played Battleship! Our room was the most comfortable of our entire weekend getaway, and it just felt like home. We usually don't go back to cities/states we've visited, but I can't wait to return to Portland, ME and The Chadwick!

View more reviews for this inn


Friends and family weekend/birthday celebration at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on November 26, 2017

We have now stay twice this year. We LOVE it here. We stayed in the same room both times but next time will try a different room. I love how the rooms are all unique to theselves. Staff is warm, friendly and very welcoming. Free parking, free water and cookies and a great breakfast. I feel safe here. Thank you so much!!!

View more reviews for this inn


About Portland

The understated reputation of Portland, Maine, is filled with colonial wonder and outdoor adventures. As an alternative to a hotel, tourists can make reservations at inns that date back to the 1700s and 1800s. Amenities have evolved to include modern bathrooms with heated floors, whirlpool tubs, and custom showers. Sit by fireplaces in front of flat screen televisions or take a leisurely stroll through perennial gardens.

Go on a Museum Scavenger Hunt

This quaint city is home to one of America''s beloved poets, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow. Train enthusiasts will take pleasure in a museum filled with the narrowest trains ever to run on tracks. Visit a New England antebellum home with most of its original contents. Create a scavenger hunt of colonial items to journal before starting the day.

Experience L.L. Bean Adventure Programs

Home to outfitter L.L. Bean is in the city of Freeport with its flag store open 24 hours per day. Enjoy adventures year round with various packages to choose from such as women only or bird watching. Vacationers can take archery and fly fishing classes or learn how to kayak and canoe. Guided fishing trips are filled with catches of delicious cod and haddock. Weekend to eight-day excursions for adults are also available as well as kid''s camps. There are beginner, intermediate, and advanced levels so everyone can take part in the escapades. Winters have activities such as snowshoeing and cross-country skiing trips.

Visit Eartha

On the trip back from Freeport, stop in Portsmouth to see the world''s largest globe that revolves and has 3d features. The 42-foot structure is housed in an atrium with an Omni-Span Truss that illuminates the entire building at night. This Guinness Book record holder is the accomplishment of map maker DeLorme. Once the tour is over, take a ferry to Chebeague Island to enjoy the beach and fresh seafood. Bird migrations are another main attraction for visitors.

The Seasons of Portland

Springs are cool to mild with snow on the ground at nearby White Mountain. Summers turn into fantastic opportunities to enjoy all the indigenous species. Fall foliage encourages daily drives up and down the coast with the Atlantic Ocean on one side. A variety of skiing and other winter sports complete full itineraries regardless of the season tourists arrive. Average temperatures range from the high 79 degrees in July to the low 13 degrees in January.

Top
check }