Recent Reviews in Portland, Maine

Very Pleased at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.8 reviewed on March 23, 2017

I was very pleased with my recent stay here. The staff are exceptionally friendly and attentive to you. Always greeting you with a smile and a hello when you enter. The place is very well cared for and clean. My room had a fridge provided as well as slippers and robes. Nice attention to details. My only wish is that the breakfasts could have been a little healthier. I know it is hard when you are only providing breads and cereals. There was fresh fruit however which was nice. Perhaps some whole wheat breads and things with less sugar and fat would be good. That is my only suggestions. Otherwise the place was perfect and I will definitely return.

View more reviews for this inn


Love this Inn! at West End Inn (Portland, Maine)

5 reviewed on March 17, 2017

Have stayed a couple of times now, and the new owner has only enhanced my first experience. Just charming!

View more reviews for this inn


Review of Chadwick for our honeymoon at The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast (Portland, Maine)

5 reviewed on March 11, 2017

We spent our honeymoon at the Chadwick and it was simply amazing! The overall atmosphere was so relaxing. The locale was close to all of our planned activities. And most importantly, the level and quality of service from Erin was top notch! Will definitely recommend!

View more reviews for this inn


The best place to stay! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

5 reviewed on March 06, 2017

This is a very well-kept and clean inn with a friendly and helpful staff. The historical angle of being Portland's oldest hotel only improves the feeling of being somewhere special. The availability of water, coffee and even cookies down in the lobby turn the area into a comfortable perch from whence to discuss your daily plan. Really the best hotel that I have stayed in for a very long time.

View more reviews for this inn


Portland's Hidden Gem at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.4 reviewed on March 03, 2017

This is my fourth time to stay at Inn at St. John and I love it every time. The staff are excellent, so you know from the minute you walk in the door that you're going to love it here. Rooms are quaint and appointed nicely, linens feel luxurious, ... everything is cozy and comfy. And it's all for a very affordable price. There is a smidge of continental breakfast since there's no kitchen on site. I wanted to put "N/A" for onsite dining but that's not an option. The cookies that are out to welcome you are yummy.

View more reviews for this inn


Little victorian Heaven at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on February 25, 2017

This place was amazing. So calm, quiet, and beautiful!!! I loved the rooms. So beautiful. The staff are probably the nicest and most helpful people I've ever met and I've met LOADS of people cuz I travel a lot. They made my trip to Maine just the most wonderful ¿

View more reviews for this inn


great experience at The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on February 24, 2017

Safe feeling neighborhood, excellent innkeeper. Great breakfast

View more reviews for this inn


Big fans at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on February 09, 2017

The management at the Inn at St. John was extremely sincere and helpful. They made it clear that they cared about our stay and were happy to host. Because my husband and I had some trouble finding a room at the last minute, we were overjoyed to find such a charming, quaint, well-maintained, and fairly priced option. We were even upgraded to a bigger room! So cozy. Thank you!

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely Place at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

5 reviewed on February 08, 2017

My husband and I stayed here one night for a concert in Portland. They automatically upgraded us to a nicer room, just because! The room was large, with brick on one wall. It was absolutely worth the cost, and even more. They have complimentary water bottles,and their continental was a nice spread. Would absolutely stay here again!!

View more reviews for this inn


A Wonderful Place to Stay! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

5 reviewed on January 31, 2017

We stayed one night to see a concert up the road. The Inn was spotless, cozy and a bit quirky which suited us fine. We were up on the top floor. It was not a problem for us to walk up the stairs even after walking to and from the show. I would recommend this place for anyone looking for a great place to stay!

View more reviews for this inn


A Great Stay!!! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

5 reviewed on January 29, 2017

My husband and I love this hotel! ..the history...the style...the coziness...the atmosphere....the employees...the breakfast...the beautiful rooms...the cleanliness...the comfort...the accessibility to all things Portland! It's unique! Not the run of the mill, cookie-cutter kind of place like the motel chains. We recommend it highly. Off-season is very affordable! It's a great place!

View more reviews for this inn


A pleasant stay at St. John at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

3.8 reviewed on January 26, 2017

Overall I am happy with my stay at the Inn at St. John. The workers were extremely friendly and helpful. All my luggage was brought up for me to the top floor! The only down sides are that the continental breakfast was nothing special and you can hear every noise.

View more reviews for this inn


January in Maine at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.4 reviewed on January 24, 2017

I really liked the warm drinks and cookies that are available every evening!

View more reviews for this inn


Recent Portland Stay at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.2 reviewed on January 11, 2017

My husband and I stay overnight in Portland several times a year, but had never stayed at the Inn at St John. We were very surprised and pleased with this inn. Our room was large and well-appointed. Attention to detail was very apparent, such as robes and slippers, real mugs for coffee, and quality toiletries. The price was very reasonable. It had snowed in the night, and we were amazed to find our car cleaned of snow in their free parking lot. We will stay again!

View more reviews for this inn


Nice Change at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.0 reviewed on January 10, 2017

What I liked most about the Inn, was the unusal make up of the rooms. we had a king size bed with our own bathroom and everthing seemed so unique and cozy:) The option of parking for free was also great!

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect!! at Wolf Cove Inn (Poland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on January 08, 2017

My husband and I stayed in the Mt. Katahdin room last night. This was his first time at a B&B and the bar has been set very high! The room was beautiful with a huge bed, gas fireplace and a giant jetted tub! There are convenience areas on every floor with a refrigerator, sodas, water, etc. The staff were incredible: friendly and so accommodating. They carried our luggage up to our room and even cleaned snow off our car before we left. The breakfast was just fantastic! Can't wait to go back in the summer so we can enjoy that beautiful lake!!

View more reviews for this inn


Inn at St John, Portland ME at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.8 reviewed on January 08, 2017

Excellent Value, Very nice staff

View more reviews for this inn


Cool place to stay at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on January 08, 2017

Neat old building. Friendly staff.

View more reviews for this inn


Inn at St. John at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

3.6 reviewed on January 08, 2017

After some initial confusion about the booking with B&B.com versus with them directly, we were finally given our keys and headed to our room. The accommodations were very comfortable once we arrived.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent stay as always! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

5 reviewed on January 04, 2017

We've been staying here for several years when visiting Portland. Always exceptionally pleased with everything about the Inn. Highly recommended!

View more reviews for this inn


Another Good Stay at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

2.8 reviewed on January 03, 2017

No dining available on site but they have a good list of local food options in the room. We really like the locations and cost for this Inn. It is close enough for us to talk to concert venues and very close to my favorite Asian market!

View more reviews for this inn


Great Stay for New Years! at Captain Jefferds Inn (Kennebunkport, Maine)

5 reviewed on January 03, 2017

Our Stay in the Vermont Suite at the Captain Jefferds Inn for New Year's weekend was amazing! :) Our room was lovely, the food was delicious, coffee and snacks were great, and the staff was lovely! We really enjoyed our stay and hope to return to the Captain Jefferds soon!

View more reviews for this inn


Always a great stay at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on January 01, 2017

I stay at the Inn quite often when I come down to Portland and its always so convenient. The staff is always so friendly and helpful. The rooms and bathrooms are always clean and well stocked with towels and TP. The refrigerator in the room is always nice! For the price its the only place to stay in Portland in my opinion... actually even if I had loads of money I would still stay here! Its easy to walk into downtown in minutes and there are also great places to eat right nearby (great Thai restaurant just a few doors over). I would totally recommend this place for anyone who wants to enjoy Portland and not spend huge amounts of money. Great place for people backpacking through as there is no hostel in Portland

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful B & B at Captain Jefferds Inn (Kennebunkport, Maine)

5 reviewed on January 01, 2017

My wife and I took a 3-day romantic Winter getaway and I cannot put into words the wonderful time we had during our visit. Every aspect of the Inn was incredible. The Inn was so homie and clean and the décor and atmosphere made us feel very comfortable. Our room was exquisite and the pictures on the website is exactly what you find. Our three breakfasts in the beautiful dining room were delicious and were a perfect way to start our days. You will not go wrong staying at the Captain Jeffords Inn. Rich and Debbie Stafford Springs, CT

View more reviews for this inn


Very happy with my stay at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on December 31, 2016

I enjoyed my stay at the Inn, very cozy and comfortable.

View more reviews for this inn


St John Inn at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

3.4 reviewed on December 29, 2016

Nice stay at the Inn. Great Thai food within walking distance. Comfortable rooms and good value.

View more reviews for this inn


a great place to come home to at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.8 reviewed on December 27, 2016

i love this little gem - it is right on congress street- i can walk all over the city- the price is great - i treated myself last week to a room with a king tub and it was still under $100 bucks -the breakfast is not hot - but pretty good - all in all - i love this place

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding service - highly recommend!! at Captain Jefferds Inn (Kennebunkport, Maine)

5 reviewed on December 25, 2016

We had a wonderful time. The service was outstanding. The innkeepers / owners were extremely hospitable. The Room was impeccable. The 3 course breakfast was Delicious. I highly recommend it.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Christmas gift to each other at Captain Jefferds Inn (Kennebunkport, Maine)

3.8 reviewed on December 22, 2016

Beautifully decorated, exquisite details, extremely comfortable and warm, welcoming staff. Because of bad weather, we had the Inn to ourselves and everyone made us feel like we were "home".

View more reviews for this inn


Very comfortable in a congenial setting at PineCrest B&B (Gorham, Maine)

4.4 reviewed on December 20, 2016

This is our second stay at PineCrest. Each room was very comfortable due to the extreme cleanliness and period furniture and firm bed. Amy and Matt are attentive innkeepers and interesting, easy conversationalists. It's our place to stay when in the Portland area.

View more reviews for this inn


About Portland

The understated reputation of Portland, Maine, is filled with colonial wonder and outdoor adventures. As an alternative to a hotel, tourists can make reservations at inns that date back to the 1700s and 1800s. Amenities have evolved to include modern bathrooms with heated floors, whirlpool tubs, and custom showers. Sit by fireplaces in front of flat screen televisions or take a leisurely stroll through perennial gardens.

Go on a Museum Scavenger Hunt

This quaint city is home to one of America''s beloved poets, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow. Train enthusiasts will take pleasure in a museum filled with the narrowest trains ever to run on tracks. Visit a New England antebellum home with most of its original contents. Create a scavenger hunt of colonial items to journal before starting the day.

Experience L.L. Bean Adventure Programs

Home to outfitter L.L. Bean is in the city of Freeport with its flag store open 24 hours per day. Enjoy adventures year round with various packages to choose from such as women only or bird watching. Vacationers can take archery and fly fishing classes or learn how to kayak and canoe. Guided fishing trips are filled with catches of delicious cod and haddock. Weekend to eight-day excursions for adults are also available as well as kid''s camps. There are beginner, intermediate, and advanced levels so everyone can take part in the escapades. Winters have activities such as snowshoeing and cross-country skiing trips.

Visit Eartha

On the trip back from Freeport, stop in Portsmouth to see the world''s largest globe that revolves and has 3d features. The 42-foot structure is housed in an atrium with an Omni-Span Truss that illuminates the entire building at night. This Guinness Book record holder is the accomplishment of map maker DeLorme. Once the tour is over, take a ferry to Chebeague Island to enjoy the beach and fresh seafood. Bird migrations are another main attraction for visitors.

The Seasons of Portland

Springs are cool to mild with snow on the ground at nearby White Mountain. Summers turn into fantastic opportunities to enjoy all the indigenous species. Fall foliage encourages daily drives up and down the coast with the Atlantic Ocean on one side. A variety of skiing and other winter sports complete full itineraries regardless of the season tourists arrive. Average temperatures range from the high 79 degrees in July to the low 13 degrees in January.

Top
}