Recent Reviews in Portland, Maine

Recent Portland Stay at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.2 reviewed on January 11, 2017

My husband and I stay overnight in Portland several times a year, but had never stayed at the Inn at St John. We were very surprised and pleased with this inn. Our room was large and well-appointed. Attention to detail was very apparent, such as robes and slippers, real mugs for coffee, and quality toiletries. The price was very reasonable. It had snowed in the night, and we were amazed to find our car cleaned of snow in their free parking lot. We will stay again!

View more reviews for this inn


Nice Change at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.0 reviewed on January 10, 2017

What I liked most about the Inn, was the unusal make up of the rooms. we had a king size bed with our own bathroom and everthing seemed so unique and cozy:) The option of parking for free was also great!

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect!! at Wolf Cove Inn (Poland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on January 08, 2017

My husband and I stayed in the Mt. Katahdin room last night. This was his first time at a B&B and the bar has been set very high! The room was beautiful with a huge bed, gas fireplace and a giant jetted tub! There are convenience areas on every floor with a refrigerator, sodas, water, etc. The staff were incredible: friendly and so accommodating. They carried our luggage up to our room and even cleaned snow off our car before we left. The breakfast was just fantastic! Can't wait to go back in the summer so we can enjoy that beautiful lake!!

View more reviews for this inn


Inn at St John, Portland ME at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.8 reviewed on January 08, 2017

Excellent Value, Very nice staff

View more reviews for this inn


Cool place to stay at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on January 08, 2017

Neat old building. Friendly staff.

View more reviews for this inn


Inn at St. John at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

3.6 reviewed on January 08, 2017

After some initial confusion about the booking with B&B.com versus with them directly, we were finally given our keys and headed to our room. The accommodations were very comfortable once we arrived.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent stay as always! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

5 reviewed on January 04, 2017

We've been staying here for several years when visiting Portland. Always exceptionally pleased with everything about the Inn. Highly recommended!

View more reviews for this inn


Another Good Stay at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

2.8 reviewed on January 03, 2017

No dining available on site but they have a good list of local food options in the room. We really like the locations and cost for this Inn. It is close enough for us to talk to concert venues and very close to my favorite Asian market!

View more reviews for this inn


Great Stay for New Years! at Captain Jefferds Inn (Kennebunkport, Maine)

5 reviewed on January 03, 2017

Our Stay in the Vermont Suite at the Captain Jefferds Inn for New Year's weekend was amazing! :) Our room was lovely, the food was delicious, coffee and snacks were great, and the staff was lovely! We really enjoyed our stay and hope to return to the Captain Jefferds soon!

View more reviews for this inn


Always a great stay at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on January 01, 2017

I stay at the Inn quite often when I come down to Portland and its always so convenient. The staff is always so friendly and helpful. The rooms and bathrooms are always clean and well stocked with towels and TP. The refrigerator in the room is always nice! For the price its the only place to stay in Portland in my opinion... actually even if I had loads of money I would still stay here! Its easy to walk into downtown in minutes and there are also great places to eat right nearby (great Thai restaurant just a few doors over). I would totally recommend this place for anyone who wants to enjoy Portland and not spend huge amounts of money. Great place for people backpacking through as there is no hostel in Portland

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful B & B at Captain Jefferds Inn (Kennebunkport, Maine)

5 reviewed on January 01, 2017

My wife and I took a 3-day romantic Winter getaway and I cannot put into words the wonderful time we had during our visit. Every aspect of the Inn was incredible. The Inn was so homie and clean and the décor and atmosphere made us feel very comfortable. Our room was exquisite and the pictures on the website is exactly what you find. Our three breakfasts in the beautiful dining room were delicious and were a perfect way to start our days. You will not go wrong staying at the Captain Jeffords Inn. Rich and Debbie Stafford Springs, CT

View more reviews for this inn


Very happy with my stay at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on December 31, 2016

I enjoyed my stay at the Inn, very cozy and comfortable.

View more reviews for this inn


St John Inn at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

3.4 reviewed on December 29, 2016

Nice stay at the Inn. Great Thai food within walking distance. Comfortable rooms and good value.

View more reviews for this inn


a great place to come home to at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.8 reviewed on December 27, 2016

i love this little gem - it is right on congress street- i can walk all over the city- the price is great - i treated myself last week to a room with a king tub and it was still under $100 bucks -the breakfast is not hot - but pretty good - all in all - i love this place

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding service - highly recommend!! at Captain Jefferds Inn (Kennebunkport, Maine)

5 reviewed on December 25, 2016

We had a wonderful time. The service was outstanding. The innkeepers / owners were extremely hospitable. The Room was impeccable. The 3 course breakfast was Delicious. I highly recommend it.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Christmas gift to each other at Captain Jefferds Inn (Kennebunkport, Maine)

3.8 reviewed on December 22, 2016

Beautifully decorated, exquisite details, extremely comfortable and warm, welcoming staff. Because of bad weather, we had the Inn to ourselves and everyone made us feel like we were "home".

View more reviews for this inn


Very comfortable in a congenial setting at PineCrest B&B (Gorham, Maine)

4.4 reviewed on December 20, 2016

This is our second stay at PineCrest. Each room was very comfortable due to the extreme cleanliness and period furniture and firm bed. Amy and Matt are attentive innkeepers and interesting, easy conversationalists. It's our place to stay when in the Portland area.

View more reviews for this inn


Great service, nice people at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on December 20, 2016

For an inexpensive room in the city, the Inn was very comfortable, clean, and cozy. I would gladly stay there again.

View more reviews for this inn


Stayed with our small dog who was very welcomed at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

5 reviewed on December 18, 2016

My husband arrived late from the bus and met us at the hotel - which is open all night Convenient to bus and a friendly oasis.

View more reviews for this inn


Captain Jeffers lnn at Captain Jefferds Inn (Kennebunkport, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on December 18, 2016

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our three nights stay at this beautiful house. Breakfast was "different" but expertly prepared,and we were offered a choice if unexceptable. Our on suite bedroom was comfy and had everything one could need. I would like to say, out of the five houses we stayed at during our trip to see the Autumnal colours Captain Jeffers Inn was the most hospitable,refreshments were available throughout the day at no extra charge. We would wholeheartedly recommend the Inn Mr and Mrs J Watt ,

View more reviews for this inn


Another great stay at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.4 reviewed on December 18, 2016

We have stayed here many times and it's always a great stay. This time was no exception.

View more reviews for this inn


Always a great place to stay at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on December 16, 2016

My wife and I always stay here when we come to Portland. We've always been very happy.

View more reviews for this inn


What a gem! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on December 15, 2016

Stayed in room 103 on 1st floor for one night. Room was spacious, quiet and nicely decorated. Bed was comfortable with plenty of pillows. Heating was perfect. Well run establishment with everything you would expect of a nice B&B. I was having surgery at Maine Medical (this is closest lodging to hospital), so didn't have the breakfast (they need a N/A as a review option). Could not beat the price - great value!

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay at a reasonable price at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on December 15, 2016

This was my second stay here, and both times were great. Try the Thai place a few doors down!

View more reviews for this inn


Another Great Stay! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.0 reviewed on December 15, 2016

This was our second time staying here, and again it proved to be a place with amazing value and good service. The staff is super friendly and willing to help, and is just a short uber ride in the winter or 20 minute walk in the summer to Old Port and such. You really can't beat the value here, parking is also hassle free with the option to park in the Chinese restaurant next door if space is full in back lot.

View more reviews for this inn


excellent choice at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on December 14, 2016

Great place easy walk into town, friendly staff would stay again.

View more reviews for this inn


Best Little Hotel ever! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

5 reviewed on December 08, 2016

My husband and I have stayed here many times. The rooms are lovely and spotless..The staff is friendly and helpful. Wonderful continental breakfast! And very reasonably price...We tell everyone what a great little hotel The inn at St John is.

View more reviews for this inn


Love this place at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.8 reviewed on December 06, 2016

room was beautiful so vintage like, the bed was comfortable, linen soft and full pillows; my fourth stay and always my first pick in Portland; snacks and continental breakfast was nice. Very clean, nice amenities, and very friendly and helpful staff

View more reviews for this inn


Great as usual! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

5 reviewed on December 06, 2016

We spent one night here while taking in a concert. This would be our 4th visit, I believe. Service was great and the room was very clean. I would recommend this inn to anyone!

View more reviews for this inn


Love It! at PineCrest B&B (Gorham, Maine)

5 reviewed on December 03, 2016

My wife and I went here for our 1 year anniversary. Loved it. It was in a beautiful area surrounded by some nice places to dine for dinner. But we also were able to travel to some local big towns and areas that we absolutely loved. Matt and Amy were so nice and helpful and the room we stayed in was lovely. As much as we love trying out new BnB's we really wanna come back here every year!

View more reviews for this inn


About Portland

The understated reputation of Portland, Maine, is filled with colonial wonder and outdoor adventures. As an alternative to a hotel, tourists can make reservations at inns that date back to the 1700s and 1800s. Amenities have evolved to include modern bathrooms with heated floors, whirlpool tubs, and custom showers. Sit by fireplaces in front of flat screen televisions or take a leisurely stroll through perennial gardens.

Go on a Museum Scavenger Hunt

This quaint city is home to one of America''s beloved poets, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow. Train enthusiasts will take pleasure in a museum filled with the narrowest trains ever to run on tracks. Visit a New England antebellum home with most of its original contents. Create a scavenger hunt of colonial items to journal before starting the day.

Experience L.L. Bean Adventure Programs

Home to outfitter L.L. Bean is in the city of Freeport with its flag store open 24 hours per day. Enjoy adventures year round with various packages to choose from such as women only or bird watching. Vacationers can take archery and fly fishing classes or learn how to kayak and canoe. Guided fishing trips are filled with catches of delicious cod and haddock. Weekend to eight-day excursions for adults are also available as well as kid''s camps. There are beginner, intermediate, and advanced levels so everyone can take part in the escapades. Winters have activities such as snowshoeing and cross-country skiing trips.

Visit Eartha

On the trip back from Freeport, stop in Portsmouth to see the world''s largest globe that revolves and has 3d features. The 42-foot structure is housed in an atrium with an Omni-Span Truss that illuminates the entire building at night. This Guinness Book record holder is the accomplishment of map maker DeLorme. Once the tour is over, take a ferry to Chebeague Island to enjoy the beach and fresh seafood. Bird migrations are another main attraction for visitors.

The Seasons of Portland

Springs are cool to mild with snow on the ground at nearby White Mountain. Summers turn into fantastic opportunities to enjoy all the indigenous species. Fall foliage encourages daily drives up and down the coast with the Atlantic Ocean on one side. A variety of skiing and other winter sports complete full itineraries regardless of the season tourists arrive. Average temperatures range from the high 79 degrees in July to the low 13 degrees in January.

Top
}