Recent Reviews in Portland, Maine

great stay each time at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

5 reviewed on April 22, 2018

really great value! really nice room, people, continental bfast, and location.

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on April 22, 2018

My room and bathroom were very clean and The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was great as well and everyone was very kind and friendly.

View more reviews for this inn


Such a pleasant surprise at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

5 reviewed on April 18, 2018

I have to say, for the great rate I was paying to stay overnight for a trade show, I really didn't expect much. But from the moment I showed up, everything was far above what I expected. From the beautiful lobby, to the wonderful reception at the desk (and the help finding a place to eat later), to the truly well-decorated and perfectly appointed room, it was terrific. Even cookies and coffee/tea in the lobby 24/7, and a perfect breakfast in the morning which was included! I wished I could stay longer, and I'll definitely be back. Thank you!

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic Location at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.8 reviewed on April 18, 2018

I adored this inn. The location is great. Just a ten to fifteen minute walk to downtown Portland (a straight shot down Congress St), plenty of places to eat around the inn and free parking in a lot outside the inn (which I appreciated after traveling to Montreal and getting hit with major parking fees every day). The reception area was pretty quirky and a nice place to wait. There are free cookies! We arrived too early to check in but we filled out the papers and the staff kept our bags, delivered them to our room while we were out, and even called to let us know the room was ready! Upon returning, the men working at reception were engaging and funny and explained the heating system. The room was great. The bed was comfortable. There was a tv, safe, microwave and fridge. I loved the little extras like flowers made at the ends of the kleenex and toilet paper. The decor was gorgeous. Plug outlets had designs, the mirrors (even in the bathroom) had designs. The wallpaper in the bathroom was beautiful. The bathroom was quite big (perhaps handicapped accessible). It did take awhile for the water to warm up but once the shower was going the stream was strong and nice. Noise levels were fine. We could hear people outside scraping ice off their cars the next morning but nothing from other rooms in the hotel and we were fairly close to an exit door so that was nice not to hear people coming and going. My only complaint about the room was the heater. The one in the bathroom worked fine but in the bedroom it was set to 75 (too hot for me) and we couldn't turn it down. We ended up turning it off and had no issues - warm all night and a great sleep. We plan to return soon. Great location (very close to the Seadog stadium too) and maybe next time we'll meet a ghost!

View more reviews for this inn


Quaint little Inn! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.4 reviewed on April 18, 2018

The inn was clean, private, and very well run. We had no problems in our stay. Would absolutely return and recommend!

View more reviews for this inn


Great Stay, Good Location at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

3.8 reviewed on April 17, 2018

We arrived late but staff was very accommodating. The hallway had a bit of a pet smell but that's to be expected as they welcomed our small dog as much as us as guests, which we appreciated. Room was a bit small but part of the Victorian charm. Plenty of parking with the overflow lot on the next property. Amazing BBQ down the street at Salvage with live music. Great one night stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice place at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.0 reviewed on April 17, 2018

I don't like this star system. They did not exceed my expectations, they met them very well. Very nice place and would definitely stay again. Nicely restored rooms, very clean, very friendly folks. Much more interesting than a cookie cutter chain.

View more reviews for this inn


Best stay in Portland at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.2 reviewed on April 17, 2018

The In. At St. john is a beautiful inn with friendly helpful staff, clean rooms and close proximity to all poerland has to offer, Lynne Smith

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to stay in Portland! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.8 reviewed on April 16, 2018

Rooms were great, staff were very helpful, and the complimentary cookies were delicious!

View more reviews for this inn


A Maine mainstay at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

5 reviewed on April 16, 2018

My family stops in Portland on our way to another destination every year and we look forward to staying at this hotel. The rooms are large and comfortable, the staff is attentive and helpful, the location and breakfast are very good. This hotel offers excellent value for the price, and the building has lots of charm.

View more reviews for this inn


Great little gem in Portland at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.8 reviewed on April 15, 2018

This is a quaint little inn with clean rooms and wonderful service. I felt it was a bit overpriced, but other than that, I would stay there again.

View more reviews for this inn


Friendly helpful staff in a convenient location at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

3.6 reviewed on April 15, 2018

We wanted a family room within walking distance of the centre of town. The buffet breakfast was well received and the stroll into the main areas easy.

View more reviews for this inn


Great location, great price, great staff at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.8 reviewed on April 12, 2018

This is the best value in Portland. You can't beat the location, amenities, friendly staff, and even a continental breakfast. I've stayed twice and will stay again in the future.

View more reviews for this inn


Inn at St. John - a treasure! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

5 reviewed on April 11, 2018

We have stayed at the Inn for may years, with and without our pets. The staff are sweet, helpful and welcoming, the beds are comfortable, rooms spacious and clean, and the cookies are delicious. We have stayed at other hotels in Portland when the Inn has been full and have never had the same delightful experience.

View more reviews for this inn


Very classy intown hotel at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.8 reviewed on April 11, 2018

Very elegant building reminiscent of European boutique hotels. Staff is very helpful yet discrete. Convenient location, quiet rooms: we stay there frequently when we visit Portland. A great value and room selection. In suite bathrooms or shared ones depending on your preferences and budget. Our favorite place to stay for a night out on the town!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful stay! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

5 reviewed on April 11, 2018

Had a great stay! Staff was very helpful and gave wonderful recommendations. Room was very spacious and clean.

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

5 reviewed on April 10, 2018

I totally recommend it! Great location. The staff is super nice, the rooms are cute and clean, comfortable bed, good quality breakfast (not a lot of variety but good quality), bottled water and cookies always available, an outstanding experience overall. If staying in Portland you should totally stay here.

View more reviews for this inn


Quick Stay at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

3.8 reviewed on April 07, 2018

My sister and I stayed one night. The service was impeccable, very kind and helpful staff. Breakfast was very basic continental fare but would be fine if you are in on business and wanted to grab something quickly. Very close to Maine Medical, but for my purposes of relaxing travel would choose to stay somewhere by the water; this location seems better for business travel. Mattress and pillows were firm for my taste and blankets were a bit too light, but those things are a matter of preference. I live in an old house and appreciate character, but I was surprised by the office style ceiling tiles and the water pipes in the middle of my room ( that is primarily the reason I didn't score the room higher).

View more reviews for this inn


The Inn at St John at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.8 reviewed on April 06, 2018

We have stayed at the inn before and each time enjoyed our stay. The staff is friendly and helpful. Location is easy on and off the highway. We really enjoy the architecture of the faculty, no cookie cutter cement rooms. Highly recommend.

View more reviews for this inn


Clean, comfortable and a great value right in the middle of town at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.2 reviewed on April 06, 2018

I prefer family run establishments to corporate chain hotels, and loved the character and atmosphere of Inn at St. John. The service was excellent, the rooms very comfortable, the place clean and it is an excellent value. I will stay here again next time I'm in Portland.

View more reviews for this inn


Awesome place to stay! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

5 reviewed on April 05, 2018

We have been staying here for years and plan to continue-- the staff go out of their way to make your stay great. They are pleasant and considerate. The rooms are terrific, with a range of prices and options for every traveler-- we have never had a bad experience in about 20 years of visits. Although there is no elevator, staff will carry your suitcases up the stairs if you need help, and there are excellent ground floor rooms as well.

View more reviews for this inn


Has character at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

3.8 reviewed on April 05, 2018

The bedroom and bathroom were both small but the bed was super comfortable and close enough to town to still make it worth reserving :) The included breakfast was well done and more than we expected!

View more reviews for this inn


Definately a great stay In Portland at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

5 reviewed on April 04, 2018

Quaint, privately owned hotel. Great price, Parking, continental breakfast, polite staff. Convient location. My not be good for small children. Would stay here again and recommend it

View more reviews for this inn


English style at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

5 reviewed on April 04, 2018

This is the third time I’m staying at St. John’s. We have actually never found a better deal since Portland hotels are expensive. The rooms have a cute English decoration and are always clean. You have in every room a sink, soap, towels etc. we forgot our toothbrush and they provided it too. The breakfast is outstanding every time I visit with fresh bagels you can toast, a pastry, yoghurt, muffins, and all sorts of drinks. The service is very friendly and loves to help you with recommendations. Such as one block in the direction of the center is a fantastic bbq place salvage with live music. Number 1 choice every time - St. John!

View more reviews for this inn


Inn at St. John at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.8 reviewed on April 04, 2018

The room was large, spacious, and well decorated. The bed was extremely comfortable and the amenities were clean and fitting. The staff was polite and accommodating. We enjoyed our stay, and will definitely be back.

View more reviews for this inn


visit at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.4 reviewed on April 02, 2018

Always enjoy my stay at your place, I come back every year for the New England Made Show in town.

View more reviews for this inn


This is what an inn is. at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on March 29, 2018

I always stay at the Inn when I come to Portland. Perfect location, more than comfortable, more than hospitable.

View more reviews for this inn


Great pleace to stay in Portland at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

3.6 reviewed on March 29, 2018

The personnel is very frendly and helpful, they gave us a lot of tips to make our days in Portland unforgetable. The hotel is very well located. Everything is walking distance. I really recommend it.

View more reviews for this inn


An unexpected gem at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on March 28, 2018

An older hotel that has been tastefully redone with a quality staff. Ver pleased with the room ambiance and my stay. I will stay here again on my next return to Portland.

View more reviews for this inn


The cutest B&B! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.8 reviewed on March 27, 2018

I was blown away by the Inn at St John. Based on the price, I thought I was going to be staying at something that felt like a hostel. I was blown away by the professional staff, cleanliness, beautiful decor, and complimentary breakfast and snacks. Only a short walk to downtown, and parking on site. I will definitely look into staying here next time I'm in Portland.

View more reviews for this inn


About Portland

The understated reputation of Portland, Maine, is filled with colonial wonder and outdoor adventures. As an alternative to a hotel, tourists can make reservations at inns that date back to the 1700s and 1800s. Amenities have evolved to include modern bathrooms with heated floors, whirlpool tubs, and custom showers. Sit by fireplaces in front of flat screen televisions or take a leisurely stroll through perennial gardens.

Go on a Museum Scavenger Hunt

This quaint city is home to one of America''s beloved poets, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow. Train enthusiasts will take pleasure in a museum filled with the narrowest trains ever to run on tracks. Visit a New England antebellum home with most of its original contents. Create a scavenger hunt of colonial items to journal before starting the day.

Experience L.L. Bean Adventure Programs

Home to outfitter L.L. Bean is in the city of Freeport with its flag store open 24 hours per day. Enjoy adventures year round with various packages to choose from such as women only or bird watching. Vacationers can take archery and fly fishing classes or learn how to kayak and canoe. Guided fishing trips are filled with catches of delicious cod and haddock. Weekend to eight-day excursions for adults are also available as well as kid''s camps. There are beginner, intermediate, and advanced levels so everyone can take part in the escapades. Winters have activities such as snowshoeing and cross-country skiing trips.

Visit Eartha

On the trip back from Freeport, stop in Portsmouth to see the world''s largest globe that revolves and has 3d features. The 42-foot structure is housed in an atrium with an Omni-Span Truss that illuminates the entire building at night. This Guinness Book record holder is the accomplishment of map maker DeLorme. Once the tour is over, take a ferry to Chebeague Island to enjoy the beach and fresh seafood. Bird migrations are another main attraction for visitors.

The Seasons of Portland

Springs are cool to mild with snow on the ground at nearby White Mountain. Summers turn into fantastic opportunities to enjoy all the indigenous species. Fall foliage encourages daily drives up and down the coast with the Atlantic Ocean on one side. A variety of skiing and other winter sports complete full itineraries regardless of the season tourists arrive. Average temperatures range from the high 79 degrees in July to the low 13 degrees in January.

Top
check }