Recent Reviews in Portland, Maine

What's not to like at The Elms Bed & Breakfast (Westbrook, Maine)

4.8 reviewed on September 11, 2017

The house is a large mid-Victorian era place, with high ceilings, big windows, plenty of exterior gingerbread, and nice furnishings that are neither hyper-modern nor age-worn. They suit the age and decor of the house, and are comfortable without being dauntingly fancy. We were in the house for two nights. Our room was splendid, though we did trade up to one (the largest in the place, I think) that features an en suite bathroom, rather than the shared bathroom that some rooms had on offer. Our host was outgoing and congenial, and has very definite ideas as to where he wants to take the place. We were treated (after consultation) to an "experimental" breakfast, and found it quite yummy. The large paper mill directly across the street did not pose a problem, as our initial reaction caused us to fear. We never heard it or smelled it, and it was a great landmark for finding our way back. The place is convenient to downtown Portland, yet far enough removed that it is very quiet at night, We'd be happy to return, if we find ourselves in the area again.

View more reviews for this inn


Very cute and cozy at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.4 reviewed on September 06, 2017

Bedrooms exceeded my expectations. Shared bathroom was clean and not an issue at all.

View more reviews for this inn


Wish we could have stayed longer! at Kennebec Inn (Bath, Maine)

5 reviewed on September 05, 2017

We had an absolutely wonderful stay at the Kennebec Inn! Everything from the moment we arrived was perfect. Rachel made us feel at home and provided recommendations for out in town and breakfast in the morning was delicious. It was just a quick stop for us on our way down the coast, but we will sure to be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Charming and Friendly at The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast (Portland, Maine)

4.8 reviewed on September 03, 2017

Stayed at the Chadwick Bed. and Breakfast in Portland Maine August 2017 The Inn is very charming, clean,sunny and serves a terrific breakfast. The room was updated and very clean with a lovely comfortable bed. I highly reccommmend this charming and chic bed and breakfast.

View more reviews for this inn


Our go-to place to stay in Portland at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

3.8 reviewed on September 03, 2017

Love the uniqueness of each room. The staff is always wonderful/helpful. Thank you again for a lovely stay. Will see you soon!

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent, such a beautiful hotel! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on September 01, 2017

I will be staying here every time I go to Portland, I loved it! The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful since it was my first time visiting. The hotel's location is perfect, only a brisk 15 minute walk to the center of downtown and parking is included! I loved the decor and the room was beautiful with comfortable beds. Breakfast was perfect for me, continental and includes cereal, bagels juices and plenty of fresh fruit. I booked 3 days before my stay and only stayed one night...which I am assuming caused the price to be high!

View more reviews for this inn


A place with charm, comfort at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on August 29, 2017

I needed an overnight to recoup from a European flight return to Logan. This sweet, small hotel provided that and more. The continental breakfast was generous and much of it homemade, the antique decor was of an older and elegant era, the bed restored my energies and the shared bath very available. I would recommend it with the added note that it places you right in downtown Portland--a big plus for me---but still quiet. I came from Boston on the bus and the hotel re-imbursed me for the taxi fare from Concord Trailways. And if you come in on Greyhound, you can walk across the street! Service, comfort and smiles all around. Linda

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect B&B at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast (Freeport, Maine)

5 reviewed on August 28, 2017

This B&B was a great choice for our stay. The food was amazing and the owners were very friendly; we felt like we were at home the entire time. The location is also great. The town of Freeport is very nice with many great restaurants and small shops within walking distance.

View more reviews for this inn


An excellent value! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.8 reviewed on August 27, 2017

We had a wonderful stay at the Inn at St. John. The room was clean and comfy, and the breakfast was great! What I appreciated most of all about our stay was that the St. John staff was very helpful and courteous.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent Stay at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

5 reviewed on August 27, 2017

This hotel is perfect for those who want something a little different from the norm. It has a very European feel. The stairs may be a problem for some, but I take mine two at a time, so it wasn't an issue. Fantastic take away/ eat in breakfast and the staff at the front desk were really friendly. We will be back for more.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely!! at PineCrest B&B (Gorham, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on August 27, 2017

Warm. inviting, cozy, homey, spacious, lovingly detailed, conveniently located and graciously hosted.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice place to stay! at The Elms Bed & Breakfast (Westbrook, Maine)

4.4 reviewed on August 26, 2017

This Inn is only 10 minutes to the Portland Jetport, very convenient. We needed to be at the airport at 5 am. The Inn keeper was very accommodating with any questions we had and what a super personality he has also! Definitely will recommend this place!

View more reviews for this inn


Home away from home at PineCrest B&B (Gorham, Maine)

5 reviewed on August 25, 2017

This is our first experience staying at a bed&breakfast and it was a memorable one. We were a family of four and we stayed in one of the largest rooms in the house. It had a nice layout. The master bedroom was separated from the living room with a pullout sofa with a connecting bathroom in the middle, giving us (my husband and I), and the girls some privacy. The innkeepers, Matt and Amy, were very amicable hosts. They offered invaluable tips on top-notch farm-to-table restaurants when we told them that's what brought us to Portland. We really appreciated the made beds and general upkeep upon returning from a long day of sightseeing and adventures. Breakfast was delicious and satisfying. They really took the time to cook up every morning. Not to mention that they were very accommodating to our vegetarian daughter. Having said that, we highly recommend PineCrest and would definitely come back the next time we find ourselves in Portland.

View more reviews for this inn


Welcoming and clean, dog-friendly at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.4 reviewed on August 25, 2017

Convenient location downtown Portland, historic, clean, nice light breakfast set up. Room was small, but good value for the area. Very friendly staff.

View more reviews for this inn


Such nice staff at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.8 reviewed on August 24, 2017

I enjoyed my stay- parking was convenient, breakfast offerings were generous and the staff was so friendly

View more reviews for this inn


A truly unique experience! at Captain Jefferds Inn (Kennebunkport, Maine)

4.8 reviewed on August 24, 2017

Our family spent two wonderful nights at the Captain Jefferds Inn. The Inn was just beautiful, impeccably rennovated and very tastefully decorated. Every little detail, be it in the room, or in the lounge or bikes and beach chairs for outings, was perfect and made our stay so enjoyable. The food was excellent as well as we shared delicious breakfast with other guests. We would definitely go back to Captain Jefferds Inn if ever again in Kennebunkport !

View more reviews for this inn


great value! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

5 reviewed on August 23, 2017

I was really happy with my room at St. John! The room was comfortable and clean, and had everything I needed. Also, the breakfast was as good as you would find at any other hotel chain. Finally, the staff were very friendly and helpful. I would stay here again for sure.

View more reviews for this inn


Our Go-to place to stay when visiting Portland at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on August 22, 2017

Far enough from downtown congestion, yet walk able to town when you want to be in the midst of all the activity. Great restaurants in this area. Love that it's close to the ballpark.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice hotel at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

3.8 reviewed on August 22, 2017

Great value. Clean room and bathroom. Convenient on-site parking.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful stay! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

3.6 reviewed on August 22, 2017

The staff is pleasant, the room was very nice and led to a comfortable stay. A+

View more reviews for this inn


Unique B&B at The Elms Bed & Breakfast (Westbrook, Maine)

4.0 reviewed on August 22, 2017

Great old home everything was just fine.

View more reviews for this inn


Stay at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.4 reviewed on August 21, 2017

Everything was excellent. The hotel has free parking, clean rooms, and well maintained facilities. The free breakfast was great, but the narrow hallway with the counter and seating was too crowded. Excellent chiloice if you want to stay in Portland and want a great value for your dollar.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfection! at Captain Jefferds Inn (Kennebunkport, Maine)

5 reviewed on August 21, 2017

Our third time at the Inn and it was the best. The staff was knowledgeable and helpful with recommendation for fun activities and eating establishments. The breakfasts were delicious and the accommodation were perfectly cozy! Erik and Sarah welcomed us like family - we can't wait to return!

View more reviews for this inn


one night in Portland at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on August 20, 2017

We stayed on the top floor with a shared bathroom. The room was lovely, high ceils, and good bed. Quiet, terrific value, didn't expect it to be so nice.

View more reviews for this inn


My Stay at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

3.4 reviewed on August 17, 2017

Convenient to Hadlock Field. Was able to leave bags behind front desk instead of in hot car while at a Seadogs game. That was great. Comfortable room. Loved having a fridge in the room.

View more reviews for this inn


Old world charm with modern amenities at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

5 reviewed on August 16, 2017

We were very pleased with our stay. The staff was attentive and friendly. The room (7b) was spacious and tastefully appointed. The hotel has a classic yesteryear charm and decor. Our room felt more like we were staying in a home rather than a hotel. Getting around Portland was fairly easy and a short drive to the port area. The hotel's parking area is small, but they have overflow parking right next door. The continental breakfast was very good and had a number of choices. Guests were also welcome to the complimentary water in the fridge. The coffee was also very good. Please note, there is not an elevator to service the upper floors. The overall feel of the hotel was very European and the loved it. We can't wait to go back! K&k August 2017

View more reviews for this inn


Good location for Portland Maine at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

3.8 reviewed on August 15, 2017

Recently stayed at St. John inn for the second time. The location is fantastic for the price, just a short uber ride from the old port or walking distance to a few local spots. Only downside is that many rooms do have a shared bath, however both times I have stayed here, they are very clean and no conplaints.

View more reviews for this inn


August 2017 Visit at The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast (Portland, Maine)

5 reviewed on August 15, 2017

My husband and I have visited Portland, Maine four times over the last five years. We have stayed at the Chadwick Bed and Breakfast each time - once in 2013, once in 2014, once in 2015, and, most recently in August 2017. The breakfasts at the Chadwick are amazing, as are the cookies. This property comes highly recommended.

View more reviews for this inn


the Elms at The Elms Bed & Breakfast (Westbrook, Maine)

2.8 reviewed on August 15, 2017

stayed one night - friendly staff - our room was large and well appointed - the room and the whole house is run down and need a sprucing up - the poor rating was the air conditioning was noisy and all that would have been needed was a fan as the outside temp was in the low 70s

View more reviews for this inn


Quiet and Very Clean at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.0 reviewed on August 14, 2017

It was a pretty good distance from the main part of town which made it quiet. Definitely had to drive. Parking was provided at the hotel.Staff was very friendly.

View more reviews for this inn


About Portland

The understated reputation of Portland, Maine, is filled with colonial wonder and outdoor adventures. As an alternative to a hotel, tourists can make reservations at inns that date back to the 1700s and 1800s. Amenities have evolved to include modern bathrooms with heated floors, whirlpool tubs, and custom showers. Sit by fireplaces in front of flat screen televisions or take a leisurely stroll through perennial gardens.

Go on a Museum Scavenger Hunt

This quaint city is home to one of America''s beloved poets, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow. Train enthusiasts will take pleasure in a museum filled with the narrowest trains ever to run on tracks. Visit a New England antebellum home with most of its original contents. Create a scavenger hunt of colonial items to journal before starting the day.

Experience L.L. Bean Adventure Programs

Home to outfitter L.L. Bean is in the city of Freeport with its flag store open 24 hours per day. Enjoy adventures year round with various packages to choose from such as women only or bird watching. Vacationers can take archery and fly fishing classes or learn how to kayak and canoe. Guided fishing trips are filled with catches of delicious cod and haddock. Weekend to eight-day excursions for adults are also available as well as kid''s camps. There are beginner, intermediate, and advanced levels so everyone can take part in the escapades. Winters have activities such as snowshoeing and cross-country skiing trips.

Visit Eartha

On the trip back from Freeport, stop in Portsmouth to see the world''s largest globe that revolves and has 3d features. The 42-foot structure is housed in an atrium with an Omni-Span Truss that illuminates the entire building at night. This Guinness Book record holder is the accomplishment of map maker DeLorme. Once the tour is over, take a ferry to Chebeague Island to enjoy the beach and fresh seafood. Bird migrations are another main attraction for visitors.

The Seasons of Portland

Springs are cool to mild with snow on the ground at nearby White Mountain. Summers turn into fantastic opportunities to enjoy all the indigenous species. Fall foliage encourages daily drives up and down the coast with the Atlantic Ocean on one side. A variety of skiing and other winter sports complete full itineraries regardless of the season tourists arrive. Average temperatures range from the high 79 degrees in July to the low 13 degrees in January.

Top
check }