Recent Reviews in Portland, Maine

Relaxing and Enjoyable at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast (Freeport, Maine)

5 reviewed on July 11, 2017

We were only in Freeport for 1 night, but wish we would've stayed longer. The 3-course breakfast was simply DIVINE and our hosts were welcoming and informative. If you are in Freeport, you must stay at the Brewster House!

View more reviews for this inn


Great place at Wolf Cove Inn (Poland, Maine)

5 reviewed on July 11, 2017

So relaxing. Beautiful and tranquil respit on a little slice of heaven. Staff was down to earth, helpful and service minded. Will be going back soon.

View more reviews for this inn


Stay 7/7/17 at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.2 reviewed on July 11, 2017

Close to restaurants on Congress street, comfortable and cozy.

View more reviews for this inn


Recent Stay at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on July 10, 2017

My wife and I went to Portland for a few days with plans to spend most of our time downtown. The price of hotels in downtown Portland was ridiculous (possibly due to it being 4th of July week, though we were there from the 5th to the 7th). the Inn at St. John came in notably less and did not seem to be too far from where we wanted to be. The first thing I will say is that the staff are incredibly friendly. When we checked in, both of the attendants at the desk were on the phone with customers and on of the hotel’s maintenance people was quick to drop his paint brush and attend to us. I can’t imagine not having a room with a private, in-room, bathroom, so my recommendation is to book a room that does not have shared facilities.

View more reviews for this inn


Great experience at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast (Freeport, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on July 02, 2017

We spent just two days in this lovely town, but we surely will come back and stay in Brewster House B&B. The owners are very friendly and provides all the necessary information you need it. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Our bathroom was spacious . A very distinctive feature; their breakfasts are excellent, prepared by an experienced chef. Definitely an experience to repeat if you are looking for a casual, affordable, and "cozzy" experience.

View more reviews for this inn


VERY NICE at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.8 reviewed on July 02, 2017

Staff is incredibly friendly - rooms were small and weirdly shaped but we liked that about it - ten minute walk from downtown - nice old building - delicious cookies

View more reviews for this inn


Delicious breakfast at The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast (Portland, Maine)

3.6 reviewed on July 01, 2017

Prices were a tad high for the size room. Only 3 parking spots or you have to find street parking. Clean, extremely pleasant and breakfast was wonderful and plentiful!

View more reviews for this inn


Nice place to stay in Portland at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

3.8 reviewed on June 28, 2017

Nice place and very helpful and friendly staff. Room was large and comfortable and a bus outside takes you into centre of Portland.

View more reviews for this inn


Hidden Gem at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.4 reviewed on June 26, 2017

Upgraded to a room with bath on the first floor. The room was large and comfortable. The bathroom also was good sized and the jets in the bath were a nice touch. Staff very friendly and helpful. Location was good, convenient walk to downtown area and plenty of onsite parking. I would definitely stay here again!

View more reviews for this inn


Great value at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.2 reviewed on June 26, 2017

A little skeptical about the area but the hotel and staff were a pleasant surprise

View more reviews for this inn


Inn at St. John at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on June 25, 2017

We love the Inn at St. John. The rooms are exceptionally clean and comfortable and the staff always makes us feel welcome and at home. Great place to stay in Portland. The only onsite dining is breakfast which is adequate - bagels and pastries, yogurt, some fresh fruit. Good coffee. There are yummy cookies, tea and coffee, and cold bottle water available all day.

View more reviews for this inn


Our One Night Stop at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.4 reviewed on June 25, 2017

Friendly people, lovely setting. Mattress was not the most comfortable; good night nonetheless.

View more reviews for this inn


Charming and Welcoming B&B at Captain Jefferds Inn (Kennebunkport, Maine)

5 reviewed on June 20, 2017

I loved the Inn. Conveniently located near Dock Square. The rooms were most comfortable, the breakfasts were delicious and generous. Overall a very relaxing environment where they make you feel like family and offer an easy way to visit the area with reference material available. Very high quality amenities and cozy rooms. I would highly recommend and return myself without looking elsewhere.

View more reviews for this inn


Thumbs up bed & breakfast at The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on June 06, 2017

Recently spent the weekend at this inn. It was our first visit. The rooms were very comfy and cozy, especially the bed. Loved having free Netflix. I really enjoyed the Homedics machine. It was nice to fall asleep to the sound of rain or ocean. The free complimentary non alcoholic beverages and snacks were a big plus. Never tasted cookies like that before. Erin was a very friendly and knowledgeable person. She passed on a lot of useful information about Portland and things to do. She is without a doubt a fantastic cook! The website had delicious looking pictures of their breakfast meals. Wow!!!! The food was so different from what you would receive anywhere else. However I would suggest one change. I think it would be nice if we were able to make our breakfast choices from that menu. The Chadwick Inn is a wonderful bed & breakfast!

View more reviews for this inn


One of our favorite B&Bs ever at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast (Freeport, Maine)

4.8 reviewed on June 03, 2017

My wife and I stay here recently and it far surpassed our expectations. The highlight was definitely breakfast, which had some of the best food we've had in a long time — counting restaurants too. Also we'd be remiss to mention the excellent kegerator full of local beers! Both Kelleigh and Dave were excellent hosts and had superb recommendations for us. Highly recommend!

View more reviews for this inn


Eccelent!!! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

5 reviewed on May 30, 2017

The friendlies hotel staff I've ever seen. Great room! Clean and smell good!! Super fast internet, free water&tea&ice&cookies. Beautiful decoration and relax atmosphere. #1 hotel so far in my mind.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice Stay in Gorham at PineCrest B&B (Gorham, Maine)

4.8 reviewed on May 22, 2017

The rooms are beautifully appointed, and very comfortable. Personally, I might have preferred a bathtub to the shower, but all else was excellent. The food was really delicious and offered a nice variety. The service was friendly, professional and always helpful. I'd go back, and I highly recommend it to others.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent Value for Money, Comfortable and Convenient at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

5 reviewed on May 22, 2017

The room was very pleasant and comfortable, breakfast was good and available for a conveniently wide spread of time, the staff were very helpful and the price was low. Couldn't ask for more - highly recommended.

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful find! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on May 22, 2017

The inn was comfortable, convenient and delightful. I'll be back. Thank you.

View more reviews for this inn


Great place for relaxing, and de-compression! at Wolf Cove Inn (Poland, Maine)

5 reviewed on May 16, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this great place. Rooms, food, hosts, staff all great........ and then to listen to the loons! Will definitely come back again! Many extra amenities to make it a complete enjoyable stay. many thanks!

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful bed and breakfast at PineCrest B&B (Gorham, Maine)

5 reviewed on May 16, 2017

This was my second stay. Just as lovely as the first. The rooms are spotless. The breakfasts delicious and Amy and Matt are gracious hosts. They go above and beyond to make you feel at home. Can't wait for my next visit.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing!! at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast (Freeport, Maine)

5 reviewed on May 15, 2017

We recently stayed here for a long weekend and it was amazing. The breakfast was incredible and delicious everyday, leaving us full well past lunch (and into dinner). The hosts were sweet and so accommodating. Nothing could have been improved upon and the experience could not have had been better. Highly recommend!

View more reviews for this inn


Brewster House B&B at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast (Freeport, Maine)

5 reviewed on May 14, 2017

The Inn and Innkeepers were warm and welcoming. Our room was bright and cozy. The fresh flowers everywhere were a wonderful touch. Breakfast was scrumptious and very filling. All within walking distance to shops and dining. A must return to destination!

View more reviews for this inn


Breakfasts are wonderful! at Brewster House Bed & Breakfast (Freeport, Maine)

5 reviewed on May 09, 2017

We stayed 3 nights....would love to have stayed longer! Kelliegh and David are warm hosts and make you feel like old friends. A highlight of our Maine vacation. Our room was spotlessly clean and fresh. And the breakfasts are amazing!! Not the usual B&B fare, but truly unique and gourmet dishes served in 3 courses and made with local ingredients (the maple syrup is from the trees next to the house!). We plan on returning to Brewster House on our next trip to Maine.

View more reviews for this inn


Quaint Inn at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.2 reviewed on May 09, 2017

We love staying at places that have character rather than your typical chain hotel. The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful. We will be going back.

View more reviews for this inn


Love This Place at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

5 reviewed on May 06, 2017

Great staff. Great location. Lovely rooms. No complaints. Will go back in a heartbeat.

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to stay in Portland at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.4 reviewed on May 05, 2017

The Inn is well located for exploring the downtown area of Portland without a car. Staff helped us find public transportation and directed us to our destinations. And on a rainy night, the breakfast area was a comfortable place for us to enjoy the excellent Thai meal we ordered in. Looking forward to a return visit.

View more reviews for this inn


Great place at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.2 reviewed on May 04, 2017

Stayed in room 1A (king room with private bath) and it was a great room. Had a mini-fridge and coffee maker. It was a very clean hotel. Stayed 2 nights and both nights were great. A few places within walking distance and downtown was a short and in-expensive Lyft ride away. The bars and restaurants were great in the downtown area. Continental breakfast was as to be expected with bagels, cereal, sweets and fruit. The complementary water and cookies in the lobby were an added bonus. Would recommend to anyone staying in the area. Would stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


Quaint and Charming! at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.6 reviewed on May 02, 2017

The Inn at St. John was wonderful! The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful throughout our stay and the décor throughout the inn was so charming! I would definitely recommend staying here - excellent accommodations at an incredibly affordable price!

View more reviews for this inn


Charming and Convenient at Inn at St John (Portland, Maine)

4.4 reviewed on April 29, 2017

We always stay here when we visit Portland. The people and the place are very charming. Plus, it's within a short walk to just about everything (especially Holy Donuts and Salvage BBQ).

View more reviews for this inn


About Portland

The understated reputation of Portland, Maine, is filled with colonial wonder and outdoor adventures. As an alternative to a hotel, tourists can make reservations at inns that date back to the 1700s and 1800s. Amenities have evolved to include modern bathrooms with heated floors, whirlpool tubs, and custom showers. Sit by fireplaces in front of flat screen televisions or take a leisurely stroll through perennial gardens.

Go on a Museum Scavenger Hunt

This quaint city is home to one of America''s beloved poets, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow. Train enthusiasts will take pleasure in a museum filled with the narrowest trains ever to run on tracks. Visit a New England antebellum home with most of its original contents. Create a scavenger hunt of colonial items to journal before starting the day.

Experience L.L. Bean Adventure Programs

Home to outfitter L.L. Bean is in the city of Freeport with its flag store open 24 hours per day. Enjoy adventures year round with various packages to choose from such as women only or bird watching. Vacationers can take archery and fly fishing classes or learn how to kayak and canoe. Guided fishing trips are filled with catches of delicious cod and haddock. Weekend to eight-day excursions for adults are also available as well as kid''s camps. There are beginner, intermediate, and advanced levels so everyone can take part in the escapades. Winters have activities such as snowshoeing and cross-country skiing trips.

Visit Eartha

On the trip back from Freeport, stop in Portsmouth to see the world''s largest globe that revolves and has 3d features. The 42-foot structure is housed in an atrium with an Omni-Span Truss that illuminates the entire building at night. This Guinness Book record holder is the accomplishment of map maker DeLorme. Once the tour is over, take a ferry to Chebeague Island to enjoy the beach and fresh seafood. Bird migrations are another main attraction for visitors.

The Seasons of Portland

Springs are cool to mild with snow on the ground at nearby White Mountain. Summers turn into fantastic opportunities to enjoy all the indigenous species. Fall foliage encourages daily drives up and down the coast with the Atlantic Ocean on one side. A variety of skiing and other winter sports complete full itineraries regardless of the season tourists arrive. Average temperatures range from the high 79 degrees in July to the low 13 degrees in January.

Top
check }