Recent Reviews in Port Townsend, Washington

Relaxation and Coziness in Sequim at Red Caboose Getaway (Sequim, WA)

4.8 reviewed on February 16, 2018

My parents recently moved to Sequim and recommended my husband and I stay here while visiting after they had such a great time here. I think they stayed under the previous owners, but our stay was just as great as my parents said it would be. The bed in the Orient Express was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in. Such a cozy, quiet and relaxing place, in a great location to see the sights in the area, and the owners are very nice. The breakfast was delicious - although very sweet - but definitely recommended as part of the experience. My husband has very high standards, and he loved this place (as did I). You will love it too!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful at Red Caboose Getaway (Sequim, WA)

4.6 reviewed on February 12, 2018

My wife and I came here for our honeymoon. We both love trains and especially old private cars so just that was enough to reel us in. We were expecting a cute little place that mostly relied on the charm of staying in the cabooses to get by; What I wasn't expecting was the high level of service and attention to detail that made Red Caboose a fantastic place to stay regardless of the gimmick. The rooms are small compared to a regular motel or hotel or B&B, but not at all lacking for comfy furnishings and little luxuries. It was perfect for our intimate, romantic stay. The breakfast part of the bed & breakfast was again, completely above and beyond in it's quality; four courses, all delightful, delicious and inventive. When you reserve your room they ask for dietary restrictions and preferences and it's obvious they take special care to take them into account. I am allergic to nuts and so a berry and walnut loaf was substituted for a nut free version, specially made for us and presented as darling little mini-muffins. I want to make special note of how much of a joy it was to interact with the two proprietors of the B&B. In particular; due to a mix-up on our part, we had to leave a day early. They offered a refund and were completely helpful and understanding. When we return to the Olympic Penninsula I will absolutely be booking us in for another stay at the Red Caboose.

View more reviews for this inn


Peaceful and charming getaway at Ravenscroft Inn (Port Townsend, WA)

4.4 reviewed on January 26, 2018

Ravenscroft was a peaceful and charming getaway. The hosts provide a beautiful environment that invites relaxation and they have excellent attention to the details of hospitality.

View more reviews for this inn


Great visit at Caboose Getaway at Red Caboose Getaway (Sequim, WA)

5 reviewed on January 24, 2018

We are repeat visitors to the cabooses- we were not disappointed. The weather was bad, but we were warm, cozy and happy. The breakfast is 4 star. Be sure to visit Olympic Game Farm while there- take lots of bread. Our weekend at the cabooses was just wonderful!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful experience! at Red Caboose Getaway (Sequim, WA)

5 reviewed on January 18, 2018

Beautiful B&B. Room was clean and spacious. Loved the fireplace and jetted tub. Breakfast was amazing!!! The owners were great hosts and very welcoming. Loved having breakfast overlooking the duck pond.

View more reviews for this inn


Romance on the Rails at Red Caboose Getaway (Sequim, WA)

4.6 reviewed on January 18, 2018

What a wonderful getaway for unusual lodging adventures. The food was wonderful, as was the service. The couple who handled things were polite, friendly, and made breakfast feel like we truly were in the Dining Car for the Orient Express. Upscale crystal and china with linen napkins made even the coffee taste better. Although the coffee was actually my only culinary complaint (Seattle has so much good coffee that it was a shame to not taste something rich in the pretty teacup). They made up for it though with the most delicious orange glazed pull apart and perfect mini quiche. The rooms vary caboose to caboose so I can only tell you what ours was like. The bed was extremely comfortable though we did have a hard time regulating the heat because it was pretty cold outside. If I liked baths, there was a beautiful jacuzzi tub ensuite. It was laid out beautifully, and the refinished original floors were beautiful too. If romance is your getaway idea this is a winner...but don't choose the clown car (Circus theme) if you are afraid of clowns. I'd go again for sure but I'd pick one of the cars that have a shower in them. Keep up the good work ...this was a great home base to explore Sequim and Port Townsend.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Stay! at Red Caboose Getaway (Sequim, WA)

5 reviewed on January 07, 2018

We spent one night in the Western caboose and had an absolutely wonderful time. The caboose was comfortable, very well appointed, and a lot of fun! The four-course breakfast was excellent and the service was fantastic, too. I highly recommend staying here.

View more reviews for this inn


anniversary get away at Red Caboose Getaway (Sequim, WA)

4.8 reviewed on January 04, 2018

we drove to this fantastic setting of a round house style park where everything was literally picture perfect from the ducks on the pond to the full aluminum dining car. It was an extremely comfortable room with an endless supply of hot water for the huge copper soaker tub. Breakfast was an experience we won't forget for a long time, form the freshly squeezed juice to the baked banana the entire meal was perfect.

View more reviews for this inn


A fantastic getaway! at Red Caboose Getaway (Sequim, WA)

5 reviewed on December 29, 2017

We stayed one night in the western-themed caboose and it was fantastic! The theming was great and even included a selection of western-themed movies and a refrigerator that looked like safe. We also appreciated the coffee pot in room. Be aware that the cabooses with bathtubs do not have separate showers (but that wasn't a problem for us). The four-course breakfast in the dining car was excellent and the service was superb. I highly recommend staying here!

View more reviews for this inn


Orient Express car and dining car perfect for us at Red Caboose Getaway (Sequim, WA)

5 reviewed on December 21, 2017

We asked if we could get married there during our weekend getaway to the bed and breakfast. The owners were so helpful with our needs for our wedding day. The Orient Express car was extremely nice as was the dining car.....and the breakfast was absolutely wonderful! I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast as a destination spot!

View more reviews for this inn


Very Nice at Ravenscroft Inn (Port Townsend, WA)

3.4 reviewed on December 05, 2017

Very nice place, very clean, great tea selection. Room was very nice, but bed was too firm for my liking. Dave was great at explaining the room features and Ravenscroft's amenities at arrival. Breakfast was excellent but we were never asked if we wanted more of anything. Staff was friendly.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful experience. at Red Caboose Getaway (Sequim, WA)

4.8 reviewed on December 04, 2017

We were celebrating our 51st anniversary and decided to try something a little different. We enjoyed the western style caboose for two nights. Breakfast was extra special in the Silver Eagle with chef Leif at the helm and his sidekick, Jamie, doing her magic. Great meal and service. We have already recommended this stopover to others. Thanks for a great time. Jim and Connie

View more reviews for this inn


Red Caboos Getaway at Red Caboose Getaway (Sequim, WA)

4.6 reviewed on November 08, 2017

A very different and enjoyable experience. Breakfast was a delight.

View more reviews for this inn


Parents 50th wedding anniversay moon weekend getaway at Red Caboose Getaway (Sequim, WA)

5 reviewed on October 25, 2017

My siblings and I got together and planned our parents 50th wedding anniversary moon weekend at Red Caboose Getaway. When I purchased there caboose I was hopeful that they would have a good time. I did not expect to hear so much excitement in my mothers voice when she called me from her caboose to tell me how wonderful everything was. My mom told me that they have never experienced any thing like this in the 50 years that they have been married. She said the caboose was plush and very romantic. She also told me about the wonderful breakfast they had every morning that was as she said "cooked by a chef like the ones you see on TV". When my parents got back home they couldn't stop talking about how thankful they were to have had such a wonderful weekend. i am very thankful for my parents and their better than expected weekend at Red Caboose Getaways. I hope to take my husband there on one of our anniversaries. Thank you for service we appreciate you Charlotte & Olaf.

View more reviews for this inn


One of the Highlights of our 3 Month Trip at Red Caboose Getaway (Sequim, WA)

5 reviewed on October 24, 2017

We loved our stay at the Red Caboose Getaway-- it was comfortable, unique, and just the thing for my husband the engineer (the mechanical kind, not the train kind). The owners definitely ran the place with love, and they took extra care with breakfasts that truly felt like a special treat in an old-style railway dining car. Even though we were the only ones there for one of the nights, we still got the full breakfast treatment-- and they went above and beyond to accommodate my very strict dietary requirements. Our "Lavender" Caboose had lots of nice touches like chocolate on the pillows, wine glasses in the room, and battery "candles" (because real ones would be a fire hazard). Our room had a jetted tub which was nice-- but do be warned that this caboose has only the tub, not a shower too. That was fine with us, but if a shower is essential for you-- pick a different caboose. Along with modern touches like tv, a fridge, and that tub-- the historic nature of the caboose was preserved-- right down to leaving in a bunch of the original pipes and ladders up to the cupolas. Not sure if we'll find ourselves in Sequim again, but if we do the Red Caboose Getaway would be our very first choice for accommodations.

View more reviews for this inn


Very Accomodating at Red Caboose Getaway (Sequim, WA)

4.4 reviewed on October 23, 2017

We were bringing a Port Angeles (where the Crabfest was in full swing) ferry back late from Victoria so Olaf honored our request for a late check in and made it easy for us to check in. Thoroughly enjoyed all the train themed items in our caboose plus cozy robes and welcoming chocolates. Unique comfortable fun stay. Excellent, first class, breakfast serving many local food items. Portions were just the right size so one could enjoy all the courses.

View more reviews for this inn


Such a fun getaway! at Red Caboose Getaway (Sequim, WA)

5 reviewed on October 11, 2017

We had a great stay here! The couple that runs this is friendly and accommodating. The caboose we stayed in was great, We plan on trying another caboose next time we are staying in the area! It was a nice quiet property with ducks and song birds. The breakfast was delicious and varied each day.

View more reviews for this inn


Food is amazing, Caboose is awesome! at Red Caboose Getaway (Sequim, WA)

4.6 reviewed on October 10, 2017

The food blew my mind. Every bit as good as the famous chef's in Seattle and New York. The caboose was delightful!! My husband and I look forward to staying in every single one! We will be getting my parent's a gift card for a night. This is a hometown treasure and it's time they experienced the creativity!

View more reviews for this inn


Life on the Tracks at Red Caboose Getaway (Sequim, WA)

4.6 reviewed on October 01, 2017

Really enjoyed our trip to the past when travel was by rail. We stayed in Casey Jones Caboose, explored the historical room decor and gained an appreciation for the hard work of the caboose operator. Every detail exhibited authenticity. Dining car breakfast was memorable with great conversation among other guests.

View more reviews for this inn


Caboose Delight at Red Caboose Getaway (Sequim, WA)

5 reviewed on September 18, 2017

Loved the caboose layout and the cupola for watching sunrise and sunsets. Breakfast is a superb taste delight. Thank you for the great stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Unique fun stay at Red Caboose Getaway (Sequim, WA)

4.8 reviewed on September 17, 2017

I had booked this B&B as a surprise for my friends traveling with me. They were so surprised when we pulled up to cabooses! Our friends were in Casey Jones and loved all the RR memorabilia. We enjoyed the lavender car. We had videos with a lavender theme and music CDs which we put on and felt a million miles from anywhere. I loved sitting up in the cupola reading and watching the world go by. The breakfast was as good as other reviewers have stated. Olaf showed us inside some of the other cars which we really enjoyed. He is a wealth of information! The only suggestion I would offer them is to tidy up the area around the cabooses. Landscaping could use some attention. All in all a wonderful stay!!

View more reviews for this inn


An extraordinary place at Lost Mountain Lodge (Sequim, Washington)

5 reviewed on September 11, 2017

We stayed at Lost Mountain Lodge for a week, using it as a base to explore the Olympic Peninsula. The Moonbeam suite is a large, nicely decorated room with lots of chairs and a very comfortable bed. There was a fireplace (that we didn't need in the summer) but which added to the sense of comfort. Breakfasts were amazing with different servings each morning. Lots of veggies and fresh fruit plus the option of gluten-free bread. Snacks, soft drinks and water were always available. The grounds are lovely with lots of room to walk and smell the lavender. Everyone working there was generous and helpful. Thank you Dwight, Kathy, Jen and Sophia! We'll be back.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing place to stay! at Red Caboose Getaway (Sequim, WA)

5 reviewed on September 07, 2017

My husband and I went to celebrate his birthday, our baby on the way and our recent wedding! The room was even better than the pictures. Staff gave excellent dinner recommendation and had up to date information on the current town happenings. Breakfast was my favorite part! 4 course meal served in the elegant dining car! The coffee was local and kept flowing. Not a single detail was missed. Quiet and adult only place. A great location to relax and if you are lucky you'll pick a room with a big jet tub!

View more reviews for this inn


Fun Getaway at the Red Caboose at Red Caboose Getaway (Sequim, WA)

4.4 reviewed on September 07, 2017

My husband and I stayed at the Red Caboose as part of our anniversary celebration. We rode in from Port Angeles on the Olympic Discovery trail. The Red Caboose Getaway is conveniently located right off the trail. We enjoyed our stay very much apart from the Caboose not having A/C. It was a very hot day and the fan we had in there did nothing to help. Wifi didn't work as well. Breakfast was amazing. Definitely the best breakfast we had ever had at any B&B.

View more reviews for this inn


What fun this was at Red Caboose Getaway (Sequim, WA)

3.8 reviewed on September 06, 2017

Had a very fun time here and we stayed in the Circus Caboose. As I laid in the Jazzuzi I closed my eyes and could hear circus music. The breakfast was the very best I have ever had 4 course at that. Elegant and good. The host are there for you to refer you to there little town of great food and things to do. We will be back I want to stay in all of them. Thank you for sharing your little fun cabooses with us. Loved it

View more reviews for this inn


A unique getaway in the trains at Red Caboose Getaway (Sequim, WA)

3.6 reviewed on September 05, 2017

Staying at the Red Caboose was a great addition to visiting the lavender farms in August of 2017. We are a young couple in our early 20's and found that there wasn't much to explore in Sequim past 5 PM as the stores closed early. However, the Red Caboose was a great place to relax and enjoy each other's companies. Upon arrival, Olaf greeted and walked us to our room. My boyfriend and I were both in awe at how well designed the room was. We stayed in the western caboose and it truly stuck to its theme. This is the most unique bed and breakfast I've ever stayed at. Though the accommodation was lovely, the onsite dining was a little lacking. The food that was served during our stay was very sweet. We were expecting a little more savory. However, I appreciated that all ingredients were local. It was a nice touch. I'd still recommend others to stay, but be wary that this may be a bit pricey for some people.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent Hospitality at a Unique Getaway at Red Caboose Getaway (Sequim, WA)

4.8 reviewed on September 03, 2017

The Red Caboose was a great way to start our explorations of the Olympic Peninsula. We were impressed with the way every detail inside the caboose was considered with such care. And breakfast was truly exceptional, with blackberries from the property! The proprietors were welcoming and showed us great hospitality. We didn't have much time to explore Sequim, but did spend an evening at the marina on the bay nearby, enjoying the view and eating a delicious meal at the dockside restaurant there.

View more reviews for this inn


I love staying at the Red Caboose! at Red Caboose Getaway (Sequim, WA)

5 reviewed on August 30, 2017

The beds are comfortable, the stay is unique, and the breakfast is to die for. I highly recommend a stay here.

View more reviews for this inn


Unique and Spectacular! at Red Caboose Getaway (Sequim, WA)

5 reviewed on August 19, 2017

My sister referred me to this unique and whimsical B&B... and am I EVER GLAD SHE DID! What a fantastic night we had in "The Western". Every nook and cranny was filled with a fun western artifact. What a complete and total labour of love! Breakfast was astonishing and definitely a major,, almost theatrical, affair. Olaf and Charlotte laid out a thoughtful, delicious menu, and served it in a style that is a throwback to another era. I wish I had worn more formal attire. Thank you, thank you, thank you. The only thing I would suggest is a common outdoor area for the guests to meet one another if they so chose. A wonderful B&B experience. Thank you!!!!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Great getaway, happy to return! at Red Caboose Getaway (Sequim, WA)

4.2 reviewed on August 16, 2017

My husband and I spent our wedding night at the Red Caboose Getaway previously, and just returned to celebrate our 5 year anniversary. We stayed in the Grape Escape this time and overall had a lovely time. Olaf and Charlotte are delightful and the food (as before) was incredible beyond expectation. My husband had a dietary restriction that they did a fantastic job working around it and providing amazing options for him. The only sad note to our stay is that we noticed since our previous visit things are falling a bit into disrepair. Nothing was totally rundown or anything, but it's time for some updates and a little more upkeep that I'm sure it's becoming difficult for the owners to keep up with. We heard that their son will be taking on the business soon and we are hoping that his addition will help breathe some renewed life into this amazing and unique retreat. We had a great trip and hope to be able to return for our 10 year anniversary as well.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
check }