Recent Reviews in Cognac, France

A perfect place to stay in Angouleme at BnB Dominique (Angouleme, France)

5 reviewed on September 20, 2016

We have just returned from our third stay with Bernard and Dominique. The flat is right in the heart of old Angouleme, quiet and peaceful, but close to lovely restaurants and shops, and about 15 minutes' walk from the station. Our room, as always, was spotlessly clean, and comfortable. Bernard and Dominique are kind, gracious hosts - always happy to help. A great place to stay if you like the personal touch. Posy and Mike

View more reviews for this inn

Outstanding in every way! at Maison Maurice (Biron, Pons, France)

5 reviewed on May 12, 2016

This is a Bed & Breakfast with heart & soul. They really care about your stay from the special welcome and the special attention to the breakfast menu, to the tasteful rooms and genuine friendliness. Warm & Intelligent hospitality, both in generous quantities - we all felt right at home. Thanks so much Penny & Adrian, you were the highlight of our trip. (I'd recommend getting an evening meal - it was fabulous!)

View more reviews for this inn

atypique lieu at BnB Dominique (Angouleme, France)

4.4 reviewed on November 15, 2015

Qui autait pu croire qu'un jour nous allions trouver refuge dans une ancienne gendarmerie!!!! il faut etre fou !!!! Et pourtant ce fut le cas.Mais des gendarmeries comme celles cis (nous en redemandons tous les jours). Tout d'abord , vous entrez par une très grande porte sécuriséé, où votre propriétaire vous accueille, pour vous guider jusqu'au parking .Moment d'étonnement, où la tranquilité, la propreté, la beauté des lieux vous transportent.Puis , situé au premier étage, notre hotesse Dominique , l'épouse de Bernard , nous accueille chaleureusement dans leur home.Sourire, bienveillance, aux petits soins!!!!!! le coeur de cet endroit est identique à l'extérieur. Avec un petit déjeuner excellent et de qualité, à la hauteur de Dominique et Bernard.Echanges, bonne humeur, convivialité, ont fait que ces deux jours resteront gravés dans nos tetes.Et qu'à l'occasion nous ne manquerons pas de retourner saluer Dominique et Bernard. Couple charmant . A recommander sans MODERATION.

View more reviews for this inn

The little treasure of Angouleme at BnB Dominique (Angouleme, France)

5 reviewed on October 06, 2015

We had a lovely stay here Sunday 4th October 2015. Bernard and Dominique offered us a refreshing pot of tea after a long tiring drive from the South of France, so much enjoyed The room and facilities are second to none, they both ensured we were happy and comfortable and very informative on local history. Looking forward to our stay next time

View more reviews for this inn

At home without being at home at Maison Maurice (Biron, Pons, France)

5 reviewed on September 17, 2015

We enjoyed the endless hospitality at Maison Maurice for a couple of days. As from the very first warm "welcome" from Penny and Molly, we felt at home. The house is restored with so much love for history and passion for details. The garden gives you a nice opportunity to rest an enjoy the results of all the efforts our hosts put into it. Every thing so clean and calm. The breakfast was prepared and served with a lot of passion for the good and local ingredienses, blended with a gentle touch of British tradition. All together Maison Maurice is more than worthwile visiting. Vibeke Husbond, Copenhagen, DK

View more reviews for this inn

Beyond fabulous! at Maison Maurice (Biron, Pons, France)

5 reviewed on August 30, 2015

Another very enjoyable stay at this amazing chambre d'hote. Everything is of an exceptionally high standard offered in a totally relaxed way. Your hosts go above and beyond what one might expect of any 'b&b' with first class breakfast served in the surroundings of a beautiful garden and amazing dinners. Can't wait to return....

View more reviews for this inn

Noel à Angoulême at BnB Dominique (Angouleme, France)

4.0 reviewed on January 04, 2015

Un lieu historique à découvrir au coeur de l'hyper centre d'Angoulême, des hôtes charmants et attentifs, des échanges nourris dans une ambiance conviviale, la chambre d'hôtes de Dominique et Bernard est une adresse à retenir pour une escapade sur Angoulême.

View more reviews for this inn

Favourite place in the world for a mini break at Maison Maurice (Biron, Pons, France)

5 reviewed on June 17, 2014

The food (breakfast and dinner) is outstanding and would not look out of place in a top London restaurant or Hotel. The hosts truly make the Chambre d'hote what it is, always there to help you have a memorable stay. My wife and I have been several times and each experience has been unique and got better and better each time. I love the fact I can relax when I stay and enjoy great company, food, wine and champagne. If you haven't been you must go to this beautiful little paradise in rural France.

View more reviews for this inn

A lovely stay at BnB Dominique (Angouleme, France)

5 reviewed on March 30, 2014

Dominique and Bernard made us very welcome. The bedrooms were comfortable, clean and beautifully decorated with views looking out over the old town. Excellent value for money. Good selection of French style breakfasts in comfortable surroundings. We were given a key and able to come and go as we pleased. Ideally located in the centre of Angouleme. We had a very enjoyable stay.

View more reviews for this inn

Au coeur d'angouleme at BnB Dominique (Angouleme, France)

4.4 reviewed on February 03, 2014

Tres bon accueil pour cette chambre d'hote. Le cadre est tres cosy. Calme et central, surtout pour moi qui venais pour participer au festival de la bande déssinée d'angouleme. Tres bon choix, une adresse a ne pas oublier.

View more reviews for this inn

Exceptional at Maison Maurice (Biron, Pons, France)

5 reviewed on September 30, 2013

There should be an ‘Extra Special’ Category, because this is just that. Penny and Adrian provide exceptional accommodation and food, but they then enhance that with themselves, as they provide an exceptional level of hospitality and warmth. Vey highly recommended, if you want a high standard of accommodation, food and hospitality.

View more reviews for this inn

des hôtes de choix! at BnB Dominique (Angouleme, France)

4.2 reviewed on September 16, 2013

Je conseille à toute personne un séjour chez Dominique & Bernard! Ce sont deux personnes charmantes qui vous accueilleront avec le sourire. Les chambres sont d'une propreté impeccable et décorées avec goût. Leur maison est idéalement placée en plein centre d'Angoulême et ils seront de bon conseil sur ce qu'il y a à visiter. J'ai passée de très agréables soirées en leur compagnie et je ne manquerai pas de retourner chez eux quand l'occasion se représentera!

View more reviews for this inn

Flyers stop by at Maison Maurice (Biron, Pons, France)

5 reviewed on August 25, 2013

We were flying into to Jonzac to meet friends. No accommodation available there and Penny's and Adrian's B&B was the result, found by chance. What a find. Absolutely outstanding quality in their home but very relaxed.Hardly fair to refer to this as a "B&B". So much more than that. Food was prepared specifically and to a quality using local produce. We joined a happy gathering in the garden .Nothing was too much trouble. All so much of what makes a good short break. Pons Airfield nearby so no excuse not to be back

View more reviews for this inn

Simply the Best and More! at Maison Maurice (Biron, Pons, France)

5 reviewed on July 22, 2013

Maison Maurice was the second leg of our holiday in the South West of France. Penny and Adrian made us most welcome from the minute we arrived. The location is perfect whether one wants to spend a day at the beach or a quiet walk in the vineyards or indeed a “degustation” at the nearby Cognac Distillery. Penny and Adrian were the perfect hosts, pampered us and armed us with lots of information for things to do in the region. The house was delightful, the food exquisite and the company most charming. When we next visit the region Maison Maurice will be on top of our list, we only hope that they will put up with our demanding ways.

View more reviews for this inn

Excellent stay at Maison Maurice (Biron, Pons, France)

5 reviewed on July 22, 2013

This is my first review on - I felt compelled to write after having had such a good stay with Penny and Adrian. The rooms were immaculate, the food excellent and, despite the great reviews, our expectations were still exceeded. Our visit was extremely relaxing and nothing was too much trouble for Penny and Adrian. They told us that their aim was to create a house/dinner party kind of atmosphere where guests felt more like friends than paying visitors and I certainly think they have achieved that. From the welcome with a cold drink in the garden to pre dinner drinks, a delicious four course meal and coffee, lots of help with how to best spend our one day in the region, a lift back from the local cognac distillery, hand written directions for the best route for the next leg of our journey south and refreshed water bottles for the drive, they were great hosts and deserve every success.

View more reviews for this inn

A haven of hospitality at Maison Maurice (Biron, Pons, France)

4.8 reviewed on June 27, 2013

A sign inside the door welcoming us by Cristian name was the first indication that we had arrived at somewhere special and so our stay proved. Maison Maurice is the definitive luxury B & B in France. Penny and Adrian are superb hosts with extremely high standards. We arrive as welcome guests and leave as committed friends

View more reviews for this inn

Excellent place to stay while exploring the Bordeaux wine region at Maison Maurice (Biron, Pons, France)

5 reviewed on May 27, 2013

Excellent place to stay when travelling from ferries to Southern France or Spain. Just a short distance from the motorway from St Malo to Bordeaux, with easy to follow instructions from the motorway. Adrian and Penny are warm and welcoming hosts. The food we sampled was excellent, both tea, supper and breakfast were superb with local and home-made produce. The accommodation is warm and comfortable with 'special welcoming touches'. The decor is stylish, very well thought out and decorated to a very high standard. We felt as though we were treated as old friends who had dropped by to stay for a few days and despite the single night booking were given greatly appreciated advice on routes and things to do and see in the surrounding area. This high quality B&B is an excellent choice whether for a single night stopover or a longer stay while exploring this most interesting area of France. Thoroughly recommended

View more reviews for this inn

A very special place at Maison Maurice (Biron, Pons, France)

5 reviewed on May 19, 2013

Even a brief stay at Maison Maurice will reveal why it has been rated as one of the top ten B&Bs in the international category. The attention to detail in every aspect of the accommodation reflects the high standard that Penny and Adrian set themselves whilst still providing a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Just the garden itself is worth a visit and the dinners equally delightful! If you are anywhere in the area seek out this hidden gem - you will not be disappointed.

View more reviews for this inn

très très bon acceuil at BnB Dominique (Angouleme, France)

4.2 reviewed on May 13, 2013

Séjour relaxant. Dominique et son mari nous ont vraiment chouchouté. Appartement très agréable, mélange d'ancien et de moderne avec beaucoup de gout.

View more reviews for this inn

très bon accueil at BnB Dominique (Angouleme, France)

4.8 reviewed on May 02, 2013

Très bon accueil, appartement avec charme et espace. Propriétaires vraiment gentils, serviables et flexibles:) Je recommande!!

View more reviews for this inn

A little bit of heaven at Maison Maurice (Biron, Pons, France)

5 reviewed on November 12, 2012

Amateur travellers in France myself and my partner pre-booked 3 B&B's to break up the journey down to Languedoc. We had no recommendation to go on bar what we read in various internet sites. Maison Maurice was the second of those selected B&B's and it turned out to be a total winner. The house is a peaceful haven with superbly renovated bedrooms - each of which has a different theme. The rooms are of a good size with individual modern en suite bathrooms. They share some features like beautiful oak beams and are peaceful, cool places for resting up after a long day. The house is set in its own gardens which during sunny periods offer the guest the chance to sit out and have breakfast or take some sun whilst reading a book. The best part of Maison Maurice however is not the building or its interior (excellent and all as those are) - it is the hosts Penny and Adrian who make the thing complete. They are a bubbly energetic couple with many years experience in stressful careers left behind to take on this challenge of running a B&B in France. And boy do they do it well. Prepare to be spoilt - the food - breakfast and dinner - were superb and presented with excellent wines - Rose, white and red. We recommend you try the local Pineau - a pre dinner drink which Adrian introduced us to and we took away 6 bottles back to Ireland!! The walks around the house - through the vines and the fields of sunflowers are beautiful. Our initial visit was so pleasant I called into Penny/Adrian on my way back from Languedoc and enjoyed that stay as much as the first trip. We are already planning our return in 2013. If you are anywhere near Biron then do yourself a favour - divert to Maison Mauirce - you will not be disappointed.

View more reviews for this inn

Excellent Visit at Maison Maurice (Biron, Pons, France)

5 reviewed on October 05, 2012

We really enjoyed our few days stay with Penny and Adrian from the warm welcome, lovely room and excellent breakfasts and dinners, they made us feel at ease in their beautiful home. Nothing was too much trouble and their knowledgeable advice of areas to visit made for an excellent stay. Thoroughly recommended and having left as friends hope to return in the future.

View more reviews for this inn

Saved The Best For Last at Maison Maurice (Biron, Pons, France)

5 reviewed on September 21, 2012

We cannot fault anything about our stay at Maison Maurice other than to say we wished it was for longer. By far the best B&B of our French holiday. The accommodation was characterful & classy. The attention to detail was lovely from the sprig of fresh lavender on our pillow to the colourful little flowers on the fruit at breakfast. We had the most memorable fine dining experience in the garden on a beautiful evening. The wine flowed (many thanks to Adrian) & Penny's food was exquisite. Breakfast was also one to remember including delicious homemade preserves & banana cake & I must not forget the fresh figs from the tree in the garden (we were also given a generous supply to bring home) Adrian & Penny are fantastic hosts & we can't wait to return

View more reviews for this inn

Another lovely stay! at Maison Maurice (Biron, Pons, France)

5 reviewed on September 16, 2012

Thank you Penny and Adrian (and Molly the dog!) for another lovely break. We visit Maison Maurice at least once a year on our way down from the UK to the south or back. Our two young children invariably cheer when we get to the village because they know they are going to be spoilt rotten by these lovely people, who go out of their way to make sure everyone in the family is well looked after. For that reason, the children tend to behave very well meaning we can really relax. All the rooms are spotless and tastefully decorated and the garden a gorgeous oasis of calm where, if you visit in summer, you can enjoy an alfresco breakfast or dinner. We go for walks and visit the local beaches but always try to get back for dinner at Maison Maurice because Penny really is a fab cook. I always come away with a few new recipes written down and sometimes cuttings from the garden. An excellent B&B. Highly recommended. Whoever you are and whatever your circumstances I can guarantee Penny and Adrian will make you feel welcome.

View more reviews for this inn

A Great Place to Stay at Maison Maurice (Biron, Pons, France)

5 reviewed on September 10, 2012

A group of 8 of us arrived at Maison Maurice on 08/09/12 while touring around France. Adrian and Penny turned out to be the most amazing hosts, nothing was too much trouble, Our rooms were tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. Dinner was delicious, Penny is a fantastic cook. Our stay with them was easily the best of our holiday. Excellent value for money. We will certainly return there again, A Fantastic stay, Thank you to Adrian and Penny , look forward to staying with you again, Maeve and Dennis

View more reviews for this inn

A Charming Long Weekend! at Maison Maurice (Biron, Pons, France)

5 reviewed on August 13, 2012

My girlfriend and I just spent 3 nights at Maison Maurice - From the first minute Adrian and Penny were welcoming and very attentive to our every need. The beautiful farmhouse boasts a wonderful traditional feel with comfortable, large rooms with modern en-suite. Penny does a superb breakfast with homemade preserves, yogurts, fresh fruits and breads. Adrian and Penny provided us with lots of helpful local info, they were kind enough to spend time giving us directions to local restaurants and beaches. We also loved the company of their lovely little dog Molly - a great 'doggy fix' for us as we were missing our own dog at home! A thoroughly enjoyable stay - we couldn't recommend Maison Maurice more! Looking forward to our next visit. Chris & Chloe

View more reviews for this inn

Overnight stay in Pons after nightmare in Nantes at Maison Maurice (Biron, Pons, France)

5 reviewed on July 26, 2012

We stayed with Penny and Adrian in Maison Maurice at the end of June for one night while en route from Dublin to the Sud. We were welcomed and given (pre booked) a fantastic evening meal by Penny even though we were very late arriving there due to a long delay outside Nantes. The rooms were spotless and the beds so comfortable we sleep like babies. Breakfast was served in their wonderful English style garden and Penny was on hand to lay on a wonderful spread once again.Fresh croissants and crusty bread with a great selection of homemade preserves . Definitely recommend this B&B it really is outstanding in every category.

View more reviews for this inn

Two wonderful weeks in Summer 2012 in Poitou-Charentes at Maison Maurice (Biron, Pons, France)

5 reviewed on July 21, 2012

We spend our holidays every year in Chambres d'Hotes in France. This year, we have been in a jewel: Quality, Kindness, Value for Money, Reliability and Extraordinarity like care during our sick days. The kitchen of Maison Maurice let us forget the restaurants. Dining was completed by the English humour of Penny and Adriand, and the singing dog (Molly). We met very friendly other guests from Italy and Lithuania and had also very friendly contacts on the markets and the concerts with the people from Poitou-Charentes. We had always time to retire and we could relax very well. The coast gave us great possibilities for sports like walking. We'll come back surely. Thank you very much Penny and Adrian - and Molly.

View more reviews for this inn

Family from Lithuania at Maison Maurice (Biron, Pons, France)

5 reviewed on July 17, 2012

Everything was just perfect, Penny and Adrian know how to make your stay wonderful, I think a dinner is a must, if you stay at Maison Maurice. With the best wishes from Lithuania, Jurate

View more reviews for this inn

soggiorno tranquillo at Maison Maurice (Biron, Pons, France)

5 reviewed on July 09, 2012

Abbiamo trascorso 2 giorni indimenticabili. I titolari sono molto cordiali e disponibili per qualsiasi consiglio durante il soggiorno nella loro casa. Lo raccomandiamo a tutti coloro che hanno intenzione di visitare la regione del Cognac.

View more reviews for this inn

Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Maison Maurice (4.90)
  2. BnB Dominique (4.56)