Recent Reviews in Pittsfield, Illinois

Cozy getaway at William Watson Hotel (Pittsfield, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on October 09, 2017

Loved my stay in this historic hotel! The staff was very personable and helpful! The room was very cozy and vintage. You could smell how clean the room was when you walked in the door' having the coffee shop right next door was so convenient. They had great coffee and delicious baked goods! All around had a great stay! Would definitely recommend!

View more reviews for this inn


Best choice for the area at William Watson Hotel (Pittsfield, Illinois)

4.6 reviewed on October 04, 2017

I don't normally choose 'bed and breakfast' type lodging as I was previously concerned it would be noisy (like being in a big, old house with a large group of people) but surprisingly, it was peaceful, quiet, and I never heard any other guests. Check in was easy, my bed was comfortable, and the room had a mini fridge and microwave...I believe you have to book the suite to get these items. This is a great place to stay, at a reasonable price.

View more reviews for this inn


Repeat Guests at William Watson Hotel (Pittsfield, Illinois)

5 reviewed on September 11, 2017

Having moved from this area, my husband and I have stayed at the Watson several times through the years while attending various events. The staff is always friendly and and courteous. The rooms are very clean, comfortable, and inviting. I recommend the William Watson Hotel to anyone searching for a lovely place to stay while visiting in Pike County.

View more reviews for this inn


Quite Comfortable Weekend at William Watson Hotel (Pittsfield, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on September 05, 2017

We wanted to go to Hannibal, MO for the Steampunk Festival but didn't decide to go until the day before it started. Pittsfield was the next closest to choose from that wasn't a rundown hotel. We loved our stay, the staff were very courteous. The room was spacious and the beds were very comfortable. I usually have a hard time sleeping in hotel beds, but I fell fast asleep here. The location of the hotel right in down town was convenient with several dining options within walking distance. And we loved that it is a pet friendly hotel. There is so much history in the area and within a 30 mile radius. We can't wait for another long weekend so we can go back and visit other sites in the area.

View more reviews for this inn


Clean n' Cozy Country Charm at William Watson Hotel (Pittsfield, Illinois)

3.8 reviewed on September 03, 2017

Located in huntin' n' farmin' country between the Illinois and Mississippi rivers, you might have lowered expectations from a bed & breakfast located there, but you won't find unkempt rooms nor cookie cutter sterility at the William Watson. The laid back country vibe is set with a collection of flea market furnishings in every corner that fully extends to the "S'all good, you're family!" sensibility of the staff and management. Don't expect anyone to handhold or hover over you unless you ask for it. For my most recent stay, I called ahead to let them know I'd be arriving around nine in the evening. Granted, I am a repeat visitor, however instead of fuss or over-concern, I got instructions on how to let myself in, retrieve my key and find my room; just thorough and convenient customer service. Different rooms on each of my stays have been consistent: nearly spotless (I did look, but didn't look hard, surely there are some), clean comfortable beds, cable tv, and free WiFi. Despite being in a 168 year-old building, I didn't hear a peep from any of the other guests. Quiet and comfortable– what more can you ask for, really? Breakfast is a tasty selection of muffins, baked goods and fresh fruit in the serve-yourself community kitchen. You'll find mini coffee pots in each of the rooms, but in the kitchen there's a cup-at-a-time maker, along with instant oatmeal and individual-serving cereals to choose from, too. It feels a bit like being at your mom's house alone while she's out grocery shopping. You're absolutely gonna get taken care of– you'll find something to suit you, but it's generally no-frills. Skip the sterile chain hotel and the questionable AirBnB listings. If the Pittsfield area is where you'll be resting your head for the night, book your room at the William Watson. C. Smith, Chicago

View more reviews for this inn


Eclipse Eve at William Watson Hotel (Pittsfield, Illinois)

4.0 reviewed on August 22, 2017

My wife and I stayed here the night before the 2017 eclipse. On our way home from a long weekend getaway. Staff was friendly and welcoming. The room was small but clean with enough of the amenities to be comfortable. No mini fridge or microwave in our room, wasn't a big deal for us but should be noted. Ate dinner at a local Italian restaurant, had a quite night. Had coffee and a muffin at the Free Press coffee shop which is attached. We didn't partake of the free continental breakfast so I can't speak about that. A perfectly fine place to spend the night before hitting the road. Historic surroundings. Someday I'm going to find out what's happening with the Zoe theater.

View more reviews for this inn


Awesome at William Watson Hotel (Pittsfield, Illinois)

4.6 reviewed on August 10, 2017

Quaint and quiet. The historic features were amazing. The staff was super friendly and allowed us to check in early. Loved the ambiance this place provided!

View more reviews for this inn


Nice Hotel with History at William Watson Hotel (Pittsfield, Illinois)

4.6 reviewed on August 09, 2017

Nice hotel, good history and nice location.

View more reviews for this inn


Step back into history at William Watson Hotel (Pittsfield, Illinois)

4.4 reviewed on August 07, 2017

If you want to experience a comfortable and historic stay, the Watson is for you. We have stayed twice now in the handicapped accessible rooms (heart condition, no stairs, please) and found the rooms clean and comfortable. The atmosphere is wonderful! Easy access to local restaurants. Breakfast is simple fare, but adequate.Bottled water available at all times. Coffee in Free Press (adjoining) is yummy. The people are just family you haven't met yet!

View more reviews for this inn


Charming Historical Inn at William Watson Hotel (Pittsfield, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on July 24, 2017

Unique hotel with quaint and comfortable rooms -- a highlight of our vacation.

View more reviews for this inn


Bed and Breakfast at William Watson Hotel (Pittsfield, Illinois)

5 reviewed on July 20, 2017

Great place to stay. It's unique and the service is amazing.

View more reviews for this inn


Romantic and historical! at William Watson Hotel (Pittsfield, Illinois)

5 reviewed on June 12, 2017

We loved this quaint hotel. The history was interesting. Beds were very comfortable too. The staff was very welcoming. We will definitely stay again and recommend to others. Lovely restaurant across the street. Linda and Joe Greene Taylorville IL

View more reviews for this inn


Really charming at William Watson Hotel (Pittsfield, Illinois)

4.6 reviewed on May 02, 2017

We stayed on a Sunday night so the lobby was unattended with materials clearly displayed for check in along with our room key. The lobby and common areas are decorated with curated antique and newer art. Our room overlooked the courtyard and was small (queen bed and one chair and dresser) but with a lovely modern spotless bathroom. The bed was comfortable (thought the floor slanted - not unexpected in an older building). We carried our bags upstairs, so that's perhaps not to everyone's taste. There is a breakfast room with cold cereal and milk, instant oatmeal, bread and peanut butter, and juice in a gallon jug in the fridge. There is a single serving coffee maker and tea bags. There is a coffee shop off the lobby if you want something more substantial. Overall, a fun stop and something different than a brand name chain stop off the highway.

View more reviews for this inn


Charming Place at William Watson Hotel (Pittsfield, Illinois)

4.6 reviewed on April 24, 2017

This place was so cute and very clean. We loved the rooms and the staff was so friendly. We will stay there again for sure and recommend it to others.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Friendly owners Beautiful Place at William Watson Hotel (Pittsfield, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on March 30, 2017

Was in town with My Wife and Kids saw nothing but Smiles from restaurant waitresses and owners and everyone else we came into contact with. Beautiful town and wonderful people. Craig & Lora Schererville Indiana .

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. William Watson Hotel (4.46)
Top
check }