The Mercersburg Inn Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service4.5
  • Value4.2
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Onsite Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
142 Reviews

Write A Review

Incredible Experience

5 on November 21, 2016

What an incredible experience! The hospitality was professional, welcoming, and extremely accommodating. The staff were kind, attentive, and made sure that all of our needs were met. The breakfast was beyond words (numerous offerings made for a delectable experience)! The room was refreshing, and one of the best nights of sleep we have ever had. We highly recommend you go out of your way to stay at the Mercersburg Inn! You will not regret your decision.


The place the world forgot

4.8 on June 27, 2016

Awesome says it all. I accidently stumbled onto this magnificent old hotel at 11:00PM and had no idea what to expect when I rang the door bell. I was greeted by one of the nicest most interesting lady's I have ever met. Her name is Lisa and she made me feel like her and her husband Jim had been waiting all day for me. It was like stepping back into time with a touch of true class. The rooms are each very unique, some with private balcony's. The rooms do not have a TV and I thank God for that. They are equipped with Wi-Fi if you really need to be on your computer. The entire hotel is so immaculate and squeaky clean it makes you smile. The sheets are so crisp they smell fresh-air dried like my mother did when I was a kid. The prices are fair, the staff is their when you need them and not when you don't. I took a lot of pictures because I knew no one would believe what I found. I can't wait to come back again with my wife and best friends so they can share this experience. The town is very historic and it even has an ice cream shop called "Just-In Time. This is not just a nice place to stay, it is a magnificent experience. Thank you Jim and Lisa.


Idyllic Luxury

5 on April 27, 2016

The Mercersburg Inn is a tranquil paradise nestled in the mountains of rural Pennsylvania. The idyllic setting, quiet solitude and attentive service combined to make our night away perfect. Our room was bright and spacious and featured a private balcony that overlooked the small town and lush grounds. We had an opportunity to peek into many of the other rooms, and each one had its own character, all decorated in period motifs that flowed beautifully with the decor of of the Inn, itself, which was originally built in 1909 as a private home. The game room downstairs featured a pool table, air hockey table, games and a library, which in addition to the lovely sitting rooms upstairs all enhanced the experience and added to the relaxing and home-like atmosphere. Sadly, we were not able to enjoy dinner there, but the breakfast was spectacular and the homemade granola superb. The Innkeepers were delightful to talk with and we look forward to returning in the future.


gorgeous and accommodating B&B

5 on March 02, 2016

The INN is a wonderfully restored and kept mansion. Each room was restored and decorated with great thought and detail and in keeping with it's early 1900's origin. It was very enjoyable to browse through each uniquely decorated room. The owners were very engaging and we found it easy to break into conversation. Our breakfast was fruit, coffee, juice, a warm breakfast cake and a delicious goas cheese tart. It was a 10! We will definitely be back.


Another great weekend

5 on November 12, 2015

We have stayed here many times over the past few years and love it more each time. Beautiful accommodations, warm and helpful staff and we always have the most delicious dinner at the restaurant. Just an awesome place which I wouldn't have any hesitation to recommend. We will be back again and again! I honestly can't say enough good things about this place.


Weekend Getaway

5 on October 31, 2015

We have stayed here many times over the past few years and love it more each time. Beautiful accommodations, warm and helpful staff and we always have the most delicious dinner at the restaurant. Just an awesome place which I wouldn't have any hesitation to recommend. We will be back again and again! I honestly can't say enough good things about this place.


New Years at Mercersburg

4.6 on January 04, 2015

Great time with friends former visit.


Mercersburg stay

3.6 on November 11, 2014

The staff were very friendly, the decor in the dining area and public rooms were great (a single discordant note for the mantelpiece katana). Obviously a great amount of care and love have gone into the manor house. The dining room decor and appointment was exceptional. Food was mediocre, to salty for our taste. The carriage house was similarly well appointed. All in all a very nice overnight.


Enjoyed our stay immensely!

5 on November 10, 2014

My fiancée and I will be getting married at the inn in March and has never been there before so we went for a night to view the inn and meet with the innkeepers to go over details of the wedding. Jim has gone out of his way to arrange meetings with vendors and assist in the planning whenever we need. Our room was beautiful and spacious. Everything from the food to the grounds were beyond expectations! We cannot wait for our wedding!!!


Wonderful Inn!

5 on November 05, 2014

My wife and I stayed here while vending at a nearby historical event. The place is spectacular and the staff is attentive, professional, and friendly. The owner came around at dinner and chatted with us too. Highly recommended.


A weekend in the country

5 on October 20, 2014

My wife and I love this place. We've been visiting the Inn for over a decade, and have never been disappointed in the excellent accommodations, service and food. For a weekend in the country, away from the bustle of city life there is no finer place. Jim & Lisa McCoy and their devoted staff have fine tuned the art of hospitality. George & Barbara


review

5 on October 01, 2014

Did not have the opportunity to Dine at the Inn as I was only there for one night. The aromas emanating from the kitchen were wonderful!!


Gorgeous B&B

4.4 on September 10, 2014

This is a beautiful Inn. We were in town for a wedding and didn’t get an opportunity to thoroughly enjoy our stay for we were not at the Inn very long. We had a lovely surprise when we arrived. They had upgraded our room for us! Hopefully we will get an opportunity in the future to visit again. Thank you for such a smooth and hassle free stay in this gorgeous building.


A Very Pleasant Stay

4.0 on August 28, 2014

Our room was spacious and very clean. The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. We only stayed one night and it was worth it.


Wedding guest

3.6 on August 20, 2014

Felt like we were nickel and dimed - $10 charge to make up fold out couch when there was already a cot in the room.....................nice but pricey for the middle of nowhere.


Mercersburg Gem

3.8 on August 13, 2014

The Mercersburg Inn is a wonderful place to stay if you are visiting the Mercersburg, PA area. It is a beautiful historic home located right in town. Some of the rooms are very expensive, but the less extravagant rooms are lovely as well. They serve a wonderful breakfast every morning which is included in your room rate. Byron's Restaurant is also open in the evening on weekends for dinner. We had a delicious dinner there the first night of our stay.


Great Getaway Inn

5 on July 07, 2014

This inn is great! The inn is a grand structure in a treed lot. It has a very nice wood trimmed interior, and is furnished with wonderful antiques. The balcony room was roomy and well appointed. The staff is friendly and welcoming. Dinner was very good as well.


Relaxing and enjoyable stay at The Mercersburg Inn

4.8 on June 30, 2014

My husband and I celebrated our 38th Anniversary at the Mercersburg Inn while returning home to North Carolina from visiting family in PA/OH areas. Lisa and Jim were gracious and welcoming hosts. We toured the inn and found it to be gorgeous and elegant. We chose to stay in the Carriage House/North room as it had television in the room. However, with the beautiful grounds and spacious game room, we really would not have needed the television. Jim's breakfasts were absolutely wonderful - so delicious with generous portions. The beautiful breakfast room with lovely setting and spacious windows was a great way to start our day. In addition, we enjoyed playing games of pool in the game room - something that we had not done in years - though "rusty" for sure, we thoroughly enjoyed it! We had a wonderful time at the Mercersburg Inn. Thanks to Jim and Lisa for their hospitality!


A fantastic find

5 on June 17, 2014

It was a quick trip ( one night )but what a lovely property!! Felt like a step back in time. Beautiful property with pristine up keep and amazing hospitality. Can't wait to come back


Perfect Day in Mercrsburg

3.8 on June 03, 2014

Wonderful Hotel with Great Atmosphere and outstanding rooms


Good Time

5 on May 05, 2014

Hot/cold water tweaky at times


Best B&B we've ever stayed in.

5 on April 23, 2014

Mercersburg Inn is a lovely place. The architecture is amazing and the staff is fantastic. We felt like we were living in history. We were disappointed that we had to leave the Inn to visit with relatives in the area. Breakfast was a feast for the eyes and the stomach. We'll stay here again when in the area.


Great get-away

4.2 on April 21, 2014

Great place- food was not quite what I expected, yet was very good. Should offer espresso for breakfast included in the cost- after paying $200+ a night a $5 charge for espresso is a bit odd.


Amazing Wedding Weekend

5 on April 11, 2014

My wife and I had our wedding at the Mercersburg Inn on April 5. We rented out the majority of the inn and adjoining property for family and friends. Lisa and Jim, the owners, were incredibly helpful throughout the whole planning process, and the execution of the entire event was 100% perfect and flawless. They food, both brunch and dinner, is also delicious, and the rooms and service are impeccable. We will without a doubt return to the inn for another visit sometime, and hopefully soon!


Our stay at the Mercersburg Inn

4.6 on April 04, 2014

The Inn was much bigger than we expected. Our room was tastefully decorated and the beds were very comfortable. The Inn was exceptionally clean. We decided to eat dinner at the Inn and were so pleased we did. Our meals were wonderful! The chef did an amazing job preparing our choices exactly as we indicated. We would recommend this Inn to others and we plan to return soon.


excellent B and B

4.8 on March 05, 2014

Probably the best B and B we have ever stayed in. Loved it and can't wait to go back


Excellent B&B

5 on February 26, 2014

I would come back to this B&B anytime, not just for a vacation but just to stay for a weekend getaway. This was my very first time visiting an B&B and I feel like I am hooked. They treated us so nice and the food was always SO fresh and served with a smile. There is no reason why I would not give The Mercersburg Inn 100% ratings.


So elegant we felt like the Granthams!

4.8 on February 26, 2014

A grand and delightful setting; our accomodations were complete from all sides, to include the superlative room and thoughtful details to the common rooms that were replete with history and were altogether quite inviting. Dining (both breakfast and dinner) were without question first rate and our guests were gracious and friendly throughout. We were inspired to use the National Registry index for future stays!


Nice place, would stay again!

3.8 on February 26, 2014

The house is beautiful. When you enter the rooms, you really feel like you are traveling back in time. The only thing that I felt could have improve was the service. The staff was okay. They did what was expected but were not welcoming.


A charming and romantic hotel !

3.6 on February 20, 2014

We loved it!! We spent the night in the Lavender room. There was some natural noise because it's an old house but not very loud. The bathroom was comfortable. Our dinner on Valentine's Day was delicious, a very warm and romantic atmosphere. In the morning, it was very nice to watch the snow fall from the window in the living room where breakfast is served, consisting of three very rich and fresh dishes. The owners were always very friendly and provided us a map with directions to the whitetail ski resort. We plan to return soon !!


Beautiful House, Friendly Owners/Staff

5 on February 09, 2014

We stayed for one night for a mid-week trip to Whitetail fairly late in the ski season. We were traveling with a small child so we had booked a room in the carriage house away from the other guests. It turned out there weren't many guests that particular night and there was going to be a big ice storm, so the owners (of their own volition and out of concern for the comfort/safety of our young daughter) upgraded us to a room in the main house. The room was fantastic and comfortable. The house was beautiful. Breakfast was very tasty. The entire experience was made even better by the helpful, friendly interactions we had with the staff and with the owners (in person, via email, and via phone)! I highly recommend The Mercersburg Inn.


Lovely getaway!

4.6 on January 26, 2014

Clean, cozy rooms. Great location -- we woke up early and hit the slopes at Whitetail!


Ski getaway

4.4 on January 08, 2014

Charming B&B with wonderful staff and superb food.


Beautiful !!!!! Stay here!!!!

5 on December 24, 2013

Everything from the room accommodations to the dining was beyond amazing. We absolutely fell in love with this inn and can't wait to plan our next visit. I highly recommend this lovely inn---I also feel like I can't place enough emphasis on how amazing the food is here.


A holiday weekend in SE Penna.

4.6 on December 04, 2013

Very lovely and stately B&B with outstanding dinners.


Outstanding!

5 on November 13, 2013

Friendly, efficient staff and hosts!


Wonderful Inn, very comfortable room.

4.6 on October 21, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 1 year anniversary at The Mercersburg Inn. Our stay there was wonderful. The house itself is beautiful, and all of the guest rooms are unique and well appointed (we peeked into the ones that were open). Breakfasts were outstanding, and our dinner on Friday night in the dining room was perfect. I can only use positive adjectives to describe this Inn, we hope to return one day. The only area I cannot give an "Outstanding" rating to is Value, only because the price of the weekend is higher than we would normally spend on ourselves. No complaints though, it's obvious the costs are high because the money goes back into running an exceptional Inn.


Great getaway/fabulous meals

4.8 on October 20, 2013

Beautiful property in nice small towm. The staff made us both feel so special.


Mercersburg Inn

3.6 on October 14, 2013

Nice room, staff was very friendly and helpful.


Perfect peaceful getaway.Outstanding food!

4.4 on September 18, 2013

Beautiful room. Quite place (no TVs! )....Great food....perfect!


Recent Stays

4.8 on August 15, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our second visit at Mercersburg Inn. We were so pleased with our first stay that we made reservations to return before we checked out. We are now scheduled for our third visit in October. The owners and staff great you by name when you arrive and are so courteous throughout the stay at the Inn. The Inn's decor reflects the details and care given by the owners. We both highly recommend staying at this Inn for a relaxing and positive experience.


Beautiful Georgian Bed & Breakfast

4.2 on August 15, 2013

We had a great stay at the Mercersburg Inn. We stayed in the room right above the front entrance. It was quite spacious and comfortable. The view from the balcony was beautiful. We walked around the house and grounds and everything was clean and well maintained. Breakfast was good although we didn't get a chance to partake in dinner w/ the chef on vacation during our stay. We definitely would make a return visit.


Simply the Best!

4.6 on August 07, 2013

Needed a weekend away and saw an excellent "Hot Deal" for the weekend, so I booked 2 nights. Was a wonderful experience from the moment Missy the ass't innkeeper met me at the front door until we hugged goodbye on Monday morning (I ended up staying an extra night) ! I stayed in the "Garden View" room which had top of the line bedding, towels, toiletries, etc. I slept like a baby! And breakfast every morning? Out of this world, from the French Bread Custard to the Goat Cheese Tart, the homemade granola (mama mia!), to the apricot plum cake and the stuffed banana cake......mangia! They have a top rated dining room for dinner but the chef was on vacation. The town is extremely small and there is only one nice sit down restaurant, Flannery's in town besides fast food, which I ate at Sat night. The Inn has a great side veranda with cushioned comfy wicker chairs and ottoman. Good enough for some relaxing on Sun afternoon! Renee the night clerk was a real sweetheart and made sure I wanted for nothing while she was there. I can not wait to return with my husband for a relaxing weekend away! We have stayed at B&B's and Inns from Maine to NC and this ranked up there near the top. Kudos to owners Jim and Lisa!!!


Another nice stay at the Mercersburg Inn

3.4 on July 30, 2013

This was my 4 or 5th stay at the Inn. Obviously I have always enjoyed my visits or I would not have continued to come back. In the past, I have booked one of the bigger more costly rooms and have always been pleased, however, this time I booked one of the smaller, less expensive rooms, which helps explains my scoring, that is, the room met my expectations. We had dinner and it was excellent and expected.


Quaint B & B

3.8 on July 27, 2013

The Mercersburg Inn is in an historic house full of period details and furnishings. However, if you visit during the summer be prepared for the fact that the entire house is not air-conditioned so when you leave your room it is like walking outside. The third floor has central air, which didn't work very well during the time we were there because of the unusually hot weather. Because of this we asked to change to a room on the second floor where the rooms have individual AC units. The second floor room was larger, as well, and much more comfortable. The bathrooms in both rooms we stayed in were very small, especially the showers which were so cramped as to be uncomfortable. The rooms also do not have televisions or radios. The only television in the house is in the basement "game room". The exceptional aspect of the Mercersburg Inn is the food. Dinner is offered four nights a week and the on-site chef is outstanding. Breakfasts are prepared by the Innkeeper/Owner and were delicious without fail. If we make another visit to the Mercersburg Inn, it will be in the fall or winter.


Exceptional & Relaxing

4.6 on July 10, 2013

Just the weekend we needed after a crazy busy first half of the year. Peaceful town and room and a very comfortable bed. We had a wonderful weekend. The breakfast were fabulous.


Excellent!

5 on July 03, 2013

Everything was excellent. The owners truly wanted our stay to be nice in every way. If you stay, you must have dinner on site as the food is exceptional. Unfortunately we had to leave early before breakfast was served so we did not experience the breakfast food but can not imagine it would be anything but wonderful.


Weekend Birthday Getaway

4.2 on June 23, 2013

A nice drive to a lovely location. The Inn was all I expected it to be. We had a wonderful time.


Mercersburg Inn

4.0 on June 16, 2013

The Mercersburg Inn is one of the most peaceful, unique places I have ever stayed. The overall accommodations -- from the Inn's architecture, its grounds, its furnishings and decorations, and its well-appointed rooms --- made for a wonderful weekend in Mercersburg. I had debated staying there and am so glad I decided to.


Mercersburg Inn

4.6 on June 12, 2013

Very well restored and immaculate. Attention to detail throughout. Only improvement needed is an ice machine on each floor.


Mercersburg Inn

3.2 on June 04, 2013

Picturesque older (circa 1908) home in quiet setting. Spur of the moment trip so didn't plan to do much in the area. Which was good since there didn't seem to be much to do, but maybe more if planned well. Lots of history in the area. The accommodations were very comfortable. You may want to stay in the guesthouse rooms if you like TV.


Mercersburg Weekend

5 on May 22, 2013

We visit the Mercersburg Inn regularly for their cooking class weekends. Each room we've stayed in has been unique, welcoming, and thoughtfully appointed. I particularly want to highlight the restaurant, which serves food far exceeding expectations.


Mercersburg Inn

4.0 on April 29, 2013

My wife and I were the only people at the Mercersburg Inn on a Wednesday. They upgraded us to Tid's room room. We were just passing through for an evening and wanted something different than the usual Hampton or Fairfield. We ate dinner at Flannery's Tavern in Mercersburg since the Inn's restaurant is only open Thurs-Sun. Breakfast at the Inn was excellent. We were able to see all the rooms. They were all excellent so I would not worry about choosing. Most had small bathrooms but they were clean and functional. Rooms in the back had less road noise. Wifi worked great. If there was an event like a wine tasting, this place would be excellent. A little pricey but a great weekend getaway spot.


Mercersburg Inn is a jewel!

5 on March 15, 2013

We have stayed at this lovely inn for years and the experience is always fantastic. Jim and Lisa are great inn keepers and they always ensure our stay is memorable. The rooms have lots of charm, the restaurant is excellent and the service impeccable. Jim makes a gourmet breakfast in the mornings (fruit salad, coffee cake, quiche, bacon, sausages, granola cereal, hot chocolate, you name it). The game room downstairs (pool, air hockey, chess, TV) is a great bonus and the perfect spot to chill after a day on the Whitetail slopes or the golf course. If you are in the area, there is no better place to stay. Highly recommend it!


Great Value at Mercersburg Inn

4.8 on March 04, 2013

Innkeepers Jim and Lisa do a great job of making guests feel comfortable and welcome. They provide a wonderful historuc country inn experience combined with good food at very affordable prices.


A honeymoon start

5 on February 23, 2013

We spent the first night of our honeymoon here in the Romantic Retreat room, and it was great. The room was beautiful, the staff was accomodating, and the food was fabulous!


Reliving a Bygone Time

3.4 on February 20, 2013

This is a gorgeous mansion that is nicely kept by its owners. I was very favorably impressed by the quality of furniture and linen. It is decorated with very nice taste and respect for the period. It is a perfect place to relax and/or go to the Whitetail slopes. The one thing that needs improvement in some rooms are the shower stalls, which are totally out of place in such a beautiful house. Owners are very hospitable. We were there in winter and there was practically no activities in the town of Mercersburg. The surrounding farmland is very attractive and certainly must be beautiful in spring and fall.


Great Weekend Getaway

5 on February 20, 2013

We planned our stay with another couple so that they could all go skiing and i could go shopping. Worked out great for everyone. The Mercerberg in was so cozy after a long day. The rooms were clean and very inviting. We all enjoyed breakfast as well.


February 16th

4.4 on February 20, 2013

The Nanny's room was quite lovely. It was down it's own little hallway and had a nice big balcony off the hall. All the staff we dealt with were very nice and the game room was a fun time. The only downfall was that when the bathroom door was open you could hear the folks in the garden room (next room over).


Wonderful first time B&B Experience!

3.8 on February 07, 2013

The rooms were beautiful and this was a wonderful experience! The staff were all very friendly and made me feel well taken care of. This was my first time staying at a B&B and I definitely want to do it again!


Mercersburg Inn

5 on January 23, 2013

Great, cute little place to stay. It's quiet with a friendly and helpful staff close to the local ski resort and close enough to walk into the town of mercersburg. Delicious dinner and of course, breakfast. Would definitely recommend this inn!


1st experiance

4.8 on January 23, 2013

This was my first experiance with any B&B. The reservation process was easy, the owners and staff were lovely to deal with. I would go there again, without any concern. House was as represented. Food was quite filling and satisfying.


Mercersburg Inn

4.6 on January 09, 2013

Overall, nice inn--really enjoyed the decor of the living room and common areas. Our room was nice as well. Breakfast the next morning was a nice touch and definitely well done


A wonderful Romantic evening.

4.6 on January 03, 2013

My wife and I spent our anniversary evening at the Inn and had a wonderful time. The dining was superb and the cozy, romantic atmosphere of the Inn was great as always.


Outstanding B&B

5 on January 03, 2013

I rarely fill out surveys... but this establishment deserves my support. It was a fantastic value and the level of cleanliness and service was something that I have not experienced in a long time. Highly recommended.


Romantic Getaway

3.2 on December 18, 2012

Great bed and breakfast getaway. A bit on the pricey side, which is why I didn't rate it higher. The price raised my expectations. Everything was just fine with our stay. Retaurant was good and food quality commensurate with the price.


girls weekend

4.8 on December 16, 2012

My best friend of 40 years and I have a 'girls weekend' once a year. (we were girls once!) After many different locations, we have stayed here 4 or 5 years in a row. We don't even question where we will go anymore. The rooms are lovely, the food great, Lisa and Jim and the wait staff are all skilled and is friendly without being cloying. We take a pilgrimage trip to Green Castle coffee rosters each year and always purchase at the local farmers markets. The town is also a lovely place to walk and talk. We highly recommend the Mercersburg Inn.


Mercersburg Inn

4.6 on November 28, 2012

Breakfast & dinners were both excellent. Beautiful room. Very relaxing & peaceful stay.


Excellent choice

4.8 on November 26, 2012

The Inn was well maintained, clean and elegant. The staff and owners made you feel at home. The dining and breakfast experience were superb. This was an excellent choice for our one night stopover. We will probably return on a similar occasion.


Two couples, two great nights

4.6 on November 16, 2012

We have been making two to three 2-night B&B trips for the past dozen years with our friends and our visit this past week at the mansion certainly ranks on top among our stays. Hosts Lisa and Jim welcomed us and continually saw to our needs during our visit, which included a tour of the beautiful inn, along with many historic and interesting facts of the Inn and the area. We definitely enjoyed the first-rate breakfasts and the service provided. Unfortunately we were there on off nights for Byron's Dining Room. Our visit was between seasons but just enjoying the period furnishings of the Inn one can imagine the summer and/or winter gardens and decorations, especially with large rooms and the double stairway. The rooms were very comfortable, clean and quiet. We all four agree to make another stop at the Inn in the future.


A Perfect Wedding Site

5 on November 06, 2012

I found the Mercersburg Inn online and knew from the photos that it was the perfect location to have our wedding. A few months before we made a trip out to try dinner in Byron’s Dining room and were amazed by the sautéed shrimp and the lamb. The attention to detail in the decoration of the mansion and presentation of dinner confirmed that we had made the right choice. Jim and Lisa were amazing; from organizing a small wedding for us to hosting our closest friends and family for the reception. The whole stay we felt so welcomed, like staying with old friends. We enjoyed a three course breakfast the day after our wedding which was just as impressive as the dinner we had the night before. We stayed in the romantic retreat and the room was stunning. The plush king size bed was so comfortable and from the fireplace through to the bathroom, the claw foot Jacuzzi tub to the appointments of lush bathrobes that my husband is still talking about, it was an truly amazing experience. I cannot wait for our anniversary to indulge again in staying at Mercersburg Inn. Thank you, Candice and Andy Wyant


Great place! Great food!

4.0 on November 06, 2012

We stayed one night in the Carriage House. It was clean, cozy, and perfect. We had a delicious dinner and wonderful breakfast the next morning. I would stay again, maybe in one of the main rooms. It is really beautiful.


Nice Anniversary Stay

4.0 on October 18, 2012

We stayed in the Dressing Room. It has a private balcony overlooking the main street in Mercersburg. Very nice to sit out there and watch the traffic go by. Bruce, the bartender and our server at dinner was very knowledgeable about the menu and wine list. The dinner fare and breakfast was outstanding. Jim and Lisa were there when we needed them and were not there when we didn't. Perfect hosts.


Fourth visit -- fourh memorable stay!

5 on October 11, 2012

Our 4th stay at with Jim and Lisa the owners of The Mercersburg Inn. We had another wonderful time in their stately mansion. Don't miss out on dinner at the inn!


Like being treated as royalty!

5 on October 02, 2012

Hosts Jim and Lisa made us feel as welcome as family. I don't think the Byron family itself, whose mansion this was, could have been treated any better back in their day. The downstairs is beautifully decorated with antiques and period furnishings - Lisa has wonderful taste. The living rooms are pleasant and comfortable - light and airy. The bedroom was equally well-appointed, the bed comfortable. With the door to the balcony ajar, the night sounds of crickets chirping lulled us quickly to sleep. The morning breakfast on the sun porch was delicious - French Toast Custard deliciously prepared by Jim himself, with an equally luscious almond coffee cake and fresh fruit. It's worth a trip to Mercersburg just to spend a night at the Inn!


A Nice Stay

4.4 on August 29, 2012

This was my first time staying at a Bed & Breakfast. The Inn was wonderful and gorgeous! The only thing is that the bar was left unattended & it took awhile to get drinks, also each time we got a drink someone different served us and charged us differently?


A Wonderful Birthday stay

4.8 on August 27, 2012

We enjoyed the spacious Prospect View Room which included the private outdoor balcony. I took my dessert from a scruptious dinner to enjoy on the balcony. The innkeepers were personable and made sure we had everything that we needed. We went to scout this place as a possible elopement site, and we were not disappointed! Can see a fall wedding in our future!


Dining was exquisite

5 on August 18, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Only drawback was their not allowing us to bring our own wine into the room. They should relax that rule....call the LCB. Their chef was magnificient.....we went back for seconds !! The spinach quiche for breakfast was in a class by itself ! We will return.....


An escape to a gorgeous Inn

5 on August 15, 2012

I have been to this Inn since 1961 !!! It has gone through several owners but it has NEVER been as beautiful as it is now. The owners have gone out of their way to preserve the historical significance of the times past in such a fashionable way. The dining is beyond belief. And the owners and staff make every guest feel very special.. I usually travel there for unrelated business. Now I am looking for an excuse t go for a week of leisure!! Witcher M


One night at the Inn

4.8 on July 26, 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed the stay. The place was exceptional and the Innkeepers very friendly and hospitable. The meals were quite delicious and we enjoyed the company and conversation of our fellow guests. We will surely be traveling to Mercersburg for another visit.


Stay at Mercersburg Inn

5 on July 15, 2012

Our stay only lasted one evening, but it was wonderful. Staff even took the time to return my shoe via mail which I had carelessly left behind. We will definitely return!


Great B&B Wine Tasting Weekend

5 on June 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Inn for a Wine Tasting Weekend and the entire experience was wonderful. It was our first time at the Inn and we booked the last available room, so we were hesitant at what our accommodations might be like. We were very pleasantly surprised. We did have one of the smaller rooms, but it was perfect for the weekend, cozy and quiet, and the bed was very comfortable. John Peters did a wonderful job explaining the wines at the tasting and with the dinner pairings. The dinner by Chef Nowalk was spectacular, perfectly paired with the wine. We were also very impressed with the level of accommodating service. The hostess at check-in was very friendly and personable, and always asked if we needed anything when we saw her. Although we were aware that the wine dinner had a set menu, we were able to make arrangements in advance to accommodate a special dietary need which was most appreciated. At breakfast the next morning, even though I did not request a special dietary option, one was offered to me, which was above and beyond. We look forward to returning soon.


Mercersburg Inn June 2012

4.0 on June 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the inn for 2 nights. We were given a free upgrade to the master room. It was lovely, the balcony outside was a special treat, the bathroom was spacious, and clean. Everyone there was very gracious and helpful. Breakfasts were beautifully presented and excellent. Free Wifi helped make up for the lack of tv (we were able to check the weather). Our stay here was very nice, and relaxing. The surrounding area is very pretty and we had plenty of hiking at our disposal.


A Step Back in Time

4.6 on June 03, 2012

The value was already a good buy but when they include a luscious hot breakfast you can't beat this inn. The only downside to our stay was the fact that we had a third floor room and had to tote our bags up two flights of stairs (there was no offer of assistance with this task).


Mercersburg In Visit in May 2012

3.0 on May 25, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay at the Mercersburg Inn. Innkeepers Jim and Lisa are very warm and welcoming, as is their house and dining room staff. We will definitely return again.


A lovely place for a getaway

4.6 on May 23, 2012

We have been going to the Mercersburg Inn for years and it just keeps getting better. The buildings and rooms are exquisite and the gardens delightful . Beds are very comfortable. Breakfast starts at 8 , a bit late for my husband but OK by me . It is served in a bright sunroom and you can start with granola and coffee and then a quiche was offered along with fresh baked banana bread and assorted juices. First rate breakfast, first rate Inn.


Charming inn, excellent dining

5 on May 23, 2012

We recently stayed at the Inn and had a great time. Our room was fantastic, and very well kept. We had a nice walk through the Inn to take a look at the other rooms (those that were unoccupied), and were impressed with all. Dinner in Byron's Dining Room was superb - the beef filets were excellent. Breakfast on Saturday was great as well - fresh fruit, blueberry muffin, and a goat cheese tart served alongside asparagus and (I believe) chicken sausage. The staff and innkeepers were friendly and accommodating. I would love to stay again for an entire weekend.


Spectacular B & B

4.4 on May 02, 2012

Sadly, only one night at a remarkable place. The Inn was well furnished with some fascinating antiques, rooms were great, quiet and dark and the food was truly excellent - both dinner and breakfast. The garden was also very pleasing and all the staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. This was, by far, the best value accommodation we stayed at during a 12 day visit to USA.


Weekend getaway

4.6 on April 12, 2012

We had the room with the veranda above the front door. Some R&R with wireless internet, some iTunes, and a nice view rounded out the late afternoon. Dinner was very nice. We walked into town Saturday evening to chat up some locals at the pub. A pleasant stay in a beautiful old place. After breakfast we toured the grounds to witness spring making its push. Then we were off. Exactly what we were looking for, we'll be back.


Wonderful!

5 on April 02, 2012

The staff was super nice. Our room was very clean and the breakfast was delicious. This is the best bed and breakfast we ever stayed at! Would recommend to anyone. We will return many more times!


Nice Place To Stay!

3.6 on March 07, 2012

This is a beautiful place to stay. The staff were really nice and the food was tasty. Dinner is expensive but it was really good. Our first night we stayed in room 18 in the Carriage House. There was a clicking noise (almost like a knocking) coming from the heating system that happened every 15 minutes or so. It is loud enough to wake you up every time you hear it. We ended up sleeping our first night on the couch in the common room!!! We switched to the main house our second night and it was great. If you are a light sleeper, stay away from room 18.


Outstanding Experience All Around.

5 on March 05, 2012

My partner and I decided to add the B&B to a planned 3 day ski weekend. The Mercersburg turned out to be a Great choice for us. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. Then we had dinner and that was just fantastic. Breakfast was also amazing both days. And while the value of the Mercersburg Inn was already great, we ended up buying our ski tickets from them and saved another $20 off the price of our tickets. All that and we enjoyed spending some time checking out the town. Overall a great experience.


Nice!

3.8 on March 03, 2012

Very pleasant stay. We enjoyed the game room in the basement. Excellent breakfast. Rooms are a bit pricey, but the ski package offered off-set the price. An afternoon tea would have been nice.


Just not Great.

2.2 on February 27, 2012

It said we could control the heat in our room above the carriage house and it wouldn't go above 63F. The carpet was too big for the room and so was wavey and very stained. I was on an anniversary weekend so we got the room with the Jacuzzi thinking there would be room for two. My husband couldn't even lay down in the tub alone, it was so small and he's 5.10 and 150lbs. It was a tub with 2 jets, normal size. The doors didn't fit on the closet, and they were too big, and so wouldn't close. The TV looked like i twas from 1980 and only had like 10 channels on it. There were no decorations in the room, felt like I was in a hospital. We will not be returning! We stayed at a Hyatt a few weeks later and agreed that we may not ever go back to a bed and breakfast because of our stay at Mercersburg Inn.


An Absolute Find!

5 on February 23, 2012

Exquisite attention to detail shines thru at every turn. Housekeeping is first rate, breakfast is divine, and do make reservations for dinner. Enjoy!


Lovely Inn

4.0 on February 20, 2012

Superior and above guest rooms are very spacious and charming, as well as immaculate. The inn is beautiful and the staff friendly. The owner cooks a nice breakfast but the dinner we had there was overpriced and over rated.


Couldn't be better

5 on February 16, 2012

Check in was smooth, the room was extremely clean and better than our expectations. The dining service was excellent and the menu, French in origin, offered exquisite tastes not expected in rural Pennsylvania. The bed and breakfast was a joy to stay at and I would certainly recommend the Inn to others, and will remember it for future stays in the area.


Love it!

4.6 on February 11, 2012

I stayed at Mercerburg with my 10 year old during a ski trip. The Inn was not our destination but it was definately the highlight. The house is enchanting and beautifully maintained. The hosts are honest, gracious, welcoming and let you see the other rooms so you feel at home. I intend to go back jsut to stay there.


Best place to stay for Whitetail

4.0 on February 01, 2012

A great place to stay if you're skiing at Whitetail. This is a very quaint inn run by a family. The rooms are spacious and nice, and the food is very good. It is about 10-15 minutes drive from Whitetail Resort which makes it the perfect place to stay for a skiing weekend.


Mercersburg Inn

4.4 on January 11, 2012

A great place to stay, a quite weekend on the near by mountain. The food was amazing.


Perfection at the Mercersburg Inn

5 on November 10, 2011

A pair of innkeepers ourselves, we had the Inn to ourselves on a quiet Sunday night. The inn is spectacular, meticulously clean, well appointed and warm( not easy to acheive in a house this size!) We had dinner in the restaurant which was outstanding. My only regret was that I couldn't find room for dessert. The service was wonderful as well. Melissa and Nicole who took care of us upon arrival and in the restaurant were warm and friendly. The Innkeepers were delightful. We enjoyed swapping stories and found that little inns and big inns are not so different sometimes! Breakfast was another culinary treasure. We hated to leave and promise we'll be back with friends and for longer next time. Great job to Lisa, Jim and their incredible staff.


What a pleasant stay!

3.8 on November 02, 2011

Just spent a Saturday night at the Mercersburg Inn with my husband and three children. We had two rooms, both with queen beds and one with a roll out bed. The rooms and baths were very clean. The linens were beautiful and spotless. It is a large inn, which was relaxing for us because we didn't feel like we had to tip toe around, especially with the children. And the game room in the basement was fun for all -- pool, air hockey, tv. That was a nice surprise!


Fall weekend

3.6 on October 26, 2011

Included breakfasts were OK. We had dinner in the dining room and it was superb!


What a wonderful place!

4.8 on October 05, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Mercersburg Inn to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We made our reservations at the last minute and stayed in one of the "standard" rooms. What a beautiful room! If this is "standard" I can only imagine what the Luxury rooms are like! It was a beautiful room with down pillows and comforter. Soooo comfortable! The Inn is very interesting, rich in history, beautifully kept and the Innkeepers, Jim and Lisa, are so pleasant and accommodating. The food is worth the trip alone! I absolutely LOVE the dual staircase. Reminds me of the Titantic. Great job Jim and Lisa, we can't wait to return! Sterling and Judy


Like being back home

4.8 on September 28, 2011

I stayed for the French Cooking Weekend. I loved my room and each breakfast was different and oh so good. I had a wonderful time that I am looking forward to going back soon. The hospitality of the staff and inn keepers were the best. I felt right at home.


Wonderful stay!

4.0 on September 26, 2011

While on a business trip to the Academy, I spent the night at this wonderful Inn and will definitely stay here again! The dinner and breakfast were out of this world. Wonderful!


a very nice and friendly house

4.0 on September 12, 2011

A loveley place to stay, the rooms and all the furniture is prepared with loving care. friendly and helpful Innkeepers and staff


Superb Experience in Mercersburg INN

5 on August 31, 2011

Great night at the Mercersburg INN. Unforgettable. Great flood too. Shrimp and Salmon with Californian Wines. It remided us of the Captain Von Trapp's house on the Sound of Music. Great rooms and the owners go out of their way to make the stay better than already is. Great experience. We are sure coming back as soon as possible. Do not hesitate. It is worth the price.


More Than Just a Bed & Breakfast!

5 on August 28, 2011

We usually check in to a motel in nearby Chambersburg when visiting my home town of Mercersburg PA but this time we decided to splurge. It was a unique experience to stay in the beautiful mansion that I could only wonder about from the outside when growing up. Turns out that mansion is just as beautiful and well preserved on the inside. Lisa and Jim have done an outstanding job upgrading and maintaining the premises, and they are outstanding hosts who can filll you in on local and historical attractions in the Mercersburg area. The place is beautifully decorated and everything was clean. Breakfast was outstanding. We plan on staying there again.


Another great stay...

5 on August 24, 2011

We had another great stay at one of our favorite inns. The innkeeper, the room, the common areas and the breakfast are all second to none. The dinning room was closed for the weekend but the innkeeper recommended two restaurants up Main Street and we ate at the James Buchanan Inn and it turned out to be a great recommendation. All and all, a great place to stay.


Wonderful Cooking Class Weekend

4.0 on August 05, 2011

The Mercersburg Inn: In a simple phrase, a wonderful house, outstanding owners and staff and food that is over the top. The Mercersburg Inn is a treat to enjoy and we were at home thanks to the great hospitality shown to us by Lisa and Jim McCoy. Gracious hosts that they are, they and the staff were ever-attending to details to make our stay a pure pleasure. Each day we started with an amazing breakfast and then participated in a wonderful cooking school program with which they have a very productive relationship. Thanks Jim and Lisa. We will be repeat offenders.


wonderful experience

4.0 on July 11, 2011

Our room was clean, quaint, and comfortable. The outside porch was an added treat


Outstanding Country Inn

4.6 on July 05, 2011

This is an outstanding country inn; certainly not cheap, but worth it. Rooms comfortable and spacious; very comfortable sitting room and lounge with a great porch for sitting outside in nice weather. Food and atmospere terrific. Somewhat remote location, but much history within 30--60 minutes drive. Only drawback is two long flights of stairs to reach 3rd floor guest rooms.


Found a treasure by chance!

5 on June 27, 2011

My husband and I happened to find a lovely bed and breakfast by sheer coincidence. We were warmly welcomed by Lisa, who kindly upgraded our room saw to all our needs. This place is three stories of elegant old world style. I was surprised at how comfortable the bed was. I got the best sleep I've had in a long time. The food was amazing and I can only hope to return for more! Don't miss out on this jewel.


Mercersburg Inn Mercersburg PA

3.4 on June 20, 2011

Hello, thank you for this opportunity to give comments--Two months before our scheduled stay-reservation we found it necessary to cancel. For this "privilege" Mercersburg Inn made a charge against our credit card of $30.00. This is the first B&B of the 70 + we have stayed in that has such a "policy". We have many choices of Select Registry B&B and will make other choices in the future. Thank you.


one of a kind Inn...

4.8 on June 20, 2011

There are not many larger B&Bs that are this well maintained. Rooms are just right, no scrimping on the little things, and no wasted frills just for show. This grand house gives you a peak at what grand living was like at the turn of the century, and it can leave you impressed. Highly recommended. Didn't have a chance to try the dinner service, but breakfast was more than grand. Had to skip lunch that day.


Great B&B

4.4 on May 04, 2011

It's very friendly experience like at home. It was very comfortable stay for me. Thanks.


Hometown Honeymoon

5 on May 04, 2011

We spend our wedding night at the Mercesburg Inn and loved it! What a privledge to have such a romantic getaway literally blocks from our home!


My Favorite Restaurant!

5 on April 23, 2011

Nothing bad can be said about the Mercerburg Inn. I have been going there for 2 years now for dinner, and just stayed last night for my anniversary. First of all, Chef Dan is the best, better than the chefs at Gordon Ramsey at the London in NYC and Le Cirque in Las Vegas--best food I have ever had, every time I go. Second, Jim and Lisa are the best!!! I have never experienced bettter customer service! The rooms are beautiful, just perfect. Nothing bad to say about the Mercersburg Inn-- we love you!!! Thank you, Jim and Lisa, for adding class and elegance to our small town. I look forward to visiting you for many years!


Highly Recommend

4.2 on April 18, 2011

Room was beautiful!!!! Bathroom was a little small, especially the shower. Overall it was a wonderful experience. We arrived after midnight. Innkeepers made all arrangements for such a late night check-in simple and easy. Breakfast was excellent. Will definitely stay here again.


Re-visit stay

4.2 on April 08, 2011

This was our second stay at the Mercersburg Inn. The Inn is delightful! Warm welcome from the hosts. The cuisine is marvelous. It had us salivating after our last visit and we were not disappointed!


Memorable Weekend Away

4.6 on March 06, 2011

The Inn is a historic treasure exquisitely crafted, beautifully restored and maintained. The staff were friendly and helpful, Inn keepers personable. The breakfasts were amazing. Too bad we didn't get to eat in the restaurant due to an illness with the chef - We'll have to go back!


Romantic Week-end

3.2 on February 24, 2011

This was our second time staying at the Inn. It is a beautiful old mansion with lots of character. The service was good, with one exception. The dinning room which is fantastic was closed due to the chef being ill; we did not find out until we came down for our reservation which was agravating because we were looking forward to a wonderful meal and had little notice to make other arrangements. We really like the Inn so we will be back.


Jan 28th weekend at the Inn

4.4 on February 13, 2011

stayed for the innkeeping seminar and it and the inn were both fantastic! Innkeepers Lisa and Jim are gracious hosts. The inn is magnificent and spotlessly clean. The food was fabulous. We highly recommend the Mercersburg Inn! Tom and Rosalind, Raritan, NJ


What a treat!

5 on February 07, 2011

My husband surprised me with a cooking class weekend at the Inn while he and our son did some snowboarding. I have never cared for B&Bs I've visited in the past, so I was delighted to find a beautifully furnished, private, comfy guest room; wonderful dining; a beautiful setting; and a fun and delicious cooking class to boot! I could not have asked for more!


Great experience overall.

4.0 on February 06, 2011

Great atmosphere. Splendid rooms. Nice host. Dining environment excellent, however, the food could be more refined and not served like the waitress is in a rush to get home.


The Mercersberg Inn

4.0 on January 27, 2011

Beautiful and clean rooms. 5 star dinner at reasonable price.


it was a good time

3.6 on January 25, 2011

We didn't really know what to expect, but it was a cute, kinda creepy house. The people were friendly and the breakfast was pretty good. Thanks for the good time


Couldn't ask for more!

4.0 on January 23, 2011

A great treat. Relaxing, fine accomodations, great food! What more could you ask for.


Great lodging option near Whitetail!

4.2 on January 19, 2011

Great owners and staff - these guys know their stuff.


Execellent Stay

5 on January 17, 2011

Me and my fiance stayed here over the Christmas holidays and went skiing at whitetail. The innkeepers were very friendly. The best part of the stay was the gourmet meal. I think this was the best meal I ever had. From the romantic and intimate setting to the food. The filet of beef just melted in my mouth. I would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone. We already are planning to make a return visit in the next few months.


Mercersburg Inn

3.8 on December 29, 2010

Wonderful Christmas time visit. We stayed in the carriage house for privacy and knowing our granddaughter would join us one evening. Breakfasts were well presented and excellent.


Fantastic Weekend Getaway!

4.6 on December 08, 2010

We just returned from a weekend stay at the Mercersburg Inn. The Innkeepers Lisa and Jim were terrific hosts. The home is beautiful, service is excellent, and the food was terrific. We will most certainly return!


Wonderful stay!

5 on November 17, 2010

Lisa and Jim McCoy from the Mercersberg Inn offer a truely exceptional stay here. They really pay attention to details and make their guest feel welcomed, at ease and really enjoy the company of their guest. My fiance and I are having are wedding ceremony and reception here and we know we made the right choice. Stayed the night of our "tasting" and again, can't say enough about the place and Lisa and Jim (innkeepers) We plan on coming back after our wedding for many years to come. Thanks! Wonderful


A perfect end to a perfect evening

4.4 on November 13, 2010

The Inn is a very charming place. The owers are very friendly and accessable. The food is outstanding.We had a large family gathering to celebrate a birthday. The food and service were impectable. My husband and I decided to spend the night after the dinner. The breakfast was delicious. It was a delightful experience. A real treasure in rural PA.


Great B&B

4.4 on October 27, 2010

Outstanding food and wonderful history. Very relaxed and peaceful.


Pure perfection

5 on October 18, 2010

We spent out anniversary weekend here and had a great time. The Inn is absolutely beautiful, and the staff pampered us with attention to every detail. I have to give extra credit to the hostess (I'm pretty sure her name was Jen) who truly made sure our stay was perfect. The rooms are large, decorated to perfection and came with some nice extra touches like down comforters and water bottles in each room. We've been going to bed and breakfast sites for over 20 years and I would put this place right near the top for overall enjoyment and experience.


Amazing!

4.0 on October 11, 2010

This was our first trip to a B&B. We didn't know what to expect. We were blown away. Amazing doesn't even describe it. This mansion is absolutely perfect. We checked out a few of the guest rooms and they are ALL to die for! Very private, very very nice. We can't wait to go back. The town is cute too!


Quilting Weekend

5 on October 10, 2010

The Mercersburg Inn is our favorite destination. You'll not find cleaner or more comfortable accommodations. Byron's room (#1) has a spacious bedroom with a fireplace, private porch from which you see the lighted cathedral steeples at night, a luxurious, canopied bed with plump pillows and chaise. The quaint, turn of the century bathroom has a sparking tub, shower, and fluffy towels as well as cozy robes. You'll want to try the salmon for dinner, but only if the sole is not available. Be sure to try their home made granola on the sidebar in the breakfast room while you're waiting for your entree. Men - make a reservation now. Your wife will be charmed!


an outstanding bed and breakfast

5 on September 21, 2010

If you want to experience a truely outstanding bed and breakfast, this is it! It seems as if the inkeepers are workaholics by the way their beautiful home is kept and run. The attention to only the best that they and their staff gave us, the perfect details they surrounded us with, makes me absolutely believe that this is the finest bed and breakfast we have even stayed at.


Absolutely Romantic Retreat

4.0 on September 16, 2008

I had always dreaned of going to this plantation style home as a young girl. At 28, when I got married,my husband and I stayed there for a night. I was not disappointed. We went back for our 10 yr anniv. and 2 or 3 times a year since. We have been married 12 wonderful years. We will keep going back!! Everyone should have a "romantic retreat" once in a while.


spectacular

5 on June 20, 2007

This bed and breakfast was truely the most enjoyable inn I have ever stayed at. My husband and I travel all over and we have stayed at various inns through out the states. This Inn was the most sophisicated and luxurious mansion I ever saw. The rooms were so intriguing and the cleanliness and upkeep of the house was wonderful. The food is to die for!! It is a great place for events and dinners or a weekend getaway. THe owners, Jim and Lisa are blessed people. They are outgoing and caring towards their home and their guests that come visit. I will recommend this place to everyone and I cant wait for the oppoprtunity to go back and visit!


The Mercersburg Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $139 - $395
  • Reviews (142) 4.5
  • Rooms 17
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7173285231
  • Fax 1-7173283403
  • Toll free 1-866MBURG01

Visit Website »

View details

Top