Seams Like Home Quilt Retreat and Bed & Breakfast Reviews


View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Onsite Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
37 Reviews

Write A Review

Wonderful Stay, Wonderful Host

5 on October 17, 2016

We were biking the GAP trail and stayed here one night. The host picked us up in town. The rooms were very comfortable. I loved the home-made quilts. The breakfast was delicious. In the morning he drove us back to town to continue on our trip. I would definitely stay again.

The Very BEST B&D we have ever stayed at!

5 on September 24, 2016

The owners were outstanding, the breakfast was fabulous, and the accommodations were extraordinary.

Good choice for B&B while biking the GAP trail

5 on July 04, 2016

We biked for 2 days and stayed at 3 B&B's. Undoubtedly our best breakfast was at this one--including omelette, fruit, sausage, juice (yogurt available but we didn't try it), and fully accommodating my wife who is vegetarian and allergic to some foods. Since this place is 3 miles from trail head, the shuttle was crucial; the owner expertly loaded our tandem bike on his truck, which had just the right equipment for a smooth and secure ride. Since this was the end of our trip, he also shuttled us to our car the next morning -- an hour drive away over country two-lanes, with his wife doing the navigating with her GPS. The room and facilities were excellent, including our own bathroom with tub and shower, and a sufficiently firm mattress. Bruce & Nancy

Very nice!!

3.8 on June 29, 2016

Seams Like Home really did seem like home! We loved the country setting, game room, and hospitality. Rich and Donna were wonderful hosts. We would definitely recommend Seams Like Home to others and hope to return in the future for more fun in the Laurel Highlands of PA! Scott & Becky C.

Great stop while riding the GAP trail

5 on May 23, 2016

We spent the night in Connellsville, Pa while riding the GAP trail Seams Like Home is a few miles out of town but Rick picked us and our bikes up. The rooms were great and breakfast was incredible. Rick was informative and gracious. Would definitely stay there again. Highly recommend.

A Relaxed Stop in the PA Woods

4.0 on April 05, 2016

We took a mid stop to break up our trip [NY to IL] and go to Falling Waters. It was a pleasant night stay at Seams. The owners were friendly. The place was clean. We had a complete, home cooked breakfast. The rooms are separated from the owners living space and the guests have their own common area for playing pool, watching TV, cooking, etc. The home is nestled in the woods with exotic ducks floating in the pond. All in all, it was quite the restful break that we needed.

Great place to stay while riding the GAP

5 on October 12, 2015

Our group of 7 had a wonderful stay at Seams Like Home Oct. 1,2015. We were bicycling the GAP. We were shuttled for free the minute we called up to the B and B. Then shuttled to and from dinner in Connellsville later. It was nice to be in such a quiet countryside location. The rooms are large and beautifully decorated and very clean. We each had a private bath with a great shower. After dinner, we relaxed in the common room which had TV, computer, pool table. We were able to store our bikes inside securely. After a good nights sleep, Rick prepared a wonderful hot breakfast, then shuttled us back down to the trail. Friendliest, service, cleanliness were all of the highest quality. Our friend who was driving our gear was able to stay several more hours to do paperwork she needed to do in the common room without feeling rushed to check out. Highly recommend!

Seams like home really does seem like home

4.6 on September 23, 2015

Very nice place to stay. The owners are very friendly and attentive to your needs. The breakfasts were outstanding.

Great anniversary get away

5 on September 21, 2015

We had never tried a bed & breakfast before, and we're very, very pleased with the experience. The people we met were so much fun to talk with, and the common room, as well as breakfast together gave us a chance to talk with all of the other couples there- we sat for an hour and a half, just chatting! The owners were great, very accommodating, and the facility was just gorgeous. We will do this again!

stay here if you would like to bike the Allegheny trail!

5 on August 01, 2015

My stay at Seams Like Home was a bit of a miracle. My girlfriend and I had decided to bike as much of the Allegheny trail as possiblon very short notice. The decision was made on a Wednesday but most of the planning went into driving to Pittsburgh and preparing our bikes. since the trail wish very active withbikers over the summer it was hard to find a vacancy at one of the inns along the way. Luckily, Seams Like Home was able to provide a room for at their lovely oasis. What's more is that while biking we became very tired and were not going to be able to make it to our planned destination, but Rick was able to come pick us up and shuttle us back to his bed and breakfast. We were so grateful.R once at the inn Rick provided amazing service. We were free to use the lounge area which came complete with satellite tv, pool table, and much needed comfortable couches after a long day of biking. One thing I noticed is every room had its own bathroom and some even came with a jacuzzi! The next morning we were punctually served waffles, eggs, fresh fruit, bacon, Orange juice, and coffee to fuel up for our next day of biking. All in all, my girl and I were very happy to have stayed at Seams Like Home and will definitely stay there again if we ever try to bike the trail once more.

Home away from home

5 on July 31, 2015

My little boy and I stayed here for a couple nights. Rick and Donna were so welcoming and kind. They went out of their way to make our stay excellent! Will definitely visit again.

Very nice place and hosts

5 on June 30, 2015

We had an early tour at Falling Water and our hosts were most accommodating by preparing an early breakfast for us.


3.8 on June 21, 2015

Rick was very accommodating, even meeting us when we had navigational issues, and making his TV available for an important Stanley Cup hockey game. We would recommend "Seams" highly for anyone visiting Fallingwater.

Very good experience

5 on May 27, 2015

Very nice and warm host couple Rick and Donna. Ingenious decorations, and clean, modern room and utilities.

Nice stay

4.0 on October 27, 2014

Nice facility and nice proprietor. If you're riding The Trail be aware this residence is quite a distance from the trail and would be hard to ride to. You will need a pickup unless you have someone following you.

Quiet and Comfortable

5 on October 26, 2014

We stayed here while biking the Great Allegheny Passage. We found it to be a great place to spend the night. It is quiet, clean, comfortable, and is operated by nice people. Breakfast was substantial and delicious.

Wonderful Stay while pedaling the GAP

5 on October 11, 2014

We had the privilege of staying at this facility last week. Rick and Donna couldn't have been more accommodating. We stayed at three B&B's and this one was by far the best. If you're pedaling the GAP, this place provides a very quiet setting. Rick provided transportation to and from the trail.

Overnight Stop

4.2 on September 15, 2014

Convenient overnight stay before visiting Fallingwater. Donna was very helpful in suggesting a place for us to eat on the evening of our arrival despite it being nearly 7pm. Our room was comfy and very clean. Breakfast was delicious and fulfilling.It was a delight to chat with Donna about her recipes and local surroundings.

Wonderful Place

5 on July 06, 2014

This is an absolutely wonderful place to stay. The owners are friendly and after a week of staying there they were like family. A very clean and good value for the money. Close to many things without it being an inconvenience. Pool table and lounge to hang out in. Beautiful outside to sit by pond and relax. Don't forget to feed the ducks!!

A Hidden Gem

4.8 on May 19, 2014

My mother and I stayed here while visiting Falling Water and other attractions in the area. Rick and Donna are wonderfully accommodating and made sure we were well taken care of from finding food in the area to having a delicious home cooked breakfast. The rooms are quiet, clean, great big bathrooms and no tv, which we actually liked! If you want tv or a game of pool, there was a large social room. We would definitely come back again and give rick & Donna 5 stars!

Wonderful Place for GAP Trail Users

4.0 on April 16, 2014

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay with Rick & Donna. They are personable hosts who really cater to their clientele. There seemed to be nothing that they wouldn't do for us, including planning our two-day restover to take in all that the surrounding region had to offer. Accomodations were just about the best you could want, because the lodge is commodius and they gave us the run of the place. Full guest kitchen included! We had use of the guest computer and great internet access. Breakfasts were delicious and fresh.

Great Bed and Breakfast

5 on October 29, 2013

Wonderful Bed and Breakfast. Very welcoming atmosphere from the hosts. One of the best breakfast I have had at a B&B. Beautiful handmade quilts in every room add to the homey atmosphere. They had everything. Multi head showers, great TV/computer room, great big breakfast room, kitchen. Wonderful area for sewing retreat.

weekend getaway

4.8 on October 27, 2013

my husband and i stayed overnight a couple of weeks ago. beautiful place! very clean! we had the magnolia room which had a nice sized bathroom. nice tv and a pool table in social room. breakfast was very nice. hosts are very nice and helpful. would stay again.

Extremely accomodating hosts, quiet and clean facility

5 on September 25, 2013

Stayed here with a group of four a few weeks ago, on our way from DC to Pittsburgh (cycling). Rick worked with us during the reservation process to ensure all the details of our stay were hashed out prior to our arrival...including shuttle pickup from the trailhead, arrangements for getting dinner delivered and even a side trip to Fallingwater. We were the only group at the retreat the night we stayed and we THOROUGHLY enjoyed the common room with pool table and satellite TV. Rooms were exceptionally clean, lodging costs were extremely reasonable, breakfast far exceeded expectations and the hosts went out of their way to ensure our comfort in every way (even let us use their laundry facilities free of charge).

This B&B is just ducky

4.4 on August 22, 2013

Charming place run by lovely, friendly couple. They went out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed. Excellent suggestions and directions for area attractions, and were just kindness itself. Our room was pretty and clean and featured a gorgeous quilt made by the host. We enjoyed playing pool and watching the ducks and koi at the pond.

Great Stay in Peaceful Spot

4.8 on August 15, 2013

Seams Like Home was a terrific find for us as we cycled the Great Allegheny Passage. Although it is not right on the bike trail that turned out to be a non-issue because the owners picked us up at the trail and brought us out to the house. The house is good-sized and in a very peaceful setting (other bike trail B&Bs can be near noisy railroad lines). The room had a terrific large and modern bath/shower. The Eichers were very friendly and easy to spend time with. There were a number of amenities in the house that we would have utilized had we been staying more than one night.

Home away from Home

5 on July 23, 2013

Seams like Home is a Pennsylvania treasure to be lavished like a fresh needle and a stack of soft quilting squares, offering that quintecential “home away from home” feeling that one often craves on vacation. My friend and I discovered this homey B&B while in PA for Fallingwater and a wedding–hectic, as they go–and we appreciated Seams like Home’s low-key, accommodating, and friendly vibe. Seams like Home is run by a wonderfully kind and loquatious couple who make it their mission to welcome you. From toothsome breakfast platters to bottomless pots of coffee and the omnipresent candy dish, your stay feels part reality and part otherworldly dream, where times were simpler and people made you delicious waffles and breakfast casseroles. If you happen to need any more convincing there’s a fully-equipped billiards room and an endless, beautiful pasture just outside, a magnificent fountain visible from some rooms, and a grand piano. If you’re a quilter, Seams like Home quickly ascends to heaven on earth. Macklemore said, “this is your moment, you can’t take it with you,” and this is undoubtly true of Seams like Home, but you can always return.

Wonderful Experience!

5 on March 27, 2013

This was our 2nd retreat at 'Seams Like Home' & we are already on their books for next Fall. Eight of us took over the property for 4 wonderful days of "girl time", laughter, and quilting. Donna and Rick were superb hosts, catering to every possible need. The meals were mouthwatering and always prompt. This property is our favorite (we experienced MANY others) for our retreats, because we really felt like we could relax. They wouldn't even let us help clear the table! The rooms are homey, facilities are new and extremely clean. We loved the living room area at night to watch movies. There are so many little details and amenties that make this place special-- too many to list. But I HIGHLY recommend that you experience the wonderful hospitality that this B&B provides. Great Job! See you in October! (Simpson Creek Quilters, Bridgeport WV)

Rick saved the day

4.8 on September 22, 2012

Four of us were biking from the Pittsburgh Airport Marriot to Washington DC. The first leg was on the Montour Bike Trail. This trail had the worst signage and horrible detours. So we were late as we followed the GAP towards Connelsville. We knew we couldn't get there before dark so we called and Rick Eicher was willing to meet us in a town 15 miles before Connelsville to take us and our bikes to the Inn for only $40. He was even willing to wait for us while we had dinner in a restaurant. It is a beautiful house with lovely quilts. Very clean. Well appointed furnishings. Donna was friendly also. Great breakfast.

Relaxing Trip

5 on September 16, 2012

I stayed here with my friends and the place was amazing! The owners are really sweet and make you feel really welcome. My friends and I had fun playing pool and feeding the ducks (Huey and Quackers) and the fish in the pond. My one friend fell in love with their cat Sebastian. We were there 2 nights in the suite and our bathroom was wonderful! The 1st morning we had some delicious waffles and bacon and the next morning omelets. There was always fruit, juice, milk, oatmeal, tea, coffee, and toast available as well. Our breakfast were amazing. There was also water and popcorn available whenever you wanted it. You were able to use the items in the kitchen as well, such as the microwave. We love learning about the story behind the place from Rick as well. They also suggested eating at the Firehouse Restaurant and the food was good there as well. Thank you Rick and Donna for a great trip!

Lovely Bed and Breakfast!

5 on June 08, 2012

What a lovely place to stay! Down a short country lane...opening up to a pond and the B & B. Looks like new inside and really does feel like you are at home, but with no chores! Delicious breakfast served with lots of choices. (Loved the Omelets and the Croissants a l'Orange!) Beds are comfy and the air conditioning very soothing on a hot day! Enjoyed sitting by the pond and relaxing after a fun-filled day.

Weekend Getaway

5 on February 18, 2012

A weekend getaway during the cold winter. The B&B is spacious, large rooms with nice bathrooms (jet bathtub and nice shower!), and very clean. Breakfast was plentiful and so tasty. Our hosts were very kind and helpful, you could not ask for better people. Ideas for activities that were suggested were fun. We went out exploring; there is less to do in the winter so we definitely plan to return in the summer and use the nearby bike trails, see the laurel caverns, hike, etc.

A place you will absolutely love.

4.6 on January 02, 2012

My husband and I had the best time at this B & B. It was very peaceful and quite. The bathroom and sleeping quarters were very nice, large and extremely and exceptionally clean. The whole place was just beautiful. I had to give hugs when I left, I felt like I was leaving family members . The breakfasts were excellent. Nice little towns around to enjoy the day in. Bev and Ted Jones

Great experience

5 on December 18, 2011

A weekend getaway one hour from home! We were impressed with the accommodations. The B&B was spotless, tastefully decorated and so comfortable. We were welcomed and made to feel like special guests. Breakfast was plentiful and so tasty.Our hosts were wonderful, you could not ask for better people. Ideas for activities that were suggested were fun. This is a great way to spend a cold winter weekend, we also plan to return and try it in the warmer months to use the nearby bike trails.Thank you Donna and Rick for welcoming us into your beautiful home.

Great Escape, Great Location

4.6 on November 22, 2011

My wife and i stayed at Seams Like Home a few weeks ago for our anniversary. This was our first time at a B&B and didn't know what to expect. We were met by Rick and he gave us a tour of the property and offered great advice on things to do while we were there. The room was beautifully decorated and the bathroom was spacious. The omelette and pumpkin waffles were to die for. It snowed on our last day and the scenery was gorgeous. I work in hospitality, and Seams Like Home is hospitality at its finest. Best of luck Donna and Rick. Jason G

Nice Relaxing Gettaway

4.8 on September 11, 2011

My husband and I stayed here a few weeks ago and we had a wonderful time! We chose this B&B because it is close to both Fallingwater and Seven Springs. The inn keepers were very friendly and helpful. They recommended some wonderful restaurants nearby and helped us with directions to our destinations. The breakfast was delicious and had more than you could eat--omelets,bacon, fruit, toast, juice, coffee, tea. We would like to come back to the area to visit Frank Lloyd wrights other houses, and will definitely stay here next time! -Rachael


5 on August 04, 2011

So delightful - beautiful! It really did seam like home

Seams Like Home Quilt Retreat and Bed & Breakfast


  • Nightly Rate $100 - $185
  • Reviews (37) 4.8
  • Rooms 4
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Mobile 1-7249841399

Visit Website »

View details