Robertshaw Country House Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.9
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Onsite Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
63 Reviews

Write A Review

Peace and Tranquility

3.8 on March 20, 2017

We stayed in the Emma Room. It has 2 twin beds and the bathroom is down the hall. But this hall has a door to close to the main part of the house, so it is like having a private wing. There is a door to the monastery in the same hall, but no one uses that entrance. The room is quite spacious, includes a desk with chair as well as a large chair and a rocking chair. There is a gas fireplace in the corner, small refrigerator and microwave, and a one cup Keurig in the room. There are no televisions in the rooms (a feature that I love), but there is a large screen tv in a room on the bottom floor of the house, complete with a large gas fireplace. It is attached to a kitchenette that is brimming with snacks, including microwave popcorn. Rooms come with fluffy robes and slippers to use. The bathroom is large with plenty of towels. Water is hot and powerful. There is a hairdryer as well as an urn and ironing board should you need it. Breakfast is laid out in a nook off the large dining area, and one helps themselves to a variety of cold meats and cheese, artisan breads, fruit, and pastries. There is an option to make your own waffles, and the mix is ready to go, so you only need pour it into the waffle maker. They also have added microwaved bacon if you are so inclined. The dining room is always set in banquet style, and there is a large picture window overlooking the grounds. One is always made to feel welcome at the Robertshaw and encouraged to feel at home there. I highly recommend the Robertshaw if you are looking for a quiet getaway.


A must see treasure

5 on December 31, 2016

We were only here for one night but our stay was sweet. The staff was very friendly and Sister Mary gave us a tour including a little history about the property. We will stay here each time we visit the area.


Extreme Disappointment

2.6 on November 15, 2016

Was really looking forward to this stay with my husband to celebrate our anniversary. All the reviews said how great this b&b was, and its unique setting as part of a monastery attracted us. We have stayed at many b&b's around the country, and unfortunately, our stay here was not up to par for the price. I'm not sure if it was an anomaly--none of the other reviews are less than stellar-- but our room was cold, the fireplace didn't work despite trying new batteries in the remote, and there was nothing provided to prevent the waffle batter from sticking to the iron. Worst of all was that we were awakened at 7 AM! by hammering on the roof (apparently they were doing construction) that continued until we left. We had received no warning that this was going on, and none of the personnel that we met in the morning made any sort of apology or explanation. We left tired and hungry instead of refreshed. Mother Mary was extremely kind and welcoming when we got in at night, but other than that I must say we were both very disappointed. We had hoped for the last night of our short vacation to be a restful one, especially given the peaceful grounds and country setting. Sad to say we will not be returning.


One of the best places we have stayed at. Great people.

5 on October 14, 2016

Loved it will go back.


It is how Jesus : would do!!

5 on October 03, 2016

Hello; our names are Alma and Thaddeus .We were so privileged to have stayed at this lovely place. It was stumbled upon by near accident some might say. But we believe in God's hands moving us towards them. When Sister Renata answered the door with her welcoming smile and her heart felt "Welcome Home"!! My son Thaddeus was overwhelmed with Joy and Happiness. His face glowed from her warmth. She alone made our experience extremely wonderful. As we wondered about the grounds looking at all there was to see. We felt Blessed to be able to stay at such a Holy and Pleasing Inn. The Last Supper was ultimately our favorite. We called it our "Lunch Jesus "! We sat and shared a small but important meal at the table there. And His Presence was Awesomely present. Meeting Mother; was such an honour and privilege...Our hearts are forever thankful and grateful for the time we had with all of you. Thank you so very much for your Love,Grace,and Kindness..For ever you all will remain close to Our thoughts and prayers. Sincerely Alma Goodman - Thaddeus Goodman - and Kenny Jr. XOXO 's.


A Fabulous get-away

4.8 on October 03, 2016

Beautiful setting, serene, and Mother is a delight in all ways.


A Little Piece of Heaven

5 on August 10, 2016

This peaceful setting, with angelic hostesses, immaculate rooms, and divine breakfasts will leave you totally satisfied. We will definitely stay here again when in the area.


Very comfortable and a good value.

4.8 on May 09, 2016

I find this inn both comforting and comfortable, and have returned many times over the last few years. They are very generous with food- you never leave hungry in the morning. The beds are so comfortable and the silence so complete that I sleep better here than at home. If you need to unwind in the evening, the living room is a great place to lounge with an ipad or book. I highly recommend this bed and breakfast.


Quiet visit before Christmas

5 on December 17, 2015

The Robertshaw Country House was spotlessly clean and beautifically decorated. Christmas decorations were everywhere in the common areas and inside the large and well appointed rooms. Sister Renata was a most gracious hostess and went out of her way to make us feel welcome. Although the property was about 80 years old, it had all of the modern conveniences today's travelers have come to expect. The property and its country setting are beautiful and very quiet. We greatly enjoyed our visit.


So worth the stay

5 on November 22, 2015

The Robertshaw truly exceeds expectations in all categories. Definitely worth the stay.


Quiet and very relaxing place to stay

5 on October 29, 2015

Robertshaw B&B is delightful. It is so quiet and relaxing that I find myself wanting to stay there for a much longer time. The rooms are beautiful. Each room has a fireplace which makes the room and cozy on cool Fall evenings.


Comfort and all amenities

5 on October 21, 2015

Excellent accomdations: every amenity Wonderful hosts


Welcome Home is True

5 on August 06, 2015

I truly felt as though I was at home. My stay was peaceful and quiet and I was able to relax and take walk. The stresses of life went away. An awesome place to go!


Relaxed Visit

5 on June 19, 2015

One of the best B&B experiences we have ever had. Beautiful house and great staff. Will definitely stay again.


A very special place

4.8 on April 18, 2015

A unique, amazing place to stay. Sr. Renata greeted us warmly, explained how the B & B worked (basically, guests have the run of the whole guest house) and showed us to our room - The Garden Room. Double queen beds and loads of detailed touches to make our stay comfortable. There are 100 acres of grounds that belong to the monastery so it's great for a jog or a walk. And SO peaceful. Breakfast was help yourself with lots of choice. There are two sitting rooms and a beautifully decorated dining room, as well as (downstairs) a gift shop and TV lounge. Highly recommended.


Relaxing, Peaceful, Restful Retreat

5 on April 06, 2015

We truly enjoyed our stay at the Robertshaw Country House last week. We could not believe what a hidden gem this place is! We happened to stumble upon this bed and breakfast as we were looking to break up our drive home from Washington DC to Chicago; and boy, did we hit the jackpot! We cannot say enough about our stay here. Sister Renata and the other adorable sisters you see whisking in and out of the house are absolutely endearing, welcoming and more accommodating than any other Innkeepers we have stayed with in the past. We typically stay at Diamond Collection properties around the country and found this one to be the most comfortable and peaceful we've found. We have already told many of our friends and family about the Robertshaw Country House and cannot wait to come back and make our stay longer this time!


Peaceful Abode

4.4 on April 04, 2015

We've stayed at the Robertshaw several times since I discovered it a year ago. Each time we are greeted with a hearty, "Welcome Home", and we are always made to feel special. Each room has a cozy gas fireplace, single cup keurig coffee maker, micro fridge and microwave, and large closet complete with fluffy robes. The Sunset Room has a very large bathroom ensuite, with a powerful shower head. Just about every amenity that you can imagine is available: shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, soap, even a toothbrush and toothpaste should you forget yours! And, a hair dryer as well. Towels are fluffy, and there is a super comfy bath mat that will definitely bring a smile to your face when you step out of the shower! The rooms are immaculate. Breakfast is European Continental with a lovely fruit salad set out in the gorgeous dining room. The kitchen boasts a new waffle maker which we took advantage of and made the best waffles that I have ever tasted….even better than those ordered in a restaurant. There were several flavors of syrup available for the waffles. There is a Keurig coffemaker off of the dining room, and the dinette area has quite an array of yogurt, sliced meats and cheeses, hard boiled eggs, oatmeal, various bread for toast, bagels, and numerous condiments. The main house holds a substantial library and very large living room, with plenty of space to spread out. Both rooms have gas fireplaces. The grounds are peaceful and there are trails through the woods to enjoy. You really do need to pop your head into the St. Walburga chapel. The windows came from an old church in Pittsburgh and are spectacular to view. The innkeeper is always happy to make reservations for us at nearby restaurants and we have not been disappointed. I just want to note, that onsite dining includes Continental Breakfast. There is no restaurant or other dining affiliated with the B&B. That was the purpose of my 3 star rating for onsite dining


A Delightful Getaway

4.2 on February 02, 2015

I've stayed at this gem three times in the past year. The house is in a tranquil setting in the country. It is very convenient to many historical spots, Hannastown and Bushy Run Battlefield being two that we very much enjoyed. The rooms are spacious, as well as spotless and decorated beautifully. Beds are queen sized and very comfortable. Each bedroom has a cozy fireplace as well as single serve Keurig with k-cups of different varieties. Rooms come with plenty of towels, guest shampoo/conditioner/bodywash/soap. The bathrooms are unique, representing a 50's era with unusual colors, which I find to be quite entertaining. Hot water was plentiful and the shower was great! I've stayed in 3 different rooms, and was quite satisfied with each. My last trip was early January, when the Christmas decorations were still on display. The interior was magnificent. Breakfast is European Continental where you can help yourself to many items, including meats, cheese, hard boiled eggs. Or you can make yourself a waffle or oatmeal, or enjoy some yogurt. You will not go away hungry. There are no televisions in the rooms (which I prefer), but there is a large screen television downstairs in a special room with sofas, chairs, and a fireplace. Next to that room is a kitchenette with snacks and a Keurig so that you can help yourself while enjoying the tv. If you get outside, there are a few walking trails, and a lovely chapel devoted to St. Walburga, with Old German Stained Glass Windows representing her life. Breathtakingly beautiful! I can't say enough about how great this place was. Is it any wonder that I continue to visit?


So in love with this place

5 on January 17, 2015

I had such a lovely time, the location was so beautiful and it truly felt like coming home. Sister Renata went above and beyond in her service. I'll definitely be visiting again.


Lovely Area

3.8 on December 31, 2014

We did enjoy the setting of this facility. The only downside was everything being open to the public for holiday tours. The volunteers who assist within the grounds are always stopping you to talk. I will return but will check the schedule to make sure it is a quiet time or during a silent retreat time.


Amazing place to rest and relax. Decorated beautifully for the Christmas season !

5 on December 04, 2014

Robertshaw House is an unexpected gem. The train room was a delight.


A gem in Western Pennsylvania

5 on November 17, 2014

If you are ever traveling and find yourself near the Pittsburgh area, do yourself a favor and stay at the Robertshaw Country Bed and Breakfast. The Sisters welcome you to their gracious home like an old friend. Sister Renata, the Innkeeper, has thought of every detail to make you comfortable! The house is beautiful and you truly feel as if it your own. The property is peaceful and we greatly enjoyed speaking with several of the Sisters as we stayed! There are trails to walk and the views are amazing. This past weekend's stay was perfect! We plan to return.....


What a treasure!

4.6 on October 25, 2014

Sister Renata and her crew of helpers think if everything! The property is lovely and the rooms very comfortable! ( super great sheets!) the room was filled with classic literature and beatiful prints( along with current magazines). The bathroom fixtures are ORIGINAL and in beautiful condition. Breakfast had something for everyone( if you are fortunate to have the cinnamon rolls to not pass up!) every detail thought of- a wonderful respite if your teavels take you to the Penn countryside!


Once was not enough!

5 on August 24, 2014

Our first visit was so enjoyable, that we recently returned to Robertshaw. What a warm, friendly, peaceful place. Perfect for my husband and I spend time together to grow closer to God and to each other. We spent time in the chapel praying together, and time on the patio discussing our marriage and how to make it even better! The grounds in the back are great for walking and getting a workout, as they are on a hill. We will be back!


Outstanding Rooms and Hospitality

4.8 on June 30, 2014

I had the choice of staying at a local hotel in Greensburg/Latrobe but opted for the Robertshaw B&B. I made the right choice. This is my first day back in the office and the first thing I'm doing is recommending this place. The rooms were spacious and nice. The beds were comfy. The best part was that it really was like I was "home." (except this home was much nicer than mine)


A very happy anniversary weekend!

4.8 on May 19, 2014

Thank you for a memorable stay at your beautiful B & B. We had a lovely stay and appreciated your surprise that made it so special!


Our fun pre-weekend

4.6 on March 16, 2014

My sister and I had a wonderful stay! The home was beautiful and our hosts, were warm and friendly.


Elegent B&B

5 on February 17, 2014

The inn keeper welcomes you home to the family. You truly are treated as family. An excellent get away from the winter weather and a chance to truly relax. The home is truly a beautiful example of craftsmanship rarely found in todays buildings. My wife and I enjoyed every minute of our stay and refreshed our spirits.


Peaceful and Welcoming

5 on November 27, 2013

The perfect getaway. The Sisters were warm and ever-so friendly. Everything was great! Tasty breakfasts. Very comfortable rooms. Beautiful grounds. We've only been home for a day and we want to go back.


An Awesome Weekend!

5 on November 19, 2013

Little did we know that we would be greeted with such a warm "Welcome Home" and hug from our innkeeper, Sister Renata! The only way to describe this beautiful, warm and peace-filled bed and breakfast is "exquisite." There is such a home-like atmosphere that it is hard to pack your bags and leave. We cannot wait for the opportunity to return. Nancy Frick


We did not know whether we were in heaven or on earth

5 on November 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed there in July 2013 and loved every minute of our visit. My title is lifted from the words of Nestor in the Rus Chronicle but actually are quite accurate. Sr. Renata, the guest mistress, could not have been more helpful. Sr. Clare, the sub prioress helped in the booking process. The Prioress, Sr. Mary Anne, connected with us as a old friend. Molly, the volunteer, was a joy to see after nearly 35 years. To be sure, there was more than the good hospitality of the community ---- the room was superb, the food was tasty, the grounds were beautiful. I hope to return there in May 2014 as I will spend a few days in Latrobe at a conference. My wife still relishes the time spent there.


An Inn like no other!

5 on November 05, 2013

We just got home from a weekend at the Robertshaw Inn. What a wonderful place! We havent stopped talking about what a great time we had. It exceeded all our expectations and I couldnt have asked for more! This weekend was what my husband and I truly needed. We got to slow down and really focus on each other.This weekend renewed and refreshed our relationship, our spirit and our soul.The amenities were impressive, the rooms are immaculate, the food was delicious, and the hospitality was above and beyond. Thank you Sr Renata and all of St Emmas for a beautiful weekend. The Robertshaw is a true gem. We cant wait to come "home" to the Robertshaw again soon.


Coming Home

5 on October 26, 2013

Five of us recently spent the night at the Robert Shaw Country House and were delighted! Sr. Renata greeted us warmly and welcomed us home and it really did feel like home. The accommodations were very comfortable and inviting. There were books and magazines to read, beautiful grounds to walk around, reflective spaces indoors and outside and a wide variety of snacks and juices. The European style breakfast in the formal dining room was delicious and very nutritious! We felt like royalty! We also enjoyed the amazing gift shop and the time to stroll through it at our leisure. We are very grateful to the Sisters for providing such special accommodations. We are telling others about it and we hope to be able to return.


Exceptional hospitality

5 on September 10, 2013

We stayed twice (one night, two consecutive weeks) at the Robertshaw and were delighted with the facilities, the amenities and especially the warm and gracious welcome. Sister Mary Renata, Innkeeper extraordinaire, made us feel at home from the first moments, when we arrived in a downpour and she hastened to bring towels to dry us in the entry hall. The Inn is immaculately kept, truly spotless. Amenities are well above average. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast and all the options offered; the table settings were gorgeous. We stayed at 4 different B&Bs in the course of this trip, and the Robertshaw was our favorite. Belongs in the Diamond Collection.


Ready to return before we left

5 on September 04, 2013

When they say Welcome home they mean it. Excellent grounds, beautiful house, exquisite rooms, spacious rooms, unique library, relaxing patio, gorgeous chapels and the most hospitable Nuns. This place is squeaky clean-white socks on hardwood floor clean. Food and drink of the highest quality, exceptional displays, delicious pastries, candies in every room, soft white robes & slippers for each guest. This place is beyond a 5 star or Gold Crown-This is where the standards of quality should start. I have stayed at the Greenbrier, The Red Lion, Hard Rock and many other top of the line accommodation's as well as top quality cruise experiences. None of our 200 lodging accommodation's of the past have been as good as this beautiful, warm, welcoming inn.


All other lodging should try to meet the standards of this place

5 on September 04, 2013

No other place can compare to the ambiance, serenity, comfort, quality, beauty, cleanliness nor value. Upon arrival “Welcome Home” is the greeting, not just words but the true sentiment of the words coupled with the biggest bear hug imaginable. We have stayed in places referenced as “5 star”; “Gold Crown”; AAA standard; 1-10 ratings–there is no place in those scoring systems for the Robertshaw Country House. It is a 10 star, triple gold crown, 20 rating yet “AAA” hasn’t created a level for this gorgeous place.The breakfast offerings are of top shelf quality with great attention to detail.This property should be used as the standard for which others should strive. We have stayed in various levels of quality yet nothing can compare to this experience–this inn is just that an “EXPERIENCE”.We started planning are return visit before we left; we didn’t want to leave.If you just want a great place to stay while visiting the many Winerys, fishing in the close by Twin Lakes or visit one of the excellent fairs around the area then this is the place. Although this is a Catholic operated business there are NO religious demands yet you are welcome to use the chapels or join the Nuns for any of their services.We are not Catholic however we greatly enjoyed the 7AM mass–we highly recommend joining the Nuns for services (educational, comforting and informative).We promise you will discover the most humorous, intelligent and tech savy Nuns.We hope to see you there; we will see Sr. Renata, Mother Mary Anne and the others again soon. Smoke free, child free, animal free facility. The fitness center is a set of trails covering much of the 100+ acres which include various scenes and scenery.Soft white cotton robes & slippers are provided; the softest bath matts & towels are supplied as well as the best soaps and scented bath salts.The entire house is filled with changing scents - a joy and pleasure to walk thru and enjoy.


Perfect place to make memories.

5 on August 14, 2013

If you want to be transported back in time to a place of beauty, peace and love, this is it. From the time you are greeted by the Innkeeper, until the last look in your rear view mirror, you will feel welcome. Your eyes will dance with delight as you scan your surroundings. A house filled with treasures from the past.Too many things to list. A Library full of history and more. A Dinning room fit for royalty. Sitting rooms with quiet places to sit and reflect or enjoy a movie complete with popcorn. The staircase was made for dreams. Explore the huge house and find many surprises. The bedrooms are gorgeous. The beds are so comfortable you will want to sleep in. The large clean bathrooms with great shower pressure. (One has 7 shower heads.) Wake to coffee of many choices and too many teas to sample. The breakfast offered will make your eyes pop. Almost anything you would desire. The grounds are great for a quiet stroll or silent prayer. The Church and the Chapel are a must to experience. Complete with a gift shop with so much inventory you will smile. A place you will want to re-visit often. The Benedictine Nuns are pleasant, educating and fun. God Bless you all for making our visit special.


Exquisite place to stay

4.8 on August 13, 2013

The Robertshaw is an absolutely wonderful place to stay. We were there after Christmas and had a dicey wintry drive out. Sr. Renate kept in touch with us on the PA Tpk. and served us delicious soup when we finally got there over the snow and ice. The sisters had prayed for us! What better welcome could you have? Our room was just exquisite with a gas fireplace. The whole house is decorated so beautifully and we loved visiting the chapel. Also a plus is its proximity to the Frank Lloyd Wright house Falling Water, which we visited on our way home.


Don't miss an opportunity to stay here

5 on July 29, 2013

Take a trip back in time to the charm of an exquisite, elegant country home. This home transforms you back in time to experience the peaceful, beautiful feeling of a large spacious house that sends you reeling into old world allure. As you enter you are greeted by Sister Renata with her inviting smile and quick wit. You are told to treat the house as if it were your own. My sister and I recently spent a weekend here and I loved every minute of it! Everyone was so…kind and happy to meet our needs. Every room was decorated impressively with beautiful pictures, antiques, and objects. Breakfast was unbelievable with fresh pastries, juices, flavored coffees, fruits, meats, cheeses, bagels, eggs, waffles, and breads. You are seated at an elegant table where you can take your time to savor every last bite. You will not leave the table hungry it’s a guarantee! The grounds are very inviting with the beautiful rolling hills, flower gardens, shrines and love. You will come away with a feeling of inner peace, love and relaxation. The Benedictine nuns and volunteers go above and beyond to make you feel welcomed! They also take time to visit with you and share stories at your request. Do not pass up a chance to stay here. I will certainly return for future visits. Thank you to all who made our stay so special.


What a wonderful place to stay!!!

5 on July 21, 2013

After spending the weekend at the Robertshaw Country House Bed & Breakfast, there is absolutely nothing I would change!!! The house was welcoming, the room was gorgeous, and the food was both abundant and delicious!! Best of all was Sister Renata, who truly made us feel like we were home. Thank you for a perfect weekend!


Great place for out of town company!

5 on July 19, 2013

Amazing place of serenity for my weekend guests. They couldn't stop raving about it. All my out of town guests will stay here from now on. A home run!!!!


Amazing Bed & Breakfast

5 on July 01, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary with an overnight stay at the Robertshaw Country House Bed & Breakfast and were delighted with every aspect of our stay. From the moment we entered and were greeted with a warm "Welcome Home!" by Sr. Renata, we were enveloped in beautiful, peaceful surroundings. The Country House is magnificently decorated with one room more inviting than the next. It was truly a feast for the eyes! We stayed in the Robertshaw Suite which is quite spacious. We felt as though we could have remained just in that suite and had everything we needed. However, there were too many other spaces to explore. We strolled the outdoor paths, had a cool drink on the patio in the lovely gardens, enjoyed coffee, conversation, and even a great game of chess in the living room. We perused the extensive gift shop and had fun deciding on what to purchase, as there was such a huge selection of items. When we were hungry, we enjoyed snacks and beverages.(I highly recommend trying a Monk Shot- special coffee we had never before tried.) Pretty dishes filled with chocolate treats enticed us in every room we entered. On Sunday morning, the two highlights were attending mass with the Benedictine Nuns and having our fill of wonderful pastries, fresh fruit, and much, much more for breakfast. Mother Mary Anne sat and visited with us for awhile and we enjoyed great conversation peppered with lots of laughter. What a marvelous sense of humor she possesses! Though Ed and I thoroughly enjoyed our interactions with the Benedictine nuns and the other guests, it was all by choice. We were free to have quiet couple time together without any intrusions. We were pampered throughout our stay and came away feeling refreshed, renewed, and appreciative of the special time we had together to celebrate our anniversary. I highly recommend a stay!


Too much food out

3.4 on June 14, 2013

This house is gorgeous! The Sister we met was very friendly and accommodating. However, the serve-yourself breakfast was a massive amount of pastries and they were stale! Cold cuts were left out for hours which made them iffy. They need to re-think their service. Cut down on what is offered and make sure it is fresh.


You will come back again and again

5 on June 03, 2013

From the moment you walk into the foyer and are greeted by Sr. Renata, you really do feel welcomed home. And, whether you're staying for one night or one week, the sisters, staff, and volunteers will go out of their way to see to it that your stay at the Robert Shaw house is your home away from home. Staying in the house is like stepping outside of the "daily grind" and into a place where you can relax, rest, and escape among beautiful pictures, book shelves, Hummel figures, and other interior design delights. The offerings for breakfast are varied and fresh each morning. The grounds themselves are conducive for morning, afternoon, and evening walks. Be sure to visit the chapel and join the sisters as they chant their daily prayers. Every time, I find it hard to leave, but I know that my next visit will come soon enough. Thank you, Sisters, and may God bless you as you welcome home many more future visitors and guests.


Sweet Peace

5 on May 22, 2013

My husband and I recently received a gift of an overnight stay at the Robershaw Country House Bed & Breakfast. The rest and relaxation we received there made 24 hours feel like we'd vacationed for a week! The rooms were beautiful, clean and quiet and the food was wonderful. The entire house and grounds afford great opportunity to pray, reflect, and soak in the peace and presence of the Lord. The extravagant hospitality far exceeded our expectations and we were greatly blessed!


Our home away from home

5 on March 13, 2013

My husband and I have been to the Robertshaw two times and each stay was wonderful! The accommodations are great and the food is excellent. The sisters and volunteers go out of their way to provide enjoyable food and make sure our needs are met. We also love to walk the beautiful grounds and attend Mass or prayers with the sisters - an added prayerful experience. My mom got the idea of giving us a night at the Robertshaw to us for Christmas each year, and we are thrilled! We highly recommend a stay here!


A Piece of Heaven

5 on March 08, 2013

My wife and I stayed for the weekend and it was the best place we had ever stayed. The hospitality show to us was every bit 5 star. The staff went out of their way to make sure our needs were met in every aspect. We highly recomend this B&B for a truly special experiance and definatly ROYAL treatment


A Welcome Home

5 on March 05, 2013

"Welcome home" is said often at the Robertshaw and the hospitality shown to guests makes it more than a slogan. The rooms are large and lovely, the breakfast is generous, and chatting with Sister Renata and Mother Mary Anne is a pleasure. I hope to have the opportunity to return.


Comfort, Convenience & Hospitality

5 on February 26, 2013

I loved staying in Bed & Breakfasts and the Robertshaw B&B is at the top of my list for comfort, convenience and hospitality.


Sound of Music

5 on February 26, 2013

It's like being in the Sound of Music! A Benedictine Monastery with an historic guesthouse made into a B&B. This is an experience that only happens in hollywod and your dreams. It's a 5+


One of the best places ever!

5 on February 19, 2013

I had the privilege of staying here a few times and everytime it leave me breathless. Everyone is very accomodating and willing to help you out. This place is just beautiful esp.over the Christmas holiday with all the decorations and displays and the trees! The rooms are outstanding especially the suite! if you are ever in the area i would def. stay here you will not be disappointed!! Sister Renata is amazing and awesome!!


serenity at its best

5 on February 14, 2013

I have had the great privilege of staying two separate visits at the Robert Shaw Country House. Both provided me with relaxation, peace and quiet, great breakfast and such comfort. I can not wait till my schedule allows yet another escape into serenity I otherwise find absent in life. Thank you Sisters of St. Emma for your hospitality, kindness and love.


Country Charm and Ambiance at its best on the grounds of a Monastery

5 on February 13, 2013

I spent a late March Weekend in 2012 at the RobertShaw suite and had the use of the home's beautiful livingroom, dining room and kitchen area. The suite had an elegant bedroom and livingroom with a classic 1950's bath suite. The Keurig coffee service was available for my entire stay. The European continental breakfast had the most delightful meats and cheeses along with fruits and cereals and pastries which amazed me. They also provided batter and a hot waffle iron so I could prepare my own belgian waffles that I topped with fruit and syrup. It was precious and the views were lovely even in winter/early spring. For television watchers a TV room was provided downstairs. For travelers the Robertshaw House is a wonderful respite for the mind and body. Nextdoor the monastery's chapel may care for the heart and soul.


great hospitality and views of the countryside

5 on February 10, 2013

We stayed for 1 night and it was lovely. The home is beautiful, and the hospitality was fantastic. It is a short drive to Pittsburgh. We needed to go to a graduation. We love the views, the peaceful retreat. The breakfast was great. You had a TV room that was full of books, snacks, and pop. It felt like home. We will be back again. Matt & Lynn Buffalo, NY


Veteran's month stay

5 on February 10, 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Robertshaw B & B. We had the opportunity to walk the area, meditate at the Stations of the Cross, visit the nuns' cemetery, the shrine of the Last supper, the shrine of St. Walburga, the Fatima shrine and the surrounding area. Our room was FANTASTIC as were all of the Christmas decorations throughout! We were able to top it all off with evening services and Mass with the nuns in the morning. The breakfast that Sr. Renata and Molly Fichter set for us was over the top. What could they possibly do for an encore? With Love, Dave & Eleanor Devlin, Coraopolis, PA 412-331-9895


Simply Delightful!

5 on February 03, 2013

This was actually my first experience staying at a Bed & Breakfast. I always steered away from them and opted for hotels where I knew what to expect. I must say, I feel like I have been missing out. In fact, if most B & B's are even half as enjoyable as this one, then I know I have been. It was simply Delightful! It exudes charm, comfort, and cleanliness. There were so many thoughtful "little extras" that I couldn't help but smile every time I came across yet another one. I look forward to my next visit.


A Heavenly Home

5 on February 01, 2013

It was a cold, rainy night when we got off of the busy turnpike. I was so stressed from driving, but when we stepped into the house, we were so warmly greeted with 'welcome home' and a warm cup of cider and pastries that our tensions quickly subsided. We plan a return trip in the future to see more of the grounds. It has such beautiful views. We would like to see more of the gardens and animal life. A must visit.


Much more than an outstanding B & B.....

5 on January 30, 2013

The thing I would add to all the reviews above (which I agree wholeheartedly with) is that the HEART behind the service here is very apparent. Anyone can put together a nicely appointed country home with comfy beds and good food; what's rare is to find such a tremendous passion for serving, accompanied by practices that really demonstrate "putting your money where your mouth is." We visited here over Veteran's Day weekend on a complimentary stay because the sisters who run the B&B feel strongly that it's important to show value to the things / people you value. After 24 years serving in the USMC, we felt so blessed and honored to be welcomed here as their true guests. Can't say enough about this special place and, moreso, the lovely ladies who run it.


We made our own "Private Marriage Retreat" here!

5 on January 30, 2013

Sister Renata and the volunteers warmly greeted us on the front step of the Roebertshaw Country House Bed & Breakfast when we arrived for our stay in July. (This was actually my second stay, as I visited the area with my mom earlier in the month and was very pleased!) The room was beautiful and clean, with plenty of personal care products. Not only did we have the run of the house, but we were able to use the vast grounds during our stay. My husband and I were able to sit outside and read, write and discuss the marriage book that we used for our private marriage retreat. After having been well fed by the sisters both physically and spiritually, we were sorry to leave the quiet and prayerfullness of the Bed & Breakfast and the Monastery. We will return!


So much more than I could have ever expected or asked for!

5 on January 30, 2013

In my opinion, you cannot find a better quality Inn to stay in. Between the fantastic quality of the building and all the natural beauty contained within and without, you will have your breath taken away when you arrive there. And then you will find that it cannot even compare to how well you will be taken care of and catered to by all the Sisters and the many volunteers there to assist you. When you are welcomed, you are welcomed "HOME". And you will feel right at home. If you are like me, and I think you will be, then when the time comes to pack and leave, you will not ever want to leave. Real home cannot even compare to being home there. I got to stay 3 nights there and it meant more to me than these words on paper could ever say. Stay there yourself and you will soon understand it completely. You will want to return time and time again just like I want to!!! :)


Love this place

5 on January 12, 2013

I stayed at St Emma's so I could visit family and work remotely during the day from my room. I have never felt so at home while traveling. Sister Renata is the best. You will never feel so comfortable and loved. Word to the wise... If you are not the only person in the house, make sure you are the first to take a shower. Takes a while to get hot water. And if somebody beats you to it, it'll be a bit chilly. I can live with that. I plan to return.


Beautiful accomodations and outstanding hosts.

4.4 on September 17, 2012

We stayed for two nights at Robertshaw and loved everything about the time we spent there. The sisters and volunteers are gracious and welcoming and went out of their way to make us comfortable. The rooms are beautiful and a great value. We plan to return whenever we are next in the area.


UN-BELIEVABLE PLACE TO STAY - - YOU HAVE TO GO THERE

5 on October 27, 2011

What an awesome place -- - absolutly beautiful rooms - - comfort beyond belief - - - breakfast was out of this world - - and the people that are associated to the St Emma monestary are also beyond anything you would ever expect - - everyone there - - no matter what their job/ position can not do enough to make your stay one you would never forget - -


Robertshaw Country House Bed & Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $135 - $225
  • Reviews (63) 4.8
  • Rooms 4
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7248343060
  • Mobile 1-7246721838

Visit Website »

View details

Top