Lion and the Rose Victorian Guest House Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Onsite Dining4.2

Score Breakdown based on
50 Reviews

Write A Review

One of the best B&Bs to stay at

4.8 on May 13, 2017

The Lion and the Rose Victorian B&B was decorated by an interior decorator. Each room is well appointed, comfortable and luxurious.


Everything we wished

4.8 on May 09, 2017

My sister came down to visit unexpectedly. We chose to come here at the spur of the moment as I had grown up seeing this amazing house but had never been inside. Phenomenal people and so easy to go walking for everything. Great hospitality, just what I wanted on our house tour. Very happy.


Almost a week at the Lion and Rose

4.8 on May 01, 2017

Out stay at the Lion and the Rose was very comfortable and so much more enjoyable than past stays in Portland in Hotels, even VRBO. The owners and the staff were just great and helped us in every way. While we weren't there during full breakfast service, the buffet was excellent and a fine start to each of our days. We have nothing but "good" to say about the Lion and Rose Guest House.


Peaceful and Comfortable

5 on May 01, 2017

My girlfriend and I stayed here for our anniversary and it was absolutely amazing. The staff was so nice and we loved our little conversations with Steve, Dusty and Dusty to get to know them a little bit more. The rooms were always clean and tidy and the owners were such a treat and so friendly the entire time. It was close enough to walk pretty much everywhere since Portland isn't too big and it was so quiet that it was a nice break from the busy loud life of LA. We are definitely staying here again on our next trip to Portland! Thank you Steve, Dusty, Dusty and the rest of the Staff!


Excellent Bed and Breakfast

4.6 on April 23, 2017

Steve and Dusty are outstanding hosts. They gave helpful suggestions on local sights, a historic walk and restaurants. We stayed 3 nights. Our room was the Garden Room. It was beautifully furnished and quiet. The breakfast was delicious. I would recommend this guesthouse to any visitor to Portland in preference to a hotel experience. The overall attention to detail by our hosts and the standard of the Victorian furnishing was remarkable. We felt completely at home during our stay and would visit again anytime.


Gloriously Victorian with cozy rooms and warm staff

5 on April 12, 2017

Steve and Dusty have developed a wonderful respite from the cares of the world, if that’s what you need. A lovely room in a restored Victorian close to the convention center. The parlors are welcoming and an invitation to meeting with the many people who stay as well as the friendly owners and staff who are committed to their B+B. Dining is always a small miracle with wonderfully folded napkins by one of the staff. He knows over 100! There is also a small but charming garden. Many places to eat within 3 blocks. The building is on the edge of an historic district of beautifully kept Victorian and Arts and Craft style homes. Worth a walk around with a copy of a house tour booklet that is kept at Lion and Rose. A short walk to a cinema and TriMet trolley that takes you across the river to downtown, museums, zoo, gardens, and Powell’s bookstore.


Victorian Apartment Anniversary Night

5 on April 06, 2017

This is one of the most comfortable places I have ever stayed. The staff were all extremely friendly, very accommodating, and some of the best I have ever interacted with. The gift boxes are superb, and the breakfast spread is delicious. The Victorian Apartment is a place that I hope to stay again in the future, as it was one of the most wonderful experiences I have ever had! I can't wait to stay again!


rave review

4.0 on April 04, 2017

We loved our stay there. In the Rose Room the bed was so high I had to use the stool with two steps to get into it. However, getting out of it was a cinch as when I swung my legs over to get up I found I was already in a standing position. The dining table was elegant. I’ve always been a nut for lovely china and glassware. And the kitchen setup for food and drinks was just right. Hard boiled eggs, ham and cheese and blueberries was a perfect breakfast for me. The soaps in the bathroom added a nice touch, one with lion’s head and the other with a rose. You done good, boys. Thanks for the hospitality. Esther Snyder


Charming Bed and Breakfast

3.4 on April 02, 2017

I had the most modest room in the house and it was lovely, albeit small and the bathroom was across the hall. The bathroom was the largest in the house and really wonderful. Scented soaps were great. Bed comfortable. Very little street noise. Proprietors very nice and helpful. Food, including snacks, were plentiful and good quality. Not the season for a cooked breakfast. The house is excellently maintained and meticulously accurate to its era. The 3 ratings I marked above are good because I have high expectations.


Perfect comfort and charm

4.6 on April 01, 2017

A lovely room in a restored Victoria close to the Portland convention center. The parlors are welcoming and an invitation to meeting with the many people who stay as well as the friendly staff who are committed to their B+B. Steve and Dusty have developed a wonderful respite from the cares of the world, if you what you crave. There is also a small but charming garden. Many places to eat within 3 blocks. The building is on the edge of an historic district of beautifully kept Victorian and Arts and Craft style homes. Worth a walk around with a copy of a house tour booklet that is kept at Lion and Rose.


very beautiful

4.4 on March 31, 2017

gorgeous house with fantastic owners and a great location in Portland's NE.


A special ocassion; a special place to make a lasting memory.

4.6 on March 19, 2017

A perfect place to stay for an exchange of vows. Thank you for making my Mother's important day so special. Your accommodations and attention to detail were so appreciated. Can't wait to return for more memorable stays. Trish


Wonderful stay

5 on March 08, 2017

Wonderful B&B, excellent and friendly hosts. Good location.


A wonderful stay!

5 on February 27, 2017

We could not have asked for a better place to stay! I highly recommend you stay here. The owners are amazing; from start to finish they were always making sure we had just what we needed and the rooms are both beautiful decorated with all the modern amenities you'd need! We've stayed in a few B and B's in the Portland area and this is hands down our favorite. We'll be back!!


Simply couldn't be better!

5 on February 16, 2017

From the moment we arrived, we were totally taken care of. This place and their owners are amazing; beautiful and classic with all the amenities to make it what you need. I wanted to take the bed home with me! We'll be back!!


One night at the Lion and Rose

4.4 on February 15, 2017

We stayed in the Rose Room, which was the original master bedroom. We loved the décor and the large bathroom.


Beautiful B&B I will definitely stay again

4.6 on February 09, 2017

The common areas were beautiful and had to take pictures to share with friends. Always wanted to stay in a B&B like this and so glad I picked this one. Unfortunately my stay was when Portland got snow so was unable to explore the area close by on foot, but did go to a restaurant recommended by staff and had the best fried oysters I have ever had at a reasonable price. Staff very friendly and helpful.


It's like living in a museum

3.8 on February 09, 2017

Stayed here for six nights at the beginning of February. Hosts and staff are great. There are some good restaurants near by and Light Rail is about 6 or 7 blocks from there.


It was rosy

3.2 on February 03, 2017

Our Garden room was warm and inviting. My husband who got sick was comfortable in bed most of the week. We loved the location. It is within easy reach in the city. Even public transport is just around the corner. We will return in season and enjoy the full breakfast which in January was not the case but there was ample food available in the kitchen at all times.


Lovely Get Away

3.8 on January 22, 2017

We were looking for a quick relaxing get away during the snowstorm. Enjoyed the history of this delightful place.


Happy Honeymoon

4.6 on January 21, 2017

The Lion and Rose is such a beautiful place to stay that every detail enchanted our experience. We thoroughly enjoyed our brief, but memorable stay. The view from the turret in our room (The Lavonne) left for a breathtaking evening of watching passers by, the wind through the trees, and the full moon illuminating the night. We look forward to staying there again, and would recommend the place to all our friends.


Victorian Treasure

5 on January 18, 2017

First, this house is absolutely gorgeous! We were awed by the architecture and the decor. Second, our hostess (the owners were out of town) was extremely helpful and gracious. Third, it was immaculately clean. Fourth, it's location is very convenient and super close to a great restaurants and coffee places—even a vegan restaurant that was truly wonderful. Our only regret is that our trip was extremely short and we were only there for a one night stay. But we will definitely be back when we're back in Portland—hopefully soon!


Beautiful Victorian home, Great location.

3.8 on January 10, 2017

This is a charming and well-run BnB. It is within walking distance of several good restaurants and it is on a major bus route to downtown and/or the Max train. During our stay in January, the owners were away on vacation so the "second string" team presided over our stay. We were disappointed that there was no breakfast served, but a continental service was provided. The only discomfort I experienced was the fact that the walls are paper thin and you can hear people talking in the next room. That said, I would gladly book another stay.


Lovely stay

4.6 on January 09, 2017

I booked myself for a stay over Christmas Eve, since I wasn't visiting family until after Christmas. It was a perfect plan, to keep from feeling sad and lonely! I walked up and down Broadway (the street one block south) and shopped in boutiques and stores like Kitchen Kaboodle. I took a long bubble bath with lavender scented bubbles supplied by Lion and Rose. I walked to a Christmas Eve service in a nearby church, then slept well. They gave me late-late checkout on Christmas, so I was able to stay until the dinner I'd been invited to (plus I had early check in). So the staff went out of its way to accommodate me. In the winter, the B&B offers a wide variety of options for self-serve breakfast. Fine, but nothing to rave about. Actually, probably healthier . . .! I will go back to the Lion and Rose if I have a chance. Definitely.


Wonderful experience

4.6 on January 07, 2017

The Lion and the Rose is charming. Clean and comfortable. The staff is friendly and helpful. The location is awesome. I will stay here again as well as recommend it to family and friends.


Pleasant Holiday Lodgings

3.6 on December 28, 2016

This is a lovely historic Queen Anne mansion in a convenient location in Northeast Portland. My only knock on our experience is that breakfast was self-serve cereal and toast. I would have expected and appreciated a hot breakfast served by staff.


Delightful

4.2 on December 14, 2016

Outstanding accommodations. Dining is self serve continental. A little frustration booking my room. Tried online and was unable to book. Sent an email to the innkeeper with no response. Called at 9pm and was asked to call back in the morning after an existing appointment. Time I called back, the room I wanted had been reserved by someone else. I will say that all interactions upon our arrival were great: efficient, informative and hospitable. I would definitely return.


By far the best B&B.

5 on April 15, 2014

We have stay at Lion and the Rose regularly. We would not even consider staying anywhere else in the Portland area.


Better than a classic!

5 on December 25, 2013

My wife and I spent two great nights at this B&B. It was splendid on all fronts. The decor was just perfect enough to make you feel that you had just been thrust back into the 19th century. We will try to plan another visit to this wonderful inn.


Trip to Portland

5 on October 26, 2013

What a great place to stay. Close to everything. Wonderful room and bed, great breakfast and snacks available during the evening. These folks thought of everything, maps of the area, suggestions of things to do and see. Recommendations of local restaurant's etc. If you looking to stay in Portland you will not go wrong staying here.


Lovely!

4.4 on October 17, 2013

This is a lovely B&B. Very clean, delicious food and gracious hostess. Quiet area and close to the center of town.


Exceeded our expectations in every way

5 on August 31, 2013

We were two sisters traveling to Portland for a relaxing summer getaway in the beautiful Northwest. We looked into a variety of accommodations, but after speaking on multiple occasions to the innkeepers at The Lion and the Rose, it was an easy decision to pick this beautiful Portland gem, which is nestled in a lovely historic neighborhood, just a stone's throw from Downtown. Traveling from the Inn to wherever we needed to go was a breeze with the easily accessible public transportation. Even before we made our decision to stay, the innkeepers were generous and helpful in providing guidance and information. This was just the beginning. Once we arrived, Dusty and Steve were there to greet us warmly, making us instantly feel like we had reached our home away from home. The inn was elegant yet cozy, with every amenity one would need. Once you've experienced the impossibly soft sheets, the elaborate breakfasts, the fresh-baked cookies, and the surrounding beauty viewed from the comfort of their porch swing, you may never want to leave. We've stayed in numerous B&B's, but what truly distinguished The Lion and the Rose was its owners. Their thoughtful, kind, and generous spirits remains our fondest memory of a wonderful vacation.


Gorgeous home in Portland welcomes you.

5 on August 17, 2013

We felt like we were among friends from the minute we stepped into the house. Everything was perfect, the place is lovely, the food was great, the innkeepers were friendly. I am a very fussy traveler and the Lion and the Rose was perfect in every way.


Beautifully kept.

4.6 on August 06, 2013

We had great stay in this lovely home. The Victorian Apartment affords all the comforts of home and was perfect for our family of four. We were there for a full week and had everything we needed. Our hosts were generous and friendly and full of useful information about Portland and the surrounding area. I look forward to a return visit to the Lion and Rose.


Everything a B&B should be

4.8 on May 14, 2013

Everything a B&B should be. Well maintained by people who clearly love it. Friendly people, both staff and guests. The neighborhood is also quite lovely.


Beautiful Place !

4.8 on April 05, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay - we had such a wonderful time; the food was great and so was the service. This place is located in a great area to walk to shops, restaurants and bars - you won't be disappointed !


Awesome Experience

4.6 on February 25, 2012

I have stayed at this B&B twice and have reservations for this April. I stayed in the Turret room the first time and stayed in the Victorian apartment over christmas. Both were extremely pleasant and every detail was attended to. The apartment was so wonderful that I decided right away to plan a trip with my sister. The staff and owners are very pleasant and help with any need you have. Though I am a very picky eater I did try the breakfast on my 1st stay. They and a nice spread and had no problem cooking me up something I would like. Overall would recommend this B&B in a heart beat and actually have to my friends and coworkers.


wonderful place to stay

5 on December 14, 2009

We only spent one night and wished we had time for more. Beautiful, old house with scrumptious breakfast.


Feel like you've stepped back in time...

4.6 on September 06, 2009

A beautiful place to stay, great attention to detail, fascinating furniture and objects all around... Hosts are very welcoming, ready to talk about the house and the city, and breakfast was superb. Really enjoyed the chance to mingle with other guests and hosts...that's why we choose B&B's and not impersonal hotels... A find!


A grand experience

4.6 on September 05, 2009

Absolutely beautiful Bed & Breakfast! It was much bigger than expected, and really felt like staying in an old Victorian home. The innkeepers and all the staff were very friendly and informative. We would definitely stay there again!


Beautiful but rigid

4.0 on July 20, 2009

This B & B is lovely but not the place for a romantic get away. The innkeepers are nice but their schedule is inflexible. There is only one time for breakfast: 8:30 (or 9:00 on weekends). If you want to go out for weekend entertainment, there is no chance of sleeping in if you want to eat. Check out is 11:00 which is simply too early and unexpected. Be prepared to sit together with everyone else at the inn for breakfast whether you feel like be conversational or not.


Delightful, Social Inn

5 on June 15, 2009

We loved the Lion and the Rose. Everything was beautifully furnished and decorated, the rooms were large and comfortable, all amenities, the food wonderful, but for us the best part was breakfast. All guests meet in the dining room at 8:30 (9 on Sunday) and eat together at one large table. We heard, and told, great stories, shared sightseeing suggestions, and got to know each other. Steve (innkeeper) joined us when he could. We will certainly go back again.


Extremely nice owners wonderful food

4.0 on October 19, 2008

Whilst this may not be the best ‘value’ in town it surely is the nicest. The owners are two of the kindest B&B owners I’ve ever met. Their home is stunningly beautiful. They make you feel like you are welcome in their home without feeling overbearing or that you are imposing. The food was simply magnificent. The regional material they make available, which includes a 7 minute Power Point presentation on the sights around Portland (if you want to watch it) is fantastic. They have perfect maps (which they designed themselves), great suggestions and are available for questions at all times of the day and evening. The location is perfect for walking to restaurants or a quick drive to any of the local attractions. I would definitely stay at this B&B again though I would recommend staying on one of the upper floors. The other visitors sometimes do not realize that there are guest rooms right off the parlor and tend to talk too loudly in the early morning. The owners are masters of detail. They had non-scented soaps and my coffee was ready for me in the morning exactly like I like it.


one of the best B&B

4.4 on June 22, 2008

the owners and staff do their outmost to be helpful


wonderful stay

5 on June 16, 2008

this is the third time we have stayed here. we highly recommend the lion and the rose.the rooms are comfortable and lovely


Very NIce Indeed

4.0 on May 25, 2008

My daughter and I stayed just one night at the Lion and Rose and we were very pleased. It was one of the best nights we had slept on our trip. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was wonderful. They also provide you with maps and detailed information about Portland and major sites not to miss. We will definately return!


Everything I ever wanted...

4.0 on May 24, 2008

The service was beyond any I have ever experienced at a B & B. The rooms are beautiful, the food divine and plentiful. Free snacks and drinks available all day. No stone unturned in restoration and service. Got a historical tour of the house from the owners. My best B & B experience to date.


UNBELIEVEABLE!!

5 on April 22, 2008

Our first experience with a Bed and Breakfast and it was the most enjoyable stay I've had in my life! I hated to leave! The attention given by the staff and the way everyone was made to feel like they were in their own home was extra special! Truly an expereince that will never be forgotten!!


Excellent Service!

5 on June 19, 2007

What a stunning Home! Excellent stay! I loved staying here for 9 days in 2006. Attention to detail is Key! Thanks Dusty and Steve! Excellent Staff as well.-:)


Lovely location & great place to stay in Portland

5 on April 12, 2007

My husband & I spent a day here. The lion & The rose's location is excellent. Steve & Dusty were extremely helpful & very warm. We still have the umbrellas they gave us & also they gave us very good advice with sightseeing & directions.


Lion and the Rose Victorian Guest House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $134 - $234
  • Reviews (50) 4.6
  • Rooms 8
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5032879245
  • Fax 1-5032879247
  • Toll free 1-8009551647

Visit Website »

View details

Top