Mt. Emily Ranch Bed and Breakfast Reviews


View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Onsite Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
36 Reviews

Write A Review

Beautiful Place To Stay

5 on September 28, 2016

My husband and I headed out on a tour of the coastline and stayed in B&B's throughout our trip. There was no question that Mt. Emily Ranch was our favorite stop. The Inn was spacious, immaculate and beautiful. Carol could not have made the trip any more special. Great place to stay, great food, great hospitality! We will definitely visit again.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you! I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit as I did :)

Working Ranch Flavor / Quiet Night

4.2 on August 15, 2016

We had no reservations, but we called ahead about 30 minutes before we showed up, and the owner said she had some room, but not in the "B & B" portion of her ranch house. The owner was friendly on the telephone, guided us up the hill to her ranch, and gave us very good directions. My wife and I were first greeted by the cow wanting to get into the better grazing that she assumed was inside the automatic gate near the ranch house. The owner also warmly greeted us, shooed the cow away, and she gave us a choice: The first choice was the "family vacation wing", a private part of the main ranch house with its own private entrance. This wing has its own huge, fully equipped country kitchen, its own gigantic living room, with lots of recliners and couches, two beautifully detailed bedrooms, two bathrooms, its own laundry room, and an inner sewing room. The other choice was a separate house a short walk down the gravel driveway, and was a "work in progress", as she had warned us before we came. It was cute, but only partly furnished and unfinished. We took the family vacation wing attached to the main ranch house. All the usual amenities were in place, we lacked for nothing, and our night was clear, starry and very quiet. The owner included us in the usual "B & B" family breakfast and we joined the group even though we had not planned for breakfast. Very well prepared food, great company, and overall, a good value. The driveway is steep, graveled and rutted in spots, but if you are a Westerner, you should have no complaints, unless, of course, you are some kind of Californian, or big city folk.

Innkeeper Response
It was great that you were able to make a last minute booking and I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay!

Hidden Gem

5 on August 09, 2016

The Mount Emily Ranch B&B is way off the beaten path, but so worth the extra few miles to get there. Our family of four was very comfortable in the Green Room, with my husband and I in an extremely comfortable memory foam bed and our girls each in their own twin bed in a separate little room. Carol has done a really nice job with the details: plush, cozy towels, super soft sheets and handmade soaps. Both the dinner and breakfast she made for us were delicious. Our daughters made themselves right at home there, playing with Zena the Golden Retriever, Fuzzy the cat and even feeding the cows. We were sorry to only have one night at this extraordinary property with such a gracious hostess!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you! I enjoyed your family visit - come again:)

A three night stay that exceeded our expectations

5 on July 23, 2016

Mt. Emily Ranch is a quiet, scenic location well situated for our desire to explore the S. Oregon coastal areas and forests. The log building is beautiful! The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated, and the owner/hostess, Carol, is warm, helpful, and accommodating. Breakfasts were excellent! Couldn't recommend this place more highly.

Wonderful Stay

5 on July 18, 2016

We had a wonderful, relaxing stay here. The breakfasts and dinner were great, the other guests were interesting and we all were able to take advantage of the common spaces to get to know each other. Carol is a kind, hardworking hostess and her B&B and farm reflect her efforts. Thank you for a great B&B experience!

We loved Mt. Emily Ranch!

5 on July 15, 2016

We loved our stay at Mt. Emily. Carol was a wonderful hostess. Our room was spacious and beautiful. The breakfast was superb. We woke up to the smell of homemade bread baking. Our teenagers loved seeing the ranch and the cows and all of the wildlife. We would definitely recommend and hope to be back again some day.

Pleasant stay!

5 on June 30, 2016

We thouroughly enjoyed our stay. A beautiful home and Carol was a wonderful host. We would absolutely stay here again.

Great place in Brookings.

4.8 on May 31, 2016

As my first dive into a B&B I was overwhelmed with my stay here. My wife and children and myself had a great stay and Carol was extremely helpful. We were new to the area and she talked to me about the places to go and what to experience. Great stay and we will be going there again.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for bringing your family to stay here, I enjoyed visiting and showing the kids the animals. Come again soon!

Excellent bed and breakfast

5 on May 03, 2016

This was our first time to stay at a Bed and Breakfast. We were a little apprehensive but had a pleasant experience. The food and company was great.


4.6 on April 25, 2016

This was a beautiful log home and very welcoming. It was so relaxing. We opted for the evening meal and we weren't at all disappointed! Carol cooked a meal with their own home grown beef. Definitely looking forward to a return trip!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you - so glad you enjoyed your stay. Come back soon :)

Mt. Emily bed and breakfast

4.6 on November 22, 2015

I have nothing but superlatives for the comfort,spaciousness and quality of the food.. Recently , I staid 3 nights and i highly recommend Carol and her hospitality.

Spacious inside and out

4.2 on November 09, 2015

This modern home is build in log cabin style, with very spacious bedrooms as well as open interior areas. The view across the river to the hills beyond is expansive. The quiet, relaxing atmosphere is made special by the attentiveness of the hostess.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for staying here and for taking the time to leave a review. Happy Traveling:)

Fabulous stay at Mt. Emily Ranch!

5 on September 17, 2015

Had a fabulous stay with Carol at Mt. Emily Ranch. The rooms were comfortable and immaculate. The breakfasts were delicious and Carol and her family were so friendly and accommodating. Would definitely recommend and would live to stay here again!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come again!

Fabulous stay at Mt. Emily Ranch!

5 on September 07, 2015

Had a fabulous stay at Mt. Emily Ranch! Carol and her family are warm, welcoming and accommodating. The ranch is quiet, relaxing and beautiful. Everything is immaculate. The breakfasts were yummy! Thank you Carol!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you - come back again :)

Beautiful, comfortable, as good as it gets!!

4.0 on August 25, 2015

We were in awe of this beautiful B&B. Very spacious, private, super clean, and comfortable. Carol the innkeeper was amazing. She cooks, cleans, takes care of pets/animals (handles stray cows!), and does everything. This is the best B&B we've ever been to. I would've rated it 5 bars for Outstanding on everything but this site would only let me rate to 4 bars (Exceeded my expectations). We will definitely return someday.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much! I enjoyed your visit and I hope you can come back again.

Surprising out-of-the-way find

3.8 on June 11, 2015

We are a Canadian couple who travel once a year with a son who lives in California and were recently exploring Oregon for 10 days. We found Mt. Emily on-line and thought it might be a good one-night stop. That it was. Prospective guests should not be deterred by the twisty road up. The B and B is in a beautiful pastoral setting; Carol is a gracious, helpful hostess; rooms are very spacious; and Belgian waffles were a great send-off for the day. We would recommend Mt. St. Emily to those who look for special B and B experiences. The Nicki Family

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, I enjoyed visiting with you during your stay and hope you can come again.

Good stop for family

4.2 on May 22, 2015

Our party of four from Thailand includes my husband and our two daughters. We wanted to find a good stop between Eureka and Portland and this is it. The property is about 15 minutes away from Brookings. It sits on top of a hill with a nice view. Carol's house is just beautiful. The room is large with a small separate bedroom for our two girls. The bed is very comfortable. Our kids enjoy playing with Zeena, Carol's Golden Retriever, as well as the horses and the cows on the property. We love her home-made breakfast, eggs and great hash brown, which we can't find in a hotel. We just had a little trouble finding her place, using Garmin. It's actually listed on Google map, but we didn't have a signal at that time.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you, I enjoyed visiting with you - and Xena enjoyed playing with your children :)

Outstanding experience at Mt.Emily Ranch

4.4 on April 24, 2015

My husband and I had a great experience staying and dining at Mt. Emily Ranch. We had a delicious dinner of grilled pork chops, salad, roasted vegetables and hr awarding winning apple pie. The only thing that could have made the experience even better as a longer visit and sunshine rather than the heavy rain we had. We are planning to return to this lovely property!

Mt. Emily Ranch Bed and Breakfast

5 on March 01, 2015

Very much enjoyed my stay. The breakfast was great and homemade including the English Muffin Bread under the Eggs Benedict and the Hollandaise Sauce.

Fantastic Food

5 on January 19, 2015

Carol is an amazing cook and the fresh meat and produce was wonderful. Room was large, clean and comfortable. Nice view. Honestly, we were a little thrown off by the praying at dinner and many religious books in the room, but it was fine and we respected her faith. She may have been a little uncomfortable with a gay couple, which might be why she did not engage in any much casual conversation during dining. We made sure to talk about farming a lot to keep it going. With all that being said, she was always polite and we would certainly return.

A Cozy Portland to SF Road Trip Stop

4.8 on October 10, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Mt. Emily Ranch during our anniversary road trip from Portland and San Francisco. It was the perfect halfway point along our route. This was the first time we had stayed at a B&B so we didn't really know what to expect, but Carol made us feel immediately at home with our own private area on the 2nd floor (we were the only guests). The room and bathroom were spotless and had some much room to accompany the expansive views of her ranch and the Chetco River Valley. We were woken up to the smell of homemade waffles and bacon in the morning - which, we highly recommend. The antique waffle iron that she uses just solidifies that this is a cozy B&B. Overall, everything was great - perfect for our trip. The only negative was that it was a bit far from town. However, if you are staying for more than one night or have some time the next day, definitely stay awhile, and explore the ranch or just read a book while overlooking the amazing views.

An unexpectedly excellent stay

5 on August 31, 2014

We were travelling down the west coast from Seattle to San Francisco and had stayed in some pretty spectacular hotels. We needed to make a stop in this region but couldn't find a suitable hotel similar in quality to the previous ones. We stumbled across Mount Emily Ranch and booked it with some trepidation as we very rarely stay in a bed and breakfast. We really needn't have worried! The accommodation is stunning and the setting amazing! The food was mainly home reared and grown and tasted wonderful. The other couple staying were great company so much so we will keep in touch with them. We intended to make an early departure but ended up dragging ourselves away at midday. Carol is a fabulous hostess, judging how much attention you need impeccably. In our opinion if you are in this region it is a fabulous place to stay.

Real "country" while near the coast!

4.2 on August 30, 2014

I must admit that my husband and I were a bit leery as we approached this B&B. Once we turned off the main road, we followed a short gravel road through two metal gates (cattle security?) at the press of roadside buttons. One step inside this BEAUTIFUL home, however, any hesitations about our stay vanished. The home is exquisitely built and has a view of the mountains and part of the Chetco that invites you to sit outside with a good book and NOT read! The rooms are huge (!), totally private, and decorated beautifully. Roaming and sitting space allowed in this B&B are amazing. Loved the moo of the cows across the road, the deer mingling with the cows, and many birds! Carol is a hard worker and gracious, warm hostess. We will definitely return.

A quaint place in the mountains!

4.8 on August 22, 2014

We had a short but beautiful stay. The room (green room) was very clean and spacious. The house has a warm feel and for a moment you may think you are visiting an old friend's house. We got to meet Fuzzy (the cat), the golden retriever as well as one of the cows with her calf. Thank you Carol for a wonderful breakfast and your effort to accommodate our request for a light meal!

A Real Gem!!

4.8 on August 08, 2014

Delightful hosts, fantastic home, beautiful views, just about perfect. Delicious evening meal with the family. Breakfast was a delight with freshly picked peaches and plums and homemade bread. We will be returning as soon as we can.

Highly recommended

3.6 on June 15, 2014

Very clean, spacious rooms with very large common area. The house is located in a beatiful, quiet spot. The owner is very friendly and outgoing, and went out of her way to cater for my (and another guest's) dietary restrictions.

Innkeeper Response
We enjoyed your stay, it was so interesting to hear about your travels. Thank you

Best Bed & Breakfast we have ever experienced.

5 on December 22, 2013

Stayed at Mt Emily over Thanksgiving and it was fantastic. We were visiting from Australia and Carol and her family are the sweetest. They went over and beyond our expectations. If you are planning to stay in the area or see the Tall Trees, then you won't get any better experience than Mt Emily Ranch.

First class hospitality

5 on November 30, 2013

As well as the great food and the lovely room, what I'll remember about Emily Ranch is driving up to the ranch in the dark and seeing Carol standing silhouetted against the bright light of the doorway. She was waiting to welcome us after our long drive. Waiting for us was the meal we had asked for, in all the details, when she had emailed us before our stay - golden roast chicken, garlic roast potatoes and fresh al dente vegetables. Nothing more could have been done to give us a great stay and we wished we could have stayed longer to become acquainted with the animals on the ranch. This is definitely a two-plus day destination.

Absolutely authentic experience

5 on October 07, 2013

While on motorcycle trip along the coast we stopped at Mt. Emily Ranch B & B in September 2013. It substantially exceeded our expectations and in reality it is even more gorgeous than website photos. Looking back on our two week trip it was definitely our best dining and lodging experience. Carol (the owner) treated us with amazing Elk Stew dinner and we tested some home made fruit wines in warm home environment. In the morning we were leaving early and Carol kindly prepared early breakfast for us. Rooms (we occupied both) are huge and perfectly clean and furnished. Common area provides kitchenette and plenty of rest and play beautifully furnished space. There were plenty of other small and excellent details like handcrafted soap gift which we aren't mentioning but which made experience even more enjoyable. We would love to stop again, we believe this is perfect place for a couple get-away or as a stop on your trip. Feel free to contact me with questions. Note that there is a bit of drive uphill to get to the ranch house but that should not be a problem - even on rainy day motorcycles treated it ok.

Mountain Retreat

5 on August 10, 2013

What a great treat/retreat a few miles from Brookings just up the Chetco river valley. Carol and her family share their beautiful milled log home via their two very private upstairs suites. This is a new home and the rooms are huge, clean, comfortable and have a great view down the river valley. Do dinner with them if you can and sample some of the fresh meats, fruits and veggies they raise on this 100+ acre property. Plenty of room to roam with lots of wildlife all around, including friendly cats and a golden retriever that are happy to plan if you want -- they won't bug you if you don't. We had the Elk roast (yum) for dinner, fresh peaches and ice cream and some fresh-picked blackberries with our hearty breakfast. You know those places that you don't want to leave? This is one of those places. You'll be treated like family.

Wonderful Place to Stay

5 on July 29, 2013

We had a very nice one night stay at the Mt. Emily Ranch B&B. We were passing through the area on our way south and needed a place to stay one night. It is about 10 min out of Brookings, OR down a pretty winding road. Carol was a terrific host. The room was large, clean and very nice with a large private bathroom. It was upstairs with a large adjacent sitting area and huge picture windows that overlook the valley. We had a great breakfast before departing in the morning. We would definitely stay there again.

Best time ever!!!

5 on July 06, 2013

We were warmly welcomed to this beautiful ranch and enjoyed ever minute of our stay there....we loved the food, the hosts, the serenity. Had delicious elk steak for dinner....and the breakfast of bacon, eggs, hash browns and toast was spectacular. Had some good laughs around the dinner/breakfast table, learned a lot about cows and horses, simply felt very much at home. Room was very spacious and clean. Would go back in a heartbeat!!!

Our Weekend At Mt Emily Ranch

5 on April 03, 2013

I want to thank Lisa and her mother Carol SO much for such a fantastic stay at their Bed and Breakfast. It is WELL worth the short drive out there from Gold Beach. As soon as we pulled up to the house I was impressed, not only by their beautiful ranch set on a sloping hillside, but with the gorgeous log home. It is like a showcase! As soon as you walk in you feel welcomed and it has such a peaceful relaxed atmoshphere. Our rooms were absolutely beautiful---and huge! There are tons of couches and chairs to relax on and a great selection of books to read. Lisa and her mom made us a great hamburger dinner and then some absolutely awesome pancakes the next morning. I would definitely stay here again!


5 on April 02, 2013

We stayed two nights and I wanted to stay! The house is so beautiful! I am still amazed at how gorgeous it was. The views were great! I felt right at home. The hospitality was outstanding. The homemade apple cider was great :) I recommend this place to everyone. You will not be disappointed. I can't wait to go back.

Beautiful, serene, warm and welcoming!

5 on April 01, 2013

We stayed here during Easter weekend and was totally enchanted by this place! The views are amazing, the quiet and calm are so relaxing, and the wonderful foods and conversations were delightful! We didn't want to leave! Carol and her daughter Lisa are amaxing hosts, always ahead of our every need! The home cooked meals and home made foods were delicious! They made you feel as if you truly lived there and were part of the family! This was one of the very best experiences I have had staying at any place away from home!! If you devide to stay here, You won't be disappointed!!

Magnificent Views, Great Beds

5 on February 18, 2013

We enjoyed our Valentine’s Day stay at Mt. Emily Bed And Breakfast so very much! The room was spacious and welcoming with a very comfortable bed, I fell asleep as soon as my head hit the pillow. The quiet of the country night was wonderful, broken only by the chorus of frogs over by the pond. Owner, Carol and her daughter Lisa cooked a wonderful dinner with Lisa’s favorite Lemon Cranberry Cheesecake for desert and breakfast was Carol’s Belgian Waffles made in her antique Belgian Waffle maker.

Mt. Emily Ranch Bed and Breakfast


  • Nightly Rate $175 - $195
  • Reviews (36) 4.8
  • Rooms 2
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-5414693983
  • Mobile 1-5416612134

Visit Website »

View details