Harrison House Bed & Breakfast Reviews


View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Onsite Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
57 Reviews

Write A Review

Lived-In Comfort and a Gracious Host

5 on October 26, 2016

My partner and I have been staying with Columbus' "Hostess with the Mostest" for about three years now, since he started in the Ph.D. Program at OSU. Our first trip we stayed at a competing B&B on Neil Ave. (which was fine in all respects, but the innkeepers were a bit aloof (or just busy with other occupations) and poor at returning phone calls and making reservations, so for our second trip to the city we sought alternative accommodations and found Harrison House, to our unending delight). When we were unable to stay with Lynn on one subsequent trip, we spent an evening at another competing B&B in the Short North district (also quite fine indeed but, except at breakfast, there is little contact with the innkeeper, who was very pleasant, and the home is just a bit 'clinical,' and less lived-in comfortable). Harrison House is just more relaxed and friendly in all respects. It is eclectic, reflecting the personality of the gracious and gregarious owner/hostess, who has opened her heart to us, introduced us to her friends and lovely daughter, and in short made us feel like members of her family and household. This is a priceless gift. We hope everyone will have the same experience here as we have had. J & C

Innkeeper Response
Oh my loves! Thank you! You are a priceless gift to me too! Over the last 3 years you have become family and I look forward to each time you visit Columbus. I enjoy our visits at breakfast and your enchanting stories and J, you make the best ever martinis!!! I'm already anticipating a November visit and maybe January too. The martini fixings are waiting! Hugs and kisses to you both, Lynn

Charm and location

5 on October 23, 2016

Lynne is a fantastic hostess. Cozy rooms and a the best sleep with a constant drizzle outside the window. Delicious breakfast and great conversation. Could you ask for more?


4.6 on October 15, 2016

Attention to detail Delightful host Will recommend

Great Place for Out-of-Town OSU Fans

4.6 on October 11, 2016

This beautiful home is walking distance to OSU campus with plenty of private parking for guests. We having been staying at Harrison House for years during our annual trips to see the Buckeyes. Lynn is a gracious, fun hostess who provides well for her guests without hovering. The breakfasts are delicious! Harrison House is our Columbus home. Ron, Linda and Mark

Great place to stay

5 on September 26, 2016

We were made to feel like welcome guests and were treated well. Excellent breakfast. Convenient location. Lovely rooms.

convenient and charming

4.8 on September 19, 2016

We loved this quaint old home and the innkeeper was fun and helpful and it was close to our area of interest: The James cancer center and the Short North.

Great place to stay

4.8 on September 14, 2016

Charming home with an elegant dining room and cozy parlor in a comfortable neighborhood. Our room and private bath were well appointed, neat, and clean. Very convenient parking with easy access to The Ohio State University. Lynn is a gracious and caring host with attention to detail and a genuine interest in providing the best experience for her guests. Al

Super great visit to Columbus

5 on September 01, 2016

I'm so glad we found Harrison House and met the owner/innkeeper Lynn. We had a quick 2-day get away and this was the perfect place to relax and visit the city. Lynn is such an enjoyable person and really loves being a great host. Had a lovely visit -- hope to see Lynn again sometime. Debbie & Greg

Innkeeper Response
Debbie & Greg, I'm glad you found Harrison House too! What a pleasure having you as guests and definitely learned a lot during our breakfast chats. Do hope to see you again or maybe I'll take a day off and visit you sometime. Wishing you a busy season! Cheers! Lynn

Beautiful Vicotorian house with very nice host

4.8 on August 21, 2016

In a nice and quite neighborhood this Victorian house is a wonderful retreat for relaxing and sleeping. Room No 1 is a large room with a comfortable queen bed, large closet in an extra room with desk and bathroom with a tub. The decoration of the house is very nice with a lot of original pieces. Breakfast is outstanding with fresh fruits and homemade joghurt followed by a hot dish which varied every morning. Very delicious are the own raised tomatoes and grilled avocados. There is a parkinglot next to the house but public transportation is also very easy to access because there are three bus lines running almost direct in front of the house. And Lynn was always very helpful with information about sightseeing and dining. Booking and the correspondance before my arrival was very easy and always very fast. I`m really sorry that I was so busy during my visit. I would have loved to spent more time in the house. And thank you very much for taking me to the blue grass on the last evening!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for the great review...from an outstanding guest! I loved your visit, and I too wish that you hadn't been so busy and we could have spent more time chatting. The bluegrass evening was indeed a fun time. Maybe you will find your way to Columbus again for another conference! Cheers! Lynn

Great B&B!

5 on August 10, 2016

We had a great stay and Lynn was awesome! I love staying in B&Bs because they feel like an extension of home. Harrison House was just that. Everything was perfect from reservations, check in, the room, breakfast, to check out. My only regret was not being able to stay longer. If you are looking for a great place to stay in downtown Columbus, look no further!

Home away from home

4.8 on August 05, 2016

My husband and I love visiting the Harrison House. Lynn is so welcoming. She truly makes it feel like a home away from home. We cannot wait to visit again. The house is beautiful with lots of character and the breakfast is excellent. We look forward to visiting again very soon!

Overnight Stay

3.0 on June 07, 2016

Our stay at the Harrison House was pleasant. We did not spend much time there, but the bedroom and bathroom were clean and well decorated. We slept soundly without interruption. The breakfast was delightful. Lynn was a gracious host. I recommend the Harrison House to anyone traveling to Columbus.


5 on May 04, 2016

I stay here once maybe twice a year. I just love it! It is my home away from home. I can walk to get whatever I need. The rooms are very very comfy and beautiful! Lynn is a very good hostess and cook. Sandy from Cincinnati

OSU Nursing program weekend

5 on April 26, 2016

Our Host, Lynn Varney, and other guests make this B&B visit always enjoyable and the convenience to the OSU activities close and convenient. We look forward to staying again soon.

A Victorian Village Treasure

5 on March 15, 2016

I was in desperate need of a night away. How lucky I was to have chosen Harrison House. Lynn is an awesome host! She welcomes her guests as you would a friend to your home. The rooms are beautiful, the bed comfortable, and somehow, even when there are multiple guests, once you get in your room, it's peaceful and quiet. On top of all that, Lynn is a great cook! Where else can you go and get homemade yougurt or bread?


5 on November 17, 2015

We had to cancel our trip to Columbus and our room at The Harrison House and we are heartbroken about it. We love the hospitality Lynn gives us and look forward to seeing her every year. We feel like we come home again every time we visit. Definitely a gem! We shall return! Thanks Lynn ¿¿

Innkeeper Response
Ahhhh....we missed seeing you this weekend my friends! Hopefully you survived the snow storm...see you next year!

Perfect Location for OSU Visit

4.2 on October 20, 2015

We chose this inn based on its location for a visit to OSU and couldn't have been happier. OSU was an easy, safe walk as was High Street/Short North for evening dining. But the greatest asset at Harrison House is host Lynn whose warm welcome set the tone for our visit. We enjoyed breakfasts with Lynn and other guests at the big table and the verandah seating in the evening. Highly recommended.

Home away from home

5 on January 07, 2015

I stayed at the Harrison House for two nights as a mini-vacation. The stay was outstanding. The house was clean and many rooms in the house had fresh paint! Breakfast was delicious with fresh fruit, coffee cake and the most delicious maple bacon I've ever experienced. The parlor is my favorite room to hang out in and Lynn has a closet full of games to enjoy. Can't wait for my next stay!

Outstanding Hospitality!

5 on January 02, 2015

Repeat Guest.Enjoyed a great stay at Harrison House over the holidays. The room was great. The bathroom was clean and convientently located in the suit. Lynn was a great host as usual and provided us with everything we needed to enjoy our time. What a unique way to enjoy the city.

5 star B&B in the heart of Columbus

5 on July 08, 2014

What a great experience it was for my daughter and me to stay at this lovely Victorian B&B. The owner made us feel like family the moment we arrived and provided great conversation and insight as to places to go and things to see. Our room was spacious, clean and very comfortable (I slept like a baby). If you want to stay at a great B&B in the heart of Columbus you've got to check out the Harrison House. Definitely 5 stars all the way!!

Just the best B&B Vibe for us

4.8 on May 04, 2014

We've stayed with Lynn at her Harrison House B&B a number of times now. We love it because there is no better location closer to OSU (5 blocks away) and High Street South (where all the action and great restaurants are). Here's what we like especially--you want a certain vibe when you stay at a B&B: laid back atmosphere, helpful owner, cozy lodging in a historic place, clean rooms, comfortable beds, good rates and a nice breakfast. We've had all of that--and what we really love is Lynn. She's all heart and a solid storyteller and around-the-table debater, all in one and a good breakfast cook to-boot. This is a place to relax, and super convenient location. But most of all the vibe--that's what makes this place different and special.

Consistently excellent

5 on November 05, 2013

My name is Noah and after 3 stays I can't imagine staying anywhere else to visit my brother in college. I'm 15 and yet I felt compelled to leave a review as my family and I enjoy every aspect of the Harrison House. Lynn makes you feel like family an provides breakfast like no other. I love the atmosphere and the stay here only makes my trip from jersey to Ohio a whole lot better

Great stay in a perfect location

5 on October 20, 2013

As innkeepers in Ann Arbor, MI, it was high time we visited U-M's rival Columbus during a road trip through Ohio. What luck to have chosen Harrison House. We appreciated Lynn's warm, down-to-earth, comfortable approach to the B&B life, which happens to match our own. The house and the surrounding neighborhood is charming and welcoming. We could not recommend it more highly.

An Ideal Location

4.8 on April 19, 2013

The Harrison House is a gem and the location outstanding for a getaway in Columbus. Charming inkeeper, clean, comfortable and inviting guestrooms and great food. Recommend a stay for business for pleasure!

Just Perfect

5 on March 20, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my visit: accommodations impressive, food wonderful, sense of community and quiet were just perfect. Will surely stay again next time I am in Columbus.

Great Place for Girls Weekend

5 on October 09, 2012

Spent a weekend here with three friends from college and had a great time. Lynn is a fabulous hostess and truly enjoys what she does. Breakfast was not only delicious (LOVE the French toast and bacon) but a fun way to get to know the other visitors. It is just what you expect from a bed and breakfast. We walked to both German Village and Short North for shopping / dining.

Only Place I Stay in Columbus!

5 on June 05, 2012

I have been coming to the Harrison House for about 5 years now. I have never thought about staying anywhere else! Lynn is an amazing hostess. Not only is her food the best breakfast in town, but her restaurant/shopping/general Columbus knowledge is superb! It is a delight to spend a weekend in a true home away from home. I always enjoy meeting the other guests and enjoying all of the culture Columbus has to offer. The only room I have not slept in is room #1. All of the rooms have comfortable beds, luxurious linens, heavenly pillows and squeaky clean bathrooms. I especially love the bathroom in room #6 with all of the windows and the glass blocks! I look forward to returning soon...thanks Lynn!

I highly recommend

5 on October 17, 2011

The house and neighborhood are beautiful, the room was comfortable, breakfast was great (so were Lynn's cookies!!), and Lynn is a warm and friendly and funny host. I will be back!

We will always stay here!

4.6 on September 01, 2011

We had a wonderful 3 night stay at Harrison House. We enjoyed a glass of wine on the porch with other guests each evening. The breakfasts were yummy and the conversation was interesting. Our room was comfortable and well decorated. The whole house is very Victorian and inviting. Lynn was available to give advice and recommendations for local restaurants and sites. We plan to stay here on all trips to Columbus!

Great place to stay in Columbus

5 on July 20, 2011

We were going to Columbus to visit with my son’s family and get reacquainted with our grandchild but where to stay. We had done the fancy hotel and were torn between renting a furnished condo or staying at a B&B. We opted for the B&B and couldn’t be happier about our choice: Harrison House in the Victorian Village section of Columbus. Our room was very comfortable and very neat. But the best was Lynn and the other guests. Lynn is like a relative of whom you are very fond but because of time and distance you never get to see. Her breakfasts always include fresh fruit but then vary from bacon and eggs (to order) or a frittata or coffee cake or yogurt or even cereal for those who thrive on those boxed flakes. And of course there is juice and plenty of coffee for caffeine cravers like myself. But best is lingering after breakfast and just sitting about and talking with Lynn. As it cools for the night you will find her and other guests on the front porch with either a glass of wine or bottle of bear just trading stories of the day’s events and places or restaurants discovered. Your needs are anticipated and fresh towels always appear in you room without asking but you always could ask if you really needed to. Basically staying at Harrison House is like staying at your own home if it were run with hospitality and warmth and humor. As we were there for a week we got to meet her dogs, which are the sweetest animals, but you won’t know they are there as they stay in Lynn’s apartment as she lives on site. Harrison House may be a business but it is home to Lynn and to her guests it is home. And for those who need to know, it is close to everything Columbus.

A truly unique room!

4.2 on June 22, 2011

I recently stayed at the Harrison House while I was in Columbus for business. Lynn accomodated my last minute travel plans graciously. I was lucky to find a cancellation and had the suite at the top of the house. What a treasure! The room has the sloping ceilings, nooks, and crannies that make it adorable. The bathroom is a converted turret (circular tower, which are common in Victorian era homes). The windows in both the bedroom and bath opened to allow in the breeze and the light. It was magical, like sleeping in the tops of the trees. The bed and bath are comfortable and clean. I do agree with other reviewers that Harrison House is more casual and less pretentious than many other B&Bs - the kind of place where you don't worry about breaking things or feel like you're intruding. The breakfast that Lynn prepared the next morning was the singular best breakfast I have had at any B&B. She served Snow White Crepes, fresh berries, bacon, coffee, and juice. She was good enough to share the recipe source cookbook and discuss coooking! I will definitely be staying there again on my many business trips to Columbus Ohio!

Wonderful place to stay!

4.4 on February 05, 2011

We had a great time at Harrison House. The house is charming, welcoming and clean. Lynn the owner/operator was warm and friendly...it was like a home away from home. It was the perfect place to stay with our group of 10. Breakfast was terrific and we would recommend this to our friends. We hope to have an occasion to stay here again. Thank you for the wonderful hospitality!

The Pefect Reunion Retreat

5 on November 06, 2010

Harrison House is absolutely amazing, beautiful and welcoming - just like Lynn, owner and hostess...her warm hospitality never ends. Lynn made sure everyone had what they wanted and needed from the time we all arrived until it was time to (sadly) leave. Our group enjoyed an evening of fun that started all over again at the breakfast table. Lynn is also a great cook with a never-empty coffee pot. ...and everyone raved about their comfortable beds - mine was perfect and even better than home! Harrison House has a wonderful relaxed atmosphere for old friends to gather, laugh over shared memories and make cherished new ones!

Best kept secret in Ohio

4.4 on November 01, 2010

Lynn is the best hostess!!! Breakfast was awesome!!! Such a nice getaway.....beautiful old house charm.

Truly a delightful experience--Highly recommended!!

5 on August 09, 2010

Beautiful, quaint Victorian home which speaks of rich history--this is such a cozy little get-away for anyone looking for something a bit different. It was my first stay ever at a B & B, and I was truly awed. The moment I walked through the front door, this wonderful feeling of "home" came over me. Then there were all of the beautifully decorated rooms, lace trimmings, and colorful floral wallpaper. My bedroom was clean, beautiful, and my bed was so very comfy. Breakfast the next morning was absolutely delicious. I highly recommend the Harrison House, and I know I will be back FOR SURE.

Great place to stay

4.4 on August 02, 2010

Two cousins and I stayed at Harrison House and had a wonderful time. Lynn was very accommodating and friendly. I have food allergies and she made sure I had breakfast items I could eat. The porch is so inviting and calls to you to sit and enjoy and lose track of time, as we did. Lynn was even able to sit with us for awhile. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if I'm ever in the area. It's worth it!

Great Place!

5 on December 18, 2009

My wife and I stayed at this lovely B&B on our way to Michigan for some fly fishing. Lynn, the owner/operator, is one of the nicest people you will ever meet. She bent over backwards to make sure our every need was met. I can't say enough about how nice our stay was. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very quiet. Lynn made an awesome breakfast for us. If you are ever in the area, please do yourself a favor and call Lynn at the Harrison House. You will be glad you did!

Great getaway

4.6 on July 28, 2009

We had a wonderful time staying at this adorable place. It was just what we needed for our first time away from the little one. Lynn was extremely friendly and very welcoming. She was able to give great recommendations on places to eat and things to do, as well as going out of her way to point us in the right direction to play some golf! We really appreciated it! The breakfast is fantastic and the entire atmosphere is very relaxing and enjoyable. This house is in a great location so you can walk to lots of restaurants and local places. Can't wait to go back!

Feels like home

4.8 on June 22, 2009

My son and I arrived at Harrison House around 9:00PM to be welcomed with a smile by Lynn and her daughter. Lynn took the time to show us around the home, and give us advice on where we might go for a walk in the area. Our room #1, was comfortable, clean and roomy. The breakfast both mornings was absolutely delicious and served at a long table with the other guests. I found this reminiscent of my childhood, back when large families ate meals together. If you are looking for pristine, sterile, surroundings where you can disappear into the morning paper, this home isn't for you. Rather, if you want a warm, welcoming, friendly home where you will see some clutter that reminds you people actually live here, you'll do no better than the Harrison House.

Wedding Weekend

4.4 on June 22, 2009

Lynn was very kind the breakfast was great.She offered wine/ beer for our taking to the porch or the room.She let us have guest stop between the wedding.The room was very private and VERY clean ,Much nicer than a hotel. A great nights rest in a long time.As the review about the dogs ,they were just fine and we only saw them on their outside porch and she kept them in HER living area. Great shops and places to eat near by.Met some very nice folks at breakfast.Fresh bread was great. We would hope to go back for the next wedding as a great place to stay and relax.

Very Nice Stay at Harrison House

4.0 on June 16, 2009

We choose the Harrison House based primarily for it's location close to OSU and were very pleased with the experience. Lynn couldn't have been nicer. She welcomed us graciously and made us feel right at home. Unlike the previous reviewer we found our room to be very clean, nicely decorated and very comfortable. The house is in a great location, close to campus and to downtown. The Short North area is very nice....with great houses and many shops and restaurants to enjoy. We liked having a refrigerator we could use to keep some things cold, and teas and other beverages available to us at any time. The sweets left out for guests were delicious, as were the breakfasts we were served during our stay. If you are looking for a formal, meticulous B&B, this is probably not your place. But if you are looking for warm, clean, comfortable and friendly, then you can't go wrong at Harrison House!

Innkeeper Response
Thanks for the great review. I really appreciate your candor and honesty. Your final comment: "if you are looking for warm, clean, comfortable and friendly, then you can't go wrong at Harrison House!" is perfect, just the atmosphere I've been striving for. Hope to see you again.

My second home...

4.2 on May 22, 2009

I travel to Columbus for work and I have stayed at the Harrison House every week for about 2 months and have another week or two left. I LOVE the place. Great location (proximity to work and Short North) and Lynn and Cara are awesome hosts! I can't even imagine staying at a hotel when in Columbus. Because I work very early, I haven't had a chance to have breakfast at the HH (which I hope to remedy this coming week) but Lynn's home made breads are amazing.... The rooms I've stayed in (I think #6 and #1) have always been immaculate upon arrival and Lynn made sure that my bags were in my room when I got there at midnight (Thanks Lynn!)... I'm not quite sure what the previous bad reviewer was talking about but I've never had a bad experience at the HH (well, except for missing out on breakfast in the mornings and cocktails in the afternoon but that's my own fault)...

Just as wonderful the second time!!!

4.0 on May 21, 2009

Last year was my first time in Columbus, Ohio. I love staying in B&Bs rather than hotels, more personal attention! Lynn is the innkeeper and is warm and inviting...as is the historic house! Had such a great experience the first time I booked again this year! We had a larger group and booked 2 rooms. The rooms are cozy, clean and I drifted away to la la land. Then...I woke to the smell of bacon and floated downstairs to a gourmet breakfast complete with juice served in cut crystal... Lynn spoils her guests and I look forward to NEXT year!

Innkeeper Response
I had so much fun with your group this year!!! Can't wait to see you all again next year!

Dogs and Smell of Urine

1.2 on May 17, 2009

Despite the many positive reviews of Harrison House, upon which I based my choice for my visit to Columbus, my experience was quite unpleasant. The innkeeper was unkempt and unfriendly from the moment I arrived and was mainly interested in being paid immediately. I found the home to be dirty and wanted to leave immediately. However, I was tired from my drive and did not want to search for another place to stay. The innkeeper had dogs, which I did not know about when I made reservations. There was an odor of urine in my room. Furthermore, the dogs barked incessantly and I had to call the innkeeper to request that she make them stop. She got them to stop that evening; however, I woke up to them barking again. I couldn't wait to leave, but unfortunately I had already paid $260 for 2 nights' stay and if I had decided to leave I expect she would have charged me anyway since she has a no cancellation policy within two weeks of the reservation.

Innkeeper Response
I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay, but I never saw you after you checked in and your comments are not factual. I normally try to be diplomatic in my replies, but find it hard with this review. I am NOT unkempt, I bathe every day. You checked in in the evening after I had had a long day of working. I probably need a haircut and I'm old and tired, but certainly NOT unkempt! And this from a woman who did not bathe at all during her 2 night visit! I was not unfriendly, I tried to talk to you but you did not want to engage in conversation, in fact you were short and rude to me. I generally receive payment at the end of a stay but YOU volunteered to pay immediately. My home is not dirty and the dogs stay in my apartment and do not go upstairs so I don't know how you could have had a urine smell in your room. What you were probably smelling was the bleach, vinegar and ammonia I use for cleaning. The dogs did not bark incessantly, they had a spell of barking at 9pm and when you called me, I immediately shut them up. Had you had the courtesy to speak to me, and wanted to check out after the first night, I would have gladly refunded the 2nd night stay.

Best B&B in Ohio!

5 on February 15, 2009

Harrison House is our annual Valentine's getaway. It is so cozy and romantic! Lynn is the warmest hostess and makes everyone feel like family. The breakfasts are the best we have ever experienced in all of our B&B stays (in the US and in Europe). The house has a vibrant history that comes "alive" as soon as you walk in the front door. The decor is exquisite, with furnishings from the Victorian Era. The rooms are so comfortable and private. Our favorite room is Room 6, which features a beautiful private bathroom in the turret. It is conveniently located in the Short North area, which has so much to offer. Also, complimentary drinks and snacks are provided! Homemade cookies, brownies, or cakes...and a variety of wines and beverages! We highly recommend a stay at Harrison House. You will surely plan a return visit after your experience there! Sincerely, Dori and Rock Cincinnati, Ohio

Innkeeper Response
My Dear Friends, I always enjoy your visits and only wish that you could stay longer. I hope to see you in the summer so we can have cocktails on the porch.


5 on January 27, 2009

Though the weather outside was frightful, the atmosphere and accomodations inside were delightful. Our room was comfortable, elegant and well-appointed -- our hostess was gracious and funny -- our breakfast was scrumptious. It just doesn't get any better than this.

Lovely Retreat

4.8 on January 23, 2009

The Harrison House Bed and Breakfast was the perfect place to getaway with my sweetie for a romantic weekend away from home. The location in Victorian Village made for a close walk to the Short North arts scene, and Lynn offered advise as to which resturants are best and even gave us dinning coupons! Overall our stay was relaxing and comfortable, we will definately tell our friends and family to visit the lovely Harrison House for their stays in Columbus!

Excellent experience

5 on January 21, 2009

Our family experienced a true home at this bed and breakfast during our first visit to Columbus for preparation to move. Lynn provides a truly excellent inn.

wonderful experience

4.8 on December 02, 2008

Lynn, I really enjoyed my stay at Harrison House. Your inn is so beautiful and cozy. My room was just what I needed for a convenient getaway. Thank you for the excellent service and tasty homemade bread and preserves. I will recommmend Harrison House to friends looking for a wonderful experience.

Mixed Review

3.2 on September 30, 2008

The house is very nice. Bed was comfortable. Bad lighting in bathroom - need light by the mirror. Breakfast was delicious, however, the common kitchen area was a total disaster. Not clean at all. Couldn't tell clean glasses from dirty glasses and this is where the innkeeper cooked our meal. Innkeeper was pleasant but kept running her hands through her hair while serving us breakfast. Missing some little touches like a list of tv local channels, recommendations for restaurnats, shopping etc. Price was reasonable. Location was great to University and downtown. Innkeepr was very pleasant.

Innkeeper Response
I just discovered that I can respond to reviews. Thank you for the compliments and I want to take this opportunity to address your issues. I am not aware of poor lighting in any of the bathrooms and no one has ever pointed this out to me. Since there is no personal information here, I don't know what room you were in but I will definitely check all of the bathrooms for lighting issues. My kitchen is clean, but may not have been as tidy as I would like. I have been in the process of re-organizing and working on a filing system and therefore papers have accumulated. There is a guest area in the kitchen with clean glasses and mugs, and the only reason there would be dirty glasses here is if guests left them on the counter. I clean and tidy this area several times a day. I was not aware that I "run my hands through my hair" but rest assured, my hair is washed every day and my hands are washed more times a day than I can count. I have literature in all of the rooms about restaurants and local activities and I always give detailed information and recommendations when guests ask. Thanks for the tip about local TV listings, I will type up a guide for the rooms. I'm sorry your visit was not up to par, but I would have appreciated your comments in person so I could explain and correct while you were here.

Harrison House

4.4 on September 25, 2008

Very nice retreat close to university.

Shelter from the storm of college moving.

4.8 on September 05, 2008

Our first stay at Harrison House found us enjoying a delicious breakfast with an interesting Belgian lecturer and parents of students running in a large track and fied meet at OSU. Lynne Varney, our host, had delicious treats set out and fresh baked bread on hand. A pleasant time.

Love your home!

5 on August 21, 2008

I feel as if it's my home away from home!

Delightful Experience

5 on July 16, 2008

Dear Lynn, I wanted to drop you a note to tell you how much we have enjoyed our two visits to Columbus and the opportunity to stay at Harrison House a second time. We had such a delightful experience in March of 2006 that we could not wait to return in June of 2008. The decor is wonderful, pleasant and inviting, the beds comfortable. Of course, our favorite thing is the wonderful breakfasts that you fix and your great personality. We met such interesting guests on both visits. As our daughter has now graduated from the veterinary school, we will probably not have a chance to visit again in the near future but we will certainly recommend Harrison House to anyone we know who is visiting Columbus. Thank you again for your warm hospitality.

A Charming Find

4.4 on July 14, 2008

We stayed in Columbus June, 2008 for three nights. The first of those we stayed at the Harrison House B&B. What a lovely place! The owner, Lynn, welcomed us warmly and made us feel comfortable. The beds were very comfortable with wonderful sheets! Breakfast was great, Lynn is a super cook, and easily accommodated our dietary requests. I only wish we would have stayed longer to relax on the sweet front porch. Would definitely return!

Harrison House Stay

4.2 on July 06, 2008

I really enjoyed this charming and comfortable house during my stay in Columbus. The owner (Lynn Varney) was warm, gracious and made me feel right at home. The good food, interesting conversation, quiet room and relaxing atmosphere were greatly appreciated. I will certainly stay at Harrison House again.

Great Historic Neighborhood!

3.4 on August 27, 2007

The inn was great! Harrison House is in a historic neighborhood where the homes are amazing! A great place for a stroll. The room was nice and the innkeepers were great! The breakfast was fabulous as well as the decor! I would stay there again if in Columbus!

Harrison House Bed & Breakfast


Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-6144212202
  • Fax 1-6144212232
  • Mobile 1-6147461432

Visit Website »

View details