HideAway Country Inn Reviews

Overall
4.2

View details

  • Guest room4.3
  • Service4.3
  • Value3.9
  • Cleanliness4.4
  • Onsite Dining4.2

Score Breakdown based on
79 Reviews

Write A Review

Average Experience

3.0 on April 10, 2016

Upon our arrival, the on-hand front desk person lacked the overall knowledge expected of even the most basic representative of the hospitality industry.  Greetings were dry, and details regarding the inn and its history were deficient (ie: “Oh, I want to show you this – the guy who built this house invented that.” while pointing at a very unique propeller on the wall which could have, undoubtedly, been a very interesting conversation piece).  She then proceeded to tell us that we would have to pay an extra $20 per person for breakfast because it was not included in the rate we paid, when questioned, she stated that the “Girl who made our reservation doesn’t even work here anymore.” She then showed us to our room, and asked that we return to the office in a few minutes because the owner would be there at that time and would be able to tell us whether or not our breakfast was included in our rate. The owner, Debbie arrived and immediately remedied the breakfast inclusion debacle.   Our suite, The Hunter’s Den, was not well appointed on the bottom floor.  There was an empty, cheap air freshener plugged in behind the door.  There were dead bugs inside of the heater, and stains as well as a dead fly smashed on the blinds/shade.  The WiFi was not reliable which was understandable given the very odd weather we were experiencing during our visit.  The second floor was incredible.   The massive bed was extremely comfortable and the linens provided were top-of-the-line. The sky light added an amazing amount of natural light, the tiny office nook was very helpful, and the bathroom was impressively clean.  The jacuzzi tub and fireplace worked wonderfully. Breakfast was plain but good.  We were served yogurt with strawberries, homemade lemon bread, and bacon egg and cheese sandwiches. No complaints.  Service was much better in the morning.  Overall, average.  


Owner is extremely rude!!! Not recommended!!! Not worth the headache

2.2 on January 26, 2016

Other sites have similar reviews so please read! Owner Debbie Miller responds & ALWAYS blames the customer!There would be 4-6 girls, 1st said 1 rm would work. When we booked had to get 2 rms. I understood the policies about payment but that once we checked in we could pay separate. Didn't happen! 4 of us had spa trtmnts during our stay, 3 of us called to book. They never asked credit card info even when asked if it was needed. Inn said it can be taken care of on arrival. We arrived about 3. Check-in is 4. The room was ready. Spa services started at 4. Headed down to supper at 6:15.We were going to give the credit card info to pay separately. I asked for an itemized list. Julie tried to figure it out. After 25 min,went to the bar and she would bring us the list. About 8:30 a hand written list was given to us. A confusing list! Asked then if we could take care of it in the a.m b/c we had a few drinks.Julie would be there in a.m. Our food took awhile so we asked for it to eat in our rm, which they delivered. Staff leaves with the last bar patron. When ready to use the pull out couch, we found NO linens for it! Then in the morning more bill discussion! Still couldnt figure out how to individually charge us. Must've talked for an hr w/o resolve. The owner would contact me when she returned from vacation. She is the rudest person I have ever spoken to. I put it on speaker phone so my hubby could hear. She just kept telling me how she worked 15 hr days for 6 days before her vacation and how great her place is. No resolve then either. She asked for screenshots of our emails which I provided. I finally called my credit card company and they called her (they said she was nice and WE screamed & yelled at her, refused to give our card information) which then I FINALLY got an itemized list! I know that this is long but please beware of the owner. Wish it had turned out different, I really wanted to enjoy it!


HideAway

4.2 on April 08, 2015

We had a wonderful time, for our first stay at a Bed and Breakfast!


Romantic Getaway

4.0 on March 27, 2015

This place was exactly what we needed. I was quiet, relaxing and very intimate. Every aspect of this quiet little country inn was excellent.


Celebrating our first wedding anniversary

4.2 on August 17, 2014

Overall, we had a wonderful stay. The room was gorgeous and very clean. We ordered the gourmet basket. the steak kabob was great, but the tuna was way overcooked. But the rest of the food was really good. We really enjoyed the experience of having the gourmet basket delivered to us. I loved the wine cellar and the overall feel of the bed and breakfast was very classy and we will definitely come back and stay longer.


More than we expected

5 on July 06, 2014

My husband & I have stayed here several times, & absolutely loved it every time! We have stayed in several different rooms, and were pleasantly surprised every time. The rooms are clean, beautiful & extremely comfortable. There are many things to do on the grounds. The place is peaceful and relaxing. The food is made fresh, served to you, and is delicious! The service is very nice, never rude! The Hide Away Country Inn is above and beyond what you'll expect. We can't wait to stay again!


Hideaway Country Inn

4.8 on March 04, 2014

Quiet and cozy. Very nice service. We didn't get to eat in dining room as they weren't open on Mondays.


What a disappointment

3.6 on February 18, 2014

I guess having a 'confirmed/printed' reservation means nothing to these people. Imagine being told 'sorry' on your Valentine/Anniversary (40th anniversary by the way) -- these people need to get their act together. We did get to stay on the 13th but had no hot water in the bathroom, no TV reception and all the candleholders around the tub were burnt down and matchsticks in the bottom :( What a shame because the room was gorgeous and the environment was peaceful.


Anniversary getaway

5 on November 26, 2013

We enjoyed our stay it was beautiful view especially from the private deck in the hot tub. It was peaceful and romantic!


Great place to stay!

5 on October 16, 2013

So far I have experienced excellent service! The staff is very friendly and go above and beyond to provide you with satisfaction. The surroundings are beautiful and food is excellent.


Relaxing

5 on October 10, 2013

Our visit was very relaxing. Everyone we met were great. The food was delicious. Our room was lovely.


Best getaway ever

5 on September 09, 2013

If you love country, relaxation, romance, and luxury stay here! We had the most amazing time and didn't leave the grounds once. They have everything you need, want, and more. We stayed in the smith room and the Louis XIV rooms. They wee both very different but equally amazing in detail and comfort.


Nice!

5 on September 06, 2013

Very good time, cozy place, nice staff, excellent food.


Charming Escape

5 on August 22, 2013

Just outside Columbus OH is a charming escape from the city. The staff was incredibly attentive. The owner personally checked on us. Cute, clean and quiet. Sit on a hammock and watch the sun set - no attention to detail overlooked.


Great !

5 on August 21, 2013

Great service! Great food! Soft bedding!


Excellent time!

5 on August 17, 2013

The atmosphere, room, and most importantly food were all excellent. We would come back again in a heartbeat. Also we felt like it was great value!


Beautiful, Relaxing

5 on August 15, 2013

Service was outstanding. Rooms were clean,comfortable, relaxing Food was delicious Area of Inn was gorgeous


GREAT PLACE

5 on August 14, 2013

Very much enjoyed our stay, great service, great breakfast and great dinner the evening we arrived. Great place!!!


WOW!

5 on August 13, 2013

Excellent service and food. Wonderful staff and facilities.


WOW!

5 on August 13, 2013

Wonderful experience!


Celebrate engagement

4.8 on August 09, 2013

Food was really good.


Peaceful and Relaxing

4.8 on July 15, 2013

Pros: ~Peaceful and relaxing environment ~Welcoming, friendly, and accommodating staff and owner ~Clean and spacious room ~Comfortable furniture ~Very comfortable bed (no b. bugs) ~Relaxing Jacuzzi for two ~Excellent food ~Room service option ~Quiet surroundings Cons (suggestions we would have liked to have): ~Have Dish Network...would be nice to have some premium channels (HBO/Showtime) ~Need treading on the stairs next to the Jacuzzi as they get slippery ~Would be nice to have an electronic shade/covering to cover skylight as it gets very bright in the bedroom Overall, we greatly enjoyed our stay and plan to stay again in the near future!!


nice, cozy, friendly

4.2 on June 23, 2013

enjoyed a nite in the hunters den. had a great dinner and was greated with a fabulous breakfast...will visit again


Wonderful

4.6 on June 13, 2013

They were friendly and helpful. Loved the oak suite. The food was wonderful. We will come again.


Wedding Day Rip Off

1.4 on March 12, 2013

Wedding day was in September, and nothing turned out as it should have. They have no professional cook (they have a cook, not professionally known). The wedding is not worry free. They rent all their tables and chairs (demonstrating that they are NOT a premier wedding sight). The tent is old, has numerous poke holes throughout, if it is raining all your guests will get wet. The owner is definitely NOT easy to work with, pour paperwork. The breakfast is not anything special. If you read all of the comments, they are usually angry (like we were with the terrible service) or sugary sweet (leading me to realize that you can write a good comment from anyone's computer. We had to set up all of our chairs. Not great for renting the entire place for our service. You pay large amounts to have to do all that. They expect you to carry those same chairs to the tent for the reception because they do not rent enough to cover both spots. If you rent the entire grounds for two days like we did, the rooms do not get clean. The beds might be made, but they are not swept, trash taken out, etc..... The employees they have are constantly quitting, probably because they don't get paid what they were told. Their are numerous complaints about the owner. One of our guests in the wedding party, asked for towels (three times during the day). They NEVER got them, because the small staff is all needed in the kitchen to make the wedding meal. The wedding planning is a joke. You might be shown what the time frame is for your wedding, but you won't see your wedding planner during the day of the wedding, she will be working at the bar the entire time. This is one big rip off! 20% gratuity is added to everything you spend there (and no gratuity is certainly merited!!)


Not Worth it

1.8 on January 09, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights with my daughters. The spa had 1 person so our 2 hour spa treatments took 6 hours. It ruined the whole day. We ate dinner there one night and the fish was terrible. We couldn't even eat it. Cleaning out room meant replacing our towels. They didn't even empty the trash. Not worth the cost!!!!!


Romantic Getaway

4.4 on October 26, 2012

We decided that we wanted to get away for our 12th anniversary. We had never gone away without the kids before. What a wonderful time. The food, the room the serenity. It was wonderful and we look forward to returning.


HideAway Country Inn

5 on October 08, 2012

Excellent time for relaxation!


HideAway Country Inn

5 on October 08, 2012

Beautiful place.


HideAway Country Inn

5 on October 06, 2012

View great.


HideAway Country Inn

5 on October 06, 2012

A beautiful place.


HideAway Country Inn

5 on October 06, 2012

Excellent caring owner. Terrific chef with great menu.


HideAway Inn

5 on October 06, 2012

Great place with great employees and amenities.


Quietly Pampered

5 on October 06, 2012

Each time my wife and I have stayed has been phenomenal! We have always been treated like we are the most important guests present. The rooms are always clean & beautiful, way better than any regular, even top-end, hotels.


Ruined my anniversary weekend

1.4 on August 22, 2012

We made a reservation here to celebrate our anniversary, with the hopes of it being a nice quiet weekend. When we arrived, we found out that our room had been double booked, so we were moved into a "deluxe room". This room was in the basement, with NO ventilation (i.e. windows that opened), yet it had a fireplace - can you say fire hazard!? My allergies immediately went wild. To "fix" things the keeper brought down a large fan/ventilation system that made ridiculous noises all night. Then they said we'd get a complimentary bottle of wine with dinner. Well once we got to dinner, we were told that we could only have the house wine (which was awful). The food was ok - but beyond overly priced. I had also ordered the package of melted chocolate with fruit, pretzels, and marshmallows... this was a small ramican of melted chocolate, 3 strawberries, 4 small pretzels, 3 marshmallos, and two mini paint brushes - all for $50. What a crock! Needless to say - our weekend was a bust. I will never return here, even if I were offered a free weekend. You have been warned.


Poor Customer Service

2.0 on July 09, 2012

We were treated like a burden and unwanted while staying for two days at the Hideaway Country Inn. The owner was the worst of all the employees. Her and another employee did not treat us like paying guests until we were paying our bill at check out. The head housekeeper was the friendliest person we met during our stay, but sadly we only saw her for a few minutes. The advertise 'gourmet food', but actually the chef quit before our stay and someone else was doing the cooking. Don't ask any questions, they will treat you like an idiot. And don't believe everything on the website.


An adventure in relaxed excellence

4.6 on June 27, 2012

From the giant chess set in the front yard to the rustic tree swing out back, to the culinary garden by the breakfast room, to the newly redecorated tavern, to the double jacuzzis in the room, to the exquisite cuisine at breakfast and dinner, we couldn't have asked for more. Peter and Susan


Romantic Weekend Getaway

4.2 on June 19, 2012

We purchased this two-night getaway because it was listed on a Living Social discount. We checked out the rooms on the website first, and visited the inn on Memorial Day weekend. We stayed Sunday night and Monday night, when dinner is NOT served. Our breakfasts were exceptional, and delivered to our room. We had the chocolate fondue in our room, which included strawberries, marshmallows, cookies, and pretzels to dip in the warm chocolate fondue. Small paintbrushes were included, in case we were feeling creative. Our bed was very comfortable, and the heart-shaped whirlpool tub-for-two was in the room. Despite the inn being fully booked the night of our arrival, we heard almost nothing from our fellow guests, only the creaking of the wood floor outside in the hall. This inn is staffed with friendly helpful ladies who will do whatever they can to make your stay as good as possible.


Amazing Romantic Getaway

4.8 on March 05, 2012

Everything was wonderful, people were friendly & helpful, jacuzzi & fireplace very romantic, great food delivered to our room. We loved every minute, thank you, we'll be back.


Beautiful Stay

3.8 on February 27, 2012

Took my girlfriend to the HideAway Country Inn for her birthday. I accomplished my goal of surprising her. Staff was terrific. Would come back again.


How is this a diamond collection B&B?

1.0 on February 27, 2012

I had bought the Living Social deal (LS). When I called to make the reservation, I asked about the included VIP seating for the chefs dinner. She told me it was a candle light dinner, you have your own private server and room. We found out they had charged us $159 for this. I went to the front office (FO) and they said "I wasnt on the phone with you when you called in, but I promise it's worth it, you'll end up spending about the same if you dine in the regular dining room." For $159 you would think a bottle of wine for the table would be included? We had 2 glasses of wine, for $12 on top of the automatic 20% gratuity. We looked at the dinner menu and realized we could've spent about half if we dined in the regular dining room. We saw the "eat chocolate naked" fondue set was in our room. I did not order that, but thought it was included in the deal. They ended up charging me for $39. The restroom light/fan didnt work nor did the lights over the jacuzzi. I told Debbie about it and she said she knew about it and had to go check the breakers. We never heard anything back, and it was never fixed. There was only decaf coffee in our room, and the cofffee pot looked like it hadn't been cleaned for days. I went to the FO and she said "oh, well do you want coffee delivered with breakfast tomorrow?" I said yes, I saw her write it down on a ticket. We did not receive coffee. I went to the FO again, She replied with "Ya, things got crazy this morning, everybody wanted something different." We left to do some shopping. When we came back, we noticed that two bath robes were gone, along with 3 towels. They replaced it with a hand towel and a washcloth. Nothing about the room or service felt like an upgrade. The FO kept coming up with excuses for everything. Never once did I get a "Sorry" from anyone when i came to them with a problem. This turned into a total of $900 trip with all their fee's. I only rated everything a 1-star because 0-stars was not an option.


Honeymoon

5 on February 12, 2012

The HideAway is incredible. The service, the food is perfect.


New Years Eve Getaway

5 on January 16, 2012

We were blown away by the service and dining at The Hide Away. We stayed in the Out of Africa Loft and it was twice as beautiful as the pictures I saw online. It was a surprise for my boyfriend and he lost it when we walked in the room. The downstairs was lit up with bunches of candles and the Jacuzzi was ready for us, I had asked them to set it up before we arrived. Once we unpacked and relaxed for a while we went over to the dining room for dinner and was shocked to find they had a Gourmet Chef. the meal was unbelievable and very well priced for every thing we got. The next morning after a fantastic breakfast we had massages in the spa that completed the perfect couple days!!!!!! Thank you so much for a great holiday its the best we have ever had. We will be back


Louis XIV

5 on December 05, 2011

This was a wonderful experience for my husband and I. The place was beautiful, the service was fantastic.


Overpriced and disappointing

2.0 on November 06, 2011

We stayed in the Garden Room and it had a full bed. I thought it would be bigger but checked back and realized the website did not indicate the size of the bed. It was very comfortable though. Nice private bath with the 2 sinks. The private balcony is really half of the balcony with what seems like tall privacy fencing to separate the other half for the adjacent room. The place seemed old so EVERYTHING creaked! Going down the stairs, down the hallway, the chairs, the bed...EVERYTHING! The place was pretty clean so no bad comments there. I can't comment on the food because we didn't try dinner or breakfast. What wasn't worth the stay was the service. When I would call the front desk, Mark (I believe) made me feel as though I was bothering him...as though he had other more important things to deal with. The hot tub worked great at night, but the next day we couldn't get it to warm up. I called the office to get some help and he told me it would take a little time since its a lot of water. At checkout, he accused me of not leaving the cover on the tub during nighttime, which we DEFINITELY made sure to do, knowing we wanted to get in the next morning, too. The "Satellite Television" didn't have the basic channels. We had to tap into their awful WiFi by going to the downstairs hallway just to stream the LSU-Alabama game on an iPad. (While making reservations, Debbie boasted that they had the Big Ten Network...couldn't find that and neither could room service person). The "fresh baked cookies" were nowhere to be found. I don't recall seeing an "under counter refrigerator" but I could be wrong about that...so we got sodas from the vending machine outside, and those were warmer than the other sodas we already had and left out on the balcony to keep cold. In conclusion, I would NOT recommend this place. It makes me wonder what it takes to be a part of the "Diamond Collection here at Bedandbreakfast.com."


Honeymoon getaway long weekend

4.2 on November 03, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the HideAway Country Inn and had a wonderful relaxing romantic time. We hope to be able to visit again soon.


HideAway Country Inn

4.8 on October 30, 2011

Had a wonderful experience at the HideAway


Best Honeymoon !!! Dining Just like Iron Chef Judge

5 on October 19, 2011

meals were the best ever ! We were full for the rest of the night. Felt like a guest in a friends home. They could not have done anything to make it better.


long term stay !!!

5 on August 30, 2011

Awesome place, so great we have booked reservations for my husband to stay and work at the local hospital for 6 months. They really take great care of us, from dining to spa to wine cellar.


Not just for a romantic time - great girlfriend or sister weekend!

3.8 on July 25, 2011

While the Hideaway Inn might just be a very romantic place to stay for couples, my sisters and I found it to be a very good place to stay for a girlfriends or sisters trip as well! We pampered ourselves with the head-to-toes massages and received great service while staying there. We only had breakfast, but the food was good and we felt like we got very good personal attention. The room was clean, well maintained and confortable. Great attention to customer service and to personal needs of guests. Thanks!


a world apart

4.8 on July 03, 2011

It as an amazing place, the food was superb, every single corner it is as if designed for romance. It is a place where you can actually escape from the rest of the world and have a world apart.


June 2011

4.4 on June 27, 2011

We had a wonderful getaway for our anniversary. The Out of Africa room was great, we will be back!


The Most Incredible "Hideaway"Getaway I've had!

5 on April 28, 2011

There are really no words to descibe the service or comfort of our stay.It was the coziest,classy,personal stay that I have had in quite the while.My guest(who we were celebrating his 58th birthday) and my grieving the death of my husband in October was completely fullfilled by the caring and professionally staffed. We wanted to run away from lifes' problems and this Inn did everything Above and Beyond my expections!Debbie, Chef Michael and Staff went out of there way to help us meet our needs.Thank You Laura&Al


Great Romantic Getaway

3.8 on April 25, 2011

We have visited many inns over the past years to celebrate our anniversary. The Hideaway Inn is a perfect location for a romantic weekend. We stayed in the Tree House Suite and were very pleased with everything. Beautiful setting in a quiet location. This is a lovely old home that has been refurbished with modern conveniences. Wine cellar a very nice touch. Dinner was cozy with a great presentation of food. We would definitely consider returning to experience a different suite.


wonderful hospitality

5 on April 24, 2011

we found this picture perfect place on the internet, and were celeabrating our anniversary. so we were hoping for the best. we were happily surprised to find the staff very friendly and happy to make your experience wonderful, food was fantastic, including breakfast in bed. our room was beautiful, clean and just what we had hoped for,with a fireplace and a jacuzzi a beautiful romantic weekend


Not too bad

3.0 on April 20, 2011

I recently stayed here on the living social promotion. Sunday - Tuesday so it was quite dead. Our room, the garden room, was small compared to the other 2 rooms we looked at when the maid was cleaning. Our bed was small, only a full. It didn't say on the website that it was a queen or king, I guess I just assumed it would at least be a queen. The hot tub outside was nice, however we had a window above our suite and there were little kids in the window looking out and dancing/making faces at us. Not romantic or private. It was clean. A couple of ants but that is expected in the country. The breakfast was fine, no complaints. We didn't eat dinner there either night because of only having one option for food. Luis was excellent. Anything we needed he got right away. Great guy! The ground were lacking. Maybe because it was early in the season, or the crappy weather, but there was nothing to really do right there except the Chess game which is a nice add on. The worst thing about the whole place was the smell of the water. I understand it is well water, and I was brought up on well water growing up, but it did not smell like rotten egg. It was so bad we had to shower with the window open and keep the window on the door open as well when we showered. So it also gave the hottubs an "ocean-like" smell mixed with the cholorine. All in all it's a nice little quaint place. I am glad I got the Living Social deal, otherwise I think it's a little pricey for what they offer.


Outstanding getaway!

4.8 on April 17, 2011

What a marvelous getaway! Everything about our stay was first class. Rooms and service were wonderful. Hats off to the chef! Dinner was outstanding! Already planning a fall getaway at the Hideaway Inn. I couldn't have had a more relaxing and enjoyable birthday mini vacaqtion. Many thanks to the staff for making this a memorable visit.


Nice getaway

4.6 on April 11, 2011

I purchased a voucher on LivingSocials Deals and was very pleased with our stay. We had a beautiful room with a jacuzzi on the balcony. The food was fantastic. In fact, my husband had the shrimp with andouille sausage fettuccine and said it was one of the best dishes he has ever had. The only change that I would like to see them make would be to provide more information on activities in the area.


Not Totally Disappointed!

3.4 on April 03, 2011

The concept of the Hideaway Inn is wonderful. It is truly tucked away, but just a few minutes away from town. The chef was excellent. Every meal was served with a delicious homemade muffin of some kind. The owner is very personable and warm. She sat with us at breakfast and inquired about our stay. The food was a little pricey and did not offer much in the way of fish and poultry. It cost $9.00 to add a chicken breast to a salad. The jacuzzi tub was wonderful! If you are not use to well water, the smell can make you sick. We were disappointed in the cleanliness of the room. We had to request that the dust and cobwebs behind the bed be cleaned. The window and curtains were full of dust and cobwebs also. The owner saw to it that our dust concerns were taken care of immediately. The mattress on the bed in the Carpenter Suite is old, lumpy and sags. I felt like I was sinking. It did not make for a very good nights sleep. Overall, I will say that the friendliness of the staff made up for the lumpy bed and cobwebs.


Ohio Magic

4.6 on March 30, 2011

We spent two nights at HideAway Country Inn. The staff made us feel as if we were in our own home and did everything possible to make our stay an enjoyable one. Each room is furnished in a different style and each is exceptional. Well worth a visit if you are in Ohio or passing through. Jerry & Helen Lyons


Beautiful-even in winter!

4.2 on February 14, 2011

My husband and I were looking for a romantic and quiet place to reconnect and just get away, and we found it at the Hideaway! We enjoyed our stay and are looking forward to visiting again!


FABULOUS & FRIENDLY INN

5 on February 05, 2011

EVERYONE FROM THE RESERVATION OPERATOR TO THE INNKEEPER TO THE OWNER TO THE MASSAGE THERAPIST AND THE ATTENDANT FOR OUR ROOM WAS OUTSTANDING AND VERY PROFESSIONAL BUT PERSONABLE. THE FOOD WAS JUST WONDERFUL. WE WILL BE SPREADING THE WORD AMOUNG OUR FRIENDS.


Hideaway Inn

4.0 on January 11, 2011

I booked 4 rooms at the inn to celebrate my mother's 75th birthday with all the sisters, granddaughters, aunts, etc. in mid December. After booking I discovered some less than positive feedbacks on this site and Tripadvisor which greatly concerned me. I telephoned the Inn to discuss my reservations, explaining that this was a very important occassion and that I could not risk dissapointment. I was reassured by the management that the problems occurred during a period under which the house manager was undependable and was since fired. A new chef was hired and I was told that all would be wonderful. Shortly after that, the chef personally called me to discuss the multiple course private dinner that I requested. He too promised that wewould be pleased. Well, we were definitely pleased when we left and I hope to return next year again. The rooms were absolutely beautiful, charming, clean and comfortable. The service was great and the Chef was true to his word! Dinner was course after, wonderful course of the best quality, creative presentation and professionally served cuisine. I didn't imagine that this quality could come out of anything but a trendy metropolitan establishment. I have been a caterer for a large established firm in Columbus for over 20 years and I am hard to impress, but I was very impressed. I think you will be too!


Wonderful!

4.2 on January 09, 2011

We got a real deal on this room and it was a perfect anniversary getaway. The food was great, the room was great, and I have never experienced better staff outside of 5 star hotels. We had a wonderful time. The only negatives are (1) the coffee is shockingly terrible, and (2) it's an old house so you can sometimes hear other guests clearly.


The Get Away at the HideAway

5 on January 03, 2011

This is my wife and I second stay here and the food and atmosphere is second to none. If you looking for a ton to do and see then this may not be for you but if you are looking to getaway from it all this is the spot for you. This stay we stay in the main house and was very nice being able to roll out of bed to go down to an incredible breakfast by the fire. Then a return upstairs for a whirlpool tub for two. A trip to Cooper's Mills for out of this world jams, jellies, and all things good. Back to the room for naping before heading down stairs for dinner with a trip to the wine cellar. The food with the new chef was outstanding. Last but not least the Owner Deb Miller is wonderful in the care to detail and making sure your stay is one that you want to repeat. Darren and Elizabeth.


anniversary stay

4.2 on December 24, 2010

Was looking for a romantic place to take my wife that wasn't too far away. Found a diamond in Bucyrus. Isnt' exactly cheap but the rooms and the dining are worth every penny if staying at a romantic inn is what you are looking for. You will doing yourself a favor by dining there as well. Chef Mike is amazing.i will never look at salmon again the same thanx to him whipping up some cajun flavor for us. we will return. I want to stay in the Africa room!


Quaint, Cozy, Historic

4.6 on November 15, 2010

The Innkeepers were very accommodating, and their new chef, Mike, is world class. Overall a nice place for a romantic get-a-way.


Extremely Comfortable

4.2 on October 07, 2010

If you are looking for a quiet, comfortable getaway this is the place for you. We awoke each morning well rested anticipating a delicious breakfast. The Innkeepers, Reeves and Melodie were very gracious and accomodating


Inflexible owner and condescending staff ruined our anniversary

2.0 on September 27, 2010

Though we shared the obituary of our family member, the owner accused us of lying about his death and would not let us out of our reservation. She was abusive and completely inflexible. Because this happened to be our anniversary weekend, we decided to make the most of it and try to enjoy ourselves despite the circumstances. We chose a loft suite for its jacuzzi tub and fireplace, however, the fireplace was not functional. When we asked about it we were told we were unreasonable for expecting the fireplace to be turned on this time of year. (It was late September and the temps went down into the 40's while we were there). We paid extra for a room with this feature and specifically requested a room with a fireplace when we made the reservation. No mention was made that they don't turn them on until early October. On top of all this, we could hear the guests in the next room, our bed was distractingly creaky and the skylights directed the morning sun directly into our eyes, hindering us from receiving the much needed rest we needed after such a stressful weekend. Needless to say, our visit was very disappointing. We surely did not receive what we expected for the price.


HideAway

4.8 on May 25, 2010

Dinner choices - excellent. Wine choices - excellent. Service - excellent. Overall - excellent!!


Disappointed

2.0 on May 24, 2010

We arrived to find our room had been double booked so we were upgraded. The upgraded room smelled like someone had been chain smoking in the bedroom, so they moved us to a smaller room. There was only well water in the room. A smoke detector in the downstairs hallway of the B&B had a low battery and beeped all night long. The walls are paper thin and everything squeaks so we heard our neighbors and anyone walking up the stairs all night long. The bed didn't even have a matress protector, just a fitted sheet. The room had nowhere to sit except the bed which squeaked like crazy. At 9:20 pm we had to head into town to buy bottled water because no one was in the office and there wasn't any water on site other than well water. We had asked for extra pillows and they never returned with any. Part of our package included a chocolate fondue set. They brought it to us a few hours late then as we went to use it we discovered there was nothing to light it with, therefore we couldn't melt the chocolate. We skipped breakfast the next morning just to checkout because it was so miserable. When we explained all the problems to the person at the front desk the next morning they said they were at the front desk until 10 pm and we should have informed them of the issues, but when we went into town (well before 10 pm) the office door was locked and there was not a person to be found. I would absolutely NOT recommened this B&B. It was a terrible time and couldn't end fast enough.


Our Getaway

3.0 on April 16, 2010

The room was beautiful and well-kept (Africa room). However, the grounds were lacking. Chairs needed cleaning and painting. The food was okay, but not what we would have expected for the price. This inn seems to have not kept up to the standards it had at our last stay.


Poor

1.6 on March 02, 2010

Room ice cold when we arrived. Went to dinner blue smook downdraft and we told waitress. Handle on spa cold broke. Food worst we ever experienced. Bathroom no place for toothbrush, etc, anything on sink very small and shower no place for soap or shampoo. Would not recommend or stay again.


Escape

5 on December 08, 2009

Escape your life and be treated like royalty, the food was awesome and the staff second to none. For a place to disconnect from the outside world and reconnect to your life come to the hideaway.


Great last Minute Escape

5 on September 28, 2009

This is one of the FEW bed and breakfasts we found that will take a one night stay. With 2 kids in sports, dance, and music, it is very hard to get away. Check out their last minute specials. I was able to suprise my wife with dinner and a massage.


Wedding Night Peace

4.4 on June 04, 2009

We stayed at HideAway Country Inn on our wedding night. It is extremely easy to find off State Rte 4. Upon our arrival, we saw a family of dear grazing the corn fields in front of the inn. The scenery is absolutely beautiful! They even had a lifesize chess board on the grounds. It was such a peaceful night after our crazy packed wedding day. We stayed in the "Treehouse" room which has its own staircase entrance. The room was a full suite with jacuzzi and all. The room was extremely clean and comfortable. The bed was very soft that we fell asleep in a matter of minutes. The staff was very courteous and hospitable (I had a small reservation issue that was resolved after a single phone call). I highly recommend staying here. I believe my wife and I will have to return for our anniversary!


Outstanding B&B

4.8 on May 19, 2009

My wife and I enjoy coming here every year for our anniversary. Very clean, great friendly service, really good breakfast.


Wow Have your wedding here

5 on May 12, 2009

We just had our wedding here. Wow is it beautiful. I can not wait to have time to go thru our 700 pictures!!!! The Photographer just fell in love with this place. Debbie and the Staff were the best around. I am a sales manager at another hotel. A very large hotel in one of the big Cities of Ohio. The staff here went out of the way. They did more for us than we would be able to do at our hotel. All the staff cared even to the guy who takes out the trash. The great part was that we could have the party go as long as we liked, as we took over the entire Inns' 12 rooms. The breakfast was amazing. The Grounds beautiful. The Staff exceeded our every need. They said Hide Away does over 300 weddings each year, now I understand why... Bar tenders were very engaged with each person. Servers were neat and clean, prompt with wonderful food. We did not even know clean up was going on. Then to top it off, a member of our wedding party asked to have the room --- lit on fire.. This meant the staff set up 48 candles around the jacuzzi, filled the tub, dimmed the lights, turned on soft music, a romantic dream for an exhausted bride and groom. I am understating the beauty of the room. Absolutely incrediable. If you are questioning having your wedding here.. by all means DO NOT. I repeat Do Not Pass UP this PLACE !!! They take on the wedding as if it was their own personal family wedding.. By ALL MEANS HAVE YOUR WEDDING HERE !!


Not worth the money

3.0 on March 08, 2009

Even though it was a nice place it was not worth the money they are charging for a room and watch for "extra" fees added on when you are checking out. We had to dispute several.


HideAway Country Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $119.99 - $375.99
  • Reviews (79) 4.2
  • Rooms 12
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-4195623013
  • Mobile 1-419-562-3013
  • Toll free 1-8005708233

Visit Website »

View details

Top